Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

This year t-score seems quite low 282

I'm very impressed with the Malay girl who hold the record 294. I heard the previous record holder was a boy and he hold the record for 16 years!

On PSLE,

4792781.jpg

The above car from Pei Hwa Sec is one of the winning entries at the G1 competition that was held at the F1 race track some time ago.

I wanted to post this pic 'cos I felt really heartened to see the bunch of neighbourhood school kids do as well as RI and some other schools. There are many opportunities for kids to thrive in schools these days, unlike in the past when only the top/branded/elite schools had access to the top spots at all forms of competitions.

Therefore, it isn't surprising to see top PSLE scores coming from neighbourhood schools in the recent years. Education (syllabus, CCA, teachers' quality and supporting funds) has come a long way in Singapore. When we were in school (1980s - 1990s), we were computer illiterate, some teachers only had A-levels/cert and schools were always short of funds.

These days, schools have:
- teachers with at least a diploma/degree (and some schools prefer Masters degrees and above)
- resources like Mac and PC labs, sound labs and state-of-the-art technology
- schools are encouraged to have their own niche areas (Arts, Humanities, Science, Sports)
- funds and edusave system to ensure that all students are entitled to enrichment programmes
- greater autonomy to set their own teaching materials and sometimes syllabus

On the part of students/parents
- greater exposure to the world via the media (last time only trips to the zoo, Science Centre and Channel 5, 8 and 12!!!)
- with greater affluence, more children attend all sorts of classes to enrich themselves (music, academia, dance, even money-management these days!)
- kids have all sorts of opportunities to take part in intra-school and inter-school competition to raise their confidence (many schools now even send their students to the USA to take part in Odyssey of the Mind conpetition)
- those who are cash-sufficient can even travel on overseas trips and exchange programmes

I guess it's only a matter of time more neighbourhood schools will catch up with the top schools. Afterall, top schools are top because they already have a the cream of the crop. What's laudable these days is the VALUE-ADDEDness the education system provides.

I sincerely hope parents will be realistic and not be too bitter if their kids don't get into the top few schools in Singapore. Alot of times, kids feel more defeated if their parents keep getting at them for this 'failure' (which it isn't!).

With all the recent bad news of scholars misbehaving and frausters having lovely academic records and illustrious career posts, I hope parents think carefully before they judge schools (which they deem as 'best' for their kids) and put in more effort to nurture the character of their children.

The imperative for me is character development. No amount of A-grades and distinctions can make a person good if he is full of greed, vicious thoughts and twisted logic. Using complicated theorems or accounting skills to defraud the company, using legal loopholes or medical knowledge to cheat the ignorant, using one's degree to boast of superiority, or quote relations to gain an edge over other interviewees.... these are typical of people who think they are so intelligent. Pity their parents, spouses and children who are dragged down along with them when the police or CAD knocks on the door!

The most recent case of the M1 guy who stole phones and made $2.09m and the SLA case - what are these guys doing? They have a family to take care of and are siphoning money to buy cars, watches and stupid expenses like a $200k STINGRAY?!!! How is it these men didn't even consider using the money to buy their children resources, contribute to charity, support an old-folkd' home, buy medical equipment for their parents or something noble like lots of education insurance for kids... What really irks me is when people say they commit crimes to support their family. Expensive holidays and barnded goods - are these modern-day necessities? Always feel outraged when I read the list of things these stupid fraudsters spend on. So crass and vulgar.

snowball,
Our luggages are all spinners, very easy to move around, even a child can move a big spinner with one hand. Our kids are older now, there is no need to hold my girl's hand all the time. She can push one spinner, my hubby push 2, I push one with one hand, then hold my boy with the other hand :p

I have lots of bags that can be used to compress clothes from Daiso, only $2 for one bag. I always travel with these bags. But this time we are bringing a lot of stuff, including bread and milk, snow boots, down jackets (2 for each kid), that is why I need so many bags.

aa,
I am bringing 2 down jackets for each kid. I bought the down jackets from China, quite cheap.

Fairy,
Thanks. My kids attended a course at our CC before, I was not happy with the quality. But I don't mind trying other one time classes.

There will definitely be more top students from neighbourhood schools, especially because mainland China kids can only get into these schools.

yawn,
I think no one can top the Malay girl's record. Note that she takes Malay, not Chinese, the standards of the papers could be very different. If we want to compare apple with apple, then we should compare with the top PSLE scorer who took Chinese in previous years.

bloom,
Moral education is currently being taught in primary schools, and I think secondary schools as well. The problem is that there is no grade or marks for "morals and attitude", that is why students can behave badly and still get a way with it. If MOE put a grade for "Morals and attitude" together with the final results, then students will put in more effort to learn morals.

mumusings,
The fact is that in every primary school, there will be at least a few students who score 260 and above. Even in top schools, there will be a large number of students who score below 260. So sending kids to top schools do not guarantee that your kids will become the cream of the crop.

I have actually heard of parents who became depressed and even cried when their kids don't get into the top school :p

I agree that character development is more important, but most parents ignore this. One lecturer, who teaches very smart students, told me that nowadays their attitudes are a lot worst than years ago. I really dislike students who think that they are so smart, they are so arrogant and have totally no respect for lecturers.

Hi Tam,

Competition is stiff for sure at top schools. I remember feeling so lousy when I was struggling during a Maths C mass-exam and some guys from the Science stream were gleefully strutting out from the exam hall after an hour (they've already finished and are sure to get near full marks!). Took me a year to pull myself together and tell myself that Maths isn't my forte and I can only do my personal best. What else could I do? I knew I wasn't of scholarship material or the sort to go for the maximum number of subjects. My parents said to just do my best and have a clear conscience.

I have heard of many stories of cocky students from certain schools. I was doing my facial once and the beautician said her client told her of a boy who took pics of a female teacher from under her skirt. Instead of feeling ashamed, the boy said he was merely "giving face" to the young teacher and because she was good-looking. In short, she should be happy, not angry!

Another friend who taught in a branded school had a student who dropped blatant hints of her big-shot relative by saying "Aiyah I am so sick of seeing Uncle XXX 'cos he lives so near me and I go to his house so often." Another one case was when a student was graded B3 for essays as they were not very focused/well-written: "No one ever gave me less than an A before." I've also heard things like "Why should teachers get angry with us since we pay their salaries?"

It's not easy handling the 'cream' of the crop and kids these days. Some are not even worth harvesting! They think that money, their relatives and status makes the world. When I was in school, I had classmates who were really rich or from famous families but they took pains to conceal their background for fear of kidnap/sabotage/jealousy/gossip. One of my friends would make her chauffeur drop her at an obscure spot so that she could walk a distance to school and join the normal crowd. If not for a teacher flattering her and revealing her background one fine day, I would have never known! That was one very unprincipled teacher who would say to my classmate during lessons: "You're so rich - maybe you should ask your parents to sponsor air-con for the school?"

Hi Tamarind,

Lucky for us, we managed to squeeze all our stuff into 2 luggages. We had to lug our own luggages climbing 2 flight of stairs from the Railway Stn to the coach for our train ride during the Taiwan trip.

Actually, one of my concern to travel during winter is the amt of clothings we have to carry, travelling with 2 young kids. Hence, its not in our plan to go see snow until my kids are older and they can handle their own luggage.

Enjoy your trip

Hi 5

Brought my kids to watch hi 5 at marina square. Long queue. Meet & greet for first 50 group but queue started forming more than an hour before showtime. And it's on a weekday afternoon.
My dd2 is a huge fan of hi 5. She can do all the hi 5 dance steps and sing along. So this 二十四孝 mommy has no choice but to queue lor. No way I am going to queue that long for a handbag but for my dd2, can't disappoint her leh. Also bought the pictures taken with hi 5 as souvenir

Dora

Watched this last weekend. Show last about 30 minutes and queue is quite reasonable considering it's a Saturday. My dd1 said Dora is too kiddy for her

Hi Yawn,

I was at Marina Square too!!!! Too long a queue but we stayed behind and so my son managed to do a hi-5 with Casey and Tim, wave to Stevie a few times. He was very happy to say hello to them. Initially he was a little lost, not believing that these folks were real. Only started warming up towards the last song. Very tiring for parents but looks the the kids had a whale of a time

4798153.jpg

mumusings

We were in the same queue?!! What a coincidence

Yes, kids simply love hi 5. It's a great programme. Amazing the producer managed to maintain hi 5 popularity despites replacing the entire crew

Hi Yawn,

I almost fainted when I saw the queue. Only reached Marina Square around 3.45pm and the line went one round the atrium I think. Anyway we just stood near the barricades and hung around.

I don't fancy the previous hi5 crew. These 5 are more suited in terms of looks and personality. Very talented in their own ways, especially Tim and Stevie. My son likes Lauren, Tim and Stevie best. For the current series (12?), he likes the tippie-toes and martian song. He goes totally hyper when he hears them and will start dancing in front of the TV and make me join in.

snowball,
I also did not want to bring my kids to snow country when they were younger, too many things to bring and it will be a headache if we still have to carry the kids :p

It is tough to walk up stairs with heavy luggage.I am surprised in Taiwan there is no lift at the train station. In Japan, every train station I visited had lifts, and even in China when I took the high speed train, there are also lifts at the stations.

mumusings,
When I was in school, I also did not know which girl was from a rich family. Back then children were taught to conceal their wealth like you said. Nowadays, parents do not seem to know how to teach their kids properly.

I read a recent report that in RJC, a large % of the students get perfect grades at A levels, and most of them felt indifferent about their achievement. I remember that the Straits Times article commented that young people nowadays have warped attitudes.

Hi Tam,

A few teenagers I knew were telling me that almost everyone around them were going for scholarship interviews. It seemed like going to the top UK/US universities was like a piece of cake. That has been the case for the recent decade. That's why some teenagers get depressed so easily when they get anything lesser than a distinction. Alot are also investing time in their CCA and activities beyond school hours just to beautify their portfolio by aiming for ranks in the ex-co. One of them Humanities scholar) told me that their tutors have planned out all the seminars they ought to attend throughout their JC and the competitions to join in order to raise their chances for scholarships after the A-levels.

If participation is calculated to achieve merit/points, it's a sad phenomenon. It's like hitting a target for the sake of hitting it. And such merit doesn't reflect accurately the character/strengths of the candidate.

It's like XXX participated in 20 competitions = therefore she is very talented and spontaneous. Or, XXX attended 100 hours of seminars = she is very motivated and keen in learning. Likewise, XXX did 200 hours of community service = she cares for people and is self-sacrificing. It's so easy to find a flattering adjective to fix on people just based on superficial data!

I remember someone telling me (regarding school excellence). "Our students are largely honest because you see, only 2 library books were lost this year" Library books not lost = an honest community of student? It's very funny how performance indicators are set, isn't it?

I think it's time we re-evaluate what is most important to us. To be achievers for the sake of achieving, or for the genuine good for society. It's quite disturbing how the Asian Games' chief said they should re-look at sending many atheletes for exposure 'cos they took in lesser medals this year. I strongly feel that before we aim for excellence/medals, our athletes need to have good coaching, lots of moral support and wide exposure at all sorts of competitions. Everyone starts from basic doesn't it? Only after losing, making mistakes and playing against all sorts of opponents can one truly be wiser and more skilled. How is it possible to cultivate a sporting culture in Singapore just by picking a selected sure-get-medal sportsmen? I've been watching the YOG, Commonwealth and Asian Games this year and I am so happy to see our younger atheletes given a chance to pit their skills against the world's best. We should continue to encourage them to be trail-blazers, not dampen their spirits by saying that they're not deserving of these overseas stints!

I remember in Primary One a teacher alloting teams to us. She was mistress of one of the Houses and after a 'trial game', she picked the taller ones in my class for that team. That house always wins during sports day because they have been selected from Day One to excel. It's quite sad because for many years, the rest of the teams were always 'lousier' no matter how hard they tried.

Help! Need info on where to buy very nice christmas fruit cake??? I have a xmas party to attend and need to bring 3 as xmas presents for 3 families (easier in my mind to bring food rather than buy gifts- not easy to know what each likes??!!)
Any info?
Any idea about the Marriott Hotel ones?

Any feedback is much appreciated...

Hi Fairy,

Unless you're intending to cut the fruit cake to eat on the spot, you might want to consider the usual Marks and Spencer ones or those at Cold Storage. That way, the 3 families can eat in their own way/time. I'm very practical (or shallow? hahaha) these days - buy lots of nice chocolates and wine-bottle-looking sparkling fruit juice to go with the cake so that everyone can enjoy it, including kids.

tamarind, mumusing

Agreed. If parents don't flaunt, kids won't flaunt. Actually kids do not know whether they are rich or poor. It's what the parents tell them & projected to them. A lexus or a toyota makes no difference to kids, until their parents taught them how to differentiate and perhaps take pride in owning a lexus instead of a toyota?

Anyway, my kids always assume we are poor because I go around exclaiming this is expensive that is expensive. Don't waste money buying this or that. Must look out for sales, don't let uncle earn so much money, blah blah blah.

In our era, most parents were blue collar workers. Yet children of that era were self driven, their driving force to excel - to break out from proverty. But there seems to be over compensation by this era, spending excessively & over indulging the kids to make up for deprived childhood? Thriftiness is no longer a virture in this era?

Hi Yawn,

Yes, the only way a kid can tell the diff between a Toyota and Audi is if the father often boasts about his knowledge of engines and stuff like only less-rich people drive Jap cars while European cars are higher in value, horsepower blah blah blah. To my son at the moment, every red car is "speed" (Lightning McQueen in Cars cartoon). He goes by colour, sound and the 'clothes-hanger' at the rear - very "power" if an ah beng in a modified and gawdily-painted car zooms past. I call them road hazards in general 'cos they are noisy, loud and an eye-sore. I mean, sorry to say, these people don't contribute to the notion of road-safety or careful driving.

I often suggest going to humble places like the supermarts, parks and neighbourhood. Kids pick up ideas from adults' conversation so if a parent harps day and night about brands, that's the vocabulary-input the child will get. Sometimes I have to remind my husband that a Kinder Joy egg (S$1.30 to S$1.60) is equivalent to a tray of chicken eggs. If I do need to give the kid a treat, it's the 30-cents mini Tic Tac and Burger King's 50 cents ice-cream or $1-Coke/Applepie at Macs. Everyone can have a share!

If a child is already snobbish at this age, imagine what he'll be like 15 to 20 years later. Buy him a car and he'll whine, "it's not the most expensive brand/model/make!". Get him a wallet, "it's not Gucci!"??? Many parents are myopic and don't think far ahead when they boast of their 'wealth'.

My son is at the destructive stage with his toys so we've kept some (sorted out) and will only bring a few out at one time. It's no joke if he dismantles everything! Got to get him to see that if he isn't going to respect his toys, we're not going to add any more or allow him to harm the existing collection.

Thanks Mumusings!
I need to look for "gourmet" type of christmas fruit cake...any one tried the ones at hilton or raffles hotel- too many choices- which is nice???

Hi Mumusings,

My kids have too many toys at home now. So, we tell them that the next time they get a toy will be their birthday. Yes, I give ice-cream (Cornetto mini cone) or MacDonald's Ice-Cream as treats for them. Affordable and every1 can enjoy
Foodwise, try not to give them too much and try to make sure that they ask for more only when they have finished what they have in their plates.

When we go supermkts, they may get a pkt of Calbee Prawn Crackers as treat if they behave. They managed to survive the toy dept/ toy shops (say bye bye to toys on display) w/o much tantrums thrown. At home, they get punitshed if they mistreat their toys like withdrawal of privileges to play with their toys or no TV.

We bought 2 piggy banks for our DD from our recent TWN trip. My DD2 keep playing with her piggy bank despite our warning that it will break (its made of hard plastic if she drops it) until she accidentally dropped it there is a big crack. She was very sad over it.

Hi Tamarind,

During the last trip to HK, my DD1 was the 1 whom wanted to be carried during most of the trip. For this trip, my DD2 was the sticky one whom wanted me to carry for some of the trips. I guess they will outgrow this stage by the time they reach 4 yrs. I am also planning to go Hokkaido when my kids are older.

How is everyone?Has gone or yet to be on vacation?This year my holidays really come late.

Just wonder , will u splurge on winter clothings when money is already not enough?Hardly travelled too?This happens to sil , I was shocked when I already lend her some.Her rational, she wants to get pretty winter wear for her four kids?I was like, no money to pay for the trip and yet can buy and buy...I really cannot comprehend.

Psle achievement
Recently nephew scored something like 250 and was over the moon.But, that comes with a price, dual tuitions for every subject.Is this the way to go?I personally dont support.Their philosophy, last year already, good or bad subjects, all must tuitions, since he doesnt do work on his own.

Have a good day all.

Hi Joy,

Some parents get their priorities wrong. It isn't a MUST to go on expensive holiday trips if there isn't enough cash. You'll never know if there are any situations that require more money in event of cancellations/delays. Some people must show off by telling the world that they've been to Korea to ski or to Disneyland with kids. In the end, it's just to make themselves feel/look good. If I don't have enough money, I will stick to Singapore or at most a nearby island or country. At least there's greater mileage with what the money can get. Your nephew must be really busy boy - dual tuition for all subjects?! What's going to happen when he's in Secondary school with double the subjects??

mumusings,

Totally agreed with what u said.WORST, we are going hokkaido together, and they can only pay up after the trip.That is why am so shocked with the way she spent her money.

Dual tuitions.
To them, as long as the kid gets into a good secondary school, the rest is secondary.what an ironical.
This boy only run the race few months before psle, as his math and sci are not pretty good from the start, just din put in effort.so, with tutors, there is "nanny"looking after him.I guess, in sec, he will be let loose.

Hi Joy,

That's why alot of kids are 'punctured' (ego and stamina) after going to Secondary school. In primary school, many parents can cope with syllabus and coaching, tuition limited to a few subjects. In Secondary school, not many parents know the syllabus and the way questions are set for subjects because more applications and own analysis is needed.

That's the whole problem with the mentality of many parents. They spend all they can just for the PSLE and it doesn't mean that kids are equipped with the skills to see them through life, other than memorising and regurgitating.

In Secondary school, so much more is needed of the kids. Scoring well for PSLE doesn't mean much unless parents help monitor their kids and ensure that they're also mentally prepared for all sorts of challenges. The really smart kids (who are adaptable, independent, sociable, creative and analytical) will find no problems fitting in and thriving all the way. These days, content knowledge is no longer enough and no amount of tuition can make one smarter (only maybe exam-wise). I've seen kids with 260+ PSLE end up in the last class by Sec 3 - simnply cannot cope, and, many were top in their respective Pr schools. The ones who 'played' and had fun were the ones who generally climb from 220+PSLE, to 7-9 points O-levels, then As in A-levels and then university/scholarship.

Worse, for many kids - after being controlled for 12 years and suddenly let-loose in Secondary school. That's when alot become easily influenced by their very lax friends, start getting hooked on online gaming, anime, manga whatever, then after that, relationships and all sorts of rubbish. That will be the point of no return...

Have a great time in Hokkaido anyway

Hello Mumusings,

Thanks.Am very ill prepared in terms of winter clothings.But, I believe we will survive.

Yes, well said about pri school education.I guess parents are thinking in sec school, children should be mature to be on their own.

Morning mummmies:

So any lobangs on christmas fruit cake???

Winter clothings- Joy/ Mumusings- I TOTALLY agree about not spending on winter clothing..after all, how often do the kids wear them in hot Singapore???
Last year- I lent all my kids' winter stuff to another mum who was bringing kids to HK in Dec, so more can make use of the clothing.
I made plans to bring my kids to cold climate for 2 year end holidays in a row - last year and this year(even then, found cheap tickets for the trip)- so as to justify buying the winter stuff for them...I also did not buy many pieces- kids outgrow them very quickly...

Joy- your SIL has 4 kids! Not cheap to bring all to Hokkaido!

Joy,
For me personally, I will spend within my means, I am very against CC spending. If its not for the convenience of CC and the points and rewards they give, I will most prob be using cash always. But I guess there are all kinds of people out there. Perhaps, they are not well travelled so they see it as more impt to have nice pics to keep as memory. Sometimes must have different views of thing.

Fairyprincess
Yes , not cheap cos they thought that they make money selling their small hdb, and buying a bigger hdb.Cash out just enough to pay for the bigger hdb.So, now shortfall, so hokkaido is a miscalculated trip.

Muffin
Yes, I agreed in take nic pic for memory.But....they dont even intend to bring camera.

Joy,
then, really dunno what is the nice winter clothing for.

Just to chk with all the mommies with kids in Pr Sch. Just to chk is it impt to send kids to enrichment? I heard that its v neccessary cos teachers dun teach much in schs?

mumusings,
Library books not lost may also mean that very few students actually borrow books to read from the library.
I agree with you that our athletes should be exposed to all sorts of competition, regardless of whether they have a high chance to win medals or not. And I am strongly against the fact that we pay large amounts of money to bring in athletes from other countries to win medals for us. I would rather that this money be spent on nurturing local athletes, even though there may not be high chances of winning medals.

yawn, mumusings,
My kids like to take the MRT more than their Daddy's car

I am guilty of over indulging my kids, but that is not because of my own deprived childhood, but because as a full time working mommy, I always feel guilty that I do not spend enough time with them. I always have fond memories of my mother waiting at home everyday when I returned home from school. But my kids do not have this "luxury". I am very willing to spend on books and quality toys for them, but the trick is that they have no choice over what I buy. If they want to buy something, they have to work hard for it.

snowball,
When my girl was 2 years old, I bought her to Bangkok and I had to carry her all the time, my arms nearly broke !

joy,
I guess it is easier to pay for small purchases like winter clothing, $100+ per piece, as compared to large amounts of money for the trip, which could be near $10K for the whole family.

Muffin
Maybe to have the mood before the holidays via buying winter clothings.

Tam
Still need to pay back after the trip right?Anyway,they spend more than five hundred dollars on winter cloths, excluding shoes that they yet to buy....

Enrichment
Muffin, its subjective.It depends on what u hope to achieve after sending the child there.

muffin

I sent them to all sort of enrichments before primary school. Once they enter primary school, only left with English enrichment. It's a must for me (rather than them) because it's my poorest subject, I'm frequently stuck too and I feel more 放心 that a teacher is available to answer queries if there's any. I better stay out of the way, don't 越教越乱

Joy

I noticed primary school kids already multi tasking in all sort of ways. Musical instrument, Arts, dance, swimming, speech & drama, CCA, etc etc. So in a way preparing them for secondary school's 9 subjects

poohy

How's your ds Nafa audition? I think orientation was last Sat?

Joy,
hmm, v peifu u. U taught her everything urself? Not a learning lab parent?? My niece attended Learning lab for all subjects n got 244 for PSLE. I thot that score was abit low? Really hv no feel for the scores, i thot anything below 250 is low. What is the cut off for special stream?

Joy,
May be they think that they can pay back by installments ? hehehe

Enrichment
I only had to bring my boy to Berries enrichment once a week, and I already felt so tired. There will not be any enrichment next year when he enters P1. No enrichment for both kids. So relieved. I will just teach them at home, now that I can find good resources for teaching Chinese.
The most important thing is to make sure that child is very good in languages, and languages are best learned between ages 3 to 6. Then just make sure that they child reads extensively throughout primary school.
As for maths, if the child has the ability, then she just needs more practice at home.
If the child does not have the ability, then no matter how much you spend on tuition, it will be still be useless.

tamarind

Yes, indeed very tiring to send/fetch. Determined to phrase out all the 'faraway' enrichments. Send kids there, parents must hang around to wait since too far to travel to & fro, can't go home in the meantime

Already phrase out music. So relieve no need to make 2 trips on same day. one trip for theory, one for practical, whole day gone, can't do anything else! Told my kids at most another year in arts and then really gonna stop. Join arts CCA in school lah, so much nearer & more importantly it's free, haha!

The strange thing is I remembered we were much more 'hardworking' when they were younger, never complain even though we zoom them around town for enrichments. Only started to feel the toll in this recent 1 or 2 years. Alamak, parents burned out way before the kids

Muffin,
Am a poor mummy, not parents of learning lab.
I wish to farm out but cannot find suitable "tutors"that I can farm out.

I think for this year psle, anything that is above 260 is considered good.

Tam
You are so right, interest free.That is why, eventually i took the opportunity of his son so called good results and asked them to pay off the remaining 5k.We paid 4.1 for deposit and that one, we allow them to pay back later.If not, we really have to foot everything for them.

You are so right about languages.For children who has good foundation of languages, usually in psle, they do quite well, that is provided either math or science is still ok.

Yawn,

You so funny.I think they multi task maybe to get the dsa.But to me, dsa is not everything.Even for dsa, I believe in going in via academic but not other means.

Enrichment:

I agree with Tam-
My elder P1 gal only has Tien Hsia- I see it helps reinforce her chinese and it is very regimented for her to support the P1 pace- so I will continue, even though its tough on her to cope with it...
My younger 5YO still has Phonics as well as Tien Hsia- once she reaches P1- will be only Tien Hsia...
Separately, there are non academic classes they attend like piano/ ballet, but my focus for this school holidays and next year is to get them to be able to swim independently- so my focus is swimming skills- may be a bit late to start, but once they can do it, it will be useful for them for life...my view...

fairy

yes, swimming is an important life skill. Started my dd2 with her 1st swimming lesson yesterday.

joy

A lot of students 'chop' places via DSA before PSLE. This year many of the P6 students in dd's school already have offers from top schools like NYHS and RGS.
Isn't it very far to travel all the way to these schools? I wonder whether they need to move house. However, hubby said by secondary level kids can take public transport independently. But day in day out also no joke leh, very tedious

Yawn,
I know via dsa to esp rgs, unless one is really good or its from gep, then stand a better chance.

For us, we will try dsa unless dd next year sa1 is consistent.

SECONDARY SCHOOL
I guess kids nowadays are very good life.Parents will send them from one point to another, so really distance doesnt matter any more.

Hi Yawn, Joy-

I do not really understand this "DSA" concept- do all P6 children get a chance to try entering a sec school via DSA? How to find out what is the cut-off for prelim results to enter e.g. NYGH from NYPS? So for those who really can make it via DSA- then their actual PSLE result does not matter? Sounds confusing to me...

Yawn- yes! Swimming is a must- my kids were at YWCA for 3 months- but did not learn much- now starting again via another swim school...sigh! But I am sure its worth it in the long run...I remember my parents paying for private instructor to teach my sis and I when we were about 4-5 YO - once I could swim independently, I remember spending my afternoons after school at the club to swim...really enjoyed those days =)

Hi Joy,

For my recent Twn trip, I bought 2 wind breakers & 2 sweaters (special priced ones) for my kids. I bought bigger sz so that they can wear at least a few times.

I also bought some long-sleeved t-shirts for them at 50% off from Mothercare (turtle-neck ones) to keep them warm.

Rest of sweaters I brought are borrowed from my sister's fren.

No point spending so much on winter clothings lah.

Hi Fairy - Sama sama here, I intend to bring my kids to Gold Coast/ Brisbane next July to visit my cousin - make full use of the coldwear they have before my kids outgrow them.

Hi Tamarind - My hand is also in aching pain even, almost 2 weeks after we come back from the trip

Hi Snowball32
I normally dont really buy winter wear even I travelled.I do have some winter jackets though.Some turtle neck long sleeve which I bought ages ago, all still in good condition, never got a chance to wear after I stopped work, so always make use of it when I go holidays.

Fairy
You can read more about dsa in the moe web.I dont really know much cos my girl yet to go thr the process.So far, I only know, min pri five and six results must be above 85 percent and sit for some gat test etc there after.

Edusave scholarship.
This year, finally dd gets the 400 dollars from the govt.Usual year , there is always an income cap so always a congrats letter but no rewards....

Snowball- I managed to get children winter tights for S$1 each and thick coudory long pants for S$4 each- that was because I happened to be in Shanghai for work and I went to the wholesale market to buy these cheap winter clothes!

Joy- I did search the MOE website, but info very basic, can hardly get any details of the actual process or cut-off marks...

Edusave scholarship- is this the bursary? My P1 gal also got the letter- I kept it in the same file as her High Achiever Cert- like a nice momento from govt to say she did well- I think top 20% of students get this letter...

Fairy,
Edusave scholarship in p5 is different from the past years.Past year, you only rec the bursary for top 10 percent, but in pri five dollar, u will be awarded 400 for top 5 percent and 350 for top 10 percent, regardless income group.

Fairy,
No worri.
I guess still quite early to say she has done well, she has another ten months to prove herself.Am already very stressed, cos this is a nation exam, and there are so many factors besides just studying...

Hi Joy,

Your DD1 is very good to be in the top 5% in her cohort. I believe that so long as the child is consistent in their performance, she shd not have a pblm to perform as well during the nation-level exams.

My colleague's son (P6) is in the top 10%.

Nowadays, even study is so competitive....very stressful.

Coldwear - So far, I travel with whatever clothings I have. I have enuff "insulation" to withstand the cold lah :p But, I always prepare and make sure that my kids gets enough warm clothings when we travel to cold countries.

Hi Muffin - I agree with Joy and Tam that building good foundation in languages is most impt for the child. Once they understand what they are reading, everything else will be much easier. Hence, enrichment classes will no longer be a necessity.

For my DDs, their CC teach phonics and Chinese S & D. I let them join in the optional English S & D class. My DD1 also join in their Art class. My hb do not agree that I send them for more enrichment classes.

Hi Fairy - I bought some cotton tights from Mothercare at 30% off...pretty good to use for the trip. Wow....$1 for a pair of tights is very good price leh.