Breastfeeding Support Group

Hi Mummy Bs,
she doesn't had a pd. All her jabs n checkups are at polyclinic. That's why want to see a pd to ensure that she is okay.

What types of veggies? Gave only spinach n caixin. Does carrot, cauliflower, brocoli n pumpkin consider veggies.

Myself : 39kg at 1.55m (underweight when born). Been skinny all the while.
Hubby : 53-55kg at 1.7m (Acorrding to his mom - at infant a chubby baby. Pri 1 became skinny).

My elder gal is on 5th percentile. 30mths weighing 10kg at 87cm. To me is still acceptable.
But my younger one is below 3rd percentile. Do not know whether hit the 1 percent or not. So very worrying.

Halo mummies,
Here are a few pds, are they gd?
1)Angelin's Baby & Child Clinic
2)Ooi Baby & Child Clinic
3)Singapore Baby & Child Clinic

Hi Arieslim,

I think you girl may take after you, gosh, I think you are too thin!

You are right, I will definitely go and get pd's advice if I am in your shoes, just to ensure that everything is fine with her, polyclinic nurses and doctors are too busy to give you much sound advices.

the vegetables you name are good and should continue to give her on a daily basis. what i did for my kid is that I will cook soup for the family and before adding any seasoning, I will scope some out and use it to cook their porridge, will add vegetables and fish too. You may want to consider swoping white rice with unprocessed brown rice.

My children have seen EK Ong of Singapore Baby and Child Clinic and I find him quite good, other than he is always very busy, a nice and gentle pd, I think he is sometime station in TMC.

Thanks Mummy Bs,
Does he goes to AMK branch? Need to make appt even it is 1st visit?

Think she takes aft my build too also. But consult a pd to have a piece of mind lah. Hope am feeding her well lah.

Arieslim,

think he does go to AMK, you can try calling up the branch and check with him. else, dr chan kit yee also very good but she is a pd heart specialist, dun know whether she sees normal patient.

Funny, Phantom, it happened again this morning... OMG... I'm so afriad one day express halfway the whole thing stop?!? Do you think should bring to supplier to check? but how to explain to them cos it doesn't always happen...

Hi Jen, Phantom,

Mine was 4 months old. I just changed the little white disc (not sure what is called) and it is slightly better.
Dun know if the pump is getting weaker or we can endure the suction more. Sometimes I can switch to the max but still find the suction is weak. T May be can check with the agent.

Hi Jen & Funny, forget about checking with the supplier. My babe is 15mth now. 15mths ago I experience the same as both of you, it is either the connection is loose or the machine is giving up loud engine noise whenever I use it. Then I was thinking that I have to go thru at least a year of my life with this machine. Finally I give up and ask my sister(She wants to give me a present) to buy me a manual Avent Pump. It works so well for me and I breastfed my babe for 8 months with it.

Need your expert advice/feedback here. All the while I know that breast size doesn't matter when come to breast feeding. The thing is that we have to keep latching on, bf bf and bf right?

However, yesterday I read that a early clue to breast feeding problems is that our breasts failed to enlarge during pregnancy.

I'm due next month and till now my breasts didnt really grow. Did any of you ladies here manage to bf well though breasts didnt really grow? Kinda getting worried cos I'm very determined to bf.

Hi raisintan,
what do u meant by didn't grow? Didn't u feel any breast tenderness around the 2nd mth of pregnacy? Me frm cup A to B n i managed to bf my bb.

raisintan, if you can bf, that's good... otherwise, FM is just as good...
i never noticed until after give birth whether brs got enlarge or not... my suggestion to you is to forget what you read and dun be so worried... just enjoy the last bit of your pregnancy and after birth, just keep latching ur baby... why worry now when the problem has yet to surface?

Hi Jen...

you bring your pump to the supplier also no use....cos not happen not the time. i only hoping mine will last .....

raisintan....dun worry lah....i have seen mothers with small small boobs...but wa ...their milk like ever flowing one......she feeds her kids till 1.5 year somemore.....so dun stress yourself out so much....

agree with Jen ; why worry now when the problem has yet to surface?

Hi Jen,

not sure if u r the jen jen i used to know in here... :p

anyway can i ask a qn as well? for ebm in freezer, after u take down from freezer to the normal lower compartment of the fridge, is there any time limit that the milk has to be consumed before it has to be discarded as spoilt?

thanks in advance for ur kind reply.. :D

islandpub, wow... long time no tok leow... u know daniel no longer doing reno?? ok, anyway, back to ur question... i usually defrost overnight (say 10pm take down) and use up by the next day...

hi jen jen,

thanks a lot...ok will defrost tonight then... hehe... :p

oh side track a bit.. daniel not doing reno liao ah? then wat he doing? u stil in touch with him?

mummy_bs & ladies:

You says you give your son cod liver oil, just checking if I can give my baby (8 months) that also? Is it suitable or must wait till at least a year old?

so far we are only giving fish porridge. As I am WFTM, I can only rely on my mum to do the porridge cooking. She is going to introduce "HOI" cai, I duno what veg is that but heard that it's high in iron.

During the weekends, i only give my son BM and those instant cereal. Never cook porridge for him over the weekends (we take care ourselves during weekends) as I am not good in cooking, plus also duno how to cook baby food, really blame myself for being so stupid. It's only during weekdays that my son can have porridge when stay in my mum place. I am so sscare that I will cause my son deficency.

ladies, regarding the pump, I am using Mendala single pump and it's also giving me problem. i suspect I drop it before and there is a crack and loose at the plastic that cause the battery to be loose thus the pump might be slow and stop suddenly. I'll just have to press it abit, it will start to work again.

Find that the suction become useless as even I tune it min or max, the suction power is the same and makes a very loud noise.

My pump is 8 months old already, i use it since day 05 after baby return home coz my baby do not want to latch on. I am giving EBM all the while.

What is the life of a B/pump?

islandpub, just saw ur msg... u never guess... he drive taxi... wahaha... oh, he owe me one kitchen cabinet door cos the hinge broke... guess gotta look elsewhere for help leow...

bitbit: I guess the warranty of MIniE covers only 6 months? U may want to adjust the metal plate in the battery holder so that the contact with the battery is there. As for the suction power, I can't help u much. Maybe u want contact the distributor to see how much is the replacement? ALternatively, u can try to get a second hand from yahoo auctions...

Hi raisintan,

dun worry lah, my bra size remains A for whole of preg, only the rib cage enlarged...but i managed to TBF my gal for 15-6mths coz after tt i got preg, n milk supply dipped. My breast also not really big during bf'g time

bitbit, u can bring the medela pump, to mums & babes at plaza singapura or novena square, together with your parts (funnel/membrane/valve) and they will check for u the suction power... FOC... if the staff is helpful, she will also check part by part to see which spare part is causing the problem...

Jen:

Really? So good, i will try to bring it down to mums & babes. I cannot let them keep for repair because I need to EBM everyday! But guess they ask me to buy if spoil?

I am decreasing my EBM liao coz my baby is already 8 months plus. Dun feel like buying new one, hope the pump could tahan tahan for few more months.

Anyone know where Mendala pump service center is? can we just bring there 1 to 1 exchange or not?

bitbit, heard that if they ask u to repair, they will "offer" to rent another item to u... not sure... anyway, if the motor is working fine and just the spare parts problem, they will ask u to replace the spoil part oni lor... i think all the parts (funnel/valve/membrane/bottles/caps) are expensive... wahaha...

forgive me if i'm not wrong, i think Medela pumps are dealt with only by Mums & Babes in Singapore... the HQ is Equip Medical located in Toh Guan... check ur warranty card for the address...

jen:
I duno where is my warranty card. i have always been careful in keeping all these in a box where all household warranty card are kept, but I really can't find it. I will get more frustrated if i continue to find so I juz let it be thinking that i juz need to tahan few more months hope this machines wun breakdown..

can I ask ladies, i still remember last year about this timing, some places organise "Breastfeeding Talk" in conjuction with the BF month. Is there any this year?

Hi bitbit
dropped my medela single electric pump also. Same problem as you for the suction power. Motor is okay. Super-glue back n it work fine.

hi skinny,

hahaha, u ony drop once. i drop more than once and worst, my hb even trip on the wire and the whole pump smashed to the floor, I was so angry that i never talk to him the whole night. Ask him to go and get one new one for me. (he never).

My gal is going to 10mths old and i intend to stop Bfeeding her in 2 months time when she turns 1 yr old.
I pump exclusively for her as she refuse to latch on since 5 mths old.
Any suggestion to reduce supply? Currently i pump every 5-6 hrs and everytime i tried to lengthen the duration say 7-8 hrs, will experience block ducts. Thanks

hi coco1074,

me too I am gradually reducing my EBM liao. my son is 8 mths plus but i m thinking that since i cannot eat proper meal due to short lunch hours and very hectic to pump everyday, i have decided to stop in due time. perhaps FM can provide more vitamins & nutrients than what i m doing now. i simply deprive of sleep and got tired out.

I have managed to reduced from 3 to 2 times a day. My schedule is that on weekdays I express before going to work, during lunch time and at night before bed (around 10.30pm). On weekends I drop the noon expression.

Weekday: 6.30am -> 12.30noon -> 10.30pm
Weekends: 10.30am -> 10.30pm

I am alright with above schedule as I'd adjusted the schedule accordingly and not follow strictly to fix hours. i won;t experience too much engorge or block ducts but do have a bit of pain sometimes. Not sure if you can tahan like this?

My lactation consultant ever tell me that if you want to reduce supply, you have to express lesser gradually. You cannot just cut that session away like that by not expressing at all. For eg, you want to cut the 12.30noon session, you try to cut down 10ml each day until you can reach 0ml at that timing without having to experience engorgement and pain, thereby cutting away that session.

I hope my experience help here.

Hi bitbit,
u can bf yer bb at night n morning cos bm has antibodies which fm can't compared. When u work bb can drink fm. Agreed tat bm can't provide all the nutrients aft 6mths, tat is why bb needs to eat solids. But still bm is the best! If u think bb need more vitamins, can give infant-drops to supplement too.

Hi bitbit,

Thanks for your advice. Currently my schedule is
6.30am,11.30am,4.30pm,8.30pm and 12.00am. Very tiring!!!
When i try to drop the 8.30pm and 12.00am session and replace it at 11.00pm, i will experience engorgement and block ducts the next morning.
It is ok to cut down the volume expressed per session instead of totally drop off one session? I think i can't tahan the pain.

Hi, need advice pls...
I'll be returning to work when baby turns 6 months in October and am not sure if I should continue bfg. Currently, I latch baby on all the time.
My workplace is 1.5-2hrs away from where I live and I also have problems with letdown. Mummies who are expressing and working, any comments/ advise on this? I'm really not sure.

Also, how do I go about getting baby used to me going back to work? Do I introduce the bottle to her now?

Very xian... granny keeps nagging that i should feed baby formula because another baby she knows is so big & fat. My bm must be lousy.

coco, i think cutting down on volume will help... have u tried expressing in btwn sessions? like instead of dropping 8.30pm & 12am, express at say 10pm instead?

babyblues, i intro bottle to my baby at 1 mth and she already had bottle rejection... i think u have to try to intro the bottle to her first... whilst introducing bottle, u can start to express and collect ur BM to freeze in case ur ss drop after u return to work...

hi babyblues, may be a bit late to introduce bottle cos it shld be done by 1st month. in case she rejects, can try using the cup that toddlers use with feeding sprouts..

dun let ur granny get u down. my baby is only 1 month old n on total BF, but he gained 1.1kg as compared to birth weight! i didn't eat anything special. So long as her growth is normal, dun worry so much...

hi mommies, i have a qn on BM ss.

i was actually gonna wean my boy off (he's turning 6mths in a wk)...and i cut down the number times i EBM to 2 times a day. HOWEVER, we just found out he's allergic to Cow's milk and we're reluctant to feed Soy coz it might cause effeminism (even the PDs are split into 2 camps). Goat's milk is out too. Hence, i'm trying to TBF until 9mths at least...but my ss is dwindling coz i cut down the number of sessions. and baby does not want to latch on anymore. to try and boost it up, i've increased the number of sessions to 3 (no time at work to pump more often). is there any other way to increase ss? thanks in advance for advice!

friesbandit... wah... difficult... :p have u tried fenugreek?? I haven't though... some gal claim that it works lor...

hello mummies, if u're managed to breastfeed your BBs for > 6 months continuously after birth, please share me your food intake. My EDD is in early November, thus kinda concern for my food intake during confinement as I want to try my best in breastfeeding my BB. Heard like taking coffee/ginger/garlic/DOM herbal tonics/hard liquor on food are bad for BF BB, thus causing BB in refusing breastmilk.

Please share your experience and advise of what can/cannot eat, thanks.

<font color="ff0000">hi coco1074:</font>

i am sorry I'm back here so late...

I gone thru the same experience you are undergoing now. I was also EBM as much time as you last time but I cut down because I went back to work! I pump 4 times per 24 hrs (630am, 12.30pm, 7pm after dinner, 12am before bed) after I returning to work, but the evening time is very hectic as I am very tired to stay awake till 12midnight for the final pump and waking up so early next morning, but if I dun pump, I got engorgement next morning it would be worst. In the end I decided to "merge" the evening time and re-schedule to 10.30pm. Till now, I managed to cut down to 2 or 3 times (6.30am -> 12.30noon -> 10.30pm ).

During the transition, I also have mild engorgement but that is still bearable, just deliberately delay it slowly day by day when re-adjusting your pump schedule.

I think you can cut down the volume each session but it will decrease your milk. Scaly the next session you won't get as much as you expect leh.

<font color="ff0000">SusanY:</font>

U r quite rite. Coffee or even softdrink is bad if u wanna BF (due to caffine), but u noe wat, I still continue with coffee after I return to work coz i cannot tahan without it. A small cup is ok one lah, just make sure you dun drink it before you BF.

As for ginger/garlic, you scare baby have jaundice when eating too much ginger is it? Actually I not sure but I believe balance intake shouldn't be a problem one lah.
For DOM herbal tonics/hard liquor on food, hehe.. u scare baby drunk har?
kao_dizzy.gif
I dun take any of them due to religion, but have read books that liquor had some effect, maybe bb will be drizzy and sleep more. Not sure.

I think all things eat in moderation should be ok.

Bitbit, thanks for sharing your experience.

Does anyone else who took coffee/ginger/garlic/DOM herbal tonics/hard liquor but still can breastfeed your BB?

I have another concern here, please advise.

As my EDD is in late Oct-early Nov, I shall go back to work after 2 months of maternity leave (I'm a PR, no BB bonus for me), which will be in early Jan. My mother will be doing the confinement for me but then she'll return to M'sia after my confinement, thus I'll take care of BB alone.

CNY will be on Jan 29 and when i return to work in early Jan, I need to send BB back to M'sia for my mother to take care, I would have to pause my breastfeeding then ..

If I were to let my BB to have Formula Milk (full 3 weeks) once she's back to M'sia and continue my breastfeeding as soon as I return home for CNY, will this be OK?

I plan to express my milk and discard it when I go back to work, as to maintain my milkflow.

Is there any other alternative due to my situation?

Susan,

my baby had bf jaundice and so was told to keep ginger intake to the minimal. so I dun take ginger but merely use a couple of slices while cooking fish to reduce the fishy smell, DOM is ok as long as you cooked it, the alcohol content will be evaporated once you cook it, thus fairly safe lah.

susan, the others have given u good advices about eating... who will be taking care of ur bb after CNY then when u return to sg to work?

Mummy_Bs, thanks for the advice. Will minimize the intake of ginger, didn't want my poor BB to get jaundice.

Jen, my mother will stay in SG with me so that i could continue to BF (if I still have milk production). My concern is the pausing period if BB is away when I need to get back to work.

susan, my concern for u is:
1. ur baby may reject bottle if he/she is fully direct BF...
2. even if ur bb takes to the bottle, a period of 3 weeks when he/she is still so young *MAY* make him/her reject ur breasts after the interval...

<font color="ff0000">SusanY</font>:

"I plan to express my milk and discard it when I go back to work, as to maintain my milkflow...'

Why can't you store it (freeze) since after CNY, your mum and baby will be back Sg already? Quite a waste to hear you say, going to discard your breastmilk. You take time and effort to express it out just to pour them away into drain...

Besides Jen's concern, i am suggesting you to freeze your milk in the freezer, they can keep up there for 6 months if at -18 deg C. Besides, since you are going back to work, you can stock up those express breast milk (EBM) for baby when he return to SG, at the same time maintain your milk ss w/o waste.

BM is the best food for your baby, I hope you dun pour them away.

If you are concern to where you can store your EBM, upon discharge, you can request hospital to give you glass bottles. I hv some stock, you can ask from me if you dun have enuf.

Jen, u're right, those are my concerns.

Any other advices, what if I go for mixture of BF &amp; FM after the confinement month? If BB doesn't want to go for direct suckling after the 3 weeks interval, then I have no choice but feed her with EBM.

Bitbit, I agreed that it's really such a waste for discard my milk away. Will take your advice in freezing them in the office freezer. I will take about 45 minutes to reach home by bus, can I bring back the milk (let's say in the storage bags) without putting them in a mobile chiller?

susan, acherly why dun u wait until u deliver then see if u are confirming TBF before addressing the above concerns? even though most mums want to TBF before they deliver, but last min due to many various reasons, they decide not to already... for all u know, u may decide to give FM from day 1 leh? ur problem haven't surface yet, so why worry now leh??

hope u dun think i'm dismissing ur queries... i'm very encouraging for mums to TBF but sometimes the problem may not surface later on, esp since u haven't delivered yet... so now plan oso no use wat, rite??

Jen, being a first time mum and being very keen in going for breastfeeding, I need to have a full understanding and good planning for which I know that I'll face such hassles when the time comes. My mother has already discouraged me in going for breastfeeding due to these hassles and our family history (I couldn't latched on her since infant). Since I'm having the determination now, I want to think positively and I don't see any harm for gaining more knowledges.