Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

Looks like many of your are all prepared for your hols!

Must share this cheap but deluxe seafood meal with you. Costs 1500 Yen in Japan (my husband paid for it once) but if you do the same thing in Singapore, only S$1.20. Just need to get the gigantic white jade clam from Shenngsiong.

Your kids are bound to keep the shell afterwards 'cos it's like a huge powder compact case.

4728735.jpg

4728736.jpg

http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2010/11/food-white-jade-clam.html

Just need an oven / baking pot, very good soya sauce, spring onion and tomato. Better still if you have some miso soup. I'm never paying for seafood at restaurants again (esp Jap).

Tam
Thanks.She was totoally distracted during the exam as behind my back, she open a fb account without my knowledge and when am out, she is on chat wif friends and played game.Can u imagine.

I hope she learnt something from it.

Mumusings
That is interesting recipe.Do u know of a good miso recipe?thank you.I dont have a break after the party cos its start de clutter dd room and make way for pri six books that pass over to me.

Yawn
So fast, report book comes back already?Mine will be next week.But roughly know where she stands.Din do so well due to the fb distraction.

yawn,
my dd's school has no class nor school ranking at all. No idea where she stands in terms of standard. Just mailed a copy to the other school. Will wait and see if they really have a place for her.

Joy,
What do u intend to do with her fb account? Will she get to access her account anymore? My P2 dd also talks about her peers having fb account. I think she was testing "water" to see if I approve.

mumusings,
the clams look huge - especially the one held in a hand. Is that your hand, or is it your son's?
do u give shellfish (eg clams) to your son, too?

btw, do u know where can I buy frozen soft shell crabs? Can't find them in NTUC nor Cold Storage.

Hi Aly,

That's my hand! It's definitely larger than my son's hand when he holds it. I think that clam was around 150g. Pretty heavy.

My son doesn't like shellfish at the moment, except tiny bits of dried scallops and prawns (steamed with rice or fried with veg).

4730489.jpg
The white jade clam is larger than an egg for sure!

aa,
Have a good trip !
I do not have problems with Indian workers at my block. I intend to get an Exec apartment just opposite my flat. Since my mother is taking over my old flat, it will be so much easier for us to visit her in the future.

mumusings,
Young people nowadays are simply too materialistic. Personally I do not think highly of a person who carries all brand name products. I think highly of people who are kind and helpful to others

Your white jade clams look fantastic ! I will try to go to Sheng Siong to buy them this weekend !

poohy,
There are direct buses/shared taxi from Tokyo/Narita to Hakuba. I choose Hakuba in case I have too much luggage and do not wish to take the train.
I googled Shiga Kogen and it looks very nice and relaxing

bloom,
Don't worry, your girl's speech will improve when she gets older. Try to ask her to read out loud to you everyday, this is very good training for kids.

Joy,
The computer and internet are really big distractions to kids nowadays. I intend to put all the computers in the living room, and my kids can only use them when I am around to supervise them. It is not that I don't want to give them the freedom, but sometimes too much freedom may become detrimental to them.

yawn,
My girl has not received her report card, but she knows her ranking already. I am happy with her results, especially since my mother said that she almost did not study when I was in China.

Hi Tam,

I also hope more people will focus on the demands on their jobs and live within their means. Walk around Shenton Way and you'll see some ladies dressed in barely nothing walking about. Do they think they can score with seductive dressing?

You must try the fresh scallops too! Goes well with teriyaki sauce.

4731112.jpg

mumusings,
I often see students of age 17 to 19 dressed like prostitutes. I think the problem is with their parents, how can they allow their daughter to go out like that ?

The scallops look wonderful ! Will add them to my shopping list
How much do they cost ?

tamarind

I think dressing is due to peer pressure

by the way, for bookpeople uk site, do they deliver to Singapore or need to go through vpost?

Hi Tam,

Both the scallops and white jade are at $6.90 per kg. I bought 2 scallops and a white jade to experiment... altogether $2.50. I guess each piece is around 80 cents to a dollar? Not meant to be eaten in large quantity - you can bake scallops with cheese and onion like those served at restauarnts. Bamboo clams are $8.90 a kg. You can soak them in water and keep them for days (eat a few withclam chowder, instant noodles or fry with veg). Remember to add some salt to the water and replace with clean water every day. My fridge is like a mini aquarium now.

4733182.jpg
4733183.jpg

On dressing of teenagers... guess they emulate certain celebrities. The mod/gothic(dark eye shadows, drugged/drunk (eg. Paris Hilton, Lindsay Lohan), the very come-hither/badgirl (Jolin Tsai, Tata Young, Fiona Xie), the act-glam (Posh Beckham), kawaii, anime and the angsty look. It's quite obvious how these waves of fashion sweep young people off their feet.

I think some years back many people had flat rebonded hair and then suddenly defected to having digital perm and hair extensions. Some people coiffed their hair according to trends rather than find something to suit their own personality/face-shape - very tragic. With Adam Lambert (US Idol runner-up) popular now guys are sporting eye-liner. Some years back, guys painted their nails after David Beckham did his. Another really funny trend was to get lip plumper (lip gloss that heats up your lips so that they look fuller), like Angelina Jolie's.

I know my friends and I used to admire sports personalities and some singers but we don't copy their look/dressing! The most we do is get Adidas shoes or tennis skirts because of Steffi Graf for example. We won't think of having blonde hair and blue contact lenses. People do go to the extremes to look cute/seductive/charming/sophisticated - I don't understand and I won't try to!

Recently, a tabloid featured Chinese facial characteristics and their meanings. Apparently certain features which many celebrities go for aren't auspicious/'good' at all, especially pouty lips (the prostitute-look).

Anyway if one examines closely at the chins, cheeks and noses of some of the celebrities (when they lift their heads or are writhing in pain on the hospital bed), you can see evidence of marks of cosmetic surgery. Now that the Pan-Asian look is in, many are making themselves look mixed. Ironically, the world must thank fashion slaves for massive revenue generated by the fashion, beauty, showbiz and music industry!

yawn,
For thebookpeople, you need to use vpost Europe. The shipping can be very expensive if the books are heavy. I bought a few encyclopedia and I had to pay over SGD60 shipping, though the books are very cheap. For heavy books, now I buy from amazon.com, or amazon.co.uk, and use direct shipping.

mumusings,
The girls are very silly to think that they can dress the same way as the American pop stars. It may be OK in USA or Australia to wear like that, but in an Asian Society like Singapore, men are more likely to think of such a girl as a slut or a prostitute. It is especially bad since we have so many foreign workers here from conservative countries.

I don't know what is the problem with parents nowadays. They don't have any control over their daughters ? Or they think there is nothing wrong to show so much skin ? I think that the fashion trend nowadays of shorts that look like underwear, is the worst ever.

I have no problem with hair trends, make-up trends, etc.

Thanks for the information ! What kind of cheese do you put inside the scallop ? I ordered once in a Japanese restaurant and it is very expensive.

Hi Tam,

I haven't done the cheese/onion scallops at home before. Intending to try it next week. I will probably use either cheddar or a salty cheeese since the scallop on its own is naturally sweet.

With all sorts of shellfish available these days, it's really quite painful seeing the prices on the menu. The bamboo clams cost $8 EACH at some restaurants vs S8.90 for nearly 30 pieces if you deal with it at home. Same with scallops. I think I paid $7.50 a scallop at a Jap restaurant before too (cheese, butter, garlic and onion dumped in there to bake). You can always wash the scallops with salt water and steam them first before baking. That way, you can try all sorts of ingredients. Some with garlic and kikkoman, some with butter and cheese and some with cheese and onion

I can tahan most dressing of people in Singapore EXCEPT people who wear fishnet stockings. Unless you have long and slim legs and the top is carefully chosen, leggings and stockings just don't go well with most people's figures here. So many people make themselves uglier without knowing it. The only person I've seen 'live' looking gorgeous in fishnet stockings some years ago is Jazreel Low. Lots of women who overly-make-up and under-dress just look like street-meat, so sorry to say. Worse if they think they can turn classy just by clinging on to a large Chanel, Vuitton or Birkin! My mom often says these people have the "2nd-wife/concubine"-look.

My niece told me that some of her poly mates changed into something else (less appropriate) when they reached school. Either that, or skimpy tops are usually covered up by cardigans which they remove once they are out of sight of their parents. I feel so sad for the parents.

Mumusings,
Can buy the clams/scallops by pieces? I wanna go shengsiong!!

Hi Aly,

Yes. One kg is about 7 to 9 pieces of scallops. You can always pick lesser since they charge by weight. I bought only one giant white jade clam and 2 large scallops a few days ago. We eat it when we need a light meal. Just the scallops with a little veg (spring onion, garlic and tomato), rice and soya sauce (like the Japs)

Hi Aly and Tam,

Scallops were $1.90 and clams $1.50. The superbig ones were already gone by the time I went to Shengsiong.

Here's the actual name of the clam:

4735801.jpg
4735802.jpg
4735803.jpg

yawn yawn, thanks.. but still quite exp compared to the casio digital piano that the school recommended...

mummusings..ahahha.. sheng shiong must thank you for promoting their clams liao :p look so big! too bad i am allergic to seafood!

tam, ahhaha..trying to start her on peter and jane now (finally took the plunge and buy the books). she is very lazy though. said she does not want to learn (argh!)

have anyonen taken konsortium coach to cameron highlands before? any idea if they uses ear phones or head phones for their entertainment console? Cos my gal's ears is too small for ear phone, so if they uses that, i might need to bring a headphone..arghhhh...need to keep her entertained so that she wont scream down the bus :p

Hi Bloom,

What a waste, to be allergic to seafood! In case you are mistaken, all the clams are eaten by my husband. I can only tahan scallops. Hahaha... the pics are sometimes my husband's cooking. I'm a small eater (little rice), carnivorous and large snacker. I'm not allergic to any food but I hate eating eggs and most shellfish. I only like cooking them.

I usually get clams from Prime or Cold Storage. (the common stuff: green mussels and lala). Anything 'rare' are from SShiong. I go all over the place to get my food, just that I'm over-the-moon to find things that are of good quality and pricing.

Hi Rona,
I am looking for a 2nd hand Kawai Piano for my gal & chanced upon your post below...
Can I check is there a difft with Kawai BS2A Limited Ed & Special Ed?

Posted on Wednesday, November 11, 2009 - 4:14 pm:

Sleepy,
aiyoh, mine 2nd lesson only lah, hb very kan cheong and wanna get a piano. i was given a hand-me-down keyboard with a few broken keys including a G and a A key (frequently used keys!), so was thinking if he really likes it, can get one and then we can also 'bo' that my #2 and then #3 will take to it and learn piano later. I prob won't push them to go grade 8 if they really cannot make it, i want to make it enjoyable for them... but then again, got to put in so much money so thinking maybe they really gotta learn up to grade 8?? one step at a time. Your quotes are quite high! maybe you can get better deal from owners. that's why i was quite interested in the 20yo U1 and a 18yo BS1A... but we went to a 2nd hand shop to look and were not impressed - the price from shop is more. In the end, we bought a BS2A special. the sound is rich and beautiful, resonance is good, key is responsive, piano looks well-maintained with few light scratches. I think I may start to learn too, I will teach myself first before i start any lessons.

Kawai - did you go to Robert Piano? Yes, they are going to have a x'mas sale. watch out for it. I think the Brand new K3 is very worth to buy with the sale price, cos the depreciation will certainly be much lower. On hind sight, we are too rash to get the 18yo piano, could have just top up another 2+ to 3k for a brand new good one and if the kids are truly not interested, sell it off in 10 years time and still can get maybe 70% of the price. BUT not for the old one lor... in 10 years time, the piano will be 28yo, if i can get back $2k for that, i gotta count my lucky stars liao...

Am just back from work trip to Shanghai....the pollution was really bad =(

Report card- my P1 gal also received her report card last Fri- even though NYPS "claims" no exams, the students are also graded leh? I am really glad for her that she finished top 5 within her class of 32- so this Friday there is a prize giving ceremony for these students- It was not easy to do well with many good students in her class- I came to the conclusion its consistency that is key to good performance...no short cut to success...

Sheng Siong- I LOVE SS- unfortunately, the SS at Ten Mile Junction in bukit panjang near where I stay is closing down end of next week- the next location will be in woodlands or jurong west- so very far away!

Christmas is approaching very fast!!! Do you all think so? I am getting many xmas catalogues and its tempting to shop shop shop! =)

Korea
I'm planning a trip to Korea, free and easy. Anyone can advise? I plan to stay a few days at the Ski resort. How to get to the Ski resort from town? I simply have not idea.

Hi Fairy,

You mean the entire Ten Mile Junction (shops and all) will have to go? What a waste - I've heard that the SS there is very large. Guess you'll have to make do with the NTUC or Shop N Save that's around the area.

Hi Mumusings- yes, entire dev will be torn down and a new mall and soho apts will be built- think its by Far East or some established developer...Giant will be the new tenant once the new mall is ready...

Pantone- I can probably contribute if you are keen re Seoul- not sure about ski resorts though- Korea is a great place to visit- accommodation, meals, transport and shopping very reasonable/ cheap, but I was not too impressed with the makan bit, to be honest...

Hi Fairy,

Well I hope you will find reasonable bargains elsewhere

For me, I take supermarket shopping as learning trips for the kid since he's now into creatures and labelling things. I don't buy more than I can handle and split up purchases 'cos I really don't have enough energy and strength to carry groceries when I'm with my son. The good thing about being SAHM is that I can go anywhere anytime so long as the weather is kind

Fairyprincess
That would be great! Do you have a detail travel plan? Which hotel do you suggest? I heard the taxi fare is quite reasonable. Is that true?

Mumusings
Too bad that we dont have a SS near Potong Pasir area. Not even Toa Payoh.

Hello MUMMIES,

Good morning.Its holidays and school holidays coming up too.Finally, I feel the mood of holiday after so long.

Mumusings,
Very much like u, I also take grocery shopping as an"educational trip"for my five year old boy and esp during off peak hours.I do not have a sheng shong near by, so NTUC will be the one that I go most often.

Fairy,
Welcome back.I will stop over in shanghai for a day.How is the weather over there?
Yes, Xmas starts early, we all have excuses to shop.Are you throwing a xmas party?I give it a miss this year .

Tam
Thanks for advice,and I like the frequency in upbringing kids, cos I am in the same station.I have always been supervising her, but this time round is abit unexpected and my overlook.
Anyway, Pri 5 is over, she learnt from mistake and thank goodness that this is not the expensive one.Some of her classmates dropped tremendously for this sa2, and really stream to other class, my girl is quite sad.Anyhow, she is looking forward, as she is blessed with the top English teacher in her school, someone that is very fierce, but she adores this evergreen teacher.

Happy Holidays all...

Joy

Joy
your nearest SS would be at Bedok Central.

SS
I'm not a fan of SS. Used to buy milk powder from SS when kids were toddlers.
I prefer to buy from NTUC. But there aren't any NTUC within walking distance, must take bus to buy grocery and can't buy much at one go, quite inconvenient. Nowsaday I asked hubby to buy groceries on his way home or buy on weekends lor

mumusings

U must like cooking very much..especially seafood. where do u got the recipe ?

Now I looking forward for my girl school year end performance...

Hi Pantone,

There's an Ang Mo supermart at Potong Pasir right? I saw the address once somewhere on one of the products.

Hi Sharon,

My husband taught me how to cook. Hahaha... he's the everything-expert. For me, there's no recipe, just common sense and put what we like into the dishes. I used to watch Lisa Fong and Martin Yan on weekends when I was a kid so I guess some fundamentals were picked up regarding marinating and the sauces to use.

Hi Joy and Tam,

Nice to hear that your (Joy's) daughter has a wonderful language teacher.

It's important that our kids have inspiring teachers who can fuel their interests in the subjects. When I was in JC One, my class had very weak / relief teachers for almost every subject - we relied on memorising and other college's notes to reinforce our understanding of texts and concepts. I remember scoring something like 3/50 for an essay. Really outrageous because my entire class flunked throughout Year One without knowing how and why! Even those 6-pointers who were ex-RI received scores like 14/50.

In Year Two, (I think our Promos were so terribly done, barely scraped through) they gave us the best/better tutors. We finally improved in all the subjects and I scored 41/50 for an essay. That was a real turning point. One newly graduated tutor focused on how to understand/interpret questions and answer them. We finally figured out what we didn't know and enjoyed lessons and interaction much better.

Sadly, the 'evergreen' new tutor wasn't very popular with the other staff and we were assigned back to the previous one for one subject. That was really dampening for me because I really couldn't catch all her obscure logic and examples. It was back to failing and just-pass until the A levels. The more she kept us for remedials, the more lost I was!

Alot of people don't realise that people who have beautiful degrees may not make good teachers. It's a job that requires energy, creativity, sincerity and aptitude. All my favourite teachers/tutors in my life love the subjects they teach and are updated in their readings. The lousy ones are the ones who boast of their achievements, recycle century-old lecture notes and do dramatic monologues during lessons.

Sad to say, age can make one complacent. Young teachers may go off tangent sometimes but they are invigorating and refreshing to listen to (if they have substance). Older teachers are sturdy, experienced and wise (though sometimes outdated and hesitant to accept interpretations other than their own). I'm lucky to have almost 75% of of my teachers (aged between 21 to 60, local and expats) inspiring! If not for them, I think I would have been a gone-case.

Joy,
A good teacher is very important. I used to hate English literature and scored 60+ because I did not study it. Then I had an old lady from UK teaching my class English literature, and I managed to get A2 in O levels, unbelievable.

mumusings,
Thanks for your information about the seafood, I still don't have time to go to Sheng Siong

After I graduated with a just-pass engineering degree, I did relief teaching in my old school RGS, teaching Physics to the gifted class. We would expect the gifted class to have the best teachers right ? The girls told me that they did not understand what their regular Physics teacher was teaching. They prefer me to teach, and they asked if I could stay back to teach them.

I spoke to the principal, expressing my interest in teaching. The principal told me that the teachers of the gifted class were "specially picked" by experts to teach those gifted students. Like you said, those teachers have beautiful degrees, but they may not be good in teaching.

I had very inspiring Chinese teachers from primary schools all the way to A levels, that is why I always love the Chinese language. But I guess it is not possible to expect all teachers to be inspirig, especially since teachers are not paid very high in Singapore. Our best people all go into careers like banking where they can earn big bucks.

Fairyprincess,
Congratulations to your girl
It is not easy to get top 5 in her school. They give prizes to top 5 students in every class ?

My girl's school give to top 3 in every class.

The China cities are really polluted. But their National Parks are very nice and interesting. I have been planning to go to Lijiang, Jiu Zhai Gou, etc, for a long time, but the airfare could cost near SGD 1000 per person. Going to Japan cost less than that.

It was with a heavy heart when I send my gal to her kindy this morning- tomorrow will be the last day at this kindy- the teachers are packing up all the stuff in the classes, and all childrens' paintings etc are taken down from the walls etc...it looks so bare...I am very sad all these ~100 kids and teachers will all be spread out into other schools from next year onwards =( What to do...that's life I guess...change is part of life!

Tam- I am indeed very very happy for my gal- yesterday, I clarified with her (I was traveling earlier)- she actually came in Top 2 in her class!! That was fantastic news to me. The top gal scored 100% for both maths and english, while my gal scored around 98-97% for all 3 subjects...considering NYPS has no exams - these marks are a result of consistent performance- every single small test and spelling and oral and worksheets count towards this total result- so if you are not consistent, cannot have a high total. But the top gal is really good- 100% means absolutely no careless mistakes for the entire year! Amazing! As Joy also said- P1 to P3 can still get 100% on subjects, more difficult from P4 onwards when subjects become more subjective! A fren of mine told me her son was in Band 1 from P1 to P3- then started to slip to Band 2 as the other students catch up....so it is really important to set a steady pace and perform thoughout school years...

Tam- did you take the bullet train in Shanghai too? I took it last week- it was amazingly new and super fast! I could have been in Japan, instead of China! Who would have thought China is progressing so very quickly! The best part- it was about S$12 one-way from Shanghai to Suzhou on the first class carriage- incredibly cheap!

Hi Tam,

I feel that pay shouldn't be the most important factor if one is interested in a particular job. No point earning alot in a job you are half-hearted about it. I always believe that interest can fuel passion and hence affect the level of excellence of delivery (of the job). Some people expect to be paid a lot but they don't want to give their best or go the extra mile. The difference between mediocre and excellent is a lot. Every job will have its demands for sure - individuals have to match with the right attitude and aptitude. I think there are many dinosaurs in the workplace who are so fossilised in their ways that it hampers productivity and objectivity.

I had the same thing with GP/Lit as with your Eng Lit. In JC2 they assigned the fiercest but best GP/Lit tutors to firefight. It was like some sort of enlightenment - suddenly we could read more effectively and grew interested in widening our vocabulary.

In JC One, the tutor (who had a fake Brit accent and totally clueless about what she was teaching) used to make us define terms like metaphors, iambic pentameter and transferred epithets. We even had a test on it and had to come up with examples of each device. I understood every term but still failed 'cos I didn't memorise the fixed definitions. Worse still, she read through pages of the set texts and explained every line. Basically, she didn't focus on interpretation/analytical skills, language or depth - just literal understanding. She really killed my interest in Lit - I began to wonder if I picked the wrong course/subject and even school! I was quite depressed for a while because I had no problems understanding /analysing everything on my own but the scores just didn't reflect my efforts.

In JC 2, the expats who took over a few subjects stressed over and over again that it's useless identifying a poetic device unless we could explain the use of it and how it enhances understanding of the text/language. These teachers exposed us to a wide variety of genres and styles of writing, expanding our vocab as we went along.

One of my tutors (who started off sighing every lesson 'cos he said we were of crappy standard) was a walking thesaurus. He'd give us other choices for every one word we volunteered. Eg, lusty = licentious, lascivious. Something yucky = pugnacious, distasteful, repugnant... He would never scold, but "chastise" us or "repudiate" us for our odd/illogical answers. That's how we picked up 50 new words or more every tutorial
I hope we can have more passionate teachers who can challenge minds and are forceful and erudite. Some of my friends felt offended and hurt when they were ticked off or corrected but I appreciate a frank teacher better than a fake one.

Year Two was a tremendous change from JC1. We suddenly felt more confident and connected with the subjects. I really thank my lucky stars for the ones who saved us our A-levels grades. Believe it or not, I still get nightmares of the A level exams (eg. losing lecture notes, late for exam, being unprepared and clueless over the subject etc). University was a breeze, compared to college!

fairy

Congrats! Is there a prize presentaion ceremony in Nanyang?

P1 to P3 also not easy to get full marks for all subjects. Young kids even more prompt to careless mistakes. This year my dd's school scrap CA2, replaced with show n tell, topical tests, creative writing, group presentation etc etc. Like a black box, don't know how school derived those score. I rather they sit for CA2 assessment, at least marks are transparent. I feel that new assessment method is subjective

Yawn- Yah- totally agree on these "subjective" topics like "show and tell" etc, but the top gal still got 100%- that is why I am really impressed! Must try to find out how she manages NOT to make any careless mistakes???

Yes, apparently, Nanyang has a prize presentation ceremony- Top 5 pupils per class from P1 to P5! There are about 14 classes each level, so 5 X 14 X 5= 350 students getting prizes tomorrow- parking will be a real mess!!! I wonder what is the "prize"- just a certificate or really got a prize like book vouchers?? There is also the "model pupil" prize for each class...for my gal's class- out of the top 5- 4 are gals and one is a boy- I have heard boys mature later, so when it comes to GEP, its 60% boys or something...

How's everybody?

Mumusings,
It's always a pleasure to read your postings. I always learn new words! Tell u ah, I often have to check out the dictionary to understand some of the words used. Your vocab very "chimp". I struggled to manage a "B" for my English and Literature paper. I'm always envious of those who can express their thoughts aptly. I told my hb I hope my dd can write like u when she grows up

Tam,
Same sentiments when it comes to your mandarin. You and mumusings should hv been language teachers or something. I'm sure your respective students will benefit from your teachings! I'm using the si wu kuai du to get my dd to read out loud. My goodness, her Chinese pronunciation is really horrible. Since last week, I make it a point to ask her to read me a passage daily. I hv also sign her up for a Chinese holiday program, and a church camp organized by the Chinese ministry! However, I am still hesitant to send her to Chinese tuition. Will see how she perform in P3.

Yawn,
I've just completed dd's transfer this morning. I'm thankful that the school accepted the application. dd took the news with a shrug of her shoulders. I think she's not very excited about leaving her friends, but my "brain washing" effort in the last few weeks might have cushioned the reluctance.

Overall, dd did well in her exams and came in first in class. I've always thought that her school has no ranking as nothing was mentioned in her report book when we got it back on Monday. Top 3 positions were each presented with a cert. n a Popular voucher.

Fairy,
It's so disruptive, especially for those kids going to K2

Saw in the news segment about the new Shanghai high speed trains. Indeed, the Chinese must be very proud of their country's developments.

Hmm, I wonder where is Rona n Stylo these days..... MIA.

aly nat

Congrats! So good hor, got popular vouchers. My dd's school didn't give out any vouchers leh. Only trophies for top 10 in standard and medals for top 3 in every class. I think they are quite 'poor'
Prize presentation tomorrow

By the way, I PM on the readers

Hi Aly,

Thanks for the compliments. Got to thank my aunts and teachers for their dedication. In the 1980s, the learning environment was limited but 'clean' - no nasty language on TV, Internet or computer games. Learning was focused and life revolved around ECA after school.

I think my son will likely be a more hands-on and Science-based when he goes to school! Hahaha... will see if I can succeed in teaching him at home. Right now, it's playing, dancing and running for him 24/7.

Fairyprincess,
It is difficult to get 100 marks when kids are required to write compositions, teachers rarely give full marks for an essay, it is hard for them to justify that. I think that most local kids do not read enough story books outside of their textbook, especially Chinese story books, so they cannot write good essays in English or Chinese.

I attended the prize giving ceremony on Friday. Last year's top PSLE scholar in the school was a boy from mainland China. He gave a speech, and he said that when he was in P4, he was ranked 20+ in class. In P5, he was 3rd, then in P6, he top the whole school ! I really admire the drive and determination of these kids from China. That is why I think that in 10 to 20 years times, most Singaporeans may have to go and look for jobs in China. I took the high speed train to Changsha, and I was amazed at how efficient it is. China will certainly surpass USA, in fact, China has already surpassed Japan this year. That is why, I am putting a lot of empasis on teaching my kids Chinese. When I was in China, my other colleagues who are poor in Chinese are really at a disadvantage.

aly_nat,
Congratulations ! My girl also received popular vouchers

The Si Wu Kuai Du series, especially books 5 and 6, are actually quite difficult for local kids, even at P3 level. The standards are higher than P1 and P2 textbooks. It is good that your girl is reading a passage daily
Even if you send her to Chinese tuition, you still have to let her read as many Chinese story books as possible, otherwise tuition alone may not be effective.

mumusings,
The sad truth is that most people want to buy a home(preferably condo), buy a car, go for luxury holidays, and they are not prepared to wait for many years to achieve this. They want all these fast, preferably before they turn 30. That's why the best brains are now going to banking/finance where they can earn a high salary very quickly. We really cannot blame these people, most of them do not have parents who can buy apartments for them. Those who become primary/secondary/JC teachers are usually those who cannot find a job in other industries, so we really cannot expect very good qualities. I am not generalizing, there are some are who very good at teaching, like your GP/Lit tutors, but these are really very rare.

I listened to the school principal when she gave a speech at my girl's primary school last Friday, and I thought that her spoken English is not better than me. I expect a much higher standard from a principal, but then this is just a neighbourhood school, so I guess I cannot ask for too much. Anyway, I am teaching my kids English at home, learning from the great children's classics, not depending on the school teachers. I actually sent both my kids to Morris Allen when I was away in China. All the teachers there are native speakers. My boy's teacher is a very experienced teacher from UK, and she is one of the best teachers that I have ever met. How I wish that our primary schools have more teachers like her. But then again, MOE is probably not willing to pay that kind of salary that she is earning.

The school holidays have officially started....what are your plans for your kids? Its 6 weeks long- important for them to spend it meaningfully...

Tam- yes, tough to score 100%- NYPS is not based on exams but on many small tests of 5% to 30%... maybe teachers are quite lenient in P1...its not about getting any prize in P1- but its much tougher to perform consistently well throughout all levels...yes, so many stories of kids catching up over time...

My gal did not get any vouchers- all prizes were trophies and certificates....I guess save money?

China has 16 million births per year, compared to s'pore at 40K max...so the kids that can come to S'pore, are already a chosen or priviledged few- it is not surprising more and more of our top scholars come from China...s'porean kids do not understand what "motivation or drive" is....cannot even fathom...

Pantone- I just cannot locate my itinerary for Seoul, so cannot PM you. Here are some details from what I remember:
- I stayed at Co-op Residence Uljiro- very near dongdaemum stadium MRT station- good if you are keen to shop till you drop- dongdaemum only a few steps away
http://rent.co-op.co.kr/rent_coop/eng/body02.htm
- airport transfer- use the airport bus- only about S$10 each way- various routes
- getting around by mrt- very convenient and with english words, only about S$1 per ride, regardless of distance
- Daiso seoul- I like the Daiso there a lot- many things not found in japan nor s'pore- made in korea products...
- kids clothes and accessories- namdaemum- endless small stores- very cheap price...
But I recall you wanted into re ski resort- sorry, I have not been to any during winter, cant be of more help...

Ballet- if any kids are keen to learn Ballet- I highly recommend the ballet school my 5YO gal currently goes to- Its the Ballet and Music Co-
http://www.balletandmusic.com/
She is currently in Primary level- and she has learnt a lot of steps and moves since she started about 6 months ago- she used to attend another local ballet school when she was younger, did not learn much really...her current teacher is a caucasian (and so are many of the teachers) and really pushes the kids...the school will be putting up a ballet performance "The Little Mermaid" in Dec...teachers and students performing, I think it will be quite nice!

fairy

Between my two girls, I've signed them up for weiqi (3 sessions), french (3 sessions), sketching (4 sessions), chinese (5 sessions), samba dance (4 sessions), bollywood dance (5 sessions). Very busy wor

Rest of the time they will play badminton and read books at home. Bought more than 60 new storybooks recently, enough to keep them occupied.

I just found out there's holiday tennis lessons at nearby stadium but discovered too late, already signed up for other classes at same timing so got to kiv tennis to June. Told my dd every school holiday go learn something new

Hi Tam,

I know what you mean. Some people see teaching as 'iron rice bowl' and the last resort if other jobs aren't available. I guess I am definitely lucky to have known more serious/good teachers than the mediocre ones.

Not all expats are great teachers but because they are native speakers of the English Language, they will have an edge over local English teachers.

Talking about English and standards of spoken English. I cringed when I heard a mother shout for her toddler... "Shar Neow, come here." Why are people giving their kids names like Chanel (and can't pronounce it!). I feel terrible whenever I see names like Coco and Chanel. Do these wannabe tai-tais even read up about the lady (Coco-nickname for singers at cafes in France, was a kept woman and numerous love affairs, including one with the Duke of Westminster and a Nazi officer)? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gabrielle_%22Coco%22_Chanel Certainly a great fashion designer but to name one's kid after her would mean embodying (or hoping to emulate) the lady's qualities (good AND bad)?

Anyway, just some musings. It never fails to amaze me how fixated some people are with brands to the extent that they 'own' these labels vicariously through their kids.

Was really quite disturbed also reading about the MOE scholar at York last week. What's happened to common sense and morality?

Hi mommies!

Congrats to all kids/mommies whom had done well this year!

re school holidays
Had not sign up course for this holiday and DS is already bored!

Yawn: your lists give me some direction. I'd look at PA web site tomorrow :)

re Seoul
Fairy: easy to do F&E in Seoul? I went there more than 10 yrs back via package tour. Looking for CNY package now, Seoul is one of the choice since I've only got 5 days (DS school don't release early and cannot accept letter of excuse)

re Dec holidays
Mommies, starting to pack for Dec trip?
I've just bought my shoe for coming Hokkaido trip.

Tam,
your boy under Ms Sally @ MA too? She's a real nice teacher.
DS was under her till end-Oct. Had stopped his lesson with Ms Sally as will be switching him to creative writing class instead.

Thanks Yawn- you have indeed signed up for many courses!!! Weiqi sounds interesting- I may check it out. So far, I signed up the following:
- little typist for my younger (elder completed it earlier- she liked it very much)
- xmas cookie baking (for both)
- money management (for elder)
- boost brain power (for both)
In between- lots of reading and doing assessment books...

aa- yes, Seoul very easy to do F&E in my view, no problem to get around, korean words together with english words for road signs and subway =)