Any mums stay @ sengkang

Hi Lauran,
There's a new bus from my place Bus No 85 goes to Yishun Northpoint! They just started this bus service a few days ago.

Pris, really! Does the bus start from the SK interchange? I have been taking taxi to Yishun when my hubby not around to take us, having a direct bus service will be much cheaper and a good experience for my son who is so ignorant of public transport too.
I will go check the SBS website tomorrow, thanks!

Update on bb Jadon condition. Doc advise that bb Jadon may need to be tube feed after discharged. It can be from 6mths up to a year. Depending on his coordination of sucking, swallowing and breathing. So sad cannot let him latch on or bottle feed. I will have to EBM all the way.... SOB! SOB! Have to source for electric pump now as I'm on rental basis.

Doc found out that the bm may have reflux from his stomach upwards to his airway and throat. These causes his heartbeat and blood pressure to fluctuate often. Currently on oxygen again. Doc will try to put medication to BM to make it thicker so that BM will not reflux. If life endangered (reflux BM may go into the lungs and causes infection which can be dangerous), he may need ops to reduce the area inbetween the airway and stomach. ANOTHER PENDING OPS! Thanks God, his X-ray shows his lungs are ok. His hernia ops has been postponed. Doc want Jadon's condition to be stablised.

Doc said he can't be discharged before CNY...... Hb and I will not be visiting nor celebrating. Most probably will be in KKH to accompany him..... So sad......

Please help to pray for Jadon's health. Kindly pray for our finances as well. Hospital bill are piling up and coming to 6digit figure if Jadon continue to be in KKH longer and more ops. We have almost exhausted our reserves now.

Pris. Juz saw yr thread here. Hope Jadon will hv a speedy recovery. U take care and stay strong. God Bless u all.. I'll pray for Jadon.

Pris, thanks for letting us know how Jadon's doing. I'm sure Jadon will pull through the op and have a speedy recovery. You've been doing a very good job and have been very strong, hang in there and things will get better very soon.

Lauran,
i had try NTUC brand , i dun really like it. it feel so hard. I think i prefer Pet Pet cos it feel soft and comfortable.

Pris,
I sure Jadon will have a speedy recovery soon from all his op. This year he might not be able to celebrate CNY , next year he will be able to . There will be alot of CNY for him to celebrate.
We will pray for Jadon ...

Pris
Be strong. Am sure Jadon will recover soon. He is definitely a strong boy
There will be many CNY comings for him in future.
We will continue to pray for you and Jadon

Lauren
I dont have any prob with PetPet at the moment and my boy is ok with it.
I bought Giant brand to try as well. Not as absorbent. Just for your info

Pris,
it is sad the Jadon has to spend his 1st CNY in KKH, but like what Helen said once he pass this crucial stage he will be able to have lots of CNYs in front of him.
Think positive and continue to be strong, I am sure all mummies on this thread will pray for the best for your warrior boy...

Joleena, Helen, it seems like I am the only one with problems with PetPet, wonder if it is b'cos the way we wear it on my boy...
Anyway thanks a lot for your feedback on NTUC and Giant brand!

hi! another sengkang thread... can i join pls?

pris, prayers for jadon... i understand how u feel when my gal was in hosp too... dun worry and always think positive!

lauran, I have problems with PetPet too... always leaks on one side... I think it's the way my gal sits... currently using NTUC...

Morning mommies., just a quickie post.
Heard on radio news that probably going to hold the public transport emergency exercise this weekend or the next. After seeing that the emergency procedures for the NEL would require that passengers go down a ramp from the train and walk along the deep, deep, dark, dark tunnel, I've decided to stick to cab transpo for the weekend!

Just to let you'all know about this, and be prepared. I personally wouldn't want to have to bother with prams or a squirming toddler while walking along the tunnel, esp for pregnant mommies too!

Have a good day, everyone!

morning wai yen
thanks for the updates
very thoughtful of you..

do enjoy your weekend with Teddy and Daddy

I was wondering whether any mummies would mind to feed other mummy's EBM to their bb. Or have any mummies drink their own EBM?

BB Jadon now takes only 28ml every 2hrs feed. And I express out minimum 200ml or more per expressed. Supply is over the demand at the moment. KKH has been floated by my EBM and had "banned" me from bringing over. Bought a chest freezer and now going to be full already with 200-300++bottles.... Don't know what to do with them now. Any advice?

Pris, you are blessed with such good BM supply!
I ever saw a posting of a mother who also supply her EBM to her nephew.
But if you do not have someone to give your milk to, I guess you will need to start pouring the earlier ones away.

EBM will have a funny smell after being frozen for a while and the baby will reject that.
For myself if I have frozen ones that are more than 1 month old, I will throw them away.
You will feel heartache at first but it is better than it taking up so much space in the fridge and in the end the baby rejects it- tried that before and feel really lousy like "why I bother to keep so much frozen milk @#$@$#@$"

Finally some time for myself, while Teddy naps!

<font color="0000ff">Helen</font>
You know how tods are like. They try to help, sometimes end up more mess than help!
Anyway, guess it's the parents that have no energy! Poor Teddy, anyway, going to try out some playgroup trials this weekend, see if he enjoy.
You take care!

<font color="0000ff">Pris</font>
Will pray for Jadon and your family. Jadon is strong, I'm sure that he'll be fine. Hope that a solution for your finances will be found. If I do find out anything to help, I'll let you know.

About the EBM, I find that KKH people are being a bunch of 'silly people' (can't use the stronger word!). I'm sure many moms would want your EBM, if you're willing to donate them. You may want to ask other mommies in the SCN? Or you can post on this forum or the Asiaparents chat group (http://groups.yahoo.com/group/asiaparents/?yguid=225750987)? Now and then there are mommies asking for donations of EBM.
For the expired EBM, I know it sounds bizarre, but maybe a milk bath? I'm serious! Read some mommies posting that they bath their baby and themselves with the EBM.

<font color="0000ff">Jen</font>
Hi Jen, of course you can join! Welcome!
kao_welcome.gif

where do you stay?

<font color="0000ff">lauran</font>
Maybe you can thaw your frozen EBM in the chiller. I think it cuts down on the smell. One suggestion in the "Nursing Mother's Companion" is to chill the EBM in the chiller b4 putting into freezer, then thawing in the chiller again when needed, but I find that rather troublesome myself, so I only following the thawing step.

<font color="0000ff">Joleena</font>
You enjoy your weekend too!

<font color="0000ff">temple</font>
Got my Nepia delivered yesterday. Bunch of ***** only delivered on the dot at 1pm, when I gave them a whole timeframe of 9am-1pm, and ordered in Dec! Call them also no one answer the phone!

wow boey... sounds like you are really mind with nepia people... hahaha.... i also encounter the same thing... they came at 5 plus closed to 6pm...

Pris, it would be a waste to throw away your EBM... i'm sure some mummies would like to have your EBM... try putting up at marketplace... see got any response...

Temple
Lesson learned. WE give them the time-frame next time, and a short one too! If it weren't for the trouble of lugging bulky items around, I'd get from NTUC when it's on offer!
Grrr...still fuming.

Hi Lauran,

The freezer must not have chicken or fish when you froze your EBM. Cos it will have smell on the EBM. Was told by KKH nurse.

Another quickie note.
Thinking of going to Mothercare one of these days to see got any stuff to buy for Teddy. (Retail Therapy Needed Syndrome!) Any mommy want to join me, since I've got 15% discount? I would prefer a weekday, especially with that public transport emergency thingy on a weekend. Probably going to Plaza Singapura or Centrepoint branch

Hi ladies, I freeze my EBM in a air tight box in the same freezer that I have my food, no choice only 1 freezer, so got to throw the milk away after a while.
I know its quite a waste but lucky for me, my elder boy will sometimes take the extra EBM (meant for his younger brother of course) too. So not too much wastage..

Boey, your method sounds really troublesome leh... but i guess if it will works its worth the effort.
Happy shopping! Wish I can go but too busy recently... all my clients started coming in with work last Dec now dun even have time to watch TV liao...
kao_dizzy.gif

Hello fellow sengkang mommies,

I'm very new to this whole forum thingy..and very excited to know more young mommies like myself in sk area.

I have a 17 mths plus son, name keifer (pronounced as Kee-fur). He is always so full of energy, so i think it would be cool if he had other tods to swim and interact with(staying at rivervale).

Are there any gatherings here?

thanks for the warm welcome...
seems like most of u are rivervale rite?? hehe... i'm at anchorvale leh... ahha...

Hi lauran and shook...

thanks for the welcome. :D

whats the age range of the babies here? Anyone putting their kid to childcare already? I'm planning to put keifer in MMI sengkang..but not opened yet.

Hi everybody,
I'm very new to this whole forum thing and very excited to know more young mommies like myself in sk area, fernvale.

I have a almost 12 mths son name Hunter.

Lauran,
The bus 85 starts from Punggol interchange, pass by my place and goes to Northpoint.

Hi Shook,
Care to advise or more details needed.

Hi mommies!
Hope you had a good weekend despite all the rain.
Not able to use the PC these few days because of the following reason.

356971.jpg

<font color="0000ff">Audrey</font>
Hi there!
kao_welcome.gif

Which area do you stay? Rivervale?
Anyway, quite a mommies I know of (including me!) waiting for MMI, dunno when it opens. Let me know if you find out can?
Our babies and tods range from Pris' little Jadon (so far the youngest, I think) to yours (so far the oldest that I know of)
Other mommies do correct me if I'm wrong, ok?

<font color="0000ff">Yvonne</font>
Hi there! This thread is growing. Cool!
I like your son's name.
kao_welcome.gif

Hi morning mommies
the exercise is over...so everyone can shop and relax

Wow seems so many of you waiting for MMI to open...I read it should open in Dec? hmm..wonder what happen though..
besides MMI, any other good childcare nearby?

Hi Wai Yen
Teddy looks so professional in using computer...bet he be a computer genius

Hi Pris
How is Jadon doing lately? Everything ok? Dont worry I am sure Jadon will recover soon

hi Morning all Mommies,
the exercise is ine early in the morning so dun worry .

Wai Yen ,
Teddy look very cute. He seem that he know how to use the computer.

adurey and Yvonne,
welcome to the thread

Hi Pris,
regarding the nursing pad i am sorry that i did not inform u eariler.
Btw how is Jadon? Is he getting better?

Audrey, Boey
My son is 19mth. Memory searched me, think there r tod older than him here

Yvonne
Weclome here

hi ladies, mia over the weekend, 'cos my AnAn (younger boy) down with bronchitis

Pris, how's Jadon doing?
Wanted to take the boys home last Fri by 85 but time too late when I got to MIL's place, will try next time.
The bus 85 actually has a stop very near my block, very good leh...

Temple, missed your ON spree too! so sayang! saw something I really like... I will keep my eyes big big for future ON sprees

Boey, Teddy looks really cute, now trying to mimick everything you and your hubby do right?
My PingPing (elder boy) also like that, I can never switch on the PC when he is awake cos he will demand to play on it and I will end up entertaining him

357067.jpg

Hi Lauran/Joleena/Helen,

Doctor advised that Jadon will be doing constructive test on his stomach by studying the stomach acid next week. He will be going to Tan Tock Seng to do MRI scan on his brain before CNY. Just sign the consent form today.

Currently still hook on oxygen. They would like him to be off but depend on Jadon's condition. Speech theraphist came over to teach my to give Jadon facial massage. However this facial massage will cause Jadon to be stress with his heartrate rising up. This facial massage will prevent him from being hypersensitive to people touching his face.

Jadon cranky these days.....

hi lauren...

hopefully you can join when i organised one again... but this one is already giving me headache as i'm trying to figure out how to go about doing it (as this is my first time doing it)...

Hi Pris
Hope that Jadon will be fit enough for the stomach op. Does the hernia block his flow of food in the stomach or something, that's why must do so early?
Are you allowed to carry Jadon now and then? Massage does help my Teddy to calm down, even now. Hope Jadon enjoys it too.
If SCN allow, how about playing your voices on a tape recorder for him? Might help his crankiness.
All the best for Jadon. Will pray for him. Take care!

Hello boey,
thanks for the welcome.

My hb called MMi and they say would prob open in Feb. But they said it would be opened in Dec the last time round. Not too sure if its confirmed.

I'm staying at rivervale crest. Do any mommies here bring their kiddies go swim? I think it would be cool if we could let our kids interact together. Any meet ups here?

Hi Boey,

Nurses and doc are still trying to off the oxygen for Jadon 1st. Then they will process with other things being lined up for him.

I'm crossing my fingers that there will be no ops for the stomach. It's confirmed he will have hernia ops before going home. Hernia is a bulging on the lining of your thigh area. The intestine will bulged out when he cries and goes back in place when he's not crying. So it's quite painful for Jadon whenever he cries.

I usually carry Jadon whenever I'm there to train him to be off his oxygen. SCN have a support group organised by the nurses and doctors. They also teach massage for bb. But that's when they are discharged and back at home. Not advisable in SCN. Unless like the speech theraphy. Have to do 3times a day.

Would like to bring CDs to play music. But nurses said the plug will interfer the equipment there and "BRing at your OWN risk".

I'm going for a test to insert the feeding tube into Jadon. Nurse showed me and I will be doing on hands tomorrow. Pray for God's strength and courage.....

I will be tested on the speech theraphy massage as well on this thursday.....

So busy these days that my home is in a mess.... Prepared for JAdon return and now messy again..... Very tired on my side. Always missed a midnite pump so the very next morning ENGORGED! So painful!! Only have about 5-6hrs of sleep and rest. Stayed in KKH from afternoon till evening. So praying hard I don't fall sick!

Thanks for all the compliments about Teddy. As we play his VCDs on the PC, he's pretty familiar with the mouse and keyboards. Knows how to play with the roller wheel on the mouse, and if he wants me to change anything, he will grab my index finger and put it on the mouse.

<font color="0000ff">Joleena</font>
I believe there is an NTUC infant care/childcare in Rivervale or Compassvale area.

<font color="0000ff">shook</font>
I've been an isolated SAHM too long, brain gone soft. Instead of adding a month to Teddy's age for Jan, I deducted a month! Made the same mistake with Chen Chen's age too. Pai seh!
BTW, how do you delete a double posting? I've been guilty of a few myself.

<font color="0000ff">Audrey</font>
So, yeah, Audrey, as I told Foreverfriends Honey, Teddy is 18 mths, older than yours.

Does MMI have a website? Would like to find out more about them.

<font color="0000ff">lauran</font>
So you've got two boys then? They've got really cute chubby cheeks. Very close age gap hor? Hope AnAn's better.
BTW, are you a SAHM?

<font color="0000ff">belladonna</font>
Hi there!
kao_welcome.gif

You've got an interesting nick. I'm at Compassvale too. So which kindergarten do you put your daughter in?

<font color="0000ff">Pris</font>
Ouch! Poor Jadon! Can see why they want to do the op then. So I pray that Jadon will be well enough for the docs to do the op soon, so that he will not have pain anymore.
I know that CD players give off some sort of digital wave thingy, but how about battery operated cassette players, or maybe a music box?
May you have a steady hand and sufficient 'steel' in your heart to pass the test for the feeding tube and massage. Make sure you drink lots of water and watch your diet, even if you can't rest well. Do take care!

Hello pris,

I'm new here and have read a bit about you and little jadon.

Good luck for the nasogastric tube insertion tomorrow. You are a very brave and strong mummy and jadon takes after you.

hi wai yen

the website doesn't say much.
http://www.modern-montessori.com
my hb called them to ask. Can't wait for him to go childcare. He's getting a bit strong-willed(meaning wat he want he muz get) coz of grand parents too nice to him. MIght try my work place one...called little skool house on the hill. Coz dun know when MMI going to open. I working at SGH area. Is your son at childcare already?