Advise needed please! Will you enroll your child in childcare?

choyagal

Can I have advise from mommies? that if you have only 01 child and you have your in-law or parents to look after, will you still enroll your child in a childcare?

pls share with me your experience
what are the pros and cons if I do and do not.

thanks alot for help

Watz the age of ur child?

To me, the pros is tat ur child can learn to socialise. Tatz v important for their development.

The cons is of course they always fall sick. But this is oso a way to build up their immunity. (i dun mean hfmd those type.)

For me, i chose to send my boy to kindy instead.

hi sungrapes,

my gal is 33mth now

in fact I have enrolled her in PCF N1 as all cc are on waiting list.

will you send your kiddo to enrichment class? since there's alot of free time

When i did my research for cc. They hv half day and full day right? The price is almost the same. So no pt sending to half day. And i wanted the pm session cos y make the kid suffer by waking them up and deprive them of rest? But the most of the proper lessons held in the am session, by pm, after naptime is more of free play and some cc let the kids watch tv, which at home oso can watch and aw, is not the best thg to do right?

My situation is my parents can take care of my boy. But u noe, grandparents really spoil the kids. I dun wan a spolit brat esp during their formative yrs. evthg he wants, he will get...cannot let them grow up like tat.

So i send him to church kindy, cos tatz our faith. I went to those montessori type and GUG type, those high end presch. And i find the life too gd for kids. I believe in gvg them abit of hardship so they dun think all schools must be aircon. All toys must be new, all food is catered, all toilets has auto flush etc.
This is just my thinking and upbringing for my kids.

Nw i converted to sahm since last yr. so i hv alot of time to be with them. My childhood was spent without my parents ard me. So im determined not to do the same with my kids.

My elder is in k2, next yr pri sch. So really making use of my time to be with him b4 he gets into THE RACE. I delayed any enrichment for him till the last min cos i want him to enjoy his childhood. Only this yr 2nd term then i let him go for chinese class cos my chinese sucks. But i did let him go for phonics in k1 cos i dunno hw to teach phonics. K1 is considered late alrdy. But nv mind when the time comes then see wat can be done.

As u can see, im quite bochap. I just wan my kids to be happy not stressed. Once they start pri sch, they and me will be stress enuff. So i enjoy 1st lah!

This is my way. Many mummies r different.

Hi, my #1 enroll in CC wen he rch 19 mths... he is already gg 2 next week.. and he now coming back humming songs to me and dance..
my parents are both not working and are looking after my boy since birth...but i still put him in CC, i tink it will benefit still as gg CC, the kids will learn alot of things... and if you have only 1 child, it is gd to let the child have some explosure and mingle with other kids.. they can learn sharing too..

Hi choya gal,
I would suggest to go for it. I believe there r more good vs bad. 1st, your child will learn lots of self help skills which she may not learn at home. Self help skills will be w your child till adulthood. Since she is going 3 it is high time u need to finda good and comfortable child care for u.
High fees child care may not necessary be good . it is the teacher that matter. My both children had been to the same Montessori cc ( which is the most expensive in my estate )the younger , not a good experience though however I have changed my child in another cc. Most importantly your child must be happy, which they usually do as they have many friends to socialise while in cc.
Nevertheless the 1st 6 months , the child may catch some flu or so which is inevitable.
In long term it is definitely beneficial as they will learn gradually from play to academics which are gear towards P1.

hi..

i encourage u to send your child for sch either 3 hr or full day.

like the rest, its to develop the child social skills etc.

your child will definitely love school
just like mine and the rest of mummies here

hi sungrapes,

i think we're quite on the same page. ya about the life being too good, and all that you've said hehe.

only thing my son is only 1 year old now, and I'm thinking of staying at home. Regarding schooling, I do not know at what age should I send him and to cc or kindy.

To all mummies, your advice?

Familyfriendly,
The min age is 18mo for cc and some kindy is at least 2yo.

My #2 is 22mo and i still haven got ard to sending him to any presch yet. He is very ready to go to sch i can tell. But i cant find one i like. I prefer kindy to cc. There isnt many kindys ard tho.

I suppose my last resort will be those playgroup types of classes offered by cc.

Sungrapes, thanks for answering my query

Ya I guess I will wait it out and see how my boy develops first. Anyway I haven't started staying at home and this needs time to observe.

which area are you staying? my friend's child goes to chinese kindy @ outram, not bad i heard.

Im at katong /joo chiat area.

Another concern is his napping routine. He naps ard 11ish to 2ish, so pm session is out unless I tweak his naptime. But I prefer both my kids to zz early since ds1 is in am session.

Most cc n kindy, am session is fully book. So u need to book earrly and put ur name down on waiting list now. If not by the time u wanna enrol him, u will find no vacancy left.

U may wanna consider this two points as well. U can start to enquire abt their open house dates and enrollment timeline.

Ya i know most moms want their kids to attend the AM session, but it's totally understandable. That would be my preference too.

If we book, do we need to place deposit?

Oh, that area St Hilda's Kindy is good. but then probably full by now.