Any mummy staying in Bukit Panjang??

hi irene,

my boy used to attending amazing star at greenridge when from apr'05 to apr'06. paid about $435 after subsidiary for half day. have since put him in another playgroup(church school).

tinklebell,
how you find amazing stars? withdrawn my son as i don quite like it.

JChew, my boy is paying $375 (for 1/2 day care) bec he is under the discounted scheme (cos we registered him before the sch opens).

A bit expensive for half day care. What i like abt the school is that is it clean. But there r other probs also. I dont think i should put down my comments here lah...My son is the type that doesnt quite adapt to new environment so that's why still staying put. Anyway, the probs i encountered r not really major ones.

hook, u put your child in the Evangelist church? I wanted to switch him there at first but on second thoughts, decided that a change will be too traumatic for him since he likes his school so much.

Wow we have a lot of bt panjang mothers. So excited. i also stay senja rd 625. my boy is 2 months now.

perhaps we can do up a summary to check on the numbers.
Please cut and paste and add your name, followed by baby's name, age and add.

i go first.

1) Valerie, Rayden Tan, 2months, 625 senja rd
2) ...

hi tinklebell,

no, my son is in st joseph church. quite good and my son enjoy his day there. previously at amazing star he refused to go to school and my hb and i have to drag him there every morning.
maybe you can pm me the problems you encountered at amazing star. let's see whether we faced the same thing.

2) Karen, Aldrick Tan, 33months, 631 senja rd
3) ...

hi to all,

3) Jenny, Rachelle, 8 weeks, 631 senja rd
4) ...

Ya, I agree. Hv the same intention too!

4) Irene, Wenzel Pek, 12.5months, 149 Petir Rd
5) ...

hi mumsfairy,

i have aso thot of this name too.. wanted to use if a boy.. however, cant cos mine is a gal..

3) Jenny, Rachelle Yuen, 10 weeks, 631 senja rd
4) ...

hehee, sorri.. wanted to type 10 weeks but blurred blurred typed 8 weeks..

I think just senja mummies alone can form a playgroup liao, hehe

Hi tinklebell, wah playgroup v.ex hor. If got 2, sure pocket big big hole.

Hi Jennylow, u dun hv to freeze the ebm if it's to be consumed on that day or next day. I started feeding my gal with total ebm when i returned to wk. Oni put in the chiller compartment not freezer. I tried putting into freezer once but dun really like it cos like change in milk properties. Very sai yang if hv and not consume. Just my opinion :p My gal longest record for not pooing is 1 week but she was on total ebm then and i think is okay loh as long as u feel that the abdominal is not bloated or the child display any discomfort.

Hi hook, can pm wat are the problems you face at the playgroup. U noe lah, I'm looking for one, just wanna make sure it's suitable. Thanks!

Hi westbb, happy belated BD to ur boy. Must hv a wonderful celebration??

hi irene,

i let my gal drink fresh breast milk everyday.. cos she only takes 1 feed (tat's when i goes to my mum's place).. even if you put it in the chiller compartment, my mum aso refuses.. cos she said tat breast milk is not fulling and thus she have to feed my gal every 2 hours..the main thing, she still have to warm the milk compared to formulated milk.. have tried reasoning with her.. but no use.. she insisted her way..
sometimes, i get very upset aso..
so i just have to let my gal drink during the weekend.. at least better than nothing..
im still thinkin if want put her to infant care..

hi jennylow, the longest record for my boy not pooing was 10 days!!! but he was on ebm then and no discomfort shown, when he poo it was soft too. my PD checked him was ok so she concluded that probably due to BM was very easy to digest and all are absorbed by the body so there was no waste to poo out. but now he's on FM already, one day didnt poo already very hard

hi irene, thanks! just had a simply celebration last sat, those mummies at Senja probably saw some party going on at the pavilion downstairs last sat keke

Here's mine!
3) Jenny, Rachelle Yuen, 10 weeks, 631 senja rd
4) westbb, Ben Wei, 12months, 629 senja rd

hi glennmum,

i am staying few blocks away only! guess we may have met before cos i always go sing siong also leh. do u bring your boy to the playground?i used to bring my boy every evening

5) westbb, Ben Wei, 12months, 629 senja rd
6) Sharon(tinklebell), Aaron, 3.5 yrs, bb Fiona, will be out in June, 650 Senja Link

hook, i attend St joseph church. Also ever thought of sending him to the childcare there but i find it a bit too far, esp when there is emergency and my mother needs to bring him home. They have school bus? even for half day? wat time the bus comes? okie will pm you on what i feel abt AMZS

Wah tinklebell, sooo early online liao. Can u oso pm on AMZS?? Need it for reference what to look out for when choosing one for my gal. Thanks!

6) Sharon(tinklebell), Aaron, 3.5 yrs, bb Fiona, will be out in June, 650 Senja Link
7) Baobao, Jayden , 4mths+ , 627 Senja Rd

Hey tinklebell, I'm not better than u. I start work @7.30am, haiz.... thanks for ur info too. So Aaron will be in nursery next year rite? Usually how many months before do we need to register for preschool? Sorry, a kiasu mummy here, hehe :p

Irene, wow u also start so early? Aaron is already in nursery this year. I'm not sure how many mths u need to register for pre-school. I thought it would usually be on on first come first serve basis, subject to available space.

I am also a mum from bukit panjang, Interesting topic.

tinklebell,
Thought of putting my child in amazing star any comments. Previously was from seedling patch. find it not so good

) Valerie, Rayden Tan, 2months, 625 senja rd
8) Yingzi, Shaness, 20mths, Bangkit Rd

Hi mummies, adding in my contact cos me also BP mummies.

Tinklebell, we talk before, dunno if u still rem me...can PM u on Amazing too. Hook, can I PM u too cos I intend to place my gal there in a few mths time. Need both mummies' feedback. Tks!

Hi tinklebell, ya i oso think so....first come first serve basis but my SIL said must register 1 year b4 hand which i think is ridiculous. So wanna chk it out.

Hi westbb, post some BD pics leh or u hv blog or online photo album??

Hi jenny, dun be disheartened. The folks are usually like this. I rmb my MIL oso commented very leh cheh to feed ebm. Luckily my mum quite supportive 'cos I reassure her i oni intend to feed the most 6 months but in the end managed to feed for 10 months. Initilly, my mum oso a bit apprehensive cos she nv BF b4 but after hands-on for few times, she get use to it liao. Ultimately, homecare will still better than infant care. Somemore infantcare quite costly too even though after subsidy.

Hi yingzi, i think i saw u in another thread. Congrats, u preggie again
When will you due this time round. I oso hope to get a piggy babe.

helo mummies, thanks for the welcome!

jeddie, paiseh did not mention where i stay hehee. I stay at the cluster in front of jelapang lrt. also senja road, but walking distance from senja grand where most of you are right? we used to love going there for bf coz the wan tan mee and char siew rice is delicious, but the uncle/auntie move off liaoz. :p

rachel, yah man, i just told hubby last night that this is our last 4 mths of er ren shi jie! so we better be extra loving and do those couple things when we still can hehehe.

westbb, happy belated birthday to ur son.

wow seems like most mummies here having sleepless nights hor. i think mummies are so wei da, will wake up to soothe baby no matter how tired we are. think i will experience that soon hehehee...

can i consult u mummies on something? some of u are bf-ing, do you know whether playtex liners are good and how to use it with avent manual pumps?

Jenny, Such a waste hor. Ya, I know some old folks don't like the
idea of ebm. Even though I'm still tbf my 7 mo girl, my mil and sils
has been telling me that newspaper reported that ebm after 6 month, no
long good, no effect for babies. And yesterday night, my 3rd or 4th
time telling them that this is the wrong concept. Definitely after 6
months bm is not enough to give all the nutrients a baby needs, and
that is why by 6 mo, most babies had started solid. And the best
thing about bm is that it is so easy to absorb by the body, it seldom
cause problems to digestion and baby gets some immunity from you as
well. I'm not stopping till my girl is 1 yo, then see how it goes.

tinklebell, thanks for your feedback, guess the school probably not so
good afterall.

Ladies, I share my experience with St Joseph Church Kindergarten. I
heard about the good things there and decided to send my son there
when he started pre-nursery. I like the privacy of the place and the
area is big with their own playground and all, which I don't have to
worry that the kids run to the road. But as the year goes by, I
realised that they are not upgrading their education equipments. Alot
of old toys donated by church members and broken wooden puzzles, etc.
The learning areas are usually the same throughout the year without
any specific theme for the children. Although I cannot deny that some
of the teachers are pretty good. But I'm paying so much for him to be
there but looking at the learning environment, I'm not really happy.
So I decided to pull him out and put him to a nearby PAP and I'm
really glad I did so. He has no problem attending school since the
first day. No fuss no cry. And he has learn alot of things even
though he has only attended half a yr. Classroom area is definitely
smaller than St Joseph, but the learning environment is much more
educating and appealing to kids and ME! Very informative teacher also
cause if anything happen on the day itself to your kids, they will let
the caregiver knows when they pick the kid up. And also they have
this communication book for parents and teachers, which you can put in
your questions and the teacher will answer.

6) Sharon(tinklebell), Aaron, 3.5 yrs, bb Fiona, will be out in June,
650 Senja Link
9) Jennis, Titus and Heidi, 4 yo and 7 mo, 448 Ring Road

Hi Yingzi, how r u? If i am not wrong, there was another BP thread where i talked to u. I tried to pm u but your account doesnt accept PMs.

JSD, yap, have raised some of the matters to them... but a lot of things not beyond teacher's control. since they r not really maj probs, decided to close one eye.

Hi JChew, the other time when I attended parenting workshop, I heard that BM nutrients is the best till 6 months, after which, slightly better than formula from 6 to 12 months. Afer 1 yr, the nutrients will be the same liao. Just for info but I think BM still good 'cos baby get extra immunity. I hope I can do the same when I hv my 2nd one.
Oh ya, btw which PAP center did you put Titus in?? 'Cos there's lot in BP area. Thanks!

Hi Jchew and tinklebell,

I think afterall there is no such thing as perfect school, but if the school is working towards a better school. i don't mind lor. But i will voice up to the management if i am not happy. tinklebell, i mentioned to you about the school which my son went previously . I never see the owner at all. Whereas that day i went to AM, i spoke to the owner and she gave me her mobile number. i am quite please with it lor. she told me her number already put on the website for complain and enquiry. Ha ha in my heart thinking she may be in deep trouble.

9)Pauline, Kaeden, 6 mths, 630 senja rd

Hi Irene, tks! Yap just realised I preggie with my second child 2 days ago. Will be seeing my gynae in June, believed shld be due next yr Jan/Feb...just nice gap from my first..2.5 years.

Hi Tinklebell, I hv activated my PM. Tks for remembering me...appreciate if you can share with me the prob.

650 Senja Link
10) Pauline, Kaeden, 6 mths, 630 Senja rd

Hi YingZi

Congrat! When do you intend to put you child in AM? I already signed up. try their trial period

Irene, exactly. I've been trying to explain to them but they still will express their 'concern' to me which sometimes I know they are out of goodwill but really irritates the hell out of me.

Oh, hehehe... Titus is at the Block 422 PAP. hehehe... actually I got inside information one. My in law is staying at 412 and just right below their block got a PAP already, but I put him to 422 which is few blocks away. Reason? One of my sil is a PAP teacher but in Jurong Area. From their internal survey, she told me that in BP area, only block 422 and 545 are on the higher standards and they have already achieve this Green Code or something like that from the MOE. Not all PAP has achieved that and even my sil's school has not got it.

hi dancingbb,
ya who know we might meet each other before hor..

sometime my maid will bring him to Phoenix Walk's playground not me coz back home already 730pm liao..

Hi Yingzi, congrat..

) Valerie, Rayden Tan, 2months, 625 senja rd
650 Senja Link
10) Pauline, Kaeden, 6 mths, 630 Senja rd
11) mamavogue, juni (18mths) 2nd one due in Aug 2006, 625 Senja road.

hook,
i think your son and mine were in the same playgroup class last year
I ever heard my son mentioning abt a boy called Aldrick.

hi tinklebell,

ya....i think i know your son too. saw your mother almost everday and your son and mine are friends!

hook,
hee hee... what a small world. glad that Aldrick likes his new school. He's still in their playgroup right? Although he is 3 mths younger than aaron, but he's 1 yr younger in terms of schooling age. my poor aaron got a lot to catch up with his older peers, esp in Mandarin

hi tinklebell,

Aldrick's out of Amazing Stars since mid March. Think Aldrick still miss his friends at Amazing Stars because he still mentioned about them when he saw the uniform. Let's have a meet up someday for the boys to meet!

hi JChew,

thanks for your information on St Joseph Church. Brought my son there through recommendations and yet to see any problems. Maybe he is only in the playgroup and thus, education equipments are quite standard. Maybe will realise the problems when he is in nursery where learning is more important than playing. but one thing i'm sure, there's lots of mosquitos there. my son always got bites here and there and everywhere. and another thing is they hold their outdoor activities when the sun is bright and shining on them. worry too much sun for my son and applied sun block for him but he got ecezma and aggrevate his condition further. please pm me more information on the PAP Titus is attending. you know lah, kiasu mother. will think of changing school when heard something negative about it. maybe will withdraw him when he's eligible for lesson at PAP.

Hi BP Mummies
Nice meeting you on this thread

Boy had just celebrated his 1 yr old birthday. He was born on the labour day
Staying at Cashew Road.

jenny
sad to know that your mum not supportive of giving your baby EBM...but hold on there! there are lots of mummies who are in the same boat as you. im one of them! my mum keep asking is baby full or not, as i always will latch him on wheneven im with him. stress but will tong for as long as possible la. jia you!

re: baby poopoo
at first my baby's record is every 5 days poo once, which really freak out my mum. so she keep pointing finger at my BM. saying thats the reason why boy no poo everyday. super sad and stress then. now boy poo every other day liao, so my mum no longer say my BM no good...

think our babies body system really know what to do and its just a changing phase =)

jsd : where are placing your child for the trial? Initially intend to place at Amazing Star but now half hearted after receiving feedback from Hook and Tinklebell. Actually my frenz oso withdraw her child after 2 days.

I tot of kinderland but ex and the place like so so only, still small lor.

Any good suggestion?

Hi Yingzi

Me huh? Still placing at Amazing Star Lor. heard other centre even more scary story. So give it a try lor