Calling mommies staying near commonwealth

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Mummies,TGIF at long long last...

Hi ylc,

Thanks a lot, tomorrow is your open hse right? Will drop by with M1030
C u ya...</font>

sorry i cant join you at ylc's event!! did u guys have fun??

Was too tired from picnic at sentosa in the morning... wow sentosa is more fun now with all the food outlets &amp; traveling around is more convenient.

We are looking at Seedlings or Milk &amp; Honey for kief. Next Tue go visit the school. ANy idea wat to look out for or question to ask? Any comments on the Seedling? Ive seen mostly positive feedback on M&amp;H but nothing much on Seedlings.

Wang,

Seedlings @ dawson? I have seen that place... not a gd choice... Perhaps you make an appointment and check it out. Ask for the curriculum, ask teacher &amp; student ratio, check out if their teachers are montessori trained or just teacher assistants. If i remember correctly, the "teachers" are not montessori trained, they will come from somewhere else and teach. The teachers there looks auntie auntie type. Listen carefully how they give instructions to the kids. (check on their language &amp; how they speak) then you will know their standard.

M&amp;H -- not very sure about the place. Seems okay I guess. Just make sure that the place will go up to k2 because changing in environment is not gd for kids.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Mummies, have a Great Mon ahead ya...

Hi wang,

Hmmm... Seedlings! I have heard a lot of Negative feedbacks abt this SCH, ex &amp; ??? That time met 1 mummy who place her son over there, something happen &amp; wanted to sue the centre... M &amp; H not bad as heard a lot of positive feedback but the building looks a bit old...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Hi wang,

Don't think that Seedlings is a good choice... If got chance, will tell you what happen to the child at their CC, the teacher is damn horrid &amp; irresponsible</font>

Have been reading but not writing, now I have to write.
Wang, don't put Kiefer at Seedlings. I can't post here but recently heard something more horrid.
Have you check out the 1 next to Crescent Girl's? heard its not too bad and also there is one at the Alexandra Post Office, sharing the premise with the P O. Saw alot of angmoh kids there but don't know if its a childcare or play school.

ylc,
I let Marissa try all the clothes, they all fit her. Thanks again.

HM,

Saw yr order already, will order for you. Last night already placed one order but I think I have to place 2 more orders.

Thanks mummies ... seems that mostly negative feedbacks abt seedlings ... I dun even wanna view the school now :p

ylc gave very gd advice on how to start kief with classes step by step .. my hubby also agrees with ylc's method.

hapi,
thanks for the info...

mum,
any idea wats the name of the one next to crescent girl's? The Odyssey is closed for cleaning for 2 days so i can enquire on Wed.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi M1030,

Thanks for ordering

Hi wang,

Have put Max in Cambridge before, withdrawn him after a few months as find that he don't learn much from there as they are doing more project based work... Now I am also sourcing for a Sch for him as his CC is shifting, faintz
The Odyssey is on the high end, for K2 the sch fees is $1,500 before subsidy, too ex already.... Really headache as a lot of places have no vacancy already...</font>

Hi hapi,

Odyssey is too ex for us ...

After seeking advice from experience mummies, we decided to start kief on a once or twice a week classes to try socialise him first.

Read in some other thread that its not necessary to send kids under 24mths to school. But for us, we would like to him to socialise with other kids since he doesnt hv siblings to play wif him.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi wang,

Agree that Odyssey is too ex liao... can faintz
Good idea as Kief is still young, I only starting my twins for Pre-Nursery classes in June next yr, by then they will be 3.5 years old, just nice as I scared too young can easily fall sick....hahahaha... Yr new maid arrived already?</font>

My workload picking up already, next week will have to work till late.

Wang,
When Marissa was 2, I put her at Julia Gabriel so she has kids to socialise with. Its only 2hrs but I can't remember whether its 1T or 2T/week. The only thing is you need to be with her in class. Marissa enjoyed this class, she plays with the kids well. I put her in Seimpi Music for a while but I didn't like the teacher so I put her in Kindermusik at Tanglin Mall. She was also at Tumbletots on Sundays so she has been to a few schools. I think the classes helped cos' she socialise easily and is not shy to speak up.
As for childcare, I put her at Lorna Whiston for a few months when I was stuck without a maid. She still talks about her classmates in Lorna Whiston and actually asked me to invite 2 for her birthday party. Told her they can't make it but I didn't bother going there to pass the invites. Lorna Whiston do have minibuses to ferry the children and they have seatbelts. Though its abit ex, the environment is very nice and the classes are very small. Another childcare is Carpe Diem but the premises is smaller than Lorna Whiston. Marissa really enjoyed Lorna Whiston but considering that I have a fulltime maid, no point for me to put her in childcare. Anyway, before i put her in Lorna Whiston, I have already registered her at St James and Maris Stella. Opted for Maris Stella because its not as commercialized as St James and the classrooms are not airconditioned. Don't want her to be in aircond environment day and night.

Thank goodness your maid is coming. Try to be firm for a start, don't be too lax until you have more confidence in her.

HM,
I don't know about this Cambridge but I have heard good feedbacks for the other Cambridge, thought they would be the same.

In conclusion, its a headache finding kindys and childcare centres. The next headache would be primary school

ylc,
how's your BP doing? Hope you can clear everything!

Hi mum

We are going for a trial at Mygym Busy Buddies class next Wed to try out. Im afraid kief will be clinging onto me but shd still try to expose him to classes for a start.

Child education is most important when they are youngest so its a headache to find a suitable playgroup yet affordable for us.

Yeah we be firm with her no matter what. Previous experience tells me that I shd not trust maids at all, regardless of how good they are or how long they been with us. Behind closed doors, u never know wat they will do to our kids when they are cranky or naughty.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Mummies, taken lunch already?

Hi M1030,

How are you my dear?

Hi wang,

Have to firm to them if not they will really take advantage of your kindness... Sometimes it really doesn't pay to be kind...

Hi M1030,

Started Bp on Monday... so far so gd!!!

Wang,
Dun worry, BB is fun! I'm sure he will enjoy!

Hi! mum

indeed it's a headache finding schools/childcare for the little ones. had heard good review about maris stella. is it hard to get in ?

had just called faith montessori @ holland and they mentioned the centre is closing down. any one putting their kids at the one @ dunearn road ?

HELP!! My bro's maid is pregnant!!!
What shd we do?

The maid just went for her medical checkup. Confirm pregnant in blood test! So how do they submit the medical report? What shd we do?!

Hi Chai,

Yeah! so angry the sch is closing @ Holland! I'm putting my ger there at Bukit Timah branch. Went to visit the premise, my ger seems to like it there so I'm still not so worried. Otherwise I would have pulled her out and find another school!

Maris Stella registration only starts after CNY, so must be quick to apply otherwise once registration closes, dun think they accept anymore?

Wang,
OMG!!! How did it happen??? Is that the maid I saw last time when she helped looked after Gwen?

Ya she's the one! She look like guai guai one lor! OMG we all fainted .. now they canceling her work permit &amp; sending her back.

We are finding out if its possible not to send medical report so they can save the $500 bond.

wang,

aiyo, yeah she look guai guai kind lor!!! See must really keep an eye on maids lor.. otherwise all these happen!

They leave the house on their off days &amp; there's no way to keep an eye on them!! Im beginining to worred abt my new maid whose my bro's maid's SIL.

ANd my new maid is fair &amp; pretty one! More worried... now im beginning to wonder if the inhuman &amp; rigid rules shd be imposed on maids eg, no off days, no hp, no social life of their own.

wang,

aiyo... fair &amp; pretty... My mum always say dun get pretty maids ... the uglier the better! Best is those tom boy tom boy kind hahaha... thats her theory lah!

But i think you better not relax on the new maid... better impose strict rules. First day must tell her upfront all your rules &amp; regulations... dun show your kindness in front of them... sure they will take it for granted!

hahaha ya lor ... ppl think we crazy to employ a pretty maid!! She has relevant experience so we tot can give it a try.

She's my bro's maid's SIL ... after wat happened to my bro's maid, i felt alil worried now.

Wang,

just be really strict &amp; be fierce on the first day. Thats what my mum used to do... be fierce on the first day! hahaha so that its like give them a warning and tell them if they can't do a proper job, we won't hestitate to send them back.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Mummies, hw's your weekend?

Hi wang,

Hw's yr new maid? Oh dear! All these maids are really horrid, have to cancel her work permit immediately &amp; send her back. If friend friend with the Dr, can asked him not to send, if MOM get to know it, $5,000 is gone down the drain

Agree with ylc, have to be strict with them right from the beginning if not you will be at the losing end &amp; they will really take advantage of your kindness, my philosophy is that so long never ill treat them, let them eat &amp; have enough sleep, it is more than enough ... Frankly speaking my maid life is better than mine, just need to stay at home, no need to go out &amp; work and see ppl face + politics... for me is Once Bitten Twice Shy &amp; it doesn't pay to be kind at times... Take Care &amp; All e best...

Hi ylc,

How are you?</font>

Hi Hapi,

I'm fine!! Been busy as usual hahaha :p How are you? Haven't seen you post recently... busy??

Hi Wang,

Hows ur new maid?? Yeah my mum also said the same thing, just cancel work permit &amp; send back immediately. Hopefully can get back the $5k.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Mummies, have a Great Sunday ahead ya...

Hi ylc,

Wow you are still so busy like a bumble bee
Me so far so gd, on leave on Thu &amp; Fri so not on line... Hw's Princess Caitz?</font>

My bro bought the security bond &amp; he would hv to pay $500 if the medical report is submitted. Now they cancel the work permit &amp; sent her back without submitting the work permit, they do not need to pay $500.

Now they are considering to bring the maid back to work for them as shes good in everything. But I discourage them ...

My maid ah... stuck in jakarta airport cos lack of a doc that my hubby overlook. So end up, she is coming in tmr's flight.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Mummies, have a Great Day ahead ya...

Hi wang,

I find that no point bringing her back again no matter how good she used to be as what done cannot be undone... Hope that yr new maid will be better than the previous one, all the best...</font>

My blood is boiling this minute as i wrote here... My maid jus stepped into my house 10mins ago. I told her to leave her luggages in my study room, bath &amp; go sleep. Tmr morning wake up at 8am to pack her luggages.

My MIL immediately correct me in mandarin, thinking that the indo maid din understand BUT SHE UNDERSTOOD MANDARIN! My MIL told me that i shd not spoil the maid &amp; she shd wake up at 7am to start working already!

This really puts us all in an awkward moment when the maid did understands us! She quickly turns around to take her bathing needs. I had to tell my MIL off that we will be strict this time but still lets our maid hv 8hrs of sleep!

PISSSSSS.....

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Mummies, hw's everyone today?

Hi wang,

MIL are all like that, like to interfere in maid issue... For me, I will just ignore her as she don't pay for my maid anyway... Hahahaha, don't get angry, just be firm with your new maid &amp; to draw a very clear line right from the beginning... Can she speak Eng?</font>

Hi Wang,

Ya lor... be firm with your decisions... at least by taking charge of the situation, your maid will understand who is in charge &amp; who calls the shot!

Ya my mil jus like to hv her foot on my neck whenever she can! SHe will take all opportunity to put me down infront of my hubby. Arrrggg i always remind myself that i jus hv to tolerate for another 2yrs cos shes moving out!

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Mummies, have a Great Thu ahead ya...

Hi wang,

Can understand how you feel, MIL are always like that... No matter what, they are still not our mother... Just don't bother about her, for me I will turn a deaf ear &amp; couldn't be bothered with her... A few incidence really make me give up on her liao... Damn sad &amp; disappointed with her, SIGH!
So now I will tell myself that just don't bother abt her, not worth it at all... Will just entertain her occassionally out of goodwill, hahahaha... Rather spend my energy on my darlings...

Hw's yr maid so far? Cheer up...</font>
kao_smile2.gif

My maid so far so good. She has 6 yrs experience in SIN &amp; we can see thats true from her work. This one got brain &amp; can think... thank goodness.

Yesterday went to Busy Buddies class wif kief &amp; realise the staffs put him in the "baby" class. I was alil piss cos i did mentioned my boy is already 19mths. Even on the phone, i seek advice abt which class i shd send him &amp; was not given any proper advice like wat they do &amp; where he shd go. Non of them mentioned abt trial class until ylc told me. I din even know got such thing &amp; nearly sign up for a programme.

So finally, i left the "baby class" &amp; went to check out the ongoing gym class. Was surprised that they were playing Total Eclipse of the Heart while playing. The teachers are all philipinas. They din coordinate well cos the music was playing loudly while a teacher is giving instructions at the top of his voice but nobody could make out wat hes saying. Looking at what they do in the class, i dun find anything meaningful. Was disappointed &amp; left.

Oh btw, almost all except one, were accompanied by maids. Poor mummies wasting money to let their maid accompany the kids. They dun even understand why the teacher wan them to do what. The kids dun even know wat they are doing.

Before i left, i enquire at the reception again. It was the 2nd time i enquire abt something &amp; the staffs could not answer my question &amp; divert me to the teacher (whose much friendly &amp; patience). The 1st time was on the phone, I ask a question, staff could not reply, ask me to "pls hold on" &amp; then someone else pick up the phone &amp; did not know wats happening. So i had to repeat my questions all over like it was a new call. Its unprofessional &amp; rude on the receptionist part

Today is the class that kief supposingly shd attend. Its the BusyBods class. I will try one last time &amp; see if the "arts &amp; craft" class is meaningful since the teacher sounds so nice &amp; patience.

Hi Wang,

Yeah... main reason y we left busybods class its because Caitz didn't like the teacher! Yes she is philipina. But I really dun see the passion to teach or for the children... like very fake lor and like going through motion only except for teacher zai. SHe is gd and Caitz do like her. You shld try kidsloft once they reopen for class next yr. The passion is there, teacher is very nice &amp; imparts lots of stuff to the kids! Caitz improved alot when she attended class there. Now she can say "May I have some... please" "thank you" and she knows her phonics and learns to match them accordingly!

TGIF at last!

Hey M1030,
u mentioned about faith methodist kindergarten b4 right? any comments about it?

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Mummies, taken lunch already?

Hi ylc,

Heard negative feed backs about this sch before
You are interested?</font>

ylc,
Sounds like caitz enjoy herself at kidsloft &amp; even on the phone, the teacher sounds good. Hahaha! Looking forward to the kidsloft class next tue.

Hi Hapi,

Not me... its another mummy who asked me so I thought i try my luck asking ard... u pm me abt the sch hor!