Avent ISIS IQ Duo /Uno

ruggles

I am looking to get a breast pump and was looking at the Avent ones. I'm hoping to get the electric pump so as to save some time.
Are they convenient to use? What about the manual ones, do they really make you pump until the hand aches?

I appreciate any comments on the ISIS pumps.

Hi ruggles,

If you're considering the new Isis IQ Duo, I think it's a brilliant pump that u can opt to use the electrical mode or manual mode. It was launched in the UK, shortly after I've stopped pumping using the manual Isis pump. Yup, my hands do ache at times, but it takes little practice to get it right for you.

You can also check with Mothercare (S'pore) or AVENT website: www.avent.com

Hope that helps

Thanks gendon,
I saw the duo at a few places and realised that they are really expensive. About S$875. Now I am considering the Ameda one. Have you used that before? It is half the price of the Avent.

Hi ruggles,

Wow! I didn't know the price is that steep! No, I've not used Ameda ones before. Since I'm still a SAHM & my son hates bottles, I don't have other reasons to buy the electric pumps for now.

Yupz, that's I'm having second thoughts.

What's your advice on getting a pump? Should I get it before I deliver or later? Cos some people told me that the pump can't really stimulate milk flow, it has to be natural suckling that does it. I hope I can BF, and won't spend money on a pump and then realise that either I've got no milk or baby refuses to drink it..

It's better to get the sturdy, reliable pump before you deliver. And at least you will have enough time to go thru the instructions & learn to unassemble/assemble the parts quickly. If you have big breasts (40DD when give birth) like me, Avent is definitely the one to get.

In my experience, the baby's natural suckling is still the best to stimulate milk flow, provided the baby's latching correctly. I can still remember the time when I totally forgot to pack my pump in my hospital bag. I only realised it when I packed my bags for hospital discharge. I was too busy TBF my baby at that time. I think it was a blessing in disguise bcos my milk came in on the 4th day after giving birth.

I use the Avent ISIS bcos i like the petal massage cushion, it's wide and snug enough for my nipples, areolas and easy to assemble. I decided not to get the japanese brands bcos the funnels are not wide enough, too small for my nipples and areolas.

I found out last wk from a friend that her cheap Tollyjoy pump broke after she used it for abt a week! Me & my friends who r Avent pumpers are shocked until today we're still puzzled how that pump can break. Another friend who gave birth 4 mnths after me gave up using her Pigeon pump after two days as its funnel didn't fit her big breasts well and she found it difficult to achieve the let down effect quickly. So I gave her an Avent ISIS pump as a present and she loved it.

Here's some tips (tried & tested):
- If you intend to bf & you have written a birth plan, u can clearly state in it that you want TBF only, nothing else such as pacifiers, formula milk, water, etc. Most of my friends who simply tell nurses/midwives that they want to breastfeed, they were surprised when their babies were fed formulas in the nursery. They realised it only when they ask me abt it & I tell them that TBF means total bf, nothing else. And that BF means bf with formula supplements.
- As soon as you give birth, get midwife to guide & help you bring baby to breast & correctly latch on, preferably within one hour of birth. During this magic hour, the baby's more alert & has good suckling reflex. After that, usually baby too sleepy & exhausted to nurse.
- Baby rooming-in with you helps you to get started in bf easier. Your body will naturally & quickly respond when your baby's in the same room with you. Such babies usually cry lesser bcos the mother responded faster.
- Get help from a lactation consultant when you're still in hospital, if you encounter bf problems. This way, you can pinpoint problems earlier.
- If you gave birth after c-section on general anastethia, it's best to initiate bf as soon as you wake up. Get midwife or nurse to help you to hold baby to latch as your arms maybe too weak to hold, and best to nurse on side lying position (this tip I got from a midwife and a friend).
- TBF babies usually feed every 1 or 2 hrs in the first few mnths, so it helps a lot that if you're mentally prepared for it.
- Unless you're willing to do manual hand expression every time, it is better to get a manual pump in case your breasts get engorged.
- If you heard people say that crying is gd for baby's lungs, it actually total BS. In fact, it makes a baby more exhausted, tense and less interested to nurse.
- Babies get smarter by the day. Once they learn that bottles is lot easier to get milk, they usually stick to it. If you intend to bf and work, make sure that your bf is established first and then slowly introduce the bottle.
- If you bottlefeed first and then try to bf, it's a lot harder to get back to bf and it will take a lot more of grit, determination & patience.
- If you tell yourself that u got no milk, your milk flow will stop. I've got many friends who experienced that.

I hope I'm not too longwinded to share all these. I was just trying to recall my breastfeeding experiences
and I'm very happy that my son (17.5 mnths old) is still bf to date. So, when is your EDD?

Hey gendon,
thanks a lot. I appreciate it. It takes a lot of effort to type all this out!! =]

I'm not well-endowed.. so no worries about funnel size hahah... i still look around for the pumps but the Avent electric is really out of my price range.

I don't think I will be able to BF for anything more than a year as I will definitely have to rtn to work after a max of 6 mths. But I'll try to do so for as long as possible I think. Do you feed directly most of the time? I think if I were to continue BF i'll probably have to pump and store, esp when I go back to work. And I would think an electric pump is more logical as it'll save me time when I pump at work or early in the mornings.

My EDD is 02 Jun 2006. Excited and scared at the same time...

Hi ruggles, if your boss is agreeable, you can pump in the office too. I have asked my boss for the permission to use the filing room to express my milk after I return from my ML and he is ok with it. I love my Ameda dual pump cos I find it difficult to have a second let down if I use a single pump. Avent Manual is quite good too but I am too lazy and it has quite a number of parts to assemble. If uscared not enough milk, u can try to borrow a pump from friends first.

Hi ruggles,

For the first 6 mnths I pumped, apart from direct feeding. After that when my son started solids, I didn't pump anymore as my milk supply established and not breasts not so hard in early mornings anymore.
I agree with MH abt getting the electric ones, especially when u have to go back to work. It's a lot faster.

Hi MH,

I will be able to express when I get back to work, cos my colleagues are doing that as well. It's just that I wonder if I will be able to keep it up, with the rushing in between breaks to express milk. I'm teaching btw. =]

Another question now is that shld I get a manual pump first and try or don't waste money and go straight to an electric pump. My colleagues have recommended the Ameda as well.

My sis actually has the avent manual and she finds it ok for her, but she's having a baby at about the same time as me, so I don't think I can borrow from her. I think I'll purchase cos pumps are very personal items leh.. like bras...
the question is which one to get... what if after I get and for some reason I cannot BF?

how about u try to breastfeed first after ur child is born? there will be ample time for u to buy the pump during ur ML?

Hi MH,
Yah, i hope to be able to BF fully, and not needing to pump. But sounds quite idealistic ?!?.. Just trying to explore all my options.

To all:
thanks for all your patience and advice. Really appreciate them. Kinda lost about what to do... haha...

hi ruggles
me tbf all my 3 kids so it is not idealistic lah but muz hv mental preparation not easy lor... esp i do it on demand basis... siong leh... now still panda eyes..... but though i tbf at times i still hv to pump out during my 2nd month onwards coz bm too much then bb noti dun wan to drink...

dun wan to risk kana engorgement which later blocked duct n fever blah blah... very torturing one......

thanks for all your advice. I think I'll try to see if I can borrow a manual pump first and then work at getting the BF properly. I guess I'll still have some time to think about buying the pumps. =]

Is there anything that I can do to prepare for TBF when the baby comes?

Hi ruggles,

It's good to hear that you plan and prepare for TBF. Here's some of the things you can consider:
- tell yourself that you can & will bf,
- minimise medication during labour & delivery,
- nurse your bb as soon as possible,
- bb room in with you,
- practice positioning & latching on,
- try to avoid artificial nipples until bf is well established,
- feed on demand and get enough rest.

Or perhaps you can read this article on preparation (at www.breastfeeding.com) as well:
http://www.breastfeeding.com/all_about/all_about_rightstart.html
http://www.breastfeeding.com/helpme/helpme_asklc_ans144.html

Hope that helps

hi gendon,
thanks! I think I can cope will all the above points except for the "minimize medication during labour & delivery"
i don't think i have a good pain threshold...

Hi ruggles,

Abt the medication during labour & delivery, I think it's up to individual

So don't worry, when u cannot tahan the pain anymore, it's your right to get some pain relief.
There are so many mothers out there who had some form of medication during l&d, and still manage to TBF.

hey gendon,
try try.. haha... actually I am quite scared of the epidural as well..

I'm quite excited at the moment as I've just bought the Ameda dual electric pump cos I saw the thread for bulk purchase. Hope that will give me more incentive to give my baby BM.

any preparation needed now? before the baby is here. I sometimes have this yellowish thing, like the stuff that comes out from white heads on my face, coming out of the nipple? Is that the colostrum? so early?

Sheris:
what do you mean feed on demand? i thought they will drink like every 3 hrs that kind of thing?

I think need to change the thread title le... we are going away from the ISIS IQ already...

Hi ruggles,
Glad that u've got the pump

I think the stuff that you're talking abt, coming out from ur nipple thingy, it's your body preparing and priming it for the upcoming birth and bf. It happened to me too last time.
I don't think it's colostrum yet. Usually colostrum starts at birth, though some women experience that earlier somewhere around the last weeks of 3rd trimester. If you find it bothering you, you can squeeze gently just enough to make sure the nipple tiny openings are not blocked later.
I remembered that my gynae even suggested me massage my nipples to prepare, from 37 weeks gest. He also asked if my nipples are inverted or not.
Btw, it's essential for tbf babies to be fed on demand and not strictly every 3 or 4 hrs. Meaning, don't watch the clock but watch for bb cues. It's the bb's job too to stimulate your breasts and regulate their milk intake. And that a baby's stomach is the size of their own clenched fist and breastmilk is alot easier to digest. Sometimes it helps if you bf first until bb remove himself from breast, then pump right after that in order to step up milk supply.

I can still remember once I told my hubby (in the early months of tbf) that I feel like a cow, hear me moooooo!

Anyone got the Avent Uno pump?? I saw it at the taka baby fair.. very tempted to get it.. dat time it was selling at $279, includes pump, bag, and a few other things...

I think it's cheap. enquire Avent before that without bag is already $300.

I'm using Avent Duo. find it gd cos can adjust the suction to my comfort especially when I had sore nipples during my confinement.

where's the avent open hse? didn't know they hv such event? can share more details.

Went to their event at SPH n they were launching the Avent Duo officially. but no discount or offer. Rather to get it from shopping center, can get better price with cards or sales. I got mine during Robinsons sales, they hv 20% off. I asked the auntie to give me more free gift (T-shirt n a sunscreen for car)

hi yl... not sure of the venue.. but during the taka baby fair they told us it will be around May this year.. we have filled up a form and the promoters says we will be inform of the details later.. Will come back and update here when I have the informations...

Does they have the avent uno that time when u bought the duo?

the duo was launched in oct last yr. the uno is lonly launched this yr. need to get a pump before labor if nt i'll get the uno pump, much cheaper

Between Avent Uno pump and Medela Electric pump, which one is better? They cost almost the same but Medela will give you 2 electric pump with that price..

I'm currently contemplating these 2 brands and appreciate feedback to help me decide which to buy.

Hi Lucida

currently i had tried the medela electric dual pump, Avent DUo pump. had purchased a Avent UNO as well and had a hands-me down Avent manual... i think i can open shop liao!

personally i prefer avent as it allows you to manage the pumping rythme. some of my feedback

Avent Uno - convenient. protable. u can pump while patting your baby and does not need to manually pump it. and its quiet. but lots more things to clean becoz of its silicon parts

Medela - duo pump - faster. but very noisy. u cannot pump near your baby.

my advise - you can try the hospital pumps first - most of them are using medela lacinta (i think). that makes me want to try Avent.

i bought the Avent UNO and had only used it once before i start to rent Avent DUO. if you are interested i am keen to sell my Avent Uno. PM me if you are interested

yve

rented thru avent itself! u can call them directly and look for sally.

company is call cannon avent.

win_ng,
thanks! I still thinking if I should get the uno.. Still surviving on the avent manual pump now.. ha..

hi yve

i know wat you are thinking, coz i was feeling that way before... but i realise that its a challenge taking care of baby, BF and pumping at the same time...esp after the confinement lady left. i would have no time to rest etc. renting the DUO was one of the best decision i had made, though now i should say i should have bought it! it really cut short the time i spend on pumping, now i could even read or even doze off while pumping!

i always tell myself, my baby is not going to benefit if i am tired or unhappy, so having these little things ard do help in BF and spending more quality time with the baby!

incidentally My 1-month old, used only once AVENT UNO is still up for grabs, email or PM me if you are interested lar

I have 2 sets of Avent Isis iQ Uno to be sold at 220 each. They are brand new and comes in unopened box with factory seal. Sms me at 93368975 if interested. Thank you.

can anyone advise which pump is better, Avent ISIS IQ UNO, Medela PIS or Ameda? I used the manual pump frm Avent before and I dun really like it as it can't empty my milk and I kept on having full and painful breast. Mreover, my flow is slow and my hands are numb using it. So Im wondering will Avent new electric pump will create the wonder for me as I like the cushion.

Hi I am interested in getting the AventISIS iQ DUO. does anyone know where i can find the best deal..? like how much does TMC parentcraft sell it for?Thank you!

Seahorse,
I have not seen the DUO on discount before, not even during the Robinson 20% storewide sale. TMC, both the pharmacy and parentcraft sell it for $799. Best deal, I believe is from Robinson if you are a card member.

Sweet,
DUO is a dual pump while UNO is a simple pump. Although both can mimick the hand pumping, the DUO rhytme is supposedly better.

thanks betterworld! i am keeping my fingers crossed for good sales...have u tried using these pumps? was initially thinking of Medela PIS but since this is SOOO expensive, i am curious about how good it is.

Hi Seahorse,

I have the ISIS IQ Duo.
Have not tried the PIS though, but I have heard that it is good too. Love the IQ Duo. Can achieve quick letdown with the silicon petals. I can pump 200ml within 10 min. I previously had the Mini-electric and it was extremely painful to use and the letdown is very slow. I ended up with engorgement.

Well, if you are using Avent bottles, the DUO is good cos it pumps directly into the Avent bottles. Very convenient indeed.

the duo's motor is more advanced, and heavier. so it can pump better. the uno has more flexibility, meaning u can pump and walk around at the same time, but its not as powerful.

you can try calling avent, as they do rent out the DUO to try first. i dun think you will regret it. i didn't. the only gross i have is that its too heavy!

hi, mummies using uno, like to check if there's anyone pumping using the battery pack? I tried to use the battery but the pump switch off by itself alot of times and it doesnt seem to be 'powerful' enuf.

Also like to noe how often do we need to change the accessories for the pump?

hi betterworld

sorry i cannot remember the rental cost, there are some little cost as well and depend on the duration. but you can call up avent, and look for sally (i think) and ask about it. alternatively i think TMC do rent it out as well

hmm the duo doesnt offer you the flexiblity if u're a working mom since u need to have an electrical outlet in place before pumping right?

anyone has pblms with the battery pack?
i am doing my checks before buying the avent uno

Regarding Avent Duo, heard from a friend that although the price is relatively steep, but if you use it within 6 mths, u can resell it at abt $600 (not very sure abt the exact px). U may want to check on the arrangement with TMC.

Personally, i am using Avent uno. Due to some promotion, it costs abt $267. So thot itz cheaper then to get 2 Unos than Duo. Hehe. Have been using it at home, so not too sure abt the batt pack yet.

Hi nyssa won,

Is ur battery pack the old one or the new old? The new one looks so much better and can coil the wire nicely if not in use. If old 1, can call Sally @Avent for 1-to-1 exchange.

Personally I used 2700nhm rechargable batteries and can last at least 5 sessions (each lasting ard 0.5hr).

As for accessories, being using it for > 5 mths still ok. More comfortable as they are seasoned.

sghlynn, I am using 2xUNO. Being using manual pump for 3 months before switching to UNO. Cheaper and more portable. Have a habit to hand express after pumping to fully clear breasts.

Tried DUO at TMC before. Good too. If cost is not an issue, worth spurging. But do mind it requires power supply cos' it doesn't run on batteries.