Breastfeeding Support Group

Hi mini, I'll check out Cold Storage tonite.

Hi jul, you mean there'll be advertisement on the offer?

Hi QHL, the petpet is cheap leh

HI moon,
My gynae mentioned to me b4 tat so long as u r still bf, ur menses will be put on hold.....so it is normal.

Actually, think if ur bb is fortunate to ve non-allergy skin, any diapers should be fine 4 daytime, esp they poo during day....still need to change often afterall. Only nite time is more crucial, to give them comfort thru their sleep, so more absorbency needed.

EQ n sealer same manufacturer. Bot 1 at Expo warehse sales. Found Petpet better than EQ. Now ntuc having offer, so I am off to grab liao.

My gal coming 2mths n my boy 20mths.

At home, I do EVERYTHING..............other than going out to work!

Desert,
Understand how u feeling. WHen i send my gal over to my MIL pl, I was so teary tat my eyes became goldfish eyes. It breaks my heart...but I juz do not know how to manage 2 at 1 go. Do i have another choice? Wz 2, I was then flustered, stressed n impatient wz my older boy.

It takes awhile 4u to adjust. Once work duties call for u, U slowly will compartmentalize your mind. I tot i will turn crazy missing my gal but wz my boy ard, it isnt so bad. Likewise, once u get in2 work, it wont be as bad as wat u thought! Keep ur spirit up. sweet mummy!

Yes giggler, always have ads on this... just keep a lookout. And Cold Storage, Shop & Save, NTUC all give the same price.

Had a loooong meeting today...the weekend is just around the corner..!

Maple
What jas says is true, if you empty, then you are sending signals to your brains that you need more and the brain will then tell the brs to produce.

Giggler
Yeah, usually in the papers...I think the reason PP is having promo is becos Huggies is building their plant here and PP probably hope to increase their sales now. Without promo, I think the price is really ex.

jas
Wah, you rattle off the prices like they are imprinted in your brain!! Hehe... I think I will try MP ..still waiting for Nepia to send me my NTUC cash vouchers..

sahm
Really no joke to be a SAHM... while I love my boy, I do need some time away from him although nowadays I am missing him more. Do you get any break? Like go out on your own?
But for some of us who did b/feed, our menses returned in the fourth month...

desert
Yah, felt so sad seeing him flapping his arms and legs and then he had to leave.
What is this book about, the nitetime parenting? We try not to over-stimulate our boy when it's near bedtime..

Giggler
Ya..I guess must get over the initial period, then will get used to working life again. But cannot help feeling sad now.

SAHM
I know how u felt, coz I felt like crying too when I think of going back to work and not being able to be there 4 my son all the time. Ya..I guess will take time to adjust. Are u still bf?

Moon/SAHM
Menses will usually not rtn in the 1st 6 mths if u bf exclusively. After 6 mths, as u start to introduce semi-solids, menses might rtn. My menses also not back yet,my boy is coming to 7 mth soon.

Stylobb/Moon
If u read Dr Sears bk b4, his style is attachment parenting. Basically I've been doing tt so far, respond to bb's needs/cries.

Desert
U will definitely feel sad all the way till u get started n settled dn in your job. It takes time.....

BF? My ss is diminishing soon. very demoralizing to express only 20ml per 30min session. By the time when my girl is back during wkends, I could only accumulate 3, 4 feedings for her! Not even A DAY supply!

At least for u, u ve given your boy the best, bf so far!

Stylobb,
Yes, I do get to go out, at least for now. My boy is at childcare, my girl wz MIL. But not for long, I am bringing my girl back once my boy is more managable. He is at his 'Terrible 2' stage now. Screamer, 'Terrorist'!

Hubby n I used to travel once or twice annually...this year, see how things go...........

Stylobb,
'Disastrous'...my hse conquered by diapers too....Headache, dun know where to stuff them!All in all, now have 9 packets out there. Or yours more
?

Do u still drink coffee when on BF'g? Should be ok rite? Hidden caffeine also found in coke, chocolate rite?

So busy today...

desert
So you are saying we respond to them accordingly, but isn't that what most of us do anyway? Jesse was a bit of a fussypot over weekend, dun know if he was feeling uncomfortable or what, but he did sleep for quite a while on sunday...

sahm
I think I have 10!.. but I put the ones that I use into a box for easy access.

sahm/jas
Btw my boy was raining double waterfalls over the weekend, from the nose and mouth...hiaz.. I dun know if it's the flu bug or just teething. I did not give him much medicine cos my hb said he read from babycenter that medicine does not really help. Anyway it's on and off, so difficult to monitor.
He bawled twice this morning, the second time I decided to carry him to our bed, in the end he slept by hugging my arm, he probably thot it was a long bolster...hehe..

Hi to all, could anyone advise me on sterilizing Breast pump while at work? Do we need to sterilize the pump after every use? I don't think i'm going to bring the whole sterilizer to work as its bulky. Also, is it ok to use a clean cloth to wipe the parts if its wet so that i can use them immediately... Thanks.

angelique_ho
yes, I do sterilize the pump after every use. If at home it either by boiling or steam method. If at office, I will use hot water to go over the pump. Alternatively, you can use the cold water sterilizing tablets to sterilize the pump at office. I never use cloth to wipe the parts, normally I will shake off the most of the water before use.

stylobb
Hope Jesse is feeling better today. My boy was rather fussy over the weekends too. Don't know is he teething or what, anyway I just apply the teething gel for him.

Stylobb,
Jesse drooling n runny nose? Remember when my boy was younger n fell sick, I used to worry sick. Now even if his mucus is so unsightly but still can afford to scream n throw tantrums, I just relax liao.........maybe seasoned mum bo chap liao....flu is just part of their growing up element, esp if he is attending childcare.

So sweet he hug hug ur soft n tender 'bolsterous' arms.........n zzzzz away

Jas,
MIL pl using boiling method n I realise the teats kinda discoloured, not clear. Is it ok? How often do we need to change the teats that went thru boiling? So tempted to change but how often. Steaming method does not have tis too drastic discolouring.

Angelique
Yes, better to run it thru hot/boiling water otherwise it will be dirty and the stuff turns milky. I will follow on with the pigeon liquid cleanser, they sell it in small bottle so you can get one.

sahm
Yah, maybe he felt secure 'squashed' between two people..hehe...
Yah, actually we are not too worried, it's my mum who is gan jeong. She even bought the bb panadol, I say no need but she insisted.
Your boy going thru the terrible two phase, right? How do you discipline him?

jas
I think he was feeling uncomfortable... mucus dripping from his nose and salivating too.... he is ok when we are out but at home he wanna be carried. He only napped late morning and in the afternoon he was up and about, so by 9pm, he was tired. Our schedule got a bit haywire cos we went out only in the evening. So you had to carry joel, heavy right?

sahm
Hey, it's true, I compared the teats/bottles at my mum's and mine and I can see hers are all yellow, in fact I just bot new teats to replace those at her place.

Stylobb,
How I wish my mil will be kan jeong like ur mum! On the contrary, she let us dropped jaw (unbelievable) so many times. My son's mucus dripping away, she fed him wz yakult n grapes. When my son went over to her place over wkends, she does not cook for him. Say smtime cook, he does not want to eat, so dun want to cook. Every meal eat out....Almost fed my son with wine chicken, barbacued chilli stingray....U scared anot?

Kan jeong better than anyhow.........

One v private query but me v straight forwards hor. How long is your lochia?

Mine after 2mths still non stop! Should I be taking pill to stop it or to let it flow n stop naturally? Izzit it a bit TOOOOOOOO long a period?

SAHM
Why dun u direct bf since u stay at hm? I find bbs are better pumps, ss will definitely equal dd if u do dd feeding.
My lochia stopped at ard 5 wks, it was only heavy for the 1st 3days, after tt quite little.

Stylobb
There is another style of parenting tt does not advocates responding to ur bb's cries all the time. For eg, if bb dun sleep, they are left to cry it out as a form of sleep training.
Dr Sears style feels tt bb's cries are their means of communication, so cannot ignore. For eg, for bb's tt constantly wakes up to feed/comfort suck, Dr Sears actually encourage us to continue unless we cannot take it physically, then we take steps to minimize the nite waking. Hope u get what I mean.

sahm
OIC...your mil does not bother hah?
Lochia - I think around six weeks.
Btw, does your boy still take the dummy? Hb/I think the reason lately that our bb wakes up crying could be that he wants the dummy -- getting too reliant on it already. What do you think?
Does he wear training pants or XL diapers?

desert
Got it. We also respond to bb when he cries.. looking back, there were 2-3 times we ignored but hb and I talked about it and we felt we should not have...aw well, we learn along the way.

Desert
I 'peifu' ang moh parenting style. They encourage parents to tend to bb every cry n not spanking toddlers in later stage.

My son is at his terrible 2 stage. Screamer. Sometimes we hug him tightly, soothing him as he screams away. Sometime, we let him cry to his heart's content in his rm. The only time he not screaming is sleeping time but oso fuss in his sleep.

Hubby asked 'when is tis going to end' n I asked 'is there any childcare operating 24hrs?' We want v much 2b gd parents wz firm discipline n not resorting to spanking, caning. But we r really at wits' end...............not easy..........dying soon........some friends said the peak is yet to come.........

sahm
What is he screaming about? Is he fussing? Do you spank him?
We are trying to train our boy (8 months soon) to sleep earlier... from 11pm, it was down to 10.45pm, 10.30pm and last nite, managed to get him to bed by 10pm.. at least that frees some personal time for us.
We gave up carrying him last nite, decided to put him to crawl on the hard floor, quite funny, we put him near the doorway to the rooms, and he rotated here and there and he is ever so careful not to gong his head, he will rest sideways... haha..... well at least I managed to read the papers during that time.

I saw PP is still on offer at NTUC, last day is tomorrow. Last day today for Nepia promotion but maybe they will still have it. Must say I'm impressed with MP.

Stylobb,
I used to use MP until lately I start stocking up PP. Pls dun tell me MP is much better than PP hor.. : )

Juz back frm shopping. guardian pharmancy at Toa Payoh HDB Hub is having sales.

PP 3 for $57.95.........hahahahaha........
MP at $17+

Whatever, consumers' world.........

Stylobb,
Beats me...I dun know wat's he screaming abt. Probably verbal frustration, dun know how to convey wat he wants,juz pt pt pt, scream scream scream........Probably he wants things his ways, wants his independence......not been eating dinner for almost 2 mths liao.......

V drastic change. Used to read frm some mum's website abt how their toddlers' headache behaviour. I was then thinking 'Heng ah, my boy is not like that, he so tender loving, so gd boy, always finishing his meals' blah blah blah. THE KEY PT is DUN SPEAK TOO SOON! AYoh, now I know those parents' how cross n frustrated were they : )

But it is a phase lah.....Hope it is over soonest possible
Oh yes just bot a handbk on TANTRUMS, hope it helps. The graphic is cute n the paper quality not bad n it's so cheap...$6.90

U training ur boy to sleep earlier? gd move....tis I dare say CAN TRAIN one!

my lochia was rather light till at the 6th wk, bomb....it was as heavy as normal menses. Tot my menses rtned but it's still ard till now, the 8th wk! Haywire....or I m unduly alarmed only?

Stylobb,
My boy fuss at nite 2 n we do gif him the dummy. Well....he still fuss after tat....dream'g or too hot......try everyting....until at times I just asked 'wat u want ah?' n he just went back to sleep.......hahahahah

sahm
I not sure how often my mum change the teats but i know is not often, what I know is that the time we change teats is to a larger size. I think we have used the same size teats for about few months.

sahm
I think for mine is pretty short, seems like around 3-4weeks. Why don't you consult a gynae, seems like two months is a bit too long.

stylobb
yeah lor, when joel fuss he wants to be carried. Hubby and I takes turn to carry him and occassionally put him on bed and play with him.

sahm
Cannot say MP is good ah, but it's good leh...hehe...ok, ok PP is better!
Can't he talk or express himself? 20 months right?? The way you describe really sounds frustrating. Do you spank him?
How come you are around TPY, that's my 'territory' too you know...!
Yep, suddenly my hb and I realised, why are we still waiting for that time to come for him to sleep???

sahm

Hi! Sorry to 'interrupt'. i have been following this thread (cos I am also a bfg mum). I read that you have two kids, an almost two-year old and a newborn, right? I have a 2.5 years old and a 6.5 months old. And I can RELATE with you. I understand what you meant by "dying soon..." cos that's what I sms my hubby when he is at work and my older gal is driving my up the wall... And yes, like you, I want to be a loving yet firm parent who also does not spank so much but it is really difficult... The things a 2 year-old does are really frustrating... Me also hoping this phase will pass soon.

HI pink tulip,

Welcome your interruption..........GLad that u can relate to me! SOmetimes things we have to be in it then we can really comprehend....now I know the frustration some of my friends have gone thru. When they told me they can shout till the whole flat can hear, I tot 'gush...real exagerrating!'.....now I believe my neighbour might be able to hear me in the kitchen! Hahahaha....but more often is my boy's screaming. I try to control myself n is improving. Hope my boy can do the same!

HUH!........urs 2.5yrs, ie, 30mths, still like my son? Oh no, dun tell me I still have 10mths of such screaming days to go........I really peng san liao! Babycenter says such terrible 2 can starts frm 18mths till 30mths.....me a long way to go, yours coming to ending episode....

U a SAHM? We can yuk yuk more n let out frustration n also our joy leh........OK?

SAHM
For ur lochia, if it becomes red again, it could mean u are exhausting urself physically, better consult a gynae.
I think tt terrible 2 is a phrase tt they go thro. My hubby's nephew and nieces used to be like tt during tt stage, once they bypass, they are more manageble.
I find PP is better than MP, coz its thinner yet can last thro the nite w/o the wet feeling.

Stylobb
For the pacifier, I think Jesse needs it to fall asleep. Remember I mentioned bbs need some sort of security object to go back to sleep when they wake up.
Yup, but I know some pp will frown on some aspect of Dr Sears style of parenting. My boy's PD will probably not agree on the nitewaking part.

<font color="aa00aa">mummies,</font>
need ur advices.. do i need to get NB teats or juz prepare slow flow teats (2 holes, for 1m+) is enuff?

Hi jul, I can't find the promo on PetPet over the weekends at Liberty Mkt leh. So bad.

Hi styloBB, so next time must find time to flip thru papers for promo liao. Is Jesse teethin? So the PP promo still on today?

Hi desert, I understand how you feel. I felt quite down when I started work during the 1st mth.

Hi sahm, I read somewhere that it still ok to have no more than 3 cups of coffee a day while bfg. My lochia stopped after 6-7 weeks.

Hi Angelique, I sterilize pump by pouring hot water over in office. Then I'll use tissue to wipe dry the pumps before use.

Hi angelia, I got the newborn teats for my gal.

hi gals...
any of u store ur ebm in avent bags? if so.... besides using the clip... how esle to seal? the clips r too ex... thanks...

soyabean,

I use the soft wire ( don't know the name) to seal the bags. U know the kind that can be twisted around and always found in electric appliances to tie the electric wires together? They come in a round pack and can buy at those shops selling household items.

oh... thanks! wld go get them...
do u use them to seal right after pumping or do u use the clip then wait for it to be frozen then switch to the wire?

I use it to seal right after pumping. But u got to be careful, got to leave a bit of space, otherwise the milk may overflow.
I never buy any avent clips cos my friend taught me this method before I gave birth.

Wasnt too worry abt my lochia till I read more from web. It could be as what Desert mentioned - physical exhaust. It could be uterus not contracting well. It could be placenta not removed entirely! Scary! Start to worry even more after calling my gynae. He used to be everything 'Dun worry, it's ok.....' but tis time he exclaimed 'Oh dear, tis is unusual.........when r u free to drop by'

So keeping my fingers cross.....hope I m ok! Start to feel 'in a daze' at times, probably too much blood loss.............

Hi SAHM

Agree with you - must be in it then we can understand and empathise...

Yes, we should manage our anger well (just that sometimes, the 2-year-old just purposely goes against our will and do funny things to drain our energy and test our patience or thrown tantrums to spoil our day...) or they will mimic our actions and not learn to manage their anger well. However, it is always easier said than done...

Oh I thought T2 starts as early as 18 months and phases out at about 3 years old? I am looking forward to her turning 3 next March. (However, that may not mean the end of such things. My friend's daughter 3+ still like that. Very exasperating and discouraging for the parents.)

I am a full-time mum like you. I enjoyed her very, very much during the first 18 months. Then she dropped her morning nap... then she started to insist on her ways... then she started to pull away when you hold her hands at shopping malls...I can go on and on... I do get discouraged from time to time when I see her so noti... especially since I am at home to teach her and discipline her. Cannot imagine what will she be like if she were to be with another caregiver and I were to spend much time at work.

Perhaps we should start another thread on T2s... Ha ha ha...

Take care

Sahm

Oh yes, not usual to have lochia after so many weeks. Pl see your gynae soon.

Must take care and not over-exert yourself cos just given birth.

How's everyone doing?

Sahm, you must take care, hope everything is fine after your gynae visit.

Giggler, your bb still wakes up for feed as many times?

Need some adv, is it normal if the ss from one breast is much more than the other?

For your info

Philips Carnival Sale is back!!!

This is an absolutely, must not miss, "once in a year" chance to grab quality products at incredible prices. With products ranging from TVs, Audio Systems, DVD Players, MP3 Players, Home Theatre Systems, PC Monitors, Light Bulbs, Shavers, Hairdryers, Iron, Vacuum Cleaners, Toasters, Juicers, Kettles, Blenders, Mobile Phones, Long Range Digital Cordless (DECT) Phones, Residential CCTVs...you will simply be spoilt for choices!

What's more, for the first time, baby products such as Baby Monitor, Room &amp; Bath Thermometer Set, Bottle Warmer, Magic Theatre &amp; In Touch Address Recorder will be offered. To top it off, you can opt for the 0% interest free instalment plan * for your purchases.

So, what are you waiting for? Quick, spread the word.

Philips Carnival Sale
11-12 Sep 04, 9:30 am - 5:00 pm

at
Philips Electronics Singapore,
620A Lorong 1 Toa Payoh

Oh...since all are stocking up diapers....NTUC has Fitti promotion this week.

Jumbo Pack M, L &amp; XL @ $12.95

Anyone use Fitti? Any good?

Giggler/sahm
Oh ya..regarding the coffee, better to limit to one per day if u hv to take. Do take after bf.

Sahm
Hope u are ok, if its physical exhaustion. Remember to rest well these few days.

Mon_mon
Yes its normal, u bb probably takes more from one breast.

Hi Pink Tulip, mon_mon,
Tks so much for the concern....I n leaving soon for my scanning. Hopefully it is just exhaustion n some medication n rest will do the wonder.

Mon_mon,
I ever tried Fitti premium for both my children. It is okay except that there is skin redness at the tape area. So I switched brand. Not all bbs have tis problem thou.

pink tulip/sahm
Please interrupt, it's ok! Then I can learn from another mummy.
PTulip, would like to ask:
- How do you find b/feeding the second time?
- Do you have more milk this time?

desert
Wow, Iv is heavy!!! So you see, no worries, your b/feeding gave him all the benefits.

angelia
O dear, I find the variable teat pretty useful. You might wanna take a look at that.

mon mon
I use Fitti but will stop after I finish cos I use Nepia and MP. Fitti leaked twice on my boy.
Not only Fitti, many of the brands are on promotion at NTUC. I thot Fitti is not so cheap, but around $17 even on promo? I just went to NTUC in the morning...hehe...

Morning desert,
Tink we sent out our post concurrently? : )
Tks alot for always clearing my doubts........

Hi Stylobb,

Is the nepia promotion still on? or revert back to original price already. I find nepia quite good - material very soft and absorbency very good. May want to stock up more if it is still discounted price.

Hi Giggler,
I've reduced my pumping to 2x a day cos very busy with work. I hope to sustain till 6 mths but it's really very tiring. 2.5 mths to go.