BEDOK mommies club

woah, readg bt sch fees reminds me to be more consistent with our CDA deposits ..

Anybdy can share tips on which brands of detergents tt is safe for bumwear diapers? I'm afraid I myt spoil the diapers wif de wrong detergent.

yawnyawn,
I give dd extra work to do every week - 2 exam papers + 1 Hao Peng You. I didn't buy any assessment books because got 1 big stack of 14 schools exam papers at home. Unless she has many homework that week then I reduce the extra work. She complain sometimes but has got used to it. I don't want her to play all day only. Waste of time.

carrie,
I still have another 2 months maternity leave. But may go back early and defer the rest of the leave.

Lin/sng mummy,
Is Bumwear good? Can wear until how old? How is it different from normal diapers? Need to wear diaper covers?

yawn
same as u, lucky my parent dun really rely on us for allowance. We give as when we like and when we can they din really fix an amt for us.

sigh I forsee my hubby 2 bro will be the same as my bro next time. Only my hubby is a mummy's boy sighhhhh sad.
next time will be a heavy burden for us. PIl had alry hinted to us next time we have to "feed" them since they help to take care of our 2 girls.

u really intend to stop yur girl from gog K2 next year?
I am stress, very high chance my elder girl will be retain in K2 meaning i have to fork out another 5K. each mth i pay $400 for her cc

wendypooh

After consideration, I plan to go ahead & confirm a place for next year. In case she changes her mind & no more vacancy then. Because her jie jie started P1 this year so she's very envious. She even suggested to me she wants to go P1 next year. I told her no such thing, must wait for her turn. She can't write very well yet, need to brush up her motor skill

Indeed primary school is the cheapest source of education, only need to pay $5.50 for misc fees each month. Preschool so expensive comparatively

Why must retain in K2 leh? Whose suggestion to retain? maybe offer your girl more external enrichments in the meantime to get her ready? Once she goes primary school, if really need more help, school also offer remedial lessons. My girl's classmates in learning support, they have extra lessons from teachers

Hi Taurus,

Can I know so far how u find the CC that u put ur boi in ?

Heard that they have 2 branches. One is at Jalan Tenaga & the other is at New Upper Changi. BTW, which branch did u enrol ur boi in?

I intend to enrol my gal into this cc once she reaches 2 years old as heard from my friend that this CC is good. They are practising Glenn Domain Philosophy & they are quite popular in the west of sg.

Too bad, they shifted if not my gf will put her 2nd child with them as her son is with them till they shifted. According to her, they still have not found any sch that is comparable to the previous one.

Need ur input so that can convince my hb to send our gal to cc when she reaches 2.

Iwg26

Wow, 2 exam paper + chinese magazine quite a lot. Your dd so good, very hardworking & cooperative.
If I ask my dd to do the same, she will hit the roof! So far she didn't practice any exam paper at all. She does some topical exercises, like 3 pages thrice a week, already complain complain complain. She's only interested in reading story books

By the way, can your dd write compo well? You let her try creative writing already?

Mine can't write leh. Every week she bring home a piece of writing from her enrichment class so I thought she has been learning some writing technique. Recently she told me it's written by teacher in class, she only copy the sentences, that's why she couldn't write on her own. Faint!

Moo moo,

I put him in K1 @ New upper changi rd (new branch). So far no complain fr my son he enjoy the sch there. the teacher tel me she is focusing alot of wrtting on my son cos his regonise of alaphbert not strong which I aggree on it. they do flash card oso singing coloring etc....

yes u r rite they hv Glenn Domain Philosophy @ west is very popular as I heard the same thing fr the teacher.

I suggest u can bring ur hubby to visit the cc so teacher can explain more to u and ur hubby.

btw where ur gf stay?? mayb I can help u to ask the teacher what r the branch they hv beside west when i pick up my son in the evening.

I'm bring Lucas to Genting tonight. Usually we drive there, this time is by coach. Lucky thing is 23 of us in the coach is my relative.
My worry is Lucas is afraid of dark, he might cry when they switch off the lights. From what i remember is they can't on the lights when they're driving, right?
Can mamas suggest what I can do if he cries non-stop.

Hi Kris,

once they going to off the light u can tell ur DS that the light is goin to off so don scare mama is with u. bringin along is favourite soft toy. do u normally give him bloster to hug wen he sleep?? if so bring it along too.

alternately, u can buy these portable light. I belive this can bring in to the coach bus.

yawn,
my younger girl used to envy her sis go to cc too till she went in april. she have a taste of it, cry everyday when i drop her.

she having occupational therapy at HPB now. base on the session feedback not very good. she is abt 1 yr behind time based on her age. her motor skill not gd too cant write properly.
so very high chance will retain.
she is attending speech and drama lessin in cc

Taurus,
Can share what your child does in the CC? How's the environment and teachers? Is he on full day? I am thinking ahead for my baby. Actually wanted to put him in infantcare. But very bu she de, afraid that he will fall sick often. Plus I feel he gets more stimulation at home. My kids do flash cards with him, read stories and sing songs to him when they are home. It's good bonding if he stays home.

Yawn,
If you did not give your girl assessment, then how does she pass time in the morning? My gal can finish 1 test paper within 20 min so I feel that it's not demanding to do 2 test papers a week. My girl wakes up at 9am and have 3 hours before school bus arrives at 12pm+. If I don't give her any work, she can spend whole morning lazing.

re: compo
She can write short compo but always forget capital letter, puntuation and her grammar / spelling is terok. During exam, sure kena minus all the marks. I'm training her to write in proper short sentence first. Cannot depend on her group tuition as I feel it's mostly "copy copy copy". I may want to withdraw her next year and do some personal coaching. Recently, I met a friend whose son is in Temasek Pri. Their standard of English is high and have Compo for exam for the recent mid-year exam.

Iwg,

Can email u my son time table on monday??

He told me that he do art & craft singing, wrtting, flashcard n story telling. the teacher are very patient. no matter i encounter any prob with my son the teacher will advise me how to tackle him.

I oso don agree u to put him in the infant @ such small age if your maid can handle him together with the two olders one.

Iwg26

I'm also looking around for other enrichment center. The current center is good for preschoolers but once reach primary level, seem not much value add.

In the morning, I usually sit with her to read Chinese. Before K2, she can hardly recognise any Chinese character, can't even catch up in Berries K1 class when I sent her for a trial. So my main focus is in recognising Chinese characters.

She's not the auto pilot type, very slow snail in fact, so even though actual time required maybe only 20 minutes, she would waste first 15 minutes whining, then touch pencils erasers dilly dally until I'm on the verge of losing my patience then she start doing. Do 2 questions want to chit chat with me, do 1 more question want to chit chat again. I really fuming sometimes. If I walk away, worst, she started reading story books!

Hubby said I too nice to her liao, that's why no control over her.

Yawn2,

wanna to try mind strecher @ tamp. i see alot of pri sch children having their tution in this ctr

Anxylyn,
I haven started clothdiaperg yet. Only juz rcvd my order frm Bumwear. Smhw wanted to do my bit in 'saving gaia' by reducing usage of disposables. To de amusemt of DH cos it was not too long ago dat i scoffed at de idea of washg nappies. i read gd reviews of bumwear so decided to try. felt so 'suaku' cos didnt knw dat cloth diapers have evolved. still rmbr de days of folding my lil bro's cloth napkins n threateng him wif de nappy pin if he dared to make things diff for me by squirmg.

yawn yawn,
good that ur girl likes to read. maybe u could create activities based on de current book she's readg or her fav bk. it'll be a welcome change frm doing assessmt/test papers. also, the activity can serve as reward for doing assmt papers

Yawn,
Same. My gal also can spend whole morning reading story books, from the time she wakes up, she will pick up a book. I'm trying to set a timetable for her to observe. If no one remind her, I think she can read from 9am to 12pm. We say she is book worm and my boy is TV addict.

Yawn Yawn,
Haha, I think I very lazy leh. Everytime I teach my gal for 5 mins or 10 mins, I get so bored liao. I only do simple things like sing to her, point to her eyes, nose etc to her. That all. *Guilty* Cos I see some mummies who can flash card 3 times wif their babies a day. Or plan 2-3 activities with their babies like art etc, but I just lazy. I got her the aqua doodle, den she make my house so wet, I ended up wif extra work to clean the plan. Haiz, I think I can get the laziest mummy award liao.

Recently I am so hooked on the FB games until my hb n I played until 5am den sleep. Jia liat rite? Lucky hb is self-employed, dun need to report to boss, else sure be the first to kanna retrenchment now. Think yesterday nite as fate would have it, internet down, both of us no choice but to sleep at 2.

Xueyi,
Come and take frm me loh. U have my no rite? U juz gimme a call or sms me when u wanna pick up. If I going out in e evening, I'll let u know.

How heavy is ur boy now? My gal tt time 6kg when I used the sling I already wanna surrender le. Or mayb cos I tried it wrongly.

Haha, U no time to flash e card nt u dun want to mah. Cos u gotta handle 2 kids leh. I know I nv flash is becos I am lazy. That day her daddy packed n saw e cards n he was shaking head n asking me when I am gonna make e cards. Haiz...

Lin,
Wah, U can take it ah. Bjorn very nice to use rite?

Sorry ladies, If i missed out I come back again. My gal up liao.

Hi mummies how's everybody?

HAHA Tinkerbelle, I also get hook on FB games leh. What u have been playing. I am hooked on the farm Town. If don't mind can I add u in as friend.

Flashcard- I also don't flash to my little gal leh, I find it too young to flash to her.

Bjorn sling- I own one but I find it too small liao. Still prefer MIM Sling.

I play Mafia Wars

My 2 older boys recovering from chicken pox. The 'best' part is that they got it cos I brought ds2 to the doc to get de c.pox jab last wk. He then developed a fever 3 days later. The next day, de rashes broke out all over both arms. 2 days later, ds1 (who got the jab last year) also had fever, and rashes broke out the next day. His is slightly worse, cos tho the rashes are not too close together, they are all over his body, even ard the mouth and in the mouth. Been refusing to eat.

Now most of the rashes are dried up already. So glad. Also glad that my baby is ok so far.

Dory, Lin,

I play Restaurant City, Mafia Wars! Muahaha. COme come, we add each other leh. I PM u my email add to add me in FB. :p

Dory,
Farm town I very sian leh, cos i nv monitor my veges, always go to waste one. Haiz. Den my frnd ask me to play Happy Farm, ended up my veges oso kanna stolen. Muahaha...

U power leh, can use MIM sling. My MIM sling is e white elephant now. Tot of selling it. My hb nagging me, cos tt time he drove me to buy one, den somemore the person said silk is most cooling for baby so we ended up paying 49.90 for e silk one n I dunno how to use. I now using Pupsik. Very gd!

Lin,
My gal oso got Chicken Pox earlier this yr. She caught it frm my nephew staying wif me tt time. They refuse food becos the throat is very sore. Just let them be, 2-3 days when it's less sore, then they'll eat liao.

Personally I think they get the chicken pox now is better than when they are older. Cos the scars will nt stay as the skin will stretch, and also they'll nt miss exams. I got chicken pox 11 days before my PSLE wor. That time I almost had to take my PSLE in e hospital lo.

U monitor ur baby, dun let ur sons touch him cos the virus is passed through skin contact n the virus stays inside e body 2 wks before they officially outbreak. So keep ur baby away frm them.

Imagine tt time I ran after my nephew with a dettol cloth after everything he touch but my gal still kanna cos her immune system is poor... So play safe wor.

Dory,
U cannot accept PM! U PM me ur email add ok?

Tarus,
I used to teach PT at Mind Strecher Bishan. That was like in 2002 or 2003, Cannot remember liao. Haha. That time the resources they used are all frm assessment book one. I heard later they got the resources from Past Year Paper... But overall the teacher there not bad one, and the principle got screen through the quality of the teacher.

Hi PrincessOctober

the chicken pox injection doesn't mean you won't get chicken pox. Just that in event you got it, the breakout will be much lesser.

I had the injection more than 10 yrs ago while I was still in school. So far I haven't gotten it yet

Hi Taurus,
Can email me your son time table at cc? Can share more about this childcare, a bit worry as the whole center is less than 10 children. But if averagely good i might consider as my in law staying at blk 65. Thanks!

anxlyn
wow yur girl very good leh can read so well.
both mine backside can sit for 5 min, so dun mention read book.
how u manage to get her do that?

Lin,
my 2 girls and hubby just recover from chk pox in June too.
By abt 3 rd day they should be able to drink and eat a bit

Tinkerbella
Hi-5 i use to hook on FB games too. Hubby and I playing Pet Society haha we both can be crazy till we cna chat and chat on the game hahaa...

hope all are well!
have been reading thru emails as no access in office SMH website.
today on sick leave at home.

think was stress over my ds cc the last week.
last week was ds first 3 days in cc.
decided to withdraw him.
i am contemplating to enrol him in Pre-Nursery next year.
can mummies advise me on these 2 kindies.
anyone knows if the kindies provide transport?
1. Bedok Lutheran Church Kindergarten
2. Bedok Methodist Church Kindergarten

TIA and Thanks very muchie

Hi Luvet,

U are rite the ctr currently less than 10 children including my son. according to the supervior she say there are somemore children comming in. sure. Give me your email add I will scan and email to you.

my son told me that he do art & craft singing, wrtting, flashcard n story telling. the teacher are very patient & caring.
The infor abv are last wk lesson
If u wan more detail one i will explain to u aft i email u the time table

Hi spagoh,

just out of curiousty why u wan to w/d him out??

As for the kiddie u mentioned I had heard alot of gd feedbk on both sch

hi spagoh

my gal is in bedok lutheran church... they do provide sch bus to kids who need it.... jus tat i m not sure of the cost... cos we usually walk my gal to sch...

u not feeling well? better take good care ah... weather nowadays hot very hot... n sometimes rain... haiz...

hi Taurus

my reasons cld be rather subjective, very individual. in general, the teaching style, the way they handle the children are not quite align with my expectations.

thanks carrie. headache over how to settle or make arrangement for my boy to attend school now/next year to learn smth rather than staying at home watching tv, doing nothing.

think the youngest age to enrol pre school is 3 years old and i have missed boat to register Bethesda Bedok. Thus desperately looking at alternative before no more choices.

how do u find Bedok Lutheran Church kiddie, the teachers, program?
u children enjoy the classes?
i likely require a transport otherwise i also duno how to make the arrangement possible.

spagoh,
Can try Bedok Methodist church kindy and Bethesda Chapel Church. They both have pre nursery class.

Wendypooh,
From young, I read a lot of books to her so she loves reading. We go to library every week to borrow new books. But somehow her writing skill still very terok, I don't know why. Maybe just speed reading but never absorb.

I notice girls like reading more than boys. My boy doesn't really read but he gets positive influence from the sister and will sit still to read a book (sometimes). Most of the time, he run, jump, climb around the house. Last time he was quieter don't know what happen now become v active. Give me headache. That day he ate biscuits and then play w my bb without washing his hands. The bb's head was filled with biscuits crumbs. Another day, my girl drank water next to the bb and spill water on his face. Some water went to his nostrils and the poor baby shrieked and cried out of shock.

spagoh,
Forgot to add, both kindy I mentioned has schoolbus. My neighbor's kids attended Bedok Methodist whereas my girl attended Bethesda Chapel (near Kembangan MRT) few years ago.

Thanks Anxylyn.
any idea how much is the school bus?
do we have to pay the school bus for Jun and Dec?
am staying at Bedok North Ave, wonder if Kembangan would be too far.
needs to get votes from PIL and hubby.

Hi spagoh,
Since no matter which kindy you enrol need to take sch bus, perhaps could call up the bus driver to enquire the cost and estimated journey time. Assume you shortlist a few, you can then decide based on cost and convenience.

Sometimes, being the nearest need not mean the first to alight or the cheapest bus fare as some bus driver drop off those which are further away. When my girl was at Bethesda Chapel 3 yrs ago, the bus took 15 min to bring her home and cost $70 (she was the 3rd to alight). Another kindy she went to at Upp East Coast (near Bayshore) is much nearer, takes 10 min but cost $95.

Did you consider Bethesda Katong? Heard that it's v popular.

WendyPooh,
^5, my hubby n I now oso chat on the FB games, esp e mafia wars.

The FB games alot of hacks n cheats one. Den he kuku always go n find n level up very fast, den tempt me to outdo him. Urgh....

anxylyn
see yur post, i so guilty. i seldom read to my girls. every day after go home eat dinner wash up alry so late and tired.
tink i really need to buck up stop being a lousy and lazy mum.

wow poor baby leh, I dont allow my girls to eat ard the house except at dining table.

I also feel guilty towards my son, so tired after one whole day at work, after washing up & preparing the next day's lunch to work, it'll be quite late liao. Then need to bf my girl, no time to play with him at all. Y'day he don't wanna eat dinner & he played with his food, so i scolded him. He told me he like his ah gong more.. =(

That's the woes of working mum... Feel like 24 hr not enough. Very guilty must chase my kids to finish food, pack bag, do homework. Not much time to play w them except on weekends. Sometimes I wonder work so hard and yet no time to be loved ones, it's so ironical.

Wendypooh,
Reading is quite fast. Just 2 short story books before bedtime take about 10 min. Also become a time for me to chat w them before they go to bed. Now I only read chinese books as they can read English on their own. Occasionally, when I am really tired, I ask dd1 to read to ds2 while I snooze next to them. Haha. Also consider family time.

Ya loe. But if don't work and stay at home with them all day, they don't appreciate us and we might be bored too. Plus not enough money!