Calling mommies staying near commonwealth

Hapi Melodius,
Got a maid from Myanmar to take care of her after she come back from kindergarten. Yap, my girl was born in 2004 late October. Hv pic to share, don't know how to start a blog!! Let me learn first.haha

Hi Hapi Melodius, Smurf and mommy1030,

Abt the school - yes.. the class size is big.. so now you understand why i said i feel so shortchanged. We pay over 3k per term.

When my gal was in N1 and 2, the class size was only 11 kids.. the teachers could give all the kids the attention needed and they are truly caring

Now that she's in K1 (changed teachers) and the class is so big, i find it really hard to communicate with the teachers. Somehow, they dun come across to me as enthusiatic and caring educators. I'm so disappointed!

The school claimed tat the teacher to kid ratio is very good.. coz there are 4 teachers in the class.. The 4 teachers include, 2 english teachers, 1 helper and 1 chinese teacher. But i dun think all 4 are in the class all the time lor. sigh.....

I dunno if the teachers care for my kid or not coz when my gal caught the HFMD from the school, i didn't get a single phone call from the teachers asking if my gal is ok or how she's doing.

My gal will not be attending school for the whole month of march coz of HFMD, school break, and next week we are going on a 1 week holiday.. I wonder if the teachers will even notice that my gal has "disappeared" from school. Sigh.. i just got this feeling that the teachers dun care lor...

Mommies, do you think i'm being petty???

Hi mummy1030,
Is yr Myanmar maid gd, with u for how long & is there anybody supervising her at hm? Mine is a filipino & with me for only 4 mths, tis one dun really can make it, sad
Previous maid went back in Nov last yr, too lazy & like to take advantage....Hard to get a gd maid now adays, sigh

Hi Preggie,
Tat's very expensive, not being petty as I am sure that every mummy will react this way as our child are our precious darlings, agree? Hehe
I find that the class is too big & difficult for the teachers to monitor each & every of them & attention wise is not there...

Hi Hapi Melodius,
I used to have an Indon maid when my girl was 1 month old. she used to work for my brother and when I was luking for 1, it was just my luck cos' she can cuk, etc and babies like her. I sent her back last September cos' every 2 months when I ask her to cut her hair, she will say she want to go home. I brought her to Korea last April for a holiday and she still doesn't appreciate it. She worked with me for 2.5 years and last September I really cant tahan so I cancelled her work permit the same day. She asked me give her another chance but it was too late. I felt sad too but on the other hand, I am angry cos' she has such an easy job with me. All she does is take care of my girl. I helped out in housekeeping etc. All my neighbours also say I spoiled her cos' she eats out with us everytime. Her English is considered good for an Indonesian so she became the unofficial captain of the Indon maids at my blk. Anyone who has problem will c her and she is always on the mobile sending messaging or when we are not around, she will be watching her Indon channel instead of letting my girl watch her Disney channel. It is for this reason that i had no choice and put my girl in Lorna Whiston Pre-school during that period. I waiting till October for my Myanmar maid but so far, theres a difference. At least she doesn't like to go out, she doesn't talk on the phone and she doesn't even turn on the TV. Although her English is manageable, she tries hard and she is very focus on taking care of my girl. Even when we go out, her attention is totally on my girl, she doesn't window shop at all. Compared to the Indon one, she is also shopping when she is with my girl. When anyone ask my girl what happened to the old maid, she said that old maid is very naughty, always talking on the phone and watching Kakak channel. Do u notice that when we bring the maid out, whenever they c other maids, they will strike a conversation. Mine doesn't even talk to anyone at all. Though she is not too good at cooking, but she tries. More important, my girl is happy and she doesn't fall sick. I am paying $320 a month with no off day. My neighbour is a retired couple caring for 3 granddaughters so they keep an eye on my maid too. Last time the Indon maid brought friends home,etc, I also know about it. Some of the shopowners and NTUC sales people know me also inform me when they c them. Think you can consider a Myanmar maid. The agent I went to has quite a lot of Myanmar maid biodata. If u are keen, let me know. Will give u the contact. The agency fee I paid is $380 including all the paperwork, insurance, etc.

Preggie,
Lorna Whiston charges about $1.3k a month but the teachers are really caring. Though most of the Chinese teachers are PRC, but I don't mind if they are good with the kids. last time when I used to drop by during their tea break, all the teachers will sit with their classmates and the teachers from different classes also know the students from other classes cos' they call their name. I am surprised cos' my girl was in N1 but even the K2 teacher know her. Some of them are still bottle feeding and the teacher actually carry the child on their lap and make sure the kid is drinking. When I brought my girl back yesterday for a visit, I got all emotional cos' the teachers all remembered her and call her name. Some call her over just to get a hug so I was overwhelmed. The class size is still very small, around 10 to 2 teachers. Tomorrow there is an easter fair there so I will bring my girl there to visit and have some fun. I feel that u are shortchanged and should do something about it. Last time I mentioned a mummy who took her kid out of St James to put him in Lorna, her younger daughter is also there now. She said her son is much happier now.

Hi mummy1030,
You are really a nice mummy who are willing to share, really appreciate yr kind gesture

Agree that once maid are being spoiled, difficult to control them. Once they got off day, NIGHTMARE will start, lazy + like to compare & clever to act. You are really nice to bring yr ex-maid for holiday
Is yr Myanmar maid married and anybody supervising her @ hm, can she understand you when you talk to her ? Will consider getting Myanmar maid when my maid contract expire
Thanks for sharing...

Btw for Maris Stella, how long in advance can we register the children

Mummy1030: Agree that maid like to talk to each other when they meet, this is the part that I cannot tahan. Talk like nobody business, pissed off, dun know cm & work or cm & talk, btw hw often do u allow yr maid to call back hm

Hi HM,
I hv some time to consider if i wanna order the cake. Boy's B day in May only. Btw, its $58 for 1.5kg.

HM, Mummy1030,
So it seems Myanmar maid more urm... decent / kuai? Heard they are supposed to be smarter than the indon ones. Do they learn faster compared to indons? Am considering to hire a maid when boy goes P1. He's been under my mum's care since 9MO. But I'm really in a dilemma. Why? Cos my mum has expressed that she wants to have more time to herself and so dun really wanna take care of my boy. Sending him to b4 / aft sch care means i hv to rush to the ctr and pick him b4 7pm and get dinner up (which I hv nt figured out how except tingkat meal). This is really difficult as i cant commit such timing due to bz wk schedule. I can imagine myself running arnd like mad woman. But hiring a maid... sounds gd cos i can leave the hsewk to her and i can focus on running thru boy's homewk whn i get home. But im v. scared if she dunno how to look aft him...I think im one of those minority who plough thru without a maid and its driving me so crazy till i almost wanna be SAHM. Really cant cope with job demands and looking aft the family. Any mummies got tips on juggling? I'd really appreciate tips on managing

hi mummy1030,

had started to pack the clothings today, sort out a bag of homewear hope yr friend wont mind as its preloved.

will do more packing on weekend, let u know the collection on monday ok

Hi smurf,
Heard from a lot of feedback that Myanmar maid are more humble compared to indo & filipino but luck oso plays an important part as majority of them cannot understand English and slow. Hence you will need plenty of patience to guide them. My fren sis have employed 1 from Myanmar but very slow & cannot understand Eng, in the end this maid got some illness and was hospitalised for 2 times & was returned back to agency, sad

Understand that nowadays grandmother dun really want to look after grandchildren as no freedom, from my point of view, children goes to student care tends get influence easily. Getting a maid is better as can ease yr burden by doing hsewk, if you want can employ earlier & train her. Filipino maid are more clever & can speak English but the tricky part is must control them if not will be gone case as once they mixed with other maid then trouble arise as thet will start to compare & gossip which I hate most. Not say selfish or heartless as they are here to look after children & cannot afford to let them do funny things loh... As wat u say, if u have a maid then you can concentrate to go through yr boy hmwork & no need to worry abt hsewk etc...btw which sch is yr boy in?

Hi snow,
Hw r u? Long time nvr see yr posting

Hi HM.
Maris Stella registration is usually immediately after CNY for the following year. U have to meet with the Principal who will talk (interview) to u before u pay the registration fee of $30.
As for my maid calling home. She started work with me in October and so far she called home only 4 times. She has a 9 yr old boy and she is divorced. Actually picked another maid but when I brought my girl down to the agent's office and showed her the biodata and photo, she picked this one and I went ahead and decided on the one she pointed, kind of taking chances!

Brought my girl back to LWPS for their Easter Fair this afternoon, my girl had fun there.

Hi Smurf,
Join the club! Both my hubby and I are working thats why I decided on a maid. If I put my girl in Childcare, when we get back theres still so much to do at home, eg cooking, cleaning, ironing, etc. My hubby is not local and his parents passed away a long time ago and same with me so we can't depend on any in laws for help. Also, my hubby is Korean so his sisters are all in Korea, though they offered to babysit for me, I can't bear to send my girl away to Korea. I hv 3 sis in law who are SAHM and their kids are already old. At least when my girl is in school, the maid has time to clean the house. Sometimes I will ask her to prepare the vege, meat etc for me so when I come back i can just cuk. She knows how to prepare simple meal for my girl and between my hubby and I, whoever reach home first from work will do the cooking. So far, it works alright cos' when my previous maid went back, our routine was all messed up thats why I placed my girl in Childcare.

Hi Snow,
Have received your pm, whereabouts u staying? Will try to drop by next week to pick up the clothes. Thanks again

Hi mummy1030,
OIC, have to be on waiting list or not? At least yr maid is quite okie so not much to worry
Maid will be a better choice for you as no need to worry abt hse work & can spend more time with yr princess
The most important thing is that can get along with yr darling :)

Hi HM,
Not sure about the waiting list but I called before I went over, maybe u can call and ask them if u can pre register ahead of the normal reg period.

Hi Snow,
Got yr mail, will sms u b4 I drop by to pick up the clothings. Thanks again.

Hi mummy1030,
Hw r u & yr princess? Manage to call Maris Stella, e person who pick up the call not very friendly
she was saying only can register next year for 2010 intake...

Hi Hapi Melodius,

My son attended the Berries World trial (Tanglin CC) on Sat and he was fine with it. We did not hang around to see what went on as the class was 1hr 45 mins long. He can 'read' the material he brought home (I guess by memory lah), and said he would want to go again (phew! so no need to force!). The topic that day was 我的玩具 and several words were introduced. Later that night when he was playing with his toys, he suddenly said 我的玩具. Wow, he can apply his knowledge! Anyway, I didn't expect anything after one lesson. Since the new term starts in 2 weeks' time, we have signed up for the next 2 as trials, before signing on for the new term. The promotional price of $15 (before GST) for the trial is worth it - plus we get 'time-off' while he is there. Each term is 12 weeks (make-up possible if your child is sick) and costs $359.50. There is a twice weekly one at $629.15 (12 weeks).

Hi Catherine,
Thanks for the feedback, appreciate it. The most important things is that he enjoys it, will consider for the trial class. Thankie once again

Hi HM,
I will keep you informed on Maris Stella's registration when the time comes. Bought two Elmo backpacks for her from the States and she was so happy. Today she carried one to school and at least she doesn't say she want to go to Lorna Whiston again. Over the weekend she said she wants to go back to Lorna Whiston school and not Maris Stella. I was abit worried about this. So far she has been very positive about attending school and she has attended a few. The only one she doesn't like is Seimpi Music School. Hv been reading alot about Berris World, is this for chinese Hanyi Pinyin? Maris Stella has Speech and Drama Class starting today for Nursery class but I didn't register my girl. Hubby say this year let her enjoy her class and not to push her too hard.

Hi mummy1030,
Thanks & appreciate that
Wow the Elmo backpack must be nice, luckiy that she still wants to go to Maris Stella
Berries World conduct Hanyu Pinyin, chinese enrichment classes if not wrong...Yah let her enjoy for this yr as only N1, can start next year, my boy who is K1 attending CC also have Eng & chinese Speech & Drama in his sch and he is enjoying it

So gald that i found this thread & best thing is, there r so many mummies ard me :p Hurray !!!!

I'm a FTWM wif 3 kids (2 gals 6 & 4 yrs old, boy 1 yr old). Mom staying in Strathmore & we stay opp Redhill mrt. Every am hubby will ferry dd1 & dd2 to Queenstown Good Shepherd Kindergarten while ds & maid back to mom's place.

Would like to gather more info abt schools ard Queenstown area :-

1) CHIJ (Kellock)
Personally, I like the gymnastics class that they offers, it's a girl school and being in a single session is a added bonus. Neither are we Catholic nor RC members so we are under 2C phase. Being out of the 2km zone & balloting were done for the past few yrs which implies that our chance will be quite slim lor. Sigh .....

2) RVPS
A mix school, gd for both my gals & 1 boy. Unfortunately, we r slighlty out of the 2km zone & heard that balloting were done for the past yrs. Same thing, we are also under 2C phase. Keeping my fingers crossed when the time comes ........

Initially, i was so happy when one of my ex-pri school frd told me that Keng Seng Pri is an affiliated school of RVPS. Tot, wah good man, solved all my worries liao. Can take "direct" route instead of turning left & right. Sicali, I called the office admin then realised that Kim Seng Pri is but not Keng Seng Pri ah !!!!! Alamak, a Kim & a Keng makes a whole lot difference leh ....... Sigh ...... Derives that this pri-school frd must be a sotong head !

Btw, RVPS is a double session school but read somewhere that P1 is in pm session only ? Is it true ah ?

If we were in my shoes, which one would u choose ? Would appreciate any comments.

Re : Maid
My Indo maid for 4 yrs is scheduled home in Jun. Not gonna renew anymore. Told me that her hb asked her to go home. If don't go back will look for an/r woman. Gosh ! Told her that if that's the case, tis type of hb is a good-for-nothing. Have also no use.

She was a transferred maid & I took the risk to employed her. Apparently, she was being abused by the ex-employer. Anyway that was 3 yrs + liao. Now, she speaks good English, a dash of Mandarin & Cantonese. Thanks to the classes conducted by my mom, sil & kids
Overall, she's alright & I appreciate her heart & soul in her work thou sometimes she will cut corners. I'll close an eye cos the main priority is childcare not housewrk. She has no off days but i gave her whenever she asks for it & so far it's only 4 times. Holds a hand phone but nvr use it when she's wif my kids cos i told her that it's mutual respect. U can sms at night but not when u r wif my kids cos ur attention will be diverted.

I'm not sure how will the kids react when she's really gone cos my kids are very attached to her. Whenever I tell them that Aunty will be going home, they'd cry their hearts out. How ah ? Plus, I might not be so lucky again to have a trouble-free maid. Sigh ...... Getting a good, reliable & trustworthy maid is like striking Toto !

Hi Ma22,
Nice to meet u here,

I am a FTWM too with 3 Kids (1 boy 5, Long Feng Tai 2 Yrs old)

My MIL stays opp Redhill MRT and I goes there everyday as my boy is in CC nesr Redhill MRT. I am from Keng Seng Pr Sch oso leh

Getting a gd maid is really difficult nowadays, sigh

Ma22,
Regarding abt Pri sch, for girls will choose CHIJ but for boys, RVPS or Henry Park Pri Sch will be a gd choice but sure gonna ballot leh, stress : ( BUT dun ever choose GESPS
((

Hey hey hey Hapi Melodius, sicali we r pri sch classmate leh
Anyway, tink I'm quite old liao lah. Pia Sie .....

Henry Park is a gd sch but i don't want to pressurize my kids leh. Actually, I used to stay @ Ghim Moh. Sold it off when it's abt time to pay for the upgrading fees. Aiyah, I should not sell away my 5 room then.

Hee hee, me also not a fan of GESPS. Heard quite alot of negative abt tis sch. Oh yes, Keng Seng Pri is DEFINITELY an affiliated so will sure 200% get in if i want to. Thanks but no thanks

Hi Ma22,
Maybe, me also quite old liao, graduate in 1989. Which Blk r u staying in redhill?

Agree, hahahaha definitely affiliated with GESPS, too bad not interested

I think some of u do order stuff from the Bulk Purchase forum like I do. I happened to see a new spree for shoe charms at $1.10 each. Did anyone of u notice this thread? I read the T & C for this and hv copied part of it as follows:
kao_angry.gif

09.People who cancel their order or did not pay by the dateline will be blacklist from my future pre-orderspree.
10.Please keep your order form neat and tidy.
11.No Payment by Dateline = No Order
12.Payment will be confiscated if buyer wants to cancel their order after payment is made to me.
13.I have the rights to reject any order, if anyone fail to obey the above rules.
14.NO bargaining of prices and shipping fee. I will blacklist anyone who bargain.

So mummies, any comments? I think this is the first time that I hv read on blacklisting. Personally I would blacklist the organizer!
Anyways, the shoe charms doesn't luk that nice!

Hi mummy1030,
hW R U? Didn't notice this thread but based on the T & C, find that too rigid & so many rules to comply. Agree with you that should blacklist the Organizer first & what so great abt the shoe charms. Have joined the shoe charms free before but no such T & C

Hi HM,
Hv been busy at work so hv no time to practise keyboarding here...
Btw, u hv a pair of twins, right? Any pic? Dont know anyone with a pair of mixed twins, do they look alike? Where do u work? Oh, btw, mummies who go to Dawson Place, the foodcourt is gone. No more food there! Hongkong Steet Hwa Keat (chaplup)! Understand the whole Hwa Keat chain closed down. Now I can't even have a bowl of porridge there

Gotta end now, in office and don't want my Boss walking in! Have a good day but I think its going to be raining cats and dogs again.

Hi mummy1030,
No wonder seldom see yr posting... ya have a pair of Fratanal Twins & they do not look alike. Me wking in Raffles Place & wata abt yrself? Hah close liao but business quite slow over there as not much crowd but convenient as NTUC is over there...

Have a Great Day ahead & heavy downpour coming soon
Take Care & hope to c yr posting soon, cheerios

Melodius,

That makes me ur senior in KSPS since I graduated much much earlier than u. Beta not reveal how old am I. So pia-sie

I'm staying opp the mrt where the condo is. Halo, so coincident me also working in RP leh

Oh yes, heard my mom telling me that the foodcourt is closing down when i brought my son down to Dr Chan on Sun afternoon. Hmm, not sure who will be the next tenant. Maybe an/r childcare ?

Hi Ma22,
OIC, really so concident hoh, same Pri sch & same working area...

Oh, Tanglin View, nice place, btw who looks after yr children while u r working?

I also visit Dr Chan @ Dawson Place but long long wait but he is quite nice & patient...

Hi HM,
Lousy weather today. Oh, u mean the twins looked very different?? I worked near Alexandra Hosp so its quite near my place. Oh, oh, I received an email that I can now join the Overseas Spree and WTS forum. Guess i hv graduated!

Hi Ma22,
So u also bring yr son to Dr Chan, guess quite a few of us have one thing in common -- Dr Chan.
Hope Dawson will have something to eat soon.

Hi mummy1030,
Weather dun look gd today
yup they r really different, girl is smaller size & didi is much more bigger. Must be as must be at least 1 year before you can join Oversea Spree, I have to wait for 1 more month ...

My mom & maid looks after the kids when I'm working. They are in safe hands so i can work in peace

Quite of no of us are "local" customers of Dr Chan ya
Actually I was quite piss wif one of the assistant nurse for her being so tactless.

Story goes :- Brought son down on 13, 14 & 16 Mar due to constant high fever & bad cough. Called on 17, am asking for advice as son develops swollen eye. I suspect he's allergic to the antibiotic. Asked the lady nicely if Dr. Chan can do a review. Something must be wrong if boy still not recovering after so many days of visit + medication. She told me that I have to wait for at least 2 hrs, nothing she can do to help. Of course, I understand that Mon is usually more crowded. Come on man, can't she be more sympathetic cos a worried like mad mom is seeking for comforting advice. Tot there's a notice at the clinic that priority is given to the very ill, old & young ???? Mine not young izit, still not sick enough izit ? I replied her : Do i have a choice ? Ok lor, I have to wait lor. Not sure wat happen but later an/r assistant called my mom & ask her to bring boy down. Sigh ....

Btw, do u find that the medical fees cost higher as compared to when it was newly opened ? Any comments or just me being sensitive ?

Hi Mama22,
Gd morning to you
Raining cats & dogs again... So blessed to have yr mum to look oversee for you, mummy no matter is still e best compared to MIL...

Hah, how come e nurse is like that, should have ck with the Dr first, what kind of reply she have given you
kao_confused.gif
But a lot of children are falling sick, sigh
My eldest boy just recovered not long, twin boy just bought him to Mt Alvernia Outpatient on 15/3 night, brought girl to Dr Chan two wks ago but having fever again on Mon, yesterday bought her to Dr Edmund Koh @ Tiong Bahru Plaza
kao_sad2.gif

I just started to visit him a few months ago but find that the waiting q is extremely long
kao_angry.gif
The medical fees are also quite quite steep as compared to other GP, that time prescribed with antibotics costs $50.00...

If you people just want a GP and not a PD, can try Mei Ling Clinic at Blk 158 Mei Ling Street (they have a branch at HDB Hub). Although I moved out of the area before my son was born, I bring him there whenever he falls sick. The docs there are Dr Neow (female) and Dr Tan. I found them good with kids, adults and old folks alike. My son likes Dr Neow as she is patient and gives him things like stickers, balloons and vitamin sweets. Dr Tan is also good. Charges are very reasonable - the most we were charged were $30+ (depends on medication also). This block is next to the Mei Chin Road food centre/market.

Hi HP,

Long queues? Not really, maybe Mon mornings and those hours in the morning where people want to get MC to get off work. So far we did not have to wait very long. If you need to check, the phone no. is 64741782.

Hi Queenstown/Redhill Mummies
Long time never post here le. Had to look through 2 archives to catch up abit! Maybe better to re-intro myself

I have a 2-yr old ds whose currently attending Milk and Honey Child Care for 1/2 day and we reside in Henderson Crescent area. =)

Hapi_Melodius
I used to bring my ds to see Dr Edmund Koh when he was a newborn till he was 9 months old. I find that his charges are very expensive and his medication is not entirely very good. Perhaps ds was young then and between 6-10 months he was in infant care and kept feeling sick; I've always brought him to Dr Edmund Koh and it took ds 3 visitations before the symptoms are cleared. Quite siong on the wallet also. My mom recommended me to bring ds to Fuxing Clinic at Bukit Merah Central and I find that they are much better, much more experienced and doesn't believe in giving too much medicine unless necessary. And the waiting time is not too long too!

I was surprised that Fuxing Clinic offers vaccinations without the added cost of consultation fee unlike Dr Koh's Clinic! Back then still a blur blur 1st time mom, don't know any better. haha, so I've learnt things the expensive way.

Hi Catherine,
Ok, thanks for e info, at least knows who r the gd PD ard our area

Hi MamaChan,
Hw r u? Agree that this Edmund Koh charges is ex and he is not detailed compared to my regular PD, normally will visit my regular PD (Dr Terence Tan) at Mt Alvernia but since it's night time so no choice
Have visted FuXing before & the male Dr not bad & charges also not that steep...

Is e CC gd? My boy is attending Moral CC near Redhill MRT... My dad also staying in Henderson Crescent, I have stayed there for more than 20 yrs before I get married

Hapi_Melodius
I would say my boy is enjoying Milk and Honey CC after settling down (1st 3 weeks of going to school, he cry like anything), but he now looks forward to going to school. So far so good, no complaints as I'm not expecting alot from the school, so long ds is happy there and learning to socialize and be in a church-based environment and curriculum I'm happy le.

I've been busy with work, been staying back late almost every night now coz my boss is rushing us to complete all the data and want us to do presentation! So sweating it out at work.

I like Fuxing's both of their doctors. They are opened even on Sundays too! Since we switched over to seeing them, they've been like our family doctor eversince. So even adults or my ds will see them. Plus the waiting time is very short, don't have to wait very long.

I've considered Brightkids and Moral CC before when I was shortlisting the CCs around our area. Moral CC is really a stone's throw away and super near my place. But somehow, I prefer to send ds to Milk and Honey. Maybe coz I find the inside of Moral CC abit crammed and small. I wasn't too pleased when I visited them with ds, it was near their bath time and happend that they just switched off the air-con and turned on the wall fans; at the area where they undress the children and let them wait to take turns to bathe, they were standing directly where the wall fan was blowing! So I didn't want that loh.

Other than that, BK, Moral and Milk&Honey were on my list of CC which I'e shortlisted, so happen that I was informed that M&H had places and that made me quite happy. So ds was placed in M&H ...paiseh, lor soh posting. Sometimes shortlisting CC not easy man.

Mamachan,
Glad that yr boy is enjoying over there, where is yr working place? U mean everyday will wk till so late...

Oic, agree that FuXing Dr are quite gd & they a couple rite? Which bk are u staying?

Agree that really hard to find a Gd CC nowadays, my 1st CC was NTUC, after 4 days withdraw him, OH MY GOD, teachers there are old & horrid, after shower, water just drip fm his hair & they dun even bother to wipe dry for him, after 2 days, he is sick
no choice to send him as it is just opp my dad hse but who knows
2nd one was Learning Vision @ Surbana, teachers not so gd & environment oso cannot make it, then to Cambridge for a few months, too commericalised & he don't learn much over there. Headache

But Moral CC is gd as he learns to write a lot & picking up in his Chinese
kao_smile2.gif

Gd afternoon

Yup, the raining dogs n cats caused me to overslept. Hee hee .... Luckily, my boss is not in office else I'll be in deep sh**. Phew !

Yes, I'm indeed very fortunate. No matter wat, own mom is easier to compromise than mil. If my in-laws were still ard, I'll have to stay wif them (hubby is the youngest son). All the other 3 sils DO NOT welcome my in-laws. They'd make hell lot of excuses if my in-laws want to visit & play wif their grandkids. Poor thing. Guess, when i become Ah Ma, I'll also be lo-soh
Wahahahahahahahaha

Melodius, wat happened to ur son ? Usually when one recovers, the next one falls ill.

Talking abt bringing kids to hospital, I'm very skeptical abt A&E cos the doc usually say they'll monitor. To recall, this trainee doc suggested that we should admit my son since the cause of continual high fever is unknown. Would you want to put ur child's life on a doc who took a wrong patient card to examine ur child ???? Sotong rite. Me & hubby discussed & decided that we'll seek 2nd opinion when my usual PD opens his clinic in a few hrs' time. Then tis trainee doc made me sign on a form that indicates hospital is not liable if anything happens to my son since we refuse treatment.

Anyway, son was admitted to TMC eventually & a battery of tests were done almost immediately. Initially, meningitis was suspected cos child was lethargic & had high fever. Fyi, meningitis can cause brain damage. No joke wif such a young child. In order to confirm, a needle has to be inserted to the spinal area, extract some fluid for lab test, ma-chiam like epidural ! I cried so hard that my eyes were swollen. Hope that I can take over my son's pain & misery. To see a child wif needle tubes on both hands is a real torture ! Had to carry son to sleep in my arms daily. Luckily, blood test confirmed that it's not meningitis. Put on drip for a wk & luckily I can claim hopsitalization & medical. Phew ! Wat a close shave.

To date, my boy was admitted to TMC 3 times when he was barely 5 mths old for bronchitis & roseola. I always blame myself for having insufficient breastmilk & for having a weak body. I had bad cough for almost 2 wks+ be4 I delivered him thru c-sect. Maybe, the antibiodics made him weak. Maybe, maybe .......

$50 for antibiodics is so ex. Tink in 2003, i pay ard $30+, max $40 for all medication. But now, it's almost double. Not sure if the medicine that he orders r the more costly ones. Sigh .... No choice lah.

For reading pleasure :-
http://www.kidshealth.org/parent/infections/skin/roseola.html

Good afternoon Mummies

Weather is really gd for napping
Mummy is still e best no matter what but my mum left me 9 years ago hence nobody can help me except my father who will cm for a while to my MIL hse almost daily & MIL who quit her job recently will stay @ hm loh but she is very careless & dun like her way of handling them BUT what to do

My boy was having fever, running nose & cough and 1 spread to another. Stress
Really sad to see own child suffer with needles & tubes around & rather suffer ourself... Too much antibotic really makes them weak but w/o it difficult to recover, went to PD yesterday & cost me nearly $100

Prices really increase a lot, tat's why told my hubby that must as well go to PD as charges is ex oso @ GP...

Thanks for the information

Hi HM,
Good morning! Dawson Clinic charges adjusted quite a bit. Luckily, my hubby's company cover medical for the whole family so hv saved quite a lot.

For the 1st half of last year, my girl was a regular at Dr Chan's. My neighbour recommended another one at Mei Ling Road so I brought her there. It was a bad experience for me
The doctor at that clinic prescribed some medication for my girl's tummy ache so we gave her. It gotten worse that i had to bring her to KKH for A & E. The medication prescribed for her from the clinice at Mei Ling was not suitable for her age - too strong. The doctor at the A&E asked me to discard all the medicine from there. I also brought the medication from Dr Chan and she said those were ok and the reason for the tummyache was because of the antibiotic. From that incident, I will not bring her to another doctor again. Will try to dig out the card for the one at Mei Ling and let u know.
Anyways, since my girl keep falling sick, I decided to check my house fengshui again. This time my Boss checked with her regular fengshui master and my goodness! I had to take out my living room divider, platform, repainted the whole house, bought a screen for my room, etc. Though my place is still quite new, I had no choice but to give it a try. After I got the whole place done according to the fengshui lady, my girl hardly fall sick again. I made a record of the visits to the clinic and so much difference! Since last August to now, my girl saw Dr Chan less than 5 times. Before August last year, she saw Dr Chan almost every month and certain months, between 6-10 times. I am really thankful that my boss suggested I check the fengshui again. Actually I did invite a fengshui man to take a look at my place when I collect the keys. I showed my Boss the report from the previous fengshui man and he actually got my house orientation wrong! The one my Boss consulted didn't even need to visit my place! What a difference! BTW, the adjustment made include getting my girl's hair cut short. She can't keep long hair until she is much older

Oh, btw, did u check with your maid on the old clothes for my friend? She asked me for a walker and I bought one in Auction and the seller delivered it for me pretending to be my friend so she doesn't know I actually paid for it!

Will probably pick up the old clothes from Snow today or this weekend.

Have a great weekend! Hope the Sun doesn't go away today!

HM,
I went to check the Bulk purchase thread again, the shoe charm seller only have 1 order
Guess she will learn from this!
BTW, noticed u wanted to buy some leapfrog stuff, thought of ordering some stuff too, wud u be interested? Wanted to order thru Jovigal but I think its cheaper if I can get a few mummies and I order direct since the USD is low now. Let me know.

Hi mummy1030,
Medical charges are a bit steep @ Dr Chan clinic
So blessed that yr hubby co cover medical expenses & really have saved a lot...

Thank god that everything is okie for yr princess & believe that Fengshui also plays an important part...

Yah hah, boy or girl oso can? Actually I have pram & walker at my own hse, interested?

Have a Great weekend too

mummy1030,
hahaha, actually expected as e seller T & C are so rigid & doubt any anyone will be interested
yaya interested & think that her charges a bit on the high side oso. When will you be ordering

Hi Commonwealth Mummies
Would like to extend the invitation to you mummies to join the Jan'06 mummies for DUCKtours. As I was keen and interested to bring my 2-yr old ds to experience the DUCKtours with my hb, I was initially taken aback by the board price at the info counter ($33 per adult and $2 for toddler), so I asked if got any cheaper rate if I organized a group. So I did get a cheaper rate and had asked my Jan'06 thread mummies if they are keen. So far response are good, just that we'll need more ppl to fill up the places and I would like to extend the invitation to you mummies who might be keen.

Details:
DuckTours - 2 Dates, 12th and 13th April Please indicate which days works best for you, Sat or Sun
====================================
<font color="ff0000">Special Weekends &amp; Public holidays Rates for SMH moms = $488 + 7% GST

=$522.16

Price per person (adult or toddler or child): $16.84 </font>

The following will be provided complimentary for each passenger (exclusive for charters only):

Duck Whistle

Mineral water

Fresh towel

Note: For any timing outside our usual tour time, a surcharge of $150/craft is applicable.

Saturday, 10am, 12th April 2008 - Duration 60min - 10 more slots
Sunday, 10am, 13th April 2008 - Duration 60min - 9 more slots (total 2 DUCKs on Sunday)

Thought it's a pretty good deal that I've managed to get so far. So if any mummies are keen, kindly PM me ok?

To be sure that this is the real deal, you could refer to my "home" thread:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353640/284656.html?1161449235

Hi HM and all Mummies,
Thinking of doing a spree from Leapfrog and was wondering if any mummies interested besides HM. Since its only for mummies here, tot it would be easier for distribution when the goods arrive. I hv accounts with both VPost and CGW. I think some of u can't join the overseas spree so this way, it would be strictly for this forum board.

Foxy,
Thank u so much for the clothes, really appreciate that. Luckily I went by to pick up. Will feel really bad if yr hubby sent them over cos' the two bags are not that light!

MamaChan,
I would like to join the duck tours but both slots are 10am and my girl and I still in dreamland at this time ....ZZZZ. Too bad
Thanks for organizing this though!

mummy1030,

no problem, hope it'll be useful for yr friend, how's she getting on?

oso thks alot for the hair clips/ hairbands, my girls had a 'great' time snatching over it :p

i'm looking for the following items @ low price coz need to save $$$ for no.4, pls pm mi if u're selling any, thks!

1. bed rail (any brand)
2. newborn or s size diaper (any brand)
3. nappy liner (any brand)

and oso if anyone like to order GOO.N diapers or pullup or the wipes pls let mi know so we can have free delivery if place order together, thks!!