Breastfeeding Support Group

Would like to seek advise.
My boy is 5weeks old now,BF since birth.These 2 days he has this problem of spit out the milk while drinking from the right breast and wet the bib.If gauge by time,he only drink abt 3-5 min compared to last time 10min.No such problem for left breast.Dunno y the sudden change
I am worried that he is not drinking enough *haiz* would appreciate if some1 experienced can offer any advise.Thanx

Need advice here...my boy is 6 weeks old. Last week i gave him EBM when i had my post natal massage. Now he is rejecting my breasts at times when he is alert. He would cry and cry but refuse to latch eventhough he wants to drink. When he tired he would suck a bit then later cried again. Getting really stressed up trying to latch him. Anyone of u have this problem before? I don't want to give up breastfeeding so soon

kristen, I didnt have this problem. But I think you can just continue to offer him your breasts till he accepts them again. In the meantime, use spoon to feed him EBM and not bottles.

Hi Kristen

Maybe you're facing what they call Nipple confusion. Some bbs prefer the teats than the nipple coz there is a steady flow of milk. Maybe he's a little impatient when there's no milk coming out immediately when latched on. So some mothers resort to full time pumping and no latching in order to provide BM to their bb.

Maybe can try latching him when he's not so hungry and maybe cup feed him if he still refuses to suckle the nipple for now?

giggler,
that's what i thought it wouldn't be a problem. I should have seen the sign coming when he fed half way and started crying. Read through the past postings here and realised the mummies here offered both EMB and breasts but never had nipple confusion. when he latches on and lets go, my milk will drip all over the place and lately right breast one will spray on him..dunno becoz of this he scared or what. And he always chokes when nursing

a question to ask, if i dun express out my milk now but just latch, would my supply decrease? i dun intend to express out coz wun want to feed him bottle again for the time being.

kristen, maybe your milk flow is too fast for him? But I not sure what you shd do to slow down the flow. Any mummies can help here?

Need some advice..

1. If i give EBM, can i store the EBM for 1 day (maybe from 2-3 sessions of expressing) into a bigger bottle..then pour out a small amt each time to warm up? Or must i always store the EBM in small feed-sizes?

2. If i'm back at work & giving baby EBM, is it better to continue the same expressing schedule over weekends & give EBM or to latch baby on during weekends? Better..in terms of maintaining supply without causing engorgement.

Hi Kristen,
Read somewhere abt positioning to slow down the flow, eg lean backwards a little or feed lying down instead of sitting leaning forward so there's effect of gravity on the flow. Lost the link though..

kristen, I think you have the same problem as me - hyperactive letdown where the milk ejection is too powerful and scares baby. What you can do is you can let him suckle to trigger letdown, pull him off when you feel letdown and spray into a towel or a bottle. I used to spray for 2 mins non-stop even if there was no pressure on my breast.. my poor boy used to have huge merlion vomits due to the fast flow. Also, try nursing in the lying down position so that baby can let the excess flow out of his mouth. HOpe this helps! When your milkflow establishes in a few months time, it won't be so bad.

Giggler/Catz,
Today I tried to bf him lying down..luckily no problem though he fussed a bit and wanted to cry. I forced him to latch and he took it..*phew* hope it will get better.

OMG, u here too..hehe..i also have the same question as u...Thought it might be easier to store all into one container then pour out. At the moment i store 60-100 ml using avent bottle liner. But has since stop storing coz not giving bb bottle liao..I just pump out a bit then throw away..wasted hor

ohmig0sh
share with u what i did..
1. best is store ebm just enough for a feed each time. not good to store all into a big bottle n then pour into diff feed as the first expressed milk will b quite old n may have a sour taste if keep for too long. always practice first in first out to ensure freshness. also try not to store ebm for more than 24hrs in fridge. i tasted those 20+hrs ebm n those 10+hrs one n the 20+hrs ebm dun taste as good n sometimes will have abit sour taste or smell.

2. during weekends i direct latch baby. partly becoz i have problem feeding him bottle as he prefer direct latch. also more convenient as dun have to sterilise pump/bottles. so usu the ebm i pump on fri i will leave abt a feed for sat use n then freeze the rest. so on mon my boy took 2-3feeds of frozen ebm. this is how i get rid of my older stock in freezer to make way for new stock.

Hi Kristen,
Heheh! Yahlor..hope u solved ur problem!

Why u throw away??? So wasted..maybe can keep/freeze for future use?

Hi Mini,
Thanks a lot!

BTW, when u freeze EBM, is there a metallic smell after some time eg ~2wks. Cos i realized mine has (is it due to freezer contents, eg fish etc??). So i stopped freezing.

ohmig0sh, i do the following:

1. Whatever I expressed in the morning will be given on the same day (~2 feeds). Whatever I express for the rest of the day will keep one feed, which will be given the next day. The excess will be frozen. I defrost abt 350~400ml everyday so my gal is taking 2 feeds frozen and remaining 3 feeds fresh. I store EBM into 5 bottle feeds (~150ml each), 3 fresh and 2 defrost, and warm each bottle when she needs to feed.

2. As my gal had bottle rejection last time, I fixed her schedule to take all bottle feeds and only latch if she wakes up at nite. Even during weekends. Unless, once or twice I'm lazy, I will latch her before sleep to skip 1 session.

There is always a diff (taste & smell) btwn defrosted and fresh EBM. I will taste a bit if my gal refuses her milk but usually she will still drink. As long as the milk is not sour, it is still ok and good for ur bb.

Hi Jen
How many times you express in a day? Are you SAHM?

150ml per bottle is quite a lot. I only managed to express out arnd 100-120ml after 4/5hrly..

lbs, u gave birth oredi!!
When??!

nope, i'm a FTWM... express 4 times a day... how old is bb now? maybe ur ss still not established?

hi Jen
Yups..gave birth on 24 Feb..

BB is abt 2 months plus..

wow 4 times a day..meaning abt 3 hrly? You know I was calculating how many times I can express during working time..seem like the most are 2 times ler..once in the morning arnd 10/11am & once in the evening arnd 4/5pm (thats when i start to feel engorge)..

Btw, seem you are on TBF hor? Your bb shld be anrd 5 months plus? WOW..Pei Fu!

I am now on partial & dunno how long can tong..

OMG,
the metallic smell is common n it is due to the freeze-thaw process. can read more from the info below. as long as no funny or sour taste the milk is not spoil. try to consume frozen ebm in 3-4wks to ensure the taste is still good.

Odor of human milk

Under most circumstances, fresh human milk has a mild, slightly sweet scent. Occasionally, human milk that has been frozen and thawed may smell soapy and may be rejected by the baby. In "Breastfeeding: A Guide for the Medical Profession", Ruth Lawrence, MD, postulates that for some mothers, milk stored in a self- defrosting freezer may have had changes in its lipid structure due to the freeze-thaw cycles that occur in such freezers.

In a few cases, mothers have reported that their milk began to smell soapy as soon as it cooled, regardless of whether it had been frozen. "When these mothers heated their milk to a scald (not boiling) and then quickly cooled and froze it," writes Lawrence, "the effect was not apparent and their infants accepted the heat treated milk. That process inactivated the lipase (fat-digesting enzyme) and halted the process of fat digestion." However, high heating may lower some nutrient levels, including ascorbic acid (vitamin C). If the milk already smells sour, heating will have no effect on flavor or smell. Milk that smells rancid likely is, and should be discarded.

hi, hope someone can advice me on how to go about supplementing formula with BM?

If I expressed 50ml of BM but is not enough (my baby needs 90ml), how should i supplement the rest of the 40ml of formula?

Is it by mixing the 40ml of formula with the BM in the same bottle and feed her? or bottle feed them separately?

Hi Jenjen & Mini,
Thanks a lot!
Maybe i won't need to freeze (really cannot stand the metallic smell!)..cos i'll be working parttime for the next 3 mths, so can latch direct or give chilled EBM

To all mommies using the Avent ISIS manual pump, does the white valve pop out frequently when you pump?

To all mommies using the Avent ISIS pump again, I have found out why the valve keeps popping out. It is faulty already. The valve has cracked.. I used the spare valve and it does not pop out. So now, I have to get a few more spare valves leow.

OMG,
Gotta throw away coz i din freeze those milk...so have to use within 48 hrs. Since i dun want to give bottles liao.cant keep them anymore.

lbs, i am like u..can only express around 100-120 ml every 3-4 hrs. but i have to latch my boy almost every 1.5 to 2 hrs ler. So siong..now dunno whether want to switch to partial bf.

absolut/giggler,
tday my boy is ok with my breasts *phew* hopefully will keep it that way.

Ask u all, when u on TBF, do u have to feed every 1.5-2 hrs? and at night can bb sleeps longer? Mine sometimes have to feed every hour at night and can be tiring. So dunno want to feed him formula at night to make him sleeps longer. But a bit reluctant to do so coz intend to try bf as long as i can since nw i still have supply.
In order to increase supply, i have to latch bb directly and express as well right?

yve, m using avent ISIS manual pump too but din have that problem yet i hope.

yve,
This is strange cos the 2 valves that keeping popping out are new ones. Unless I was given used ones!
Anyways, I have a new thread on this. Posted earlier than yours.

Olive, when I was feeding my baby wif breastmilk during her first few days, I also supplemented wif formulae. Do it separately, dun mix it together(u can use the same milk bottle if u're lazy to wash like me hahahahaha, to make the 40ml)

Kristen, according to my gynae, the ideal time interval for baby's feed is btwn 3-4 hours. If yr bb cries for feed every 1-2 hours, that means he/she is not getting enough. U may wish to supplement lor in this case. U can pump(esp wif medela's pumps) to regulate/increase supply.
Dun hv to worry unduly abt supplementing wif formulae, there's nothing bad wif f/milk esp when it's fortified wif so much goodies

If the mother is not healthy or doesnt eat 'good' food, there's no guarantee that the b/milk is good also rite?(i was told lah, so dun bombard me ar kekekekkeke).

would like to share with u the article that I found in the web.

How does mom's diet affect her milk?
By Kelly Bonyata, IBCLC
61 Does mom need to maintain a perfect diet while breastfeeding?
61 What IS needed for maintaining an ample supply of milk?
61 How does mom's nutrient intake affect breastfeeding?
61 Are there any foods that nursing mothers should avoid?
61 Additional information

Does mom need to maintain a perfect diet while breastfeeding?
The short answer to this question is NO -- a breastfeeding mother does not need to maintain a perfect diet in order to provide quality milk for her baby. In fact, research tells us that the quality of mom's diet has little influence on her milk. Nature is very forgiving - mom's milk is designed to provide for and protect baby even in times of hardship and famine. A poor diet is more likely to affect mom than her breastfed baby.
It's common to hear women say that they want to wean (or not breastfeed at all) because they miss drinking coffee, or want to have an occasional beer, or don't like worrying constantly about everything they eat. Guess what? A mother can do these things and eat what she wants and still provide her baby with the absolute best nutrition and immunological protection - mom's own milk.
According to Katherine A. Dettwyler, Ph.D. (breastfeeding researcher and anthropologist), women throughout the world make ample amounts of quality milk while eating diets composed almost entirely of rice (or millet or sorghum) with a tiny amount of vegetables and occasional meat.
Are healthy eating habits recommended for mom? Absolutely! Mom will be healthier and feel better if she eats well. It 101f is best for anyone to eat a variety of foods, in close to their naturally-occurring state, but this is not necessary for providing quality milk or for maintaining milk supply. Although it is not at all recommended, a breastfeeding mom can live on a diet of junk food - her milk will still meet baby's needs.

What IS needed for maintaining an ample supply of milk?
The main thing needed to maintain an ample milk supply is simple --
The more often and effectively your baby nurses, the more milk you will have.
Occasionally, mom's caloric intake or hydration can affect milk production:
61 Calories: In general, a nursing mom should simply listen to her body and eat to appetite - this will normally result in mom getting the calories she needs. Counting calories is typically not needed unless mom is having problems maintaining a healthy weight. Excessive dieting can reduce milk supply, but sensible dieting is generally not a problem.
61 Liquids: It is not necessary to force fluids; drinking to satisfy thirst is sufficient for most mothers. Unless mom is severely dehydrated, drinking extra fluids is not beneficial, may cause discomfort, and does not increase milk supply. It is not necessary to drink only water - our bodies can utilize the water from any fluid.
61 The main message here -- Eat when hungry & drink when thirsty.
61 See Do nursing mothers need extra calories or fluids? and How does milk production work? for more information.

How does mom's nutrient intake affect breastfeeding?
61 Vitamin/mineral supplements (prenatal or otherwise) are not considered necessary for moms who eat a reasonably well balanced diet. See Vitamins (& other supplements) for Nursing Moms for more information.
61 Mom's fat intake does not affect the amount of fat in her milk, but can affect the kinds of fats (balance of "good" vs. "bad" fats) in her milk to some extent. See What affects the amount of fat or calories in mom's milk? for more information.

Are there any foods that nursing mothers should avoid?
61 There are NO foods that a mother should avoid simply because she is breastfeeding. It is generally recommended that a nursing mother eat whatever she likes, whenever she likes, in the amounts that she likes and continue to do this unless baby has an obvious reaction to a particular food.
61 It's suggested that everyone, particularly pregnant and nursing mothers, avoid eating cert 1003 ain types of fish that are typically high in mercury.
61 It is a good idea to restrict caffeine and alcohol to a certain extent, but it is rarely necessary to eliminate them.
61 Some food proteins (such as cow's milk protein or peanut protein) do pass into mom's milk. If there is a history of food allergies in your family, mom may wish to avoid or eliminate the allergens common in her family.
61 Any baby might react to a particular food (although this is not very common). If baby has an obvious reaction every time mom eats a certain food, it can be helpful to eliminate that food from mom's diet. For more information, see Dairy and other Food Sensitivities in Breastfed Babies.

Making women think that they must eat right in order to have thriving breastfed babies is an unnecessary obstacle to breastfeeding.

I also dun feel that taking foodstuffs like coffee, tea, ginger will 'weaken' the quality of b/milk, but I feel that if the mother is not 'healthy' or 'strong' then naturally, the child wont be also - I'm one very good example...

That's why when a nurse(her husband owns a clinic) friend of my sis told us that b/milk may not be necessarily be good for everyone, we believe lor...
However, if one is keen on b/feeding, by all means, do it. It builds up the bond btwn U n yr bb... I did but now hving big big hard time weaning her off :...(

Hi there
My daughter is 23 days old. I am having difficulties direct breastfeeding her since day 1. Currently what I do is to try to direct breastfeed her whenever she cries, if that fails, we bottle feed her with EBM (top up with formula only when necessary).

Am very unsure of myself. Need confinement lady to help me latch baby on. Even need her assistance to massage during pumping. Breast needs A LOT OF massaging to get milk out... Is this normal?

Lately, we have been trying TBF in the day time. Night time, bottle feed. However, noticed that she sucks a few times, stop, doze off, I wake her up, she sucks a few time doze off... the cycle continues until she pulls off from my breast. She generally refuses the other breast.

Is she getting enough suckling in this manner? Sometimes we put her down and in 10-15minutes she starts crying again... but doesn't suckle long at the next breast though. Then starts crying again.

Am worried she is not getting enough milk and nutrition because when we bottle feed her, her intake is about 90ml at one go.

Also, she's beginning to have long periods of wakefulness (1.5 to 3 hours) afterwhich she sleeps and sleeps, passing her feeding times. When we try to rouse her to be breastfed, there is a lot of difficulty getting her to latch on and suckle because she is sleepy.

Should I just let my baby sleep until she cries out in hunger or try to wake her up every 3 hours?

Today, I was so worried baby not getting enough food and losing weight, I caved in in the morning and gave her a bottle of EBM after she suckled only a short while and dozed off. Did I do the right thing?

Your advice much appreciated please... Is breastfeeding a lost cause for me (nipple confusion, lack of confidence)?

My son is abt 3 weeks old now... breastfeeding has been very challenging for me in the beginning as my milkflow wasn't established enough.
Now i also have the same problem of let down too fast, my boy also cannot swallow fast enough at the beginning and starts choking or vomiting milk. I just let the milk flow into a towel until the flow steadies then latch him on again.

This morning when I was expressing BM with a mini electric pump, I noticed I was expressing strawberry milk! Scary... my nipple was bleeding!Had to throw away abt 100ml. So wasteful... Remember nurse at KKH told me it's alright to feed baby. Though to let him drink my blood seems gross, I still latched him onto that breast just now cos bleeding seems to stop.
Pumping is more painful than suckling...

<font color="aa00aa">babyblues,</font>
ur situation is understandable. guess most mummies will feel this way during the 1st few weeks. my bb also the same. n i regret not persevering on latch her, end up i'm on total expressing (she's still on total bm) and she's turning 7mo this Sun.

1st, i think u gotta keep telling urself that u DO HAVE sufficient milk for ur bb. remember SS = DD. so if u keep latching &amp; latching, u'll be building up ur ss. bb's hv small stomach so they can't drink much, n when they latch, they might feel comfortable, so they keep falling asleep, but when u put them down, they woke up again

well.. i'd say no need to follow the "3 hourly" rule. if ur bb is hungry, she'll wake up for milk. they're born to "eat when hungry". no need to worry they will be starved cos they won't allow themselves to!!

however, if u wish, can express out if ur girl doesn't wake up for milk or when u feel engorged

<font color="aa00aa">zyp,</font>
YES, pumping is MUCH MORE PAINFUL than latching, and also more troublesome.

i've had a sore cracked nipple since dunno when n it's been months n it's still not healed cos i'm doing exclusive pumping.. no chance to let it heal unless i decide to stop expressing......... which might be soooooon.. hahahaa..

angelia yea, and without enough strength, I don't seem to be able to pump BM out. Too strong very painful... but more effective in pumping.

How old is ur bb now? Gonna switch to FM already?

Any ideas how to wean baby off? my son is almost 13 months and after our trip to the states I'm going to try and weane him off directly to fresh milk. Any good recommendations? Also, he wakes up very often at night just to comfort feed. Thanks

just wondering... my gal has been sleeping through the nite... that's good news and bad news to me... cos only if she wakes up in the middle of the nite then i will latch her... otherwise, she is fed bottle all the way till 11pm... should i try to latch and maintain at least one latch a day to keep up supply or don't latch at all now?? i'm kinda missing the bond but also worried abt weaning her off next time... dilemma... any advice

mya &amp; jen, I'm also looking for ways to wean my gal off next mth. Seems like there's not much readings on this topic hor?

For those who have started your babies on FM may i know which brands are ok n taste similar to BM? FM smells n taste so different from BM and my daughters dislikes it. She's turning 6 mths in a fews day and I'm planning to intro her to Follow-on. Tks in advance!

Mya/Giggler
For weaning, one way is dun offer when bb dun ask, and u just keep on dropping the feeds this way. Usually the morning and b4 bedtime feed will be the last to go. If this mtd dun work, another one is to distract ur bb with other things whenever they want to feed. There's also last resort like rubbing chili, etc on the breast and going cold turkey completly.
hehe..h/w I've not started to wean my boy off though.

Jenjen
If u want to continue to latch on, why not continue with the b4 bedtime and wake up morning feed, tt way, ur bb can still sleep thro the nite and u still get to latch on.

desert, you haven wean off your boi? I thot you're going to start working soon? Ok, I'll try dropping feeds gradually now so that I can wean her off by end of the mth.

desert, my hubby does not want me to latch before bedtime cos he feels that she will not have enuff to last through the nite... whereas bottle, he can know how much she drank... and it's too rush for me to latch her b4 work as she does not wake up till we are abt to leave...

jen,
if jean can make do without latching on, not a bad thing to do without as easier to wean her off next time. though i agreed abt missing the bonding part. how long do u intend to bf her until? i m facing the problem of weaning my boy. for the past 1.5mths he was taking gain IQ well but since 2wks ago he seem like dun like it so much n drinks lesser. during wkend he will refuse to suck from bottle n we have to spoon feed him. like tat make me wonder should i stop bf? if i do he sure b taking even lesser milk. then he will sure want to b latch on before sleep n will wake up for comfort sucking.

Giggler
I've still not wean him off. It's difficult to wean him off at hm, outside he is fine, wun ask for bf, but in the car he will ask to bf. I also dunno whether I want to wean him off totally coz I really enjoy bf him. Hubby just told me to extend my leave, dunno whether it will be approved.
Those mtds of weaning I read from the books, but hv not tried yet.

Jenjen
How abt feeding some fm and then latch on after tt?

Mini
How are u coping with work? If u really want to wean ur boy and he is not taking FM, u can just give him fresh/choc milk, chesse and yoghurt. I just checked with PD, he says its not a problem since they are over a yr old.

mini, jean slept at 1am last nite!!! she took 170ml at abt 11.30pm... but woke up at 4am... i flip her and ignore her though she wailed a bit... but at 6am i see her so cham, keep quiet but keep moving and sucking fingers, bolster... so i latch her... =P

desert, my gal is on TBF... so no FM... but if I give her EBM oredi, she will latch for comfort to sleep only... so wun really help my ss...

desert, you plan to extend your leave? I also enjoy bfg my gal though I want to wean her off end of the mth. I'm afraid that she'll get used to it and it'll be even harder to wean off later.

mini, your boi doesnt take fm again? You still bfg him partially?

How can I increase the supply of breast milk?

Currently my boi is drinking formula milk when he is at my mil place and at night, I will feed him with breast milk 1st then supplement w formula milk.

But I know my milk flow are little cos I do not feel engorement during the day.

I wish to build up my supply again but I scare will be very difficult.

Any advises?

Thks!

desert,
so far work still ok. now is exams period so even more relax. soon after will b jun hols. last night hubby asked me when i want to stop bfg. seriously i dunno. hope can be now but quite bu she de also. somemore dunno how jon will feel? read from the other thread u extending one more yr of NPL. your hubby encouraged u for it?

giggler,
think its becoz of my pressence so he refused to drink fm. during day time at MIL house he will drink. think he knows i m at work so cant give him milk. but still drink lesser than last time. yup still partial bfg. how do u plan to wean Van off?

hi colourhairgal....now I'm trying goat's milk tablets-was told dat it will increase milk ss, jus bought it yesterday from Tan Tock Seng Pharmacy...hope to see some result by thursday...hee...hee... Btw how old is ur bb?