Breastfeeding Support Group

Melody
Hope Zoie recovers soon... Very sim tiah to see them sick... Both E and I had flu - fever and running nose, better liao

Actually now that they take solids as well in the day, guess less milk intake also should be ok as long as they make up for it in the night.
Zoie sleeping through the nights already right?

Hi Toh
Maybe U can latch her on when shes not so hungry. Some bb do get very irritated when hungry. They cant wait. How many hours b4 shell get too hungry? Try to latch her on b4 that. Maybe it will help. Did u bfg her directly from breasts initially? When shes young U give her bottle, shell prefer bottle cos the flow is constant n easier. When U bf directly, there will be letdown at first n flow will be fast. Toward the end, the flow will be slow. U can try compress breast to aid flow. Or try switching breasts when she complain of slower flow. Sometimes bb just like to suck and get frustrated when there is milk. U have to judge for yourself. Dont feed her bm in bottle as much as possible. Itll be tough for u so be prepared.

Anyway it take me 2mths for my milk ss to fully establish so dont worry. Pumping is not a good way to judge milk ss. Whenever she wants to drink just bf her. Sometimes the feeding interval will be very close like hourly and other times like 2 or 3 hourly. So just bf and look out for signs of hunger. After bfg her, pump to remove excess milk. U only can get 0.5 to 1 oz of milk, its okay. It will increase your milk ss.

My gal is 6mths now. When shes your gals age I had frustration of my own too. When I latch her on shell cry n cry. U can try other people to carry n quiet her down b4 passing to U. Sometimes she latch on fine. Sometimes she complain not because of hunger. Im still bfg her directly.

hi giggler

Yes...but supply not as good as last time la .. as i will do it as a routine to let him latch on every nite and morning. so my body will know that there is still a need for BM. During wkend, he might latch on more than 2 times.

YeeYee,

I wish i could tbf... but my supply can never meet his demand. But now that my boi has started solids he can go without formula if i'm with him
I still latch him on. Latching on during first 2 or 3 mths is really tiring he seems to suck forever, now he's done in 10 or 15min, but now he's very "hong xim", when someone's talking he'll turn his head n smile, so quite difficult to nurse him outside.

Piggy, ya, agree with you that latching on is really tiring...that's why I choose to pump out and feed him. Lucky my supply still can meet his demand. Now I am worry that he will need more milk each day as he grows, worry my supply cannot meet his demand.

Hi piggy, me sama sama getting more difficult to feed my gal. Cos she's easily distracted by others, very kpo.

Hi Yee, personally I feel that latching on direct is still the best. Cos it helps to stimulate milk ss better and also it can provide bonding with u and bb more.

Giggler, ya, I know that latching on is still the best cos it helps to stimulate milk flow and provide bonding...but I really cannot take it sometime that I am tempted to give up breastfeeding. So i thou since I still can pump out the milk and feed him is better than i give up right. I think if I will to try latching him on back, he mays not want now since I have not been doing that for so long. To be frank, I do wish to latch him on sometime but I fear that I cannot take it. If I will to latch him on, when shall i pump the milk for my babysitter to feed him when I am working?

girl,
she sleep thru like 6 hrs, the most 8 hrs stretch...read somewhere bb her age shd sleep up to 12 hrs w/o milk...

giggler,
oh..making her take medicine is like torturing her...she ll wail, then i ll pour in, hoping she dun vomit after tat

Hi Yee, just try lah. If he still doesn't wnat then you continue with exclusive pumping lah. I pump at abt 11am and 5pm during working hrs.

Hi melody, maybe you can smile at her or sing to her while u feed medicine. I mean try to make it like a happy event taking it?

Need some advise again. These few days my boy's poo is mainly greenish in colour instead of the normal yellowish colour.Issit normal for a tbf baby?Is there a cause for concern?I've read somewhere which says that it could be an imbalance of the intake of foremilk & hindmilk and could be due to other reasons too e.g. I'm taking too much green vege,etc. Really not sure which is which and would appreciate if there's some advise from you ladies here.Thanks in advance!

Storage and Transportation of ebm

For those of you who pump in the office,
- after transporting the frozen ebm home in a cooler bag, can we store them back in the freezer again ?

- assuming we pump once during noon and once in the evening, how do we sterilised the pump ?

maple_leaf,
my boy experienced greenish poo once in a while but i dunno what is the cause of it too. if problem persist, suggest u to ask PD or LC since they will b more knowledgable.

seagal,
y do u want to freeze the ebm in office? do u know tat some antibodies is lost when we freeze ebm? once thawed cannot be freeze again. it is best to just store ebm in the cooling compartment of fridge rather than freezer. like that no antibodies is lost n u can choose to freeze ur ebm when u reach home.

i only wash my pump with plenty of hot water after each pumping session when in office. i do not use sterilising tablet or steriliser. so far been doing tat for many mths n my baby has no problem with it.

mini
Tks for the info.,btw, does it last a few days for your boy?Today his poo seems slightly more yellowish but still got some green poo.

<font color="aa00aa">maple leaf,</font>
how old is ur boy? once my girl oso started having greenish poo for several days. checked wif the GP, he said it's quite normal in babies 3~5 months cos liver is developing/developed and secreting some liquid and it got into the bowel system.

<font color="0000ff">giggler</font>
my boy knows the difference if he's taking medicine. Singing don't make a difference for him, he will still struggle...

<font color="ff0000">mini</font>,

i wasn't sure if it's ok to transfer the ebm from fridge in office to the freezer when i get home. that's why i thot maybe should freeze it in the office first. thanks for enlightening!

as for the sterilising part, i think i will also have to just rinse in hot water cos so ley chay to sterilise in the office.

<font color="0000ff">giggler</font>
I believe so they will know the difference as their taste buds would have developed.

angelia,

My boy will turn 3 months at the end of this month.Thank you! Ur info really assured me.Today his poo is almost all yellowish liao.

Girl
I've tired the vanila flavour milk on my boy for the past 3 days, he still reject. Today when he saw the milk, he started to make the vomiting action so tt I will not feed him. Noti boy. Think I will try for a few more days b4 I try another flavour.
Ya...but now even my P are asking me when I want to stop, so quite irritating, coz I stay with them. When my boy dun want to eat solids or dun want to drink milk and look for my bm, they will go " aiyoh..so big already, cannot always look for mummy's neh neh."

Giggler
Actually my best friend and hubby also said the same thing. They din use the word selfish though. They only mentioned I shd not think tt another sibling will mean my boy hv to share my love. They both think my boy will love to hv a companion and I shd not deprive him of tt.
I think I will just stick to my current plan. Go back to work when Ivan is 19 mths, then by the time he is 2 yrs, maybe I'll be ready for 2nd one.

Mini
I saw Ocean during the bb gathering last sat. She's also a teacher who's still bf and her gal is 13 mths +. She told me she usuall does manual expression when she visits the toilets, coz now express out can just throw away. Maybe u might want to try it out.

Jas
haha..I look motherly? Actually I am not motherly, I can get quite impatient with Ivan too, hubby always telling me I shd not let my emotions affect the way I treat Ivan

Hi desert, think you can wait till u go back to work to decide if you want No.2. Your boi still doesn't want fm??? Think it's quite difficult to control your emotions infront of bb rite? I've read that it's ok to show sadness or anger to bb and tell them how u feel then.

desert,
the vanilla milk u let Ivan drink is it friso3? it is so headache both our boys reject bottle as well as fm. Jon refused to suck bottle when it contains milk. have been spoonfeeding ebm. even when we try to give fm again also have to spoonfeed. it will b much easier if they can just hold the bottle n drink from it. usu will have some wasteage when drink from spoon n also have to entertain him. haiz..

as for Ocean, last time when her gal was younger how does she express the milk when in sch? my ss seem to decrease again n if i can dun need to stay in sch until so late mayb i can afford not to pump in sch. i will b doing contract teaching first. do u think contract teachers can leave sch earlier?

giggler,
so everyday Vane takes 1 feed of fm? my boy n desert's boy are alike in the area of feeding milk. so headache. my ss gets lesser n also dunno is my ss enough for my boy or not. just try to endure for anr 2.5wks n he will b 1yr old n can intro him to 1yr old milk.

mini, you're rite. Vane is having 1 feed of fm. She has taken enfapro and now trying Nan. I just give her whatever sample I have at the moment. Wow, so fast your boi turning 1yr old. You got any celebration for him?

desert, how abt u? Any celebration for your boi?

Hi Mini,

Just back at work yesterday. Yup, a very nice place there. Was there for the snow festival. Was freezing cold though. Maybe would go back again next time during summer. Thank god my camera could still work and I managed to capture some nice pics. My video camera spoilt though.

My boi better with fm now (touch wood first). Drink slightly more. Thinking of bringing him for 9th mth developmental assessment although prob not necessary. Just want to make sure that he's growing well. He has always been underweight.

Wow your boy turning 1 yr already. Another 3 mths I got to think also whether to throw party for him. My mum already bought a lot of clothes for his 1st birthday.

Hi Giggler,
I'm more or less done with bfg. Still got some milk but very little. Can go for more than 24 hours without pumping or bfg though would be slightly uncomfortable. Realised breasts also decreased in size already...

Hi Desert,
Ya..a real headache when our babies reject fm. my boi was also like tat. now slightly better. Last time the fm like poison, taste once then reject. I dun know how much milk I've thrown away already. I even threw away 3/4 tin of similac when he rejected last time. So heartpain

Hi mini/desert
It seems that we three shared the same bottle. My parents that time also ask me when I want to stop. I also don't know leh. Actaully thought of stopping but like so hard cos I have to stand his crying. Does Ocean gal rejects the bottle and formula? So she throw away the milk she pumps? I did that also cos my boy don't drink.
I think contract teacher may not be as busy as trained teacher. They may not expect so much from contract teachers.
I also thought of having the second one when my boy is 2.

moon

hi ladies... i've jus started expressing in the office... quite difficult to keep within 1 hour leh... plus washing &amp; sterilizing... hiaz... unless jus pump for 10 mins... anyone face the same problem?

hi arieslim,

thanks for your help.. i will try it out with her. hopefully she will be like your bb..able to latch on and drink directly from breast.

Hi Masshiro, my breasts didn't incr in size though I bf leh. Yours incr compared to pre-preg? I thot of going Jpn later this yr too. But it depends on my bonus lah.

Hi jen, I managed to do everything in 30min leh. I pump for abt 15-20min and wash up the pump. After that, I just pour hot water over the pump, that's it.

Hi Giggler,
Mine increased a lot since preggie time. I'm happy they're back to almost normal. Japan is nice. I might go back there again this year during summer. Got quite a bit of leave to clear this year. BUt it's real expensive. Can recommend you places to stay there though. Find it quite good and affordable.

I haven't pumped for so long. haha dun miss the pumping though. I stil have milk though dun latch on often now. It's painful when baby latches on cos he's chewing with his two little teeth.

My Avent steriliser broke down..so irritating. Used for only 9 mths. The hotplace corroded. So those using, pls be careful when you're doing descaling.

Masshiro, I'll ask you for advice if I'm going this yr. I plan to go in Sep to celebrate my bday if I got bonus in Jun. I plan to go Tokyo only. How many days do I need to explore Tokyo and how much do u think I need to tour the place? Vane got abt 6teeth now but most of the time she wont bite lah. She bit when she first had teeth but after I slapped her on the face. She didnt dare liao.

masshiro,
u must ve enjoyed urself...

giggler,
aiyo...u slapped vane, lightly ornot? next time, slapped lightly n tell her "no-no" a fren of mine slapped her gal cos she bite, think terrified her bb, bb refused to feed for a day...

Hi Giggler,
Sure. I'll be happy to offer advice. It depends if you're doing side trips for Tokyo or not. If you want to visit places like Hakone or Nikko, you'll need to set aside 1 full day to do each of them. As for Tokyo, I think 2-3 days should be sufficient, one day more if you plan to visit Disneyland.

My boy got 4 teeth now. Waiting for the top centre ones to appear leh. now look very strange like got tiger teeth like tat.

WAh...I've never slapped my boy before. I jsut say a firm no. and I think he understands or I hope he understands. He's now playing with my cardoor knob..I'm trying to teach him that he can't play with that.

Hi Melody,
I enjoyed myself thoroughly, though I missed my boy and doggie. But it's quite a good time to travel now cos baby not so sticky to us yet. Next time might not be so easy.

giggler, slap her?! my gal seems to be teething a bit... but she's oni 11 weeks... but when she latch, her gums are harder leow...

melody, I think the slap was quite hard cos she cried pitifully after that. But it's effective lor cos after that time, she never bite me liao.

masshiro, what do u think of Disneysea? Is it worth going? I tried saying NO in a firm tone to Vane. Sometimes, she seems to understand lah. But that time, I was really in great pain liao. So can't control myself. Vane got 4teeth on top and 2.5 on the bottom liao.

jen, 11weeks sound early for teething leh. My gal only starts teething at abt 6-7mths. I slapped her cos her bite was too painful to bear liao.

Hi giggler,

Wow..Vane has got a lot of teeth already. My son teethed only at 8 mths. Quite slow, but drooling for a long time already. He will drool then the dog will lick up his drool. Very funny.

For Disneysea, I think it's not very exciting place. Still prefer Disneyland, more magical and the rides are more fun. But Disneysea is something new lah. Different characters there like Little Mermaid, Aladdin, etc. I find Disneyland more value for $$.

Shopping there is great. Bought clothes, socks for my baby, and this cute little Mickey mouse milk bottle container that comes with biscuits inside. Burnt a big hole in my pocket. Spent more in Disney than the amount I spent on souvenirs for the whole trip.

My boy likes to pull my hair. He hasn't bitten my yet, but he likes to pinch people and it's really painful.

Giggler
You slapped Vane ah, sure heartpain for you to do that.... My girl bit me a few times with her 5 teeth, super painful.... I scold her after but sometimes also no use...Seems to have grown out of it liao

Masshiro, my gal started to teeth when she was abt 6-7mths. She didnt really drool leh, she'd just get cranky one of the nites. And next day, you'll see the teeth liao. I'm sure you burnt a big hole in your pocket cos things in Jap is really ex hor? Vane likes to pinch pple too.

Girl, I used to scold her only but that time it was so painful that made me slapped her lor. Now, she didn't dare to bite me liao.

Giggler
We only had a family celebration for Ivan, P, PIL and siblings from both sides. Got him a tigger cake from bengawan solo.
ya, that's my plan, rtn to wk and see how I cope b4 I decide whether to hv another one.
U are going to Japan. Hubby and I are planning another holiday b4 I rtn to wk, coz if not can only go during sch hols. Thinking of going either Japan, Aussie or HK. Wanted to go Japan, coz want to bring Ivan to go disneyland, but will be most ex, so still thinking.
Disneyland is better than disneysea. I went to disneyland france and disneysea Japan, disneyland is more colorful and got more things.

Masshiro
U just went Japan? Any idea how much a 7 day F&amp;E trip with accom and air tix will roughly cost? The last time I went on tour, but this time my boy will be coming along, so easier to go F&amp;E.
Ya..I stopped FM for abt a wk, coz he got sick and will only bf. Need to try again.

Mini
Not too sure leh, I reckon she pumped initally too. Its only when her gal starts on solids tt she express manually and throw away.
For contract teaching, u are suppose to hv almost the same responsibilities as a normal teacher, so most probably wun be able to leave on time. Actually a lot depends on ur sch as to whether ur wkload is the same as a normal teacher.

Moon
Hehe..my boy just started to use the cup to drink water himself, but quite messy. Ya, I find if they take bottle, they drink more.I also cannot bear to see my boy cry if he wants to bf and be carried. But if he is crying coz he is naughty, then that i dun bother

Minnie/Stylobb/lea
I've read up quite a lot on extended bf n self weaning. LC actually recommends bf up to 2 yrs to get the full benefit from bm. The natural weaning age of a child is actually from 3 to 6 yrs. H/w, a lot of times the bb/child is weaned earlier, tt's coz is acutally initiated by the mother. H/w, all bbs are diff, some are avid nurser who will resist strongly to weaning while others dun really mind being wean off.
BF past one yr will not provide all the nutritional needs, coz tt time bbs need to get their needs from solids. I dun think bf makes toddlers fussy eaters coz all my hubby's neice and nephews were on fm and they turn out to be fussy eaters too. Sometimes, will only eat chicken rice and refuse any other thing.
Bf past one yr is also not so much a habit, but rather more for comfort. Fr what I observed, my boy will want to nurse when he is sick, feeling uncomfortable or bored. It gives him the feeling tt I am ard coz he likes to touch my hair and body while bf. H/w, my boy also like to bf to sleep and wakes up in the middle of the nite, tt is a bad habit. That one is partly my fault coz I did not make any attempts to stop this habit.

desert,
ve ivan use bottle b4? cos i m really having prob getting zoie to drink either FM or EBM from cup/bottle/spoon/straw...i very worried it become terror session...dun know wan to do cold turkey or not...hiaz..only myself to blame..lazy la...cos she is able to take bottle when she is 4 mths old, then i lazy to express...
wow...so must definitely introduce n stick to 1 bottle feed for next bb...

melody,
i also have problem getting my boy to drink milk from cup/bottle. now what we do is spoon feed him but at the same time need to entertain him. v tough. like tat also not possible to make him drink much too. he is having problem with bottle on n off. but this time round dun think he will overcome it esp now older n smarter. only want to b latch on.

btw zoie willing to take fm?

girl/melody,
when do u intend to bf until? i m thinking to wean my boy soon but at this period can see he is addicted to breasts. only want to latch on n refused to take milk from bottle. like tat dun think can wean him off so fast. dunno how to also as i quite soft hearted. somemore i afraid if i dun bf him he will take v little milk. he rejected similac so now waiting for him to turn 1 then intro gain IQ. hope this time he will accept it better.

giggler,
finally decided on jon's bd celebration. will invite my family, hubby family, hubby relatives. hubby relatives already alot of ppl so dun think want to invite friends though i hope can. dun want to b like during Jon's full mth when all the relatives just crowd ard jon until friend has not chance to get near.

mini,
i m trying to wean n stop bfg...but hiaz...
she is not taking FM well, tried NAN, similac..ll get some enfalac from sil this weekend..wonder what is so bad abt the milk hor...cos she is already exposed to all sorts of food mah...give her when she is not hungry, like giving water, she oso show me the yuck face, n spit out..

Desert, when do u plan to go Japan? I may be going in Sep. Think if you just want a short trip, HK is the best location? Vane also has this habit of waking up in the middle of the nite to nurse leh. How to kick off this habit?

Mini, maybe you can have different sessions for both relatives and frds? Both hubby and I have lots of relatives too. So Im also considering the possibility of inviting both relatives and friends.

melody, you start giving zoie follow-on milk and she still doesn't want it?

Mini/Melody
I'm also trying to wean E from the breast. Finding myself getting tired from lugging the pump etc to and from work. Also find that nowadays she tends to crawl to me and try to lift up my clothes to suckle when she feels like it. Afraid that she may do such inappropriate actions like this when we are out.

Haven't started on FM yet, cos wanted to try but been busy the last few wkends. Will prob only try after her birthday next saturday.

I wonder how long it will take to wean her off completely. Hopefully she'll take the bottle cos she normally does so when I'm not around, but don't know how she'll react to the taste of FM