Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

Hi Aly Nat,

Thanks for your kind words. I don't carry a camera around, only my very basic Nokia camera (less than 3 megapix, nothing fanciful). I simply take pictures of things which I think are interesting/poignant. A good distraction for my son 'cos he likes to see me crop the images. I've never taken lessons in photography - just take the pics and choose the ones that look good to post

Cooking is easy if you enjoy it. I only do very basic cooking. No wok, no deep-frying and nothing like those Peranakan-style cooking which will require me to pound ingredients.

You can buy sweet potato and potatoes from the supermart. Cold Storage has the most consistent quality although slightly pricier.

I think I have 2 posts on potato and sweet potato.. you can check out the pics of the 'brand' of potato.

One brand is Golden Delight. You can use this potato for most recipes. Not too large and very clean! http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2010/01/snack-potatoes-baked-in-pot.html

As for the sweet potato, a friend bought us a box from the wholesaler the last time I roasted them. Choose the ones that aren't so large. Easier to cook and not so tough...
http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2009/12/food-yaki-imo-charcoal-roasted-umi.html

nat, poohy & yawn

Am shocked to receive all the compliments about my girl from you mummies when I just on the computer...She is just an average student,there are still many out there who are much better than her.But, really thanks for the compliments.

Just collected her ortho k lens and it really costs me a bomb.Just hope she treasure her new found eye sight.

Mumusings
You are right, hanger can do the job, why I never thought of it...thanks for the idea.Hahahah

mumusings,
thanks for sharing the recipes.
the pot looks good, can i know where did you buy that japanese pot? thinking of getting one for my mom

for baking the sweet potato, can use those craypot to do the job? or those metal pot? or must use this kind of japanese pot?

Hi Joy,

I think my husband happened to be near the laundry area one day when my son did something very naughty. That's how the hanger came to be the scary thing....

Hi Aly,

I usually keep my younger gal for around 3 - 5 min at the naughty corner. I will sit nearby to watch her. If she still cry and whin or refused to admit her mistake, I will make her stand another 3 - 5 min. My younger gal is more stubborn and mischievous. It is more difficult to handle her than my elder gal.

In addition, its important to explain to the kids why they are being punished and make them realise that its actually wrong to do that.

Hi Joy,

I agree with other mummmies that your gal is balancing well between music and her studies. I hope my gals can be the same as they grow
I wanted them to take up music also partly because I realised that they inherited a "good" character of mine....very short-tempered. I hope that music will help to "tame" their temper.

Hi Aly,

Punishment will be dished out to my kids if they are :

- being disrespectful to elders - grandparent, parents, maid, etc.

- fight with each other

- snatching toys

- crying and whining for nothing, throwing tantrums

- refusal to keep their toys/ books after use

- doing dangerous things - like purposely touching the stove in the kitchen when told not to, playing with the fan, other electrical appliances.....I only punished them once and they kept away from those "forbidden" appliances since

etc......

aly nat, snowball

My dd1 is a tantrum queen since babyhood. If implement naught corner, she will be at that corner perpectually. She has no regards for my 'authority' or teachers' per se. At home she's a 小霸王,expect her younger sis to give way to her too. Sigh...

So now still quite bossy in school. Teacher email me to complaint about her tardiness and disregard of 'authority' like continuing reading story books when teacher is conducting lessons. Fortunately her form teacher is nice to her. Didn't write my dd off as problematic right away. I really appreciate her teacher's feedback, at least we know what's going on in school. My dd stops reading during lesson time after we counsel her.

Her personality is the super bossy type. Must teach her to be tactful lor, cannot insist her classmates to do things her way mah, sure to lose friendship this way. Not everyone so 好欺负 like her younger sis

Hi Aa,

Only that particular pot can be used for roasting 'cos there are holes at the side and made of a special sort of clay. My husband bought it many years ago at Takashimaya. Don't know if they still have it.

Hi Snowball,

Your list of mischief is similar to mine. Guess kids go through similar phases. I'm largely worried about my son's oblivion to authority too. Talking and reasoning doesn't always work, especially when we're outdoors and he knows there are sympathisers around if we should be stern.

Hi Yawn,

My younger gal also started to throw her tantrums around when she was around 18 mths. I am not trying to push the blame but I guess she picked up most of it from my BIL's son whom has been c/o at my place during the daytime when she was 16mths. She wasn't like that before he came to my place.

My BIL's son will scream and yell if he do not gets want he wants. He will even bite my MIL while throwing tantrums. My DD2 was quick to pick up these habits. Within 3 mths, I can see the drastic change in her behaviour. My MIL & BIL can tolerate such behaviour but I can't as I felt its not right.

I was so pissed-off that I sent my elder gal to fullday CC within 3 mths and my younger gal after 6 mths to fullday CC, in the first instance they have a vacancy available. This is also not to put my hb in a spot & avoid potential conflicts with my ILs, as he has agreed to help my BIL for 6 - 9 mths, allowing him to send his son to my place.

I was also determined to changed her then and it took me a good 6 mths to "transform" her, using a combination of explanations/ punishments.

Hi Mumusings,

Yes, kids are very smart. Thro' my own experience with my kids, I realised that they know that when we are out, there is "this much" we can do with them. I also learnt from child discipline articles that punishments shd not be done in public as every child actually has pride. They also know who they can bully and boss around which my hb and myself will immediately put a stop to it once we caught them "in action". They are expected to apologize immediately for such behaviour. We also try very hard to instil in them to respect and also to recognise what authority is.

My 2.5yo now learns to talk back and argue but she also knows that she cannot escape punishment and authority if she continues to be oblivious to it.

aly_nat, snowball, wow..seems that alot of us also 'struggle' to get our tertiary fees last time...

poohy, u stress us! my gal is still at siwukuaidu book 1 lesson 2!

toto...ahhaa. me otoh, envy those that can reach home/cc by 6pm!!!! if i can reach cc by 6pm i wont have to send my gal to my mom's pl after cc which will save on the travelling time and tiredness!

mummusings, wow...punggol jetty looks so nice!

joy, let us know if the orthoK works out!

Bloom
Perfect gift for my girl.Its freedom of life, that is the only thing I can say about orthok lens.

For the first day she wore it and went to her chinese class, and they had the mock exam there, and she did very well, probably perfect eye sights boost her confident.Should have let her on it earlier, but there again, she may not be able to put the lens herself then.

bloom, aly nt, snowball

Hehe, positive return on investment if you are still working. My investment in education down the drain though

Joy- orthok lenses- its a type of contact lens correct? Seems really interesting to reverse myopia!

Your gal is doing very well in studies and piano- not many reach grade 8 by 12 years old! I will not put pressure on my gal on piano- suppose to learn as a hobby =)

Just got a new maid- now family very busy with training- more of my mum's efforts...

Fairy,

Thanks.Piano as in music should really just be a leisure kind of thing.Am still thinking to let her continue her grade 8 next year since she is taking her psle too.

Yes, ortho k lenses really great.Its better than the normal lens that we wear during the day time, as it subjects to dryness at times.

Hey,at least u dont have to worry in training maid.

mommies

Brought my dd2 to Orchard for movies today. We watched 'Apha and Omega', a cartoon about wolves. My dd enjoyed it thoroughly. Also spent the entire afternoon window shopping since it was raining. So nice not to attend any kindy

Yawn
It can slow down myopia, and some even lower the deg.Really dep on indiv.

I only intend to send my girl for lasik after 21 years, so mean time, probably wearing ok lens is a good alternative for her.That is at least no glasses or lens in the day.

joy

Hubby went for lasik, perfect eye sight for a while but now back to wearing glasses

I'm wearing spec, no guts to go for lasik

Hi Joy,

How much are the orthok lenses and can adults wear them too?

Hi Bloom,

Yes, the jetty looks very serene through the window of the bus!

Hi Yawn,

Thanks for the movie review!

How old were your kids when they watched their first movie/film at the theatre/cinema? What about stage performances like musicals and those 'live' shows (Barney, Wiggles etc)?

joy
Myopia returns lor. Not as high power as before but still need spec
Read in the newspapers apparantly this is quite common. Many develop myopia again years after lasik. It's a matter of time

mumusings
Mine watched disney on ice and hi-5 live around 2 years old. Not bad leh, can understand and watch intently. However, they don't remember watching those shows when I asked them now

Yawn- so the movie worth watching? For 5 and 7 years old? Am thinking of bringing kids to watch- have to RUSH back from work to watch the evening showing...not priviledge like you to be SAHM =) Got to fight the crowds in the evening =(

Lasik- I did mine in 2003, now has been 7 years since, so far still OK- Dr said people usually get long sighted so will still need to wear glasses in later life...

Mumusings- I think at least 3-4 years old before I brought them to watch movies- otherwise may not sit through performance....waste money!

bloom - wow, what time do you reach home? must be a long day for your DD at CC.

yawn - i wanted to bring my DS1 to watch alpha and omega last friday, turn out, DD had fever and cant attend CC. then DS1 caught her bug. he is now down with fever. it gets tough when one kid fall sick, pass to another, then back and forth. my kids have been sick near to 3 months, with few days' interval in between.

mumusings - i brought my DS for his 1st movie (Toy Story) when he was 4 yrs old. then we watched some plays (upstairs in the sky, momotaro). prior to that, we watched magic show and cirque de solel type shows, and he loved it.

hi-5 - my twins love hi-fi too! we never had the chance to watch it live as yet.

poohy - barker has volin enrichment. DS1 will be attending enrichment everyday after school next yr. his current montessori classes are being run by Barker. twins will be attending montessori when they turn 2.5 yrs old, as they still need a nap at noon now. at 2.5 yrs old, they might be able to stretch all the way from 8.30 am till 3.30 pm. DS1 stopped napping at about the same age.

poohy - you are a very capable and dedicated mummy. i really wish i can do more for my kids.

joy/yawn, i did my lasik about 8 yrs ago. it's still ok now, i guess. hope i dun have to wear specs again.

fairyprincess - i am also waiting for the arrival of my second fillipino maid. my current one will be going home early nx yr. will train the new one and let my ILs use her for half yr.

joy - do you teach your DS yourself? or do you send her for enrichment? i find it hard to balance time and my kids' attention. after a full day school, they are often tired when they come home. i can hardly find time to teach my DS1. most of the time, after taking away his swim, music, chinese, art classes, cooking/baking classes, he is tired and sleepy.

mumusings,
The lens is between 1.5k to 2.2k depends on the degree.Yes, adults can wear too.But, for adults, i would rather do lasik.

Toto
Yes, I teach my girl myself except for chinese, I just sent her to enrichment centre to have more exposure .
I agreed, children are usually very tired after full day activites, so must really piriotise what is important.

For myself, quite "xiong" at time, as am also managing a five year old boy, and hsework , and my girl 's work all at one goal.A lot of multi tasking.

Hi Mumusings,

My kids start watching home videos - Barney/ Sesame Street, etc at 1yo. DD1 started to watch Hi-5/ Disney Clubhouse since 3yo. Now she also watch series cartoons/ movies like 喜羊羊与灰太狼, 小丁当, Disney classics (Pinnochio/ Snow White/ Toy Story /etc)/ Ponio and she can understand the whole movie.

I brought my kids to watch Disney on Ice this March - DD1 3.5yrs and DD2 2yo. My DD2 fell soundly asleep halfway thro' the show (disregarding the loud music):p

My DD1 enjoyed the show very much. I will bring them to movies only when my DD2 turns 4yo. Now, if I bring them, sure kenna kicked out of the movie theatre as my DDs like to ask a lot of questions when watching movies.

Lasik - My colleague did her Lasik last year. She was very happy to be off glasses for a year. Now, she is back on glasses due to long-sightedness.

Hi toto, You DS1 is attending many classes hor? By the time he goes home, he will be very tired liao.

Joy,
How many hours of night wear of the orthok lens to be worned, to provide a specs - free day? What happen if one forgets to wear the lens for a night? The short sightedness will return the next day?? Sorry for the silly questions

Mumusings,
We took dd for a movie when she was 3. She couldn't sit through. However, she enjoyed hi-5 and Barney live. After 4, we took her to musical like "Annie", "The King n I", "Beauty n the Beast" and a couple of others, and she enjoyed it very much.

Off topic a bit: there was this circus that we went (not in Singapore) and we were seated right in the first row. When the lion was led to walk around the ring, it stopped just right in front of us, stared into our eys, and gave a BIG roar. That took her by surprise, and till today, she still remember the incident vividly. I was preggie with dd2 then, and I tell you, my heart was thumping wildly!!

Yawn,
Me too. Am badly shortsighted but don't dare to go for lasik

Nat
She has to wear at least seven to eight hours of lens to sleep before she has a good vision for next twelve hours next day.

I guess the only drawback about ok lens is that if u dont wear, u will not have the good eyesight.Also, after twelve hours, the effect worn off.Other than that, I have no complaint.Apparently, it slow down myopia and in some cases, it actually lower the degree.

From what I know, the orthoK lenses "flattens" the cornea, the literature calls it "reshapes" the cornea- as short sighted is usually caused by a "thick" cornea- this lenses serves the purpose to flatten and reshape it...

Same concept as lasik- except in lasik, the "extra" cornea is literally "burnt" or sounds nicer- "laser" off, so its permanently correcting the short sightedness...

The orthok lenses not cheap yah? Joy- hope your gal appreciates her new eyesight! She used to wear glasses before orthoK?

joy, i rem reading some pp saying that the eyeball might 'bounced' back nearer to the end of the day (which means the person become short sighted again). is that true? is it difficult to put on (compared to normal lens)? how long does a pair last?

yawn, i got no guts to go for lasik too!

mummusings, oh..it was a bus? thot u drove there? which bus number stops there>?

re movies.. my DD (turning 4 soon) have never step into a cinema before. but she had watched omni theatre shows before (talk alot!). I am bringing her to bb prom in nov.. her first paid 'art' show!

toto, i will only reach home around 10pm everyday cos we have dinner at my mom's pl... so very tiring for my gal..wonder how to cope when she goes P1 and start to have homework...

Fairy
Your concept is right;She doesnt really like to wear glasses even her degree is three hundred over, glasses is thrown everywhere till cannot find.Now , she is really happy with glasses free.

The cost is about 1.5k to 2.2k

Bloom
The pair of lens will last for two year,.After that, u replace with half the cost.
Not hard to put on.My girl has a chart done by daddy, so she just refers if she miss out any steps.Hahaha, occupation hazard.

morning mummies

bloom - poor you - 10 pm everynight? must be dead tired by the time you reach home. maybe you will need to adjust your schedule a bit when your gal enters P1. btw - what sch are you planning to send your gal?

snowball - my DS1 enjoys all his enrichment, even though i suggested cutting down on some. anyway, his baking/cooking classes will end soon. nx yr, will continue with music, swim, berries, and art.

re holiday - any of you already planned for the Dec hols? i read some of you are bringing your kids to Japan. i initially wanted to bring the kids to Disneyland, but after some thoughts, i decided to put this off till the twins are at least 3 yrs old, as i might not be able to handle the 2 yrs old twins and my 4 yr old, esp during the peak period in Dec.

aly_nat - my DS1 went to watch a circus show when we were in the US. he was 3 yrs old then. he could still remember the cannon and that was his fav part of the show.

Joy,
Thanks for the info on orthoK, I will ask my eye doc abt it when I c him next week. I wanted to go glasses free badly but is not a suitable candidate for LASIK.

Mumusing
I am v impressed with how u handle ur son. My son started his "screaming" phase n I m still scratching my head on how to deal with it.

Quiet corner,
Never implemented it successfully. The kids either cry like mad or kept moving around.

toto,

I wish I can do more for my kids too.. but I am also limited by my own physical ability... many times I am just too tired after violin practise to even pick up a book to read for my younger ones. They had to just grow on their own or watch some DVD most of the time. I felt bad, really bad ...
And I know I had not been working hard enough on S's academic except for the daily reading which is actually not enough. Even if I can pull myself together to coach him, he is also too tired by the time we are done.

Working mums- today my 5YO asked me to stay at home with her and go to work later- aiyah, feel so torn when kids say this to me =(
I also get back home late- usually 8pm, after dinner, really not much time to spend with kids! esp my P1 gal has to sleep by 930pm at the latest...sigh

Aly- your circus story is funny!

Toto- disneyland (both tokyo and HK) in dec will be v crowded- even though 3YO should get in free, you still have to queue for long time to get to rides...maybe not so ideal...better to go during mid nov midweek if you can...

poohy
Yeah, better beef him up academically. My dd2 used to attend CMA and phonics classes when she was in N2 & K1. Stopped all her enrichments by end of K1 because not much value add after a while. I think her academic is still alright. She can help her sister to do her P2 homework if teachers assigned too much homework. Fortunately P1 & P2 not too tough yet so need not panic

bloom
You can consider student care when go primary school. I heard student care would have teachers to coach students in homework before/after school. Then evening can do extra coaching at your own time
How about bringing your kids home right after work? can order tingkat or 打包 dishes, at least settle them down quickly after dinner to do some reading.

bedtime rountine

mommies
How do you settle your kids to bed and make sure they keep to their stipulated bed time?

My dd1 很会拖. If she comes home at 9:20pm after her Chinese enrichment, dilly dally need 2 hours to settle down for bed, really drive me up the wall! So I avoid letting her go out in evening at all cost.

However, other evenings, she also keep finding excuses to leave her bed. Must hug kiss, have something to tell me, hang around TV, then end up go to bed at 10pm. But that's not the end yet. Chat for another hour with her sister while in bed. They share the same room.

Every night is a struggle to get them to sleep earlier!

Thanks Yawn- so Alpha and Omega worth watching? Thought of bringing the kids to watch on Thurs night (pre-children's day treat)...not much leave left...got to save for Dec...

fairy

I prefer 'kungfu panda' & 'princess & the frog'. 'Alpha & Omega' considered ok to me lor, simple plot. My dd2 enjoyed the movie, commented very nice! She kept asking me questions throughout the movie

toto

No plans to travel in Dec. Been browsing school holiday programmes for my kids. Shortlisted sketching and kids samba classes. Looking for some more

Yawn,
Any idea where to find intensive creative writing class during the school hols?
Dd1 thinks jugglers are cool, and express her wish to attend juggling lessons. I tried looking for school hols program but no success.

Fairy, Bloom, n other FTWMs,
I wish primary schools will delay their lessons time to slightly later (eg. 8am) when switch to single session. Most are still operating from 7.30am to 1pm, thereabouts. Kids has to be in school by 7.15 for silent reading.

yawn,

I wanna beef him up academically but really what is considered ready or more than ready? I am quite unsure what they need to know by when. The only thing I am doing now is to teach them to read as much as I can... not much time to do writing. Maths I will teach them division before they go to primary school.

Do you know what academic enrichment is good?

Aly,

yup hope they start school later... its tough to wake up so early. Especially my boy going to study quite far away from our home.

poohy

Go to popular to browse some P1 assessment books. You would have a pretty good idea what a child needs to know by P1

Very hard to say which academic enrichment is good. For Maths, my kids attended Kumon and CMA. Both have merits. They are no longer in either programme. Stopped before entering primary school.

No enrichments I more 'eng', no need to nag them to complete enrichment homwork
Now I coach dd2 on own time own target, using dd1's left over P1 & P2 assessment books

aly nat

I usually sent her to CC for holiday classes. She attended a 3 days holiday writing workshop by Origo last year.

I prefer schools to start later too. I'm the one who can't wake up
Told hubby he needs to send dd1 to school before he goes to work

Thanks for sharing with age/type of shows. I’ve been toying with the idea of trying a movie but I am loathe to imagine him disturbing the audience as he gets all excited and babbling when he watches TV.

He’s now eager to name the things he can label in his own tongue. He watched certain VCDs (first time viewing, on the sofa) from beginning till end, eg. Cars, Incredibles, Magic Gourd, those vintage Looney Tunes, black-white Mickey Mouse and Fantasia (surprising). Anything else is 50 minutes maximum. One time, I played French music and he danced through the CD. Quite funny. He only likes the Hi-5 songs, Lauren, Tim and Stevie. Doesn’t quite like Fely and Casey. Loves the Wiggles, Thomas, Bindi the Jungle Girl, Grandpa in My Pocket, Bring Your Toothbrush and zoo documentaries on Okto. He’s watching the cartoon on Admiral Cheng Ho too (the ships and all sorts of fantastic events).

Definitely doesn’t like Barney, Ben Ten and Sesame Street. Too choppy, noisy and disruptive – I also cannot tahan! Thank Goodness he’s not into Ben Ten and Pokemon.

Hi Joy,

I can’t bring myself to face the surgical knife and whatever equipment – the fear of mistakes making me blind is far too scary... Thanks alot for the info. Will check out reviews on the lenses!

Hi Bloom,

I don’t drive lah... never intended to take lessons and never will. I took Bus 82, a looping route service that goes through Serangoon, Kovan, Hougang, Sengkang, Punggol and backwards.

Hi Yawn/Muffin,

Bedtime Routine

I make sure the kid zzzz by 9pm every day. Sometimes (when we do come back late) 11pm. Signs he’s sleepy: when he starts going ‘short-circuit’ - like purposely doing things to irritate, followed by silence, sometimes, rolling about the floor/table or just staring blankly at his toys.

In any case, I now make sure he has meets his ‘quota’ of running and semi-cycling every day (in the flat or elsewhere). He usually naps in the afternoon for 2 hours (sometimes 4 hours if lucky) and sleeps by 9pm. We bathe him before he sleeps. The frustration happens every day without fail around noon and 7pm everyday. He’ll start stalking us around the flat on his tricycle, screaming sometimes, snatch things, climb kitchen top and do whatever it takes to induce some form of reprimanding > then after wailing for a drink > bathe > faint.

Bedtime stories don’t work ‘cos when he’s sleepy and vexed, he’ll snatch the book nand want to do other things. We read books in the day instead and I don’t force him to unless he picks the books and asks for us to go through the pics. He’s still at the early stages and in dire need of manners.

See pictures of devastation here:
http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2010/09/childrens-toys-and-learning-destructor.html

joy... ahaha.. still on orthoK..so if she did not sleep > 7 hrs, she wont get her desired degree??

toto..ahaha. no choice..cos i need 1.5 hrs to travel from office to my/mom's pl.. so time is really wasted... am hoping to get a job nearer to home so that i can fetch my gal from school next time (regardless of whether we apply for a school near my/my mom's pl)

muffin..how abt this thing called ICT / LCT (they put a lens implant in ur cornea)

fairyprincess, already very peifu u cos u travel so much and still have to juggle family!

yawn yawn, student care usualy closes at 7pm... and if u r in afternoon session, they wont accept u after school ends around 6pm... maybe next time i will bring her home immediately... but my mom will feel hurt cos to her she is cooking nutrious home cooked meals for my gal and me (cantonese soup etc). am considering staying there overnight on weekdays too :p i am struggling with my gal everynight too! she usually sleep only around midnight!

aly_nat, if single session delay their starting time.. it will mean some parents will ahve prob sending their kids to school and then reaching office on time... there is really no solution that will please everyone

mummusings, interesting 82! maybe next time can bring my gal on a ride :p ur boy is 2 yo right? reminds me of my gal when she is around that age..that high strung, hyper until suddenly she will 'drop dead' (fall asleep) but as she grows older, the hyper is less intense but she is unwilling to sleep too.. so hold on!

Bloom
No more ok lens to talk about liao.Sa2 exams coming, now must shift focus back to exam.hahahah.Cannot wait for 1 nov to come by and that will be my freedom for at least a month plus...Next year, will be psle, war begins..hahah

Yawn
Me too struggle with bedtime for the two kids.similar case and I have long given up, worst if daddy is in town.

Did you home school your younger dd?My boy kept asking me can he not go to school and stay at home instead.

Holidays
Have settle my holidays to hokkaido, in second week of dec,enjoy myself before get torture next year.

Have a great long weekend, its children's day, for all sahm...

bloom

Do you live near your mom?
Yeah, logistic is a major problem. Singapore say small also not that small leh, inefficient transport system. Go from east to west need 1.5 hour one way, waste so much time

joy

Yes, I think can use the term homeschool if it means she stays home to idle
I don't have a fixed time table or deliverables. Just do whatever we fancy in the afternoon. Sometimes if I'm feeling sleepy, I will nap & ask her to read books the entire afternoon. Very 'nua' kind of homeschooling hor

Hi Yawn/ Bloom/ Mumusings/ Joy,

On bedtime - I get my kids ready to go to the room by 9pm everyday. After storytelling and sometimes they will listen to their Children songs, I will tug them to bed. I make sure they zzzz by 10pm, latest. If not, I will have pblm waking them up at 6.30am the next morning.

If they still refused to sleep, I tell them I will bring them downstairs to the recycling dustins where "Oscar (the dustin monster in Sesame Streets)" is inside waiting for them. So far, this works quite fine :p

My hb read in newspaper 2 weeks back on # of hrs kids need to zzzz at different age. Now, he also start to coax them to zzzz early.

Hi Bloom,

I used to travel almost 2hrs (1way) to and from work for 8yrs (stay in the East and work in the West) before I got married, I understand your agony. Now that we stay quite near workplace, it takes us only about 30min drive (about 50min if take public transport) to and from work, really save a lot of time.

Did you consider to shift somewhere near your mum?