Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

Hi Tam and all,

Agree. If a child is bilingual + independent + bright + motivated + hardworking, he'll likely excel in his own way and do reasonably well. I'm concerned abt the standard of childcare teachers and therefore still keeping my son at home.

I notice that most teachers speak in Singlish (or otherwise PRC-accented manglish) to the young children. Kids in the neighbourhood speak SInglish and I am wondering if this is the way MOE intends for our children to grow up.

I am focusing on English first because I really don't want the kid to sound sloppy. Meanwhile also definitely also speaking Mandarin at home. He's bilingual at the moment and can understand some dialect. He knows the difference between PRC accent, Singapore Mandarin and Chinese dialects. When he hears the PRC accent, he will automatically go "Oh - oh..." because he's ever heard those cheap women talk in flirty tones to the bus driver before
He knows we loathe those tarty creatures I guess... he laughed real hard when he accidentally caught Lulu (one of Michelle Chong's personas on 'The Noose') and instinctively said to us: "wo3 yao4 ba2 pi2, wa1 qian2, oh oh.." (I want to skin (you) and dig out all your money')!!

Hi Joy/ Tam,

Yes, consistency is the key to success academically.

Hi Tam - I was chatting with my neighbour who is a teacher teaching at a neighbourhood school. She mentioned that the school is working towards reducing the # of P1 classes from 2014 and also to reduct class size. I hope they will do it next year as I intend to enrol my DD1 there.

tamarind

Er...by resources I mean $$$. Singapore system doesn't allow a 14 years old to enter University even with outstanding SAT results. Must have $$$ to go overseas if talking about entering Uni in early teens. Of course SAT is not difficult to self study lah.

I sat for GMAT before, self studied & passed the entire CFA course by reading up. Actually, I find that it's much more comfortable to study at home than sit upright for a few hours attending lectures.

snowball

Gee I didn't know about IP students taking GCE 'O' level privately. I guess they probably thought no harm having extra certificates?

By the way, I've read in straits times that some of the prior years psle scholars took GCSE 'O'. Also read somewhere a homeschooled p3 boy took GCSE 'O' Maths

Hi Yawn,

These students are actually taking the USA equivalent of GCE "O" Levels. The interesting part is that these IP students are "afraid" that they may not even get their "A" Levels cert (don't do well) and end up only with a PSLE cert. I find this so funny. These students are supposed to be the cream of the crop and end up with such fear.

Something is really not right with our education system....creating so much anxiety, uncertainty amongst students & parents instead of making the learning process an enjoyable experience.

My cousin studied in Aust for his degree/ Masters and finally got his Doctorate last year. He is back with a job but he did mentioned that if he has children, he will want them to have their education in Aust as he wants his kids to enjoy their education process. So saddddddd.

yawn,
I haven't heard of any minimum age requirements by NUS. I remember reading about one parent who wrote that her son entered NUS at 14.

If the child can get brilliant SAT scores, I am sure local universities will not reject him, otherwise can always go and see MP.

mumusings,
I agree with you about the standard of childcare teachers. You make the right decision to keep your son at home. I think that the home environment is the best place to learn for kids before the age of 6.

Its great that your son can understand some dialects besides English and Mandarin. I wish that my kids can speak Cantonese, however my mother now insists on speaking to them in Mandarin instead of Cantonese.

snowball,
I also find it quite ridiculous for IP students to be so "afraid" that they want to the O levels.

I agree with you that the system is creating all the anxiety and uncertainty. Even if parents have low expectations, kids will feel the pressure from teachers and friends so long as the system is like this.

BTW, besides GEP, there is also fear of streaming into the foundation class where the subjects are simplified, which means that the kids will never do as well as mainstream students in PSLE.

When I grew, there is no streaming, everyone learned the same thing in the same way. I don't think that the new generation is any better than us.

Hi Tam,

I was likely home-schooled 'cos kindergarten was just play/singsong/drawing and no homework in the past. I can't remember how I picked up my ABCs and various dialects but I guess the exposure to adults helped. In the past, people didn't give 'home-schooling' fancy names. All my grandmas did was to ensure I was taken care of and learnt something meanwhile by whoever was 'in charge' of babysitting me.

Maybe there was a 'syllabus' on hindsight (or based on the talents of each family member).

Aunt#1: logic, what-not-to-say/be, maths (she always allowed me to play with her professional calculator and do 'pretend' sums)
Aunt #2: etiquette, baking, food ingredients, fruits, arts, craft, grammar, dictionary, newspaper and general science (labelling of plants etc)
Aunt #3: kite-flying, outdoors, Scrabble and also some maths (counting money, buying sweets)
Aunt #4: piano, instruments, music appreciation, singing, table etiquette (cannot go out unless I finish eating with a very clean table with no droppings of rice etc)
Uncle #1: outdoor, general science/bio (worms, fish, insects and plants)
Mom: Chinese/Mandarin, simple maths, stitching, folding diapers, sterilising bottles and academic worksheets
Dad: art, reading, books, music and a listening ear
Grandmas: cooking, sewing machine, household chores, visiting the markets
Grandpa (maternal): long walks, stock market, abacus (I had tonnes of proxy forms and receipts compiled for filling in)
Grandpa (paternal): sharpening of tools, calligraphy and simple card games

I spent my weekends with these close relatives and weekdays with paternal side. On weekdays, it was kindergarten for 4 hours daily - singing, drawing and craft. I don't ever remember having homework and tests. After school, I'm usually observing granny cook, drawing, babysitting my baby sister, playing with neighbours, watching HK drama at night and playing piano. I think childhood was such fun!

I think I grew up just fine without any fancy extra enrichment. I had free access to piano, books, cassette tapes of ABBA, Seekers, Carpenters and classical stuff. I definitely didn't lose out to friends who were rich/pampered/well-travelled!

I don't know if my method of allowing my son play/learn at home will work as well but I'm definitely not going to leave him with half-baked teachers! He's not too keen in reading yet so I'm just doing my best by encouraging him to recognise words from his favourite posters and toys. He's finally into drawing/colouring/tracing and I leave him to do whenever he fancies 'cos he definitely can draw out letters and numbers independently now

Like Tam, I also feel that the new generation may have the luxury of IT gadgets + tuition etc BUT they don't seem to be stronger in terms of values, depth and intelligence!

HI Tam,

Sorry for the very wordy post. I forgot to add.

The stuff I learnt from my aunts and uncles were literally FREE. My folks aren't rich and they didn't spend on resources to teach me, but used the great outdoors, stuff and home and own belongings as resouces for demonstration These days, parents spend $$$ in hundreds and thousands to spur kids to read, tumble and even cook. I wonder why they won't take the time to spend more time together at home to talk/play together!

snowball

Is it only a handful of IP students or a whole lot of IP students? Because if it's only a handful, then they're not representative of the entire IP cohort.

Even among IP students, there's bell curve. Hence there will always be some students who perform below expectations and some who ace everything. The big bulk of students just fall in between these 2 extreme

However, if substantial in number feeling insecured, then indeed worrying leh.

re: streaming

I think our generation had some sort of streaming too.
My classmate was 2 years older than me because she studied for 8 years in her primary school.
There was also the infamous EM3

mumusings

Wow, in case you're not aware, you're blessed with a luxurious childhood !

Piano was way out of our league. We wore hand down clothings. Only had chicken once a year during reunion. Parents were too busy to make ends meet to teach us etiquett or general science.

But we still learn filial piety and empathy by observing our parents. None of my siblings became delinquent even though under minimum supervision. Somehow kids from that era were more 乖 & 老实 & more motivated to be上进

snowball

regarding studying in Australia, I only did my Masters degree there, so my duration of stay was much much shorter compared to your cousin's. Just sharing what I gathered during my relatively shorter stay. Because of modular system, each subject did not stretch out too long & thus seemed more manageable in that sense. Then again, squeezing so many modules into one year was not an easy task either. Based on my personal experience, still need to study very very hard leh

However, it was indeed more enjoyable in the sense that mood was lighter because we were in a brand new environment so kind of feel like tourists on an extended vacation, air was fresher (my sensitve nose took a break) and my skin was less oily and much smoother

I probably won't say my kids need to study in Australia too. If the opportunity arises, I won't say no. But I'm equally open to other developed countries. Every country's education system has its merits (& demerits), I prefer to keep an open mind. Even if so call 'stuck' in Singapore, I expect my kids to learn to adapt. Being able to adapt is a life skill afterall

Hi Yawn,

I did not know how exactly how many IP students actually registered as pte candidate for O-levels. There could be quite a no. gathered that is warrants a media report? I just read the report with interest that there is actually such fear in the IP students.

Hi Mumusings - You have the luxury of having so many "home tutors" to teach you so many things. I too was fostered out to my maternal granny and auntie when I was young (my mum has to juggle between looking after my 4 elder siblings and helping my dad at his paddling hawker stall). I only started to stay permanently with my parents when I started my Pri Sch education. I should say being fostered out, I was being loved by my granny and my aunts/ uncles and they taught me lotsa things. Perhaps I knew I was being fostered out to them, I always tell myself that I have to behave (also from constant reminders from my mum not to inconvenience my granny and aunts/ uncles). Like what Yawn has mentioned, kids of our era were more 乖 & 老实.

When I was young, there were times I felt jealous of my sis who was never caned, unlike me but as I grew up, I realise I had the full attention of all the adults for many years as the only grandchild. As some aunts were not working yet (life was just so slow and simple then), they had the time and flexibility to play teacher/nanny to their only niece.

On hindsight, it is a 'luxurious' childhood as Yawn describes. That's why I love my grandparents so dearly and know the importance of having solid grounding at home. I've had friends who can't understand why I must 'report' to my grannies (grandpas are both RIP). Last year I wrote a post abt our family ladies wrapping dumplings together and such is the unspoken solidarity of a close-knit family despite differences in character/agendas.

Hi Yawn,

Being the oldest grandchild is very lucky indeed 'cos I had largely new items (which were later passed to sis and cousins) and so I think everyone wanted to impart their knowledge and skills to their baby/toddler niece. Piano was something I took for granted because it was sitting there with all the books and records. I didn't think it was important to do exams since I could play pieces on my own.

Whatever it was in childhood, my folks never talked about 'money', 'earning big bucks' or 'buying this and that'. My mom absolutely refused to buy dolls and girly stuff for me because she feels that girls should have brains and knowledge more than flimsy stuff. So no comics, 'soft' toys and girly hairdos/ribbons etc. Likewise, my dad had this absolute aversion to polka dots and lacy stuff so everything they bought was practical, sturdy and long-lasting. My only biggest present was a steel racer with pedals from my grandpa. (Funny how I don't even own a license and can't drive!). Both grannies stressed that there is never a need to waste money eating out because they will cook anything we wish to eat. And so I had 99% of meals homecooked and love the stuff I ate. My only outside food was Macs apple pie and monthly fish-and-chips at OG Chinatown (a cafe near the bridge).

My paternal granny sums up her hopes for me "whatever you do, never sell your body because that's the lowest thing to do to yourself... but must pass all exams so that you won't end up illiterate like me or get bullied by men". I had very feminist models at home who believed that women must have financial independence 'cos men have the propensity for drinking/smoking/squandering/being cheated hahahaha...

I've never really written anything abt my granny but she's one big role model. She single-handedly did 4 jobs in a day to send my father to uni (then after he could work to send my aunt overseas). My grandpa worked too but he had a soft ear for his kakis and so most of his money went to his pals, was swindled and the rest remitted back to China. My granny worked day and night till she was 60+ so that she could buy a private apartment for all to live in and be loan-free + free from any terms and conditions. Such is the sacrifice an illiterate, tough and forward-looking peasant lady, my grandmother.

I don't know how long she will cling on to life and I regret not taking extra attention learn all her recipes before she fell nastily ill a few years ago
Some people don't understand why I am so attached to my grannies and have made very terrible remarks about them just because they look down on us. I've had to endure nasty comments like "your ancestors must have done bad things, that's why so many daughters..." and stuff like her illness is "retribution" for "always wanting to earn more". You can never imagine the venom coming from people just because one has stepped on the wrong toes!

Therefore, when you read about the piano, it was something my granny worked hard for. Likewise my father's first typewriter. She was very practical. Kids' learning needs before her own comfort. I can never match her toughness and willpower.

mumusings,
You certainly have a childhood that many people envy, not because there was any luxury, but because of the attention that you received from the adults around you.

I spent my childhood playing outside with neighbouring kids. Everyday our only concern was what games to play.

Your granny has my greatest respect. She belonged to that generation of women who were willing to sacrifice anything so that her kids can live a better life. I don't think we can find any young mother like her any more. For those mothers who spend tons of money cramming kids with tuition, enrichment, they considered it an investment and will expect kids to pay back when they grow up and get high paying jobs.

yawn,
That is not the only case. I have heard of another 14 year old who entered NUS. Anyway, there are a few universities in Singapore, I am sure that there will be one who accepts kids who have brilliant SAT scores.

I am older than you, during my generation, there was no EM3. Kids who failed exams were asked to repeat the level. This made sense because some kids needed longer time to learn things compared to others, but they still learned the same things.

Our current system streams kids into GEP, mainstream, foundation, and each stream has a different syllabus. This is totally unnecessary and unfair to kids who may be late developers.

Hi Yawn/ Tam,

I am in the same era as Yawn, if I remember correctly, I was the first batch of Pri Sch kids put under the streaming era....I find that the streaming of students to EM3 are very demoralising as they were always being branded as the "hopeless" group and ranked lowest in school.

Have you ladies seen the video of the Ferrari crash? I hate it that the papers are playing up the 'richness' of the Ferrari driver and his pitiful preganant wife instead of the deaths of the taxi driver, lady passenger and other victims. 200km/h speed beating the red light. I wonder how they will punish this guy (even though he also died in the crash). Horrific!!!!

Video of high-impact crash that sent the taxi flying: http://sg.news.yahoo.com/video-of-ferrari-crash-shows-speed-of-high-impact-collision-.html

The wife spoke up for the guy even though he was clearly dodgy. 4am with a KTV hostess in the Ferrari. Such people don't deserve to be parents and husbands.

Hi Mumusings,

What can a young guy and a young supposedly nightclub hostess do at 4am in the wee hours of the morning. I wonder if you have read another forum posting from another PRC blaming the taxi-driver for not keeping lookout before driving off when the traffic lights turn green. From the other forumers, it was know that this former PRC national is his 20s, come from rich family, and given S'pore citizenship.....Sighhhhhh

Yes, I pity his wife for having such a husband whom "gong gong" believe that her husband took his Ferrari for his "usual" spin on quiet roads.

My heart goes to the taxi driver and the poor Japanese lady......

snowball,
How can anyone blame the taxi-driver ? From the video posted by mumusings, it was green light and there is nothing wrong for the taxi to move forward. The red Ferrari was seriously breaking traffic rules. 害死自己,也害死别人 !

Oh I did not know the female passenger was a Japanese lady. My heart also goes out to her and the poor taxi driver.

If the dead PRC's rich family has any morals, they should donate money to the taxi driver's family.

If you saw the pics at the mortuary, the PRCs were decked in LV and Hermes. I guess the wife's definition of a "family man" is one who can provide material goodies??? Many of them are like that, sorry to generalise.

Real scumbag, the driver. I hated the way the WanBao describing the guy as handsome, tall and well-mannered. A truly civilised and homely person will NOT leave a pregnant wife with branded goods and then take off (literally) with tarts at 4am! Look at his choice of cars. Are Ferraris and his BMW family cars?? How does his family fit in?

Makes me cringe when I read all these glamourising of accident victims (the Ferrari one I mean) and totally ignore the atrocities being thrown at the taxi driver's entire family.

I am not working and cannot afford to donate much. Only can do a blog post to publicise this piece of crap man. http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2012/05/ferrari-crashes-into-taxi.html

The motorcyclist is really lucky. His 4th accident and now he's decided not to bike anymore. Can imagine his poor mother -- having to take bad news and worry about the next!

My husband and I are so so so so angry with this news! Previously one bus driver also knocked a lady dead at Sengkang + the budget terminal accident. Not forgetting the insolent Sun Xu who called us dogs and the MP Baey saying that Singaporeans should reflect on why we're being looked down upon. What's happening to our country!!!!

Wow...thanks to all mommies here, I've learned a lot about the GEP and IP.

From what I've read, I tend to agree that GEP has taken a wrong direction. There cannot be so many students considered 'gifted' that they can actually comprise classes in schools. MOE's definition of 'gifted' needs a re-look.

Truly gifted kids do not need tuition to pass a screening test. In fact, they should not even be studying for the test! It's absurd!

These kids are pigeon-holed by the education system and by their parents from that young age and they are expected to perform way-beyond-excellent throughout their educational life because...they are gifted! That is undue pressure put on a kid at 9 years old.

If the kid lags behind in the GEP, do they have a choice of getting back to the 'mainstream'?

I've been reading about the accident from the web as well. The victims' families should sue the driver for loss of future income.

I can only gauge what SG is like now from online news that I read. But it does seem like SG is becoming more like Monaco, than it is Switzerland (that's what the PAP wanted SG to be like right?).

It's turning into a playground for the rich, where pple go to for fun, plonk some money in the casinos, spend their time in luxurious hotels and all. And who lives in Monaco? The King! Who's rich!

Wow... the nerve of the Ferrari guy's family to ask Singporeans to not curse them. See the screenshot below. Such is the state of their morality

7040602.jpg

They totally missed the point. We are not angry because someone rich drove a Ferrari. The point here is that an irresponsible foreigner driving a Ferrari killed innocent victims in Singapore!

Really infuriating. The family expect outpouring of sympathy for the bum from Singaporeans?? These people obviously are devoid of conscience. I wish to know which investment firm he's from.

Redvelvet - I also do not know what is S'pore becoming. Keep attracting the wrong "FTs" & still defending that we need them to sustain our economy. Are they helping them sustain our economy or tarnishing our name?

Sighhhhhhhhhhh

Hi Mumusings,

This family is filthy rich and do not need outpouring sympathy from us the poor S'poreans lah.....I guess the wife will sell off their penthouse here, make tons of $$$ from the sale and move to another country and start their lavish lives all over. Who cares?

Hi Snowball,

Apparently the brother said they don't come from a rich home afterall. Just that he was very clever to earn so much in 2 years. Sure sounds dodgy. So many of these PRCs help launder money overseas for the corrupt officials -- if you read abt Bo Xilai, wife and son, it's the same way of hiding their wealth through new names, proxy companies and money-sitters.

Hope the China government looks into this familly's accounts. Came here 4 years ago and within 2 years made more than S$5 million + without university degree ..... sure sounds like a miracle if family isn't well off.

Ya, nt tat rich people will be at fault. but for this accident it is the stupid ferrari tat speed and beat red light at fault!!! Be it he is rich or nt he is in the wrong and deserve no sympathy at all!

If he is really a decent family man, why the hell he will be out in the wee hour driving a young gal who dress so sexy around!!!

The way they are defending the ferrari driver and the young gal suck big time!

Hi Diana, Snowball, Redvelvet and all,

Alot of times these PRCs remind us that we're Chinese. Yes, our ancestors came from various parts of China, settled down and WENT THROUGH THICK AND THIN with the British/post-war govnt. Our grandparents came here to work, save and contribute to society. They didn't come here to hanky-panky, steal, rob, drunk-drive but toiled for every cent they earned.

These days, their womenfolk come here to steal other people's husbands or information. The rich come to launder money, flash their ill-gotten wealth and stake out parts of our islands. And these are the people who are getting easy PR status and pink NRICs. Just this morning a PRC chick was whining to friend on the phone that she played with a guy and he refused to pay his dues. I stared hard at her and she walked away continuing to whisper about her dallying. Such are scums who are now our 'neighbours' who may one day attempt to seduce more local men into abandoning their families, sell away HDB, withdraw CPF and migrate to a wonderful lovely future in China.

Makes my blood boil. When I see some of the 'relatives' who pop by Singapore -- I simply refuse to entertain them. One of them carries Chanel (bought by 'friend') and totally just reeks of a vixen. The Shu Qi sort of come-hither look with puffed up red lips, doe-eyed and fair skin. They are no longer poor but they are greedy for branded stuff and stay at MBS. Daughters will stay for a few months while parents come over for short holiday. Where do these people's money come from, I wonder! They're living high life at our expense. Better still, my grandpa sent much money back to China for decades and they've never once shared rental income or investment gains. When my grandpa passed away, they called to ask if it was TRUE or was it just an excuse to stop sending money back!!!

A country with 5000-yr history but so ridden with immorality

I'm just wondering why our govnt is so sure these new immigrants won't dump their citizenship once they've grabbed enough or when their sons are due for NS. They also said this is to balance out the greying population BUT these immigrants usually end up exporting their parents over to help babysit? My estate is filled with these China-grandparents singing their communist songs downstairs and encouraging the kids to pee by the playground.

Hi mumusings,

I share the same sentiments as you on the "FT" in Singapore. I also wonder are they really FT or Foreign Rubbish. I am also angry abt the Ferrari car accident, it is so obvious that the driver was irresponsible and broke the traffic rules. I feel Singaporeans soon would become endangered species, as I see the influx of foreigners increasing in my block ever since the flat could be sold to the market after 5 yrs.

Honestly, I don't believe in what the govt says. All don't make sense to me, I even start to worry for my kids when it's time for them to find work. They'll be competing with foreigners for jobs, if this current situation doesn't change. I really miss the old Singapore when there were not a lot of foreigners.

I also learn more abt GEP and IP schools in this thread. The GEP is not producing talents but overworked & kiasu students instead. It seems to defeat the purpose of hving a GEP. I am also not in favour of those EM1-3 streaming. Thanks to tamarind's sharing that I got to know there is a different syllabus for EM3 students. It is very demoralizing and does not encourage students to try their best to excel cos they hv already been discriminated. I hope this system will be obolished, so that equality among students is re established. I feel Singapore is going downhill, I can feel it more and more as days go by.

Hi mumusings,

Ya, alot of china grandparents around, I muz agreed. And secondary and primary have alot of china kids too. I remember sitting beside 3 (2 gals and 1 boy) secondary students in Mac. Anyway, this is wat our zheng hu want. And sad to say, this is also wat majority of singaporean want too coz dun forget, they vote for the zheng hu de mah...

Diana,

Do you feel this is what most Singaporeans want when they vote our zheng hu? I feel they are mislead by zheng hu cos they always give freebies and empty promises when it is near election. It is also a pity that they choose to vote for them and think life will improve or this is the way it should be. It is really sad that most of them don't know their votes are confidential. Prices start increasing after the election, I really don't know what it is going to be like until the next election. Those foreigners converted to citizens will definitely vote for our zheng hu, cos they hv gained so much from them.

Foreign Talent
The gahment says that FT will sustain our economy. However, the truth is that there are still many Singaporeans who earn $850 a month. My salary also has not increased much over the years. The FTs only make the rich become even richer, the poor even poorer in Singapore.

I feel that the root of the problem lies in the education system. The GEP creates an elite group who is out of touch with the average people. MOE has never published how many GEP kids are from the upper middle class, or have parents who are university graduates, the % of such kids in GEP may be very high.

Kids from poor families, whose parents cannot teach and cannot afford tuition, are unlikely to do well. When such kids are streamed into the foundation class, he will never be able to do as well as those from mainstream.

So the rich kids get the best education, while the poor kids get the worst education.

The result is that now we have MP and MOS who say things like we should reflect on ourselves when others called us pigs, and "if everyone can move up, we will not have enough ITE graduates out there in the workforce.", and "parents can choose IP school or normal schools based on the child's learning style". Sadly, they don't even understand why people are infuriated with their comments.

moorspa,

But it is nt the first time that zheng hu gif empty promises and yet they choose to believe then who to blame? Maybe in another 10 to 20 years time singaporean will all be new immigrants while those born in Singapore Singaporean will hv migrant to other countries le....

Diana,

Most of them are like my parents and parents in law who still think PAP shld be governing Singapore cos they don't surf net like us, or watch news on the Internet. Most of them are bought over by their cash payout, once the election is over, they forget everything. When life starts to get harder, they forgot they gave e govt power to raise prices.
News on TV are very controlled and they only show the gd side of the govt. I think only our generation and younger generation think differently, and we are not so gullible. Then there are the civil servants which I think most of them will vote for them cos they fear they will lose their jobs. The thing is a lot of pple still think their votes are not confidential, which WP has tried to educate the voters that their votes are confidential.

Tamarind,

Well said, I totally agree with you. I also agree with what you said abt GEP, I feel it should be scrapped as it has defeated it's purpose. There shld not be any streaming to EM1-3, and every child is given a chance to study mainstream. Like what you said the best gift to a child is education, so that the poor can get out of poverty.

On FT - I can say that many of the FTs take S'pore as their springboard to hop on to their ultimate "dream" countries. Hence, the fact that they choose S'pore citizenship is to milk out the BEST of being a citizenship, build up their credentials as S'pore has world-famous reputation and off they go to hop on to their dream country when the time is ripe to strike. Those who left behind will be those 半桶水 which other countries do not want. I have overseas customers from many Asia Countries (incl China) whom have gotten S'pore Citizenshipand most of them told me that their ultimate country they are aiming is NOT S'pore.

My company has recruited a few Mgt Trainees (so-called FT) whom grad from S'pore Uni. These Mgt Trainees received their U education on scholarships given by our gahment (meaning their U education here is FOC!). The catch of the scholarship - I think is something like having to work 3 or 5yrs in S'pore after graduation and they are FREE. I was very upset to hear this as there are so many S'poreans out there whom are deprived of a seat in local U and yet, these so-called FTs are readily given a place! When I had casual chat with them, many of them feedback that their dream country of residence is not S'pore. A few of them even mentioned they are not interested to convert to citizenship. Hence, they will continue to entire the best of both worlds as a PR.

I think our gahment still fail to see this point and is still hoping that these migrants will help sustain our economy.

Perhaps, like that Revelvet has mentioned, only when S'pore has become like Monaco, then the Gahment will wake, which I guess will be too late.

By bringing in foreign workers to come into Singapore to work, gah men stands to gain. Just think abt the levy that employers need to pay to MOM every month, our gah men will only invest in something that will bring in tons of revenue. I hv worked as a receptionist in a small centre treating autististic kids. There is one parent who wants to start a school to help autistic kids but she could not get govt aid as it cost a lot of money to get special equipments. Why? It does not bring in revenue for the gah men at all. It is sad that gah men does not focus on nurturing local talents. Are Singaporeans not talented that they need to bring in loads of foreigners?

I am sure everybody knows abt Kpop. Why are they so successful? The govt supports the entertainment industry and therefore it is able to flourish. I also learnt from TV that Korean govt also invests in the fashion design industry, encouraging their local designers to create and sell their apparel. However, we don't see it in Singapore. I feel the gah men should also support the local farms, and cut down importing vegetables from overseas. By supporting local farming, it'll help to create jobs, generate revenue and Singaporeans can buy fresher and cheaper vegetables.

The gah men do not support their own pple and give scholarships to foreigners instead. Why would foreigners be loyal to Singapore? They are here to gain as much as they can for their own benefits. Like those Indians in IT , they earn so much more than Singaporeans and they can save and retire in their home country. From what I learnt from my hubby, the worst is a foreigner in a senior position and they will recruit their own pple only, which only makes employment worse for Singaporeans. Our national pledge has already lose its meaning. I still remember this part, " Based on justice and equality, so as to achieve happiness, prosperity and progress for our nation." I feel there is no justice and equality now, and the situation will only get worse.

It is sad that the demographics of the country has changed so much in such a short span of time. I almost couldn’t recognize the country I grew up in anymore.
It used to be everyone you know in school or worked with are either Singaporeans or Malaysians. A very occasional expat or one or two from India or China. Life was simple then.

But within last 4-5 years, the whole country is overwhelmed by influx of PRCs. You cannot go anywhere or do anything without sensing their presense.

What is our government thinking??! Who reviewed the numbers? Till now, I have not heard one single good explanation on why the flood gates opened so suddenly. Nor have I experienced or witness explicitly the ‘benefits’ this policy has brought about.
What I see are the bad habits they bring in, the competition at schools and employment. There is a department in my company, out of which 90% are PRs or citizen-converts from you-know-where.
Guess where the recruiting manager is from?

I think they're beginning to be worried too after last ge. Trying to u-turn but it's happening way too slowly & damage already done.

60% support is the lowest in their entire ruling history. Unfortunately, due to grc, residents do not get the true 40% voice, only whisper so far...

A slight distraction from the main topic in case anyone's interested. I found a made-in-China double pan on sale at Giant hypermart S$19.99 instead of S$49.99. Worth buying if you just want to try a new-concept-pan
This one is Teflon-coated. We bought one just to see if it's less messy cooking in a double pan.

Did one meal a while ago and it worked well. Don't know how long it will last but the price is too good to resist since a wokpan will cost above $25 in any case...

7048495.jpg
hb cooking dinner with kid watching/helping
7048496.jpg
buttered portobello and nai bai

All pics here: http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2012/05/remico-double-pan.html

This is my own Mothers' Day gift to myself and also to placate my very ugly-mood thanks to the Ferrari scumbag over the weekend.