Any comment on Dr. Adrian B Woodworth from Thomson Women Clinic

Hi summer!!

What a coincidence! Wonder if our No 2 will be born on the same day again...

how many weeks are u now?

Lina,

Usually Doc A will point out to you on the screen. "baby heartbeat." "baby head"
"baby doing well." "dun worry."

Haha.. I dun know but these seem like his standard "speech". During my 1st pregnancy, he said almost the same thing too.

Pig_pig: I think milk supply shd come in soon..

Mich: confinment shd be over soon? Weather is a killer!

Ahxue,

Yes... confinement should be over soon... Weather, my god... its horrible...

Normally when it rains heavily, i get my DD to sing "rain rain go away"... Now I gotta change the song to "sun, sun, go away" LOLz

ahxue: hahaha... ya... tatz his usual speech but he's very funny cos i asked if we can eat sashimi... he told mi to go ahead cos japanese they ate for so many many decades but bb all still so cute... juz dun eat e whole fish... HAHAHA

Lina, I ate sashimi and my hb was nt very happy,then when we saw Dr Adrian he ask him if its ok, he said can...anyway u din eat alot, sg std is very high, dun worry. He said Jap babies also very cute. hheheh.

Oh yah, need to ask u gals, abt the scan for down sydrome at TMC, hows the procedure like and roughly how much ah?

eunice,
alrite tks..not sure will tmc still hv tis autoupgrade anot, esp nw they hv renovated..anyway,i tink jz stix w 4-bedded, as wat u say save the $ for bb. lolx
u really gd, can gave birth w/o epi, i wan too,but scare i cant endure the pain, will b too tired & stress to push too..

pigpig,
so u stayed at tmc for 2 nites? btw, do they let u choose what FM to give ur bb?

lina/firipy,
i oso wan to eat, but my hb dun even allow a slice..sianz

firipy,
the down sydrome scan w the full detail scan package is $216..wif FBI discount is 208.
cant rem wich scan u need to drink more water in order for them to hv btr scan, tink is the full scan..anyway the down sydrome one,is much faster than the 2nd scan, u will b more excited to c ur bb compare Dr A scan..hehe, as tmc one is much more clearer than his.

This is my breakdown for the hospital bill. I got discharged on 18/05/09. Btw, mine was auto upgraded from 4 bed to 2 bed.

When you first admit, a deposit of $800.00 is required and balance will be refunded if there is any.

So which means when I discharge, I paid $1405.82 - $800.00 = $449.42

THIS IS FOR BABY STAY IN HOSPITAL

HOSPITAL CHARGES

BABY PACKAGE 2 DAYS = $338.00

OUT OF PACKAGE ITEMS
DRUGS/MEDICINE = $15.10
MEDICAL SUPPLIES = $41.00
MEDICAL LABORATORY FEE = $20.00
PROCEDURE = $75.00
TOTAL HOSPITAL CHARGES INCLUSIVE GST = $523.34

DOCTOR CHARGES
DR LIM PECK NEO LILIAN (medisave) = $100.00
DR LIM PECK NEO LILIAN (non-medisave) = $120.00
TOTAL PROFESSIONAL FEES = $220.00

GRANDTOTAL: $523.34 + $220.00 = $743.34

**MEDISAVE AND MEDISHIELD DEDUCTION**
HOSPITAL CHARGES = -$486.96
PROFESSIONAL FEES = - $100.00

TOTAL DEDUCTION = -$586.96

BALANCE AFTER DEDUCTION: $743.34 - $586.96 = $156.38

PAYMENT REQUIRED = $156.38

THIS IS FOR MOTHER’S STAY IN HOSPITAL
HOSPITAL CHARGES

ASSISTED DELIVERY WITH EPIDURAL 4 BEDDED 2 DAYS = $1320.00

OUT OF PACKAGE ITEMS
DRUGS/MEDICINE = $106.70
MEDICAL SUPPLIES = $21.60
PROCEDURE = $75.00
TOTAL HOSPITAL CHARGES INCLUSIVE GST = $1629.94

DOCTOR CHARGES
DR LOO CHEE CHUEN (Epidural) (non-medisave) = $325.00
DR WOODWORTH, ADRIAN BENEDICT (medisave) = $855.02
DR WOODWORTH, ADRIAN BENEDICT (non-medisave) = $589.48
TOTAL PROFESSIONAL FEES = $1769.50

GRANDTOTAL: $1629.94 + $1769.50 = $3399.44

**MEDISAVE AND MEDISHIELD DEDUCTION**
HOSPITAL CHARGES = -$1294.98
PROFESSIONAL FEES = - $725.00

TOTAL DEDUCTION = -$2019.98

**ANTE-NATAL CARE**
MEDISAVE CLAIM FOR ANTE-NATAL SUBMISSION OF $588.50 * = -$130.02

BALANCE AFTER DEDUCTION: $3399.44 - $2019.98 - $130.02 = $1249.44

PAYMENT REQUIRED = $1249.44

TOTAL PAYMENT REQUIRED FOR BABY AND MOTHER (AFTER DEDUCTING MEDISAVE)
= $156.38 + $1249.44 = $1405.82

hiyo gals.. im dec mummy 2008

firipy
I did that always when i see dr A. and i remember theres one day that he get frustated cus i read so slow.. then he snatch my small booklet from me to see! hahah damn funny. then i was like .. ehhhh nonono..

I will confirm take dr A 2nd time. and i have a new nick name for him! Dr Normal! hahahah cus i remember why this and that. why here pain here and there. he will everytime reply me.. its Normal.. Its like that ah.

Ahxue about the scan. yes he always say that... "baby head.. baby tummy.. baby leg.. everything is normal" LOL everytime visit doc A my hub will repeat what DR A will say before we meet him. cus he say DR A always say the same thing. Hahhaa then when i told my HUb that.. i want to ask dr A about this. my hub reply me. DR A will say. Its like that one.. its NORMAL. LOL. he's quite funny lar. DR A will go for him the 2nd one. thumbs up!

Oh ya and he quite funny de. i told him im still breast feeding he say Aiyooo you must be so so tiring.. hehe Oh ya im happy that day i got a photo with him and my baby gal HEHEE

hahaha... firipy... ya... same thing... the 1st gynae i went sae "NO SASHIMI" but once i had 2pcs cos cant resist temptation (somemore was having morning sickness but able to eat)... hubby oso face black black... but when went to Dr A... he sae OK! Then my hubby sae i choose e gynae tat saes everything can eat... LOL...

fabbie- ur hubby is funny... HAHAHHA... but my hubby nearly scold Dr A tat day when i was doing blood test cos right hand cant find my vein n Dr A poking in n out of my arm ROFL... then my hubby tot wat happen... WAAHHAHHAA

firipy/lina..
Yap..think he's one the more open minded gynae as in the sense of food...
he also told me can take sashimi when i ask him coz both my pregnancies i loved salmon...anyway we are not taking the whole fish mah...
Lucky my mum also open minded coz she feel wat i wanted to eat is equal to wat bb want to eat hense bb will than gain weight...so she also accompany me to makan..
than got a period i was having fever etc..adrian even told me i can drink coke etc...coz if tat's the only think than can keep in my stomach(as in not puking) than ok...but also in moderate amount lor...

I have frens who are with other gynaes who say this cannot eat tat cannot eat..so end up my fren super feel like eating also dare not eat..than dunno got link anot,bb was born premature & also very small...

delfin
I stayed for 3 nights cos mine was c-sect. Yes, the nurse would check with you what fm you want to give to your bb. If you ask dr adrian, he would recommend mamex gold. My #1 was on mamex gold and #2 on friso gold.

Hello Ahxue, v coincidental hor!
OUr girls were borned on the same date i wonder if our no.2 will also be borned on the same day.
I dont see u on msn anymore le! Busy with geneve?
im about 10-11 weeks now. It's a long long way more.
Yes Dr A always say the same things. Baby head, baby's leg, heartbeat, everything ok, dont worry. Need MC or not. haha.
Now im not working liao so no need MC.
I had alot alot of sashimi when i had my no.1. SHe turned out quite big le.
Sashimi is one thing i cannot resist ah! I've been pestering my hb for a sashimi treat, hee.
I feel Dr A is v open minded in terms of food. I think in Singapore all food are safe and clean. He only warned against pineapples.

ya.. DR A anything you can eat and drink.. just
NO coffee.. tea.. Liquor.. thats all. i say COKE can? he say can. but not too much HEE

he told me also best is no need confinement! the best.. and he say it infront of my mum! hahhaha i remember that day first 2 or 3 days he scold me for not bathing.. LOL cus i say my back itchy.. i think its bcus of the epi sticker that makes me itch. faints

pigpig..
hehe..same leh...my elder wan i gave mamex gold & my no 2 took friso gold on top of BF...1st wan coz having super bad cough so only bf tat 3days in hospital coz taking medicine so dun feel good to bf bb...2nd wan i have to go half half coz bf like never enough for him,every hourly feeds...

fabbie, hahha, found another person who is like my hb, he face very blk when I ate sashimi at buffet....hahhaha! Then I ate durian rite, mil face blk blk....but my parents all say eat durian gd mah, got fibre cos I was constipated.

Oh yah, need to check the scan at TMC for down's sydrome is abdomen scan or virginal scan?

hi berrypie,
I requested for Dr A to do the test for me. I asked him and he said it's optional and done ard 36wks. Think it's abt $50. Cannot remember exact amt.

Eunice
No wonder your small "R" is now a BIG Boy le! My #2 is on tbf after my ss stablised but I always standby a small tin of fm for her just in case if my supply is not enough or my freezer suddenly breakdown then the poor gal would have no milk to drink le.

firipy
hmm..why eat durian MIL face black...it's so called a tonic for pregnancy mah..just tat those with gestation diabities cannot take lor..
my hubby can everyday buy for me...with my elder gal,i somemore got nose bleed...
Down syndrome scan is like those normal scans,just tat they will have to take specific measurements...

Pigpig..
think bcoz he was small bah,induce at 37weeks..so come out liao eat all he missed...at 1st i still try to meet up to his expectations,BF as & when he wanted..till checkup with his PD which commented his growth was really good & she also recommend me to go half BF & half FM since i was on hourly & thus no much time to rest also..so by giving his FM inbetween,both of us can rest & he can sleep better...now he's not only a big boy lor..we called him BIG DINO...hah

eunice, I dunno lo, her old wive's tale, I dun care lo, I eat what makes me feel betta cos I dun eat much after preggy. If I can eat in peace I dun care. Kinda worried abt the scan cos I have piles.....if its gonna be virginal scan its gonna be painful. Thanks for sharing!

firipy
ya..in pregnancy,most important is that you have to have enough food intake for you & growing bb...
tat's why i feel i more lucky when i have a mum who dun restrict my food intake,let me eat wat i feel like as she believe bb will than grow well..she even accompany me on my sushi trips when hubby is not free..

Wooo..having piles normally is already painful not to mention when preggy..got ask Adrian for any medications to help???

eunice, I jus need more fibre, water n better poo-ing habits hahhahaha. My mum dun restrict me too. She had super bad ms herself, so when I ate sashimi, she told my hb if it makes me feel better, let me eat n its abit only n once in awhile. But mil will nag, say cant eat sesame oil cos baby yellow.....too much durian baby will get "chou tou".......everything oso got prob. I jus said orh ok, but I dun bother.

firipy..
than your MIL should see my elder gal..my mum even went to got Mao Shan durian for me..coz i find normal durians not up to the taste..her head dun smell bad leh..hehe..born at 3.45kg... :p
I only knew of too much papaya no good...actually all stuff eat in moderation lor,excess for anything also no good mah..

better pooing ar..try drinking yakult..some mummies say it helps...

pigpig

My edd is on 25 dec.

Fabbie:

Haha yea Dr A always say the same thing. Haha. But he is one funny guy. I also asked him if I could take coke. He said sure go ahead. To him anything is fine. Except coffee, tea & pineapple. I rem the 1st time I visit him after I gave birth, he asked me if I bathed. Haha. I wonder if I stink. But I did before going to him. He told me to bathe everyday...

Firipy,

The down syndrome test is a scan.

Delfin,

I agree. I just went for the DS scan. Can see baby so clearly. How I wish I can stay in the room for a longer period of time. keke. so amazing to be able to see baby movements on the screen. This is my 2nd one so not as excited but when I see baby moving, its a really wonderful feeling!

Anyone faces sleeping prob? I keep waking up in the middle of the night. Very tired in the day. I am almost into my 2nd trimester but I am still so tired...

eunice, dats y la, dunno heard fr where, no logic.I dun bother la, but I got kwai kwai listen to not eating pineapple, coke, caffine n liang teh, chinchow. Cos 1st trimester n 1st kids, better dun play play abt takin too cooling stuff. I just eat in moderation for the rest. But I like taking strong taste food, like curry, durian, tom yum soup, beef noodle, chicken rice chilli etc.

Ahxue, I cant wait to see my bb too after hearing what u said. I always wake up in the middle of the nite cos of nitemare....dunno y. My Edd is 8th Jan 2010

mich,
tks for such detailed breakdn of ur bill..it does give me a clearer pic. btw, was ur bb given fm during ur stay? may i knw wich one r they offering nw?

pigpig,
eh,hw come ur #2 din continue wif mamex same as ur #1? i heard every year or period of time, TMC will offer different kind of FM, izit true?

ahxue,
nowadays i oso cant slp well,keep waking abt every 2 to 3 hrs..to make it worst, my aircon dn at tis hot weather period.

ahxue
Wow congrats on xmas!
so funny lor.. that he say that did you bath.. lol.. i forget did he ask me anot... hahha thursday just met him for check up. now every 6 mths must see him cus of pap smear i think. then he ask me got menses already i say no. he was like so shock. and say. still breast feeding? i say Ya.. he ask me isnt that xin ku? baby still got wake up at the night mah. i say no.. then he ask me am i still working.. i say nope. he say Ye hao ah.. since i breastfeed. lol and after i go. he say so you need MC?! i was like no need! hahah i think he too use to everyone.. keep on saying "need MC?" hahaha

seriously quite miss those days when i keep visiting him! haha

Firipy and Delfin,

I can empathise! I also woke from nightmares too. And the scariest was that one night I dreamt abt some funeral thingy and I woke at 3.13, 4.13, 5.13.. and when I woke again I was too scared to look at the clock. I know I set my alarm at 6.15am and decided to wait for it to go off before I even see the time again.

I wake at least twice per night. I dun know if this is making me tired or its the hormones thingy. I wish I can be more energetic soon.

babbiee,

Haha. yea lor. He is a funny man. Sometimes he reminds me of Mr Bean. haha. But of cos he is much better looking la. You know what? When I know that I am pregnant I am so happy also bcos I can see Dr A again! My hub asked me to cherish the time I have since we have decided to stop at 2.

delfin,

When I was there, they mention they have similac, mamail gold. The rest I can't remember but u can check with the nurses there...

Ahxue
Hahaha i think i will be feeling the same as u too! i will be happy to see Dr A again like every month or every week. hehe

Ahxue
Wow! You are going to have a xmas bb! Congrats!
I remember he said can take coffee but dont drink up to 5 cups a day! Throughout my both pregnancies, I drank a cup of coffee everyday.

delfin
My #1 changed the fm to friso gold when he was 10 months. Since the age gap between #1 and #2 is so near, we decided to let #2 take friso gold too so that once #2 reaches 12 months (which I have planned to stop bfing), she can also take the same fm as #1. This will make thing much easier for us
}

Hi all, my gynae is also Dr Adrian. He is good, but dont talk much.
my 1st child born in 2008, now expecting 2nd one also go back to him.
just to check during my stay in TMC, can i request for a lactation nurse to teach me how to breastfeed? must pay?
cos my 1st child its the ward nurse who teach but did not elaborate much, so end up i did not bf my girl cos cant latch on

adellegirl
LAst year when I delivered my gal, Mrs Wong visited me in my room and wanted me to guide me how to bf my bb. But then I told her I prefer to pump it out for her.

pigpig,
wah,mrs wong went in to assist u?? so gd ah..is she fierce? i oso wan to knw how is it like during the stay in tmc, who wld come in to teach us hw to bf?

Dr Adrian suggested C-sec for me as my first one went through C-sec and the current baby is not small according to him.

I was told to choose a date and who knows the date coincide with his leav. still cannot get an alternate date yet, any mummies in similar situation? he will get another doctor?

delfin
No lah, mrs wong is not fierce at all. I attended the antenatal class conducted by her when I was expecting my #1. Normally the nurses are the ones who would teach you how to bf your bb. They are quite good cos when I delivered my #1 and as a first-time mum, I know nothing but the nurses there were very nice and patient and helped me alot.

Hi delfin...

Wat Pig Pig said is correct lor, the nurses there are very good. If u still cannot latch on they will teach u till i kw lor.

For me, i was suprised that Mrs Wong came to teach me how to latch on lor then the nurse told me that she ask Mrs Wong to attend to me. Guess i too stupid lor... Hahaha...

adellegirl, the lactaction nurse will go ard every room to teach u how to latch on the baby. V kind and patient. The nurse i had popped by every morning.

delfin
Mrs wong is friendly.. after i gave birth she came to visit me and teach me how to latch. she very friendly. =) i got a photo of her with my baby too. haha she really know how to talk to babies who is so naughty. like mine! and im quite impress that those lil babies really do understand her!

hi mummies..
wah, so many gd comments on mrs wong n the nurses there, then i tink shldnt worry too much liao..keke. Coz i din attend any antenatal classes, really scare kelang kabok...lolx

btw,when will we discuss our birth plan w Dr A?

I was not so lucky. I rem feeling loss when the nurse passed me my girl. I didnt know how to bf. She was like," didnt u attend any classes?" I said no. She then said she would find me a lactaction nurse.

I waited for a good 20 min with a wailing and hungry baby before the lactaction nurse came. She was not very patient either.She only assisted me to latch baby one one side and left. When she came back and the baby cried, the nurse just told me straight that its a cry for hunger and she couldn't help me with it. I said I had wanted to latch on another side but didnt know how.She was pretty rough.

I went back to TCM after I was discharged as I still had prob latching baby. The service was better. Maybe cos I paid for it? No idea.

But then thats just one black sheep. Most of the nurses there are pretty nice. Thus I am going back to TCM again.

delfin,

nearer to your edd i think he will discuss it with you or u can ask him. For mine, baby was in breech position so he asked me to be prepared for caesarean.

However, baby changed position to head down during the last 2 weeks. only on the day of birth did Dr A told me about the diff pain relif (the nurse told me to take epi and passed the form to my hub but i was reluctant.). He then asked me to consider caesarean but I told him I wanted to try vaginal birth. He told me ok.

pigpig,

I cannot resist tea & coffee for this pregnancy. I dun know why.

Is it true that for the 2nd baby, he will be able to tell/estimate gender of the baby earlier?

Ahxue
Haha! I think your bb likes to drink coffee and tea. I dont know about tea cos I dont drink tea. Dr adrian said it is ok to take coffee but not too much. During my pregnancies, I only limit myself to one cup a day cos if dont drink coffee, I would have headache.

As for the gender, it really depends on your bb position. For my #1, I only confirmed the gender during the detailed scan but before that dr adrian has commented my bb looks boyish. For my #2, I was advised by him to go for amniocentesis test hence I got to know my bb gender during week 16.

Your #1 is very cooperative with you! Mine was breech all the way. Even on the day of my c-sect, dr adrian checked my tummy and my bb was still high up and couldnt turn! Sigh!!!!

pigpig,

Yea I think so too.. I seem to be craving for tea most of the time.

For #1, Doc A did mention that its probably a girl and it was confirmed during my detailed scan. Hub is hoping for a boy this time round.

I tired talking to her ever since Dr A told me that she was in a breech position. But she was an active baby. I stayed in the consultation/observation room in TMC for 3hrs before i was brought to my ward. The nurses there also bth. Told me it usually take about an hr. I hope this time round, baby #2 will be more co-operative.

Hi Mommies ,

just went for checkup last thurs w Dr A.
was told by his staff that price increases for delivry.

normal delivery= $1000
Normal delivery with vacuum or forceps = $1300
Ceasarean = $1600

anyone have rough estimate o e bill size for delivering in TMC?