Breastfeeding Support Group

Hi mums,
I've Fitti Premium... it's not very cheap lor... material is a bit stiff, but overall quite ok. It has aloe vera and a wetness indicator (string of hearts) too, which I find useful. Doesn't always leak unless my boy poos a huge amount. The tapes are velcro type. Fitti Basic is very cheap but plasticky. Didn't try.

Just bot a pack of MP to try.. inconvenient without the wetness indicator ; think I'm too used to PP and Fitti Premium's indicator liao! MP is quite soft and absorbent... hasn't leaked so far!

Succeeded in training my son to use bottle; kudos to my mum who persevered even when he refused feeds and slept from exhaustion! For the past 3 days, I've been expressing 7 times a day and feeding him the fresh EBM... really tiring! Wonder how people can just feed expressed milk and not latch... the convenience is just not there! Gotta wash bottles, sterilise, feed the baby, then express, store, thaw milk.. wow...

Masshiro
Yes, still on for Sep! Good hor! I also like it. Hehe, you can stock up. Saw M,L,L and B for training pants at NTUC HDB. Btw I bought MP for him to wear at nite and it's very good...cos the material is dry when I change him in the morning. I did not use Nepia for the nite cos the material is soft and it tends to lose its shape a bit, dun know how 'efficient' it'll be.
For few nites, he has been bawling and fidgeting..wake up crying..we dun know why...
thankfully I'm not too tired.

jul
My boy uses MP for the nite so the indicator is not an issue for me.
Yep, agree with you that direct express is so much easier and have bonding time too.

just wan to check, bf can drink chicken essence?

read an article before tat chicken essence are made from those chicken with injection, if little gals drink, may develop breast earlier, so how abt now if I am bf my gal? really wonder

Opps...i've been taking chicken essence since delivery....almost everyday during confinement. Oh dear.....earlier development for my girl

MP = Mummy Poko?

How much is MP & Nepia? I'm currently using Pampers Baby Dry at night and huggies Comfort dry in the day. Seems like both also quite exp.

sahm
Hope your scan goes well! Update us later.

mon mon
Nepia is $15.90 on promotion, otherwise very ex at $23.90.
MamyPoko is $18.30 for the L size, I think should be around same price for the M and XL, only the quantity varies.

hi mums

hope i dun sound too KS, my boi currently 9wks+ switching diapers size frm s to m. I've stock up 6 pkts of pampers n 2pkts of PP.

Stylobb,

nepia promotion still on issit @ NTUC...keen to stock up more leh, fitti oso on offer but where issit??

Dun think will stock MP tot good feedback but still find it expensive leh - stock pampers cos hubby bought b'cos he saw many buying!! :p

Hi sahm

Hope you are ok. But dun be too worried too, since gynae is going to check on you.

Hi Stylobb

Thanks for welcoming my interruptions!

Ha ha regarding bfg for the second time - nipple still got SORE and cracked!! "Ouched" whenever latched baby on in the first 2 weeks (but nipples got toughened up after some time and now, numb, no pain...:p)

But it has been relatively easier since as a second-time mum, I have prior knowledge and knowhow of bfg. Not so "mung cang" (flustered) when trying to feed baby lor...

More milk this time? Dunno... but after the first 1-2 weeks, have got enough for my daughter SS=DD

Hi Stylobb,

Aiyo..just now server got problem. Keep typing the same message over and over again. Any reason why Jesse is fidgeting. Is it becos he's scared so he wakes up crying. My baby used to be like tat last time. Now better.

Think I'll go stock up on nepia this weekend. I still have pet pet at home though. Better buy when there's discount if not so ex.

Hi frenz,
Me back frm chkup. Tks for all concern.

Scanned, blood test all ok. Doc said it is not lochia but period. Hormones haywired. Prescribed medicine n iron tablets. All's fine except my pocket! Now tt being assured I wont be dying frm blood loss, tot shd ve waited a few more days n see. Who knows I can use the $100+ to stock up more diapers!!!
Hahhahaahah, joke aside, 10 sanitary pads totally soaked per day is no laughing issue! Ok...spare the details!

HI lyn,
Most of us r KS mummies lah.....or rather WISE n COST SAVING mummies
!

MP, guardian at TPY HDB Hub is having v gd sales, $17+. Can consider stocking up, V gd absorbency n does not change in shape thru the whole nite, agree wz stylobb.

Stylobb,
Thou I have not got much BM ss for both my kids, it is much much more milk flow for my 2nd bb. Maybe it is usually this way, seasoned mama also better 'moo moo' mama?

sahm, cos whenever i want to stock up certain things - my mum/hubby would say i KS!! but as u said i'm trying to cut cost mah?? luckily found tat mums here oso do the same - otherwise pple tot this woman crazy..buy so many diapers duno for wat :p

but i tot no good for bb to wear diaper for so long?? my record is to change one very 6hrs. otherwise on avg is abt one pcs every 4-4.5hrs.

sahm
Glad that you are fine! So, it's period ah...ai... thot what, how many days already?
Guardian TPY sells MP too? Ooooh...another place I gotta go...$100 can buy a lot of things leh....

Masshiro
I also dun know....we all have different theories (1) teething (2) nose blocked (3) dreaming (4) too reliant on dummy (5) too much play before bedtime.. So which one? It has happened for three nites already.
Your boy's wearing M size? I should have enuf Nepia to last my boy till end of the year but still I wonder if should get more. But I wanna get MP too. Seems a lot of brands are having promotion at NTUC. May from Nepia was telling me that the stocks run out fast at NTUC but I told her that's because it's on promo otherwise not cheap.

lyn
I think Fitti P is on promo at NTUC at $17.80, I'll check tomorrow. Does your NTUC have? The HDB one is pretty well-stocked.
Yah, the mummies tell me MP is ex but ok lah, since my boy only uses 1 at nite. Can't remember, I think L size has 40 pces, so that should last for more than one month.
Dun worry, we mamas all think alike ie cost savings... hbs or mums will not understand...

PinkTulip
Cos I heard that normally mummies have more milk when it comes to the second kid. My colleague pumped till whole office freezer full of milk, made me so envious! Then mine was in this humble corner... haha.
I also did not know how to latch the bb on initially but thanx to the nurse at the hospital, she taught me.

Hi Pink_tulip,
Always nice to hear tt u can relate to me n I am always grinning n nodding away while reading your post 2 me!

I am kinda sweating away too....when u said it extend to 3yrs old, not 30mth for T2! N ur eg of T2 toddlers mentioned r gals. Tot gals r more manageable n obedient. SO we both have to put up another round? Siow liao!

I TOTALLY agree tat i enjoyed my boy prior his 18mth nonsense. SO cute, so fun...when he 1st learn to walk, run to u, dance along wz music, starts solid food n enjoying every meals...I can go on n on....so angelic..........!!!!!!!!

Nw, I do not need to mention, U know our similar headache. I too have been wondering did I not do the right thing as a mum...why he has transformed to such noti boy..... But other than his screaming tantrums, he is still rather gd. He does diligently helps me wz hsework, tenderly look into my eyes n sayang me, even in the midst of his masar session! He is v sociable, secured n confident....arent afraid of strangers n plays well wz peers. V humourous n cheeky boy, laugh along with us, even laugh AT us too! Amazing n miraculous creation!

Yes, I am thinking of all his positive aspect now, also telling myself tt we as parents must help him cope with his/her negative emotions. Babycenter is my source of guide. It mentions that toddlers themselves cant control n can be frightened by their negative emotions too. We cannot lose our cool as they need our pacifying too. I tink it is true. When we scream along with their screaming, they scream more! When we stay cool n composed, the situation seems better controlled? Of course, it is not easy at all with those continued wailing! So we need tis thread to share n let go steam, draws strength!

TINK WE R NOT PERFECT MUM BUT STILL GOOD, BETTER MUM EACH DAY!

U look after 2 day n nite by yourself? Maid ard to help? Where r u putting up? Maybe our children can meet up to play?

stylobb, the ntuc near my plc (i stay at pasir ris - nearest is whitesand) is very HORRIBLE - so sml - not well stock - if i go Tampines or Bedok - stock oways run out!! Sometime i hv to drive to hougang or HDB HUB to get them

where u got all ur lobangs frm?? flip the papers here n there cant find leh - unless they in big print - cos i a blind (literally only) when i comes to small print :p

cclare
I use rubber band to secure the EBM in avent bags.

pok pok
yes you can, I am drinking but only those normal basic type of chicken essence and not those with other added ingredients.

sahm

Hey, you very humorous leh... Good to know that you are fine and the flow is actually menses. ya, pregnancy and all makes our hormones go haywire...

Oh yes, when I read your posts, I also grin and nod!! Same same...

My friends and I thought that girls should be more manageable. Ha! Ha! Not really leh. When I told them (who have sons) about my girl's behaviour, they said, "Huh? I thought my boys are like that!"... *faint*

Your boy is so sweet!! My gal is also secured, confident and cheerful. Not shy - not afraid of strangers but when we take her out, we headache ah... She does not scream a lot but she is stubborn and like I told you, she tends to do what we tell her not to and vice versa.

Agree with you, when we stay cool n composed, the situation is better controlled.

Yes, I take care of them and the house myself, no maid. You have a maid? Me in northeast side.

Thanks for your encouragement.

Stylobb

Hi! You also very humorous. So your packets of bm look pathetic standing in one humble corner, overshadowed by your seasoned colleague's output.

Pink_tulip
U r wondermama! Can cope with 2 at 1 go........I really lose out..........AS FOR NOW only.........heheheheeh....

Ur girl dun go to school? U literally attend to 2 of them at home day n nite? How do u keep ur sanity? Think I am a gd hse-maid, particular abt cleanliness, tidiness but at the same time, attending to 2 at 1 go is mission impossible now. How do u manage ah? Me run the 3M co - the Maid, the Mate, the Mama lor.....

Humour lightens n enlivens things mah

North is woodlands, northeast where ah? Tink I shd be northeast or near central huh? Aya, me near aljunied, u? R we neighbour?

Hi sahm
Glad to hear that you are ok. You and tulip can really relate hor. Both stay home mom and have two kids.

Hi tulip
Wow I admire you . You can manage two kids all on your own. How do you have time to do your things? Like housework? When I am alone with my boy I can't even go toilet scare.
Hi stylobb
How is Jesse? My boy also just recovered from is flu.

Hi Masshiro
Jiayou with your bfing. Another 2.5months to go very fast one.

Moon

Moon
He's getting beta but still have a trickle of mucus down his nose leh....so xian. He's in this crawling to trying to sit phase. If I'm alone with him, I leave on him the floor if I need to go toilet.

sahm/pinkt
You two really in similar situation...good, can learn from you also.

lyn
What lobang? Real life check mah, I can drop by NTUC on my way to work...hehe... You wanna buy Nepia is it?

Masshiro
Yeah, jia you, just try your best... time passes very fast.

SAHM
Glad to hear u are ok now.
Wow, ur period's back, so fast hor.

Stylobb
Yah...he's getting a little too heavy for me now. I just switch back to MP for the nite, coz my boy starts to develop rashes.
I think Jesse seldom goes to the kitchen, tt's why he likes it so much??

Hey, my boy likes the kitchen too... always very alert and wide-eyed when we bring him there.

I'm using MP now at night too... very good, no leakage.. my only complaint is no wetness indicator.

sahm
you staying at Aljunied? Me staying quite near there as well, at the badminton hall area. I know Aljunied area quite well as I used to stay there.

masshiro
yeah, it's tough I understand as I've been through it also. Just count each day one by one and the time will pass.

Hi Jas,
The world is so small! We r rather nearby.Once I had a gathering at my pl. Invited colleague arrived n claimed tt she stayed here during childhood n is 1 level above me, same block!!!!! U believe it?

Jas I peifu u on expressing exclusively n ss is rather high!

Desert, Stylobb,moon,
Tks.....Ya...soooo fast my menses is back. Tks to my 'half bucket' bfing
. But I will not give up yet. ya....$100+ can buy alot of tings...so 'tui'. But then does tt mean my checkup mz be negative to make the $$$ worth? No hor...$100+ for clean bill of health....vvvv cheap! Hahahahah, so ah Q me!

Lyn,
My hubby also says y must I lug so many items at 1 go....also indicating KS hor. Hehehehhe...I bo chap him.......I be my crazy wise cost saving woman

Lobang.....AYA, come here more often...stylobb our lobang friends mah....heheheheh

Desert/Jul,
WHen they grow older, they still will like the kitchen....

My boy will
- grab my legs whenever I am at the sink, want my company
- open n peep what's inside the cabinet
- run from 1 end to another end, dancing away.
- plays with toilet dr when i am preparing his meals
- pt at the fridge...;kult', 'kult'....YAKULT!!!

Moon,
It is ok to let bb cry for awhile...exeercise their lung. So leave him safely n u go relieve urself. Pick him up immediately when u r done n tell him mummy has no diaper on like him!

Stylobb,
Ur boy is fussing in the nite cos of stuffy nose. Dun sleep in aircon rm n raise his head higher. Apply vick (children type, tho mentioned for above 2yrs old, I am using) on chest, back n remaining, dab on his nose. It helps for my boy.

Pink tulip,
Ur girl dun go to school? Tink it is gd to send her to one as school gif them environment to learn better, thru play n fun wz peers.

My boy used to stay home wz me n once he saw children at playground, he will run towards them n hug them tightly n 'yang yang'. Bigger children n adults amused but younger toddlers cried in shock! Decided to send him to childcare 1 mth prior my labour. Seems like our choice is rite..........he a happy survivor n glad tt he is learning things there! Parallel teaching is easier too

Can u share how do u cope wz 2? In 6mths times', I would hope to fetch my girl back frm MIL pl n handle 2 by myself. Gd to have the theory part on hand 1st/........Tho MIL's style can be quite of 'drop jaw' at times, I still really appreciate her help!

Tink u will tell me Mothers' Nature, sure can!

Hello SAHM

No wondermama lah... Frankly, I can't manage to keep my house SPICK and SPAN lor... I try to put kids first and resist the temptation to do too much housework ( I also like to have a clean house) if not defeat the purpose of staying at home for them. But still must do basic chores like vacuuming, mopping, cooking, laundry, toilet cleaning, ironing,... (in the end, like still A LOT of housework to do hor?!!!...on weekends, hubby helps me with some area cleaning.)

Girl is going to playgroup next year!!! Heh heh heh... saw my GRIN??? :p

I attend to the two in the day till hubby returns, after which I have an extra pair of hands to help me. The two kids sleep early and through the night so whew, most of the time, I can do my own stuff at night and then sleep till about 6am (feed baby).

On some days, I will go to my ma's place.

How do I cope? Before arrival of second one, trained the first one to be more independent (eg. self feeding, potty training, scheduled naptime and bedtime). Prepared the first gal mentally so that the possibility of jealousy is kept to the minimal. Upon arrival of second one, trained the baby to sleep through the night, trained baby to take regular and rather fixed naptimes, etc. When baby takes naps, I can deal with the older one or do housework. When the baby is awake, we play and read together. at times, the two girls will watch me do housework. No choice, not possible to entertain them the whole day lah... i do hope my girl can learn to play on her own. Is it realistic to expect that?

Northeast -> Sengkang lor!

Serene

Let your baby learn to wait a bit. Cry a while also nevermind. Tell him you are going to be back in 3 min. And BE BACK in 3 min to gain his trust. Gradually can lengthen the time. (but of course not half an hour lah...hee...hee...)

Put him in a safe place, offer some toys and off you go!

SAHM

Yes, she is going to Pre N next year. Your son goes to half-day or full-day childcare? Or 2-3h playgroup?

Shall we start another thread? Let's name it "SAHMS Support Group". I will start the thread ok?

Pink Tulip
My boy goes to fullday childcare!

Wah...U really r capable! I really bow 2u, my hubby pls nvr let him c tis thread...how lousy is his wife!...Hahahah, u mz ask ur hubby to come in here n be proud of u!

Amazing..........In the evening when my son is back....facing him for a few hrs r more than enuf, sometime we cant wait to send him to bed! Bad parents hor?

Ok....tink I like ur 'SAHMS Support Group' better....cos SAHMS can be of 3 children leh?

Hahahah...me so blur....my siblings at noetheast side, at Punggol n me a slip of mind on this! Too much blood loss lately, mz be!

Were u working all this while? SAHM since 1 gal? Y do u opt for SAHM instead?

stylobb, where ur office?? Everyting in Shenton way so expensive!!! y'day wanted to get some ting for bb @ the arcade - realised it cost so much compare to neighborhood shops - didnt buy in the end. yeah - tot of getting nepia - but as sahm said - must b a wise cost saving woman - so i buy whatever on offer - no fixed brand.

sahm, i oso want to log on more ofen but these few days got pple frm overseas branch coming so a bit bz.

Hey gals
Ok, checked on following at NTUC:
MP M48/L40/XL36 $18.30
MP training pants L28/XL24 $17.80
Fitti S66/M60/L50 $19.20
PetPet S70/M/56/L46 $14.20
Huggies S66/M/60/L54 $18.80
Drypers M56 $12.95
Nepia M51/L42/L30*/B26* $15.90
*training pants

No more PampersP promotion. Besides the BabyDry, they have something called Cotton Dry, I think.

Masshiro
We are right behind you to give you support!

jul
MP good hor? No need indicator if bb sleeps thru the nite and does not fuss about diaper. My boy is easy on this. Your boy wakes up middle of night?

desert
Everything is so new to them now so they wanna explore.

lyn
Me nearer to Tanjong Pagar side but I hardly go out of office.
I am quite particular, prefer to stick to the brands that I buy all this while.

sahm/pt
You both going to start new thread? There are already quite a lot of threads on SAHMs leh...

stylobb

You spent your lunch time at NTUC memorising the prices of the various brands of diapers?!

Thank you for being so helpful!

I did not want to bore some of you with T2 talk so I suggested to sahm about starting a new thread. Did not cross my mind to go to the older threads concerning sahms. Pai seh!

sahm

Hi. I have posted a reply for you at the new thread "SAHMs of Two Kids".

SAHM and pink tulip, can I join your SAHM support group too
? I live in Punggol, mother of one 12 wk old girl.

Right now I'm trying to train her to take naps in her own crib. I must say she's hardly been successful since the day she was born. Sleeps well in the night though. So now I'm going through the heart-wrenching controlled 'cry-it-out' method cos all those other non-crying methods have not worked. My bb was taking advantage of my sympathy.

stylobb, hope i didnt spoilt for lunch leh - so paisay, u went there to chk diapers prices for all our benefits. THANKS!!

jul, ur office ard suntec ard?? jus wen y'day pigeon bb wipe oso offer but cant remember the price liao i think 82x3 abt $9++

sahm
nothing great, no need to peifu me.. I am just hanging on... my ss not consider high lah, only about 700ml per day. intend to stop soon...

my menses also came back in the 5th month, but from then till now, haven't come yet.

Hi mon, my gal still wakes up every 2hr leh. But I think I got used to it liao. I bot the Philips food warmer and we like it.

Hi sahm, glad to hear that it's just period. I just bot Fitti Premium from JL sales.

Hi Masshiro, I also pump abt 2x a day now. Busy wihr work and got course to attend so can't go pumping so frequently. How's your ss then? Now, I even need to tandem pumping while feeding my gal in the middle of the nite.

Hi styloBB, how much is Nepia per piece after discount? I just bot Fitti Premium from JL at $18.80 after discount leh. Aiya, shd get them from NTUC. Wow, you really our Lobang queen leh.

Jas,
Hang on there.....700ml per day, wow? Y stop when u can provide? Tough but u oreai tough so many months liao. If ur ss has diminished to miserable amt, then perhaps u can call it quit but now still substantial!!

Pls hang on lah

ptulip
My brains unfortunately is not so powderful....haha...thanx to moden technology ie Palm PDA mah, I scribbled down the prices this morning.
Think I'll go diaper shopping again next week...hahaha!!! stock up on MP!!
You and SAHM must still come by here yah?

priviledged
Could it be the crib is too hot? What about the mattress? Do you sleep in aircon room? You off work temporarily??

lyn
No probem at all lah, I just pop by NTUC on my way to work in the mornings, gives me some nice distraction...did not have to sacrifice my lunchtime... You know the other time I took leave, I went to the NTUC supermarket to walk, felt so shiok...so auntie hor..
You near the Arcade? I used to hang around Thyme after work to try and buy the maternity clothes..hehe...spent a bomb there!

Giggler
I macham like become Nepia expert??!!!
Depends on what size your gal's using lor...
If M, then 31 cents. If L, nearly 40 cents.
MP is nearly 50 cents per piece but I find the quality very good. I jumped ship liao, after Fitti is used up, I won't be getting it anymore cos I have MP & Nepia!!
No problem lah, we share-share info mah. Very convenient for me, cos along the way to the MRT...

jas
You are doing great, it's coming to nine months already!! Bravo!! Is Joel taking porridge too?

stylobb, u r not alone lah - now everytime i go ntuc,carrefour - i oways head straight to the row where they put fm/diaper. c n c compare n compare...etc. go taka/JL immediately c got any nice shoes/botties for my boi...but nvr buy unless i got my pay

last time we took leave cos we can go pte sale @ isetan or hi-tea with gal friend. now i think we apply leave 90% IS FOR BB SAKE!! NO REGRETS!!

Giggler
Dun know, cos I only used PP NB, after that I never used until I bot XL to keep. I think the mummies still vote for PP as the best...

Lyn
Yah, diapers are essentials mah.. must make sure have stock at home...hehe..

Hi stylobb
I used MP before, uh no, my girl used them. :p It is good. Nice shape too. Very absorbent and seldom leak.

Baby now using PetPet and/or Drypers.

You stock up different sizes? Dun buy too much also, in case baby grows very fast then cannot wear leh.

pinkt
Heeheee...I also tok as if I used them. Yes, very good, after wearing for the nite, it still stays in shape, is dry and the material does not 'crumble'. I stock up mostly Nepia and PP in Large, Large and Big for the Nepia training pants and LX for PP. Only 1 pack of L MP diapers and the L training pants. So all in L and XL, should be ok.

SAHM
Yah...$100 for a clean bill of health is quite worth it lah.

Stylobb
Cold storage hving offer now for MP. $17.60.
Wow, u really stock up a lot. I cannot stock up now coz my mum's place got no place, its full of my hse's furniture and other stuff. Her hse looks like warehse now.

pink tulip, tats what i worried now i got 6pkts of pampers n 2 pkts of petpet - all m size!!! must stop buying for the time being cos offer will oways come back other wise if really must buy dan i think i'll stock L size :p do i sound KS??? my bb only 9wks going to 10.

btw, jus come back from orchard. JL selling petpet @ 15.90 MP @ 21.30 all b4 15% discount. if u got ocbc/robinson further 15%. i didnt buy cos didnt drive 2day.

Lyn
Wow, 8 packets of M in all! Think you can stop buying M for the time being cos baby grows very fast in the first few months leh... (Leftovers can be kept for no. 2??...) If want to buy, can buy L liao...

sahm
junk food? think can eat lah... but i cut down NOT because afraid that the 'junk' will get into the bm but because i want to lose weight... occasionally will still pamper myself with some choc or ice cream

sahm, even during my preg, i nvr stop taking ice cream!! but now as pink tulip said must cut down b'cause we must shed those extra pounds we gained during preg. still can eat lah, in moderation lor.

pink tulip, agree must stop liao - one thing is my hubby making noise liao - he think i v.ks bought so much another thing is my storerm is b'coming a mini warehse liao :p