Breastfeeding Support Group

Jas,
Ya..i didnt really sleep train my kids but I follow routine v closely. After a soothing bath, milk time, then on 'orange' light, on music, then pat pat on the bed n off they sleep. My girl, only 3mths old, keeping my finger crossed, dun speak too soon.

My boy is able to sleep rather fast n easily since young......

Sometimes, all these voice down to luck lah....some of us have easier bb to handle, some not. My boy till now cannot be left alone while we go shower etc....will scream n bang dr....my cousin's boy....stayed within that few tiles in the living rm, played alone till u come out frm shower, wash hair also can!

So conclusion?

mon Mon/Desert,
not huay rou but huay rong? (disfigured)...learning hanyu pinyin now. Even switch my hp to pinyin mode....ok....gd way to brush up.....

Desert, enjoy ur Perth trip! Me cant wait to travel again.........dun know how, tied dn by 2kids.

Aloe,
Tks n u just reminded me that i ve a tube of Klorane bebe vitamin rich moisturizing cream...wonder if it works? I will try it out, if dun work, I will go buy Mustela's Stelatopia Emollient Cream. Ur PD said gd for rashes huh? The link never mention leh.....$28 quite ex hor...I mean, I may not use it too often to make it worthy to buy lor
hahahahah....suay kwan mummy!

hi masshiro,

me had c-section too, sometime i also wonder what is natural birth but i think i still choose c-section for the next one .... haha ..scare of pain..

need comments from mummies ......

i am going to travel with my baby (5.5mths old) to HK next wk for 5 days, and i dunno whether i need to bring along my pump and 1 of his milk bottle ???

i only fed him FM few times, and now i want to start to feed him FM for his last feed before he sleeps. But everytime i give him FM, he also refust to drink ... HOW ???? WHAT should i do ???? as my milk flow keep decreasing ....

And also i dunno why he refuse bottles and even those magic cup. everytime i put it in his month he will give me a funny look and he will start to struggle or even cry.

hi sahm,

my baby had rashes before on his face and body, so the PD asked me to use this .. good, rashes go off after few applied. since this is moisturizing cream, i am still using it everyday ... and it can last for few mths ...

Hi little_devil,
what i can suggest you to do is when he scream for food, feed Quinn with FM first, maybe for 5 to 10 mins then you latch him on you to continue the feeding.

and pumping out definity will help .. just have to do it a bit often, every 2 or 3 hour. u should be able to build up yr flow ...

most of the CL do not encourage EBM as he might found it very troublsome. As she need to warm up the milk (it take longer times specialy if the milk is still have ice inside), not like FM, just mix with water and she can start feeding. Do not need to care about CL as if u insist on feeding EBM, she can do anythings ...

Dun give up as leaking is a good sign ... keep it up !!!

monmon,desert ok, will call mrs wong for adv. hopefully to bf as long as possible...otherwise looking at my currently ss n qty of milk really xian.

most elders dun encourage bfg, u hv to tahan n try ur v.best to bfg. like me after much pressure frm my mum n hubby - me got neg idea to stop bfg liao.

little devil,

don't give up on BF. I had the same problem initially. My BM supply is not enough for my boy. It takes some time for your BM to be established. I just latched him on very often whenever he cries. Will be tough in the 1st 2 months. But things will be better once your supply gets established.
I managed to TBF for 4 months and partial BF till now (2 months).

sahm,
My boy had a lot of rashes along his neck area too. My PD recommended a cream for heat rash which I don't have the name rite now. But on a daily basis, make sure that you pat the neck area dry and apply some baby powder. Keeping the area dry is very important.

mon mon
So far have 4 hbs inclu my hb...hehe.... I dun know, I think most guys will feel bored...maybe if you think he'll be bored, send him over to the HDB Hub...there is Popular bookstore...hehe...

desert
What happened to your face? Iv still not well?

little devil,
since ur bb only 2wks old, so means ss has not establised yet. ss will only establised at ard 4-6wks. so if u let bb suck more n u pump more times i think ur ss will be able to increase as now is the time to tell the breasts to produce more milk.

aloe,
ur bb reject bottle even if others feed him? recently my bb seem to reject bottle. but i realised my bb refused to drink when i feed him. but when i see my mum/MIL feed him he will finish the milk though take some time. wondering how he will react if i introduce formula to him. mayb will stop bf ard mid dec so tat can go tour.

hi mini,

my mil only manage to feed him after he fall asleep.. she keep complaining abt this ... me really headache ...

btw, how old is yr baby ??

sahm
yeap, me really big and giantic...

I also apply nappy rash cream on my boy's neck and it's effective for him.

the conclusion is that I just leave my boy to his own development then, can't bear to sleep train him, and his cries will wake the whole family up... Normally, at night, once we off the lights and TV, he will know it's time for bed... so not that bad actually.

stylobb
don't worry, just said the fact to sahm after you saw me this sat.. I won't go after you.... hee hee...
coz me definately can't run as fast as you now...

little_devil
you can still do it by starting pumping every 2 hourly, but beginning is tough, it will takes a while before the ss can be re-established again.
you will need lots of determination...

mon_mon
any avent products on sales there at the warehouse sales? Is there a crowd? Need to queue to go in? Me still undecided whether to go or not over the weekends?

my hubby will be going for the gathering this sat also.

Desert
Sleep training - not so successful so far. 2 nites of bawling..last nite was slightly beta cos he knocked out after milk..then only 'ngah ngah' a bit and I patted him to sleep before he switched to full volume. I really dun know why he gets so distressed at certain time...sigh..

jas
You are so funny..haha.. I also cannot run fast leh... nowadays so lau-yah, played peek-a-boo with my boy a while only I am tired!!

aloe,
my boy is coming to 7mths end of this wk. since 2wks ago he sort of refused to drink from bottle. he only drink 150ml of ebm at 1 go during his night feed. then morning feed sometimes ok. but for the rest of the day it is v tough to feed him. MIL have to divide each feed into 2 sessions. worst still sometimes he still dun wan to drink. almost everyday fresh ebm just wasted. but at night when he sees me he will happily latch on until fall asleep. will latch him on wkend n he is quite ok. bot NUK bottle for him n he cried. dunno what is the problem? is he rejecting avent bottles or he is sick of drinking milk? he seem to b thinner. then MIL get so frustrated feeding him. also he not taking solid well. have to put in extra effort to give him more solid. he dun really like porridge n yet MIL will just keep giving porridge n nothing else. then cereal also din give much. dunno how to tell MIL to give more variety of food. if he dun like porridge then try sth else. i m also headache
sometimes hope can just dun go work n latch him on.

hi mommies whose bb btw 6-12mths...
how much milk is ur bb drinking in 24hr period? i assume most of u is giving bb 2 meals of solid right?

Mummies, I need help! My baby's nose is blocked and it hinders her breathing, how can I help her clear it?? My poor baby

Berry,
Poor Faye...u mz be v heartache. What did ur CL suggest? SBCC booklet frm TMC also mentions nasal pump to pump out. Nvr try b4, dun know effective anot.

My frenz's MIL gross but my frenz was so touched by her gesture. She actually sucked it out orally..........As a mum, I cant bring myself to do it tho.

How is Faye now?

Jas,
Think ur style n attitude 2wards our bbs are similar. I dun mind patting them to sleep as I think the quiet time (prior sleeping) between 'Just the 2 of us' is a gd bonding time too.......But talking abt bbs waking in the middle of the nite, like Jesse, is really shiong n desperate for parents! Stylobb everyday mz pray hard. Stylo, I tot u on MC today! Glad tat u r fine!

I dun lay much hard n fast rules for their development too. So long as they r happy, healthy, I am ok liao. Tat accounts as to y I got rather tensed up when I started to watch bb show on Channel 8, 9pm on Sat. So many parents are doing so much for their kids, starting frm INFANTS! I got stressed up n starts to re-evaluate wat i m doing is enuff, correct anot!

Shared wz hb....he didnt seem to be influenced at all! He just v laid back manner remarked 'So long as they r happy n feeled loved, it is more than enuff as for now. THEY R JUS KIDs'......Hope I can stay as calm as him.........

jas, stylo,
We sure have chance to meet up 1 day n we shall c n know. Spare stylo lah.....being 'cornered'!

Stylo,
Shared wz hb abt your 'an' (peace) finding. U know wat he joked? He said wife mz be kept under the roof, if not, 'bu an' (no peace). He v creative n 'nvr die' b4 hor....he is just joking lah..........
He always joke tat he dun mind being a house husband if wife can bring home the bacon! Hahahhah

Hi all mommies,

Good day 2 all of u... am new here and soon to join all of u breastfeedingggg my bb when he comes out... wil need lots of advice from all u experts here...

but b4 bb comes along, i'm looking for a 2nd hand medela mini electric plus (the dual pump). anyone know of lobang where to get or anyone selling??? oso looking for 2nd hand diaper changing table...
simple one wil do, with or without bathtub... low budget...

need advice from u experts here... which bb sling is good for breastfeeding in public and carrying bb around???

many thks

desert, when r u going to perth? is it a self-drive holiday? i'm thinking of going there when my boy is 6mths+, in December. can i get some advice from u abt your planning? thanks!

Hi mummies, long time no 'see'. I was on course from Mon to Wed and was busy clearing my work y'day.

Stylobb, so you busy with sleep-training for Jesse?

sahm, I guess that's the stress of being a sahm? You'll always wonder if you do enuf for your kids when you saw others are doing so much rite? I'm wondering myself too. I kept wanting to start the Glenn Doman program for Vanessa but never find the time to prepare the cards. Sigh.....

Hi berry, how's Faye now? Is her nose clear?

Morning mums!

Giggler,
Ya lor....u said it all!
Sometime as a SAHM, after taking care of their day to day needs, doing hsework...u just left with no energy or enthusiasm to do those disciplined flashing, sm compulsive teaching etc...

GD n bad...being SAHM lah. Sm time nvr get enuff of them (when they cute n well behaved), sm time, ayoh 'gif me a brk lah'..in the face of a noti tantrum throwing tod! hahahahaahha....

mini
my boy take about 600ml - 700ml per 24hrs.

sahm
seems like there's some similarity in this area. For me I never watch the show, coz me also kind of kiasu mummies, like you I will stressed up if I know others are doing so much for their child and me doing nothing. So the lesser I know the better lor.... anyway my hubby's view is to let the kid have their own development and of course we can do some simple teaching that is within our means. More important is to let the kid have a memorable childhood.

sahm, giggler, her nose is still stuck leh. She can breathe, but sometimes can hear from the noises she makes that there is some dirt or something in her nose. Luckily we're going to see paed tomorrow, so will ask her advise

sahm, as for manually sucking it out, I tihnk its not a good idea to do that for newborns, cause their immune system still weak, we might pass germs thru our mouths to them without knowing- its like some parents chew their baby's food first then spit it out and feed to babies (!!). Moreover, my baby's nostrils are so tiny, I wouldnt dare to do it incase I hurt her.

Berry,
I dun think it is hygienic to do that too.....

Tks gdness, tml u going to see PD. Let us know wat ur PD suggest. Ur Pd will probably said nothing to worry....Extracted from SBCC booklet '... sneezing reflex of NB not v effective, so nose is blocked. The small size of the nostrils makes matter worse. Just a little of secretion will cause enuf blockage to produce lot of noises when she breathes......harmless n do not need treatment.....'...'If the nasal congestion is severe n interferes wz feeding, u may instil 2-3drops of warm h2o or normal saline in each nostril. After 1 min, use a soft rubber suction bulb to suck out, or a cotton swab to wipe out loosened mucus....''need to bring bb to dr only if his sneezing n noisy breathing is accompanied by frequent cough n fever.' Just for ur assurance at least till u see ur PD.

Hope Faye manage to sleep alrite these few days..

sahm
My hb also ever said he does not mind being house-husband if I can bring home the bacon...haha...!
But he said I will feel jealous if the kids become overly attached to him.

Giggler
Yah, trying to train him... but like not very successful so far. Ok, for the past two nites, he drifted into sleep after drinking his milk so that's ok but he will woke up sometime early morning fidgeting, then started making noise. Last nite was quite bad, cos it was hb's turn, I could feel he took quite some time before he managed to get him back to sleep, seemed Jesse was trying to find a comfortable position to get back to sleep. The other nite when it was my turn, I managed to pat him back before he bawled. So I also dun know leh, cos frankly I don't like to let him cry and cry for too long, very jialat.

Sorry to interrupt your chat.

I got some glass bottles from KKH and want to use them to store BM but no caps.Anyone knows where to buy those plastic caps besides from Mt. Alvernia pharmacy.I stayed in jurong west so very far for me to go there especially with baby.

qsg, if u dun mind spending $$ u can buy NUK, 2 for $3++
for my case - i use all sort of caps cos my bb using japlo/tollyjoy/pigeon - all can fit.

but i know some muumies here used aluminum foil to cover..??

Hi sahm, sometimes I thot of quitting so that I can have more time to do teaching with my gal. But it seems like even sahm may not have time to do so much hor?

Hi Berry, guess it's still better to check with professional.

Hi styloBB, you got to be patience to train Jesse to sleep on his own. I've a friend who used to wake up at abt 3am every nite to cuddle her gal to sleep till she was abt one year old leh. Tek lok hor?

Hi qsg, I know NUK sells them. You can get from KiddyPalace at Jurong Pt but ex lah.

Think can't afford to buy the caps from NUK as i need quite a number...at least 10+

Another alternative is to store using disposable bags but i read before that may leak...dunno how, going back to work soon and may stop breastfeeding since office no place to pump milk. Any experience to share regarding the disposable bags?

Think can't afford to buy the caps from NUK as i need quite a number...at least 10+

Another alternative is to store using disposable bags but i read before that may leak...dunno how, going back to work soon and may stop breastfeeding since office no place to pump milk. Any experience to share regarding the disposable bags?

hi QSG,

the disposable bags will not leak as long as you don't fill it to the brim.
I used the avent bags. The label shows up to 8 oz, but usually I store only 6-7 oz per bag. Cos u need to leave some room for expansion when freezing them. I would recommend 6oz to play safe. Sometimes, it leak a little when I store 7 oz.
I did not use the glass bottles due to the cap problem too. Somemore, each bottle store only 3 oz, which is very little.

cclare,

Is it messy to use the bags especially when pouring in or out? How much does the Avent bags cost?

QSG
I am not sure whether is your glass bottles the same as the one I got from TMC. I use the Gerber Pear or Apple Prune Juice bottles cap ( I bought bottles of juices and keep the cap) to seal the glass bottles whenever they are due for replacement.

Most of the time I use avent disposable bag (secure using rubber bands instead of clips) to store and freeze EBM instead. I use glass bottles only to store lose amount of EBM to be use to combine with another to make up a feed.

It is not messy to use the bags, I just transfer the EBM collector in the pump bottles to the bags just by pouring. It cost $7.05 (normal price before discount) per box of 40pcs. I normally get it at 20% discount during sales.

QSG,

Like what jas say, it's not messy at all.
I'm using the avent manual pump. I bought also the avent disposable bag holder, so that I can pump directly into the bags. When I need to fees, pour the BM into milk bottles, then warm.
I use the twister wire to secure the bags.

mummies, like berry, I need advice. Have posed this question in other threads already but seeing the sound advice that u gave berry so thot maybe u all can enlighten me.

My baby had milk coming out from his nose even though he had been burped after his feed. My CL sucked out the milk in case he gets choked or smthg. After that my boi was fine. Wat shd be the right thing to do in case it happens again cos my CL is leaving soon?

berry..my baby boy also have blocked nose for the first few weeks....his pd prescribe nose drops for us...the nose drop will clear his nose but for a certain period only.... but its do help him to sleep better

Giggler,
Understd ur 'wish to stay at home'.....I met 1 young mum at market n she too showed lots of eagerness n 'passion' to be SAHM. SHe intends to become 1 by Nov (actually, y dun she wait hor...bonus time?). She wants to stay at home for at least 1 yr....her plan is to teach her son (18mth) hanyu pinyin, enrol n send him to Julia Gabriel class n now already flashing cards when back frm work n boi is attending Shichida classes....$800+ for ard 3mths?

U say I SAHM not stressed meh, listening to her line up programs.................

Stylo,
Ur hb n mine 2nd time bear the same opinions liao. He SAHF? Gone case.....When I look after bb, he on PC. When he pat pat bb to sleep, his another hand on his PDA!!!! But he is vvvv gd companion for my big boy. Many a time, the 2 of them can laugh until so heartily tat I rush out frm kitchen n ask 'wat's so funny, tell me leh....'

Adeline,
Ur pd frm SBCC? The booklet says nose drops or flu medication will not help n may make matters worse. This symptom will get lesser by age 6-8mths....nostrils have grown bigger!

So confusing hor.....Berry, maybe u can ask if nose drops is gd? Different PD different belief n practice?

keen to know........

Skyblue,
Heheheheh....again SBCC booklet depicts 'Spitting is due to excessive slackness in the muscle ring located where the feeding tube and the stomach meets......' 'if ur bb is happy n putting on weight normally, then he needs no treatment. all u need is a gd supply of bibs n patience' 'Recurrent vomitting of more than half the milk feed, more than 2-3 times a day, is not normal n shd be seen by the dr'

Seems like PD always say nothing to worry, common, so long as bb is happy n putting on weight well.

sahm
It's always so nice to read your posting, so funny...hehe.. yah he said he doesn't mind, hmmm...I think he fares beta than your hb leh, can look after my boy quite well, make milk, put him to bed, bathe and change him, play with him, etc...so I think he pass lah!
Sigh...even I work, I don't think I can afford all the things that you said the young mum wanted! When I casually mentioned Tumble Tots to hb (just a mention and I'm not intending to send boy there), he said he can tumble him at home..haha!

sahm
Do you intend to send your boy for swimming classes? Hb/I feel this is one life skill that children should learn. And maybe learn one musical instrument if they like?

skyblue, if the milk flowed out from his nose, it means that there is already an open outlet , so he wont choke. Just my personal opinion, but I dont think its a good thing to do (esp if that person is not yourself but a stranger- what if she is carrying a virus or something?) cause our saliva contains countless bacteria, so its more of a hygiene issue for me. I'll rather play safe in case I pass something to my baby.

sahm, I'll ask my paed tomorrow and let u know what she says.

stylobb
yah, my hubby too when I told him about sending Joel to those Tumble tots, Gymoree etc.. he said mummy can sing to Joel good enough already.

sahm
like what stylobb, if I am going to be a SAHM, can still afford to send the kid to so many different classes meh???? unless either I strike Toto, hubby earning big bucks or have huge savings... which I got none of them... so me got to work lor...

Stylo,
Think the more we mz meet n our hbs too.....they r so similar!!! REALLY! U just quoted all the exact words...1 life skill tat kids must learn! Yes, we intend too..........esp....paisay ah...papa n mama CANT swim!!
N hb also mentioned let them take up 1 musical instrument tat they like!!! Or taekwando or fencing!!! Watever he mentioned, he mentions nothing abt shichida, Glenn Doman, Kumon...........!!! Sometimes, when our boy shines in little way better than other kids at KP or playgrd, he would 'hao lian' says 'Need flash cards/Shichida?' Of serious note, he/we believe kids must have happy, secured, showered with lots of TLC, full of laughter n fun n yes (JAS), memorable childhood!

Stylo, yes, my hb loses out to urs, he cant bathe infant! Other than that he can n will do without asking. remember i went for concert earlier? He bbsit my girl! Remember I 'sneaked' out to buy my kids' baju while my girl was in his hands? I also went NDP with my boy while he bbsit my girl all by himself! I think he cant be a sahF cos' he is v restless type....easily bored!

Jas, Stylobb
U2 v funny 2 n also dn to earth. I cant agree more with wat u all said! The young 'ambitious' mum whom I shared here is v nice n gentle lady. Appeared simple n humble, does not speak gd English. Staying in 3rm flat/hp put in locker while at work(?)....inevitably I wonder wat she works as (wouldnt u?) n how she can afford to send to so many classes n expensive one too!

But hor, 1 or 2 of my personal friends also like that....chiong for all these courses n classes n claim no money to go for 2nd bb, stop at 1!!! Think they only want 1 'ren chai' n not 2 bundle of joy?!

All different breeds of pple, parents........