Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

muffin,
my boy also like that, only thing is he is younger then your boi, he is just 16 mths now. same as yours, only eheheh...

tam,
I tried dangdang.com i put in the shopping cart some books, total about RMB149, but the shipping cos RMB109!! normal? should i order more then the shipping will be cheaper??

muffin,

my girl was also speech delayed by 6m+ from peers. She did not say much till after 18months, and called us only after 2 years old. Always seemed to be in her own world, does not seemed to understand us. At 2 years plus, still use pointing as her main communication. She was diagnosed with sensory integration dysfunction. I did not send her to any therapy yet, but instead sent her to playgroup. Now that she is 3 years plus, she speaks in short sentences. Her diction is not as good as her brother but she can definitely communicate.

Does your boy still salivate while he talks etc? Could it be a case where his oral muscles are not strong yet? When I brought my girl to speech therapist at 18m, she asked me to let her take chunky food that will require her to chew so that it can exercise her oral muscle.

rona,
For orders below RMB100, the shipping is RMB50.
For orders above RMB100, the shipping is 50% of the original book price before discount.

Note that many books are heavily discounted, up to 50% of the original book price. For example, 不一样的卡梅拉 (6 books) original price is ¥40.80, discounted price is ¥22.80, shipping is 50% of ¥40.80.

If you add the shipping, it is still cheaper than buying in Singapore, and many books cannot be found in Singapore.

Remember to activate Secure online shopping for the Citibank credit card, read this link for more information :

http://www.citibank.com.sg/SGGCB/APPS/portal/loadPage.do?tabId=creditcard&path=/promo/det/sos_overview.htm

If you join sprees, the shipping may be cheaper, but it depends on the weight of your books. There is a spree by bb now. Not that I want to be bad, but I am a little worried because she has collected large amounts of money. There have been cases of spree organizers going MIA. That's why I advise mommies to try to order on your own.

Cheri,
Refer to my explanation above, for direct shipping to your address :
Cost of books: ¥56.50
Shipping: ¥50.00
Total: ¥106.50

If combined with my orders, your shipping is ¥36.90. My exchange rate is 4.77.

If you want to ship to your own address, it is better to buy over RMB100. I don't think I have the time to help you order separately.

I intend to buy lots of books from dangdang when in China, delivery is free !
My hubby cannot take long leave from his work. My mother and the maid will be coming with the kids during the December holidays.
I don't have other series of books to recommend in HK at the moment.

styloBB,
Jerome is well prepared to my standard lah. He is reading English very well, in fact, my mother is asking why he still need to attend kindergarten ? He can add and subtract well enough for his age, not like a calculator but at least he can come out with the answer after thinking for a while. I don't intend to make him memorize the multiplication table before P1, perhaps only the 2 times table. The fact is that he is not academically inclined, I don't expect him to do very well in P1, just average will do. He is not the type who likes to study.

I will not be around when Chloe has her P1 final exams. I just have to make sure that she is well prepared for the exams before I leave in Sep.

tam..ahaha..thats the thing..after reading from ur ks post that u calc that u will have $9K sending both kids to berries, i feel the pinch liao..so wondering if i should try to teach first... thans re HK 2010! :p

stylobb, my gal's KKH therapist ask us to record to show proof tat she is beginning to speak.. cos she wasn;t speaking during therapy... bt at home abit better..ahahha... anyway since the last time (sept) i told her i want to space out (frankly speaking, hb wasnt supportive at all), so my next appt is in 2010.

rona, agreed with styloBB abt the travelling cos usually its weekday slots. u have to take leave. Pte OTOH might cater for weeknights/weekends subject to availability of course/.but the money//sigh...

mummusings..ahhaha..sometimes newspapers published things cos companies realease press release mah..of course mst publish to conicide with with upcoming fund raising show! hahaha.. the only time when i dare to waer bikini is when i am pregnant.. no one dare to say my figure is bad! after that its back to dark color swimsuit! :p ok will check out planet traaveller and kino the next time i go to town thanks! in ur next life, vietnam might be a 1st world country ahhahahaa...

muffin, i 'intervene' when my gal is around that age. For me there is 'red flag' cos she used to say smple things like bye then stop doing so. And she used to be on par with her 8 day older cousin except for speech. So I kind of know that she should be reahing that stage but did not. Some pp told me to wait, some pp told me to try playgrp first. So I KS, and tried both (cos i have heard of long Q at KK) I even tried pte speech assessment :p oh yes, kk did make us go thru hearing test again to make sure that her hearing was not affected after birth....

cheri, same here. only order from BP and sprees so far! the only thing i order for myself is hair products from USA cos no one else does that! :p

poohy, how was ur gal diagnose with SPD (aka SID)? I did think of sending her for assessment cos I suspect she has abit of it.... but also worried it will become a big hoo haa ... ahahha.only 1 kid, so i got alot of time to worry. The pte therpaist said the same thing abt chunky food (she said 1cm x 1cm meat) too. But KK never say anything so I am less imprssed They just conc on how they teach and what ur kid should know. :p

speaking of spree organisers... my colleague join the medela spree only to have the person cancel all orders after misundestanding. The PIS was selling at $380 which is a good price. Anyone know of similiarly priced avenues? Luckily she is still 2 months away from EDD..so still got time to react. She does not want to get locally cos its lie $700... thanks!

Yes, I agree with Poohy. I read in some books that it is impt to let kids chew to exercise their oral muscle. When my kids start to have a few teeth (ard 8 - 9 mths), I started to give them veg/ fruit chunks to chew. I think it really helps, my DD1 started yakking at ard 16 mths and my DD2 started to talk when she was ard 11 mths. I guess, the chewing really helps. In addition, it is also important to keep communicating with your kids as I find its the BEST way to build up their confidence and make them talk.

My BIL's son who is now 29mths also had speech delay. He can only speak few words and also using a lot of pointing as his main communication. When he do not get what he wanted, he will start to scream and cry. Recently, he also like to bite. He has bitten my MIL a few times when she tried to stop him from screaming. My hb has asked my BIL to bring his son for intervention but he do not intend to do anything.

Btw, how was Sensory Integration Dyfunction being diagnosed? I wish to find out more to convince my BIL that if he delay intervention treatment for his son, it is not going to do his son any good.

Hi Muffin,

My colleague is back from her vacation. The Chinese Tuition Ctr is at Beauty World Ctr (B1), next to Zoo Phonics - Yu Ren Tuition Ctr. They are closed this week. Will resume operations next Wed. You can check it out.

Hi StyloBB,

U very good leh, can guess that I bought Furla Bag

I also used to be a bag-craze when I was single, esp when my sisters were working in DFS...they have good staff sales a few times a year and I can buy a few bags at great prices during the Sales. But, after I have a child, I started to lug the baby bag instead of my bags that I cut down on buying bags. The latest purchase is one indulgence I have in 5 yrs

Bags/ Fashion/ Shoes.....killer for ladies

Hi Mumusings,

Charity Shows - A % of the donations will be used to finance the shows, so, what we are also paying for the show by donating....not free in per-se. My hb was also right about ex-NKF and ex-Ren Ci's Chairmen...He cannot stand both of them that he disagreed give any donations to these 2 charities. He felt that they were very "FAKE" and he was right....they were caught red-handed finally.

Hey all Mummies,

Let me take this opportunity to wish all Mummies in this Forum a Very Blessed and Happy and Bountiful year of 2010!

bloom/rona
I think it is good to check with PD/doc if you have any concern.
Looking back, I feel it was good to hv early intervention ie give the child a little push.

Simple things that are to us is not simple if the child has difficulty. Imagine the therapist asked chara to pick up small buttons and put into a medicine bottle. Even I dropped the buttons while trying! hahaha....

Do you know even shape sorters have a purpose? Not just for fun but for the therapist to observe if after a certain age, is the child able to match a shape to the one on the board instead of doing trial and error going from one shape to another?

poohy
Didn't know about the chewing bit...keke

bloom
You mean your hb is not supportive in spreading the next appt further?

Ours did not ask us to record but I did it out of my own initiative. She was surprised when I gave her the list. Cos I was thinking, my child may not speak all that during that short session, but in daily life, I can observe and note what she has spoken.

I read about the spree thingy - not sure if it's the same one. One preggie mummy was complaining about an item missing and that there was no response to her queries.

If you just want a laptop bag, you can look at HelloLulu bags.

tam
China - wow... I think you wl miss ur kids v much...

I think jesse is ok too, tx to mil's coaching.

The other day, we rushed down to Toys R Us on Christmas eve cos we rembred we hv been giving him pocket money and we had promised that he can spend it (putting aside an amt for church offering) - and also buy pressie for his sisters.
Hb gv him $10 budget for each of the gals, and he said 'It is very difficult to buy a pressie with this BUDGET.' haha... we were surprised he used the word 'budget'.

Forgot to say thanks for patiently explaing about the dangdang order.. I hv not ordered from Chinese website before.

snowball
I think almost every woman is bag crazy...keke

bloom/mumusings
Laughing re the Vietnam remark. Hey they are growing v fast, it's all the young people there. I told my gf that we feel v safe in Hanoi, she says majority of the population is focused on earning their keep and the country is progressing, no time for other things.

bloom/muffin
Forgot to mention that she was put thru a CT scan too, she got sedated and wheeled into the room. They injected dye into her head to check the level of fluid. Haiz...fort. hb/I were v calm... (They suspected her of hydrocephaly. But thank God, nope.) But all the while they never say this word, it was when I spoke to my gf who is doc, that she mentioned and I went to read on the website.

Speech - therapist mentioned that she has the advantage of 2 other siblings so it is thru their interaction that she probably learnt more words.

KKH - during the 1+ year when I brot chara there, I saw those children who do have problems and my heart really goes out to them.

rona
Gummies - my gf also recommends the Hero brand... they are available on the iherb website.

bloom
Medela - Did you friend try Ebay? Stimes they do have such things.

snowball
I think you shud speak to your bil abt his son. I think parents may go into denial about their child if sth is wrong. They want to blv that he is alright. But it will be better to help the child as soon as possible. If nothing, then treat it as a normal check-up.
I don't think it's normal for a kid to keep biting ppl or scream. Normal children shud maintain eye contact when being spoken to.
My observations lah.

tam
Do you think next time you can help buy the books when you're in China and send back to us (if you are free lah)...

Its just 2 days away from year 2010- time flies! Hope all mummies have a restful year end time, and look forward to year 2010.

Feel so happy to be on leave, and have a million places I want to go- like window shopping at orchard road...but many things to do at home, and coach the kids...enjoy the day!

Hi StyloBB,

Glad to hear that Chara is ok now.

My BIL also has a daughter who is now 3.5yo. She also started to talk later at ard 2yo. But, her condition is not as bad as his son. He shd be able to tell the difference in the devt of his son when compared to his daughter.

Even my younger BIL (no kids yet) has spoken to him on this. Agree with you that he is in denial stage. His reply to us. Already asked the Polyclinic Dr during his 18mths assessment...Dr's reply : It is perfectly alright that kids start to talk after 2.5yo. He is holding on to that "belief" I guess.

In fact, in the past few mths, my MIL has been helping to look after his son and my DD2 and it is very obvious in the differences when the 2 kids are together. Not only speech devt, I also find his devt in other aspect lagging behind his age group.

I saw with my own eyes how violent my BIL's son can get and the way he bite my MIL. Maybe, my BIL is worried about the additional medical cost he has to pay if his son is really diagnosed with some problem. But, I feel that he can always get a referral to KKH where he can pay subsidised rates. I do not understand how he thinks....sighhhhh.

fairy
Go try the ice-cream at Marvelous Cream (at Citylink, ION or 313) - v nice! The European cream cheese flavour is yummy!

I have not been coaching jesse in his chinese leh...

HI mummies,
Quite some time since I visited this thread.
Had returned from my Japan trip with cold and fever :-(

Will need time to catch up with all previous posts.

Hope all mummies will get a good rest before school term starts on 4th Jan.
I've applied leave to bring DS on school bus for the 1st two days ... getting more excited than him now.

HI Tam,
Please help to order the 四五快读-幼儿快速识字阅读法
Book one and two.
Please advise amt to transfer.

Thanks for all the advice, I think my boy does not have a hearing problem. He is a light sleeper and wakes up at the slightest noise. I think I will ask my friend to help me cos she teaches these children (delayed speech, ADHD etc) She also says I KS and ask me to be more patient with my boy.
Re: dangdang spree, I joined the bb spree and I am also getting worried after seeing that she collected quite abit. But I think since this is her 2nd spree so hopefully, everything will be alright. "cross my fingers"

Snowball,
Thanks, I will go down and chk it out, after I gave birth.

muffin,
when are you giving birth?

Tam,
but if my purchase is RM149, 50% of this is RM75. but the shipping charges they quoted is RM104? ... ok, i read your post again and see that the shipping is 50% of the ORIGINAL price of the books. so that means gotta order just below RMB100... else a bit bo hua? or otherwise, more than RM200? nevermind i go and try the website tomorrow cos my company is closed tomorrow.

today i need to rush out paperwork and invoices and credit notes cos its closing.... :p

tam
appreciate ur detailed explanation...thanks so much! i will include my orders wif urs & likely to collect from you at JP when the books arrive. which area do u work? Can you also help me include Book 2 of 四五快读-幼儿快速识字阅读法..think easier if i hv 2 books to start off.

tamarind

I must have missed the part - where are you going for so many months? business trip arh?

My dd2 will be going P1 in 2011, same as your boy.

Readiness for P1

Mine isn't. She's not prepared at all. After idling for most part of the school holiday, I made her sit at her desk to practice handwriting (not spelling) this morning. She just had to copy the word to her exercise book. She spent an hour to write around 10 words. Mostly day dreaming. Simple words like friend or picnic, she kept copying wrongly. pinic, frend, frind, picic. She is the bo-chap type. Scold her also not much effect. She's totally nonchalant about doing her homework properly. Personality how to change?

Yet if I use negative words like lazy, careless, untidy, bad handwriting, she's very offended. I try to remind myself not to, but sometimes slip of tongue when I was fuming. Her perception of herself is vastly different from reality. She truely believes she is a hardworking & careful girl. Problem with too high self-esteem?

Simple task like hanging her clothes in wardrobe, her default answer is 'I don't know' or she will do it in messily & create job for me. In fact, her default answer is 'I don't know' to almost everything I ask her to do independently. She's still acting like a baby in the house & relying too much on my dd1 to take the lead. When I pose her the question how to go P1 this way? she said I can always homeschool her. Faint! I doubt she's ready for P1. I wonder whether I should send her to childcare to 'toughen' her up

Hi Muffin,

When is your EDD?

Hi Rona,

You must be in the Finance Dept of your Company, ya?

Hi Tamarind,

I read your blog on the 四五快读-幼儿快速识字阅读法. I am motivated to start on my DD1. Can I ride on your spree for Book 1 and 2?

Hi Yawn,

Actually, if you wanna train your DD up, I agree that you shd send her to CC. They are trained to do simple chores by themselves - self-feed/ bathing/ change clothes/ fold and keep soiled clothings/ matteress cover, etc....I just sent my DD1 to fullday CC for 4 mths and I can see changes in her in doing these chores. Nowadays, she even help me to keep our clothes into the closet. I let her help to keep simple clothing items like my hb's hankies/ towels and our homewear T-shirts.

styloBB, rona

Watched Sherlock Holmes yesterday. If I don't compare to that sherlock holmes I read, then it's a nice blockbuster. It's hollywood version, no simiarity to the books version. Even Watson was utterly different. Nevertheless, movie is nice. Very sure there will be part 2

<font color="0000ff">Dear mommies who want to order 四五快读-幼儿快速识字阅读法,
Remember to read the first 30 pages of book 1 before you start to teach. These pages contain valuable information about the effective methods to teach, how to sustain the child's interest, how to help him to retain his memory, etc.
Each book comes with word cards, but these cards are <u>not</u> flash cards.
The book suggests many games for parents to use with these word cards. Click here to read about the games :
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_w1nyHWTEh94/SzQMC_8ItKI/AAAAAAAABak/2mDzyPBKXos/s1600-h/b3.JPG
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_w1nyHWTEh94/SzQLJkNhuyI/AAAAAAAABac/geZXyPnCWSc/s1600-h/b4.JPG

I have consolidated the orders. You can pay me when you collect the books. I will place the orders by today. Any changes please email me by 3pm today. I trust that you don't go MIA hor.

<font color="0000ff">Snowball</font>
四五快读-幼儿快速识字阅读法
Book 1 and 2
Total cost including shipping = $12.40

<font color="0000ff">aa</font>
四五快读-幼儿快速识字阅读法
Book 1 and 2
Total cost including shipping = $12.40

<font color="0000ff">cheri</font>
蚂蚁蚂蚁排排走
http://product.dangdang.com/product.aspx?product_id=20531429&amp;ref=product-0-E
四五快读-幼儿快速识字阅读法 Book 1 and 2
http://product.dangdang.com/product.aspx?product_id=20645179
阿秋和阿狐
http://product.dangdang.com/product.aspx?product_id=20349132
神奇的水彩
http://product.dangdang.com/product.aspx?product_id=20352983
Total cost including shipping = $25.30

<font color="0000ff">Fairyprincess</font>
不一样的卡梅拉(全6册)
Total cost + shipping = $9.06

snowball, cheri, fairyprincess,
Please PM me your contact numbers and save [email protected] in your address book.

aa,
I still have your contact number

rona,
It all depends on how much the books are discounted. Different books have different discounts. Your shipping charge is 50% of the original book price. For orders below RMB 100, the shipping charge is minimum RMB 50. So it is more worth it to order above RMB 100.
Remember to activate the secure online shopping for your citibank credit card before ordering. You will need to setup a personal message and a new password.

yawn,
I will be teaching in China for about 5 months.
My boy is like your dd2, he also likes to day dream. I gave up asking him to do worksheet, he cries when I ask him to do. I always must use games to teach him new things otherwise I can repeat 20 times and he still does not get it.
I don't even know what is his perception of himself.
I think it is common for second born kids to be like this ?
He will be going to a full day PCF kindergarten next year. Don't know how he will turn out :p

styloBB,
Your MIL certainly has done a good job with Jesse. Is she teaching your girls too ?
I have no choice, it is a work requirement for me to teach in China. I am glad that I started preparing the kids, especially Jerome, since he was 3 years old. Otherwise I will panic now.

mumusings,
Forgot to thank you for recommending Gerald Durrell. I will definitely include that book in my home library when the kids are older.
I read in another forum, an educator suggested books like the 39 clues:
http://www.amazon.com/39-Clues-Book-Maze-Bones/dp/0545060397/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&amp;s=books&amp;qid=1262212409&amp;sr=8-1

I read the reviews that the series is actually : "a work for hire. That means someone at Scholastic(publisher) said, "Wow, I have this awesome idea! Now I need to hire someone to write it for me."

Once I read this, I say forget about the series.

I prefer my kids to read all the original children's classics by the great authors. Reading is not only about learning grammer and vocabulary, kids can also learn so much about life experiences from good books : life and death, friendship, love, compassion, courage, perseverance, hardship, survival, poverty, the consequences of bad behaviour, etc. Not all books are good, some books are trash, kids can read 100 of these books and still learn nothing.

bloom,
If I have found the 四五快读 series earlier, I would definitely have saved the $9000 to send 2 kids to Berries. When kids finish this series of books, they will be able to read even better than kids who completed K2 in Berries. But parents really need to be very dedicated in order finish teaching all the lessons in the 6 books. We only need to spend 15 mins or less to use games to teach the kids every day, but it is not easy to persist over many months. That is why in my blog, I don't recommend it to parents who are very busy.

This series is highly recommended for kids between the age of 3 to 6, this is the best time to learn Chinese. After this age, kids will find learning Chinese very difficult.

I have heard many adults complaining that Chinese is difficult to learn, and they even think that their brain are not hardwired to learn Chinese. This is totally not true. I think that they started learning Chinese too late, and Chinese has been badly taught in primary schools. I look at my girls P1 Chinese textbook and I want to vomit blood.

Take a look at my blog, scroll down to the bottom :
http://tamarindvillage.blogspot.com/2009/12/reading-chinese-books.html

Hi Stylo,
yes in stay in tpy, but its the old folk's estate in Lor 8.

Hi mumusings,
my boy last time eat veri veri slow and veri picky with food.... no other methods work best by telling him abt the poor ppl in the poor villages.... so he become appreciative with his food and eat fast now.... Now I have to deal with the my #2 Megan.... she does not seems to buy this method leh..... somehow these 2 kids differ alot fm each other.... and I have to think and use 2 diff methods to handle them....

Hi Yawn, Tam,
Lucas will also be P1 in 2010.... I am trying hard to have a schedule for him to have his butt seated on the chair to do work.... always have to bargain with him on amt of work for mins of play!Everything is "I dont Know", but when check with CC teacher, he is ok..... so I also dunno whether he can cope with his work or not!

Hi Tam,

Wanna chk wif you last time you share the sage books, I have 4 of them... how do you use to teach Jerome? Do you ask him to write/practice the more difficult words after reading? Lucas seems to be able to read them in a breeze... but ask him to write.... ummm cannot make it...

stylobb, i mean hb was not supptv of my gal going therapy at all. he actually wanted me to ask for discharge... i did note down the words she said, but therapist wanted proof and ask me to record ahhahaha.... luckily its not hydrocephaly... but SID/SPD was not diagnosed from CT scan too right? .. yes, understand what u mean abt the other kids at KKH... feel very sad... will ask my fren to try ebay thanks!

snowball, ahhaha.. my gal reject alot of food leh..fussyeater! Men (like ur BIL) tend to close one eye on alot of childcaring issues.

Tam, I think i owe u alot of money liao... must give u all the money before CNY (cannot owe past CNY hahaha).. u wan me to pay the ordering cost first? Pls order the book1 &amp; 2 for me too! thanks! KS KS! i will collect together with the multivits
wah.. u must blog more abt how u teach ur no 2.. my no1 also play play only.... what do u mean by work requirement? means they can fire u if u dont go?

muffin/rona, suddenly rem something yest... another reason why i intervene is bcos she echos alot (eg, if u ask 'do u wan to go and sleep' she will just reply 'sleep' without knowing what it means) and lines up her toys....

yawn yawn, maybe she will be better after going to school and seeing how her classmates act/work?

mumusings
Charity shows - I do not watch as I do not monitor when they are shown. Too much of a glitzy affair most of the time. I wonder if at times they can it in other ways that will still raise $ for the charity.

Gerald Durrell - is he the one who wrote "My family and other animals"?

mummy tang
The 200+ series???
Why you call it old folk's estate?

Are you a SAHM??

tam
Do you teach them every nite? for just 15 mins?

Looking at Chloe and Jerome, do you feel that some kids are borne more motivated than others? ie due to the character?

To all Mummies
Have a Blessed and Happy New Year!

tam
Do they pay for you to come back to S'pore in between?
Will your family visit you during the holidays?

bloom
Did they say how far behind (in terms of months) is she? ie like what sort of sentences/words is she expected to say?
Siao one... how to record?
SID is more behavioral, right? pooh shud be able to advise...

stylo,

yes the 21x near the mkt...there alot of old folks and there's no facilities such as CC,PAP within reasonable walking distance....
I am a FTWM staying with my parents. Lucas goes to CC and Megan is taken care by my parents @ home and will be attending Zion Church Kindy in 2010... I also have no time to coach them(and dunno how to also previousl)... but I really tried to make an effort after reading the forums... Thanks to the mummies in all the forums!!!

All mummies, Have a good 2010! Good health and best wishes for your families!!!

hi. anyone I back to singapore .. wishes all mummies here Happy new Year

Sabrina has a lot of fun in Genting all the games is her first expriences..

tamarind.
using citibank CC it is got any special discount ?

tamarind

I didn't realise PCF has full day kindy? Is it like a childcare or 2 continuous session of kindy?

Yeah, I think younger one more 'nua' hor. My dd2 is just plain lazy. Saying 'I don't know' is the easiest way out

yawn,
mine is opposite from yours. my #1 is like your dd2, everything i don't know, do homework will cry... #2 is slightly better, at least she likes to listen to story books so every nite she picks 5 short stories for me to read... :p sometimes i will make her read a sentence and i read a sentence...

I have placed the orders for
snowball
aa
cheri
bloom

I will email you the payment details later.

Fairyprincess,
Your orders are in the second batch.

mummy_tang,
OIC Lucas also in P1. If he CC teacher says he is OK, then you don't have to worry. Actually I heard that P1 and P2 are quite relaxing. It gets more difficult from P3.

Jerome attended Berries since 4 years old, he has no problem reading the Sage books. I only let him read them on his own.

I don't let him practice writing the words. I want to let him recognize as many Chinese words as possible before entering P1. I read that in China, parents aim to teach their kids to be able to read any Chinese books, even newspapers, independently by the age of 6 years old. The 四五快读 series enable parents to achieve that. Before the age of 6, it is more important to let the kids read many Chinese story books to develop their interest in Chinese. They can learn to write more later from P1 onwards.

I have heard of mommies who say that their kids hate Chinese. This is very sad, because once the child starts to hate Chinese, he is going to have a lot of difficulty learning the language.

So I am buying lots of cute and funny Chinese books for my kids to read now. Chloe is now reading at least 1000 words from Chinese books everyday, she takes about 10 mins to finish reading that amount. She is also reading other Chinese books on her own now.

As for writing, I believe that if a child reads enough, he will naturally know how to write. My 5 year old boy Jerome surprises me when he writes 我 independently. I have never let him practice writing that word. He also knows how to write many other simple Chinese words, and Chloe knows more than him. I only let them practice writing when they have 听写 in school.

In fact, I heard one early childhood education expert say that it is very bad to make kids practice writing Chinese everyday before the age of 6. She said that MOE guidelines is that kindergarten should not have 听写. But I don't mind 听写 lah, so long as we don't stress the kids, it is fine.

yawn,
The PCF near my block has a full day kindergarten, not 2 continuous session, but one session from 8am to 5pm. I think they are the first PCF kindergarten to have it.
There are only 11 students in one class. But I don't know how good it is yet.

sharon,
There is no special discount for Citibank cards. dangdang uses the "Verified by Visa" secure online shopping, meaning we need to enter a password when we purchase online. Only citibank credit cards have this feature in Singapore.

styloBB,
Yes I only spend 15 mins every night with each of them. Not exactly teaching, because I don't let them do any assessments. I only ask each of them to read out loud to me from a story book of my choice. Jerome has finished reading Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, now reading Winnie-the-Pooh by A.A.Milne. Everyday, he reads 4 to 5 pages, about 500 to 1000 words out loud. He can finish in about 10-15 mins, but we often act out the story so it may take longer. Chloe is now reading both English and Chinese story books, so I need to spend about 30 mins with her.

Their learning abilities are very different. Jerome needs many more repetitions to learn compared to Chloe. It is not a matter of motivation. A child who learns effortlessly does not mind studying. A child who cannot focus and keeps forgetting things has a lot of difficulty learning. But I believe that we can train a child to improve his attention span, and we can use fun activities to help him learn. That is why I spend much more effort(not time) thinking of ways to make learning more interesting for Jerome.

Bloom,
I have emailed you.
I promised that I can go to China during the job interview, that is why I need to keep to my promise. I was thinking of going when the kids are older, but they need people now. My kids are already 6 and 7 years old next year, I guess they are old enough already lah.
I actually thought of bringing my younger boy with me since he is in K2, and I will employ a China maid to look after him, and let him attend the kindergarten in China. It will be good immersion for him to learn Chinese. But my mother say that I definitely cannot manage him by myself !

Here’s to a fulfilling 2010 and great health to all at home!

Hi Poohy,

Thanks for sharing the info on chewing and speech development. Must be quite accurate ‘cos we let him chew on all sorts of foods since he had his first tooth. My son’s speaking in short phrases. Not many vocab words but he can point or walk accurately to items I mention. Can be quite versatile when it comes to mimicking words. Was very shocked at City Square when the security guard announced that there was a shuttle bus to “Lavendar MRT” and he said “Lavendar”. Just only once and he refused to repeat the word after that. Guess it was a spontaneous response. The only other time was “monster dance” after watching Hi5.

Other than that, I take it that he’s doing okay ‘cos he’s very quick with household items and simple chores like packing and cleaning.

Hi Yawn,

Be patient with your daughter
Girls can be very difficult at times and pick up excuses that are trendy.

I taught a K2 girl once and she had excuses for everything. She wasn’t motivated and preferred to daydream. There was no way to teach her almost ‘cos she’ll say “I don’t know”, “but why?” or “I forgot”. There were days I went at the appointed time and she said she wanted to sleep. And sometimes I left and she'll call to cry and say "You make me sleep for nothing". Hahaha... quite a nightmare.

In the end I had to explain to her mom and tell her not to mind if I use ‘less-academic’ way of teaching. More stories, maths via games and talking to her instead of jumping straight to “let practise spelling words” or “have you finished your homework”.

Well, I gave up after a year (I almost felt helpless and lousy) - she’ll tell tales to her mother and I saw no need to continue ‘cos I needed time for uni projects too.

Anyway, she must have met the right teachers along the way. Heard that she scored 10 points for O-levels a few years back. Guess all kids need school teachers and some form of rigidity/strictness to straighten them out?

Hi Tam,
All the best with your work in China! I’m sure you’ll have an enriching experience – lots of books to check out too!

Hi Bloom, Stylobb, Mummy Tang and Snowball,

My mom changed the country from Vietnam (Kindergarten and Pr School) to Ethiopia (when I became a teenager). Just received an appeal for donations for kids in Sudan. Sigh... hope African governments will spend money rightly on their own people. All the massacres and clan-flghting – neverending feuds at the expense of the innocent folks.

Not watching charity shows AT ALL. Don’t want to contribute to the number of ‘viewers’ and there’s no need to add to telephone company charges per call. I usually drop money in donation boxes directly or by cheque. The Chew Chor Meng advert haunts my memory still!

Hi Stylobb,

I skipped shape sorters... I take it that he’s okay with matching shapes ‘cos he was able to match tin covers (square and round), line up his toy cars by sizes/colours, balance/stack cars on plates and take pieces of titbits from the package. Sometimes I don’t know if I should buy the toys just to ‘test’ his abilities. Gerald Durrell books.. can’t remember individual titles. Was reading them because a teacher recommended but I preferred Nancy Drew because she travelled to countries to solve crimes.

on the topic of speech development

Just overheard a relative's grandchild has speech delay. He's 3 years old. According to his grandma, besides delay in speech, he's also slightly slower in development milestones. His parents are sending him to a special school after feedback from his teacher. Don't think they consulted any therapist on this.

Although I met that boy only a handful of times, he looked very active &amp; bubbly. If no one mentioned about his speech delay, can't tell at all. His granda is concerned whether it is necessary to send him to a special school?

tamarind

I thought your idea is great! Opportunity for immersion. However, the challenge is to find a trusted caregive while you are at work

mummy_tang
So your own place is not in TPY??

yawn
I feel that if he is developing normally except for speech, should not send him to special school altho I don't know what special school the teacher is suggesting.. It cud be that he just needs a bit of push to catch up on his speech. Maybe beta to see a speech therapist.

rona
Hope it will not rain again today... jesse wants to go for his swimming class and we want to too..

The twins started their Berries today... did not manage to ask the teacher how they were, v messy and crowded at the outlet. Everyone was rushing here and there and we were late too....
Asked them if they liked the class, they said "Yes."