Any comments on WK Tan from TMC?

Hey blueberries
Thks 4 the clarificatn. Din noe she increase her price by so much! My fren was still tellg mi tat the last time she delivered her boy (abt 4.5 yrs ago) her price was still $2k. Is it for unlimited visits?

Dun think it is for unlimited visits. All visits must be scheduled. For unscheduled visits, need to pay consultation but I think it is up to the doc whether she wants to charge you for that visit. I've made a unscheduled visit before I took up the package, but she was on leave so another doc (her back-up) saw me. I was not charged the consultation on condition that I pay for the package then

hi-hi blueberries, nice to 'see' u here too
sorry, has not been checking this thread cos' it seems to be pretty slow moving :p

hi winnie, guess blueberries has answered your queries liao. have u signed up with Dr Tan? How many weeks are you now?

Hi RabbitMum
Mi nt preggy yet. Nw TCC. Juz tot I better do some homework 2 chk out the better gynae 1st. My colick oso use WT Tan for her 2 pregnancies. She said a lot of gd things abt this doc. THe oli bad side is her waitg time can b veri long loh. So I tot I cld read up more abt her & the comments tat her patients give on the web. : )

hi Dr W K Tan help me deliver. she's good. if i got 2nd one will look for her too. her price is comparable as to others

With WK Tan's current package at $2675. How much would i expect to top up in cash after deduction from the medisave..
Gather from all the good comments about her.. i would think the extra $$ is worth it...

Hi cheepoozz,

I think you will need to fork out at least 4K cash if you choose 1 bedded at TMC. I paid $3.5K cash when I delivered there last mth. My package was $2075.

Juz found out I'm 5 1/2 wks preggy. I went 2 make an appt last wk. Was actually given an appt next wk 2 c my appointed gynae which is Dr WK Tan. Bt due 2 the fact tat I had little cramps on & off since last wk when I found out I was preggy, I asked 4 an earlier appt. As ytd was wed, I saw Dr Mag Tan. I dun hv a gd impression of her. She's so rough wif mi when she did the scanng! N she didn't even tell me when my EDD is gg 2 b! Worse she oso can't tell mi what caused the cramps. I really hope Dr WK Tan is not like her. Coz most ple say female gynaes r nt like their male counterparts who r extremely gentle. I used 2 c Dr Vincent Lee frm Raffles last yr b4 preggy. Bt he migrated 2 australia liao. I'm saw the posts here tat WK Tan is gd. I really hope she's 100 or 1000 times better than Dr Mag. Otherwise, I hv 2 find another gynae again. DO u think I shld still continue or find another?

Hi Winnie,

Rest assured, Dr WK Tan is many times better than Dr Madelene Tan. You will be in good hands under her. I saw Dr M Tan once when WK Tan wasn't free, din like her at all, somemore will scold her nurses.

I was with M Tan and I agree that she can be quite blunt but on the whole, I really find her really good. I sought her advice on the phone and she was very patient.

WK Tan is also good. She was the one who delivered me. My mum's doctor friends recommended her. My mum said she's good but told me M Tan is better cos WK Tan is getting old already.

Hi java
Thks 4 the assurance. HB & myself r giving tis clinic another chance. Hope Dr WK Tan is as wat u gals hv described it 2 b. Gentle & caring. Coz it was a nitemare ytd when we saw tis Mag Tan.

hi, i am with WK tan and heard that the cons of going to a super popular gynae is that you might be neglected. Should there be another lady delivering at the same time as you are ( if really that unlucky), you might be kept waiting and neglected even when you are also having contractions, especially if you are delivering your number 2 compared to the other lady( who is delivering her 1st baby)

this is a real scenario i heard from my sister's friend. Its horrifying to even hear that. Any experiences like this or similar experiences?

I may not have similar experience but I do share the same feeling. I was a WK Tan patient and I do feel neglected at times. I feel that she is a good an experienced gynae but queue is badly managed. Her appt is packed at 12pax per hour.

Cos of her 'popularity', she tends to overlook some things.

I did not have a pleasant experience as I was in a critical condition that she has 'misdiagnosed'. However, I prefer not to share the details here, cos I still believe that I am the unlucky one.

My take is that if you have little problems and smooth pregnancy, she will be a good gynae but if you need more attention and care, may not be as good as she cannot attend to you immediately most of the time. Q an overworked gynae.

Ooh Curl..sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience :<
i guess its really a "heng suay' thing, one man's meat may be another man's poison..
This tells us that it all really depends on us
whether we can build a good rapport with the gynae, &amp; whether we can really trust her/him.
This is all so subjective...

Thanks for sharing :> you have jus helped me to think in another perspective.
Now I have more information to access whether shes "the one"...(matrix) heehee

Will think abt it..

hi.. thanks for your opinion Curl... =) ya man. really have to think about what i really want. I really really like her. Just that my waiting time has been 2.5 hr lately. Quite painful.

I was with Dr WK Tan when I delivered my first baby in April 2006. She's careful and steady. She doesn't offer much "advice" unless she thinks you really need to know something. I feel that if u are young and don't expect a difficult pregnancy, then go for another gynae cos her queues are very very long (the longest in TMC). The reason why she's so popular is because she's apparently very experienced.

Hi ferrari,

I just signed up a package with WK Tan, I think her normal consultation charges are $90-$100 plus $30 for scan.

Her package is $2600 for normal or c-sec, same price. I started my package at 13 weeks. When u sign up for the pkg, you pay additional $75 for blood and urine test package which they will administer at every visit.

Oscar, Detailed Scanning, medicine and scans not included. You pay 50% upon sign up and 50% upon delivery. Her fees are quite expensive but she is very experienced gynae

thxs limko,

So this package includes delivery charges and the pre-natal visits ? How about the folic acid and vitamins ? Cos i had a package with another gynae, but does not include delivery charges. I gone thru all the scans and etc. But I heard Dr Tan's stitching is good and recover quite fast, tot of changing gynae as I'm unsure my current gynae if she is good with her stitching. And so far i cant find much comment on her too. A bit worried. Or can i book Dr Tan just for delivery ?

her package does not include folic acid and vits. I am not sure if you can just book her for delivery. I think then you have to just pay her the delivery price, no package. You can call up thomson to check.

My son was also delivered by DR WK Tan last June'06, she is a great dr, I trust her. very calm dr.extremely experienced. I once went to M Tan when Wk Tan was not around, I did not have a good impression of her, she was not able to tell me why I was bleeding etc, even after the scan. since then, even sometimes while waiting for Dr Wk tan, she has to go for emergency delivery, I will wait for her even if 2-3 hours later, rather than seeing M Tan. though Wk tan price is steep, its worth it! recommended friends to her, all had good comments .... She is a firm and confident dr.

hi ferrari

her pkg is now 2675 which include ur visit consultaions till u deliver, & delivery fees. but it does not include folic acids, iron pills or omega fish oil pills etc. u also have to pay for the oscar scan at 3rd mth and detail scan at 5th mth. however these 2 scans are done by dr Chang. you can double check....c3s

Both my two children were delivered by WK Tan. The second one was just delivered this month. She is extremely professional and experienced, at the same time, loving and caring. Both myself and my husband know that under her, both myself and the baby are in good hands. As long as she is still in her profession, I would never consider another gynae if I ever want another child.

The longer queue time and slighlty expensive fee (which I don't think so) are all worth it. Highly recommended!!!

Dr Tan is indeed professional & experienced. i also juz delivered tis mth via c-section cos baby too big (3.9kg). on the day of delivery, as i was neverously waiting outside the OT, she actually come to ensure me tat everthing's going to be fine, told me to relax & dun worried. her stitches is gd, wat i see is only a fine line and i actually dun feel any pain after delivery tat i dun even hav to take painkillers. And she changed my dressing herself. although she's old but still veri steady & i strongly recommend her. no regrets. worth the $$$.

i'm also under dr wk tan and due next month.
however, she is on leave next month and might not be around if my bb decides to come out early leh..
does anyone have such experience of gynae not ard during your delivery??
so sad

Has anyone been recommended a PD by Dr Tan? Will you have to request her for recommendation or she will assign one to you?

Hi Tsukushi,

Dr tan will ask u who is your preferred PD when you are around 32 weeks. If you have no preference, she will choose one for you.

michelle,
Do you know who she will normally choose? If we have a preferred PD, must he be from TMC?

Hi all, will like to ask if Dr Wong is contactable only though emails or does she give out her hp nbr as well for emergencies?

Also, can anyone share how much will the bill add up to if i were to stay in 1-bedded, including her delivery fees, antenatal fees, hospital bills etc? assuming natural w epi?

Thank u soooo much!!

hi Ihy

i dont think dr tan is contactable through emails, she is too busy. normally you just need to call the clinic and talk to the sister, and she will let dr tan know abt it and call u back for the reply. i spent abt 5-6 k when i delivered in 2006, staying in 1 bedded, her delivery fees plus consultaion is $2075 then. (exclude medication). after everything i paid abt $2500 cash in all, the rest was medisave.

now i am expecting my 2nd Baby due in june'08, her package increased to $2675, 1 bedded room charges also increased a little.

my gynae is M Tan from TMC and i gotta say she's quite good also.
my stitches are clean and i also did not feel much pain. i was able to get up n walk by 2nd day.
will go back to M Tan if i'm pregnant again.

Dr WK Tan has been my gynae since I discovered a fibroid in 2007. She delivered my 1st baby in early 2008 and I am now seeing her for my 2nd baby due in a few wks' time.

I highly recommend her. She is very professional and most impt of all, cares for her patients and is also very careful. Personally, I think it is impt to find a gynae whom you can trust. For my case, I have lotsa worries... fibroids, thyroid, poor placenta function, breech baby position, super fast labour etc... and I must say having her as my gynae reassures me a lot for I know she is the best one can have.

Like others before me have said, she is also very good with her stitches.

In fact, I think her charges are not expensive at all given her wealth of experience and commitment.

Hi ladies, my friend highly recommended me Dr WK Tan for my 1st pregnancy
Can kindly advise me on what are her latest charges? Seem like it's increasing year on year.. How old is she now btw?

This is my 2nd pregnancy, i should be around 7 weeks. However dr cant detect the heart beat.

As for my first pregnancy, I got miscarriage on the 3rd months!

Im thinking to get 2nd opinion... anyone know if Dr WK Tan is good at this kinda case?

my first was also detected with no heartbeat at 6weeks. I got second opinion with dr tan and d&amp;c by dr tan too.

I am with Dr. WK Tan for my first baby and now with her also for the second. I think she is really professional and motherly. She will talk to you gently and she is so experienced so I feel safe with her.

Has anyone done a natural breech delivery with Dr Tan?
I need to decide by tomorrow... 39 weeks now. She said she can do both, it's up to me. Appreciate if anyone has experiences to share. Thanks!

I was going through this forum about WK Tan and realized this post started in 2005 where people were discussing if she is going to retire. It's now 2015, 10 years already and Dr WK Tan is still in practice!

I'll like to share my experience with Dr Tan. I delivered my 1st boy in 2013 and recently 2015 delivered my girl. Both natural birth by Dr Tan. I only have praises for her. She's very experience and thumbs up for her stitches. My 1st took me 16 hours and she has to use vacuum and forceps but there's no additional charges. I find that her fees are not very expensive in fact her fees didn't change for the past 5 years.

She's very assuring and whenever I see her my mood changes for the better. Though her queue is always long but I enjoy the wait. Looking at the nurses walking in and out and seeing other mommies to be siting at the sofa. It's a nice feeling for me. But I'm feeling sad now coz all the monthly check ups are over for me and I'll missed visiting her clinic. However I asked the nurse if she's going to retire and she urge me to quickly have my number 3. I told her give me a 2 years break first then the nurse reply was then she cannot guarantee if Dr Tan will still be in practice. Really hope she can still be in clinic for another 5 years at least.

For my 1st baby it was so rush and I didn't manage to take pic with her and I really regret not doing so but I guess 1st time mommy so everything also blur. So this time round for my girl I make sure we take pic together. When she came in the morning we only took with her n my new born then she asked where my boy I said he's coming in the noon 12 plus and say maybe we can take a pic again later and she's nice enough to come in the noon (lucky my boy was there already) and finally we took pic together with Dr Tan and my family if 4 now.

In 2013 when I wrote a thank you card to her, she was nice enough to text me to acknowledge it and I still keep her message in my mobile.

Hi, can I get some recent reviews from mummies under dr Tan? Can share her current cost package details? And whether you would recommend her? Thank you so much.

Some background, I've gone through IVF and am expecting 6wks now. But as my IVF doc does not do delivery, I'm searching for a good alternative to switch to after 1st trem for delivery and would prefer a female gynae. Looking for someone experienced, patient and skilful at stitching for min. pain. The older reviews here are v encouraging:)