ANY MALAY MUMS HERE?

So long daa tak drop a note kat sini.
About the Montessori programme tu, I have to agree that the kids will have prob adjusting to normal academic prog. I sent my DD to Shekinah Montessori @ Sengkang when she was 3yrs old. All they do is play. Montessori caters more to co-ordination for the kids not academic.
My fren also send her kids to Nur Kindergarten but she said the kids there then to be more malayish... dunno what that means...
The only programme that I find $$ worth spending is the I CAN READ, Ballet and Speech & Drama.

bettybad, hahha.. skrg ada pantang ke? dat time i give birth takde pantang langsung. 3rd day da pi tgk star wars. maklom la last instalment. hahaha.. da tu makan mac. ntah eh nanti da tua, ru rasa sakit. biasala org muda, blomkena blom tau.

Lani, ya i agree. kalo bdk besar2 1.5hrs main sendiri ok la tp under 2yrs old mane le. ada mcm si adam nie, tak reti main sendiri, habis hari2 kena marah!
dorang nie masih restless. bayar mahal2, kasi main sendiri, bih baik bli montessori equipments ajar pat rmh.

zu, 3rd day dah pergi tengok star wars? lol!

bettybad, i also dont have pantang. hari2 keluar time confinement. apa nak buat. my baby was in icu at that time. other times when at home, i just expressed milk sambil surf the net. waaah.. i did lots of damage to my bank account during that time with all the online shopping!!!

zu, my husband lenient sikit. Kalau dia ada, nanti dia ajak keluar tapi takboleh bilang my mum ah. Gi my son's checkup sempat merayap sampai Vivocity. Nanti membebel orang tua tu. Pasal my hubby keje lah kena duk rumah. Hehe. Tapi bengkung tak lepas. Yang lain I bilis. Err malas nak pakai param, pilis sume tu. Time urut jer.

Btw, at what age can we start sending our kids to pre-nursery classes?

i wish i was more diligent in wearing bengkung.
sekarang perut buncit. euw.

montessori: half the time diorang main sendiri? what a rip-off seh.

To all
Thanks for your views with regards to Montessori schs. I might hv to reconsider in exposing Sharf to tht approach.
Montessori creates independence and self-direction.The child has the responsibility of scheduling his or her time to complete a given amount of work in a given amount of time, yet has the freedom of sequence. It will allow the child to have a good work habit,concentration skills and attention span.
As to hw it doesnt prepare one adapting to s'pore Pri sch system, Lani,RMS pls elaborate more on this can,plsss.
Btw Lani, can a muslim child be registered to a church Kindy? I guess it depends on individual parents eh?

bettybad, sama la. dat time i cume urut 3 ari je. leceh la nk bengkung2. yg lain tu sume pakai seari je. bau takle angkat la. hahaha... pilis tu i pakai hb kate i bau busok, tak nk tido sama i.
air kunyit tu lagi, tak minom pun takpe la. my mother da lali so dia pun malas nk ckp.

telly, i rase bengkung2 nie tk pakai pun ok la. cos i kai seari je. tu pon mlm tak le tido. my perot dia main2 ar. mcm biskot chipsmore. jap ada jap takde. kalo i tak buat sit up dia muncul la.

shermin, muslim child le masuk church based kindy i rase. cos dat time i work pat christian-based cc ada jgk anak muslim. its up to the parents to teach wats rite and wrong. my colleague, yg cina2, kadang bawak bende tak halal, i rasa kalo takde cikgu melayu yg bilang, dorang kasi budak2 ni ngap aje. Well, like u say, its up to individual. The parents of this certain kids like our curriculum & teachers dats y send her kids there.

bengkung - ada orang pakai bengkung sampai satu bulan tau. and they say, perut kempis lepas tu.

my perut - kalau belum makan, kempis sikiiiiiit aje. dah lepas makan, macam orang ngandung 5 bulan.

ya lar, like my sis! tapi i tak le tahan lar!
panas lain, restricted movemt lain!

tp kan kempis jap aje! pas tu buncit balik.
lagi baik kalo buat sit up or crunches!

bettybad,
pre-nursery is for 18mths to 2.5yrs. N1 is for kids who are turning 3 that yr, then N2 for kids turning 4 that yr, and so on.

shermin,
i was told that pri sch onwards system is quite rigid, so montessorri kids got difficulties adjusting to the big change in environment/system, esp since montesorri stresses alot on freedom, self-direction, etc.

with regards to muslim kids attending church kindy, of course can attend lah. kindergarten is still kindergarten wat, it's not attending church svc. it's the same as going to christian/catholic pri/sec schs also right? doesn't mean muslim students can't go to CHIJ, St Margaret's, St Joseph's, St Andrew's, etc right? besides, me, my sis and my bro all attended church kindy (Bethesda Katong), then we went on to Christian Pri schs and then Catholic Sec schs.

zu is right, ultimately it's up to individual lah. if you are not comfortable with the idea, then don't send your kids to church kindy or christian/catholic based schs. we as parents also need to teach our kids wrong from right very early on, so that they know how to make the right decisions when they attend sch. for me it's because i have hands-on exp attending such schs all my life (total of 13 yrs) and i found nothing wrong with it. in fact the level of education i got was top-notch, esp when it came to their holistic approach to education. i have no hesitation in sending my dd to such schs. besides, they do not have any religious lessons in church kindy lah, if that's what you're worried abt.

bettybad,
so your son born in 2005? same as my dd lah, so i also sending her to N1 next yr. now looking ard for a suitable one. just some advice - start looking ard now, and if you find one you like, go ahead and register now. cause alot of good nursery schs/kindergartens get filled up very fast, some of them by june dah no more space! so better be kiasu sikit and register and pay deposit now.

Lani, wah! really?? must start sourcing for one now. next yr the kids will be 3yr olds only. tink its only playgroup. but then again, diff sch hv diff names for the class. i most prob enrol dia pat apple tree. hahahah... dekat my plc. tak yah cari2. biasa la aku nie malas sikit.

zu,
next yr it's N1 lah! i checked with the nursery sch/kindergartens already. oh yah, appletree also can go, but then it's only for 1 yr, and it's only 1.5hrs a day.

Lani thx for telling. I didn't know we can go register alrdy (ingat mcm P1 tunggu time period registration). I pon nak kena start sourcing. So far I have Learning Vision in mind but must discuss with hubby. The nearest LV for me will be at Sunshine Plaza ke apa tu at CCK.

bettybad,
is LV a childcare or just nursery sch/kindergarten? for me i don't want to send my dd to CC, cause must be there very early, like ard 8am+, then they have their meals and bath there too (if staying full day). in the end the lesson time maybe only ard 3hrs (if half day). so i might as well send my dd to a kindergarten, where each session is usually 3hrs, and they have several time slots you can choose from, eg. 11am-2pm, which is better for my dd who usually only wakes up ard 9am! another thing, CC fees are more expensive than kindergarten.

Hi moms!

Spoke too soon. Amaar cried on 2nd day and 3rd day! Macam kesian gitu! Kept asking the teacher whether I should stay with him instead. But they advise me not to. Once they distract him with some colouring/scribbling, he'll stop crying. The teachers are very patient. They have put one teacher to take care of him and allow him to join the class only when he's ready. Well, I've just got to be strong and try it out for a week. By the way, he's coming 2 this Mar.

mademoiselle,
just hang in there. it's very normal. i heard it usually takes 2-4wks for them to adjust leh! btw, your son and my dd same age tau! both born in mar 2005 some more!

Lani, the one at Sunshine Place I know ada full day and half day care for N1 to K2. I'm interested in the half day ajer.

My friend's daughter is attending the Toddlers' programme at Tamp and she seems to be loving it. A few others have also given the thumbs up for LV.

But I'm still open to other choices though.
Your Sarah and mademoiselle's Amaar are 3 mths older than my son. He was born in June 05.

bettybad
ur fren sent anak dia kat mane in tamp? Can u check it out for me pls..Still looking ard for somewhr nearby so son tak penat dgn the journey..

Lani
Guess u r rite..its all up to individual like I quote earlier.. At the end of the day, it all depends on tunjuk ajar parentskan.

bettybad,
yah, which LV does your fren's dd go to in tampines? is it the one at Temasek Poly or at Blk 460? i also heard LV is quite good, but it's CC so i don't think my sarah can wake up by 8am to go to sch! haha!

shermin,
yalah, if we tunjuk ajar our kids, then we don't have to worry too much.

Lani, actually CC will start lesson proper only ard 9.30am. Cos they still have breakfast and assembly, etc.
But i dun really prefer if Adam goes to CC for few hours. Mcm u ckp, even tho dorang pat sane half day, lesson time only 1.5hrs. Yang lain tu utk makan, mandi, outdoor etc. Tapi its best lar for self help skill like i mention before.

hi all!
I thought there's no malay here...
Apakhabar sumer...boleh arr kiter bertukar2 pendapat/share2 tips..ehh
My son is coming 18ths this monday :)

got any mummies here staying around yishun sini?..i tgh surveying pre-nursery schools ..what you all think abt al-iman or al-amin schools? any comments or feedbacks?But my son blum pandai bobal yet..only few words not even a sentence yet.

zu,
yah i agree with you. when i called a few CC to ask for their daily time-tables, i realise that lesson only starts ard 9am+, then ard 11.30am dah have lunch, wash up, outdoor play and go home. so in essence classroom time only 2.5hrs or so. and the fees are ard $400+ to $500+/mth. so i might as well just send to kindergarten, where it's 3hrs, and fees are only ard $200+ per term!!

hi nora,

i live in woodlands.

personally, i wouldn't make a kindergarten which advertises heavily as my first choice. this will put hijrah, alamin/iman (dunno which is which) at the bottom of my list.

i have pretty much decided to send my daughter to mercu childcare end of this year before i start work again next year. yishun ada mercu, kan?

Lani

what a coincidence. So when is sarah's bd? Amaar will be 2 on 17th mar. He is been asking for a party and has been eyeing the barney cake! ;)
School is still a teary affair but his teacher has feedback that he is much better on last thurs and fri and has began to join the class. But he still gets teary when he saw his uniform. Well, we'll try for one more week. but still in a dilemma. Should we stay after saying good bye or should we go? Any mums with advice?

Little fish, are you the one who's going to Krabi?

mademoiselle,
sarah's BD is 15th mar. so close! sarah will also get a b'day party this yr, cause she really loves b'day cakes now!! her cake will be Elmo. last yr it was Pooh.

you only gonna try for 1 more week?? give it at least 1mth lah. this age their seperation anxiety is quite bad, but once they get used to the sch routine they will be fine. must persevere, don't give up too easily.

and i was told that after saying good-bye must leave immed. the longer you stay the worse the crying will get. must be firm, just tell him that later once sch finish you will be back to pick him up, so he knows that you WILL be coming back later.

Lani,

yeah, it's very close. I've known a few of mar 2005 babies especially around our dates.

Thanks for the encouragement! Yeah I believe in the bye and go but my family thinks it's not the right approach. Need the assurance that I'm doing the right thing.

zu..sorri lum ambil the stuff..last friday bz sikitlah....will sms u maybe next week.....

myy dd is now in IYAD cc..yup lesson starts at 9am..but at send my dd at 7am..no choice starts werk at 8am..so far so good ...everyweek they have new lessons topic..i find their teachers are patient..for N1, i dun expect so much lessons...n now she can assists me in making MILO...as i dun expect so much from a 30mths old gal...:)

ryatie, its okie. takpe!! kalo i pi sheng siong then i cn pas tu u. tapi lom tahu bile. hahahah.

kalo u pi iyad ambik yr dd everyday wat time?
kalo i pi my mom plc i cn oso pss u the stuff.

nur,
you'll be surprised. sometimes late bloomers thend to flourish when they start attending CCs/nurseries/kindergartens!!

will she be turning 3 next yr? if so then just let her attend N1 lah, or maybe a playgroup (AppleTree is quite good and cheap), give her a chance, and just see how. she may surprise you.

I personally know a friend's son who is a late bloomer in talking and other progress. But once he start school even the mom is surprised by his progress. In less than a year, from a boy who can't talk and not sociable to a chatty one and yet polite and listens to instructions.

Don't underestimate them : )

nur,
zu and mademoiselle are right. some kids tend to flourish once they are in the company of other kids their age in a structured & caring environment under proper care & guidance from adults/teachers. that's why it's always advisable to allow these so-called "late-bloomers" to attend pre-school asap.

thanks for yr encouragement..

zu, me here quite awhile jugak but korang kan bebwal pasal anak2 korang yg kencang2 so kiter ni takde ape nak dibanggakan so senyap jela..

lani, ya my doter turning 3yrs in july 2008 but of coz she is far far different from those her age.. even now, i tot of putting her in playgroup cos ppl say if kids see other kids, they will want to do the same.. but entah eh.. dia lom bole cakap a single word nor walk so i tink susah ah..
oh ya, another thing i nak tarok kat playgroup is pasal feeding wise.. me dunno how to cook so if she goes to playgroup, got her age nye food kat sana.. hehe..

mademoiselle, i have never came across any parent with a late bloomer kid.. those i have come across are only those org dulu2. cos i was wondering are there such kids like my gerl..

nur,

my friend's son start speaking only when he was 5. Before he start school, he cannot say/pronouce a single word. He went through a lot of therapies, check ups and blood tests but the docs could not find anything wrong with him. He's now attending both special school and ntuc childcare. He has improved so much in less than a year. Now he could not stop talking.

Different kids have different capabilities. They are all special in their own way. You can try to source out a school that will suit both you and her. Perhaps you can enrol her in those PG where you can join in too. You can try for 1 term for starters.

Assalammualaikum all...
It's been a really long time since I'm in here. Anyway, just want to share that both my kiddos are in PPIS (Bt. Batok) and it's been great thus far - well, at least it has met my needs of educating my kids in both the duniawi and the ukhrawi. I love the kampung environment too. So relaxed and the best part is that the classes come with no aircon.

Amaar's kindergarten is also a very kampung environment with chicks and chickens running around. Finally, the teary affair is over. He's enjoying school now.

Wow! Chickens and all...That sound like real fun! Great that he's over the teary stage. I had mixed feelings too when my son cried on his 1st day of school. Now he can't wait to get on his school van. It sure is a relief.