Autistic children - Share your experiences here.

Hmm, so quiet here. Anyway, let me start. My boy who'll be 3 in July, is waiting for his assessment for autism end of Apr. We brought him to NUH Child Devt Unit cos didn't like the long wait at KK.
At the mean time, we are also starting therapy for him, in early Apr, on a weekly basis.

h Upie,
my boy will be 3 this june..
went for assessment in Jan09 at KKH. Now waiting for therapy sessions...

your boy went for therapy at which ctr? can share with me more info? thanks..

hi eqstar,
assessment - dr mentioned clinically assessment is austistic.. so arrange OT & Speech therapy.
so fat only did OT last wk. also waiting for school..
as I dont want to long wait for speech therapy & school, I went to kits4kids this morning. I think i'll enrol him to this school lor..

u can PM me, we keep in touch ok? can share experience...

I would like to ask, how would you know if your child is autistic? When did you notice it? I do notice my 2nd boy who is 23mths is rather different from he's brother in some behaviour but he knows he's ABCs & 123s well so I'm not sure... & can I get him assess now at 23mths?

eqstar,
didn't receive your PM...
tried to PM you but your profile does not allow PM..

ojx,
my son know ABCs and the nbrs very well since 18mths...
u may get referral letter from polyclinic for an assessment at govt hospital.

Hi, i would also like to know, how you assess or guess that your child is autistic?

What kind of behaviour did they display?

my son who is 17 months is not talking yet.

i check with paed yesterday and she asked me whether my child can sort shapes...i say no

she ask whether my son can listen to intruction when i ask him to bring his shoes...i say no

she asked whether my son can name body parts, i say no

my boy cant talk yet but can babble a lot

he can play with gor gor as in fighting for toys etc....and play with same toy if gor gor allows.

Those queries that paed ask....last time my elder son also cant do at 17 months leh

is it true that autistic kids will be extremely good in one area?

how do mummies cope with autistic child

i very scared and worried

My son is 4.5 years old and has been diagnosed as having ASD by KKWCH. I have sent him to a private special school when he was 3 years old with early intervention, occupational therapy and speech therapy (2x/week) and he starts to talk more when he turns 3.5 years old. It may be more costly but early intervention is critical for kids with ASD and the waiting list in hospitals is simply too long.... Now, he is able to read from books/TV and is able to name body parts/numbers/animals/food/drinks/vehicles etc but he refuses to talk in sentence, just 2-3 words. He will say ' help me' if he needs my help and 'sorry' when he misbehaves.
Hopes that helps

Hi there, eNemum.

Think its a myth, about autistic children being good in one area.
There's some very good layman info about ASD here:

http://www.autism.org.uk/whatsitlike

We just received the psychological test results and the PD at NUH's child devt unit explained the results to us. Basically to be assessed as full-fledged ASD, the child needs to display pervasive behaviour in the assessment of all these 3 areas:
1) language delay
2) common actions of ASD like flaps arms or flick fingers frequently, or love spinning
3)doesn't interact

My child is language's ability is pretty decent, but just don't socialise and interact. He loved spinning things at a younger age, but now, does it rarely or only when a top is in sight.
He's said to be autistic, but because do not show symptoms in all 3 areas, so his case is also called "Pervasive Developmental Disorder - Not Otherwise Specified (PDD-NOS)".

As the doctor says, do not be bother so much by all these labels, whether its ASD or PDDNOS, we should focus on the results and recommendations - ie since he lacks social interaction skills, he will attend the occupational and speech therapies to address the problem aras.

2Xmum has put it across very well, "it may be costly but early intervention is critical". I'm also exploring signing my child up for kit4kids.

How do mummies cope - lots of patience of cos! The love is natural - you will find your ASD kid extremely cute (I DO! :D) because of the things he do and say. The patience run out sometimes because my kid will insist on his 'weird' ways of doing certain things . So I just pass him over to hubby or maid and cool off somewhere else.

Nothing to be scared and worried. I find the people around me (my friends, colleagues, relatives) more worried than me :p I'm not totally worry-free tho - cos I heard that ASD kids has more tendency to get bullied in school.But that'll be something like 4 years later (my kid's close to 3 now).

Hi again, enemum,

Just read your earlier posts. I first suspected my child may be asd when he doesn't respond to our calls, prefer to play alone, doesn't play with other kids at his N1 class, talks to himself (language-wise is comprehensible), insists on certain ways on doing certain things.

Was confused earlier on, cos thot ASD means language delay, but my child seems to be developing well in this area. It is only upon more research that I found it to be not always the case.

His telling sign is really the lack of social interaction, his inability to do so naturally.

Hi eNemum,

every kid is different. Some may be late bloomers... Don't worry too much unless he is confirmed by a dr.
I have seen the improvement in my son.. although his language ability still lags behind kids of his age but he has improved as compared to 1 year ago! I just hope that he can slowly catch up and we need to set our expectation right for kids with ASD or GDD (Global Developmental Delay).
The PD has told me that if his language skill can improve, he should be able to go to mainstream school and I am prepared to delay his admission by 1 year, if need to. According to my ST, local schools (@ 10 now) have teachers trained to teach children with special needs.
There is always HOPE...

thank you very much for all the encouragements and advises.

I really appreciate

i really do not know why i am so anxious this time with the younger boy.

Will continue to have more educational play with him and i sign him up for a trial lesson at gymboree next week and see how he respond.

He can play with gor gor...just that gor gor always dun like ppl to take his toys....boys!!! Sigh.

So far, my younger boy is not really given a fair chance to interact. He dun go to playground...and he only get to play with gor gor...so will see how

i do not have friends or anyone with autistic child and i do not know what to expect

btw, you all mention "it may be costly but early intervention is critical". What kind of cost are we looking at. I just wanna have a gauge....in case tho i hope i never have to spend this money

so you mean that child with ASD got hope to go to normal school?

once again, mummies, really thank you for all the info

Hi eNemum,

I send my son to kits4kids (full day). The school fees is $850/mth. Private speech therapy is $110/45 min. As the school provides in-house occupation therapy every week, I did not seek private session. OT and ST are relatively cheaper at KKCDC, @ $30/session but due to the long waiting list + high turnover rate of staff , they can only see every patient once every 3 months, which is not ideal if your kid needs a weekly session.

Hi 2xMum,

My child is currently at Kits too, he attends from 9am to 12pm and tat's oredy $900 for my case, which include PT and OT. Price is obviously steep but the tpt is a killer too.

How do u find them thus far? I feel communication is lacking and no constant update from PT and OT which makes reinforcement at home difficult.

prior to kits, my child went for OT and PT at NUH but it's like once every 2-3 mths so the frequency is a lot lesser.

There are limited private school in singapore and price is steep, sometimes wonder why no govt subsidy.

Hi tohtoh 2,

I agreed that price is steep and I have checked with them on the government subsidy. They mentioned that they are classified as 'school' and not childcare. Thus, there is no subsidy + there are regulations that they need to adhere to if they get the funding. My ST writes short remarks of my son's progress in every session and the OT's report is every 3 months. If you need them, inform the principle, Jessica. I understand that they raised the school fees in 2008 but they have maintained the fees for existing students who enrolled before the increment. BTW, how regular is your ST?
I have tried to look at other schools but the price is worst,... @$2000/month.
One of the mum has tried acupuncture and I am not sure if it works. Any one has tried and have seen improvement in their child?

Hi eNemum, on your qs about asd kids attending normal school:

ASD is a broad spectrum, meaning from 0 - 100, a child can fall anywhere in between, e.g. 1.75. So depending on how a child is able to 'survive' mainstream schools (the normal sch), the PD at CDU will make the recommendation, usually around 5 years old. I was told an IQ test will be prescribed, together with recommendation report from OT and ST. The idea is whether the child can survive mainstream school. Most of the time, the worry is school bullying.

The school for ASD kids is called Pathlight, in AMK. I'm keen in signing my kid up for Autism Resource Centre's (ARC) early intervention school cos it is affiliated to Pathlight. There's a 'popular saying' that it is easier for the child to enter Pathlight if he has gone through ARC. Pathlight is for ASD kids with normal IQ, PD told me it is extremely difficult to enrol.

Anyone has any experience with Pathlight? Seems that the mummies posting here are mostly with toddlers....

wow, its really expensive...oh gosh....

for me ...right now is to keep thinking positive...

pray hard that he will be normal....

i am a very sad mummy... i brin my darlin to childcare n the childcare centre may not want to take her bcoz she walks ard the cc centre join in other classeslike k1,n2..(she is in n1) went to 2 weeks trial n i wanted to buy her uniform bt the principal ask to hold 1st ... she is 3.5 not talking... im waiting for kkh assessement in july...

Hi Kiddo, *hugs* to you ...
Don't feel so sad, wait for the assessment first.
Continue to let your girl try out the cc. She could just be exploring. It happened to my boy to and his n1 teacher was at first exasperated, cos she also had no experience in this area. Later, she found through her own trial and error that he will stay in the class if she keeps him beside her. So, eventually, my boy will sit with her during whatever activity or lesson they have.
Now, after half a year, he doesn't need to stick with her cos he is (finally ) familiar with the place, the kids, and he is very comfortable with the place. He doesn't wonder around anymore, prob cos he's already explored the place so he doesn't see the need to explore it anymore.
Your gal probably needs a bit more time too!

hi upie..thks...glad that ur son is okay..im afraid the cc my gal is attending is not so patient...i already withdraw her as they left her by herself... the principal can tell me they let her go..what they can do is just to lock the gate so that she cnt go out of the cc.. what is this??! i also bring her to private assessment... will go for 2nd appt in 2 weeks time to see child psychristic ..to assist whether she is autistic..for sure she need speech therapy..she may have some sensory prob also...haizzz...

Hi All mummies,

I am new in this thread... I also have a 4yrs old son who has been diagnosed as ASD kid. Maybe due to our life styles, we don’t have time to let our kids to interact with other kids & they become to self-centre. Do try to let your kids mix with others if their parents don’t. This will help in your kid.
Try to let your kid to attend intervention class, speech class & etc.... I know that it is expensive therapy but this is good for them as we don’t really have much time to talk/interact with our ASD kids. Try to have more interaction with your kids. Talk to them at their eyes level. At times, we do have to bend ourselves down as we don’t see the same views (in their height). At the same times, look for courses that might help us. You may try this website www.autism.org.sg for more information. Don’t get too sad about this....just think, GOD know that we are capable & has given us this special kid. (Wow....sound BIG right) but this is true. If you think positively, the ASD kids can feel/know it. Our kids are just special kids who need more attentions from us.

Not sure whether the ASD mummies again with me a not.... do comments.

Hi Kath,
I agreed. This is exactly what my husband told me! These special children may be abandoned by others who find them a burden but because God knows that we can give them the extra love that they need, that's why they are blessed with good parents like us, who will do the extra mile to care for them....

Hi all.

I have been following the discussion in this thread though have not been actively posting. My boy is also diagnose to be on the spectrum though I hate to have that label on him. I'm determine to remove the label off him.

My boy is also diagnose at KKH, but sorry to say that, I don't find them helpful in addressing my concerns and needs. They are just too focus on diagnosis and not able to provide me with good solution to help him. Moreover, the waiting time is very long.
I decided to take charge by doing researches online, joined whatever relevant forum/discussion groups that can be find in this cyberspace. From the information, I customised the therapy programme for him. He is now going through private ABA therapy, speech therapy and full day childcare with 'normal' peers. I also DIY occupational therapy for him to improve on his fine motor skills. I let him do threading, cutting, playdough and writing- His gross motor skill is so far quite ok.

I find that ABA therapy is very helpful for my boy. He was totally non compliance- walk around during classes, no eye contact, ignore teachers call etc... basically he was living in his own world. He was transformed after 6 months of therapy. Not only he complies to adult instruction, he is also very eager to learn, so that helps in his speech therapy and also make it possible for me to do OT with him instead of spending money on professional.

His speech is still way behind as compare to his peers, but is improving.
i agree that these therapies classes are very expensive. Not only that, running around for classes is also very tiring for caregiver. Anyway, whether they will eventually able to remove the label and lead a normalise life, we will never know, but at least we try our best lor

Hi 2X Mum,
Agreed with you. I know of someone who has 3 ASD kids, they have more harder times than us....
Most impt thing is never never give up on our kids no matter what they do., it is not their faults to be in this way.....

Hi Marie,
I just happened to see this thread.... so i KP abit....ahhahahahh.... I do know a few parents who also have ASD kids, & most of them are different from my son.

Good that you have sent your son to some therapy... Now is not the matter of S$ but what we can do/help our kids.

If you have any chance, look for a course called "hanen". Rainbow centre do organized this course for kids who are attending in their school. It is abit exp, course fee more $1.5K but it is very useful. I can give you the contact of the PIC if you are interested. Try to let your kids play with others kids, it will help too. Of course, not all others parents can understand what we are going thro'.....

Hi Kath,

thanks. Pls let me have the contact.
In fact, there is this speech therapy centre that has a social program on Sat for 2 hrs for verbal ASD children which is conducted by ST and OT. Only $80/session. I am pretty tempted to let my son try.

2x mum,

Pls sign up the speech therapy class for your son. I will advise you regards to contact tomolo morning as the contact was at office. Is your son attending any other interention class??? Did you mamange to put him in any special school??? MY advise is find a school for him, & let him get train when hi is younger....much more better to absorb & changes fast.

ABA --> this therapy is something to do have some rewards after the kid completd some task that was given to him...Am i right Marie???

Well, do check out what ARC website for the courses... it is good....

FYI....all mummies, dont get me wrong that i am not selling anything here but just sharing what i have been thro' & i am still in practice.
Sad to know that there is no cure for ASD but what we can do to help to minimise it. We still struggle to teach/guide our son. Now, we are trying to teach our son by taking him to school by MRT... It is not easy as son will fight with us by crying or throw tantrum in the train. NOw i learned to have thick skin... BO CHAP with others will think why we cant control our son. hhahhaha.... that is our son.

Hi Kath,

My son is at Kits4kids since 3 years old with daily EIPIC, weekly OT and 2x ST (since this year).
He is verbal now and will parrot what you told him and is able to say : I like..., I see..., I am sorry etc. He is able to read all words from books but I am trying to encourage to communicate in sentence.

Hi 2X mum,

You have to make to understand what are you talking about....Can I have your email address??? I will forward the brochure of that program that I have attended. The trainer is from Rainbow Centre School who are certified trainer for this course. The trainer will explain & help you thro the course (abt 6 months).Most impt thing is the school will help to subsidy the course fee from govt. In the market, this course is also available but much more expensive (abt S$ 2.8K) & only 3 days (intensive course).

Where is your son attending the EIPIC program??? Can you advise me where is the speech class that you son is attending at this moment as I am also looking for speech class for my son. My son is only attended "BEHAVIOUR INTERVENTION PROGRAM" from pte therapy. & we want to enroll him in speech class again as my son took a long break last year. At that time, my son showed no improvement for his speech & we decided to let him have a break. Now is trying to talk more in single word & we hope to get him a class.

Hi 2x mum,

kath is right.. ABA actually stands for applied behavioural analysis. Usually kids on the spectrum needs motivation to learn, therefore, they will be rewarded with tokens when they complete a task. My boy is like 'the count' in sesame street i.e he is obsessed with numbers. This technique works perfectly on him, since he gets to collect more tokens to count.
Now I apply the same technique when teaching him new things.

by the way, how do we judge if our kid is verbal enough to attend social program? Mine was totally non verbal half a year ago, now he is able to use 2 words and make simple request like 'on light', 'mama help me', 'not yet', 'don't want'. rest of his speech is still echoing. His speech therapist told me his window of speech/language burst is opening, therefore she is suggesting that I send him to social classes to promote conversation skill, while she focus on training his oral motor and articulations. But his ABA therapist suggest that I wait until end of the year before signing him up for social classes.

Hi kath,

I can related your experience on train. Mine also do his public meltdown but at shopping centres when we stop by a shop or waitng at queues. He invited lots of stares and disapproved look from the public. I remember there was once he did his usual meltdown at centrepoint, one family of 5 stop by and stare at us, while I tried to restrain him. The kids were eating ice-cream while watching 'live performance' by me and my son. It was very embarrassing but I just smile at them when I finally keep my boy under control.
Yup, must learn to be thick skin, since the only way to overcome the behaviour problem in the public by continue to bring him out

marie & 2xmum,
Ya...dont rush yet... give your son more time to adopt... my son also starting to "open" his mouth for one or 2 words only... we are still encouraging him to open his mouth for request. Also, must remember that we have to give our kids chances to open their mouth for request. dont be kan cheong like what i used to do., which was wrong. Try to label the things that our kids do... then they will pick up the words from us. Try to show picture cues to our kids what we want from them, ASD are mostly "visual" kids.

Hi 2Xmum,

Just forward the email to you....

cheers.

How many kids you have????

I have 4yrs ASD boy & i m expecting the 2nd one now...at 6weeks old.

Hi Kath,

I have 2 kids.
My son is 4.5 years old and my girl is 16 months.
I just pray hard that my son will get better and will be able to lead a normal life. He just told me : Candy, I want to eat candy.
I am so happy.

2xmum,

Thks.....
Dont worry too much....we all pray super hard for our ASD kids to be better & able to take more instructions.... & have better life.....

Hi Kath and 2X mum,

think we can only try and hope they will be better.

My boy attends speech therapy at a building that is full of enrichment centres/schools for children. One day, i was bringing him to his therapy session, I overheard 2 mothers chatting in the lift. One mother is telling that her kid shows talent in maths, so she is going to sign the kid up for some enrichment classes to make her even better. I was thinking it is ironic, we brought our kids to the same building for classes. But the purpose is so different, most parents wants their kids to attend classes to excel or to be better than others, whereas I brought my kid there to help him to be normal.

My son currently at 27months is showing signs of autism. I'm also frustrated by the long wait at KKH. We went for a development assessment and the doctor said to be diagnosed, we need to wait for another 5-6 months for psychologist assessment. I heard from some in the forum that you went for private assessment. Where can I can private assessment from?

My son can't speak yet and he does not interact with people well. We started him on OT and speech. So far, eye contact has improved and he is able to focus on a certain task better than before. But speech wise is still very far behind. I'm still finding it hard to accept the fact. But its very heartening to see some mummies here so strong and optimistic. I really hope to learn from you ladies.

Hi Fluffy,

27 months may be too early to confirm that your son has autism but it's good to provide therapies as early as possible. It helps if he is and it does not do him harm if he is not.
My son has been having OT, ST and EIPIC since he is 3 years old and he is now able to communicate in simple sentence and is able to identify and read out all words/pictures shown to him.
I am still hopeful that he can still enroll into the mainstream and lead a normal life.
Stay positive as your son needs your support.

Hi 2 x Mum

Thanks. My next step is to bring my son for psychologist assessment and i dont think i want to wait so long for the one schedule by KKH.

Can anyone tell me where to go for assessment? I see mentions of ARC, Rainbow, etc. Are the assessments all identical?

Hi Fluffy,
I am not sure whether your son's case is under subsidy a not as if yes...the queue will be very long... Of cos if you dont mind to pay at full price it will be faster. My son was diagnosed as ASD under normal rate....the test was done at NUH, quite fast....enrol him under Rainbow centre at that time when he was diagnosed. the social work from either of the hosital will help you to do that. I am not sure where you can get the assessment done. Pls dont give up as my son till age of 4 still cant really speak/communicate with us.... you have to be patience...give more time to your son. Encourage him by talking to him.... most impt thing is to talk to him at his eye's level., this will help him alot.

Does anyone know what is the difference between "More than words" and "It takes two to talk" courses which are both Hanen programs?

Tks.

tnerap,

NOt sure what is the difference but it depend how fast can u learn from the coure & apply what you have learn on your kid....Probably you may wan to check with the organzier who org both course.

The course "more than words" that i have attended was good as the trainer will do the home visits & help us to guide our son along the way...

is this thread still alive ?

I've a 3 yr old son w mild ASD..

Hi 2Xmum
You mentioned abt the speech therapy over a Saturday 2-hr with a integrated social program at $80/session - is this the Gibbs Communications u were referring to?
I tried to google for Gibb's communications - seems like there is no such listing....do u happen to know where they are located and what is their phone number so that i can call them up to enquire? How abt their website? Thanks v much.

Also, how do u find Kits-4-Kids? Effective? Are they good? I actually find it hard to get a response from them when i was enquiring earlier on so in the end , i didn't sign up as i worry they might be just as non-responsive when my boy is there - then i would never get to know my child's development.

Hi Marie Phua
Kudos to you ! you actually did your own OT with your boy? Thats v good to know.

Mummies out there with ASD kids,
How many out there still hold on to full-time job? I think it is really difficult to hold down a full-time job w an ASD child esp if our job is to reinforce the ST, OT back home.

Hi Kiddo
Don't feel sad. Remember ASD is just a condition; not a crime. The good thing these days is that there is more awareness so parents can choose to intervene early ...but i must admit while awareness is there, the facilities & support infrastructure for ASD kids are still pretty limited in Singapore.

HI, Ying Ying, my son-3years old is attending the class. he is doing good, i think the center has very structured method, and teachers know what they are doing. only my problem that I faced time to time is the lack of communication, update late etc.. but generally the school is okay, my boy now can talk well, can read/write ABC, numbers until 30, but still lots of challenges in social intaraction/communications etc.. Good luck

Hi Ying Ying,

The integrated social program is available at The Moral Therapy Centre at Kovan Centre (but not very good). My son is attending ST at Gibbs Communication. The ST is Vinniti. You can contact her at 90492949.
As for Kits4kids, my son has changed from non verbal to verbal. Thus, I have no complains and they update his progress with a weekly report, 3 monthly meet up session as well as video clips of his behavior/progress at school.

I am working full time and I talk/play with my son from 7-10pm every night. I feel that the daily games and flash cards have helped in his progress.