AUTISM, ADHD, ADD, etc - SUPPORT GROUP!

so sad...today my son hit 3 kids!Hit as in use his hand to act like scratch his fren face!goodness!how shall i teach my son!??
He seems don understand us!
Btw,for the early intervention program,will it able to teach kids more behave?but he doesnt understand!!!and just repeat the sentence i told him....
y my son like tat?y he cant be like other normal kids?he is 3 yo already...i really dunno knw wat to do now!I scare he kena kick out from school and he will got lesser chance to be learn how to sosialise..!
god..pls help me....

Hi! Newmummy, your son is high functional like my son. Don't give up and be patient to him. I was very stress too whenever the CC called. Is always either he injured others or he failed his attempt and injure himself. Why u never think of go to autistic center for epic? I see great improvement in my son's behavior after we started epic 2 mths ago.

Change a childcare, if they can't handle your son. Try ICCP, and I know some place do take in special kids, just that not sure if is expensive. I will PM u the contact if u interested.

newmummy i totally undertsand what u going thru.. my son hits only us but we wil discipline him.. n he will pull ours n sister's hair..it takesa lot of effort but maybe witht he epic sessions he will improve..dont give up.

Just to check what are the signs in order to diagnose that the kid had austism? My son is 3.5 years and he had difficulty in expressing his needs. His speech also restricted to 2-words sentence. But he tends to ask what happen to this and what happen to that etc. Sometimes I really wonder do we need to stick to the milestone for each and every of the kids developments? If that kid fails to meet, does that means that thats the end of the kid's future?

Star, I visited Dynamics, but decided not to enrol my son due to the location. If I remember correctly, the fees about 1K for thrice a week.
there will be weekly OT and ST which falls on certain days.
newmummy, this path is never going to be easy; things will surely work out well, we just stick on to the path- continue with the childcare until rainbow accept him.

New mummy my nephew is aut istic but wi doth therapy he is much btr n in pathlight.my two neighbors also autistic n one went therapy n is now in st Andrew another is 5 n just revert to therapy m is much btr. So give therapy a try n let pray it will help ..dont give up

Hi Ann,which epic ctr ur son went?i did send the profile to CEl and now waiting list in rainbow..dunno need to wait until when!!
so in order not to sit and wait, i sent my boy to kits4kids!it also nearly $1k for 9-12noon,mon-fri.Still need pay transportation fees!I don knw how effective of the program but i hv to try...and yes!every time cc call, im so stress!!i scare he kena kick out by school!
well...i talk to the principal atleast she allow my son go halfday,but pay in fullday fees...allow the therapist go monitor him in cc if needed...i was so relief after heard frm her!!im so worried every nite i cant zz!!and zz with tear...

So Ann,nw ur son at which child care?i did try to change cc,the thk is all convenience to my are all are fulled!even i try call one ICCP near my working place also full!
So for ICCP still hv to get dr write a letter to them then they only accept the application rite?
GoodTry,which epic ur son go?seems u soudn the intervention so effective,i also wish my son got improvement!!anyway,i already sent him to kits4kids,and today just a first day..he still cooping,but quite well...hope it continue and improve!
And i wish my son jsut hit or push me,if he want to but not attack otehr kids in cc,else he sure no cc to go!
i nvr gv up,but sometime just dunno how to do and help my son!other than intervention program to let those specialist help him,,as parent,wat i shall do??im quite lost,.,but atleast at this forum i can find some one to to share abt...atleast i know im not alone!!
really hope all our kid are NORMAL!

Louise,is really true this path is not easy...i always thk vy far,wat will happen to my son when he grow up?haiz...

when i know autism kids will nvr been recovered and cure 100%...only will improve...my heart broken...y!?y it will happen to me?

i just really need all mummies here to hv mentally support..else..i sure collapes!!

Newmummy my heart brokrn twice when nephew was autistic n we dunno what on earth it was 6 years ago then my only son told me he vrry lonely n need to take care of nephew alonr n I tried so hard n finally have another child but now dr suspect he might be n I devastated I was like I burdened my ekder son agsin

But it is alearning process for us n my son. I told him we don't know why such thing happen but we will try our best n seeif it helps. But my nephew used to screan a lot cant eat solidbut bb porridge till 5 n dun eat fruits unless smashed is so much btr. They can even bring him overseas n I read few testimonies of complete healingthru prayers n I am comforted

Hi Trina,
He dun really pay attention well and got distrated easily. Cannot really complete a task. Sometimes he will like playing piano on the table w fingers or do druming. Also not sure if its due to his festive drum lesson for CCA he joined. Cannot queue up properly also and dun really follow instructions. Haiz : (

tats really a hard time for all of us!well...we have same hope...hope our kid will improve and indipendence when they grow up~!!
Going overses these days...mayb not so frequent in this thread...do enjoy u all holiday with ur family~!!

hi just wonder for psychological therapy is meant for those kids with difficult behavior?
any idea how effective of this therapy?

newmummy, fully understand your feelings especially you look at kids who are younger and so well-behaved.

My son (2 1/2 year old) will run, or I should say spin off the minute he is free off his stroller in the public area. When we tried to hold him, he will scream at the top of his voice. My husband and myself have phobia bringing him to shopping center for meals, but life still goes on, we will try other places (open field, park, beach) which is more suitable for him.
These Austism kids are special and we, as mothers will just try our best, dont think about what is going to happen in future!! Keep praying and think postiviely at all times- they will be fine.

On Good Friday, I watched a short cliop about Nick Vujicic, a very successful man now, was born without arms and legs. Most amazingly, he got married to a very beautiful lady in Feb 2012.
Dont give up...

I am still waiting for EPIC (Tiong Bahru) which will only cater twice/thrice times per week.
I am thinking of applying for kindergarten to keep him socializing with other kids PROVIDED the principle accept and able to handle him.

For me, I am getting a private tutor who specialise in teaching special needs kids for my boy, teach him English and Maths. Not too sure if I am too kiasu since my boy is only 3 years old but I just want to give him as much as I can so that he can catch up with his peers when he reaches K1.

I am also thinking of enrolling him to Berries to learn Chinese.

Scrumpee, just wondering how the private tutor can handle my boy if he has no speech yet and cannot be seated?
How much per hour?

Louise
$100 for an hour. I am starting him with twice a mth and increase the hours when he gets older like K1 or K2.

Not sure if the tutor can teach non-verbal kids, maybe can because she did ask if my boy is verbal, so if not verbal, she may use other methods.

scrumpee, may I know what is her background and expertise and how you get to know her? Is she like speech therapist?
Can you share with me after the 1st session of the lesson?

Louise
I got her contact from a friend who's boy has mild autism. She teaches in special school for more than 10 years and her students are from 2 to 18 years old.

Don't think she is a therapist cos I am getting her to teach academics like English and Maths, not ST or OT therapy.

Share more with you after the first lesson in May

HI mummies...i thk there will be sure hv those exp tutor or specialist to teach autisme kids...but the chargers are really ex!I'm not that rich but thk off my son may need more these therapy im so sad and worry...i need to save alot to spend on him for all these therapy!
Btw,anyone of u knw how effectiveness of psychologist therapy?
My first appointment will only at KKH on 31/5!it need 3 hours for it...wonder wat they will do to me boy...any idea?

I was called by kkh on wed n o told them wait till three. I thimk to myself so what if he is labelled so young I m already going thrtspy already.. So I told them do nect time. I saw onemum in pte therapy she told psychologist to tell her strength of her child n weakness but no label

There are two sch of thought why not save money on pte therapy for their future instead n. Now young can change them..but maybe we try to strike a balance some mum will read n find out n do themselves but for me I really dunno so engage others but I wont go beyond my ability

Hi everyone - I am a mum with a boy 8 years with autism and a girl 10 years with Asperger's Syndrome ... it's been a long long road since i first diagnosed my kids when they were 3 years plus... every since then, we've done most of private therapies where we could and to date, it's been almost half a million bucks invested in just our two kids to have them be who they are today. I know not many can afford something like this and that I've been sooooo blessed with things falling into place along the way without even knowing how ... but my message to all mums is never give up - it's a lifetime of blessings with these special kids we have and there will be days where we cry and want to give up but know that you're not alone .... If anyone is wanting to hear more about my experiences, let me know cos I dun wanna take up the whole page :p ... Hugs for all you wonderful mothers dealing with your kids !!

Also, if anyone needs recommendation to good interventions and therapies that my kids did and I've seen progress and improvements, let me know - happy to share ... My highest recommendation is the Early Intervention Programme for young kids at the Autism Resource Centre that is in the same place as Pathlight School in Ang Mo Kio - within 6 mths there, my boy started talking and communicating ... :)

liz i try to pm u but cant.. can u share..so where is your kids now..pathlight or main stream schools?thanks...u are a strong mummy

can i know how to identify ADHD in children? Recently i noticed my boy pushes other kids in the playground, public, also in his class. And screams in the bathroom, refusing to take shower. I'm worried if it's ADHD.

Hi Clouds!I hv same concern as u!!!My boy also did tat to other kids!i also not sure is ADHD or ASD,but he doesnt hv those sysmton!Im vy worry the principal will kick him out!I also dunno y he so hate to tk shower!and also refuse change cloths!How old is ur son now?Which cc?
Hi Liz,u are really a strong woman!i would say support is vy important to every on of us!
Till now,i still dunno he is ASD or wat coz sometime he can act like "normal" kids!I thk he more on behaviour prob!i teally hv no idea how to teach him,only hope he can get improve in pte school...but only half a day program that i can affort at the moment...coz it really ex!

hi liz

same here too! EIPIC at ARC truly benefitted him ALOT... n so is the prep class at pathlight.. ds now in p1 mainstream. adapting very well; much better than i expected. his current target is to be the next exemplary student for his class! n he loves his school so much tt he looking forward to mon during weekends.

Thanks for the inspiring article. Praise the Lord!
All mothers here will just do our best within our strength and limit and at the same time start praying...
Scrumpee, can you please email me ([email protected]) the contact number of the private tutor you will be engaging?
SPD (Tiong Bahru) just informed me that the new class for my boy will be 12pm-230pm twice a week.
My boy wakes up at 6-7am and his lunch and nap from 12pm onwards.
GOt to wait again for another class to start.
I had bad experience with my boy, not taking his routine nap time.

Louise
My boy is also in the same afternoon slot. Somehow, he managed to adjust his nap time to after 3pm on the two days he needs to go EIPIC. But there are two other kids in his class who always doze off at around 2pm. So be prepared for it if you can't change the timing.

Will email the contact to u separately.

ya...lets pray together!
My boy recently having a tantrum quite often especially after child care at evening time..don knw wat happen to him...
Sent him to kits4kid, so far i cant see any improvement...

shall i talk to the principal or shall wait end of the week see any update?
Im lost...depresss...tired...weak...i really need some support!

Btw,my son will hv appointment next mth for psychologist therapy,it cost $330 for 3 hr accessment at HPB building refer frm KKH...
Any mummies went for this?shd i let my boy go?it quite ex...and i don knw how effective of it..as last friday he went for the ST,seems most of the time we just "see" him throw tantrum and not really hv ST at all...

Hi newmummy08,

How long hv him been in kits4kid? Sometimes it takes a while to see chges. Also we need to do work with son too to make him progress faster. My boy showed improvements after joining pte intervention school after 6 mths esp on eye contacts n behavior.
For me, i defer the $ 330 assessment till he has a place in govern sped sch.

Hi Adeline,he only been there less than 1 mth, but atleast he can show me some changes,but seems nothg,other than he will speak more words,but not clear...
Ur boy how old now?which pte intervention he at now?so u saw the changes in behavior as in which part?
I don knw shall go for the accessment but if wai the place in gov,may tk awhile...basically wat the accessment will do to him?

Hi newmummy08

I supposed you are scheduled the same test which we sent our boy to, by KKH as it also cost us abt $330 for 3 hours assessment & thereafter, we had abt 30-45min feedback session with the psychologist. We paid the fee thru CDA which you might want to consider

But we did it at St Andrew's Community Hospital instead as we did not want to further delay the appt date.

i delayed his assessment as i am still sending him for st n ot.. so unless i am waiting for the assessment to start ot n st..

hi newmummy08, arc is autism resource centre as what liz strongly recommended too.. the one located at pathlight school at ang mo kio.

Hi - yes ARC is the Autism Resource Centre where they have the wonderful Early Intervention Programme ... some of you already have your child in this programme- by far, it's the best intervention I have come across with the biggest impact in a group setting. The teachers there are wonderful people who have since become my friends :)

As for my children, now, -- my son started EIP at ARC at age 4 plus and we managed to push him into the system to get into Pathlight. He's in Primary One now (yes he had to do the foundation year as well) ... he's soooo amazing with his disposition and being such a happy child by nature, we've seen him from a non-talking boy to one that talks non-stop today! All that interventions and therapies we sent him to for so long have paid off... but we're not resting on our laurels ... still much work on a daily basis to explain, talk to him and teach him basic life skills so he can function well in life and in the world properly. Please email me on [email protected] if you want some contacts for some interventions I put my kids through. These help I got my kids are not cheap so be prepared to pay if you are keen to do these...

As for my girl, she's a 98% percentile high-functioning child so I was advised to put her into mainstream from the start so her high-functioning abilities can be honed and developed and kept. If I put her into special school like pathlight, then she would be quite 'wasted' there... So far, it's usually the social aspects that she struggles with, with the first year in primary one being the worst (she came home crying every other day cos she felt different and didnt know how to make herself fit in) - so that year was very traumatic for all of us and very emotionally draining. She's now in Primary 4 and has since been voted the Pupil of the Year for Pr 3 cohort across the levels. Very very proud of her and how far she has come.All the teachers love her and her altruistic tendencies to help and support her clasmates and teachers always - guess it's the family upbringing we insist at home too so it's become part of her personality now... It's not been easy and even for me, still finding my way around many things, helping her understand and manage herself in the real world, esp with bullies in school who try to get away hurting her emotionally. Every year, I have to write long letters to her form teachers to help them understand what Asperger is all about and how they can continue to support her within the classroom and school environment...

Lots more stories in between but this is the quick sumary of how it's been so far ... my biggest lesson with my two gifts from God is love them no matter what and accept them in spite of whatever else is going on in life! :)

By the way, those who has kids who lash out at other kids, or cannot seem to manage their emotions or behaviour without getting into hitting out at others need to be looking at interventions that help the child manage himself emotionally and increase awareness about others around him. There are many methods out there, so the key is to find out that works and has your child responding to the help given. There is nothing wrong with the child - just that consciousness of their behaviour isn't there and it needs professional help to bring that out. These kids are sorely misunderstood as there are very often further root issues that contribute to them behaving this way - so don't give up on them - keep looking for the right help to help your child manage him/herself and the behaviour - very often, if seen from the child's perspective, they cannot help it - cannot help behaving in that way because maybe that's the only way they know how to express themselves.

HI odae,So after u brg ur kid to the accessment,is that help?wat they going to do with him?with tat 3 hr,they can finalise is the kid ASD?the feedback session for me was schedule on the other day,not on the same day...i jus need to know is it help to let him hv this accessment.
My son was in kits4kid,the principal said no need yet as my boy still not prepare for it.mayb 3 mths later,else,they will dignose my son as ASD.
My hubby was wonder,means during these period,they will so call "correct" him, so that when next s=appointment,my son will more behave and perform better,so to avoid him to be dignose as ASD?
I dunno the intention..is my son too early for the accessment?
Tam,Liz..ARC is for kids abv 6 yr?for Primary kids?My son only 3yo and i found among all private,this is the only nearer to my hse and cheaper as well.
So far he went there,the teacher always feedback he doing vy gd in school and nvr throw tantrum at all and follow instruction too.But wen he back to home,he like to cry and shouted for somethg he want to and insist want it!else he cried and throw tantrum...some how i was wonder he bully us as he knw we wil get thgs for him once he cried?but we already no longer doing that,if he cry,we just let him cry till he stop after awhile..i also dunno is this the correct way..
feel vy tired with all this ans depress too...