Breastfeeding Support Group

hello all..

sorry for my long explanation here..but i really need some help. my baby is abt 2 wks plus now, at first when my breasts are feeling hard, i dun know if that's engorgement. i pumped my right breast and everything's ok. cos i was feeling more pain on my left, i used 2 pcs of cabbage on my left and after that, my breast turn soft and from then till now..its no longer hard and can only managed to pump 20ml.
my right however had a lot of flow..from 100ml to 200ml even..but my bb was not taking so much milk, so i kept pumping and stored. but i made a mistake by taking an advice from a friend that i should pump out the milk on my right for relief only, don't need to empty the breast. so i did that for a day. the next thing i know..now i pump..tried longer and had to massage..only can get 80ml. i'm really upset now..cos my baby now demands more. i'm now trying to drink as much as i can. but the progress is vry slow. in fact my sister is asking me to give up BF liao.
i really hope someone can help me on this as i really dun want to give up so soon. thanks.

hi mommies..
long time din log in. busy with work n work place not computer friendly. i m still bfg my boy when i m with him from 5+pm to 6+am, other than that he is taking fm. din pump at work. dunno how long can this new timing going to last?

giggler,
so fast Vane is 10mths old already! endure for 2 more mths n she will b 1yr old.

girl,
has E started taking 1yr old milk? which milk powder u give her? is ur ss still as good?

desert,
has Ivan get used to fm? 2wks of teaching passed n i m glad have adapted to it better. work load getting more too as have to start teaching from next wk. these two wks is more baby siting.

angelia,
even i feel heartpain for u when u need to throw away so many packets of frozen ebm. u r so hardworking n perservering.

Hi Ribena

Think your left ss dropped coz you used cabbage. LC told me that there's something in cold cabbage that will help stop milk production. As for your right, since your body is still trying to adjust and stabilise the milk level, maybe you should try latching on your bb more often. Not sure why you are pumping so much when bb is only 2 weeks old unless bb doesn't drink much or you are doing exclusive pumping. Latching bb on whenever she's hungry can still help to increase your vol now. And try to relax more coz being stress def doesn't help letdown.

Hi gals.. tks for the sharing!

Wow! seems like Avent ISIS has knocked Pigeon down totally! well, the only thing that's holding me back from getting Avent is I don't like the fact that i'll hv to get all the peripherals from Avent (is this true??).. thot Pigeon would be more economical.. and i've heard fm some mums that Avent bottles are too big and thus, difficult for their babies to hold.. so they end up getting Pigeon bottles.. how true is this?

Hi ladies... how's everything?

giggler, angelia, etc... my ss like going down leow leh...
this morning only manage to get 120ml... hiaz... and whole nite din pump some more...

Jen, so glad that the threads are back hor? Been so lost yday in the ofc. The ss dipped cos you reduce your pumping session? Or is yours menses here? Sometimes, it could be due to stress too. Do u have back-up ss to help?

mango
Yes, you need to get parts from Avent if you using Avent products, but things such as bottle warmer etc I don't think is necessary. I am using Avent Pump and bottle for my boy, and only get the accessories for the pump and bottle use only. I got bottle warmer of other brands to keep the milk warm while out. My boy holds avent bottle quite well.

giggler, hihi... yes got back up supply... but the oldest is more than 1.5 months ago... now worry cannot tahan until 6 months leh...
hiaz... my menses came back twice in 2 weeks leh though i pump 4x a day...
yesterday engorge suddenly... dunno why cos stuck to schedule to pump leh...

jen, sure can tahan till 6mths lah. If you dont have ss to have tbfg then have partial lor. At least, your gal still can have your bm mah.

<font color="aa00aa">jen,</font>
as long as ur girl willing to latch, sure can tahan till 6mos. not like me, if ss drop, no chance to revive cos Shanice doesn't wanna latch.

my ss oso dropped a little, each session. and the little missy piggy is taking 200ml x 5 (6 x if she din sleep long hrs) but i only can manage to survive if i pump 5x a day n i WANT to drop 1 session. so either she takes solid well, or she take FM lor. else i'll die man!!

<font color="aa00aa">giggler,</font>
u started Vane on solid? how many times a day? i'll be starting solid next next wkend cos bringing her for last jab next wkend.

angelia, you're rite... think I can survive till today cos my gal willing to latch on. I started Vane on solids when she was 6mths old. Only feeding 1tsp of rice cereals for first week and gradually incr. Only at 9mths then I start her with porridge. I only give a one solid per day for the first 3mths, then incr to 2 solids from 9mths onwards. You may want to check with your PD when you go for jab next weekend. My PD advised me to only start giving Vane fish &amp; egg cos she got eczema.

i acherly dun want to give FM until 1 year old cos scared she reject FM... from the way she reject bottle, i oredi scared leow... at least when 1 year got different milk powder so ok mah... angelia, shanice still drink so much? jean also take 5 bottle feeds but 125ml only... I've been asking many many times, when to increase?

<font color="aa00aa">jen,</font>
meaning u wanna bf for at least 1 yr lor? btw, some bbs prefer FM hor. and hor, wat u mean 1 yr got diff milk powder? below 6 mths oso got a lot of diff milk powder what.

and, i've also replied u on when to increase feed, guess u missed all those posts! anyway, take the cue from jean. if after finish she still cry, maybe can give her some more. or when she wants milk at shorter intervals, can increase liao.

aiyo, Shanice is 6mo, jean only 4 leh, u wanna compare like that ah?

erm.. dun understand what u mean by shanice "still" drink so much. they not supposed to reduce feed rite? *LOL*

<font color="aa00aa">giggler,</font>
i dun bring Shanice to PD for jab, we go GP
wah, u only gave her 1 feed solid for 1st 3 mths ah? i don't think i can do that w/out supp wif FM

angelia, that's what I do lah. Cos can only incr the amt gradually mah. Think you can only start with 1tsp of rice cereal and gradually incr to one feed leh. Though I give Vane 2 feeds of solids, I still need to supplement one feed of fm. My ss really dropped alot liao.

<font color="0000ff">giggler</font>
I am fine. Thanks. Yeah quite a while didn't chat with you liao... My boy is now at walking and running stage... Headache... but it's fun time playing with him too... How's Vane? she 1yr already? Crawling? Learning to walk?

Jas, not one yet, another mth to go. Now crawling and learning to walk. Getting more difficult to handle cos likes to throw tantrums nowadays.

oh angelia, yup u r rite, i miss those posts... =P
anyway, i meant that shanice *still* drink so much becos I thot the older the bb, the less number of feeds cos shorter interval but the amount per feed increase? so i thot the amount drink will not increase until so much per day lor... or does this apply only after bb start solids? *scratch head*

Mini
You still BF J? How's work? Hope not getting too stressful.

I'm actually still latching E on. Was still pumping once a day at work, but only abt 150 ml, ss really dropped.

Anyway, will be stopping bf completely. Think my body needs a rest, but will be difficult now cos E always calls for 'nai nai' and nods her head when she wants to comfort feed.

She's not taking FM very well either. At the moment trying Gain, but have to spoonfeed, plus give lots of biscuits to make her take milk.
When I'm at home, she'll take the bottle, but refuses when I come back, sigh!

Girl,
yup still bfg J. we faced the same problem. i want to stop bf too but J will want to latch on esp at night. my hubby actually want J to put at MIL house for a few wks then MIL just feed him fm n hopefully he can forget abt brs. but i cant bear to leave him at MIL house as it is heart warming seeing him at home every night. also not sure will this method works or not since have to bring J back on wkends. n he sure see me during the day n will want to latch on too.

if u r not at home will E takes Gain in bottle well? i also have difficulty making J drink from bottle. only when he is in good mood then can spoonfeed him but not much lor..

thanks for your concern on my work. able to adapt better n not so stressful at the moment as i m not full time perm staff yet. so far usu can go back by 3pm n thats the good part i like abt it.

Jen,
is there blocked ducts? coz u said brs engorged n yet the amt pumped out not alot? just try your best to bf Jean n dun b too stress as it affects ss. who knows mayb she can adapt well to fm?

angelia,
regarding fm, follow-on n 1yr old milk has many different brands. usu babies will accept 1yr old milk better as it is sweeter since contains sucrose. follow-on milk is quite bland n not sweet.

giggler,
so fast Vane already 11mths! so u planning to bf her until she is 1yr old? somehow v hard for us to stop bf as we want to stop but our babies still want to latch on. what a dilemna!

Mini
I'm trying distraction to get E off the breast. Have been advised by my dr to stop, so have decided to stop pumping totally and slowly stop latching on as well.

One good thing though, E seems to be taking the bottle from me again. But hardly drinks, at most 20-50 ml each time, and have to keep standing up and rocking her to feed her

mini, good tat you're feeling stress from work. Think that's the advantage of having part-time job. I intend to bf for another 1-2mths but think may face the same problem as you leh. Vane knows how to request to latch on either for comfort or milk. Think it'll be hard to stop her completely.

Girl, I intend to stop pumping end of the mth too. I'll just latch her on till she rejects my breasts since it's difficult to cut them off rite?

Hi all brestfeeding mum,

I am currently still breastfeeding my baby. My baby is turning 6 months old very soon and I will like to introduce baby cereal to him. But I do not know how to mix breast milk to the baby cereal. I hope the breastfeeding mummy here can help me with the following questiion. THks

1) How to mix breast milk to the cereal? Do I warm the breast milk and mix the breast milk with the cereal or mix the cereal with hot water first and than pour in the breast milk?

2) how much breast milk must I add into the cereal?

3) For the 1st time, I will want to let my baby try a bit of cereal first so must I feed him breast milk also cos afraid he is not full?

4) How long must I feed him on cereal before I introduce porriage

Giggler
How old is your girl now? Much easier to continue breastfeeding then to stop right?
Yup, really difficult to cut off latching on completely. I'm latching on now only at night. Hope to stop in 2 wks time. Would have continued except that my doctor feels that I should stop

YeeYee, I warm the breast milk first then mix it with the cereal. I started with one tsp of cereal so I just make estimation of the amt of bm needed leh. For a start, you got to give your bb watery cereal. You still got to bf your bb for a start. I gave cereals and brown rice for abt 2mths before introducing porridge.

Girl, my gal is 10mths now. What happened that your doc advised u to stop bfg? So you're weaning her off gradually? Very difficult to stop bfg now unless I can tahan her cries.

Giggler, if will to warm the breast milk and mix with the cereal. Does the breast milk hot enough to dilute the cereal cos can't warm the breast milk too hot rite if not nutritious will loss.

And after feeding the one tsp of cereal that mean I still need to feed the baby with breast milk rite?

What brand of cereal &amp; brown rice you buy? I still haven't buy the cereal yet cos don't know which brand to buy. Think of buying Nestle or Dumex. As for the brown rice, I bought it from Yu Ren Shen but also don't know how to mix with breast milk cos the brown rice need to add hot water and cook for 5 mins.

YeeYee, you're rite that you cant warm the bm till hot. For me, I got no problem mixing cereals with warm bm leh. You still need to feed bb with bm cos one tsp is not enough for her. I bought Heinz rice cereal cos it doesnt contain cow's milk and sugar. You got to look at the ingredients labels carefully. I think Nestle &amp; Dumex have cow's milk and sugar. I bought Yu Ren Shen brown rice too. I mix the bm from fridge with the brown rice then cook for 5 mins over small fire.

sigh, the other day logged in, but din managed to post what i've typed!

Yeeyee,
i've answered your qns in another thread that you've posted

giggler,
i thought ebm cannot cook one??!!
kao_confused.gif

Seems like alot of mums ss dropped? Too stressed??

Diet can be a problem too leh..

Giggler, you mean you cook the bm? I thou not supposed to cook the bm coz all nutritous loss.

Anyway, is Heinz rice cereal iron forfieted?

Girl,
what is the reason/s that ur doc asked u to stop bfg? hope it is not too personal to ask. my hubby v angry with me for still bfg. he see no reason y i should still bf. i quite bu4 she3 de2 but i dun want to keep continuing too.

Giggler, desert,
even now my hubby angry with me for bfg. MIL nowadays purposely make more fm for my boy as she feel my milk no longer filling. sad to see these ppl discriminate on bfg. dunno who to talk to regarding this so just pour my problem in this forum. guess i have to stop else will make situation worse btw my hubby n me. but dunno how to wean J. mayb one day when milk is too little n he no longer interested?

Girl,
what is the reason/s that ur doc asked u to stop bfg? hope it is not too personal to ask. my hubby v angry with me for still bfg. he see no reason y i should still bf. i quite bu4 she3 de2 but i dun want to keep continuing too.

Giggler, desert,
even now my hubby angry with me for bfg. MIL nowadays purposely make more fm for my boy as she feel my milk no longer filling. sad to see these ppl discriminate on bfg. dunno who to talk to regarding this so just pour my problem in this forum. guess i have to stop else will make situation worse btw my hubby n me. but dunno how to wean J. mayb one day when milk is too little n he no longer interested?

Giggler
Wow, so fast your girl 10 months already! Imagine at one stage you were also wondering whether you would go beyond 6 months

Mini/Giggler
I'm asked to stop by gynae cos now expecting again, and think my body quite weak, recently had bad bout of flu, still recovering even after 1 wk

I'm getting lots of comments about stopping bf even before preggie, but E just won't take much FM. Have decided no point struggling, will just have to try repeatedly till she gives in. I'm able to distract her from latching on during the day, but still got problems through the night. Even bought a pacifier for the night but doesn't seem to work for her!

Yeeyee, I cooked the EBM with brown rice over slow fire for a while lah. I stopped once it's warm. Hopefully not all nutrients are lost. I think the Heinz rice cereal is iron fortified.

mini, why is it that your hubby is angry with you abt bfg? Guess you got to weigh the pros &amp; cons of bfg now and decide on a solution. It's sad that our society still not very receptive of bfg. My relatives also kept nagging on my mom when they found out that I'm still bfg. Sigh......

Girl, ya so fast that my gal is 10mths now. Cant forget that stage when I'm so worried that I dont have enuf for my gal to bf for 6mths. I plan to stop bfg when my gal turn one yr so still got 2 mths to go. But now I dun think I can stop my gal from latching on liao. I also got the same problem with latching on through out the nite. Pacifier also doesnt work for her.
Btw, a big Congrats to you for having No.2 now!!! I also having flu and cough for 2 weeks liao and still recovering from it. Sigh......

hi hi mummies...

experience the same thing.... my mil heard that i am still bfing...was asking my husband why i still bfing.....sian to hear that...

my son is going 7mths....at first like giggler...i was thinking to bf him til 6mths...but was thinking to bf him til 1 yr old...recently i feel dat my SS has dropped lot....no more those full breast feeling.....

also having the same problem as giggler and girl that my boy tend to nurse for comfort....at nite he will just climb onto me to suckle for comfort...and during the sleeping time...he must be nurse if not he wont sleep....give him pacifier also no use....my mum say it will be difficult for me to wean him off later...

dun noe what to do.....same as you all...i really "she bu de" to give up....

Giggler/Adeline
Wow, looks like many who are successful with BF end up having problems with weaning them!
Think someone should also write books on how to wean

I managed to get my girl to sleep on her own without suckling for the past 2 nights. Only towards early morning have problems getting her to take bottle when she wants a morning feed. Maybe also cos we're not used to mixing FM early morning, so things were not prepared...

Now I seem to be able to reason with her. Will tell her that if she wants me to carry, I will only feed her with bottle. She'll get a little upset, but at the end still nod head and open mouth for bottle. But does not drink! Guess it's a good start though....

mini, managed to clear it over a couple of days leow... but still dunno why it occured... :p

does anyone know if engorgement will lead to a drop in supply?

Girl, it seems like the case hor?
It's a good start for you that your gal still listen to your explanation. Me still haven really start of weaning her off yet. Most prob, I'll try with feeding her water if she wakes up for milk in the middle of the nite.

Jen,engorgement will cause ss drop? I thot engorgement means you got too much milk liao.

mini,
how old is your bb? Hm...

Dunno what's the best way also...but me thinking of cutting down on direct feed and replace with the bottle first (still give ebm &amp; pump). Then if really not bfg, then can finish up the stash &amp; transit to fm?

girl,
dunno how old is your bb (or toddler?) &amp; how many months preggie are you? but i know of mums who tandem nurse. It seems that the milk will "change" throughout your pregnancy. And it'll be the toddler who will want to wean off (for those i know).

giggler,
i think best not to "cook" the ebm?? Havent really know the effects of doing so though...

adeline,
i think after 6mths mark, our breast knows how much we need and the "engorge" feeling will go

Jen,
demand = supply.
If engorge &amp; no pump/latch, over a few days, supply will fall...

girl,
congrats! is this 2nd pregnancy planned? when is the due date? till now i still cant think of having a 2nd one. think pregnancy causes ur ss to drop by quite alot right? hope E will understand n stop wanting to b latched on.

giggler,
my hubby angry becoz at first told him 6mths then drag to 1yr n now still drag so long. he feels tat i dun plan when to stop bf n just it drag on. he feel tat bgf makes J too dependent n he wants him to b independent. but i feel baby at this stage is like tat when they grow older they will learn to b independent. now i stop pumping n hopefully can stop bf in a mth time since by then J will b 14mths.

aimee,
my boy is 13mths n he is born on the same day as girl's E. like wat girl said we establised bfg but now face the problem on how to wean off. do u have alot of frozen ebm in the freezer?

Jen,
so it is really blocked ducts. i think u r asking if brs get blocked for too long will ss drop or not right? yes will as the milk is not removed n if for too many days ss will b affected. even during engorgement if din empty the brs will also cause ss to drop. these few days is your ss back to normal?

Giggler
Strangely now that I've stopped latching so often, my girl seems to be able to sleep through. She just slept on her own again w/o latching on this evening. Also hasn't been waking till near 6 am the last few nights...

Mini
Thanks. Yup, planned for no. 2 but didn't expect to 'strike' so fast
Yup, ss went down a lot, and guess it's good to take a break from bf since I'll have to continue again soon

Aimee
My girl is 13 months now, and I'm 8 wks along. Have read that majority will self wean starting from 4th month onwards. My problem now is that ss very low and trying hard to get her to accept FM is a problem

thanx aimee...

mini, I dunno what is block ducts leh... I oni know pain pain and hard hard... but I expressed regularly... sometimes if engorge, how to empty brs?? so painful express for 1/2 hour also not so much come out... these few days ss remain... since it is still more than enuff for my gal, it's ok for me... cos I'm freezing 3~4 packs and defrosting only 1~2 packs everyday... freezer no place leow... hubby just thrown some old ones...

mini, so hubby is angry that you didnt act according to plan? Maybe your hubby got high expectation of your kid since he's a boi. I think I got different expectations for boi and gal leh. Luckily I didnt have boi, if not he'll suffer from me.

Girl, so happy for you that your gal listens to you and you manage to stop latching her liao.

Jen, maybe you can try to massage your breasts before and during your pumping session to help relieve them?

need advice. previously i only bf my 1st one until 4mths and that was becoz my supply was low. i am due for my 2nd one in aug and i really do plan to bf him longer. any tips you all can share?

tulip, i think latching on correctly at the very beginning is important to teach the bb the correct position... in addition, i totally latch for the first month whenever bb cry, before intro bottle... this was what helped me kick start my supply...

Girl,
good to hear that E is doing well in the weaning process.. Congrads on No 2... Hope everything is well with No 2 and not affected by your cold. Dun want to post at the other side coz u haven't told there yet so don't want spill beans.

E's growing up..maybe she understands that mummy needs more rest now.

Hi tulip...congrates!! I'm in the same situation as your 1st bb, BM supply drops drastically on the 3rd month and now can only get a miserable 20ml (consider good supply) every pump of about 20 mins. Guessed I was not consistent in getting my BM supply going, so remember to latch &amp; latch or pump &amp; pump - don't be discouraged by those comments esp. like "O baby still hungry, your milk not enof (from MIL, etc....)", ignore them and if u can tell them that they should be giving encouragement instead....

Tulip
I agree with Jen, got to make sure bb latches on well. Also, avoid supplementing with FM if possible. If really must, should only feed FM after bb has already latched on for some time. In that way, your body will receive the 'signal' that milk is required.
All the best!

Ruffy
Thanks. Oh ya hor, think I should 'tell' the other side too

Thanks Gals!

i was juz thinking how come when i delivered at TMC last time, the nurses there auto feed bb formula.. that is why i never did let bb latch on.. or maybe after delivery, i must tell the nurses that i want to total bf bb?

btw, is fenugeek good for milk supply? i only know drink water and more soup..but some said fenugeek is good.. thot of buying to standby

tulip, when I delivered at TMC, they did ask if TBF/PBF/FM... when I said TBF, the nurse immediately after delivery, told me to try to bf... even if bb dun suckle, at least will learn the smell of mum... and it worked...
as for taking fenugeek, I dunno what is that but I dun like to depend on "outside substances" too much... natural good enough...