Any mums stay @ sengkang

Hi Lauran
thanks for the info...very useful indeed...
was contemplating whether to send my boy to appletree or tots house when he turns 2..so he can learn and play at the same time...
i think it is good to let the kids learn few activities

oh which branch of BJG you went? sometimes i went for the make up class and also realise the teachers sang too loud..but the class that i went, her singing is just nice...perhaps depends on teacher as well..sometimes it is impt to have good teacher..
initially when i brought my boy to BJG, he likes the teacher...after they have a change of teacher, he don enjoy the lesson..so we transfer to another branch for the same teacher haha...

guess it boils to the fate between our child and the teacher?

Hi mommies, the reason I like KM is precisely cos it's music based!
Teddy enjoys music so much, I figured might as well develop it. KM also lets him explore other instruments and handle them with fun. Also, since it's so action based, it will tire him out (My main aim!) Hee Hee! I send him more for the interaction, fun and socialising. Figured that when I send him for PG later on, he will have the chance to learn and *yuck* study. Just my opinion.

<font color="0000ff">adora</font>
How old is your bb now? Maybe can try again when he's older? Teddy didn't enjoy Village trial either, but enjoyed Our Time trial, so I figured it's time for him.

<font color="0000ff">shook</font>
Apple Tree has good curricula, but really depends on teacher. Some teachers I've seen reaaly suck! Monte Kidz is an enrichment centre at Elias Mall and Hougang Green. When I called them, the only program they have for 18mths is KM, the youngest PG they have is for 20 mths- 3yrs, same age requirement as for the school in SK CC.

<font color="0000ff">Joleena</font>
Yah, after hearing the feedback on BJG (Pasir Ris) after the change in teachers, decided not to try it after all.

Did not have the chance to update on little Jadon condition until now.

Doc had did CT scan on little Jadon. Seemed like the report is good. Did not reflect any findings. MRI postponed. So not sure whether they will still go ahead later on.

It's confirm little Jadon will be going for his stomach ops this friday around lunch time 12plus or 1plus. At the same time insert a button onto his stomach for feeding. And at the same time, ENT doc will be doing a scope.

Doc Chui mentioned that little Jadon had this term called Gastro esophageal reflux disease (GERD). Doc will use little Jadon's own stomach to wrap around the opening between the esophagus (food tube) and the stomach opening. With this ops, it will reduced a lot of the reflux but not 100%. Studies have shown 18% have risk of this wrap being unwrap within the two years time. If this happen, reflux will occur again. However it depends on whether the reflux will be still serious. If it's still serious, then doc would suggest another ops. There will be four 5mm holes on his tummy area for the ops. Doc will inflate some carbon dioxide to the stomach so that doc have the space for the equipment. There's certain percentage of cases where they're unable to inflate the stomach then they will do two cuts just above the stomach area.

As little Jadon need to be intubate during the surgery, ENT team of docs would want to do a scope. A ENT professor doc will do a scope from the throat down to the brochus (the track to the right and left lungs). From this scope, doc will determine whether little Jadon will need to have tracheostomy (they will insert a tube above his collar bone in the centre to help in his breathing). If doc find its a life and death situation, they will insert on the spot. If not, they'll do it on a later date and wait for healing after this ops is done.

Little Jadon may or may not need to do facial surgery as it would depend on the growth of his chin.

Pray that everything is in God's hands. I don't really support the idea of inserting a tube to his throat. Really have to depend on God's will for little Jadon. Really very heart pain to see him go through some many experience. Tears will always swell up in me whenever I think of it. I believe if we put ourselves in little Jadon's shoes we can't take it. The only difference is babies can't tell you how they feel. Pray that God watch over this precious son. May God's presence comfort little Jadon to go through all these up and coming ops. Pray that little Jadon will not be traumatize or have some much bad experience memories. Relief his pain on his wounds.

Pris,
After reading your post , i do feel painful for jadon. if adult , we cannot takhan so many ops , furthermore , jadon is still a baby. we will pray for Jadon so that he can overcome all the ops ahead of him and be strong .
i agree with Wai Yen, Jadon will pull thru . Both of you must be strong .

Joleena
Never heard of tot hse

Boey
I dun like Kindermusik. Elias Mall and Hougang Green is too far for my parents to send Chen Chen for playgp Thx.

Pris
Hug hug
Poor little Jadon to go thru all these ops. Pray dat he can pull thru

<font color="0000ff">shook</font> - Whereabouts in Pasir Ris do your parents stay? If it's near the CC, why not try there? Actually you're looking for just a PG and not childcare, right? I do have a book on Preschools (2005 edition) that gives a listing of many centres. I could give you some promising telephone numbers to call if you like, or even lend you the book.

Pris
It is heartache just to read your description on Jadon upcoming operation.
Imagine we adults feel pain let alone a small baby like Jadon.
But am sure Jadon will be able to pull through all these operations. He is a very strong bb
Do take good care of yourself

Pris,

it really pains the mummy's heart to see a small baby to go through all these. I pray that God's strength will continue to strengthen you.

Dear all, it struck me (after a very long while) that my comments about Brightspan might be taken the wrong way, so I asked Chin Leng to remove the post. It appears that er...he forgot the main one, but he did remove part of some posts that refer to the centre, so we'll just say my experience there was not nice, and hope Chin Leng removes the msg!
Guess I got too p****** off!

Boey
My mum stays next to the fishing pond. V v near to MRT station. Yes we r looking for playgp not childcare. The only 1 I found near there is blk 569.

Pris, My elder girl also has GERD. Was diagnosed with it at ard 2 months coz she merlioned loads of milk. Means input=output and normally immediately after drinking. Initially thot it was milk allergy so changed to soya but also same thing. So PD said it's due to flap not closing properly. Was soo stressed out then. Normally i have to feed her upright and let her be upright for half hour and can only feed her small abt of abt 60-90 ml each time. SO nite feed was siong then and day time feeding also a bit siong coz instead of 3 hourly hers was 1.5 hour. Fortunately tho she was able to sleep thru the nite ard 3 mths.
I hope Jadon will be well soon ... !!!

Before the ops in SCN, little Jadon kept smiling at us and refused to sleep even though he kept yawning. He's wide awake even in my arms. He cried before when they put the medication before pushing him out of SCN. When he's was outside the Operating Theatre waiting area, he kept crying. Stopped crying after comforting him and even sleep for a few minutes. After that cried again. I think he knows what is going to happen later. (Maybe complaining to me......) Cried especially loud a few minutes before he's being pushed away from us.

Praise the Lord! Little Jadon operation is successful. In Neonatal ICU for the weekend to monitor his condition.

Doc said the ENT prof doc saw nothing when during the scope. Everythings fine with the airway down to the lungs. Thank God little Jadon don't have to put the tracheostomy.

Total have 5 holes on the tummy (one hole have put the feeding button). I was in the NICU at 6pm. Doc said little Jadon will not be awake at the moment until for quite some time. Little Jadon proved the doc wrong by moving his hands. They were surprised that he's awake so fast with his eyes opened, hands moving and legs moving. Doc quickly asked the nurses to prepare morphine for him. All of them sprung into action. Even docs held Jadon's arms to stop him from moving. Nurses used cloth to wrap the wrist and pin him down with nappy pin. Docs don't want little Jadon to move around cos he'll start pulling all the tubes on him (he's good at this already). Moreover little Jadon need more rest.

Doc would want to see whether little Jadon can breath w/o having any assist in oxygen and his oxygen level in the blood do not desaturate when lying on his back. The next pending will be surgery on his chin. So these things are not confirm yet cos it depends on little Jadon condition.

Thank you everybody for keeping little Jadon in your prayers. Little Jadon and family appreciate all of you deep down from our heart.

Hi Qdee,
So did your elder girl go through the ops?

<font color="0000ff">Qdee</font> - Read that GERD should improve once baby able to sit up on her own, was it true for your girl?

<font color="0000ff">Pris</font> - Jadon is really feisty! Is he nearer 2 or 3 months now? Probably already at the responding age. He's familiar with you'all now, especially when someone's with him all the time. Thank God indeed that he doesn't need the other ops. What needs to be done to the chin? Reconstructive surgery?

Hi Boey,
Little Jadon born on 4th Nov. So non-corrected age is 11wks old (2 1/2mths). Corrected age is just 1mth old (EDD 17/12/05).

Little Jadon chin is small. His lower jaw is a bit back about 5-10mm. Doc mentioned about the China people whom want to look taller "break" their legs and put a apparatus for the bone to grow back. It's the same method they might be doing for little Jadon. Procedure will take 10days as they need to widen the bone area everyday for 10days. Doc said that the face will be swollen. I think the apparatus will be there for 20days? Or have to wait for the bone to grow for the next 20days.... Not sure a bit blurr liao.....

362807.jpg

Tummy Button &amp; ops wounds
362827.jpg

Right hand for taking blood sample
362828.jpg

Left hand on morphine
362829.jpg

Right leg sensor, Left leg on drip
362830.jpg

Left leg drip with a lot of joints
362831.jpg

Left hand swollen with "blue black"
362832.jpg

Hi Pris,
My heart sunk when I saw the pictures. I felt sad and painful, wishing I can bear his pain. He is still so tiny yet being poked almost his body parts. He will be a very special and extraordinary kid. Stay strong and healthy for your boy. He needs you to be there to comfort him.

Cheers...

Dear Pris,
Guess that Jadon knows to recognize his family by now. Smart Boy! Poor thing though, my heart feels pain for him when I see his pictures. Be strong for him, and take care of yourself, ok? He's come so far, he'll definitely be a very strong fighter. He'll definitely be a brave person when he's older, and nothing will bring him down. Prayers for you and yours.

Hi Pris,

I know exactly the pain you are going through, I had been there before when boy went through an open heart surgery, he is as tiny as your boy.

Be strong and pray for strength, will keep little jadon in prayers! If there is anything you need, you know how to get me.... hugs....

hi, Pris,
when I see all tis photo, my heart felt sad and painful,and you are very strong mummy.

and Jadon his very strong bb, he is fighting over fate, and he is winner now.

hi, anyone know about INFANT CARE @ 184C RIVERVALE CRESCENT --
THE CHILDREN'S DISCOVERY CENTRE

can tell me more about this infant care..
because i have quit BBsitter(because
find out nanny she smoke)
decide to put my gerger @ this infant care

I read through the past postings and saw that some of you are discussing about Nepia disposable diapers. I used to like Nepia BUT just few months back, I discover that it will leak. Not onli lead urine, leak poo easily also(though not big poo). MP sometimes, leak poo also, but onli when my son's poo is huge and his butt slammed onto the floor. *Yucks! Had your meal? So I still swear by MP. Whole wardrobe of MP stick diapers and the MP pants. Cheers...

Pris
It's heart shuttering to c those pic. Wish the chin op is the last n Jadon discharge after it. U r a strong mummy. Hug hug hug

I tear pretty easily.... couldn't help but to tear when I see the pictures...

Be strong for your little precious warrior. We will keep you in prayers. God bless you and your little warrior...

*Hugs to you*

Pris,
it a heart pain to see those photos. when is Jadon going to discharge? Is he getting better? He must to very strong to go thru all these. Wish he will recover fast

<font color="blue">Moms of Sengkang:</font> Ask u folks.. where 2 find "Small" size Petpet diapers??? I checked out both Compasspoint's Cold Storage and AMK's NTUC but dun find any "S" size PetPet diapers... ended up bought a "S" Pampers diapers 1st.

Like swee nguk, I oso interested 2noe if anybody has placed their bbs at the 184c infant care centre??

Can advice?

<font color="blue">Pris:</font> I'm not good in words but only can pray for you n Jadon for strength n determination to overcome Jadon's prob n pray for speedy recovery. May Lord Jesus bless you two with continous strength and perservance and pray that Lord to heal Jadon speedy. Amen.

Pris

I saw the pixs posted by you and I cried. They reminded me of my boys Dylan and Evans when they were in NICU.
It is very painful to see our precious little ones going through the procedures and as mummies, we wish we are the ones who suffer rather than them.

My boys been through the same suction procedures mentioned in your SMS. I tried to avoid looking at them when the nursed do the suction. It was too unbearable. The suctions is to clear the phlegm so that the bbs can breathe better. I tried to think optimistically to sort of console me.

As the bbs grow older, they will struggle more when the procedures are performed. It is natural and it makes our hearts ache seeing that. Bear in mind that whatever the docs are doing is to save him. Looks like Jadon is relatively stable now besides the Reflux and the chin surgery. Is he still on C-PAC? At how many %? If he is breathing well, I believe the next step is to wean him off CPAC. Next, they will have to teach him how to suckle. Preemies have problem coordinating their sucking, swallowing and breathing. They can suck but will forget to breathe. Be patient.

The vocal chords will be affected due to the intubation. When discharged, Evans my younger twin had no voice when he cried! It took a while for his vocal cords to be developed. His voice is still a bit hoarse now but ENT said his vocal cords is alright. Evans has a small cleft on his nostril because of the intubation. We will arrange for him to go through plastic surgery sometimes mid this year.

Our babies will not rememeber a trace of what they been through. The only reminders will be the needle marks on the hands and feet.

My boys' corrected age is 8 mths plus now... actual age is 1 next week.

Hang in there... My Boys and the preemies out there are MIRACLE BABIES.... So is Jadon.

364034.jpg

364035.jpg

364036.jpg
364037.jpg

Hi Pris,

really very sadden by what i have seen. no words alone can heal your broken heart. but God is with you and He will never leave you. Be Strong and be very courageous. As Joshua was commission by God to lead the Israelite into the promise land after the death of Moses, God encouraged Joshua to be strong and of good courage. So I prayed that you will be strong and be very courageous, God will lead you to the "promise land flowing with milk and honey". AMEN!

Pris
It is really heart pain to look at the photos...
am sure Jadon will be strong and recover soon..

Do take care and be strong too.....

TwinsMummy, it's heartening to see the last two photos of your little ones. So happy, cute and chubby! Glad they're doing well now. Happy birthday to both of them next week!

Hi mommies, remember a post a while ago about clothes alteration shop. Just to let y'all know, there's one in Rivervale Mall, a shop along the outside of the mall, the LaundroMat shop, also selling fish tanks. FYI.

Boey and Jen

Thank you for the compliments and the bday wishes.
I hope my posting will help to encourage Pris and boost her morale.

Thanks for all your encouragement. Especially to TwinsMummy for sharing her experience. At least I would know that some mummies went through what I'm going through now. And it's a great joy to see them growing up and looking so cute now. Little Jadon is already 2.8kg!!! Despite being in NICU and being fed so little 25ml every 2hourly!!

This is what I wrote in my SMS:

"No word to describ Jadon suffering after wat we saw the nurses do 2him every 2hrs after friday ops! Push thru a tube 2each of nostril down the throat to suck out the secretion, then another 2tubes goes down from throat to his stomach 2suck out. Jadon voice was blocked by the pipe leading from the nose to his lungs. He's holding so tight 2 hubby's finger as if an adult strength. Our mums and us cried. Everytime the tube touch his nostril he'll give a STARTLE symton like electrocuted. He's crying all tears but no sound! Other bb can sleep n rest soundly but Jadon can't."

Jadon in the morning with intubator.
364380.jpg

Jadon in the afternoon after removing intubator and put C-Pac on.
364381.jpg

Jadon in the evening w/o C-Pac already. Still monitoring him.
364382.jpg

A Happy Jadon w/o anything on the face with a lot of plaster mark.
364383.jpg

One thing I hate to complain..... When I was in NICU in the afternoon, Jadon was crying very badly. Two nurses were very busy with other babies. Jadon cried until his plaster on the nose came off and I think the intubator came off. Cos his heartrate goes to 80+ and oxygen level goes to 50+! Turned blue again!! Shocked and quickly called for nurse. Imagine if my hubby and I were not around to notify the nurses, what will happen to little Jadon!!!!!! Moreover their monitor alarm was turned off!!!! I got to find the nurse manager to voice out my concern. This will endanger a lot of bb lives in NICU!

TwinsMummy, may your twins have a very blessed birthday next week.

Pris, keep up the good job you are doing.
You are a brilliant mom! I will pray for cute little Jadon and your family.

Hi Pris,

This is my first time writing to you. I feel very sorry for you and your family. My hear bleeds when I saw thepictures of your little darling. My tears rolled down uncontrollably. I have a 4 mth baby myself. I feel for you.

Jadon is so vulnerable. Yet small, he has to undergo the numberless surgeries. I will kept Jadon and your family in my prayers,

Trust in the Lord to do the best for little Jadon. Believe in him. Trust and obey.

If you still need diapers, I can send some over to KKH.

hi pris,
glad to heard and see that jadon is doing well. How can the nurses in the NICU do these type of things. I think u better complain to the management. Jadon is so small already went thru so many opts , and the nurses treat him this way. After i read your message i feel so angry .
Keep it up . take care of your health.

Pris
My tears were @ the edge of my eyes when I read wat u wrote in your sms. Hug hug hug

Twinsmummy
Your twins r lovely in the last 2 pic. Can't imagine wat they went thru. U r a strong mum

Pris
Jadon is so adorable looking... i love his double eye lids
Good weight gain!
Thanks for the bday wishes.

Foreverfriends Honey
It was tough then.
There were 3 other 25 weekers preemies who were born around the same time as my boys. The mummies get to know each other in the nursing room of NICU. We share our experiences and encourage each other. It was like a support group and it made us stronger. Thats why we survived the ordeal!
Thanks for the compliments.

The rest of the mummies here have been very encouraging too - That is the beautiful thing about this forum

Pris
Love Jadon last picture...looks so adorable and is a strong boy
glad that he achieved a good weight gain and is growing well....he will be discharged in no time..don worry...
think you ought to complain about the nurses..

do take care of your health and rest well so you will have more energy to take care of Jadon

Pris,
Jadon looks adorable in the last pic. He looks alert! Glad that he's achieved a good weight gain.
Agree that you should er...not really complain, but 'make an observation', since Jadon's still in the NICU.
Take care! *Hugs*

hey Pris, understand that you are concern abt the bills at kkh.
My niece who was part of a pair of twins was also in NICu for 3mths (ard 26/28 wks prem). Twin brother passed away a day b4 discharged - a blessing as he needed the oxygen tank to live. We were worried on how we are gonna cope with the twin brother being so so fragile. So God took him to ease our worry.
So bills was sky hi since everything was multiplied by 2. Was downgraded to C ward after the bill reached a certain amt.
My brother paid the bill in monthly instalment of $500 if I am not wrong and KKH is quite ok if u are late in paying the bills. Think he only finished paying when my niece was almost 2 yrs old.

Like little Jadon, my niece also underwent ops (her intestine a bit haywire so need to rearrange them) and yes the wound heal real fast with no scar at all. However, she has scars on her two hands and feet due to the needles.

As for my daughter's reflux, up till now she'll still gagged but wasnt serious enough for doc to perform ops.

Btw, where in SK do u stay. I might hv some bb stuff that i can pass to you. U PM me your contact.

hi Pris,
saw your sms while in Jakarta, it reminded me of the time when my boy was hospitalised for bronchitis @ 2 months old and they had to suck out the phlegm too.
Very painful and unbearable indeed, like TwinsMummy mentioned just believe that this is for their good and you will feel better.
Jadon has good weight gain, I am sure he will grow up to be a very strong boy!

Pris,

Jadon has a good weight gain. so happy for him. he is indeed a strong boy. i like that last picture. he looked so alert with a pair of bright eyes. he's so cute... he has a nice lips too...

Yipee!! Little Jadon will be going back to SCN!!! Soon he will be going back home I hope. So happy!! They are going to monitor him before deciding whether the chin ops will be necessary a not. Cos now Little Jadon do not have much desaturation on oxygen level.

Brought my concern to the Nurse Manager. She made an investigation and even asked the doctor to speak to me. Doc said the intubator may have slipped out and in that split seconds may have blocked little Jadon airways plus he's crying that's why oxygen level dropped and he turned blue. I remember ENT prof doc told me before the ops why tracheostomy is needed. You will have 3mins to save a baby when the baby stopped breathing. By the 4th minute, the brain will stopped functioning and brain-dead. That's why this procedure is to save a baby's life. I told the Nurse Manager about this info and was surprised she don't know this. That's why I kept highlighting to them saving a baby in split seconds makes a difference.

They off the oxygen beeping sensor and respiration sensor cos the intubator oxygen level is room air level of 21 (like w/o having oxygen assistance). As for the heartrate sensor, I was told it's on but kind of soft. Not loud enough to bring attention. But seriously I didn't hear any sensor beeping yesterday when I saw the heartrate of 80+. The nurse manager will take note of this and to on the beeping sensor louder so that nurses can hear them.

Little Jadon scared me today again. Nurse was beside him when he cried until he hold his breath and stopped breathing!! Aiyo...... Nurse have to pat on his back and "scold" him not to do this. I was told by nurse that some babies do this even up to a few mths later. Her kid also did this when they were a few mths old.

Any mummies have this experience?

ribenagr8s,
Have PM you.

Qdee,
HAve PM you. Thanks for sharing. What about the outpatient followup reviews? Are they very expensive?

Hi Pris,

...so happy to hear the good news. no worry, little Jadon is a brave &amp; strong boy. He will recover soon. I will keep the both of you &amp; your family in prayer.

Pris, good news about Jadon indeed! Just b4 CNY too! Go! Go! Go! We're cheering for you and Jadon!

Good that the Nurse Manager and doctor investigated. But of coure, it's good that Jadon always has someone from family watching over him. He's a fortunate boy. Take care!

Jen,

I'm not working since Oct. I frequently travel from home in sengkang to KKH to accompany little Jadon who is still in KKH SCN. I'm usually there from 12 to 8pm (seemed like I'm working there but I'm not). At times when I really need rest, I will either go KKH at 12-2pm or 6-8pm slot.