Breastfeeding Support Group

Hi Giggler,
My boy has started on veges and fruits. We usually give him two times cereal, plus some fruits or veges. The rest of the feeds will be ebm or fm. Think it shuf be ok to start some meat like fish or pork already I hope. Want to give him some protein.

I'll supplement one of his cereal feeds with porridge. So his milk intake shud still stay the same. Milk is still very important for them.

Hi Stylobb,
Sounds like you had lots of fun. I dun think my hubby and I will dare to drive up to KL. Even from my house to town, he can already scream the roof down. So you bought lotsa things for Jesse?

<font color="0000ff">Masshiro</font>
Jesse likes the motion of the vehicle so it's ok.
I think still too young to take pork?? Fish is ok, and easily digestible. My opinion.
It was fun but also a lot of energy!!!
Got clothes from him, not a lot but ok lah.. from Debenhams, Mothercare, Metrojaya.

Hi styloBB, your hubby is really good leh. Looked after Jesse while you shopped in KL.

Hi soyabean, aiya I just took 3 days of mc last week leh. Though nothing much to do in ofc but still not nice to keep taking leave mah. I think I got to change my mindset and tell myself that giving fm is not a sin.

Hi Masshiro, so your boi is having how many feeds of milk now? My gal is having 2 solid feeds and 2 milk feeds in the day, is it enough?

Hi Stylobb,
Really..cannot take meat yet? So when's a good time? So is it cheaper to get baby stuff in M'sia? Can imagine how tired it is to bring a baby along.
Have fun at your mothers' gathering tonight.

Hi Giggler,
Hope you're better already. It's ok to give fm. In any case, you've been nursing him for more than 6 mths already..fm has nutrients also.

During the eight hours at work, my boy will have 3 milk feeds, 2 cereals and once fruits/vege. But my MIL said that he drinks very little of the fm, so I've no choice but to keep on pumping. I'm travelling to Bangkok next weekend, really can't bear to give up bf. Maybe will continue pumping there so that can still nurse him when I'm back. But when I'm there, he won't have ebm, cos I dun have enuf supply.

My boy has been making those coughing sounds recently...dunno if he's faking it or real dry coughs. If it persist, going to bring him to see dr.

Have some Avent breast milk bags for sale. 1 unopened box plus 2/3 (can't recall) opened (half used ones). Total should be about 2 box worth. Willing to let go of all at $7. Will throw in Ikea clips for free.

Can be reached at [email protected]

Hi Masshiro, you not going to bring your boi along to BKK? Your boi still prefers your bm? For Vane, she's taking 2 milk feed and 2 cereal feeds. Now, I can't go out after work cos not enuf milk for her. It could be fake coughing leh, my gal likes to do that too.

Hi Jas,
Oh I see. Must be the flu virus going around now.

Hi Giggler,
I not bringing him..think he's too young to travel. I might not bring him to Japan also when we go there next year. Hubby and I need some private time together. Quite tiring to bring him around. I really salute those that bring baby along. If my parents also going, I don't mind, but if it's just me and hubby, I think better not.

I hope it's fake coughing. I really dun wish it to develop into something more serious. Got to monitor closely. Your Vane teething already? My boy hasn't. My MIL thinks he's going to teeth soon cos his poo different texture..hmm..dunno whether her logic is true??

Vane is drinking quite a lot each feed right? My boy only drinks like 4-5 onces, so not a lot. He likes to eat brown rice, cos very tasty.

Hi QHL,
You're planning to stop bfg?

Hi Masshiro, I also feel that it's difficult to bring along overseas but I think I'll miss her so terribly that I won't be able to enjoy myself leh. Vane hasn't start teething yet. I heard abt our mil's theory before leh. So what's your boi's poo texture now? Vane prefers rice cereal to brown rice.

giggler, mini

last night, for one session, i tried to latch bb on as long as he wanted. omg, he spent 45 mins on first breast and 1 hour on the second, and he still was not satisfied, and finished his 30ml of formula. is that normal? does it mean that i should keep at it, i.e. after his 1 hour on my second breast, switch him back to first breast? so he really will be attached to my breasts most of the time? then i'm also worried that he won't get enough sleep...

cubbiebb

i only realised i was bleeding when using the avent pump and the milk was tinged with red! so i stopped. then the next latch on session, when i hand expressed before latching on, looked like the bleeding had stopped so i just continued. i don't like the avent pump, can't seem to pump much and it hurts. anyway, my friend told me her doc said it's alright to feed bb even if nipples are bleeding?! she realised only when her bb spat up the bloody milk and doc said it's ok! dunno lah...

<font color="0000ff">fruitcake</font>
I dun think it's alright to give milk with blood leh!! The first time I got it, I stopped and my gf advised me to express but if there is blood, to dispose of the bm.

<font color="0000ff">Masshiro</font>
I'm more thinking how bb is going to swallow the meat... since it is not so soft... fish is easier.. my opinion lah. Dun know if the other mummies here give meat.
Yah, chris and m2b are sick. jas, hong and I were so looking forward to it...
Talking about trips and time alone, yah, we managed to go out w/o jesse yesterday. About trips, dun know, cos may be too much to ask mum or mil to look after now... maybe when he's bigger.. anyway hb sure say he misses jesse..haha...
You going BKK for holiday?
I call you tomorrow re the diapers ok?

<font color="0000ff">Giggler</font>
Your bb should still take about 700ml of milk daily, she still needs milk for growth.
Hb doesn't mind, in fact he said he likes it and I also like to shop alone..so it's a win-win situation...hehe...if I go out, he is able to look after him, feed him milk and put him to his sleep.

Hi Mommies ...

Checked with LC abt bleeding nipples and she said the blood won't harm bb. Another 3 milk blisters appeared on my left breast on sunday... caused major engorgement ... rushed home just to pump and spent 1.5 hours on it coz milk just refused to come out til I took my chance and poked any white collection I saw on nipple. can't understand why I'm getting so many milk blisters. Wanted to reduce no. of pumps in office but now scared that more milk blisters will appear so still keeping to 2 pumps in office.

Giggler ... latched bb on everywhere ... fed in toilet, restaurant, out in the open in Disneyland

Stylobb ... KL sounds fun. Hope to be able to plan a trip there soon with my family and nieces. Your hubby very cool ... think my hubby will freak out if he had to look after bb alone. BTW do you know whether bbs have a tendancy to get fever after hep B jab? Need to bring my gal for her third hep B jap on sat and got quite a busy day after that. Might consider letting her have her jab earlier if they tend to get fever after that.

<font color="0000ff">absolut</font>
Yeah, he is ok with looking after jesse. Once a while, we take turns so that each person gets to do his/her own thing.
Easier to drive in than take coach...we took about 3 hours when we last drove...coach ride is too tedious for bbs...
Hep B jab - which nbr. jab is this? Dun recall jesse had fever, he only got a bit hot but did not hit fever cos bb's temperature tends to be higher but the old folks always kan cheong... kept insisting to feed the fever medicine. I did notice he was a bit grouchy for a day or two though.
Ooooh, your blisters sound scary.. are they painful? Is it blocked duct or something?? I find only bb's sucking is effective.

Hi fruitcake, wow your bb sucks for so long? I not sure if it's norm leh. Usu, my bb only suck for abt 10-15min per breast.

Hi styloBB, your hubby is really a great help to you hor? Not every hubby do so much one leh. I think my gal takes more than 700ml of milk if I include the nite feeds.

Hi absolut, you dare to nurse in public now? I guess you got no choice when you're overseas hor? Did u ask your LC what cause the milk blisters? My gal was ok when she took her Hep B jab last 2 weeks. She didn't even cry while taking the jab leh.

hi <font color="0077aa">fruitcake</font>,

yes u r right, bb will be literally at the breast all the time! i had this "prob" too...but it will soon go away. when they r abt 3-5mths, they'll b less interested to latch on, prefer to look around n kpo
. n yes my gal used to b at my breast for 1hr!! but rest assure all these will pass. BUT a word of caution, most bf bbies (not all lah) will need to nurse to sleep at night n will wake for night feeds....my gal at 1yr old is still doing that loh. this part i dun hv good advise for u. i too hope she can fall asleep herself n sleep thru the night, but it is not happening

oh beginning i also hv sore nipples, so i used breast shell when not feeding, so my bra will not touch my nipples not so pain. but i think only for 3 weeks no more pain liao.

hi <font color="ff6000">serene</font>

yes lately i kana sore nipple, i think coz my gal naughty sometimes play with me, so hurt my nipples. another reason cld be period? coz last time when my period coming i will hv sore nipples. ooh is it u who asked abt bf'g while preggie? r u preg hehe...well i got a friend who is doing that, all seems to b working fine for her.

lea is still bf'g too!!

hi <font color="aa00aa">Giggler</font>

ya i'v been very busy with work n new hse lately...so busy that literally weekends are burnt! ya i heard that period come ss will drop. nvrmind lah, u'v done very well already! yes my period is not here yet, 1 yr liao!

Hi blessed, you so good leh. 1 yr liao, period still not here. My menses quite regular now leh. Ya lor, I got to change my mindset to tell myself that I've done my best. And it's no choice if I got to supplement with fm.

giggler, blessed

yep, he's a neverending sucker, even as i type now, he's been at it since 1.45. i spoke to lc this morning and she said he's probably going thru a growth spurt and to let him have his marathon feeding sessions, i.e. up to 1 hour on 1st breast, switch to 2nd breast and if after 1 hour not enuf, go back to 1st breast! i hear already want to peng san. i'm hoping he will become a more efficient sucker soon. i don't think i can keep to what she suggested. but on the bright side, he rejected his formula once this morning and had 2 bm poops today already

hmm, now he's bobbed off the breast and is asleep....*cross fingers*

Hi cubbiebb, how many times do u pump in office? I used to pump only twice but now as ss is low so tried to pump another additional time.

Hi fruitcake, come to think of it, my gal was constantly on my breasts during her growth spurt leh.

Hi Giggler

Have been nursing in public when needed in Singapore although I usually try to nurse in the car if I'm outside. Usually try to wear big tees so it's not so obvious... actually find it easier to nurse with tees then nursing wear. I'm quite ok with it except when I'm in a restaurant coz I think my in-laws are not too comfy abt it.

Milk blisters ... the LC was surprised that I got it again coz she says it's usually a one time thing. She said can happen for no reason. So scary ... made me really want to give up bf. She gave me a needle and said if it happens again, just poke it ... dun need to go see her. Sure hope it doesn't come back. Wanted to reduce pumping in office to once a day but now scared that milk blisters will return so still sticking to twice. Kanna strawberry milk on the problematic breast when I pumped in office today. So sian!

BTW do you still latch bb on during the weekends even though your ss seems to be reducing? I'm worried that bb will not have enough leh. Coz bb seems to have lost weight after jap trip.

U still intending to pump in office? I hope to stop soon but still latch her in morn n night but super scared of engorgement now.

Hi absolut, I latch bb direct during weekends. If possible, I'll do tandem pumping to store up some milk though it won't be a lot lah. My gal also lose weight leh, not sure if the milk not enuf for her. Sigh. What's Ally's weight now? I incr my pumping to 3x in office but ss doesn't seem to incr leh.

Hi aloe, you've got mail.

Hi Blessed
I am not preg lah. Just wondering any mommies do that. Wow lea still bfing. How old is her boy already? you got sore nipples too. really painful hor. The bra can fit the breast shell? Are you still expressing at work? Your gal still drinking the same amount of ebm?

Hi Giggler
Your CL is good ah? My friend looking for one too. Can email me the contact. Is she exp?

moon

hi gals... hope to join you... i've just given birth on 11 Dec... starting TBF... hiaz... really suffering...

discharged on 3rd day... 4th day oredi my breasts engorged... went back to look for mrs wong... treatment pain like seow man... hope to get support from u mums...

Hi Serene, she's not my CL lah. Actually she's my fren's CL, highly recommended by my fren lor. I pm u her contact?

Hi jen, you've given birth? It's good sign that you got engorgement liao.
Think you better pump every 2-3hrs if you didn't latch bb direct.

Hi aloe, you've got mail!

hi giggler,

oh she is not yr cl .. i read from the other thread that you said yr cl is good...

thanks, i got yr mail.

Hi Giggler

Don't think my bb's weight is anywhere near yours. She was about 6.5kg abt 3 weeks back. Hopefully she should be past 7kg by now. Gonna bring her for her 3rd hep B jap on sat.

My maid also started my gal on 2 solid feeds now. Usually 1 veggie meal and 1 cereal meal. Yesterday she had avocado.

Wah... you still increasing the no. of times you pump in office? Your boss dun mind?? I dun mind mixing FM and BM if my supply really falls since she's past 6 month but just wondering when I should stop latching her fully over the weekend as well coz I'm afraid her intake is lower then.

Hi aloe, not my CL but she's highly recommended by my friend. I got my mom and mil to do confinement for me.

Hi absolut, I haven start my gal on veggies yet leh. Still wondering how to prepare them. My boss doesn't mind lah, he quite understanding. Why do u think that your intake is lower when she latch on direct?

Hi Giggler

Now I only get abt 120ml when I pump in a 3 hour interval and she's already drinking 220ml in the same interval. I know pumping amount does not equate to latched on amount but difference of 100ml quite a lot leh.

Veggie - avocado / papaya good coz dun need to steam etc. Carrot / potato etc can boil or steam then mash. May start on porridge next week.

hi hi mummies..

need to check with you that whether I can mix the EBM

For example, I pump 120ml in the morning and pump another 150ml in the afternoon....

*can I pour some of the afternoon EBM to the morning one ?

*or pour some today EBM to the yesterday EBM ?

by the way, do you all inform ur boss that you are BF ? I wonder I need to inform my boss a not cause sometimes i disappear from office for half hour to express the milk....but my boss is a guy ley

one more thing, will the baby getting more resist to latching on once they get used of drinking from bottle ?
I feel that my boy now sometimes get impatient when I latch him on at nite

Hi absolut, if that's the case then my gal may not have enough if latch on directly leh. When you bringing Ally for jab? You not joining us for the gathering this Sat? Ok, I'll start her with veggie next week.

Hi Adeline, I'll mix the EBM for the day, that is, mix the morning with the afternoon. But I won't mix EBM of different days. My boss knows that I'm bfg cos it's his wife who encourages me to do it one. I feel that there's no need to tell your boss that you're bfg lah. Maybe let your col knows that you go to pump instead? My gal got impatient when she latch on directly after she bottle-feed but I don't care lah. Still force her to latch on. heehee.......

Hi Jas/mummies who pump exclusively, how long do u pump each session? And how long interval do u pump? My fren just gave birth last week but her bb is in hospital now. So she pumps out for him and she only pump abt 10mins per session. I told her that can pump up to 15min lah but is it too short huh?

oh, i din know can mix EBM for the day... I though EBM can only remain "fresh" within 2 hours at room temp? You mean you put the EBM for the day in the fridge, everytime you express, use same bottel? end of the day then transfer to freezer? Can?

<font color="aa00aa">mummies,</font>
need help/advise/suggestions

bb currently on TEBM. i'm expressing at the following hours :
6am, 9am, 12pm, 3pm, 6pm, 9pm, 12mn

am starting work soon, and working hrs is 9am - 6pm.

how should i re-adjust my pump sessions cos i dun think can pump so regularly at work.

Hi Jen

Try to mix EBM at the same temperature. Usually the older EBM is stored in the fridge. I'll put the fresh EBM in another bottle and store in the fridge for at least half an hour to ensure both EBM are of the same temperature before mixing them and freezing, if needed.

Giggler ... I'm bringing Ally for her jab on sat. can't join the party on sat coz I've got another 1 mth bb celebration to attend. Really feel like giving up already ... today had strawberry milk for both pumping sessions in office. Super xian!

Hi angelia, I bf bb at 6am in the morning, then I pump at 11am, 2pm and 5pm in the office. That means I pump 3 times in the office lah. Each session I pump for abt 15min. How long do u pump each session now?

Hi absolut, so many of u got 1st mth bb celebration to attend on Sat leh. Your milk blisters still not recovered yet? Anything that you can do to stop it? So you got enough ss to feed Ally since you keep having strawberry milk these few days?

<font color="aa00aa">giggler,</font>
i was wondering if i can pump only 2x in office cos will be super bz when back to work. i told my proj lead if possible no OT on wkdays, but he say he need to bargain for 2 days OT a week

i pump for 30~40 mins per session. squeezed till dry only get 120~140 each session. if 15 mins, prob will only get 60~90ml only.

<font color="0000ff">anymore advises/suggestions on the pumping schedule? really need help here as i'm trying to TBF (although is TEBM) my gal till 6 months if possible.. if not, then i'm thinking of stopping at 3 or 4 months cos i find it too troublesome to pump &amp; wash &amp; sterlise and making myself so tired.

also, when back to work, will be very stressed and busy, so i expect ss to droooooop.....

angelia, once i started work, i only pump one time (about 20mins) in office during lunch at about 6 hours interval. so far supply still enough for bb. Reach home immediately pump again then before bedtime again.

giggler, your boss so understanding let you pump 3 times at work.

Aiyo, I managed to pump only 80ml just now after like 6 hours interval, used to be able to pump like 120ml..hiaz..my baby better start liking the fm, if not he's going to starve.

Supply really dwindling...maybe spelling the end of bfg soon

Masshiro
How, bb still not liking fm?
His throat infection ok?

Btw MP is having promo again..haiya...I went to Nepia again to get one more Miffy pack...the diapers look so cute...hehe..
Got one Sealer pack too, will leave at mum's place. Spending $$ on diapers like nobody's biz.
Nepia stock for the diapers most probably will come after Christmas.

Hi Stylobb,

Haha..you got Miffy again..yah..really very cute hor. I also like. MP on sale again..aiya..must go and grab again. Not bad, quite firm, but I got so many packs of diapers at home already leh. MP's cut narrower, so maybe will get L for my son if I really go get it.

Bought Friso gold for him but he still doesn't like it. Headache. My friend passed me some sample of Enfalac A+. Will see if he likes before I change brand again..how come all the fm smells so bad, unlike ebm.

His voice still hoarse, but better I think provided he doesn't scream.

It's X'mas season...time for spending spree.

Hi stylo bb and masshiro
What is miffy diaper? Really so cute. I thox of buying the training pants. which brand is cheap and good? Btw where is nepia office
Hi giggler
You can email me the contact. [email protected]

tHANKS
moon

Giggler ...

Quite a few 1 month celebrations today. Actually got 1 today and another tomorrow. Maybe may bump into some mommies from the forum.

Usually blood will only come from the side with milk blisters. Usually happens at the beginning so I'll stop once I see that only milk is coming out and wash the bottle that's affected and start all over again. Otherwise the milk will be totally wasted. Yesterday Ally drank so much ... she finished 280ml for 2nd feed after having a slice of papaya and for her 4th milk feed, finished 260ml. Now considering increasing her EBM amount but I'll feel more stress during the weekends coz dunno feeding her enough when i latch her on.

She's a little small in terms of weight ... only 6.85kg. PD says usually babies are abt 7kg now but in terms of height and head circumference, she's fine. Ask me to giveher more solids. Told her I was going to feed her fish porridge this week but she asked me to start with pork porridge coz bb's skin is a little sensitive. Says it's fine to start with meat already. Thot should start that at 8 months??? Since she says it's ok then will try abit lor.

Hi, I want to know if it's normal to be able to pump more "smoothly" when bfg on 1 side and pump on the other side? Somehow when I try to pump purely, I always have to switch sides cos when I pump 3 4 times, the milk flow like no more...
btw, me using avent manual... advice needed thanx...

jen, i think is quite normal. sometimes i do that also. but lately, i will bf my baby each side abt 10-15 mins each.

by the way, is been a week since i gave birth. my milk supply lately has always been only 50-60ml at night. and morning is abt 65-70ml.

how come my supply always don't seem to increase? Jen, how much ml are you pumping each time?

mngo, i haven't started pumping regularly yet... still latching most of the time... but when i bfg on R, my L will leak about 1oz... terrible... like tap not closed tight... R side not so bad... so i keep the amount leaked lor... but very wasted cos very little use one bag... so i try to pump a bit but very little also...

Jen, actually there was twice when i bf on one side, i will let the other side leak into the milk bottle. after bf, i will express both side of milk out to the milk bottle. therefore, no bags to be used. actually you are only in yr first week, guess if u have more than 30 or 40 ml of milk, is really an achievement

Masshiro, i got 1 900g of Enfalac A+ to sell. Let me know if you are interested.

Stylobb, how much does the miffy pack cost. How many pieces for what size?

Hi Jen

It should be easier to pump on one side while bb is feeding on the other. They term it tandem pumping. Usually you'll be able to let down faster and get more milk when you pump this way.

Hi Mngo
If you continue latching and pumping your ss will increase but it may not happen so quickly. Your milk ss may take 2 weeks - 8 weeks to get established. Actually you can just concentrate on latching since your bb is so young unless your breasts still feel full after feeding.