BEDOK mommies club

caymom
cheers to our gals.
u manage to get the photo taken?
1 week left to 1 sep. kan cheong leh!

my brown rice has no brand. just the name of the medical hall. the medical hall is located behind the ICA building.
its grind and blend by the medical hall themselves.
i fed my elder gal the same one last time.

btw, where u buy the Moon Rabbit brown rice?

Wendy
can share where to buy the elephant brand brown rice? i like the ideal of organic.

any simple recipes to share what do u mix in your brown rice or just cook the plain brown rice and feed bb?
i have lost touch for so long alr..hee...
last time my gal likes to mix the brown rice with her milk and drink.

Hippo
think the Happy Catering has no lunch delivery cos the leaflet says Dinner delivery.
in the end i didn't engage any tingkat...seem very dif to find an ideal one. :-(

spagoh
I order from Neo Garden. Their leaflet & web site said dinner but they do deliver lunch to certain locations. I ordered from them since Jan this year

<font color="ff0000">Wendy,</font>
What is the time limit?

<font color="ff6000">Spagoh,</font>
I attempted again last night. I was chasing her all over the place, asked my sis, hb and dad to help but still can't get a decent one. She flare up and rolled on the floor and cried. Wah biang, I never flare up, she flare up first!
I think I can't meet the deadline already.

Moon Rabbit is readily available in supermarkets, under the baby food section.

Hi Spagoh
I bot them from those organic shop, i bot often from parkway parade market. in fact now many place sell, those provision shop sold too. 2 kg for $7.
Usually i cook just with the rice then add in the fish and veg cook till it thick and soggy

hi caymon,
i have to clear my old hse by end 0ct 2appt fix at 2 nov, so i at dead end sighhh hdb alway take their own swwet time

Wendy,
WEF 1 Sept, the photos for non-biometric passports cannot be changed. My gal looks very different from her passport photo so I want to change it before the deadline. But I wun make it already... that girl is still not cooperative. Puke too much blood while trying to take a decent photo of her.

hi caymom
oh is it i din know abt it, so how ah? passport cannot be use anymore?
my girl passport was from last year so will have another 5 year to go leh
so bad hor like tat

<font color="ff0000">Wishes,</font>
My gal is going to attend playgroup next year at Winshire Education Centre. It's 1.5hr playgroup for kids above 2yo. There are branches in Bedok South (Blk 59) Bedok North (Blk 123). My friend's daughter is with the same school and she said the teacher is very good. Actually my gal can attend the playgroup now but my mom is too busy with my baby to bring her to school daily so we will let her start playgroup next year instead.

<font color="aa00aa">Wendy,</font>
I also dunno whether passport can use or not. I wrote in to ask ICA but I think they are too busy to reply now. I was hoping that maybe they will be lenient for kids passports but then again, we never know whether we can clear the customs of the country we are going.

When I took my gal to aussie last year, the customs officer scrutinise my gal's passport pic to ensure she is the right kid. Now she looks so different from the pic, if the customs officer very neow, I think cannot pass liao.

Anyway, I tried all sorts of methods to take pic of my gal and even wanted to go photoshop but hb said that if we can't do it, the photoshop may not succeed too. Sigh, really give up mah.

Wendy,
ICA just replied me. Here is an extract of their reply.

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

We would like to inform you that the Immigration & Checkpoints Authority (ICA) does not require the child's passport picture to be updated within the validity period of the passport. However, we advise Singaporean travellers irrespective of age to have their passport picture updated if their facial appearance have changed significantly This will facilitate a smoother immigration clearance and avoid any misunderstandings over the identity of the passport holder at the foreign or local immigration counters.

For your information, with effect from 1 September 2007 (Saturday), photo update services for non-biometric passports will no longer be available. Non-biometric passport holders who no longer resemble their passport photo are advised to update their photos before 1 September 2007. Hence, if your daughter's existing photograph is worn out or the facial features have changed, you may wish to submit an application for inserting a new photograph in her existing valid non-biometric passport. <!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

I think the bottomline is still must change lah. My daughter definitely looks different from her baby photo mah. Also, the appearance of kids changes so fast. Even if I change now, my gal may still look different when I bring her overseas next year. Headache....

thanks caymon for the info.

i cant make in time for the change just let it go, next time go oversea then brign BC along haha. my girl pic was take last year.
anyway the pass port vadity is only 6 year so guess should be ok

sigh..govt just liek to change anytime anywhere

You are welcome.

I'm also quite sian about the sudden change in ruling. I was told that the queue to change photo is very long these few days. Even if I manage to get the photo, probably have to spend a long time at ICA. My gal gets cranky easily, can't imagine struggling with her while waiting for our turn. Sigh, am I the only one to have such a notti gal??

hello mommies

Just returned from 2N stay at Sentosa. hehe, kids had fun playing tourists. Weather wasn't so ideal though, rained almost whole of yesterday. We managed to catch Song of the Sea in the evening. Aiyo, had another shower during the show because of the direction of the wind.

Really need to buck up & start developing photos. We took so many pictures since beginning of this year & developed none so far.

caymon,
yur answer is NO, i share yur sorrow, we can hug and cry.
i not only have 1 i have 2 ok. last nite i nearly go crazy and wan to jump down sigh...
my elder in cc and often get sick , she got cough these few day and throw up so often, refuse poty when i ofer her when shr cry. she fuss so much till she throw up.
can u imagine I change 3 set of bedsheet in an hour hang till no place and plus raining, the whole hse liek so filthy and smelly wif her vomitting. last night i really breakdown and beg her to stop tink she got scare oso.
when she is well, she just another super active girl whose cna sit still.
the youngest one oso the same scream non-stop.
sigh...... so do u tink we can hug and cry tog haha

<font color="ff0000">Hippo,</font>
What a coincidence. I am planning a hotel stay at Sentosa. Where did you stay? How much you pay for it?

Same here, always take a lot of pictures but never develop.

Sigh... I guess nowadays girls are not necessarily more guai than boys. My hb told me to stop trying to take the passport photo because I kept making my gal cry. Fine! I am fed up with the phototaking as well.

I am also worried that my gal will fall sick once she attends playgroup next year. That is one reason why I didn't put her in playgroup this year because my bb still small, if jiejie falls sick, she will likely to kena.

Kekekke... ok ok we hug together and cry.

Morning mommies....

I was browsing the classifieds during the weekends and the prices are still very high. Dunno whether the prices are deliberately pushed up and subject to negotiation. If the price cannot be pushed down, then it is beyond my budget and no point viewing the unit already.

Anyway, is it true that the ads are usually put up be agents?

caymon

I stayed at NTUC chalet. booked through NTUC web site internet rate $100 per night
If you have islander membership, I think even cheaper

Just developed 100 over photo over the weekends.

Ads mostly put up by agents. If put up by owners, usually they will indicate 'No agent' or 'owner'

Hippo,
Oh, that is cheap. Thanks!
I'm trying to do away with the agent and my mom said the classifieds are usually agents and they will want to get commission from me.

Hippo,
You took the superior room is it? Is there fridge (with freezer) and attached toilet? Any parking available?

caymom

room with aircon & attached bathroom. comes with tv, fridge & a kettle. no hair dryer
free parking within walking distance from chalet

location quite ideal since we can access Siloso beach from its back gate.

Hippo,
Thanks for your reply!

As I need to pump milk, having a fridge is essential. Is there a freezer compartment in the fridge? I need to freeze my ice packs when I transport the expressed breastmilk back.

Is the bed in the room single or queen size? Is the carpark big enough? My hb said he heard the carpark is quite crowded.

I called one number from the classified... agent and quite an arrogant one too. He hinted that if I dun have a good budget, dun bother to view the flat. What a snob! He said the owner have not valued the flat but will definitely sell above valuation.

Btw, how to get a valuation done?

caymom

I apply for valuation online at hdb website
a valuer will call you to arrange a time to view your house

the fridge is tiny, don't think there's freezer compartment. twin bed - 2 single bed.
I went on weekdays, plenty of carpark space.

Hippo,
Tiny fridge ah... oh oh... will think about it again.

How much does the valuation costs? The agent told me that any amt above valuation have to top up with cash. What does he mean ah? Paiseh, I'm really very clueless with buying resale flats.

caymom

I forgot how much I paid for my valuation. $100+ I think. All info on hdb web. Just surf their web site

if flat valuation is $270K. Seller asking $320K. Means you need to pay cash $50K

hi mummies, can recommend me a childcare which is cheap and good?
my girl turning 18months in 5days time so i want to put her in childcare so i can concentrate on my 'online business'.
but because this can't get $150 susides so prefer a not so expensive one.

Anyone beent to Ma Kuang clinic (TCM) at Bedok Central? If yes, are the physicans good?

Thot of bring my child to seen one for his cough...

Anyone beent to Ma Kuang clinic (TCM) at Bedok Central? If yes, are the physicans good?

Thot of bring my child for his cough...

<font color="ff6000">Hippo,</font>
Sigh, no luck in my flat hunting. A lot of people asking for high cash.
Have you heard of people under-reporting the sale price and get the difference in cash from buyer? Is that legal?

How long did u opt to pay off your housing loan? I chose 30 years and my mom said I siao because interest very high.

Too stressed to think of going to Sentosa at the moment. I think I will consider that a month later.

<font color="aa00aa">xpink,</font>
You managed to find a childcare. I dunno any childcare near Chai Chee, can't help u although I heard PAP childcare is cheap. What online business you have?

caymom : yes i manage to found a childcare at chai chee area. However, my girl went for first day trial, she fall sick at night.
haiz!

so now have to wait for her recover then bring her go childcare again. If keep falling sick then i think i will look after her myself better.

PAP have childcare? I thought it was K1, K2 only?
Oh, just a small online business selling accessories~! haha
But i think i will go back work if my girl is ok in the childcare.
Will continue my online business as well lah. hee =)

xpink,
That is one of the problems of childcare... kids tend to fall sick easily. I am also concerned as next year my gal will be attending playgroup liao. Worried that she may fall sick and pass the virus to her bb sister.

My friend told me that childcare kids are stronger because they are exposed to germs and virus more but the initial period is tough.

Yes, PAP have childcare. You can refer to this website for more details. There is a childcare icon on the left side of the webpage.

Wow, accessories are interesting. Do you make them yourself? I have a cousin who enjoys making accessories but she does it for fun.

caymom : yup that's one of the problem.
thanks for the website will check it out!

oh nono, i didnt make them myself. I don't have the time to do also.
I import them from other country and sell in singapore. =)
if i have the time, i would love to make my own accessories. At least, its 1 and only accessories. hee =)

Hi wishes,

my girl just turn 18months few days ago. =)
Her trial class only few hours, to let her adapt her envoiroment and teachers.
But didn't expect that she will fall sick on that night.

How old is your girl?
Aww, fall sick almost every week is very jialat. That childcare must be not clean!

What kind of weekend play group is it?

My gal has always been taken care of by my mom but she kena HFMD before. No idea how she got it. We suspect she may get it when we bring her out over the weekends. It is just so sway lor.
Since then, my mom very against the idea of childcare because that will mean constant exposure to virus.

Hope your gal can get use to childcare and you can be relieved to concentrate on your business.

How about ur TTC plans?

caymom :
yeah. But i think i will go back to work in office. Rather than on my online business. haha.

My ttc plan is still going on!
haha.
My girl now will keep asking me to give birth a "mei mei" and play with her.
I can feel her loneliness and it makes me heartpain also.

i was told that if kids kena HFMD once, they will get it twice or 3rd time also.
Not sure if its true, so gotta becareful.
I always try to avoid going out on Sat cos very crowded.

wishes :
oh.
but quite expensive right?
I actually thought of bringing my girl to MY GYM and other playgroup as well.
But mostly the playgroup is about playing and not learning anything.

If me also working and my girl fall sick, really no one at home to help.
Cos my inlaws have their own jobs, my parents as well.
So quite a tough decisions for me also.

hi Juz Me

i nvr been to ma kuang..heard quite expensive.

i brought my bb boy to this chinese baby/children massage (Yu Guo) last 2 weeks as he was coughing quite badly. But usually for cough, the physician will recommend a 3 days massage. The massage help to losen the phelgm and expel out thru passing motion.

Heard can bring children to massage also for bao jian.

They are moving out in oct but will still ard the area.
their current location is 398 changi rd, #01-07 castle court...quite a walking distance from kembangan mrt station. Parking space quite limited.

I brought my gal to Tumbletots trial before but only have some songs, physical play. I realised my gal cannot sit still when she goes to gym class. I also brought her to Mygym and most of the time, she was roaming on her own in the gym area. Eventually, I decided to sign up membership with Gymboree because it allows me to use the gym for free play at a discounted rate. My gal enjoys the free play a lot. I think she doesn't like to be constrained in classroom environment yet.

<font color="0000ff">xpink,</font>
Your gal prefers meimei? That's what my gal wanted too but now she is forever bullying meimei.

Yes, can get HFMD again and again because there are hundreds types of virus. Amazing right. The type that my gal kena wasn't that jialat. Only ulcer on the mouth and none on the hand and feet. But that is tormenting enough for her already, cannot eat and sleep properly.

hello
bedok mummies finally alive again.

i so busy these few mth getting ready to be a full bedok's mummies. but the stupid HDB is driving me crazy wif teh delay and loan stuff.

hippo
yur current hse is bank loan or hdb loan?

caymon
so now stop hunting for hse?

caymon / xuanpink
yes kid get sick when go cc my girl start last dec and she almost on med daily for a bt 3-4 mth so heartpain but it seem so common and nrmal. doc can even tell me it part of their growing porcess. now her immune is much better can drag 3-6 mth before next doc visit. but still not very good but is better then last time see doc every week.

caymom :
yup my girl prefer a mei mei instead of didi.
haha.
next time they grow up, can communicate better. Talk about boyfriends and other stuffs. haha

wendypooh :
oh my.
my inlaws don want me put my girl in CC.
say their food must be not clean, that's why she fall sick.
ask me hire a maid instead.
But i not so stupid lor.
hire maid, we pay and the maid hav to do housework, have to look after SIL's daughter.
where got time for my girl?

i rather let her go CC.
at least she can learn something rather than everyday stuck at home and do nothing.

xpink xuanx

my elder girl also in childcare for almost 2 years even though I am a SAHM the entire time. At that time, I just delivered my 2nd child & didn't want to neglect my elder girl's learning. If she stayed home, she will be quite idle since I couldn't spend so much time teaching her. I withdrawn her when my younger girl was around 20 months old. Now she's attending kindergarten while I homeschooled my younger girl.
I don't like maid leh. not comfortable with a stranger at home plus heard too many horror stories.

caymom, wendypooh

I didn't take loan. Fully paid off my flat. If I remember correctly, 2nd flat cannot take HDB loan unless you are upgrading. 5 room to 5 room or 5 room to 4 room cannot qualify for HDB loan. What did HDB advise you?
No harm trying to appeal to HDB if they didn't grant you the loan.

<font color="ff0000">Wendypooh,</font>
Now it's seller's market. They are all asking for sky-high prices which translates to high cash. I dun have so much cash on hand. Anyway, the prices can be ridiculous. If I pay for such price, I might as well buy condo. I think I have to wait for the market to cool off first.

Girls will make better companions. Me and my sis are very close now although we used to quarrel very often before I got married.

<font color="ff6000">Hippo,</font>
Like that I can't take HDB loan liao.. most prob go for another 5-room flat and not upgrading further.

caymom

what are the asking price for Bedok 5 room now?
which cluster are you looking at?

I saw the HDB transacted price, seems not that high leh

hippo2002 : same! i don't like to hire maid also to look after my girl.

caymom :
haha same!
me & my sisters are quite close too.

Hippo,
The asking price of high floor 5-room units are above $400k. I am looking at the area near RSS.

I use blogger.com.

spagoh,

Thanks for your reply. Is the physican in Yu Gao good? How's your child cough - better after the massage?

caymom

oic, those 2 point blocks opposite RSS? I viewed the lower floors before, I don't find it worth unless super high floor. not upgraded yet

caymom, xpink

thanks for the info on blog

Hippo,
I prefer high floors. Just called one ad, low floor 5-room asking for $400k... I think that is too much.

hi Juz me

how's your child cough?

i would say its good.
his cough has improved after the recommeded no. of massages but we went back for a few more times cos we hope to clear the phelgm further.
the physician prescribed medicine - powder form for oral intake (think quite bitter but he took it) and a yao bao to place ard his belly button at nite.
now, he is much much better and 1 more packet of medicine to complete.

we brought him there cos he will spit out all the western medicine the moment we 'inject' into his mouth and his cough was quite bad. so went to this chinese physician which my gal used to go when she was younger.

how old is your child? cos sometimes quite difficult to keep them 'calm' and 'stuck' for 15-20mins in a spot. usually we give him water to distract him or u can bring his/her fav toy which shld buy.

when u free, tap the upper back with your palm - kong xin, which the physician taught us. this help to loosen the phelgm.

hope your child quickly recover from cough..its really pain to see them cough...