Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

Yawn,
Oh dear. So sorry to hear of this. Don't be sad. Her current school also good, right. I remember u said u move house in order to enroll in her current school, right? Maybe transfer after GEP? Looking on the bright side, your dd1 will remain a big fish in the small pond
. And she doesn't hv to struggle with the need to adapt to new environment.

What about your dd2? Will your 2 gals be attending different schools when dd2 start P1?

rona,
I have no time to try out the soya milk machine, will let you know whether my mother likes it. I spent many hours packing my stuff !

yawn,
You want to transfer your girl now ? After GEP, she should be able to get into any school that she wants. I have a colleague, her son got into GEP and transferred to Nanyang. Her daughter who is a few years younger, is able to enter Nanyang at P1 since her brother is already student.

Been saving quite a bit since it's not worth paying for some of the foods sold out there. For those who like Cantonese-style noodles, buy good noodles (shrimp roe noodles) and cook it at home. Just buy the meats from the better charsiew stalls.

Decided to to my own 'cos a few times, I really couldn't tahan the piggy-stench (when the meats are not roasted well or if they use meat from the hind legs).

4614939.jpg

http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2010/10/food-shrimp-roe-noodles-with-chicken.html

http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2010/10/food-shrimp-roe-noodles-with-oyster.html

Tamarind,
u back?

P1 mommies,
Like to check, did the school let your P1s watch cartoon (like SpongeBob, Doraemon, Musical Highschool, Ponyo, ...) during lesson time??
I was surprised why DS is watching all these during music, chinese & english period.
New way of teaching???

aa,
I am still in China, a couple more days to go
7 weeks seem to have passed quickly, since I kept myself busy by watching DVDs and shopping online from taobao. I even taught my colleagues and students to buy from taobao

I have not heard my girl telling me that they watch cartoons in school. I think High School Musical is definitely not suitable for P1 kids. I am also surprised that they show Spongebob. My girl has to bring story books to school every day for their quiet reading time.

I think that kids nowadays watch enough TV at home already, there is no need to show more cartoons in school.

mumusings,
My mouth is watering hehehe I like Japanese noodles very much, those straight type, I think that they taste very good compared to Chinese noodles which often taste of chemicals.

mommies

Thanks so much for your comforting words.
Indeed very disappointing but we have not given up hope entirely, surely some day some one will transfer out, right? Of course if by P4 still hasn't happen, then must really give up liao. Don't think I want to transfer her at P5

tamarind, aly nat

You mean at P4 there will be some students movements due to GEP hence easier to tranfer at P4? Or you think my dd1 has potential to join GEP

My dd2 already registered for primary school, she will be going to dd1's existing school. dd2 is likely to stay put since existing school is nearer to home hence more convenient for me to send/fetch. Of course if can transfer together I also don't mind lah but it's not critical whether dd2 gets a tranfer

My intention to transfer dd1 asap is because of the niche of that school that complements dd1's strength. Her existing school is not strong in that particular aspect. I fear she would not be able to reach her full potential if she remains in existing school. Unfortunately I only discover after she's IN her existing school, otherwise I would have PV in the other school right from the beginning

Her existing school is pretty popular in our neighbourhood with a long wait list. Other parents probably think we're crazy, why want to transfer her out when others can't wait to get in

aa

dd1's primary school show 'tom & jerry'. Her PCF used to show this same cartoon too. I don't understand why must it be 'tom & jerry'? There are so many educational programme out there

Yawn,
Does the school u are keen on offer GEP? If no, there will be student movement as those who qualifies for GEP might opt to be transferred, thus freeing up some places. I think your dd got GEP potential.

With regards to the development of your dd's strength, are u planning on using it as a leverage for DSA?

Tamarind,
Sound like u had fun while in china. Hope to hear all about your adventures soon, especially your wu dang shan visit.

Mumusings,
I visited your blog earlier, n saw your posting on smoked duck from cold storage. Is the smoke duck nice? The pic look so good, I'm gonna buy some one of these days

Hi Aly,

The smoked suck is nice. In fact, if you do go Shengsiong, they sell 2 pieces for S$6.20 at the frozen foods section.

I like the black-pepper smoked duck at Cold Storage. The plain one's nice too. Good on those days you haven't time to prepare food.

yawn,
Your dd1 definitely has a high chance getting into GEP. Are you referring to your dd1's academic or artistic strength ? I remember you wrote that she likes to draw too.

Actually I don't know which school can complement what strength :p My top priority is for the school to be as close to our place as possible. When kids have CCA, it will be a lot easier to fetch them.

My girl loves to draw, her teacher is also amazed by her drawings and asked me whether she has any training. I told the teacher that she learns to draw entirely on her own. I am not sure how to develop this potential, the teacher said there is probably no need to attend any classes now.
I also heard that if a child does not aspire to be a professional artist, then there is no need for any formal training. My girl told me that she does not plan to be an artist, she only wants to draw for fun.

aly_nat,
Actually I have to endure a lot of hardship, my apartment has a lot of problems, I have to walk very far to the university and to find food. That is why I need to keep myself very busy so that time can pass very quickly.
China is definitely much more interesting than Singapore, it is actually a lot less restrictive compared to our government (for example, can throw rubbish anywhere without worrying about being caught and fined). At the same time, everything is orderly, people are humble and friendly, and service is actually better than Singapore. I have worked in Taiwan and Korea before, but I enjoy working in China much more.

To share our Sunday brunch with all of you. The best way to use up all the leftover foods. My son screamed pizza when he saw my egg fooyong today... Looks quite like one right? Just short of cheese and ham.

Must thank the mommies on this thread for telling us about the Ang Mo supermart. The charsiew there is really good and inexpensive! Made charsiew noodles and egg fooyong with just a small slab of charsiew from that supermart. THANKS

Top view
4620889.jpg

Hi Joy,

All my food's cooked in a 'rush' too... with my son climbing all over I only have at most 20 minutes to do up our meals.

Am hoping that when he's less naughty I can let him try plucking veg/bean sprouts or learn to fold towels while I am preparing food.

Hi Mumusings
I can imagine how u rushing wif time, while your little one is around...I used to do that, think my heartbeat was like rushing too.

Good idea, let him do some little hsework,am sure he will enjoy it.I let my little one fold towels, he was interested for few mins only....

Joy- are you still busy with exams?

PSLE marking Tues- Fri- my P1 gal will be at home 4 days this week- good time to study- cos next week is chinese assessment- test entire year's contents! (and NYPS is supposed to have no exams for P1 and P2??)

Rona/ Stylobb- did you collect your GE run kit over the weekend? I only have next weekend to train before the run! Not consistent in training so far...

Stylobb- have you returned from Phuket? How was the trip?

Hi Joy,

I think I may have perfected the art of cooking as if I don't look like I am. Sometimes my son doesn't even realise I'm cooking. I usually plan the recipe in my head and then start taking some items out and place them in a large basin in my sink. He's not tall enough to peep over yet. He's interested in playing with the tap so I do my best to cut/peel/slice and leave washing till after cooking. I've found out that if I look as if i'm just doing boring stuff, he won't come over to kaypoh. Hahaha... so by the time he hears the pan sizzle/smell food, all's done

The most important thing for housewives like me is to not cook things that will cause the floor to get oily and the flat all smelling of belachan. As little dishes to wash, as little oil needed and as little mopping required.

Fairy,
Yes, super busy with the exam since last week, both languages oral and compo.Finally its over.Now, its the written paper, which I can let her do on her own.

Mumusings.
Its good effort on your part.Be it how little the cooking is, u still need to chop, cut, wash and portion, its all take time and effort.I able to understand it as at times I cook too...But thinking of the preparation, esp am not in a super good mood, i dragged doing it...But the other day, I actually wanna destress, so actually cook curri fish head...from preparing paste to the cooking....that is not me actually.

Not sure what I am going to do next.

Hi Joy,

I've been wanting to make curry paste. Is it very complicated to do?

I like cooking even though I don't eat half of the things I cook. The funniest thing is I don't even eat eggs but find it fun.

Hi Mumusings,
I used to grind onion, garlic, ginger, everything myself.Now, i will buy the grind onion and garlic, and grind the rest myself.
Just like u, I also dont eat what I cook.I just cook for the family.
As it is, the person who cook is usually too tired to eat.

Fairy,
yes, collected my kit, but also got a pull on the nerve from back of my head to the right shoulder to the back... just went to see the doc this afternoon cos can't endure the pain. now numb. hope i will recover by this weekend.

Yawn,
I think your dds are very smart. think you can give her more enrichment on her niche area and groom her up. I still think that she will be uncovered sooner or later so should not be a problem.

Tam,
you are going to be back soon! heheheheee...

Fairy,
HPPS has not exams... there is a assessment earlier on, but was not given the exact dates. and i also didn't bother to prepare arnold. where to start? how to start? what to start? alamak! i think i really bochap...

Yoohoo.. I was back last week.

Fairy
Yes, back. V good, enjoyed ourselves very much!
5 full days, I managed to r&r, and even finished reading a thick book while there...keke
The hotel has a well organised kids' club so my kids go there after breakfast, in fact they look forward to it!
Let me know if u wish to know anything more and I will post.
Been v bz at my side too, no time to read thru everything.

fairy/rona
Race pack - Yeah, collected on Sun nite, what a copycat bag they have produced!!

Me totally not prepared for the run this time round!

tam
Hear from u soon.
I dislike "Spongebob" and do not allow my kids to watch. Nonsensical.
They like "Charlie & Lola"... hehe

Hi Stylo and Tam,

Me three. I don't understand Spongebob Squarepants at all. I tried to watch a few episodes and it's really quite vexing and tedious.

Hi Joy,

I'm lucky that my husband also likes to cook and he's even better at it
Not tiring for us 'cos only 2 dishes at most - kid eats whatever there is.

styloBB

please tell me EVERYTHING about Phuket
Which hotel did you stay in? Any suggested itenary? Any day trip out? What to see & what to buy? Thanks!

Hi Stylo/ Mumusings,

Me FOUR! I also do not understand what this cartoon is all about. Luckily, my kids din like the squarish thingy....they liked Mickey's Clubhouse and Hi-Five....now DD1 into Disney classics movies.

Hi StyloBB,

Which hotel did you stay in Phuket? Sounds good with kids activities lined up for them and we can R & R

Me FIVE, don't like the Spongebob cartoon at all. We actually banned this cartoon at home, yet the teacher showed in school.

Don't mind them showing TV programmes, but must be educational right? Will "chat" with the teachers during PTMS session.

re Chinese comprehension
DS was taught to read the compre qns and then search for the answers from the given passage. Is this the right way to tackle compre qns???
During my school time, we were taught to read the passage then answer the qns.
DS told me his teacher taught them this way, its faster and do not need to waste time reading the passage.
Any mommies got any idea?

Thanks in advance ...

I'm thinking ...
shld i source for another school for DS? or is this just normal??

Mumusings,
Lucky you.My hubby is a super food critique, so come to food, when I try new dishes, is always like, how will it turn out, cos if not nice, it will end up in the bin...

aa

Comprehension

I think maybe what the teacher meant was read the whole passage first, read thr the questions and then read the passage again.

Joy

aa
Sounds very risky to read the questions first, then find answers from the passage without reading the passage first- what if the child spots the wrong answer?? I will still teach my child to read through the passage, then read through the questions to match- make sure each answer makes sense and do not overlap with another answer...

Anyone subscribed to GLP and MLP IPO?? So oversubscribed- market is very buoyant!

Yawn- I see- its about your DD1's primary school- why dun get into GEP then switch? Can DD2 switch concurrently with DD1 if DD1 changes school? What skill would you like to develop more in DD1?

TV- my kids like "Imagination Movers"- anyone's kids watch that? Seems like more for young kids, but they are still very tickled by this programme...

Good Morning,
I am in need of retail therapy.

My hb recently commented," U hv been buying clothes from internet? How come ur clothes all look pasar malam (aka cheap)? I see nicer clothes in stores, so pls dun buy another 'internet' outfit!!"

Hiaz, how to go shopping with 2 toddlers and a baby in tow? HB super dun like me to go shopping without buying stuff. He is very 'goal oriented' as in 'go shopping' die die must buy something type. I on the other hand will keep looking at stuff but think that they are too expensive...:p

Any recommendations on where to buy nice casual dresses that can withstand pulling and tugging from babies and toddlers?

Re: Chinese Comprehension
I think both methods are ok. Just that for kids, ur method will be better, cos kids might just write the 1st thing they think is correct without reading through the whole passage.

Joy
I think u mentioned before ur hb v critical about food. I think ur MIL is a good cook thats y u r in this situation. For my case, my MIL is a bad cook, so my hb is v easy to feed, hehehe

Spongebob,
I only watched a few episodes many years back, its quite stupid. Similarly for Tom n Jerry, or popoeye, I find them quite violent. Actually, for children channel, I find Cbeesbees (303) so much better than playhouse disney.

Joy/fairy/muffin
Confirmed that the teacher asked them to read qns, then find answers from the passage. Not even need to read the whole passage, just look for the "similar words", nearly faint when I heard that.
When insist he shld read the passage, then read qns, then go back passage, he told me "I'm wasting his time!!!"

re MLP IPO
DH subscribed but din manage to get any, but my colleagues do get it (think just 1 lot)

Satay for brunch today. Really ran out of things to cook and had a sudden craving for satay. I bought Lee Kee's frozen satay. Just grease the pan will do, no need lots of oil and also no splatter or strong smell.

Haha... now I know what to do if I have a party. A bag of ketupat is only $2.85 and there are 33 in there. Enough for many times of satay-meals.

http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2010/10/food-craving-for-satay.html

Looks 'pro' right?
4634545.jpg

aa

you mean your ds primary school or enrichment teacher taught them compre this way?

my dd's school teacher said read story 1st, enrichment teacher said read questions 1st

muffin

I like three quarter pants or knee length pants, not bermuda or baggy type but rather business pants kind of materials just that the length is shorter hence more casual for SAHMs. Match those pants with feminine looking tees (not straight cut or loose fitting tees, but stay away from body hugging tees too) and woala, you looked chic liao. For nice tees, you can buy from mphosis, uniqlo or mango, between $15 to $40. I like Nike and addidas tees/polo too. Oh for 3/4 pants, I usually buy from mphosis because of its cutting

But I put on 1.5kg recently. Extra fat all around my tummy hence too demoralised to shop

yawn
its the school teacher who taught him this way.

personally think its better to read the story 1st before answering the qns. its risky to ask the kid to read the qns first and go back to the story to look for similar words, what if there're few similar words and the kid just plug the first one as answer??

now training DS to read then answer qns, but he's confused as its totally different method from the school teacher ... sigh ...

aa,
perhaps u can train him to read qns but must read through the whole passage before answering?

Yawn yawn,
Mphosis, v long never step into the shop, perhaps shd start again. Usually when we step into shopping centre, its for food and out again before any meltdown. Last time when no kids, after food still will walk around, Also working then so more willing to spend, but usually on labels from UK cos their sizing bigger. I think I would have to buy XL for local brands cos their cuttings are so small.

aa:
I think kids can get very confused and lose confidence if the method we use is different from the teacher's- I am usually very sensitive to my gal's feelings when I teach- cos she gets nervous about different teaching methods- I also tell my gal not to be afraid of teachers...

One way is perhaps you can take the initiative to clarify with your boy's teacher? I have the e-mail addresses to my gal's key teachers and I do email them questions if I need to...I know its tough to be a teacher if all 30 parents email them all the time! but my gal's teachers are responsive to email...

Muffin- yes- capri pants with a slim top would be my best choice for weekend with kids...sure win combination! Recently, I bought some dresses from Desigual and H&M and M&S and Muji- so these can be for weekend wear too...but more troublesome cos cannot run around playgrounds etc with these dresses...

Another reason why hb said those clothes I used to buy are nicer cos he doesn't know the prices! hehehe Just that I see no justification paying that kind of price again for a top to be smeared with baby food or saliva.

Fairy
Desigual has v nice printed dresses, I like their stuff alot, but expensive. The sales items all are too small for me. I need to wear a L.
Where is MUJI, I am too out of the fashion scene already.

Muffin:
I thought I got a good deal at Desigual in Paris- paid about S$90-100 per dress (50 euros)- then I found out the price in S'pore is not very high- also around this price or slightly more only! I also wear M to L for Desigual....actually, when my kids were younger- I hardly wear dresses when I go out with them....

Actually, I try not to spend money on weekend clothes- I invest more for work clothes- after all 5 days of work and 2 days of weekend mah...

What kind of bags to mummys use when going out with kids...sure cannot carry any handbag- its usually Naraya bags for me to put kids stuff, or LV Neverfull as a all-in carrier...

muffin

I'm a size L too. Local brand still can squeeze in lah. Sometimes OG has some nice labels too eg. HaberDasher, Arthur Yen
I'm cost conscious too, since I only wear those clothes to pick up kids from school or enrichment classes, go marketing at ntuc, so makes no sense to pay a bomb for clothes. But wearing new clothes makes me happy so I usually buy some new pieces every month

fairy

I like hobo bags. Big enough to stuff umbrella and water bottle into the bag. My bags are all causal ones since it's literally weekends for me everyday. I use a variety of (cheap) bags with different colours to match what I wear that day. I've a green padini, beige carlo rino, red kiplings, white nararya. LV only for wedding dinner or CNY

Bags,
Usually the helper will carry a haversack with the kids stuff. I will carry a small bag or wristlet for phone n cash.

just dropping by..busy!

spongebob.. my gal like it! cos alot of vibrant colors and sound effects. though i have to admit its violet.

weekend wear, yes 3/4 pants is good.. the slim ones. i have skinny legs so the 3/4 slim pants are still baggy for me and make me look so auntie!

mummusings, what kind of meat is available for that satay? is the meat tough? microwaveable?

tam, welcome back!

IPO.. its chaotic! i didn't manage to get MIT.

Weekend, i got this big totebag which I bought from a pushcart...

muffin, since u got a helper, bring them walk around, see what u like, then dump helper and kids at the kid's playgrd, then u zoom to those shops and try out! I have to admit its tough. I only have one kid, and I find it impossible to go shopping. All my working clothes are either out of fashion/getting furry (qi3 mao2). Thank goodness I don't work in town so I can be abit slipshoddy.

Hi Muffin,

Muji is at Marina Square, Bugis BHG and Paragon.

As for Popeye, I think it's too pro-USA. Never liked it and don't agree with the values it seems to glorify. Eg. Win by artificially/temporarily enhancing your abilities and stereotyping of Asians (the vintage post-WW2 cartoons).

Also agree with you that CBB has better programmes than Disney. Wanted to subscribe but decided not to. Don't want all of us to be stuck to the TV. I also don't want my son to end up slanging American English. Cannot tahan Hannah Montana, Zack & Cody, iCarly and some of the cartoons. Mindless and those kids are too yucky to be role models.

Hi Muffin, Yawn and all,

On clothes. Dorothy Perkins has very forgiving cuts for mommies with generous figures. I've put on weight too
It's Uniqlo, Giordano, Marks&Spencers, Dorothy Perkins and sometimes Esprit for me. Uniqlo men's 3/4s can fit ladies. Cheap and good when it's on sale at S$19.90. Sometimes Metro has denim stuff going at S$16.90. Post-natal shopping, I found 2 pairs. Very nice cut. The only horrible thing is that the label states XXXL (it's just Singapore L lah)!