Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

Yawn,Snowball32,

Thanks, but really,its still a tough journey for the next one year.Not only must manage her work, also her mood swing.

I just hope she can be consistent and able to get into the secondary school that she wants.

yawn,

he got shortlisted again. But becos he have no theory background at all, they want to put him in grade 2 to cushion the theory part. I missed the orientation last saturday as I only received the letter on saturday morning and he had a few concerts performance from friday to sunday, too busy thus we din notice that the orientation was actually saturday itself. Sigh, I had wanted to talk to his prospective teacher face to face. But we got his contact already and will be calling to discuss. In his current school, he is offered a more rigorous training program moving away from suzuki to prepare him for competition in around 2-3 years. Thus, I am not sure whether if we give up that opportunity, and go nafa, he will receive adequate training to advance or constrained to grade 2 songs which may not match his current level.

This is the link to his solo performance on Friday and he played the same song for the nafa audition.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yCGRPzQ0ajo

re: piano

I am trying to find a good piano teacher for my boy ... if you all know any really good ones, please let me know ok

Hello everyone!

Sorry, MIA for so long. Has been extremely busy with WORK WORK and More Work! then busy with the kids and my own stuff too. In between, we cancelled our Perth Trip - supposed to go today, and scrambled to book another trip, shorter but easy to handle cos bring all the three kids. So we are now going to Phuket on Sunday and will only be back next Friday...

Rush Rush and Rush

poohy,
Actually I was thinking of getting a piano teacher to come to my place to teach instead of me sending him... I also need to know of good piano teacher

I also had a problem with the nerve on my right shoulder/arm. was in pain for at least 6 weeks. My arm can't move much and has no strength.

now better.

Shashan,

thanks. I stay in west area. But I dun mind travelling to the central areas or slightly further if the teacher is very good and can take him on weekends. I cant make it on weekdays unless it is extremely near home.

Weekend usually private teachers teach at music school. Which grade is yr boy in? I have 2 friends who teach quite well in piano, they travel to student house, but not available on weekend. If u want weekend, may request MISS Jennifer at cristofori funan it mall. But she teach more higher grade students. Coz she is piano teacher's teacher.

shashan,

my boy had never learnt piano. He had been concentrating on violin for the last 3 years. At his request, I am looking for a piano class/teacher for him and preferably the teacher is really good as I do not want to waste my time to have to undo any bad habits been developed if the teacher did not catch it early.

Rona,
Thot ur kid with sylvia? Any reason for change?
btw u goes beauty world every weekend rite? My facial lady at bukit timah shopping does massage which might help with your arm. She is at 2nd level above OCBC, but she do more for regulars, need to book. If u want, I can pass u the contact.

Shashan,
Ur friends teach at upper bucket timah? Can pm me their rates for beginners?

rona
Enjoy your coming vacation! Where are you staying at Phuket?

poohy
Which music school is S learning violin now? He's very composed, impressive!

Congrats on getting in Nafa again! I thought you said you wanted Saturday time slot? Having similar concerns as previous audition? Indeed at cross point, tough decision

By the way, mine had a distinction for her internal theory exam, yet to receive practical result. Already decided months ago to exit regardless of results. Paid in advance for whole semester so have to complete the term, no refund don't waste mah. Didn't work out for us because too time consuming, parents burned out, need to send/wait/fetch & practice for hours daily.

With hindsight, we wasted precious time because if she stayed in her previous school, she would be playing grade 3 now. But no regrets lah, if don't try at all, we will always wonder 'what if'... Anyway, the conclusion is parents need a more relaxed learning environment, haha!

yawn,
I only send one kid to one class a week, and I already felt burned out.
I am also going to encourage my girl to join the Arts CCA in school. I am very lazy, I am hoping that she does not join any competitive sports, or any performing arts, then don't have to keep going back to school to practice :p

rona,
Nice to see you here ! Enjoy your trip to Phuket, then you can relax

poohy,
Your boy is really impressive !

Fairprincess,
I also stock up on winter clothing while I was in China. Bought thermal underwear for under SGD20, the quality is really good.

Joy,
Your girl is really good !

tamarind

Are your kids in Morris Allen? What do you think of MA's creative writing?

Haha, I know what you mean, totally agreed. My dd is in orchestra. For lower primary only 2 hours practice once a week so I don't mind since she's keen & it's free music lessons to me. However, from next year onwards, she's required to stay back twice a week, total of additional 6 hours in school. I'm determined to withdraw her

yawn,
My kids were in Morris Allen, they are not going back next year.

I find that the creative writing class is good. It is challenging enough for my girl. The teachers told me that other P1/P2 kids find it very difficult to follow the class. This is because kids are expected to already know how to write very well in sentences. The class teaches the techniques of writing good stories. My girl wrote long and interesting stories in class, she said the teacher didn't help her, only gave her some guidelines. I am very happy to read her stories. She has been reading very extensively, that is why writing is very easy for her. Honestly, I do not think that the class will be helpful for other kids who have not been reading much, or are not writing well in sentences yet.

Rona- Great to hear from you...I thought you were busy with your K-dramas! You were busy with work- I am also getting more busy at year end?!?! Usually, its the other way round...=( Have a good break at Phuket and tell us about it!

Yawn- thanks for the great article- I read it somewhere earlier...how many of our kids really appreciate us??...Seems like each new generation spews more highly-protected kids =(

Yawn- so your gal will switch to private teacher for piano?

Poohy- S is talented! Does he like violin such that he practices without being pushed? Its very good if he has interest! Why do you want to try piano as well? He wanted to try?

Popular discount for text books- to all mummies with pri school kids- do you buy textbooks from the school, or it is cheaper at Popular with the discount card? I never applied for the discount card, eventhough I buy some books from P from time to time...do you save much on text books??

poohy
I am ur S big fan
because I sub ur channel

tamarind
I agree with u about creative writing, if the child not reading well and doesnt know the spelling well that will be too stress for the kids

mumusings
I was thinking to bring S go to watch hi 5 tomorrow , but it is worth to go ?

yawn,

he is learning at wolfgang and mandeville. He really changed a lot.... early this year when he played solo the first time in a smaller teacher's concert, he freaked out and only willing to play at the last minute. They shifted his piece a few times. In Oct, when he played in the same setting, he was much more confident and after that he told me he likes to perform. So the subsequent concerts all see him getting more composed and confident. In fact I dun seem to feel him being anxious or nervous at all. He was still playing at the backstage.

and ya, similar consideration as before, only even tougher decision since he has been given much more opportunities to develop in his private class compared to 6 months ago, with a new training program and a new individual teacher.

congrats on your girl's distinction! Have you found your girl another piano teacher already?

tamarind,

fairy,

yup, when he was younger, he used to pester me to practise. Now that he is older, it is inevitable that there are many other things that will distract him or take his some of his interest. But he likes to practise especially new songs and will work with me on etudes, exercises diligently, request to play new songs on his initiatives even after playing for 1.5 hrs. He has a natural interest in music from young. He had requested to play the piano for a long time. I din allow him earlier becos I want him to concentrate on the violin to a more stable state before learning piano. It will help him with aural and sight reading. He is playing simple tunes on his own at the piano thus I felt I should get him formal training in case he develops any wrong habit. He is definitely not those genius or prodigy type.... I just want him to play to his best potential and be confident of himself.

sharon, thanks!

snowball, mummusings.. have not have the time to go and get the chick peas... everyday is rushing from work to mom's pl then back home... and last weekend was in malaysia...

tam, re grading of "moral and attitude", i have seen enuf pp doing things for the grades/appraisial and then reverting to their true self after that to believe that grading works (yeah pessimist speaking)...

wow..so many of u went for the shows.. think i will give it a miss again this year.. very lazy of me ... :p my favorite are the original hi-5 crew, but that could be because i didnt watch enough of the newer seasons to know the newer cast more...

speaking of a kid knowing the diff between the more exp stuff vs the lesser ones.. we went to this hotel in KL and they have a LCD TV hanging on the wall... my gal asked my niece 'what is it?' cos she have not really seen a hanging LCD TV before.. :p

tam, snowball, my gal just turned 4.. i was carrying her most of the time during this m'sia trip too! tiring!

joy. maybe its a good idea to open a winter wear rental shop!

poohy..arghh.. office PC got no soundcard... cannot view ur boy's performance...

rona, why did u cancel ur perth trip???

shashan, read from another thread that u r a piano teacher..... do u have recommendation for teachers for busy adults? ahahha

re m'sia trip.. this time round i stay at a hotel 1 street away from petaling street called the 5 elements ..luckily not sleazy and not noisy!

Hi Bloom,

Don't worry, the chick peas will always be there
Very easy to find.

I am banning M&Ms in my flat because it's real tough clearing them when they are spilled (the colouring and they melt really fast in our weather). The naughty thing empty a whole tube of it today - GRRRRRR...
4824943.jpg

By the way, do your kids eat biscuits and stuff like cream-creackers (soda biscuits)? How do you prevent a mess (if there is such a luxury)?

Aiyo mumsing,
I really hate it when kids eat and drop everything in my house or car!!! I ban them from eating tibits at home and car. Only can eat in playground. hahaha bad hor?? I v scare of xiao qiang.

Hi Sharon,

Well shows like hi-5 are entertaining for the kids (if they like the characters and songs). It's okay for us 'cos we take it as bringing my son out for a walk and also to check out some shops. If you don't like the crowd, you can always watch from Level 2. My husband and I enjoyed ourselves seeing everyone so happy. With the Circle Line opened and the Marina Link in use, it's a lot more convenient getting to Marina Square these days

Hi Muffin,

I am not a fan of xiao-qiang too!!! Last week a pregnant roach zoomed past me around midnight (she had an egg-case attached at her butt) AND she FLEW crazily about after being discovered. Took us 10 minutes to down the mad female cockroach. I didn't scream (I would if it was morning and kid wasn't asleep) for once.

There has been more ants and lizards these days... sigh... my son invited them over, I guess. We're already very neat and disinfect the floor every night after he tucks in!

Fairyprincess,
I am also thinking of stylobb.
Bought my boy to his P1 orientation last week, he did not seem very excited or happy. I think he is going to continue to day dream in school.

Popular gives only 5% discount for textbooks, for popular card members. At first I thought I can use my 20% voucher, but I got only $5 off about $100.

sharon,
Yes if a child does not read enough books, sending to creative writing class will not help.

bloom,
Every time I encountered a teenager who truly has very good attitude, I am so happy that I feel like crying, because it is so rare to find one.

mumusings,
I haven't ban M&Ms. When I buy it, I only give each kid 2 or 3 at a time, don't need to worry about spilling.
When they eat biscuits, I make them eat over the table, it is easier to clean that way.

I just read something horrific. A father forced his 14 year old daughter to strip naked and caned her in front of the mother, and then brag about it in the forum :

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=14740&start=60

I am shocked at what he did. All his daughter did was complain when he did not agree to buy her an ipod. Does she deserve this type of punishment ? I cannot believe that there are parents like this.

Hi Mumusings,

Eating M&Ms or Smarties chocolates. I do not give my kids the whole tube. I give them 2 - 3 pcs at a time. I tell them to put them into their mouth immediately.

Biskuits/ crackers - I give them a small bowl or plate to put their biskuits/ crackers/ bread.... they still mess it up at times, but, within the area where they sit and eat. They are strictly not allowed to eat in bedrooms and when they eat in the living room, strictly no eating while sitting on the sofa...imagine ice-cream, juice marks/ chocolate marks on my fabric sofa....urrrghhhhh.

I also make my kids clean up if they make a dirty mess.

I am bringing my kids to watch Dora's performance at Raffles City this Sat afternoon. My gals are looking forward to it. If we have the time, will go to watch Hi-5 at Marina Square in the evening.

Hi Rona - Welcome back! Enjoy your Phuket with your family.....Do have a rest and relaxing time

Mumusings- M&Ms- you must be very angry yet it looks kind of funny to see all the colours on the floor!

Tam- thanks for the info re the popular card...your boy went for orientation? He will go to the same school as your gal correct? That is quite reassuring...

Tam- I dun even want to read the forum about what the dad did- I feel many parents nowadays have very short fuse and blow up at their kids...its really unhealthy and damaging on the kids...

Yawn- my gal also practicing her grade 2 pieces, but exam only next July, still plenty of time....more important to get her scales right with no mistakes...

Rona- re K-dramas- I managed to catch some episodes of "Personal Preferences"- Lee Minh Ho is sooo cute in this series but the female lead is a bit too old for him...

sharon
I'm clueless with notes reading, cannot help her at all. Her theory is pretty good so she can read & attempt to play exam pieces. In a way, it's good that I don't know anything because she has no choice but to independent, no one to rely on mah

fairy
I don't intend to register her for grade 2 exam. She's too young and not steady enough for exam, noticed she tends to underperform when playing in public. Probably will just go through exam syllabus for each grade but defer exam till she's older

tamarind
My dd2 blur blur as usual during P1 orientation.
Actually she's blur everyday and very forgetful with her things. Left her rain coat in class. Left pencil case in car. Asked her to pack another pencil case, she forgot whether she already kept pencil case inside her bag, said cannot find. Then I discovered 2 pencil cases inside her bag. Aiyo!

Fairyprincess,
Yes he is going to the same school. He will be taking the same school bus as my girl. Anyway, he acted cool, like nothing could bother him. I think I am more excited than him.

That revolting post written by the monster father has been removed, administrators wrote that it may be a criminal offence. That father wrote that he was very cool and calm when he caned her, what I cannot tolerate is that he was so self righteous. I think schools should start teaching students how to be parents.

yawn,
I will be very surprised if my boy does't lose anything. If he loses something, I am going to tie it to his school bag with a string next time, like water bottles, pencil cases, etc.

aa, thanks. How's your trip prep? or have you gone and back already? Mine is just 2.5 weeks away and I had not even pack.

yawn,

its good that your girl is so independent. Maybe becos of age, my boy underperforms in public too. He tends to play much better at home. That's why when teacher want him to go for grade 3 exam, I dun feel optimistic... he still dun even know what exam is all about given that in his childcare, they dun even give spelling test. I just treat it as an experience... though of course we will try to prep him as best as we can. One thing good abt nafa is that they include aural and theory in their weekly classes. Most other schools will simply crash a few aural classes a few weeks before exam. I taught him aural and theory myself now... hopefully he can pass.

tamarind,

that post was indeed revolting! I felt so disturbed yesterday after reading it. I felt that he is not disciplining his daughter, more wanting to exert his control over her life, stemming from a controlling spirit. We want to discipline to teach them to discern but not to strip them of their dignity no matter what age they are. I really hope he is brought to justice and the girl can receive counselling. It most likely will scarred her.

mummusings..ahahha.. did ur boy racsack (sp?) your fridge again? for eating, i make my gal to either eat at the dining table or at the coffee table. use a bowl but of course things tend to end up on the floor, table etc. Just wipe her, then wipe the floor. No eating in bedroom and sofa (lots of gaps and crevices) actually when it comes to big spill like this, maybe u can punish him by making him pick them up, then wipe the floor if the colour of the M&Ms had run.

tam.. ahaha.. u r so funi.. but i have to agree. i also feel very happy when i see my nieces behaving nicely

re the KS posting which was removed (i didn't read it), i also think its too much, striping a gal when she is of a age that knows she should NOT show her developing body to any male might be traumatising for her. All I can hope is that she is not traumatise and that the father choose this option NOT because he desires to see her naked body (read too many cases of father raping daughters recently). Even if its not criminal, I hope the police gave him a stern warning!

poohy, saw the youtube video on my small hp screen..wow!!!! he is good!!!!!!! now make me itchy to send my gal to violin.. (have to ren3 and let her learn her fundamentals in piano first)...

yawn yawn, oh no.. i suspect my gal will also be blur blur... even now she is already misplacing her stuff at home... then still cannot see it though its just beside her or under her eye...sighhh

poohy,
still looking forward and getting excited for the trip. two more weeks to go.
hvn't pack anything yet but diligently monitoring the weather in hokkaido now. think its going to be very cold this year.
will start packing first with DS stuffs this weekend ...

other than practising assessment books, any other way to enforce grammers?
my sis commented that DS grammer is horrible, worst than when he was in kindergarten!
noted that his singlish is "improves" a lot and is damaging to the way he constructs his sentences!

Joy,
me leaving on 17th Dec.
excited and worried of the cold weather ... thinking whether shld buy another set of long john for DS.
how abt u? when r u leaving?

Hello AA
I will be leaving on the 14 dec.Yes, weather very cold but am very reluctant to buy more and hope to make do with what i have.I dont want all this winter thingy takes up a lot of space in my house and cold storage there.

Leggings.
Hey, mummies been to winter country, do u wear leggings or jeans...am thinking of leggings, cos jeans din turns out well with my trench coat...
any suggestion?thanks

aa,
I am definitely getting 2 sets of thermal underwear for each child. I am prepared to wash there but I am not sure whether it will dry quickly.
The best way to improve grammar is to read as many story books as possible.

Joy,
I am going to wear thermal underwear under my fleece pants, and add on thick leg warmers. I am very afraid of cold.

bloom, poohy,
I agree with what you wrote. The father wrote in a way that showed bad intentions, and that really disturbed me. I really hope that someone bring him to justice.

Hi Mummies!!
aly nat, fairy, tam
Thanks for looking out for me ...keke..
Hb/I got back from Sydney last nite... did nothing much there while he was working.
Everything is v expensive.
We went to Manly (it rained), went to Bondi Junction (shopping - there is Target and Kmart).
Sydney Fish Market - tho I was there last year, went w/ hb this time, he calls it 'tourist trap'!

Can you imagine, Black Friday (US) - I was in sydney online shopping at Amazon and hb managed to get a pair of v good earphone (high quality) at highly discounted price - the earphones apparently sold out quickly!!

Was telling hb if he goes again next yr, we shud detour to Melbourne instead... keke

Back now and wlbe stuck here till year end as hb wlbe on resvc and my office is going thru renov....

fairy
Ferry services to Birkinhead have been discontinued...

We ate a lot of good food though...

Didn't buy anything. Shall wait for online Oroton sale... hehe

Orientation for jesse - no problem. He went to the class happily and when the class was dismissed, he told me he made two friends.

tam/joy/fairy
Your gals are really smart!!

tam
Curious, how much did you pay for J's books? and uniforms?

rona
Trust you got my email re phuket.
Have a great holiday. Hope weather wlbe nice...

bloom
4 elements sounds high class...keke

We wl redeem some points for sheraton imperial kl year-end...

joy
Leggings - as in those black ones??
Actually last time I used to wear wool pants. I don't find jeans particuarly warm and they tend to get stiff in cold weather - I guess they are the best alternative but shud have thermalwear inside..... I tend to find my body going 'stiff' if I sit too long in the trains too...kekeke

Mummies with 4-5 year old gals
Do you let them play Barbie??
If not, what toys do you suggest?

Article
I didn't /daren't read it... I will be traumatised. Yes, agree re the gal who is developing at this stage, so degrading to strip her naked leh.

Talking about cold weather, the temp. in sydney was 21C for a few days, fortunately I brot along my leather jkt although I thot I wud not be using it. I had brot the usual tops and tees, then threw in 2 ON long sleeved tees... wow, in the end, had to wear 2 tops as it was windy and raining too.... definitely needed the jkt in the nights...

Hi Tam and stylobb
Thanks for adv.M still thinking to buy thermal wear .Cos even wear jeans, i cannot stand one more layer under it.