BEDOK mommies club

HI Hippo,

Thanks for the info. I was thinking of St Hilda's sch - we will be at Phase 2B (church affilated). I understand even at Phase 2b, there might by a balloting if demand is more than supply.

The other one which I am thinking is St Andrew (my hubby - ex-student). I think securing a place should not be a problem... but too far away leh...

How about you?

I called St Hilda's to enquire last year. yeah, I was told parent volunteers need to ballot
since I'm outside 1 km, I didn't consider St Hilda's. are you within 1km?

I have no affliation leh. my primary school is merged into Bedok Green now. so I have to do volunteer work to be in phrase 2B. I will only consider volunteer work for school within 1 km. really waste of effort if ended up in phrase 2B balloting & kanna ballot out ! at least within 1 km, will have priority even if ballot, unless all parent volunteers are within 1 km lah

my selection criteria is very simple. I wanted a house near my parents. so the school must be near my house and my parents' too. everything must be within walking distance. didn't want my girl to take school bus so that I can sleep later especially for morning sessions. hehe, I'm a lazy mommy, everything must be near near

primary school is my favourite topic this year, pardon me for rambling....

re: phrase 2C balloting

the way I see it, there is an opportunity cost in balloting
we can only register for one school on enrolment day. if ballot & can't get into 1st choice school, while 2nd & 3rd choice schools are all fully taken up on the same day, then really stuck with limited choices, can only enrol in those 'left over' ones leh

my hubby's friend bought a condo in Bishan next to a school but because of balloting, his son didn't get a vacancy. The other nearby schools were also taken up. He ended up in a 'left over' primary school much further away, really frustrating leh

he regretted not doing volunteer work because previous years statistics 1 km no need to ballot. that's why we learnt from his experience.

if the school is just downstairs, safer to do volunteer work regardless of previous year statistics. for my convenience & beauty sleep the next 8 years (my girls age 2 years apart), I would rather be more hardworking the next 1 year. although volunteer doesn't guarantee a place but at least I try my best lor

Hippo,

Don't think is within 1 km... Understand you just shifted recently to Bedok. Just checking with you, is it a HDB flat? If yes,how much do you pay for your unit. I am currently staying with my MIL but I have my own flat in Sengkang. Have not stayed there since day 1. Currently, thinking of renting it out....

My dh and myself thinking should we buy a resale unit near MIL or shift back to Sengkang. (We still need my MIL to take care of my children)....

Hippo.. haha.. that was my favourite topic last year. i went thru parent volunteer work and still wasn't granted a space.

juz me, errr.. i thought St hilda's is a girls school and St Andrew is a boy's school...

Nicky's mom
oh gosh! which school is it (if convenient to disclose) ?

St Hilda's is a mixed school. my girlfriend bought a house near St Hilda's even before she is pregnant!

most schools in Bedok need balloting under phrase 2C. the handful that don't need to ballot must be unpopular for some reasons.
we just wanted a neighbourhood school downstairs also so tough

Juz me
mine is a 5 room. there is only 2 unit on each floor, like having private lift access
we paid close to $300K but basic condition so need to spend another fortune to re-do whole house

Sembawang area couldn't fetch good price even though the flats are so new. didn't even recover my renovation cost. Furthermore, Bedok area need to pay above valuation for almost 30 years old flat

we also 'kan kai' lah. It's the convenience that counts. many good schools here and most importantly my parents are nearby

Hi Sorceror,

Me quite like the place, but can't take it whenever there is soccer match at the stadium...so noisy...

Hi Christina,

Would love to meet up for our babiess to play but my gal seems too young...

Hi Wendy,

Congra for being shortlisted

Hi Hippo,

You mentioned your daughter will be having intensive swimming lessons this June. Could you kindly share abit more details on this.... I am toying the ideas to let my elder ds to learn swimming and still thinking....

christina
sorry i got yur name rightly. hope we can shift there soon and all bb can meet up.

nicky
i feed back to teacher oh on the aroma ting but dun worry i din tell her who u r keke just a feedback to her on this matter. she wan me to convey her apologies to the the mummy who encounter tis. she will remove tis aroma (bel air)from the room.

claris
in fact soem time back there is a thread talking abt tis sch. a few of them having bad experience there. due to the exterior playground, my niece had a bad fall and cut her face. in the end she had a few stitches ard her eye ard.
2 other of my friend withdraw thier kid from there. my niece and other kids later switch to my girl sch. U can go there and have a visit and see how is it now cos tat was abt 2 yr back incident.

janet
thank for the well wishes, hope to see u all soon. any one stay at blk 181?

hippo
u make a lose too? i will have the same problem worst o still need to pay levy. tat why I downgraded to 4 rm haha

just me
which part yur mil stay? me too stay at punggol but most of the tiem not there cos our kids is wif MIL at bedok so we choose to shift back here.

primary sch
wow all of u so fast looking for one. my sis so lucky she just stay next to Temasek and both her kids just went in so smoothly. Lucky i join volounteer service at cc and hope in future my girl will get in easy

hippo
u from bedok south pri?

hi wendy,

thanks a lot for sharing..... really sounds scary, kids having cuts on their faces

i actually plan to send my girl only for the afternoon half day after the nap time, meaning only going for the arts & craft + music lessons... hopefully they dont bring her outdoors

actually my purpose is for her to interact with kids of her age, cos she stays with my parents-in-laws, a grandma and an uncle.... all "old" people

wish me luck!

Wendy, hehe.. i think she know who mentioned it cos the other day when i was at the school, i also expressed my concerns over the smell.. hehe

Juz me, mine also 5 room. same same, only 2 units on each floor, but no private lift access yet but heard it's on the way.. i think need to wait for 5yrs lah..haha.. we paid 247k + 1K(above valuation) if i did not remember wrongly and the house was in empty condition. Moved in with min. reno, spent slightly below 10k on reno and all funiture.. Mine's a 23yrs old flat but i like it cos it's near to my parents and it's among the biggest floor area for 5A units in Singapore so my kids can run around. I have min funiture in the living room too.. just sofa sitting on the floor and the rest are hanging on the walls.. hehe

claris
not to worry too much cos playground tiem are usually morning.

nicky
so sorry abt tat i din know u mention to her. well she accept and agreed the point u mention and in fact she thanks us for the great feedback and allow them to improve. Mrs Oh is the type tat like feedback and willing to make changes.
so have u enrol yur kids in any sch?

hey u pay such a low price for 5 rm? now bedok area 4rm alry tis amt leh. My current hse oso very empty cos kid friendly haha

Wendy,
My MIL staying in Bedok North Ave 1 near Shing Seng.

Nicky,
Can share where is your area? $247K is consider cheap for 5 room flat?

In 2009, my ds will be in Pri 1. I think we will still space if the kids are in Primary school... but still have not thot of when is the best time to shift and stay on our own. Hee... pretty comfy to stay with ILs. However, they are hinting we should have our house on our own.... ;p

WEndy / Juz me, cos mine is Chai Chee and not Bedok.. It's quite a distance if u want to walk to the main road and there is no MRT station here mah.. Actually we also quite surprise that the valuation came out so low.

Wendy, ya.. registered my boy in a CC at Siglap.. Jeet's schoolhouse..

No worries Wendy,it is ok.Alot of people always call me christine too.blk 181 and blk 182 are recently open for balloting so there are not many occupiers in these 2 blks.

Nicky's mom
$247K is really good buy leh, when did you buy your flat?

my flat also not near MRT but still need to pay almost $10K above valuation
the other unit I like (same block as my parents), another buyer paid $23K above valuation. we gave up, how to go into price war?

Hippo, we bought end of dec last year and completed the signing 2 days after CNY this year.

Originally, seller wanted 10k above valuation but dunno what my agent did, i told he the max we would offer is 3-5k above valuation.. Then that very evening, he came back saying seller agree to sell 1k above valuation so we quickly signed the forms before they change their mind.. There were another 3 parties interested in the house too at that time and the valuation report wasn't out yet..

Nicky's mom
hehe, this is called affinity with the house. my house had another keen buyer too. but they couldn't agree on the price with the seller. although we only offered $1k higher than that buyer, the seller sold to us. so lucky :eek:)

Kiran
I buy & sell without agents. didn't pay commission to any agents. you just need a witness with you when you sign OTP. the paperwork is very simple. all the info is on hdb website, just read up

juz me
I called the CC today to enquire about the intensive swimming course at Bedok swimming complex (starting 29 May every Tue/Thu) but was told there is zero participant. they will not commence the class unless there are at least 8 kids.

what other enrichment classes is your boy attending?

wendypooh
I was from Bedok View primary. merged into Bedok Green

hehe, was asking my mom why she didn't send me to a better primary school like St Hilda's or Temasek or Red Swastika or Yu Neng or Tao Nan, then I can relax now mah

which primary school were you from?

hehe Janet, yeah when there's sorcer matches, it tends to be a noisy at times, bet your flat must be facing the stadium.
Mine's away from it so not much harm done.
Kinda happy with my existing flat though i have my eyes on the new one near pizza hut, doubt i can ballot for that and sell off this in time.
LOL

hi Hippo, u finding swimming lesson for your gal is it?

i'm interested too!!!wanting my gal to pick uo swimming... but can only afford once a week... dont mind joining u....

so are yr gal due for this coming july P1 reg?

Hippo,
Which CC did you enquire about the swimming? How much is the lesson?

My ds enrichment course: Chinese, English, Art and Craft and Music.

How about your girls?

Dorothy/Hippo,
Maybe we can engage one swimming coach and share the cost?

hippo
i was from Bedok Primary but close down alry now the site is taken up by Bedok South Secondary,

my sis was form Red Swastik but her sis was not enrol there she palce them at Temasek cos walk downstair only haha..

u buy and sell yur hse wifout agent? how u find seller and buyer ah.

Juz me

it's Fengshan CC Tel 64495136

there is another coach teaching Mon/Wed/Fri 4:30-6pm but timing not suitable for me. was told the response is much better for that class so likely to start

my 5 years old girl attends Kumon thrice a week. She's also taking Arts and gynmnastic once a week

where is your son taking English/Chinse/Arts/Music?

Where is he attending his kindergarten? PAP?

Dorothy

your girl in P1 now? did you do volunteer work to enrol her?
my girl is due for registration in 2008

by the way, are the kids required to know multiplications in P1?

great idea!
do you know of any swimming coach who teaches at Bedok swimming complex?

Wendypooh

for current resale value, you can check hdb web site so you know what price to market your house

I had a valuation done and advertised on Saturday Straits Times once. Sold my house within 10 days. received 2 offers. I indicated 'owner' in my ad to attracts calls from direct buyers too
The agent only collected commission from his buyer. he didn't represent me, I did the price negotiation and paperwork myself. the agent was quite cooperative, just wanted to close the deal. if he didn't hold on to his buyer who liked my house, he gained nothing too

I looked up advert and response to the ad when searching for a house. Just tell the agent I represent myself, they can treat as co-broke if they want. since they also don't get commission if another agent accompany me, no difference to them lah. just make sure you have a witness with you when you intend to sign OTP so that the agent can't use that as an excuse to charge you commission by acting as your witness. I did the paperwork myself too

anything that I am not sure, I call HDB hotline to ask lor. very simple lah

Hi Hippo,

Manage to get the swimming coach contact number from Eleanor (one of the mummy in this forum). I have spoken to William, he said if we get gather 4 kids, he is willing to come to Bedok swimming complex. His fee is $50.00 for 4 lessons. (Currently, he is teaching at Tampines).

My ds is attending Arts in nearby CC, Chinese in Tampines CC, Music at Yamaha Tampines.

I have come across some of your threads in other topics, I have feeling my ds is attending the same centre as your DD2.

Hippo, nope.. p1 no need to do multiplications. but funny thing was sam learned that in k1 when he was with the childcare.. BTW, how's kumon? i thought of letting sam go for the classes but cannot find a slot for his busy schedule on sat or sun.. according to my mum, they give the same worksheet till the child memorise it izzit?

Juz me, i also interested in the swiming lessons.. will he be teaching over weekends? err.. can start in july not cos i june should be on confinement. if cannot july, then in june only sunday afternoon around 4 or 5pm then i can make it.. BTW, how many lessons they need? 12 lessons?

Nick,

You are giving birth soon

For swimming, I have not given much thots of which day yet...I have to discuss with my dh and ds (My ds is water phobic) I have asked William, he said the number of lessons very much depends on the child. For an average child, he/she can master basic swimming in half a year time... however, he has one child with him for 9 months and still has not learnt how to swim....

hippo,
oncei cfm get buyer can i call u and ask u guide me? cos hubby have a friend tat might wan to buy
how to know how much to ask for cash $$?
witness can find anyone friend can?
u very smart leh do all urself

hippo, ya. she is in pri 1. no, i din do any volunteer work but i got in in phase 2b. her school used to be at UBi, then now at temp location at circuit rd.

i think in the 2nd half of the p1, they are required to learn multipication. but my gal also learnt them in K2... but hor, i think she returned them to her teacher...

hippo, juz_me,Nick_mom,

i dont mind joining the swimming lesson.

Juz me
your son at Tampines Central cc?
hehe, maybe in same class. there are 3 boys all 5 years old in my younger girl's class

how is Yamaha? I am thinking of letting my younger girl attend next year, when she turns 4 years old. Did you try Seimpi?

Wendypooh
I get a relative to act as my witness.
check hdb web site for current resale value in your estate. best is to call hdb hotline. they are very helpful and the right person to advice you.
Or you can still engage an agent just to do paperwork. should be very much cheaper since he spent no effort in finding a buyer for you

re: swimming instructor
my girl's weekend timing quite packed. most likely have to be Sunday late afternoon like 5pm. how long is his lesson?

right now I'm paying $65 for 10 hours at CC but group size around 8-10 kids. my girl attended 20 hours already, can swim a little without float but still long way to go to really know how to swim. her teacher is also teaching at tampines, not sure whether she can come to Bedok for regular lessons. Let me check with her the price for 4 kids and let you gals know

Hippo,

Not too sure if that CC is Tampines Central? (not familiar with Tampines) Yes, I understand there are 3 boys and 1 girl in the class. If it is the same one, its such a small world...Hee....

I think for me, Sunday late afternoon is out as he maybe quite tired after his Chinese class. The coach mentioned the duration - 1 hour.

Actually, I did not do any reseach, I just enrolled him for Yamaha... So far, I find Yamaha, quite good. However, not too sure my ds will continue as he is having "fun" in playing the keyboard but not the interest to learn to play properly...

Till now, I have yet to find what is his interest lie besides playing with his toys - power ranges, ultraman, bionicles stuff....not forgetting he can watch cartoons the whole day (not too good)...

There is something I would like to ask you about the Chinese, I know you do not accept pm, hence, could you pls pm me. Thanks...

Mummies out there,

What activities do your kids like? I know my nephew enjoys drawing and he has a flair for that..

re: swimming lesson

aiya, think I can't join your gals. discussed with my hubby, he is not keen to add any more activities because the kids already have 4 enrichment classes on weekend

Juz me
did you see a chubby girl? hehe, then must be my younger girl lor. I always bring her to class, we can say hello when we meet :eek:)

by the way, where is your boy taking English? same centre?

I let my girl trial for 1 English lesson, didn't enrol because we felt that she needs Chinese more than English. I have been teaching her phonics the last few months although her progress is quite slow. she learnt faster from watching DVDs.

Hippo,

For English, we engage a private tutor to teach him.

I seldom bring him to class. If I happen to be there, will say HI when we meet

Which Kumon centre did your daughter attend?

met my elder girl's PAP teacher today. feedback my girl is very outspoken in class and has strong leadership qualities. she has been helping her teacher with duties and conveying instructions to her classmates

I was quite surprised to hear that. In my view, she is an introvert. when she attends MacDonald party or Chinese Dance or gymnastics, she is not willing to participate and refused to follow the activities along with other children. Quite anti-social leh

The teacher commented she is quite popular in her group of friends. However, she should venture out & mix with more kids rather than sticking to those few friends in the group

how to encourage her to mix with other children? I know she likes to form clique. have been telling her to mix around more since day 1 of school but she still ended up in clique.

Did any mommies get any great deal during GSS?

I bought 4 blouses today at Tampines Mall and Compass point.I usually start shopping on 1st day and finished all my shopping by 3rd day. But this year I was so tied up, no time to shop till today. I prefer to shop on weekdays because weekends are always so crowded. don't know how to browse slowly with so many people leh

hehe, plan to continue tomorrow at Bugis Juction and Vivo city. hopefully the popular sizes are still available

Just recently went to Robinson to get a pair of pants for my Dad (they have very good pants and cheap too) and a blouse for myself and some games for my children. I am working in town and probably will try to shop during my lunch time

My ds recently got his progress report. The teacher commented he is inattentive in class. Tends to chit chat in class....it also happen to his Chinese class last week - inattentive... scolded him....hopefully, he will improve...

Hippo,

Your ds - display leadership quality and outspoken - very good! Wish my ds have these qualities, he is pretty introvert and timid... trying to "train" him to be outspoken...

How to encourage/train a child to be outspoken? Can it be done or is it a in born thingy?

Juz me

she's so quiet at social activities that I thought she is an introvert all these while

because of that, we sent her to Speech & Drama and Chinese Dance to engage her in group activites, hoping she can 'open up' a little

just the other week, she refused to participate in the dance moves at MacDonald party. another RC party, she dare not raise her hand to participate in a competition even though she told me she wanted to participate. still find it hard to believe she is outspoken in class when she is so shy & self-conscious everywhere else. maybe she's only outspoken in familiar environment

she is a responsible girl though. any tasks that I asked her to carry out, she will do it. So I do believe she enjoys helping teacher with duties

re: inattentiveness
maybe your son is tired? my younger girl is also inattentive whenever she's tired or missed her nap. Actually the class timing sucks.

the teacher is free from 11:30am. I heard some parents wanted to bring forward to 12pm but not sure why the center fix it at 2pm.
12pm would be a much better time for the child to get the most out of the lesson.

where are all the other mommies ??
come & chat leh

Nicky's mom
have you delivered your baby? wish you a smooth delivery !