Breastfeeding Support Group

Mini
hehe..now can count down to holiday.

Mini/Giggler
Yes, I am extending till sept 06, so now depends on whether MOE wants to approve. My hubby wants me to take the leave coz he's worried abt putting my boi in cc at 18 mths. hehe..he's worried he'll be bullied and cannot comm to us.
I dunno when I want to wean Ivan off too, but I really bu she de to do it now, both of us enjoys it, so I am still continuing.

Jenjen
hmm..seems like not possible to find a slot for u to latch. Maybe can still latch on on wkend to help ss. I think ur ss more or less established, no need to latch on also shd be fine.

colorhairgal
How old is ur bb? If u dun want to latch on more, alt is to pump more to increase ss. The rule is ss=dd.

Hello everyone!
My daug is 5 months old and I have been bf her all this time, sometimes mixing with formula.
As I have been back at work, I noticed a dip in my milk supply, I pump 2 times at work. Did anyone try fenugreek? I read that it helps increase milk supply, any comments on that?

I bf my daug direct once I get home (last feed at night) and also during the weekends.

I hope to continue for as long as I can.

I noticed that some of you have mentioned that you had cracked and bleeding nipples and when you pumped, the milk was mixed with bld and came out in readdish color, just want to check if it's alright to feed your baby with that? Coz my nipples cracked recently and have not headled, to my horror, this morning when I pumped the milk was of that color. I am afraid to feed my bb with that, but am also sad abt throwing that away ... any thought?

desert, this morning, my gal tried to wake me up to nurse her. I feigned sleeping till she pulled up my shirt herself and helped herself to my breast. Guess I'll have difficult time to wean her off.

G, I used the same method as you. That is, pump 2-3times in office and direct latch my gal once I'm home and over the weekends. I didnt supplement any fm till she was abt 8-9mths old. Till now, I'm still bfg so you can def bf her as long as you can using this method.

desert, i'm trying to increase my ss cos my left side seems to give significantly less milk than right side... anyone knows how to remedy this?

G, i heard it is safe to feed the milk to bb...

G

It's safe to feed bb with the milk. Checked with Mrs Wong, LC from Thomson on that. Although if I know it has not healed, I'll try and direct latch so I dun see the colour and feel uncomfortable. If I'm pumping in office and I see that it's bleeding, I usu continue pumping til I see that my milk is back to all white which is usually quite fast. Then I'll stop and throw the bloody milk and start pumping process all over again. I dun mind feeding her the bloody milk but it's my helper and MIL who feeds her while I'm in office and I think it'll cost a lot of concern for them so I rather avoid friction.

Giggler
My boy is the same as ur gal, he will pull up my shirt and help himself too, if I am too slow to respond to his cue or I ignore his cue. So far, he has not done it outside, so I am still ok with it. If u are really determined abt weaning, I guess u hv to be really hard hearted, might hv to use some of the extreme measures, like applying stuff and going cold turkey. I also foresee I will hv problem weaning my boy when the time come.

Jenjen
Is it because ur bb used to prefer rite side? Actually if ur milk prodn is enough, there is no need to remedy, its ok for one side to produce more than the other.

G
Fenugreek can increase ss, but must take a lot everyday to see effect. U can also try papaya and fish soup and oats.
Its ok to feed the milk to ur bb,its also ok to direct latch. Remember to apply nipple cream from avent or medela so tt it will heal faster.

Hi hi, I am Qdee - new to this thread.
I need some advice from working moms.

My baby is on TBF and i've just returned to work this week. My baby is gg to be 3mths next wk.
I am wondering is there anyone out there who has gone back to work and NOT doing any expressing during the day and yet manage to maintain supply?

I watched channelnewsasia show Family, where the newscaster's baby did not drink for 8 hours while she was at work. My baby is like that as she refused to drink from bottle.

So what i intend to do is to only let bb drink at nite when i come back home and early morning b4 gg to work. Weekends will be latching her on as usual for whole day.

I do not intend to express my BM as there's no convenient place to do it in office.

Appreciate if anyone can share their experiences. Thanks heaps!

Fenugreek
Hi, i have a bottle of hardly consumed fenugreek at home, bot in GNC early this year. but i stopped expressing not long after i bot it. if u interested to have it, please PM me. can arrange to send to you or self-collect in punggol. do let me know, it's free ;-) better than wasting it mah.

Qdee,
i dun think it is possible to TBF if u dun pump in office as the interval u r at work is too long n body will take it tat dun have to produce so much milk. somemore during wkend there sure b not enough milk for ur baby. right now i m not pumping at work n my milk supply is v low. so my boy will take a few feeds of fm daily.

desert,
dunno is it a good or bad thing tat i cant go NIE this jul due to principal feel tat i m not good enough in classroom managment n want me to stay for anr 6mths. at first quite sad as seem like implying i m no good. but after some thought thru feel tat not too bad too as i can go back ard 2-230pm during contract teaching n can spend time with jon. it will b long hours in NIE right? and also when start perm teaching next time. but pay not much w/o NIE. well, still better than no income. just take it like working part time. now i can have more time to consider if teaching really suitable.

Hi mothers,

If you give EBM to your babies, how do you warm up the milk? I immersed the bottle of EBM in a cup of hot water but it usually takes about 10 min to warm up. Thus, my impatient gal cries a lot while waiting for the milk to warm up.

Also, I have read from "What to expect the first year" book that, EBM taken from freezer and thaw in the fridge can only keep for 3 hours. Is that so?

pls help if you have experience in these areas...thanks!

Qdee
Its quite difficult to tbf when u dun express at all in the day. H/w, its not impossible, depends on indv, some pp are able to tbf by just latching on in the morning/nite, but most still need to feed bb some fm in the day. If ur bb dun take the bottle, u can still use spoon/cup feed or use the syringe. Its more troublesome for ur bb's caregiver but might be neccessary b4 ur bb starts on solids. when ur bb starts on solids, u can ask ur caregiver to give solids in the day when u are not ard.

Mini
I was just abt to ask whether u are going NIE. Actually I think ur P is the cautious kind, I've heard tt some P want to make sure the contract teachers are really ready b4 going NIE. Most P dun really bother whether a contract teacher's classrm management skills is good, coz most contract teachers and even beginning teachers will hv problem with classroom management. Nvr mind lah, just take ur time to find out whether u really want to join teaching. NIE time is dependent on how ur lessons are spaced out, sometimes goes hm quite late, but a lot of free time in between.

<font color="aa00aa">Qdee,</font>
dun u think it's very "chek ark" to starve bb for 8 hrs? esp when she's only going to be 3 months old?

if u dun intend to express during work, why dun u try to intro FM? sometimes i can't tahan mums who doesn't wanna express at all (cos very troublesome) but still wan their bb to be on TBF!

but, anyway, just my own views, don't shoot me k?!

hi angelia, I wish everything is as simple as ABCs ... it's not that i dun wanna give my bb FM lah .. just tat when she smells it's not BM, she'll refuse to open her mouth. As it is i am getting a hard time coaxing her to drink from bottle (EBM). Also I dun purposely starve her, she herself refuse to drink .. when i force bottle into her mouth she makes that funny vomitting sound .. like i am trying to strangle her. Been like this for the past month.

Also reason why i dun want to express my BM in office is coz i have to do it in toilet. I know some pple are not averse to this, but i find my
co's toilet dirty leh...

But at the moment bo pian i still express lah .. standing at the sink for 15 mins. THings mummies do for they lovely bbies. Btw, i dun find expressing troublesome if i can have a proper place to do it in my office and dun hv to sneak around like as if i am doing something illegal.

hi desert, yeah one possibility which i did look into. But hor my boss sit behind me .. already when i hv to go toilet to do it, she's not too pleased, think doing it in my cubicle will be worse?

Hi Mummies here. I need some advise. My baby feeds about 150ml each time whereas I only manage to express 120ml per session. Can I mix 30ml from the next session I expressed into the 1st 120ml to make up for one feed?

<font color="aa00aa">Baby C,</font>
of cos u can

i usu does that, but always make sure both are chilled in the fridge for some time b4 mixing. never freshly expressed milk with chilled milk.

when Jas express in cubicle, she's still doing her work.. if it doesn't affect ur work, i don't think she can make so much noise...

ARGH!!! This morning (after last pump last nite at 10pm) I only manage to squeeze out 200ml!! sianz... does it mean my supply dropping leow?? these few days like going downhill... hiaz...

any advice?? should i consult LC??

<font color="aa00aa">jas,</font>
ya, talking abt u. hope i'm correct?!

i wanna check wif u, when u start to decrease BM intake for for boy? i might wanna wean off at 9 mths, so wonder when i shld start decreasing. BUT hor, she's still not on solid leh. i mean, we started her on brown rice cereal for 1 wk, then she got cough, so we stopped giving, till now which is abt 3 wks liao.

her cough is still quite bad (to me lah) cos she will cough whenever she's sleeping, which the GP says it's bcos of the phlegm. dunno when will intro brown rice again... or should i start with something else just to let her start on something? erm.. dun suggest rice cereal cos i'll try not to intro that for as long as possible so that she won't have a "choice" between brown rice &amp; white rice *bad mummy*

<font color="aa00aa">jen,</font>
when's the last time u squeezed out lesser than normal? for me, i'll get a DIP every 3~4 wks n i'll attribute it to "ovulation" though i dunno is it lah. anyway, usu after 1 wk, it'll go back to normal..

angelia, sometime since last week?? but then, i also lazy... dropped one pump *occassionally* at night and latch instead... and sometimes during work only pump during lunch, instead of another time before knock off, cos many eyes looking...

<font color="0000ff">angelia</font>
Yes you are right. Yeah, that time still doing work while expressing.

I didn't really decrease BM intake for my boy, coz when we give him solid as a BM replacement, so logically will not give him BM after his solid meal. In this sense it's like reducing one BM feed for him lor. You have to start her on solid + FM if you intent to wean her off BM. I don't think brown rice will cause cough, maybe you try to re-introduce in to her again. Or rather maybe you can try to start her on porriage. Why you don't want to let her take rice cereal? Scare she will reject brown rice ah?

<font color="aa00aa">jas,</font>
aiya, solid replace BM = total BM intake decrease alr mah. maybe i shld say "total BM intake" and not just BM intake :p

ya, dun wanna intro porridge cos scared she'll reject BR later.

hmmm... cos BR is heaty, n that time we fed her self-grind BR, without si shen or anything. but she's still coughing leh, later re-intro then aggravate then jialat leh.

anyway, now my BM still can meet her dd. in fact, my freezer stocking up again... dunno is good or bad.. hiaz...

replace pump wif latch shld be better, i.e. increase ss instead of decrease. however, the b4 going home session might be a cause. else u pump after knock off, then go home lah? i usu pump at 5:30pm... official knock off is 6pm.

angelia, i pump at 7am, 1pm, 5pm and 11pm... but sometimes got work cannot finish so have to skip the 5pm... then will go home and pump abt 7pm... then nowadays thinking of skipping the 11pm and direct latch instead... so i also dunno if like that will reduce supply??

as for knock off time, hubby always come to pick me up punctually at 6pm... so i cannot wait until *after* knock off then pump... then when it's during 5pm, it's like still *working hours*... pple see oredi buay song mah... cos to them i'm working lesser time than them...

Need some advise

I have started pumping out my milk since Monday twice (10am+ &amp; 3pm+) &amp; let my boy latch only at 7am+ &amp; abt 3x night feeds.

I am not sure if this affect my ss but I dont feel engorge which I usually do after 3hrs+.

any advise on how to maintain ss? I think I can only pump twice at work lor..

hmm.. if u pump at 7pm instead of 5pm, think still alrite, cos it's still 4x a day.

as for replacing 11pm session wif latch, i not sure cos i nvr done that. but theoreotically, it shld be better cos latching will stimulate more than pump

<font color="aa00aa">lbs,</font>
breast dun feel engorge can mean breasts alr got used alr, not necessary = drop in ss

remember.. no stress...

hi angelia
thks.
Do you think is good to increase my pumping frequency during day time? I mean instead of 45mins every 5 hrs, can be 30mins every 3 hrs..etc? Do you think this will help too?

angelia, i think i found the reason... my AF visit again...
hiaz... hopefully will resume to normal when she go home...

can i ask u mommies something?
Since most of u here are on TBF and still breastfeeding, did ur babies have any problem wif bottles when u were preparing to go back to work? My boy seems to dislike taking bottles now...when force him drink..he will take a bit then wriggle here and there..
how did u all manage to coax bb into taking bottle?
My MIL said must stop latching 2 weeks b4 i go back to work..but i intend to nurse him when i come back from work...
does that mean i have to stop direct latching him and just give bottles?
but if just express, supply will drop right?

hi kristen,
what ur boy behaving is similar to my boy. last time he also reject bottles when i first introduce. MIL was angry with me introducing bottle only when he was 1mth old. at first my boy resisted but we persistencely tried. we know he is hungry yet dun suck from bottle. we let him cry, even cry up to 30min n finally he drank from bottle. the subsequent times he also cried but each time cried lesser until one day he finally accept willingly. i still latched him even when he accept bottles. when i started work he will know i not ard so have to take from bottle. but when see me will want to b latch on. no confusion.

mini,
ehhe..i think it's realy funny..initially he had nipple confusion..wanted bottle coz i intro bottle to him when he was 3 weeks old..then i stopped and forced him to latch..now he refused bottle...will try to get him to slowly drink from bottle....
maybe i can try other teats..currently tried avent and pigeon

hi Kristen,

you can try nuk teats that's what i am using now. i faced the same prob as you, my girl refuse to drink from bottles at times.

i do not bottle-feed her directly, ask my maid and hubby to do that instead. after more tries for 2 weeks, she is taking the bottles much better now.

<font color="aa00aa">lbs,</font>
of cos it's better to hv frequent short session then lesser but long sessions.

however, for me, 3 hrly is not feasible. walk to ladies, prepare to pump abt 10 mins, express 30 mins, wash pump etc, 10 mins.. total abt 50 mins alr. then in 2 hrs time gotta pump again. no need to work liao.

hi angelia,

yeah i was thinking of 4 hrly also but like jenjen said got eyes looking
so my interval is 5 hrs .. but from the 2 session 12 pm and 5pm i can only get 300 ml .. like very little, dun u think?
What's the normal amount u get and what's your interval like?

Actually, i really respect u ladies lah, BF for soo long .. dunno if i can go thru it like all of u.

Shanice is now 7 mths, n i pump for <font color="ff0000">45~60 mins per session</font> at abt 5~6 hrs interval. usu can get ard 180 ~ 230ml.

well, initially, i oso dun get so much. think u'r quite good alr, can get 300ml at 3 mths.

just asking, which breast pump would u think is better, medela pump in style or ameda? Thinking of getting a good one to bring to office so can pump faster coz currently am using avent manual.

kristen, of cos PIS ($699) is better cos of the price difference... ameda is $280... but if u thinking of taking to and from work everyday, ameda may not be able to take the "stress"... but a note is ALL electric pumps, even PIS does not clear the breasts as well as avent manual... from my personal experience...

jen, so avent manual is still better? then i might just buy another set wif a carrier bag and put in office...actually i can express out abt 140-160ml in half an hour..so haf to plan the timing to express in office

hi kristen,
Actually i'm also tempted to get the PIS coz can pump in half the time. But a bit bulky dun u think?
Also, since i pump in toilet dunno where to put the equipment since there's no table whatsoever.
But i do agree with Jen, that avent really can empty the breasts, think it's got to do with the surface that's attached to the breast, it kind of massage the breasts.
I am currently using medela single electric pump coz if need to pump daily and twice a day, a bit siong to use manual pump.

Angelia,
Wow, Shanice 7 mths = 7 mths of TBF!! Good.
I hope I have the determination to do it that long. Also hope no one complain abt me being away from my desk so i can continue to express in office.
Your session quite long, for me at most pump 10 mins each side so total 20 mins pumping time plus another 10 mins to clean up. With such a short time, i am not able to empty the breasts well.
If i am away for too long, ppl eyes will be 'red red' leh.
Only during lunch then i have the luxury to take my time.

hi gals, my son is now 7 weeks old. I normally will latch him direct when feeding. Usually it's abt 20mins per breast. Is it enuff? I am not sure whether he takes in enuff milk.

After feeding, he will sleep abt 3-4hrs before the next feeding. Does it mean that as long as he didnt cry for milk, he has enuff and is not hungry?

qdee,
hehe..ya actually a bit bulky..since got JL sale, maybe i go buy another avent pump then pump both side together
maybe faster...just now i tried pumping at 10 am and timed the session...15 minutes to get 200ml..first time get so much, last pump at 2 am but between that period i got latched bb directly..hopefully supply will maintain once i get back to work

tigger, ur boy can latch 20 minutes at each breast per session? Mine onli latch 15 minutes at one breast then he wun want anymore..and he will sleep for say 2-3 hrs..sometimes he latch longer and can sleep 4 hrs or so...my son is 9 weeks old

Kristen, sometimes my boy will doze off after suckling for a while but I will wake him up by touching his chin or burping him so that he can drink more. He used to poo more but since 6 weeks onwards he poos abt 4 times daily. Is it normal?

Do you know how much milk is your son drinking? I will let my hubby feed him with EBM in the evening. Abt 120ml. Sometimes he cannot finish the whole bottle. I wonder if 120ml is too little for a 7 weeks old baby.

note on avent pump, try not to constantly "work ur hands"... when u feel the suction and let down already can just hold and let the milk spray out until no more... like that less siong... cos i used to "keep pumping" alternating hands... within 10 days, both hands are numb from wrists to fingers... took me 2 months to "recover"... scary...

tigger88,
today i think my boy hasn't poo yet...he used to poo a lot too but recently not that often...i think 3-4 times per day but a lot lor..i think shld be fine...i think i read somewhere the frequency shld reduce when they get older...

I seriously dunno how much my boy can drink..he still doesn't like to take bottle that much..he wun drink if hubby or me feed him..so far MIL managed to get him to drink ranges from 40-60 ml
ur boy can take 120ml..that's quite good right? but babies appetite tend to varies....just read the book on Attachment Parenting..it said dun let the clock tells u when to feed bb but let bb tells u when he is hungry..

jen, hehe...for me i press half way then wait a while then carry on...din keep on pumping..but my hubby helped me pumped once..wah he really pressed all the way down..so painful

kristen, same here...my boy doesn't seem to like bottle too. Either my MIL or hubby will feed him using bottles. If I bottle feed him, he will drink abt 30ml and then his head will start turning to my breasts..

tigger88,
lately my boy a bit cranky..sometimes he wld fuss when trying to latch..then my breasts always leak...and spray on him..dunno how to prevent this from happening again.coz i find it very messy lere...

hubby tried to bottle feed him today but without any success...think only MIL can do it but he drinks quite little...guess it's ok lar..just have to drink more frequent and wait until i get back rom work