Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

On phone,

We don't own the ipad or iphone, just a normal phone with built-in camera (all the pics on my blog are taken on the Nokia phone). We don't allow our son to touch our hp except when giving him a few mins to talk to grandparents and relatives.

My dad bought him one of those Vtech laptops from ToyRUs but he's too young to understand all the language and maths games as yet. He prefers real gadgets.

I've seen very small kids playing on touchscreen phones and iphones. I can't do that 'cos it's like watching money disappear - he will likely dismantle them!

Thanks for all the suggestions.

Now, am trying to de clutter her room.

Toto,
Yes, no maid and has to clean 3 storey daily.Not sure how long I can survive.

Catering vs self cook
Maybe I find joy in cooking...lol.Imagine in the midst of exam, I cook curry fish head to destress.

Hi Joy,

Do you know how to make glutinous rice? If you're able to put more ingredients like mushrooms, chinese sausage and peanuts - it's quite a filling dish. My mom makes it to replace a few dishes. She often volunteers to cook glutinous rice, pig trotters, soya sauce chicken or red vinasse chicken (the very red Hakka dish).

If it's really very tough, why don't you cater a few dishes and just cook curry? Buy lots of French loaves to go with it. Or order satay or a turkey since Xmas is near? It's no joke doing so many things without help.

As for dessert, you can either make agar-agar or konnyaku jelly 2 days before. I think your guests (if they're really understanding and supportive) will know how much you have to do and won't mind. If you have super close friend, you might want to do some sort of pot luck or just ask someone to help prepare one/two dishes. That's what my aunts do now. The host prepares rice/bread/noodles and curry/fish/chicken and drinks. The rest will contribute desserts, snacks, fried chicken wings and loose items.

When everyone was younger, they could handle a party single-handedly without maid. Now, even my mother has given into ideas like takeaway yusheng, satay and curry fish head!

snowball, toto,
I actually wanted an excuse not to go to my in-laws' house for CNY dinner :p I had an unpleasant experience during last year's CNY dinner.

aa, poohy,
Yes I am going to Hakuba free and easy, already booked a hotel there for 3 nights, also planning to go to the snow monkey park. My hotel room has private bath, and there is also a public onsen within the hotel. But I don't think I will go to the onsen, too shy about showing my big fat tummy and butt in public :p But I may allow my hubby to bring our little boy to the men's onsen, but then I am not sure whether it is a good idea, will my boy be traumatised seeing all the naked men hahaha

poohy,
Are you going free and easy ? Taking trains all the way ?

aa,
You are planning to go to Hokkaido alone ? I absolutely love Hokkaido when I traveled there alone, so much more relaxed compared to cities. In May/June the lavenders fields are not in bloom yet, but there are other flowers.

Fairyprincess,
Are you following tour groups to Taiwan, or free and easy ? This week 8 days magazine has a booklet about some very nice bed and breakfast inns in Taiwan.

poohy,
Long time never hear from u now ! wow ur younger son can read well at 2 that is really a good news.
Sameul looks cool ....
Thanks for the kind words,yes, she is taking home base piano lesson.

iphone.
Sabrina likes to write notes
and play pizza cooking games using my iphone.

Kindy- no lah, not branded kindy, just a private kindy that closed the branch near my place, so have to go to a further branch...

Tam- its free and easy- 3 nights in Taipei and 1 night at Sun Moon Lake- we need to purchase high speed rail tickets to Taichung then take a bus to SML- seems very far cos the lake is right in the middle of Taiwan...I have not much time to plan yet- still have 2-3 work trips before this trip in Dec...busy!!! Thanks for the 8 days mag info!

Tam- you should still go for the onsen- its an experience mah! I love to watch Japan Hour and see all the quaint inns/ guesthouses of Japan- it will be a fantastic experience for your kids...dress warmly!

tamarind,

yup, I am going free and easy. Will take train to nagano for shiga kogen only. Then take bus from matsumoto to takayama, before taking another bus to shirakawago. Then bus again from takayama back to shinjuku. A lot of travel so I am still having headache about luggage forwarding.

Which hotel are you staying that has private bath? I am looking one... if its good, maybe I will go to hakuba. Is hakuba suitable for young kids? We wont be skiiing though, just play snow and snow tobaggan. Also, how do you travel from hakuba to snow monkey park? Does the hotel provide free shuttle to and fro?

btw, what kind of shoes do you get for your kids? I had wanted to buy snow boots but its really such a waste as it cant be wore in singapore. I bought mid-cut leather shoes instead of my kids. Hope it wont become wet. My girl's shoes were so wet when we went to korea ski few years back.

toto,

no... I am still trying to cope with the 3 of them and with my guilt feeling of not being able to spend enough time with each of them.

Sharon,

S made a great improvement this round. The last time he performed in Jan this year, he was crying away and refused to play and the teachers had to keep coaxing him. This round, I can see him much more confident and even told me he enjoyed performing. He had always been a shy character and to me, its really a quantum leap.

Tam, we chose to go by Silkair as they have a promo during CNY... if u managed to get promo tickets, its rather cheap... less than $350 (include tax)...

poohy,

i have a very beautiful memory of takayama and shirakawago and the Hida milk and Hida ramen! lots and lots of snow.

next time i think i can you and tam for itinery when i wanna go over next time

Bz....
Went for jesse's school orientation yesterday. He was v comfy with his class and teachers, told me he got to know two new boys. haha....
The kids had their kindy concert last week - last time that all three are together.

Suddenly we are swamped with bags, hb/I each got a laptop bag online, then I received a laptop/messenger bag as a gift. And I hv 2 Jim Thompson bags... hehehe....

Isetan is having sale now till weekend in case anyone is interested.

Bloom
I booked my Gardens room at this website.
http://www.asiatravel.com/malaysia.html

Those cheaper hotels would be Federal, Royal Bukit Bintang, maybe Istana.
Piccolo's location is good too.

snowball
Thanks for the tip... we are going tmw. Hv reminded hb we beta set off early.....

snowball/bloom/tam
Yeah, maybe the size of the box is standard...

tam
Shoes - yeah, let's update each other.

What happened during CNY?

rona
Mid Valley and The Gardens is interesting. In fact we don't go KLCC anymore...
I wanna go to Metrojaya and Isetan...hehe.. and there is a Clarks shop at Mid Valley.

fairy/mumusings
I don't mind popiah if there is a big group of people eating together - rather fun!

poohy
Shoes - I think you need to ensure the soles are those that can grip the snow properly so that the kids/you don't slip. I rembr some yrs back I didn't wear proper shoes and nearly slipped when I was in Geneva. Later on I bot proper boots and had no problem. Really makes a different getting the right kind of shoes/boots.

Electronic stuff - no we don't allow our kids to play w/ our hps. In fact we don't encourage any sort of play cos we dislike it when kids get too immersed into such things. Hb/I are seeing a common scene at dinner tables at food courts and restaurants that many kids are just playing their electronic stuff, no one is communicating with each other. We even saw a couple who put this dvd player in front of their barely 2 yr old toddler to watch it while they are hving dinner!

Japan is really nice.... hopefully we hv a chance to explore one day. I was only at tokyo and the odaiba area before.....

pantone
How was ur DS' concert?
My kids enjoyed v much.
Did you buy the book and the concert DVD?
I decided to this year, as the book is done by the K2 and jesse's piece was one of the few selected (on the back page).
For the DVD, I thot it'll be nice to let them see themselves.

fairy
Pls post on ur Taiwan trip when u're back. Eversince I watched the "Lodge with us" series, I am impressed with the outskirts of Taipei.

Fairy
Happy Holidays in taiwan.
I certainly look forward to mine next mth, before preparing my girl for her psle next year,another tough journey.

Mumusings
Thanks for the great suggestions.

Rest of mummies
Have a great long weekend...

poohy,
We are staying at this hotel :
http://www.hakuba-r.tokyuhotels.co.jp/english/other/index.html
The private bath is not a hot spring bath.

There are a total of 6 of you right ? Consider this taxi
http://www.chuotaxi.co.jp/index.php?id=8

They charge per person. They will drive you direct to the hotel. But you have to call them. I am also going to call them to check.

We have 3 big bags, all 4 wheel spinners, since our kids are older, I think we can still manage the train if necessary.

I bought snow boots for my kids and myself from landsend.com, less than USD20 a pair after discounts.

I read that all hotels in Hakuba can help to arrange for tours to the snow monkey park, I will ask when I reach there.

Fairyprincess,
Let me know whether you enjoy Sun Moon Lake, my mother is keen to go to Taiwan. I have been to Taipei many times, did not like the city, so I will skip it in the future, but will still visit the countryside.
The last time I was in Hokkaido, I was too shy to use the public bath at the hostel, I did not bathe for 2 days :p

Eileen,
That is a very good deal ! I never seem to be able to get tickets for Chiang Mai at that price.

styloBB,
Nothing very dramatic, just that I never enjoyed CNY with my in-laws. They are very westernized, and their own daughter used to travel during CNY, so they will not miss me lah. I would rather keep my mother company since my father is no longer around.

Joy,
It is not easy to cook for a birthday party on your own, how many kids are you inviting ?

Your girl must have done very well for her exams, right ? I feel that there is a limit to how much parents can help kids academically. Kids must have the drive to work hard, and parents have to think about ways to develop this "drive" in kids.

Hi Stylo,

Poh piah feast is fun within the family if everyone helps out and be considerate with the eating part. I don't like some of my mom's friends who came over (when I was small) - they're the sort to come to your house, pick on things ("my kitchen is even bigger...", boast, this-can-be-saltier, I-cook-mine-this-way, mess up the place and then leave!

Thank Goodness I haven't had to pander to them ever again 'cos my mom also realised that she should only cook only for people who are more deserving. They eat out when they meet now.

Some people (adults) don't even bother to help clean up their own mess or kindly stack dishes up. I really cringe at the thought of having such inconsiderate guests in my flat. We were brought up to bring my own cups/plates to the sink,pick things up from the floor, scrape off leftover bits into a bag and help wash up!

I might just do poh piah from scratch one day. Just for my immediate families.

I am officially a fan of Shenngsiong seafoods section. Bought up all packs of bamboo clams (to keep) there were left, sadly only 3. Fried one pack with prawns and chilli crab paste for lunch just now. Super shiok lunch

Thanks to my son who fell asleep at 12 noon so we were able to cook this dish together. I have no strength to shove the pan...

http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2010/11/food-fried-bamboo-clams-and-prawns-with.html

4700683.jpg

mommies

Watched 'Megamind' yesterday. This one is enjoyable for adults too. Can watch
And they screen a brief preview of Kungfu panda 2. Oh boy, I love Kungfu panda, can't wait for part 2!

rona

'Fringe' you can catch it here http://www.tvduck.com/Fringe.html
some of the links don't work, got to try a few till you get one that's working

You have any idea where to watch 'Hero' online?
Me HUGE fan of Hero

sharon

You intend to admit Sabrina to P1 earlier? Since she's already 3 years in advance, gonna be super bored in school.
By the way, she looked very much like you

tamarind

I don't have iphone too. I'm not very interested in all these gadgets leh. As long my phone can ring and can send sms, sufficient liao. I don't even need blue tooth feature

mommies

I went MPH book fair at expo this morning. Books priced at UK/US 5.99 or below - $3 each. If you buy 5 books, further discount - 5 for $10. Very cheap hor. Books already super messy by the time I reached there, you got to dig a bit

Now my bookshelves seriously gonna burst. I bought a total of 63 new books over the last couple of weeks

How is holiday so far?
I have decided to cook just three dishes and make one dessert, the rest, will buy.

Tam
Her results not really good, status quo, still in the 90% cos her math dropped and science went up, just like stock market.I told her to learn from her mistake and move on.

Yawn

Good buy.Am not buying any more books.Cos too many and I have no more space for it.

Mumusings
That is awesome.

Hi Joy,

Thanks. I am so proud of myself too - for not getting any oil splattered on me. Hahahaha... It was a very yummy lunch.

I am true-blue Singaporean. Saved the gravy and ate with bread, rice and tofu squares too! I love chilli crabs but sometimes develop allergy. The only way to still enjoy the dish is to have the sauce with other seafoods like prawns. Eating seafood is so much cheaper at home. Everything (lunch and dinner)put together costs less than $7 today.

4701025.jpg

4701026.jpg

Poohy,
Yup, Confident is very important in a child learning journey.
Good that his have great improvement

Yawn yawn.
Oh.. Can jump start P1? If can I think need IQ test reports
Don intend to let her go thru all this test .,and kind of stress.
Just be natural .. One more year to go P1 ..let her enjoy childhood time . She has never complaining about bored in Sch . She did tell me homework in Sch is 'easy'.
She actually enjoyed to go to Sch
Her kindy teaches more on songs , speech and drama and also Arts and craft . Everyday she will sing to me. She is happy , I am happy .

Stylo
I prefer last year concert. This year the kids action very simple. The P1 orientation is so early? So have to skip class to attend?

Mumusing
Where to get chilli crab paste?

Tamarind
I dislike CNY too. CNY eve got to have dinner with MIL. The 1st day of CNY my 3 SIL will come to my place. We will have to prepare vegetarian food for my 3 SIL families. Then proceed to their relatives house. Then they will come back to my place again for dinner. The second and third day its my turn to go to their house and visit one of my hubby's uncle. I dont understand why all the i visit your house and you visit my house thing. Kind of selfish. I'm usually too tired to go anywhere else or to my relatives place. My mil's birthday falls within the 1st 15 days of CNY. Then another round of gathering again. I have not plan for any holiday yet. Dont know how to siam....

Hello mummies:

Just came back from Malaysia- took adv of the long weekend to visit my grandma with my parents and my kids- left the house before 6am yesterday to beat the jam, came out around noon today to beat the jam again- this is our usual short routine...bought more assessment books for the kids for Dec hols and loads of food stuff...

Gardenia Butterscotch bread- not sure if this flavour is in s'pore, but we always buy it from JB for RM4- its a sweet bread with butterscotch base and very very nice, even to eat on its own...try it if you see it...

Happy long weekend!

morning!!
Just to check with those that buy from US sites, there is a big sale coming soon? Xmas sale? Want to buy school shoes for the kids for next year.

Tam,
Going Hokkaido next mth by pkg tour. 1st visit, so thinking of re-visiting on my own during late spring or early summer time. Just plan, need to see how my work schedule first :-(

Pantone,
Try prima deli chilli crab paste. Always use for prawns or squid or fish cake too. Yummy!

re CNY travelling
Main idea is to "escape" reunion dinner with MIL. Still planning where to go, must be 4-5 days and not too ex.

Joy,
Happy Birthday to your girl!
How's her party? What did you cook then?

aa
Thanks for the birthday wish.The whole hse was a mad house.Cooking is ok but has to clean up the whole hse after that.

You going hokkaido too?when u leaving?Am leaving on the 13 dec.Yesterday, sil came over and take over some winter cloths and gloves,cos I have the habit to buy winter jacket when overseas, and luckily some can take over my dd now...lol

Have a pleasant week ahead...

Hi Sharon,

Sabrina is learning very fast for her piano lesson. My DD1 just learnt the fingering for Do Re Mi. They are learning to play a short piece using Do Re Mi on the right hand and read the notes.

Hi Joy,

Your gal must've enjoyed her BD party.

Sama sama here....I have excuses to buy coldwear when I am planning a trip to cold country. This time round, I bought tights, 2 windbreakers and 2 sweaters for my kids. Spent abt $250. I bought 1 sz bigger for both of them. Can wear 1 - 2 more yrs, I hope.

Hi Yawn,

DD1 using Oral B toothpaste and DD2 still using My First Teeth toothpaste (teaching her how to spit out the toothpaste first before switching her to normal toothpaste).

Hi aa - How about going on a Cruise?

CNY reunion dinner - In the last 2 yrs, I have suggested that we eat out. Meet up, eat and say bye bye.

joy, how long have u been surviving maidless ???? *salute*

re hp/ipad etc... my gal have been playing with hp and psp... not my choice.. hb just throw everything to her so long as she keep quiet while he drove her to cc until now she will always ask for it.. so now fine.. i only give it to her during car/Mrt trips...

styloBB, ayoh.. read the forum too late.. end up booking some place in chinatown... :p

yawn yawn, thanks for the link for fringe.. i am a big fan too! re toothpaste , my gal is using oral B toothpaste (winnie the pooh design, blue colour paste). not sure if its fluroide or not (ahha lousy mommy!)

re confidence in a child.how to instil????

sharon, went asia piano yesterday and talked to wee. You really got a good bargain cos they actually don't sell 2nd hand digital and tat pce u have is on consignment by customer! And now they are stopping shipping from japan for the time being due to high costs (i didn't ask what cost). So I left with nothing..

mommies

Thanks for your replies on toothpaste

My younger one is very prone to tooth decay despites daily brushing. She's using kodomo, I think not effective enough leh. Need to switch toothpaste

snowball

We didn't have reunion dinner the last 2 years. MIL said no need leh. So we only go my mom's place. Last year we totally 'siam' visiting for both side

bloom

you looking for piano? You might want to check out century piano at kallang leisure mall. Accordng to the sales staff, she said her boss personally flied over to Japan to select all the set. But limited model limited set because they only have a tiny showroom. The other place to check is IMM piano gallery, plenty of sets. Kawai showroom at millenia walk also carry 2nd hand pianos.

But hor, my overall impression is 2nd hand dealers price are expensive, maybe more worthwhile to buy direct from another family whose child give up learning or upgrading and then arrange your own mover and tuning

snowball32
Yes, She is fast by now she already know how to reading 16 notes.The teacher mention as her speed can prepare for exam next year.

She could play Westminster Chimes-GABCDE after home practising.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L7gGx4h7bg4

Bloom
Yup.. I really got a good deal.

When they are learning, you must tell them positive words like.
It's Ok, try again, you can do it, u can do better,be brave , be strong,keep trying, never give up....

snowball.
Thanks, birthday party was ok, but need to clear up lotsa mess.

No more buying winter wear this year, has enough.

Bloom
Me survived for exactly a year.

pantone
I agree with you, last year was more interesting and the movements were nicer.

bloom
Chinatown... I find that place quite 'jaap'... sleazy...

sharon
Ur gal is really smart...

rona
The Gardens is pretty decent. Maybe I can consider their 2-room apartments next time. Robinson's just out from the door.. so convenient.

aa,
In June, I am thinking of bringing my mother and the kids to Lijiang in China. I have been thinking of going there for a long time, there are many new and nice hotels and the prices are not expensive.
Do you stay in a 5 room or executive apartment ? I am thinking of buying an exec apartment in our area next year. If I manage to find a suitable one, then will not travel, save the money to do the renovation instead.

joy,
90% is already much better than many other kids !

yawn,
One of my students worked part time in order to buy herself an iphone, she almost failed and cried very hard, begging me to let her pass. I was thinking, I don't even have an iphone myself ! My phone costs me $0 on contract.

bloom,
To instill confidence in a child, try the flying trapeze :
http://tamarindvillage.blogspot.com/2010/05/flying-trapeze.html

Bring the child out more often, when the child has experienced more things in life, she will become more confident. For example, I brought my kids to Krabi, sat on a long tail boat to an uninhabited island and stayed there all day, ate lunch in our wet swimsuit. I let them stand in the open sea with hundreds of fishes swimming around them. They were only about 3 to 4 years old at that time. I also plan to bring them to camp in the jungle when they are older.

When the child is scared of some thing, like insects, monsters on TV, etc, do not make a big deal out of it, and do not try to shield her completely from things that scared her. My kids used to scream when they saw insects flying into the house, I told them calmly that they are so big, the insect is so small, there is nothing to be afraid about. Now they try to catch the insect and play with it :p

I have heard of kids who are scared of monsters on TV. I bought many books of scary dinosaurs for my boy since he was 3 years old, he enjoyed watching Jurassic Park very much !

Tamarind,
Sabrina will be joining 3 days 2 night camp in church on 24 nov to 26 nov by herself. The camp is organize by her creative writing teachers . This is her first time in camp . Hope she is doing fine !
And last week we went JB , Sabrina had do her own arriving and departing passport check from Singapore custom . She went alone and pass the passport to officer and answering question . She was so brave!

tamarind,

thanks. Need your advice... if I were to order from landsend by international shipping now, would the shoes be able to reach me by mid december?

poohy,
If nothing goes wrong, you should be able to receive by mid December.

sharon,
I let my kids go through custom on their own too
Yes we should let kids do things independently, this will train them to be more confident.

Tam,
Envy you can bring your kids everywhere and anywhere, they adapted well. For my boy, he'll not be able to live in China. Too pampered by my mom and the elders at home :-(

Thinking of going Hokkaido with just DH, leaving my boy to my mom, but feel very bad not bringing them ... still thinking ... ...

Used to stay in executive apt around your area, moved out about two years ago. Too many fgn workers laying around void deck drank, DH think not very safe as i used to come home very late at times. Not sure how's the situation now ... find out more ...

got to board the plane now ... talk to you again.

Hi Tam,

I've come across young people like that too, working to buy a branded something or gadget every month. It's almost like a COMPULSORY module they have to pass?? I've heard of boyfriends slogging as despatch driver and assortment of jobs just to help girlfriends buy a Tiffany trinklet, expensive handphone, Vuitton bag, PSP and branded goods.

An ex-classmate of mine at uni told me once that she will leave her boyfriend if he doesn't produce an LV wallet within the next few months. She did get a red epi leather LV wallet but dumped him after that anyway 'cos she said he took too long and there were other potential targets (men) to go after. Terrible right? That wasn't all. In the end she quit local uni and made her father cough up money to send her to Australia to study so that she could mingle with better-than-average guys. Pity her parents 'cos they had to live on the edge. I really couldn't take it that she boasted of her poor parents giving up all to sponsor her studies.

Another someeone I knew emptied her entire account upon graduating from Law just to buy Mont Blanc pen and a Rolex watch. Her reason, which is quite shallow and typical: "Because these are BONA FIDE brands and will put me in GOOD STEAD in front of the partners of the firm..."

Tam,

Thanks! how did you decide upon hakuba among the different ski resorts in Nagano? I am trying to decide between hakuba and shiga kogen. I hope my kids can play those snow tobagan and maybe snow mobile... not sure whether they have those.

tam, sharon, i think confidence is also partly in-born. my gal is so timid... i spend so much time pushing her to do things independently.. it does not help that her speech is not good and so pp don't understand, or cannot hear her... very tiring..

styloBB,..oooppss..and i thot their chinatown is happening and a good place for food ... hope everything goes well cos its just 3 of us (my mom, me, my gal)...

yawn yawn, i have checked out piano gallery too but was in a rush..everything is shrinkwrapped..price not stated..anyway might be getting a digital piano for the time being.. think a acoustic will be too loud to play on late nights....