Advise on SO-IUI vs IVF?

Mysunflower,

My only concern for IUI to b successful, binding assay of sperm n egg must b good , ie at least above 50%.

If u alrady done this kind of test, then no harm trying IUI.

Oh, u can just get tribestan or exsativa direct from KKH pharmacy.
No need prescription at all as those r juz supplements not controlled drugs.

Hi Rinoa,

The reason for me doing letrozole+IUI this AF cycle is becos Dr Nair wants to test my response to this drug. He is proposing antagonist cycle + letrozole for my IVF protocol which I will start next AF cycle.

Hi My Sunflower,

My HB had taken MegaMen and Cordyceps for more than 3months and there is zero improvement in his SA at all. I checked with Dr Nair's nurse and she told me these are just health supplements to improve his overall health. That is why you need to buy specially targeted supplements for his soldiers eg. Tribestan and Proxeed Plus. But of course being supplements, it may or may not work lah.

Ju, i am already on IVF leh. All the while IVF. Only this time trying IUI again since not ready for another IVF yet so while waiting, i thought still try something less invasive instead of leaving it all to natural chance lor. Greedy right?

My next try for IVF will still be ICSI but i want a more customised package for myself, like dosages of stimulation, more thorough monitoring of stimulation progress etc ... which KKH is not doing for me now. If Dr Loh can give me customised attention for next IVF, then i might stay in KKH since they know my problems. If not, i have to change le.

Ruru

I have 2 ready testimonials that after MC, can conceive again in next 1-3 months! So maybe its possible hoh? Hope Dr Nair can enlighten further. Also went to the MC thread, alot of them conceive again in less than 6 months.

Ok thanks Rinao, i go look for it at KKH Pharmacy.

Ju, got wear mask? So can keep out the dust.

Hi Rinoa,

I totally agree with you about the supplement, I also quite skeptical whether can work or not, and so expensive somemore. But becos my HB and me went to see a urologist already, and thru' the u/s, my HB cannot do the V surgery, so actually there is nothing left for him to improve his soldiers' quality lah.

I totally agree diet and lifestyle very important. Like I told the embryologist before, if my HB quits his super-stressful job, his sperm quality sure increase by 10folds man! But then, that only solves 1 side of the problem, my egg quality how? Then no S11 to do IVF, so it is really a compromise. Anyway, I like to see him do something for our baby-making project leh, not just shake legs and produce soldiers when needed. Hee...hee..

Joanne

when I did my ICSI, i told Dr Loh that I only want ICSI as my hubby sperm was 0.4%.
But during my ICSI procedure, I asked the nurse wats my DH sperm count. he said good..

But I did bought for him Fertile Aid for Men in US. His sperm is thicker than normal which is watery...
Maybe you could try Fertile Aid for Men

my sunflower
If u react to clomid.. and can O on ur own, can try IUI. Else.. I thk u shd jus forget it leh.

Anyway, u want a review with Dr Loh? If so, then better book early. I thk he's more 'open' to suggestions now leh.. esp to those who fail more than once.

But of course, the crowd there.. that's another issue he cannot control. So u might want to consider SGH.

Do rem IVF at private is not cheap hor.. I've done a 16K IVF with Dr Fong. That's why.. I change to KKH.

Wotever is ur decision, we'll all back u up from here! Rem, u're not in this alone...

And hopefully u all can cheer me coming Sat since that will be the end of my 2WW....which I think surely BFN as until today I don't even have sore boobs!

Ruru,

After wiki-ed on Letrozole, meaning it not only suppress Estrogen hormones (good for ovulation), but raise testosterone (male) hormones (many side effects for female).

Wow,not advisable to prolong eating this drug. many side effects.

And its also been linked to birth defects.

http://www.ivf1.com/letrozole-femara-infertility/

If u had an antagonist cycle done b4 w good quality eggs, why assist w Letrozole ?

Ruru,

Dun mean to sound negative.
I studied chemistry back in Uni, plus my bro a doc. so i queried alot on drugs before i take.

This protocol is pretty new n many ongoing trials taking place.
Furthermore, u recently had a successful attempt using norm protocols.

Unless its absolutely justifiable, dun b a guinea pig.

As i know Dr Nair n Prof Ng from same background, r basically researched-based gynae.

Rinoa - we know your intention. I had taken letrozole twice and so far no side effects. And of cuz the risk involved...but I think if no hope, die die also must try lor...since I never response to clomid before.

I always tell HB, I will definitely die before him with all these treatment!

Haze, ya, Dr Loh will see me next week. Then i will have the tonnes of qns for him. Heehee. I react ok to clomid so i guess will just try IUI cos really cant trust Dh sperm to swim in themselves, geez! To me IUI is still consider natural, maybe just alittle more push than natural to just courier the sperm into the womb if they are lazy to swim. So i guess while waiting for next IVF, maybe i just try IUI once or twice. You seen Dr Fong before? Ya, his IVF charges are way too much so if i do IVF, it will have to be KKH or SGH.

Ah Kat, sore boobs wont kick in so soon de right?

Ruru, i also want to improve egg quality! You know ... actually i think its more critical to improve egg quality cos eggs only a few can be harvested each time. Sperms are in millions and can be so easily and frequently harvested, even how bad, still can at least get 1 to fertilise an egg. But eggs so few, if no good, even got the best sperms also wont have good graded embryos. So if you know of any good ways to improve egg quality, teach me hor?

hazeline,
need to ask you, when will I received the bills from KKIVF.. My CPF is already deducted $4399.98. If govt co-fund is $2700.00. That means total bill will be $7099.98. Not sure if I have to do cash $$...
But plus cash $$, I think it will still be less than $8K.

Hi Rinoa,

One of the reasons why PCOS lady may not succeed with a fresh transfer is due to the high estrogen level in our hormones system due to the many mini-follicles that are being stimulated during Stage 2. This is what I learnt from internet research and also what Dr Yap told me before. Subsequently, Dr Nair told me the same thing also. That is why I told Haze that actually the chance to succeed for PCOS lady is higher for a medicated FET cycle as all our hormones are suppressed and controlled by drugs.

He wanted me to take Letrozole as this drug stimulates the pituary glands to command the ovaries to produce mature follicles and not use injections to stimulate the ovaries directly becos it leads directly to high estrogen level and OHSS(creates a hostile environment for the embryo, may affect implantation).

This is the main reason why he wants me to try Letrozole.

Yes, letrozole can only be taken under strict doc instruction and the patient must be confirmed not pregnant (hence my HCG BT yest) before starting on this drug.

Thanks for your advice, I do know you have my interest at heart. I did discuss this matter with my HB also before going ahead with Dr Nair's proposed treatment.

Hi My Sunflower,

Hmm... thru' my extensive internet research, there are some overseas IVF clinics who put their patients thru' a 3-months course of DHEA supplement to rejunvenate the ovaries. Whether it works anot, the verdict is still out. What I know is that if you want to buy online, u have to be careful becos there are many brands around with prices ranging from US$5 to hundreds $$$. But this supplement is not suitable for PCOS patient, so I never pursue the matter.

My thinking in this egg quality matter is there is no way to improve egg quality liao as we are born with a definite no of follicles, with X% good, and X% no good. In our early years, teens to mid-20s, out of 12 AF cycles, we may ovulate 10times out of 12, and of the 10 cycles, maybe 80% are good follicles and 20% are empty or poor-quality follicles. Then in our late 20's to mid-30s, we may ovulate 8-10 times out of 12, and of the 8 cycles, the ratio of good vs bad follicles could be 50% and so on and so forth....

my sunflower
I did 2 SO-IUI & 1 failed IVF with him. I moved on cos cannot afford him anymore...

Ju
I thk u dun hv to pay lah.. cos for me, 2nd x CPF 5K + govt subsidy.. also dun hv to pay. Wot cash we paid upfront earlier during stage 1.. if consider our 'cash' payment liao lor.. not forgetting the insurance.

Ruru,

I'm ok for May 8th.

Ah_Kat,

Don't read too much into symptoms hor. I also no symptoms =)

Sunflower,

Not to put down IUI lah, but don't forget if DH sperm is lazy, although in the womb liao but still need to swim up a fair bit of distance to meet the eggs leh.

Still I have to salute you for your courage. Jia you!! We will all be behind you the whole journey!

Ju,

What they deducted from your medisave is already the costs excluding the cash payments. What you paid in cash is already the cash amounts. Since the amount deducted from medisave is below $6k for first claim, you don't have to worry abt cash top-up.

My sunflower,

To add on to Ruru's pointers on egg quality,

As we age, quality n quantity of eggs drop exponentially.

The best way to stop time ticking, is to try to harvest more eggs earlier better, freeze it n do IVF.

The clock is ticking as we speak, so dun waste time taking DHEA treatment (questionable), try IUI or natural.

The above methods got no way to select best eggs, and while trying, even good eggs turn sour.

Sounds crude, but this is the harsh fact for us ladies relying on ART.

Ya agree, thats why i also think if want to do IVF, it has to be now not many years more. Meantime, still must eat well, supplements if can lor.

Hi DevLina,

I forgive u as all your brain cells must be focused on passing on nutrients to your darling honey bunny bb. We have changed our gathering date to 8th May (fri) evening at Central (Clarke Quay). Please confirm attendance?

Poll on 8th May (fri) evening
Timing: 7-10pm
Venue: Central at Clark Quay, Grains Restaurant

1. Ruru
2. Bambi
3. Haze
4. Strawbearbi

KIV attendance: Ju (depends on her bb's mood

My Dinky is getting EMO today.

Since morning till now, refuse to eat.
Now lying underneath my bed where i cannot reached him.

Hope its the weather, or mayb yesterday i gave him a haircut myself to tidy up his unruly fur, got phobia.

Actually planned to go out "gai gai" @ orchard *Sigh*

Yesterday read this article about a woman applying to court to retrieve sperms of his dead boyfriend.

As its his dying wish to have a baby with her.

Since they r not legally married, she need to apply to court for approval.

Every minute counts, as the sperms can still survive for 36 hours after a man is dead.

Amazing, lucky she made it within the last 3 hours!

ruru
so cute! U're right. I'm abit slower nw..hahaha. 8th of may sounds good for me @ the moment. Can u put down my name tentatively. I'll check with Hub if he has anything planned for me as the next day is a hols.

1. Ruru
2. Bambi
3. Haze
4. Strawbearbi
5. DevLina (On for outing unless HB has better plans in mind

Well well... Am admitted to hospital again, immediate admission after my scanning on Monday, so only had 2 days holiday @ home.. Was dilated 3cm again and also babies are growing bigger n heavier.. Now even worse i cannot even walk or wheelchaired now.. must be on TOTAL COMPLETE BED REST.. so everything have to be done on the bed.. i may go into labour anytime and baby may pop anytime also from now so gotta be very very careful.

strawbearbi,
about the cost of IVF at KKH, quite cheap leh.. and mine is all ICSI... so the total amt $7099.98 + cash abt $500.00 (consultation + lucrin+BCP+BT test).. total less $7.5K only...

Sam,
it has been tough on you all this while. Rest well for now, and jia you on your delivery. Cheering for you all the way 8:)

Hi ruru and sunflower
Oh.. We r at most fertile only for first 3mths?? Thot is first 6 mths? Then if i do soiui on june isn't it too late for the fertile period since my mc is on feb.. Cant do now due to the exhibition on may.. Sianz.. No choice.. Can only try natural now..
Btw, i wun encourage do anything immediately on the mth jus after natural mc as ur womb is still very weak.. Shd give ur womb a rest and oso cant do accu for that mth..thats wht my tcm and gynea say too.. They say if womb too weak then very diffcult to hv healthy embroy and cant implant well too.. So i think is better to take this chance to bu ur body well for one whole mth so that womb stronger and can hv high chance to succeed and can try after the next af come..

Hi ah kat and strawberri
Yes, last time before my 2ww end, i oso got sore boobs.. That is my 1st special sympton which different fr the usual af sympton..
Me too think this cycle no chance liao as no sore boobs.. Patiently wait for my af to report.. Hopefully on sun so that wun burn two days of my weekend.. Hee..
Hi ah kat
Did u measure ur bbt for this cycle? Is it on the high side for this two ww??

Sam,
Hope you have a smooth & safe delivery...

1. Ruru
2. Bambi
3. Haze
4. Strawbearbi
5. DevLina (On for outing unless HB has better plans in mind )
6. ah_kat

Strawberi: I always got sore boobs if AF is coming - now not even sore boobs - so must be BFN liao lah...decided to go back to my exercise routine. I had put on soooooooo much weight that I really hate looking at myself in the mirror nowadays.

Ruru: want to jog together near our place?

sam
aiyoh.. bambi was jus asking me the other day to sms u... wonder if u're ok.

And true enuff.. u're back... in hospital. haha

Well.. guess ur darlings want mummy to rest REALLY well lah. So u mus be kuai also... ok?

Keep us updated..

*sighs*. cried on my readmission leh.. really dun wanna stay in hospital la... i really miss home ...I hope i dun give birth now also.. hope can last another few more weeks.. still prayin hard .. let my babies grow more inside me..as womb is the best incubator...

sam
thk u mus be guai this time lah... nothing better than home, of course. But for the sake of ur darlings, tahan lor.

For multiples, I thk a few more wks does really matters.

Hi Sam,

Aiyoh, cannot cry lah, your 3 princes will be very upset and wants to come out to comfort their mummy how?

No choice lah, rest in bed and read tons and tons of magazine, storybooks etc.

Must let us know your update ok? So excited for u leh.

Hi Ah_kat,

My gosh! With the super-hot weather, I think we just stand still in the park and we sweat like pig and can lose weight w/o even jogging leh!

But no thanks lah, I get heat hives on my legs(no, not rashes) when I exercise in the open, don't ask me why, since school days like that liao. Damn itchy until faint, and cannot scratch, have to wait for the body to cool down naturally and the hives will disappear. School days bo-bian, now I only do cardio in gym. Sorry!

Hi Ah_Kat,

I go to the gym, True Fitness (used to be at Planet Fitness) at Suntec City. Don't ask me why I go so far for exercise, I also think I abit siao leh. But I have been with my trainer for 2+years, so inertia sets in and I am reluctant to go somewhere nearer (like JP!).

Hi sam
We are all here supporting u and wish u all the best .. Hv a smooth delivery.. Is it going to be c section or natural delivery? So u using hP to go online? If bored, can come here chat with us.. Time will passby faster this way..;)

sam
jia you! U can do it...take good care of urself & wishing u a smooth delivery

Very soon u'll be able to see your princes.

wow, yesterday I reach home, took shower and dinner and there I go.. Sleep... Very very tired... Walk abit also tired...

Strawbearbi,
Now I understand why you said your 1st Trimester, you can walk far and feel tired...