Breastfeeding Support Group

Dun understd why Pamper Baby Dry sucks while PP is gd....both frm same manufaturer wah? Tot just like Loreal n Estee Lauder, Za n Shisideo, they are just low n high end products frm same co, yet still have their niche n getting gd feedback?
..really wonder

Hi Sahm,
I'm using Baby Dry for my girl at night. So far so good...initially got rashes but was due to MIL using powder on her butt...now apply rash cream no more already. She uses huggies and drypers in the day...both OK for her too. Huggies more exp than drypers so may not continue after finishing up the existing stock.

Maybe you didn't have much ss due to lack of sleep and tireness? I notice if I don't get enough rest, my ss will decrease significantly on the next day. I also take Fenugreek to maintain my ss....will also drop if I stop taking it for a few days.

Stylo & Tulip,
My goodness....it's a phase ah? So scary...hopefully my girl will skip this phase

Stylo,
I know what you mean by escaping to the office. I have the same feeling too. In fact, I feel that the separation makes the heart fonder. I would treasure my time with her when I'm back home and over the weekends.

Interesting article to share

Milk supply normally varies somewhat throughout the day and over weeks and months. As long as baby is allowed to nurse on cue, your milk supply will accomodate baby's needs. However, when mom is pumping part-time or full-time, pumping output can become an issue due to a few factors:
h The ability to measure how much milk you are pumping makes any decrease in pumping output more obvious and more worrying, even if it's a normal variation.
h Pumping moms generally need to pump x amount of milk for baby for a particular day, and it can be quite stressful when mom does not pump this amount.
h No pump can remove milk from the breast as well as an effectively nursing baby, so pumping does not maintain milk supply as well as a nursing baby. Because of this, the greater the percentage of baby's nourishment provided by pumping (rather than direct breastfeeding), the greater the possibility that mom may have to work harder to maintain supply.
What is normal when it comes to pumping output and changes in pumping output?
Most moms who are nursing full-time are able to pump around 1/2 to 2 ounces total (for both breasts) per pumping session. Moms who pump more milk per session may have an oversupply of milk, or may respond better than average to the pump, or may have been able to increase pump output with practice. Many moms think that they should be able to pump 4-8 ounces per pumping session, but even 4 ounces is an unusually large pumping output.
It is quite normal to need to pump 2-3 times to get enough milk for one feeding for baby (remember that the pump cannot get as much milk as a baby who nurses effectively).
Many moms are able to pump more milk per session when they are separated from baby. Milk pumped when you are nursing full-time is "extra" milk -- over and beyond what baby needs. Don't get discouraged if you are trying to build up a freezer stash when nursing full time and don't get much milk per pumping session -- this is perfectly normal and expected.
It is very common to have more milk than baby needs in the early weeks, which regulates down to baby's needs over the first few weeks or months. When your milk supply regulates (this change may occur either gradually or rather suddenly), it is normal for pumping output to decrease. For moms who have oversupply, this change often occurs later (6-9+ months postpartum rather than 6-12 weeks).
It is normal for pumping output to vary from session to session and day to day. Having an occasional low volume day is not unusual.
During a growth spurt, don't be surprised if baby drinks more expressed milk than usual, making it harder for mom to provide enough expressed milk. Growth spurts are temporary - try increasing nursing and adding a pumping session or two at home until the growth spurt is over.
Menstruation or ovulation can result in a temporary drop in milk supply. You might also notice cyclical dips in milk supply before your period returns, as your body begins the return to fertility. Hormonal changes also cause milk supply to decrease during pregnancy.
Remember that the amount of milk that you pump is not a measure of your milk supply!
What can cause a decrease in pumping output?
First, consider the possibility that baby is being overfed when you're apart. If this is the case, you may actually not need to be expressing as much milk as is being requested. This is certainly not always the case, but it is not at all uncommon. See How much expressed milk will my baby need? for additional information.
When you do need to pump more milk, the first thing to check is your pump:
h Are you using an appropriate pump for the amount of pumping that you do?
h How old is your pump? If you have an older electric pump (particularly older than a year), or if you are pumping more often than the pump was designed for, the motor may be wearing out.
h Many times a decrease in pumping output is because pump parts need to be replaced. Have you checked your pump and replaced any parts that are worn or that haven't been replaced in the last 3-6 months?
h Do you have a type of pump (like the Avent Isis) that benefits from occasionally boiling the boilable parts?
h Switching to a larger pump flange makes a difference in pumping comfort and/or output for some moms.
Supply-demand cycle:
h Have you reduced the number of pumping or nursing sessions recently, or cut back on nursing/pumping in other ways? Milk production is a demand-supply process. More nursing/pumping results in a greater milk supply. If you consistently decrease nursing or pumping for several days, your overall milk supply will decrease and you can expect to see a decrease in pumped amounts.
h Has baby started solids recently? As baby eats more solids and takes in less milk, overall milk supply naturally decreases and you may see a decrease in pumping output. You may not notice a change in nursing pattern, as some babies nurse just as often, but take in less milk during those sessions. If baby started solids early (before around 6 months) or is eating lots of solids early on, you are more likely to notice a drop in supply. A very gradual start to solids around 6 months or later is less likely to affect milk supply.
Hormonal causes of decreased milk supply:
h Have you started hormonal birth control recently? Hormonal birth control, particularly that containing estrogen, can significantly decrease milk supply.
h Are you expecting either ovulation or your period soon, or has it recently started?
h Are you pregnant?
Taking care of mom:
h Have you started a strict diet? Are you getting enough calories and protein? Snacking during the day on protein-rich foods can be helpful.
h Are you drinking to thirst? Some moms, particularly when they are at work, will get busy and forget to drink enough fluids.
h Are you getting enough rest? This can be hard to do when you have a baby. Try to go to bed a little earlier and to take a nap each day on your days off. Consider co-sleeping so you can get more sleep. Just a little added rest may make a big difference.
h Have you been under an unusually large amount of stress? Stress can affect let-down and pumping output.
h Have you been sick? Illness, especially if you have a fever, mastitis or get dehydrated, can result in a temporary decrease in milk supply. Some medications can also decrease milk supply (hormonal birth control, pseudoephedrine, ethanol/alcoholic beverages, bromocriptine, ergotamine, cabergoline).
See also Hidden Hindrances to a Healthy Milk Supply
How can I increase pumping output?
To speed milk production and increase overall milk supply, the key is to remove more milk from the breast and to do this frequently, so that less milk accumulates in the breast between feedings.
Increasing frequency
h Nurse more often when you are with your baby.
h Are you pumping frequently enough? Is there any way you can add a pumping session at work? If necessary, when pumping times are very limited, adding even a short 5 minute pumping session is better than not pumping at all.
h Add a pumping session or two outside of work hours or on the weekend. Try pumping after baby nurses, or pump one side while baby nurses on the other side. You might also try pumping while baby is napping, at night, or when baby goes longer than usual between nursings.
h Does your baby complain about slower milk flow when you pump between nursings? If so, try single pumping between nursings, instead of double pumping. Although single pumping is not as effective for increasing milk supply, this leaves one breast more full, so the milk will flow more quickly. See also these tips for babies who want a faster milk flow.
h Try cluster pumping, instead of a regular nursing/pumping session. Sit down with your baby and your pump, and nurse and pump every half-hour to hour for several hours.
h Some moms find it helpful to do a 2-3 day long power pump every couple of weeks to "super charge" their milk supply. This is simply a nursing vacation with pumping added in. On these days, get lots of rest, nurse very frequently and pump after as many nursing sessions as possible.
Removing more milk from the breasts
h Are you pumping long enough? When pumping to increase milk supply, it's recommended that you (double) pump for at least 15 minutes; to ensure that the pump removes an optimum amount of milk from the breast, keep pumping for 2-5 minutes after the last drops of milk. If you don't always have time to pump this long, remember that adding even a short pumping session (increasing frequency but perhaps not removing milk thoroughly) is helpful.
h Use a good double pump. Double pumping generally results in better pumping output and is better for maintaining milk supply. Pump quality can make a huge difference in pumping output, and different moms have better results with different pumps. However, some moms with abundant milk supplies do not respond well to pumping (even using the best of pumps) and do not get much milk when pumping. These moms may get better results using manual expression.
h Use breast massage (see "Assisting the Milk Ejection Reflex" toward the bottom of the link) and breast compression.
h If your pump has a soft shield or shield insert available (for example, the Medela SoftFit breastshield or the Avent "Petal" massager insert), then try using the pump with and without it. Some moms have also found that they can use the Avent "Petal" massager inserts with other brands of pumps (for example, Medela or Ameda). Some moms get better results with the softer shield; some get better results without it.
h Switching to a larger pump flange increases pumping output for some moms.
Galactagogues
h Many working and pumping moms have found that eating oatmeal is very helpful for increasing pumping output. It can also be helpful to snack on protein-rich foods during the day and to have something to drink every time you sit down to pump or nurse.
h Many moms have gotten good results using fenugreek or other herbs to increase supply, either on a short- or long-term basis. This is most effective when combined with increased nursing/pumping.
Other things to try
The following things are useful for maximizing nursing and minimizing the amount of expressed milk that baby needs while you are away.
Nurse right before you leave baby and immediately after you return from work. Make sure your care provider does not feed baby right before you are due to return.
Has your baby started solids? If so, have your care provider offer all (or most) solids, and only (or mainly) breastfeed when you are with baby. By doing this, baby may need less milk when you are apart (due to the solids) and will nurse more when you are together. This can both help your supply (more nursing) and decrease the amount of pumped milk you need to provide.
Encourage baby to "reverse cycle" - reverse cycling is when baby nurses frequently when mom and baby are together (usually at night) and takes little milk when mom & baby are separated.

Hi SAHM,

U're rite... bb nvr really give trouble so far. I jus wish he'll be like that when CL leaves.

Now, I'm learning bit by bit from the CL but I always have pblm burping my bb. Maybe I never pat hard enuf? I dun feel gd if bb doesn't burp...

jul
I got it fm forum in babycentre.com. Tis is a UK website. I onli read the postings in the forum, din participate. The participants r British

oh, I read babycentre.co.uk too but never the forum.

hey gals, is it true that Nepia is going for $15.90 at NTUC now? Then no point buying from Nepia directly right? Has anyone tried the delivery service? I just got my samples yesterday... the English in the brochure damn terok....

Hi Jul,
I just got my samples yesterday as well. Yeah, the English damn terok! Think whole company Japanese
Wow, Nepia at NTUC so cheap? Must grab..hubby sure nag at me again.

Shook,
Thanks for the article....very interesting. Wonder where it is from....feel like reading more.

jul/mon mon
Yes, yes, having promotion again, I posted yesterday... go and grab them! The English is terok but makes for light-hearted reading and I kinda 'admire' his drive to promote Nepia...

jul
There are two babycenter, one is UK and one is US.

Shook,
Tks for sharing with us the informative article!

Mon MOn
Personally, I feel if our kids has no adverse reaction to any diapers, then any economical diapers will do. Afterall, more advisable to change frequently rather than let the diaper absorbs up to 6 or 8 glasses of urine (as claimed by some diapers), unless during the nite.
Ur gal gd girl......any diapers also can, i hope my girl also like tat, still monitoring. My boy definitely has 'golden' backside.....not all diapers suit him!

Skyblue,
Ya, agree, everyday learn a bit frm CL now. It is anxiety tat is scary. Once u start to take over in handling ur bb, it is not as difficult as wat u perceive! It is fun...lots of fun, takling care of ur new creation........have fun.

Skyblue,
My girl tends to burp faster when she is put on my shoulder n pat pat her. Sometime dun ve to pat she oreadi burp LOUDLY, sometimes take abt 5 to 10mins to do so.....u try..........

jul
It's $22.50/pack, even May tells customers to get from NTUC...cos not worth it. My room is already sorta bursting with diapers...cos I stock up now and then, I have stock in office too...!

jul, mon_mon, me oso got my nepia y'day!?!? but it was delivered to my mum! didnt know she went to request for sample :p this grandma oso very kiasu type :p every wkend we love to go diaper dept in carrefour/giant so can get free sample :p

y'day grab 2pkts of petpet frm NTCU. 2 for $24.95
drypers oso got offer 2 for $23.95

can go c c look look.

btw, kovan ntuc run out of petpet M/L size. only a few pkts of S n XL left when i went abt 830pm y'day

White sands - still got limited stock left.

jen
me responded to the old thread already.

stylobb
my boy also feeling fuzzy last two week due to his teething of upper tooth, now the tooth is out, so at least he's back to normal now... still got a few more teeth to go.. ai yo and he will begin fuzzing again... me scared of it already..

sahm
me just bought sealer yesterday from JL orchard coz got sales mah.. sealer can also be found at Carrefour and Sheng Siong.

I got a avent manual pump first before getting the electric. But I got no regret coz I really make full use of the electric pump...
I stressed it... hee hee..

foreverfriend_honey
wow that's a good article, where you got it from. Thanks for sharing.

sahm, ya Jerald wearing M-size now. He used to wear Drypers S-size but i noticed during changing time there's a red line around his thigh. i c oready very heartache so i upgrade him to petoet M-size - a bit big for him at first so i bought 1pkt mamypoko M-size (after trying sample) - cutting just nice.

Now even petpet fits just nice.

opps 4got to ask....

mummies, i jus got my menses today!! *sigh*

i tot bfg wont gana menses??? yah did notice my ss getting less but still i managed to get abt 9-10oz per 12hrs?!?!

issit normal??

lyn_tan,
dun worry, my menses returned when my boy is ard 2.5mths tho i tbf him. he is now going to 7.5mths n i still bfg him.

van, u continue to bfg him - n u still hving ur menses?? can i ask when did ur 2nd menses came??

i was told that the 1st few menses r irregular - sometimes shorter than ur pre-preg days - sometimes lapse a few mths b4 the next comes?!?!?

aiyo so long didnt hv menses - now so headache

lyn_tan,

yes. my menses quite regular now n i still bfg my boy.

had my 2nd menses ard 1 mth after the 1st. in fact the pattern is pretty similar to pre-preg time. the only diff i feel is the flow is much more heavier.

i also v headache when menses returned cos not prepared. tot bfg wun return so early. now used to it again

van, ya tats what i heard?!?! but some pple lucky flow is lesser n the cramps seems to disappear 4ever!?!?

tks for the info - will do somemore read up, c if there's any in the babyctr.

Lyn ah,
Ayoh, just bot 2 packet of 'S' pamper dry for my girl.........hope she uses them up before they are outsized! She is 1wk junior than Jerald Kor Kor.........

Lyn,
My menses came at 6th wk! Stopped for a wk n then came again. This time it was so much, so heavy tat I was so worried n shocked! Went to c gynae, diagnosed to be hormones off balanced. Given some hormonal medicine (3wks supply) n iron tablets. Now medicine finished liao n my menses resumed ytd.

So not only stocking up diapers, I am stocking up sanitary pads too. SUPER SIAN...after 9mth of menses free.....now those hassle again....

I bf my son so far for coming to 7 months and still no menses yet. Is it true that the longer you bf, the longer it will take for your menses to come back or be regular? E.g you breastfeed for 1 year so your menses will take 6 months to become regular compared to someone else who bf for only 3 months.

cat
this I am not sure, I only knows that each person differs.

sahm
talk about stocking up pads, me got to do the same too...

sahm, when i told my colleagues Jerald using M size they dun believe!?!?

but u must c some diapers cutting too big like fitti M-size is too big for Jerald n Drypers S-too small. So i found out that only the Japnese cutting fits jus nice like (nepia)

so ur menses is heavier than pre-preg day??!! aiyo i hate it!?!?

we women so funny like to stock things up?!?! - but i guess i dun nd to stock up pads @ the moment cos i still got a few ptks sofy hvnt open i bought them whenver they on offer b4 i got preg.

i'm currently tbf my 6 wks old boy. He feeds on both breasts, n is always satisfied after each feed. But the prob i m facing is i only manage to express very little milk each time, only 20-30ml. Been expressing for almost 2 wks, i usu express 60-80mins after my boy finishes his feed. I tried the tandem method today, expressed 30-40ml. I'm worried once i go back to work, i wont be able to cope with the dd.
I read from somewhere that fenugreek helps. May i know whats that, n where can i get it? Really needs help! Thx in advance!

Lyn,
Hahahah...wow...ur stocking up gd habits start early....as early as b4 preg.....

We horrible hor....not only talk abt diapers, talk abt pads too!! heheheeheh........

Yah...think it is the cutting that matters. Go by those stated weight on diapers wrapper maybe not so accurate.....Got many packetss of M sized diapers ard, cos offer always starts frm M sizes only. Dun know ah girl can wear by when?

Hey Lyn,
U mean Jerald fits well into Nepia M size liao huh? Hesitant dun want to open any nepia M sized yet, scared too big...

Saw Jerald photo, ard my gal's size but maybe Jerald a boy, more bulky there...
U get wat I mean, need more room n thus needs 'M'?

sahm
That's why I feel they should add something extra, thigh: fat/fatter/fattest! Actually you might find the Nepia cutting a bit smaller but I find the elastic for the thighs are really soft and good.

stylobb
me just change to 12hrs pump interval yesterday and brsts feel so engorged (think got to tahan for a few days), with one session less I have at least a bit more time to spend with my boy esp at night.

me just bought a pack of MP pants from NTUC. the promotion is cheap. intent to get one more XL size one, scare the L size will be small.

sahm, actually i hesiate while buying nepia $15.95 not cheap leh. but after i try our the sample both S n M i find he fits M better.

if u dare not open - cos may collect dust rite? so i open sample first.

even mamy poko - i oso use samples first b4 invest in big pkt.

agree - the weight on pkt not accurate - like recently got sample for the new pampers (currently on tv ads) it says M - 8-15kg (i think cos i left it @ hme) so i think too big for Jerald?!?! anyway will know by the time i open :p

jas
MP has promo? $17.80?? How, has joel tried? I like MP!
If feel engorged, then still pump but dun empty, over time, the interval will stretch and the hardness should go away. You are great! Have b/fed for so long! I think among the Jan group, you/Moon/ocean and I did b/f for at least six months..

Stylobb
Just read abt Jesse waking up, must be tiring for u. Ivan also kept on waking up these 2 days. I also dun know why, he's still in the process of cutting his 2 lower teeth.

SAHM
Where is this MP promon huh?? Where do u stay?? If u stay near this medical hall call ren2 tai4 tang2, the MP there is always at $17.20. So far, I only know there got branches at tampines and Pasir ris.

Leibit
I am not too pro on the expressing part, coz I only get very little when I expressed at the initial 1st mth. So, I've been latching on my boy direct until now, he's coming to 8 mth. But I've read tt to increase ss, u pump for 5-10 mins after bf. Its to stimulate ur breast to produce more, u wun see the increase instantly, coz it takes a few days for ur body to react.
For funugreek, u can get from GNC or nature farm. Its a herbal supplement. Other fd to take to increase ss includes oats and fish and papaya soup.

sahm, tat's y i oways try sample first b4 getting big pkt. otherwise - for no reason buy such big pkt - not suitable how?? personly if $$ is not the issue than i surely use NEPIA, MP, PAMPERS, drypers/petpet.

desert where u staying?? the ren tai tang u referring issit the where Mac used to be?? now convert to kopitiam?? things there cheap but they dun accept nets?!?! CASH PAYMENT ONLY.

HI desert,
Me not staying in the east.....wow, MP always at $17.20...can buy for nite use leh!

HI Lyn,
Agree with ur preference of diapers but count Dryers n petpet out for me (my kids rather
). Sealer is gd brand too. PetPet is gd but lately my boy keeps scratching at the rubberized area till his back all red! So got to look out for economical diapers again for his day use. ???

Hi Desert,

thanks for answering my queries! So depressing, been pumping like mad but not much increase. Mil very worried that once i go back to work she will be in trouble. Tandem method is too tiring for me, very hard to juggle bb n pump at the same time. Wow, u have been bf for so long! *clap clap clap* R u a sahm? Ever supplement with formula?

Lyn
I dun know where the Pasir Ris one is located, need to ask hubby. The tampines one is at tampines mart, beside watson. They do accept nets, I paid using nets b4. I used to stay opp tampines mart, just moved to Balesteir. Now I need to find out whether they got other branches.

SAHM
Cheap hor, but tampines and pasir ris also too far for me now. I am using MP for the nite. Daytime I am still using cloth diapers for my boy.

Leibit
I am not exactly a SAHM, taking 8 mths leave off from wk, going back to wk next Jan. Yup, I supplement b4 for the b4 bedtime feed from the time he was 2 wks to 2 mths. H/w, at 2 mths++, my boy suddenly rejected the bottle, so switch back to tbf. Even now, he still dun take the bottle, dun know why.
Which pump are u using? If u want to continue bf, need to get a better pump, to help u with expressing at wk. Tandem pumping will be better for let down.

desert, your boy rejects bottle too? Mine screams his head off when he touches the bottle... all my EBM going to waste... we tried everything but he just refused and skipped his feeds.

Hi! Mummies
Anyone been to the newly revamped bugis seiyu? I like the new bb rm, the nursing rms are very comfy. Outside the bb rm, still got toys for bb to play with.

missylan
I took both during my confinement. For the alcohol, I did not take direct, but added in when cooking. Its ok to use ginger when cooking, just dun take too much ginger. As for alcohol, the lc mentioned its fine to use in cooking. If u want to take direct, limit to one small glass per day, after bf.

jul
I think one wking mum used to face the same problem as u, I cannot remember who. She mentioned her bb refuse to take from the bottle in the day and only latch on when she rtn from wk.
Yup, tried changing teats but din work. Anyway, I currently feed him water using spoon or cup. I intend to train him to drink properly from the cup b4 I rtn to wk.

Hi Missylan,
I took both during confinement as well. I took the alcohol direct, after breastfeeding the last feed. If your bb is very young, it's better to add in the cooking. At the beginning MIL asked me to take direct after bb sleeps, but sometimes bb wakes up after 1hr and screaming for milk but I can't give it to her cos I just took alcohol, and she refuse to take the bottle. Then it's very siong cos gotta coo her to go back to sleep or to carry her till 2hrs later than feed her again.

Hi Leibit,
I'm taking Fenugreek. I think it does help to increase ss but I've recently stopped cos my bb don't poo daily so trying to change my diet to see which is the caused. If it's not due to the supplement, I'll continue. But before you get your bottle, you might want to read up on Fenugreek first cos there some side effects for some mothers and babies.
You can read up these sites:
http://www.breastfeeding.com/all_about/all_about_fenugreek.html
http://www.breastfeeding.com/reading_room/herbs.html
http://www.breastfeedingonline.com/fenugreek.shtml

Jul,
Your boy still have not take to the bottle? Be patient, my girl took more than one month before she stop screaming her head off. Even till now, she still make a fuss now and then.

Lyn,
Where did you get your various diaper samples from? I'll like to try other brands but worried that not suitable for my girl so if can try sample would be good.

I tried the nepia sample over the weekend, it is very good...soft and yet does not go out of shape. No marks on her thigh as well.

Stylo,
I agree with you on the thigh thingy as well. My girl always get marks on her thigh for most brands. Think she belong to the fattest category