Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

Joy- I see...thanks.

Aly Nat- I would think most kids are interested in nature and the environment? I bought a PSLE sceince coaching book, which I will use to explain concepts to her starting from now...I believe she will grasp many of the concepts before she starts officially in P3...plan to do the same for my younger when she is in P1...

Science is a lot about experimenting...last weekend, I showed my kids the mimosa plant- the leaves can close when we touch it...they have never seen something like that ever in their life- plants can move??? Also, drinking honey syrup from ixora flowers- that was something I did as a kid- my kids were so thrilled to try...but must pluck from plants not by the roadside- very very dusty!

aly nat

if you are interested in science camp, maisy posted discovery camp details in our usual thread. You check it out

I've been sending her to those ad hoc 1.5 to 3 hours science or maths holiday programme organised by CCs since kindy. Can't expect her to learn a lot since it's so short but I think it's good enough to keep her intrigued. May consider that discovery camp when she's at least P4

Yawn
I have bought many assessment books.They are all about the same.Still, the bottom line is still the processing skills.Hope this helps.

rona

Have PM you the list of maths holiday programme my dd attended before. Happy surfing

Yawn,
Thanks. Ok, I wait for your picture upload.

I saw Maisy's post. Keeping that in mind while looking ard for others. The camp is back to back with her week-long church camp, so... still thinking. Also wondering whether it will be beneficial.

Now waiting for popular to hv 20% discount before buying P3 material.

Fairy,
dd1 enjoyed those science related topics during her time in Australia - very experimental. They literally place an incubator in the classroom and wait for the chicks to hatch. Some eggs were not hatched
. Together with the teacher, the kids named the chicks. Later, the kids take turns to feed the chicks. Interesting, right? I wonder how science lessons are conducted here. Aiyah, guess I just hv to wait n see.

Yawn
Maybe u can pick up some assessment books that is pertaining to processing skills and have a feel of it.Its actually a soft skill.Not many teacher is able to impart this aspect.

rona
I'm in the same boat as you although you don't look fat when we met that night.
Everyone was happily jumping onto the weighing machine in Sheraton except me, just got no guts, when I finally did, I think the scale tipped 4 kg more!!! So demoralising!!!

I think Nusa Dua is the 'upperty' area and have more 5-star hotels.... long time ago I heard of Nusa Dua Beach but when I went to the website to see, the rooms do not look impressive at all....

The twins have not been v behaved in the sense that they have been sleeping late at night...11pm and later! I think it's becos they nap in the aftns so when night comes,they are not sleepy. I told A/mil to wake them up after 2 hours of nap. Do you let S nap all the way or does ur maid wake her up??

rona/fairy
I hv been sniffing almost the whole day.... sigh...

tam
Hehe..... I seem to be bz every week.

Did your kids miss you a lot?

Wow, soya milk making machine? Sounds interesting...hehe. Maybe they have at Tang's, at some ridiculous price...hehe...
Wah how u carry 20kg !!!!

Easy Spirit - shipped via Vpost or direct int'l shipping??

For target.com - I entered VPostT US address. Actually what I did was some yrs ago when I started to use VPost, I called UOB to ask them to list the VPost addy as a secondary billing address.

Mummies - my hb has a friend whose family runs {bungalows in Ubud} - if interested, let me know. I go and get the website.
My only grouse is the pool is a normal pool, my kids would prefer a big pool with slides (if possible)...hehe...
Is there monsoon season for Bali???

mumusings
Hb/I hv been shopping at some sites as we decided to combine the orders to save on the base charge.

aly nat/sharon
I think we all have problem with that 'tummy'... v irritating!!!

snowball
Sheraton's pretty good... the resort itself is not super nice (think it needs some refurbishing) but good enuf.
We got some points, and thot of redeeming for KL next time.
At Hilton, kids also eat free with adults. Hope more hotels will recognise that families w/ tods travel together and have different needs as independent travellers. We need family rooms!

I saw a pair of Naturaliser in Phuket but they do not have my size...

fairy
The Ecco shoes you mention are expensive. If trying online, best to take tam's advice to aim for a pair on sale and see how it goes..

I shud be off to Sydney in Nov w/ my hb as he has a biz trip there. Also a wedding in KL and we'll be driving in.
Thinking of maybe do a KL trip w/ the kids before their school starts.

Mummies who wl be travelling soon, enjoy yourselves.

Mummies with P1 kids, are you v bz everyday after work coaching your kids?
How to motivate them?
My plan is to tell jesse that he is responsible to finish his homework. Like now, he will do his homework every Sat aftn at 2pm (changed from Sun) even when I am not around. I tell him his respy is to finish and check his work as well.

Hi StyloBB,

Thanks for sharing. The Sheraton @ Langkawi also needs refurbishments. But, their rooms are big, I agree with you. Family rooms are great for us too
Hilton is more expensive (in general).

Naptimes - My kids nap in their CC in the afternoon from 1 - 3pm. On weekends, sometimes my DD1 do not nap at all. At nite, I make sure that they zzzz by 10pm. On weekend, they can zzz later at 10.30pm. Sometimes, I need to threaten them with the cane to make them zzzz.

Bali - Thanks for the lobang @ Ubud. Will let you know if we decide to tobang there.

For Nusa Dua - I find its a nice quiet place to relax. Kuta beach is too noisy and busy to relax.

My colleague went there few years back and he stayed in Semarang (think I got it right). Its a the other side of Bali...He told me that is also a nice place to relax. He stayed there for 7 days and did quite abit of tracking there.

Morning mummies:
Bali- if going to bali- make time for one dinner at Ku-De-Ta at Seminyak...the view and atmosphere is amazing and the food is great! Probably need booking...
http://bali.kudeta.net/
Its the same brand as the bar on top of marina bay sands...they have nailed the concept well...

P1 workload:
I have heard different comments from kids from different schools. What I can say based on my kid is as follows:
- set a good habit to finish homework daily- actually, no choice, as most homework brought home one day is to be handed up the next day...
- weekend homework- I get my kid to do on Sat morning (cos Fri afternoon she goes to Tien Hsia)
- weekly English and Chinese spelling- so on Mon, practice English spelling, on Tues and Wed, practice Chinese spelling
- Thurs afternoon, got to practice Tien Hsia spelling...
- there are plenty of small tests along the way- I think P1 teachers keep close contact with parents- for my kid- there is a class blog whereby the teachers will post weekly homework and next week's test for parents to read and prepare...

I think consistency is the key in getting a kid to do reasonably well in P1...I am not sure if most kids are careless, but my kid is at times, its important to reinforce the need to check work thoroughly after doing- most of her "lost marks" in various test is due to carelessness, rather than not knowing how to do..

hi,..anyone bring their children go night safari for halloween day?
I will bring Sabrina go on 31 Oct.. hope she not so scare about it ...

styloBB,
wow the room very big.. how much u are paying for this ?

snowball
I think I stayed at Sheraton Langkawi many yrs ago...

I went to check out the Laguna Resort at Bali, and also Westin...Westin does not seem to have fmy rooms.

I have heard recommendations for areas like Nusa Dua, Seminyak (now fairy also mentions), Ubud and Jimbaran. None for Kuta...hehe

bloom
No, they are two single beds for my kids...keke

fairy
Thanx for the sharing on the studies... looks like little time for play ... sigh....

fairy/rona
I'm sick today....

Today's news is about Berjaya Air flying out from Budget Terminal...

sharon

I thought TAS does not have preschool classes. Sabrina joined their P1 class?

I have yet to consider TAS for my 6yo. Can't put the cart before the horse. I think she needs to figure out her grammar and sentence sense before proceeding to creative writing. Now she takes like an hour just to copy 5 sentences. I always tell her 'hello, exam over liao'. Faint!

sharon
Room was USD200 per night. They are having promo till end Oct. Resort was not v crowded as not high season yet. You can check the Sheraton website.

yawn, sharon
Sorry, but what is TAS??

pantone
Forgot to answer ur qstn: yep, that shud be mil w/ the 3 kids... my twins are fraternal, tho they hv similar features, they do not look alike.
Are you excited abt ur DS' performance this Sat?

yawn yawn
about 7/8 students.. their got 2 teachers in the class..my girl is the younger 5, also have 6 year old ones in the class.

No la. as long as she can reads well and understand the basic english concents then she can OK to join the class.

sharon,
your gal is very impressive! P1 class now and she is barely 5yo?? She is Sept 2005 kiddo right? yours and tam's and bloom's and yawn's and Joy's all super high capacity/strength group. who else have I missed out? Mine are the average ones, but super when comes to watching tv and playing... heheheee...

yawn,
Thanks for the information. Arnold been to the finger maths for simple addition, i think its fun and i wanna learn too. very convenient leh! too bad they don't have classes for adults. just like abacus, i also wanna learn, but they don't wanna teach adults too! Arrgghhh!!

hello mummies

wow sharon - you must have done a really good job teaching your DD such that she can read so well at 5 and skip two levels.

tree nymph - you are not alone. my DS can join your gang. every day his 1st sentence when he wakes up is - can i play?

fairyprincess - do you have to spend time coaching your kid at home? your P1 workload seemed to be quite hectic - all these revisions for spelling and ting xie in addition to long sch hrs and CCA... wonder how I can cope...

Mummies, any good sites to recommend for christmas shopping for kids? looking at unique toys/games that are not sold in Sing.

Toto- I try to be consistent with my child, but you may know I travel quite a bit for work, so my mum is the back-up- she does a lot of coaching too...
However, I think the volume of home work depends on which school, some schools are quite relaxed for P1 I hear...
After some time, weekly english and chinese spelling becomes routine- just got to practice- and not all words are new to the child...
No CCA for P1- I did not sign her up for any classes after school - I strongly believe the child should already have enough exposure from a full day of school, although many parents in my gal's school probably think otherwise- from the number of enrichment classes offered in school after school hours!

Prob in K2- try to get your child used to weekly home work and weekly spelling- I know some kindy/ childcare already has this...to ease the child into routine...although my gal was still adjusting for the 1st term in P1- could not get use to the work load at the start...

e.g. her Chinese spelling this week- 20 phrases of 6-8 characters each- I think that is certainly heavy for P1...but what to do?...just got to prepare ahead of time...

fairy

actually I quite like the after school enrichment leh, cheaper than going direct to the same center externally. Of course only sign up selectively lah

too bad none in my dd's school

Yawn- quite true- my gal's school has lorna winston at about 50% the price at the actual centers- but I think she will be too tired after school leh- so did not sign up for it...besides, I am already paying for Tien Hsia and piano- quite a lot of $$$ per month on these 2 classes...no more money for other classes...am just thinking of swimming if I do add any thing to her schedule...

StyloB
Your girls look very cute! Too bad i dont have any girl. Your maid quite "mature" right? Oh yes! Very excited for the coming concert.

Sharon
Your girl is very advance. My boy was also borned in 2005. Still struggling with blending and very bad in hand writing. Dont know how is he going to cope in P1.

Rona
CMA offers abacus for adults. But its meant for ppl interested in teaching. You can try to call up the main office in yishun.

Sharon
I think the halloween at safari is quite scary. You sure you want to bring your girl?

Bali
I used to stay at Hard Rock Cafe years back. Quite a nice hotel

Stylo
Been to phuket a few times but never been to their town. Just hang around Patong beach and the Fantasea was impressive! There was once we stayed at Kuta beach, i hardly see any asians. Mostly ang mohs and a couple of Japanese.

Yawn
Me envy you now.I still have got three more papers to go.Everyday is like keeping princess company for exam.This type of life no fun.

Yes, she deserves the time to catch up with all the readings...

pantone

My boy also 2005 baby.He enjoys playing.The only class that he is attending is chinese class.Even its just one class, he will tell me not to send and tell me what is being taught in school is sufficient.Of course, I dont believe him as he finds not enough time to play and trying to skip enrichment class.

hi, anyone can recommend me a piano teacher for my 5 yr old? he juz started for a month with this private teacher and really enjoys his lessons with her... then suddenly she told me cant coach anymore coz she's been send overseas for work

rona,. ahhaha. my gal is not like sharon's DD lah.. not as high calibre as her (still attending therapy and still have problem with 3 letter word let alone blending!) I do think sharon's S is good..swimming, piano, and now creative writing! wow! only good in TV and playing games too :p

bloom, rona

Fret not. My 6yo still behaves like a baby! Her favourite sentence is 'I want mommy' Faint!

Joy

Can count down now, just a couple more days to 'dong'

Yours in higher primary, a lot tougher than mine.

During exam period, my dd said she's not supposed to study. Her reasoning - morning must relax otherwise brain cannot function in the afternoon. And she slept past 10am everyday. Now still in bed leh. 算了, I accepted the fact she's very 'nua'

Thank you all mummies in good words on S.

pantone
Very scary..We brought ticket le

I had been teaching S vocabulary at home nowadays.
This morning
I said "We are late for school today.
the Sabrina said " Mummy , I know how to make a sentence. " We are extremely late for school today" She has use "Extremely" instead of "Very".

I am super busy this week ! Slept about 5 hours and now feel like zombie.

styloBB,
I "skype" with my kids every night when I was in China, so they don't miss me that much.

I have a Samsonite spinner, small enough to carry on with me, it can take about 20 kg

For easy spirt, I normally order through amazon.com, using vpost.

I tried my NTUC Fairprice credit card with oldnavy, used the vpost address, and it worked ! I did not have to add a secondary billing address to my card.

The 2 extra bed in the room, do you have to pay more on top of the room rate ? The room looks very comfortable.

I always forget to ask about homework. Chloe does her homework on her own. She knows that if she forgets to do her homework, she will get scolding from the teacher. But she does not have much homework.

Jerome "designs" his own homework. Like recently he spent a lot of time examining the world map that his Daddy bought for him, and he started to draw the world map and write the country names. Now he knows how to write many country names out of memory, and I am very happy that his handwriting is very neat. I have never made him practice writing before. He also likes to read children's encyclopedia and he has learned a lot of general knowledge on his own. I believe that kids naturally have the curiosity to learn, and they should not be restricted to assessment books only. He is also writing stories on his own initiative, complete with drawings.

Jerome's Berries teacher told me, after I returned from China, that after I left, Jerome started to day dream in class. I doubt that it is because of me, since last year another teacher told me the same thing too. He is probably just bored. The teacher told me that although he does not pay attention, he knows how to read all the lessons and do all his work. I told the teacher to be more fierce to him. There is nothing much I can do.

sharon,
Sabrina is certainly very advanced for her age.

rona,
Your girl is also very advanced compared to other kids

Any idea where to buy shoes ? My P1 girl's feet is now only 1 cm shorter than my feet, and I wear adult size 38 shoes ! She refuses to wear adult shoes since those are usually very plain. But she has outgrown most of the kids' shoes already. She is really fussy so I cannot buy online for her, she must try out first. Really difficult to find shoes for her.

tamarind

I've tried OG children dept (ask for designs with bigger sizes design) as well as neighbourhood adult stores. Neighbour stores have bright colours design too

tam,
i got arnold's shoes from bata... just bought a pair for arnold and he needs a size 2 already! Kids??!!

for Jerome's Berries class, any chance for you to let him jump class? maybe he needs Even Higher Chinese to stimulate him.

My gal huh? she is just a little above average, but she has the advantage of taking phonics class and your blog to help her early in her life. this advantage will wear off later... ;P she is lazy now and still stuck at 8a. have not done any reading for a few weeks now. gotta pull up the socks now.

Tam,
Welcome back
skype is such a great invention. My hb uses it to video conf whenever he is away. If u want skechers want go united sq to see designs n try on size before buying online? ;) they hv nice designs for gals. It's next to the mega electronics shop.

Yawn
My girl was like yours too when she was in lower pri.Even for now, whenever its no school days, she sleep past 11am regardless exam or no exam.I let her be as that is the way she recharged.All my friends are so shocked that she can really sleep.To me, as long as she is able to do her work after she is up, its fine with me.

Rona,
My K1 boy already wearing Bata size 1!

Yawn
I went to Phuket several times but was years back before the Tsunami, that is earlier than 2004. Cant remember the hotels name. The only one i remember is Burasari and Patong something something hotel. Burasari is very popular. Can ask Stylo for opinion.

Joy
I used to think that enrichment class is not necessary. But bo bian, both chinese and english teacher feedback that my son is not very good in recognition of words. So still have to send him for extra lesson. The lesson that is taught in school definately is not enough for him. Or rather not suitable for him. He had attended almost 2 terms of Berries and still cannot recognise chinese words independently. Dont know what to do with him. At home also refused to revise. Sigh.....

joy

where got time to do any work? wake up so late, plus she need some time to snap out of daze, eat early lunch then got to go to school liao

she slept at 2am last night! Normally she sleeps around 11pm. Every night must nag until I fume. Don't know how she's gonna wake up in time for morning session next year

yawn

I cannot help but laugh cos my girl used to be like that in lower pri.Dont worri, when come to moring session, they will wake up but super grumby.You will see that in the morning, everything also goes wrong for them.The way they talk etc, will make u jump up the roof, cos not enough sleep.