Christian ivf mums or mums to be

<font color="aa00aa">Vanilla, take heart in knowing that God chose you and your husband to have this special child. A friend who has a special child also shared her struggles - wondering &amp; questioning why God gave her a son like that. After struggling for a long time, she said God spoke to her, saying that He wanted to place a child in our world so that we can see His grace and mercies through this child. And that he chose this couple as he knew they will be able to be good shepherds of this child.

You, Vanilla, were chosen to carry out this special duty. Take heart in knowing that E is His child, and that He will provide you with the means - financial, emotional, mental - to let E complete His mission in this world.

Through your sharing in this thread, I am sure many ladies are like me - able to feel the wonder of His love and His joy, from your interaction with E and through the strength that we are seeing coming from you.

I pray that E will continue to be a blessing to all those around him, as he must be a wonderful kid since you are a wonderful mom. </font>

Thks sunny n shoes.

I know it will not b easy this path. I look up n I c overcast clouds. I try not to cry but tears just drop while e is sleeping beside me n not knowing the severity of the situation.

It is painful a choking pain.

<font color="aa00aa">Vanilla. 1am you supposed to be in bed leh...pat pat, hope you managed to get some rest.

Its ok to cry. Hugs</font>

Tdy e was so cute. I tried to get attention of a waitress at old town cafe n both of us were waving fir 2 mins n still no one came by. Next thing I knew e took the order chit n started waving. I burst out laughing... He is so cute he thot it will help him in getting Att better.

I treasure such times cos I dun know if I can still do it w him in future

<font color="aa00aa">E so cute !!! clever leh, his EQ so high...Vanilla - remember to take more videos and pictures of his adorableness - very fast they will grow!!</font>

Vanilla, will de .. you will see E with all his antics thru his schooling years till he becomes a handsome teen to his wedding big day and to his children repeating his same childhood antics .. will de. *hugs* Have faith, God will help thru all these.

I read up abit online about the condition doc mentioned. Sounds challenging but if under appropriate medication and suitable diet and proper monitoring, can still maintain good health for as long as possible. See what doctors say next week. I have been praying God give them the wisdom to give you the correct and appropiate expert advice.

I know its hard now but you will walk thru this phase of life victorious.

At my church, we have heard of people who had diseases, cancer, growths, pains healed simply by miracle of God, not all at once, some instantly, some progressively. Some have left their docs dumbfounded. So i will also believe in medical + miracle healing for E.

<font color="aa00aa">Sunny - Amen to that!

Am listening to some worship songs and writing on computer, looking out in the night dotted with yellow lights, a very peaceful feeling.

Am thankful for this few minutes of relative calm.</font>

Hi vanila be strong. I don't think I can manage if I were in your shoes. Looking after e waking up several for 2 years. You are like a energizer bunny! Take heart for God knows your sorrow n pain.

Thks sunny. I want a miracle but I rem someone told me to pray for strength n courage instd.

Tdy we told our senior rev abt E. He said it is a test of faith. It dawn to me His workers never told us to look for miracles but to take this trial a test.

How many times are n will we b tested?

Normal children has flu n as a parent I understd how heart wrenching to see them unwell. But there is a recovery they will get better. I dun think I see that for E's case. As we thot his conditions r stabilizing it will turn the whole table n crash it upon us.

E is sleeping beside me n he just giggled. He is such a sweet kid but he has to go thru so much.

<font color="aa00aa">giggling in his sleep? ooo what a joyous kid he must be
how cute!!</font>

vanilla- what you been thru..reminded me abt the scare i had when Joash born- all the blood test, urine test n even have to send the test twice to OZ. i pray that yours will be a false alarm n E will grow up to be a healthy strong boy!!

i really know what u been thru- that time i was greiving that i told NZ i dare not love Joash too much in case God takes him away and i will be heartbroken. till now Joash still vomits milk n i dare not stop breast feeding in case that is the only milk he can take.

Hang in there!!

Vanilla

May I share something which my friend's wife shared on her blog when she is battling Stage 4 lung cancer and is now healed! The Dr proclaimed her a healing as extraordinary and we as children in Christ know that her recovery from Stage 4 cancer is a MIRACLE.

"In the bible, Jesus never turned away anyone who came to Him for healing. This observation alone gives us hope in God for our healing. The lady with blood issue for 12 years, she really believed that if only she could touch Jesus' garment, she would be healed. She came to Him for healing, she reached out to the Healer. Earlier on in this journey I asked God "Are you willing to heal me?". and God in the bible says "i am willing". It is written in Luke 5:13

"Jesus reached out his hand and touched the man. "I am willing," he said. "Be clean!" And immediately the leprosy left him."

I have come to realize it is all about rhema and receiving God's word. Really, the bottom-line is not our faith that heals us but it is the power of His word that sinks deep into our spirit man.

Ephesians 3:16
I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith.

The lady with the blood issue for 12 years must have heard about Jesus and she knew deep in her inner being, her heart, her spirit man, that Jesus is where her healing lies. It is the word of God that speaks to our heart so real that it becomes God's rhema to us that gives healing to our bodies.

So let us not say that God does not heal some but to say the positive, to speak life, to speak hope to those who are believing God for healing from the little they have heard about this Jesus for really, Jesus NEVER turned away anyone who came to him for healing in the bible."

And we are all praying for a miracle for your beautiful boy E that by Jesus stripes, he would be healed. Amen!

You will have faith "as small as a mustard seed" and God will give you strength to go through this difficult time/trial.

thanks TH and Joie.

my hope for miracle healing was there since E was in my womb from 5th mth onwards.. we prayed his omphacocele will heal..it didnt.

His heart and kidney issues pop out when he is born and we prayed for miracle healing they stayed

i dont believe in miracles anymore.

Today i sat in the bus to work and i recalled how i teared in E's sunday school - they sang the song "Jesus loves the little children".. then i asked God do u love E? If u do why are you putting him thru all these?

I cant pic a 2yr old boy doing dialysis i cant pic him hooked on the machine ... i cant....i cant faced the fact while he is hooked to the machine he looks at me crying i have to harden my heart and tell him "it is ok"..becos it is NOT ok.

my heart is hardened so many times... i blanked out the pain when he does blood tests, i blanked out the pain when they try to search for a working vein to put in the drip for his antibotics, i blanked out the pain when he was in ICU with 3 pumps to his little body pumping out the blood. I blanked out all these cos i say it will pass he will be ok.. but i dun think i can blank out when he goes for dialysis regularly. I cant blank out.

Vanilla : Have been thinking about you and your family the whole weekend, esp little E. Both HB and I are praying for you and your family, and that his medical review this week would bring favorable news, and be healed in Jesus's name.

Was thinking and praying for you and E, when the bible story of how Abraham was tested came to me. The faith that he has in the Lord, as he was asked to sacrificed his only son as a burnt offering. Right after that as I came in to read the forum, you shared about your senior Rev saying that it is a test of faith.

You are a very strong mummy and had been always there for E. Am sure you will cont to be strong for little E. E has come a very long way. He is a strong fighter, am sure he will fight on.

Hang in there my dear sister! We are all here for you, remember if you need a listening ear, or someone to talk to, Im just a phone call/sms away.

Hi Vanilla, my heart pained as i read your post. Its ok, if you cant believe in miracles now, take your time. In the meantime, we will continue to pray and appeal to God for E.

Hi Vanilla,

I found this testimonial i had to share with you.

Recovery From Kidney Failure

4626173.jpg

On November 6, 2001, 78-year-old Maureen Yap was at the Singapore General Hospital for an X-ray and lung check-up. She was breathless with a bad cough and feeling nauseous. Her lung specialist decided that she was too ill to go home and immediately warded her. Blood tests and other treatments were carried out.

The next morning, she was told that her blood test results reflected that she had kidney-related problems. Further tests and scans revealed that she was suffering from 80% kidney failure (a normal person's kidney should at least function at 80%). To minimize the burden on her ailing kidneys, Maureen's renal specialist put her under a very strict and monitored diet.

She was allowed home five days later. Two medical appointments were scheduled on December 3 and 14 to determine if her condition warranted the painful and laborious dialysis, the only known treatment for kidney failure. Still feeling terribly weak, Maureen vomited whatever little food that she ate after every meal. She shed 3 kg in just less than a month.

Initially, Maureen was somewhat depressed but as she prayed and recited God's promises in the Bible, her spirit began to rise above her circumstances. So, when her daughter's sister-in-law offered to bring them to the Miracle Service, she accepted the invitation readily.

At the Miracle Service on December 1, Maureen still felt the nausea and was very weak in her legs. As she sat with her head bowed, preparing herself spiritually while waiting for the service to start, she felt a strong anointing in the Sanctuary. Her tears began to flow, sensing the awesome presence of the Lord. Then, she heard two uplifting testimonies which touched her deeply.

The first one was given by the wife of an elderly man who had been bedridden after a debilitating stroke. A taxi driver brought him and his wife to the Miracle Service. He received progressive healing after a few months. That night, he got out of his wheelchair and climbed up the stage.

The second one was about a cat that was "smuggled" into the Sanctuary, prayed for and was healed of kidney problem in a Miracle Service. Upon hearing this, she spoke to God boldly. Knowing that she is much more precious to God than the cat, she boldly claimed healing from her Heavenly Father.

That night, instead of the usual weakness, she felt energized. Her nausea was completely gone. Maureen knew that the Lord had healed her.

Medical tests were conducted as scheduled on December 3. As soon as the blood test results were out, her lung specialist excitedly shared the outcome with her. The two main components in the blood test for kidneys are the level of the Urea and Creatinine. Comparing the test results with those taken on November 6, the vast improvement can be seen below:

6/11/2001 - Urea was 17.3, Creatinine was 578
3/12/2001 - Urea was 9.8, Creatinine was 142

(Normal level for Urea is 2.8 to 7.7, Creatinine is 44 to 141 )

The lung specialist explained further that the turnaround in Maureen's condition was remarkable and very rare.

On December 14, when Maureen showed the renal specialist the results of the tests taken on December 3, he requested her to retake the same tests, as he was not convinced of their authenticity. This time, the Urea and Creatinine reading reduced further to 5.7 and 115 respectively, both were undeniably well within the normal healthy range.

In less than a month since the detection of her kidney failure and without any medication or treatment, Maureen's kidneys were miraculously and completely healed. Praise the Lord!

http://www.lighthouse.org.sg/miracletesti_individual.asp?id=154&amp;dispid=k

thanks sunny - i see the words urea and creatinine and they do look v familiar to me...

to be v v honest i really dun want to think of miracle cos i dun dare to have such hope.

Vanilla,
I am so sorry of such bad news. I am not good with words and pray that God will give you hope and comfort during this time.

During last Sunday'service there was sharing on God's parting of the red sea for the Israelites and how God can make a way when there seems to be no way. I was thinking of the sisters here, the discouragements that we go through after so many failures and dissapointment. And we all hang on because we believe that He is good, and He will make a way. But I believe the word is also for you and your family.
Trust and have faith, He will not give you more than what you can bear.

Please take care. If you need anything, you have us here to pray with you.

Sunny,
Just saw that you are in 2ww, how are you? Take care and rest as much as you can. Praying for God to grant you your heart's desire.

thanks Joy.. thanks sisters.

Just spoke to E's pd and even he say he is praying for E.

Me and my hb were worried that it is becos we didnt do the op that is why E's condition deteriorate.

First babies born in IVF full gene screening study

By Kate Kelland

LONDON (Reuters) - Two women have given birth to healthy babies from eggs screened for genetic defects before being implanted in the womb, in a study of a new technique that could improve the success rate of in-vitro fertilization.

Twin girls born in Germany in June and a boy born in Italy in September are the first deliveries in a pilot study of a technique called comparative genomic hybridisation (CGH) by microarray, European scientists said on Friday.

The technique is a new way of screening eggs and embryos for genetic defects to increase the odds a woman achieves a healthy pregnancy from in-vitro fertilization (IVF), when eggs are fertilized with sperm in a lab dish and implanted into her womb.

The births were part of a "proof of principle" analysis on whether this method of screening of oocytes, or egg cells, and embryos before transfer in IVF can help to increase birth rates.

"We have learnt from more than 30 years of IVF that many of the embryos we transfer have chromosome abnormalities," Luca Gianaroli, chairman of the European Society of Human Reproduction and Embryology (ESHRE) and one of the scientists who worked on the study, said in a statement.

Gianaroli said two out of every three embryos implanted by doctors into a woman's womb during IVF fail to develop into a pregnancy, often because of these abnormalities.

"The whole world of IVF has been trying to find an effective way of screening for these abnormalities for more than a decade," Gianaroli said. "Now we have a new technology...and our hopes are that this will finally provide a reliable means of assessing the chromosomal status of the embryos we transfer."

The study was conducted in Bologna, Italy, and Bonn, Germany and designed and organized by the ESHRE to find out the clinical value of CGH.

Cristina Magli, an embryologist who worked on the study at the SISMER Center in Bologna said in a statement that all three babies and their mothers were "doing very well in terms of weight and overall developmental performance."

The scientists said the next step is for the pilot study to be upgraded to a large-scale international clinical trial which is expected to start in 2011.

If it proves successful in larger trials, experts say the new CGH screening is most likely to be used to help women over the age of 37 who undergo IVF, or those with a history of miscarriage or a record of unsuccessful IVF treatments.

All of these conditions are associated with a higher than average rate of embryonic chromosomal abnormality.

The technique is also likely to be important in countries such as Germany where interfering with or freezing of embryos is banned but analysis of oocyte or egg cells is allowed.

One in six couples worldwide experience some form of infertility problem at least once during their reproductive lifespan. EHRE says the current prevalence of infertility that lasts for at least 12 months is estimated to be an average of 9 percent worldwide for women aged 20-44.

(Editing by Peter Graff) Article from Reuters

morning sisters

vanilla - hugs hugs... in the midst of the storm, God is here. do take communion daily with E. May our Lord protect and heal E. God loves all His little children. Have faith and trust in Him! Will keep you and your family in prayers. if you need someone to talk to or lunch with (Mondays), just SMS me k? I am here...

NZ, enjoy your trip to Malaysia. i will be going on a trip with 3 kids in Dec as well. looking forward but cannot imagine the packing that needs to be done.

my kids havent been well, one after another, down with fever, cough, and recently ulcers again in my younger boy's mouth. then I caught some form of chicken pox virus. not good... Pray God will protect our family.

TH - hello - how are you? Hope you are coping well. Happy advance birthday to your twins. Good job in breastfeeding them past 1 yr!

Sisters in 2 ww - pray for good news soon!

thanks sisters for all ur encouragement, prayers and sms.

Hi joie - if i rem correctly last yr in UK this lady already did this ... apparently her family has history of breast cancer - her mum, aunt and herself has...so she choose to do IVF (though she can conceive naturally) so that she can do the genetic checks. They choose one (girl) and i think this bb shld b born already.

Thanks Thistle. I pray that ur family will recover well too. Cld ur younger boy be like me - extremely heaty? My ulcers are back too - in my throat ... i think cos i lack of sleep + the spicy ramen. maybe u can load him w Vit C + barley (the normal type cos more cooling)..

today i felt better.. yesterday played w E -- he is so so cute..and it seemed then he is like any normal boy with no existing and potential sickness. he started saying ABCs after me, called uncle and aunties. over the weekend he is able to say he is a BOY (hurray!)

i felt better now so i will reply to my fren's email. Yesterday i got her email and i was v bitter. She emailed me to say her son is ill w gastric flu caught from her hb and that she is preggie. in my anger and nastiness i felt like replying back to say my son has chronic kidney disease and there is a chance his heart will be compromise cos of hyperventilation and i will NEVER be pregnant again... but i did not.. i told myself i will ignore replying till i am in a more calm mood.

Vanilla, God's anointing was with you, good thing you didnt lash back at her.
E is really cute and has a good sense of humour!

Hi Joy, thanks. I am ok and back to work wef yesterday. But its hell here. But recently, a small voice tells me to thank God he gave me this job years ago else how would i have funded all our IVF tries and even ever get to know any of you sistas here. Knowing you all amidst my TTC journeys was a great blessing from God! And at least God faciliated me the means to try some IVFs and hope, even if i have to end my life childless, i will be glad i ran the TTC race as hard as i possible can. How are you too?

hi sunny - yes even how gloom it is we give thanks to God for a little ray of light.

u will not be childless sunny. u will have a whole bunch of sunnies!

Thanks Vanilla. Actually i am at the crossroads once again, even with 3 frosties waiting for me, i find no cheer to carry on. Can picture my frosties calling out to me not to abandon them but i am too crushed to bring myself to look at them. If this time fail again, might see Dr LC Foong to see what he says before i close this door and never think of TTC again. But thats just me, to the rest of sistas, i will still say, as long as you dont close the door and keep trying, you will have your hearts desires.

When i see him, can i mention i know some of you who are also under him?

sunny,
dr f will NEVER admit that the names u give are REALLY his patients. He safe guards all of us! The friend who introduced me to him actually mentioned that Yve, the one with a Japanese husband, is her friend. Dr f told her that he has MANY patients with name Yve and with Japanese husband!! (?!?!?!) And then that was it! No more talk about me. So, I never mention all the ladies here who are under him, in front of him.

U can try.. and see what he says.

hi tokkie - have u and ur hb decide on the doc yet? all ur results back from CARE?

hi yve - ya i think that is Dr F's nature. Patient Confidentiality.

Ok, then i will just say i am recommended by a few friends from forum. Anyway i also dont know all of your full names, heehee. So i going to get to see your 'oh xiang' soon, finally ...

hi sunny - Dr F i think wont ask who refer u... in my case is diff cos my gynae refered him so i have case notes, referal letter and he seems pretty close to my gynae so they shld have chatted abt me.

Today in class E amused some parents and his teachers according to my hb..he shouted 2 phrases which sounded totally korean.. till today i also dun know what they mean. one is "mamanim" and the other is "papanim"..

my dad is v upset that next yr E is spending the whole morn in school... he thinks hi grandson so poor thing study so long... i told my mum to tell him it is more play for whole morn instd.

Ok Vanilla. Anyway its to discuss about me and my case so mentioning who recommended is at most for ice breaking, not important.

Ya actually whole morning not very long mah. Its good E gets to interact with other tots. He's such a cheery boy surely delighful in class!

Vanilla : Hee hee... sort of convinced hb to go to Dr F.. wahhahah.... so now he says is 90% le... but comfirmed that we will be doing the biopsy next month... half the results are back and we have sent it to Dr F...and Im off metformin for now.... wahahaha.... as Dr F says hormones and glucose looks ok so can stop until he sees me next mth.... hehehehe....

Just went to care this morning to draw another 2 tubes for miscarriage profiling, results will only be out in 1 week time... so next week will have to send him the balance of the results as we are still waiting for some other results... apparently needs 2 weeks to run...

E is so cute, your dad also quite cute...

Sunny : Dun worry so much, wait till the your BHCG then think of your next move.. think positive.. BFP BFP!!!

tokkie,
welcome to the club. For starter's u'll get a membership card with handsome's picture, not ur picture! And printed handsome's Tshirt, towel, knapsack etc etc...

just kiddin'.

Good to be off metformin. Let's just hope u need not take it ever again. The body needs some getting used to for that medicine.

hey, sunny! Why u thinking about joining our club when u have not even done yr HCG test?!?! Limited membership. U join at next tier ok. Next tier = see handsome for delivery!
btw, I did the karyotyping with dr F. What do u wanna know?

Vanilla : Heehee... yah.. even Ms Jin also say to stop all chinese med until after the biopsy.. heehee... so dont need to take any med till I see Dr F next mth or rather D2 of the next cycle.. coz got to eat progynova then...

Sunny : Sorry ah.. what is karyotyping?? Me only doing growth hormones, AMH, Fasting gluclose, Miscarriage profile, some proteins testing (don't whats that and for) and the other usual like LH, FSH, etc...

Yve : heehee... thank you thank you... wahahah... ms jin was telling abt you today.... heehee..

Ask you sistas who are still working ah ... if your HL is for 14 days but you came back to work after 7 days, will your HR record as 7 or still follow the HL chit 14 days?

vanilla:
u want to be Treasurer? Start collecting funds, then can gather items for goody bag! hahahahaaa

tokkie:
hmm...what has Ms Jin been telling u ah? U see.. that's why I'm President of handsome's club but not Ms Jin club. Did she tell u that my heart was beating very fast when she took my pulse? keke. Drove to RH for the first time last week and was afraid of getting lost. Then I got out of car and couldn't find elevator! By the time she took my pulse, she said I was having palpitations.

sunny,
if my staff presents the MC to me, I will make a note on the MC and take in as 7 days. What's the point of cutting short ur medical leave if HR takes in FULL? But then again, I'm a kind boss lah.

Oh Yve, i am so upset now.
I have a few HLs due to IVF and miscarriages but often i voluntarily came back to work earlier than stated on the HL as i felt well anyway. Boss acknowledged as the shorter days but HR still keyed in as the full 14 days, i was told policy, end up now my performance record over reported for actual HL taken. So unfair, think for company, come back work for company still like that??! I should have just heck care and rested fully for all my HLs. Sianz now lor.

sunny,
if it is policy then dig out ur HR Memorandum and check where it states about this policy. Will talking to ur direct boss help? He/she can help u to speak to HR? My company is small so we can handle it such. I already forgotten how the big companies work. 10 yrs ago I was in HR in a Japanese bank. Already forgotten how it works. Maybe the rest of the ladies here can help u. Take care! Don't fret!

Thanks Yve, ya i emailed my HR colleague already, see whether she can clarify. If really HR policy then i can only accept it and from now just be very calculative when submitting HL lor. No matter how unhappy i am, i also cannot go pick a fight and i am not under union protection. Sigh. For a start, this time's HL have to change from 14 days to just 8 days, hopefully KK can help.

Now having my japanese saba fish rice and chawanmushi, somehow also feeling alittle comforted with the good food i so missed during 1ww, hehehe