Advice Needed - Getting Maids

ay33

I'm really headache & no luck in hiring maid. Maybe bcoz i'm 1st time employer. I've chg 2 agencies & spent abt $1K on the agt fees & maids insurance so far. (in 4 mths time)

After i got pregnant, i hired the 1st maid in May. Her biodata showed 29 yrs old ex m'sia (Indon). When the maid was with me for 3 wks, she said in fact she was oredi 40 yrs old & the no of children in her biodata also not true. She requested to use my hp to call home & she cried alot for homesick. I sent her back.

The 2nd agent recomm by my fren, highly recomm a filipino ex hk wrk for 4 yrs. When she came, she nid to write down while my mum showed her how to cook. I hv juz given birth at this time. She can't handle the sterilizer (though biodata reflected she's 'expert' in handling bb) & baby nappy. Super slow & always absent minded. She could even put the soiled cotton ball back to the cotton ball container after cleaning bb poo poo. Sent her bk to agt after 6 days with us. Then i got this current free replmnt, ex sg 2 yrs & ex hk 6 yrs, we thought with her experience, life wld be easier. She was ok in the 1st wk, she cooked dinner for us the 1st day she arrived. We felt relief. 2 mths later, she started to show attitude. She would not listen to a single thing that my mum told her, pretended not to understand. She so 'independant' that she always do things at her own way & always talk back or raise her voice. This evening i asked her to sweep the floor , she said 'no time'...Even i dare not tell my boss i have no time when a task is assigned.

If we chg > 4 maids in 12 mths, hv to attend some lesson. But with maids like these, how to tolerate for 12 mths ??? Moreover, recently there were more child abused/death cases that linked to maids, how can we not be more cautious ? I'm in the midst of getting the 4th maid (Indon), can anyone kind enuv to share how to select a good maid, how to handle them & any reliable agencies around ? Many many thanks !

hi AY33,
I understand how u feel. I also recently got my first maid and am very inexperienced in handling her. Should I be stern, friendly, strict. chin chye? I don't even know what ground rules I should, except to tell her the values I treasure in my household eg. intergrity, honesty..blah..blah
I am very very blessed to have a helper like her. Although it has been 3 months, she has never once showed me any negative attitude and she is really experienced in taking care of babies. I am really blessed because I remember I was very bo-chup when choosing the maid and left everything to the agency.
The agency is really good. It is called Graces Agency, It is one small agency and the service is very personalised. The staff there really take the trouble to listen to your needs and recommend accordingly. I was recommended by a fren who also got 3 very good maids from them. They even call periodically to check that things are ok between me and my maid. 62935232. Talk to Fei. Thumbs up!
Hope the info helps.

by the way, i think the agency fees are a bit high as compared to other agencies. I cannot remember exactly how much, but DH said that so long we get a good maid, he does not really care about that little difference in agency fees.

Hi agape2208,

Can you share with me your experience with Graces Agency? you have got an Indo or Filipina? Can you PM me to share some details? I am looking for a maid to assist my parents to look after my DD & nephew so would want to hear some of your experience. Thanks

hi agape2208,

can you share your experiences with Graces Agency too? I am like AY33, currently going to hire my 4th maid. Please PM me...

Thanks a million :)

I got my maid from JDM. So far I paid about $578. Previously got 2 Indon maids from Familyhelper. Sucks. Then I change to JDM. Mostly is experience in their own country. Specialise on Filipino.

<font color="0000ff">hi agape2208,
i'm interest too ...
planning to get a maid end of the year before the arrival of my no 2..... please advise</font>

<font color="0077aa">poshies

u oso getting maid arh.. den can try my maid agency oso lor.. so far all family maids oso from them</font>

oh.. but i was told the additional ins (runaway & pregnancy) is 90 plus for two years... and if really happens, only pay 250

hi, do u all leave ur bbies with maid at home or with other family members around?
still not sure to hire a maid or let bbsitter to take care of my 4mths old galgal

hi JoJo,

for mi, i will never leave my 14mths old son alone at home with maid.. must & better to hv other family members around..

Furthermore, ur galgal is at a tender age of 4 mths old..

hi jojo, if possible to do the hsework by urself and tk care of bb at nite, get a bbsitter instead..less worries...

recently a lot of scary incidents associated with maids & bb, better get reliable people to look after bb. My mum is staying with me so i less worry. But my maid & my 5 mths old bb are sharing the same room. Btw, i hv selected a 23 yr old indon maid to replace the current filipino maid. Pray hard tat this maid can be a real helper...

hi pinktweet,

thks.. yup, i am aware of that thread..
have been reading it more than posting comments cos i hv yet to hire a maid.. still looking around..

will definitely share my experience in tat thread once i hired one..
Also, sure hv alot to ask u all who has more experience than mi..

Like to chk, if Maid have toothache and like to visit dentist, who should be paying? maid salary or we pay?
Normalyy, I only pay for the medical chk up.

Hi all, I have a good maid to transfer. She is pleasant looking.
Reason becos my boy miss the 3 yrs old maid so much, i got no choice to ask her back. Otherwise, he keeps bullying my baby girl who is 5 mths old. Been changing 3 maids since she left in Aug. Used so much $$ to get new maids but my boy just dun want to play with them. So rather to waste $$ again, we decided to use $400 to attract our old maid back.sigh.

This current one is smart as she remembers things and understand things. She is with me for one month but has worked for my director auntie for 5 mths.

She can played with my baby girl and make her laugh.

SMS me 97657558. Hope to settle fast as I hope my old maid can come in before school opens. So that she can bring my son to school.

Dear All
I hope someone here can assist me.

Can I ask : when the agency says they give you FREE replacement - what does it actually mean?

For example, i have a maid from agency ...maid has been with me for 1 month but she cannot make it ... cannot handle kids, cannot cook, cannot speak nor understand simple english ...all these despite her 3 years work experience in Malaysia!
So I have since asked for a replacement maid ...
Can i ask
(1) what will happen to this current Indon maid i intend to give up?
(2) if agent cannot find her a suitable employer, who has to pay for her air ticket home?
(3) i know i stand to lose the Bond Waiver &amp; Medical insurance which i paid $204 ... but on top of losing this money, do i stand to lose anymore money ? Must i pay for her ticket home or agency pay ? Can't be the maid pay cos she has no money ...

Can anyone enlighten me ? Thanks very much

Hey there.

Free replacement means you can get another maid if you found the current one not suitable (must be valid reason). You do not have to pay the agency fee.

The current indon maid if you send her back will be a transfer maid. They will try to find suitable employer for her. You will not be liable for her ticket home. (Better to check this, but I am quite certain). No you will not lose anything. You must look at your contract with agency,some have clause and timeframe.

Hi, I am also starting to look for a maid to assist my wife in taking care of my daughter (due end Apr). I had read on a lot fo websites, forums, on bad maids and agencies. I had also read on the maid blog from tamarind, and found it very useful. But problem is, I really do not know which agency to go for, since there are thousands of them all around SG.

Any recommendations? I just need the agency to be truthful and sincere, and not those who just want the business to be done with get over. I will be going for new maid as I had heard enough complains of transfer maids. And I know that it is a by chance thing if I get good or bad maids.

need some urgent advise..
i'm in the process of signing up for a new PH maid. There is this clause in the contract between employer and maid and that is: If we decide to renew the contract with maid after the 2 yrs, we need to give her 14 days Home Leave (paid leave) and an air tix to go back PH or $400 (in replacement of the home leave and air tix). Is this correct?? anybody can give any advice? tks!

Hi there, I need some advice on the technicalities of changing my maid. My current maid will be going back in June. Her contract has already ended. It was quite unexpected and we like her alot, she feels bad too, but she has no choice. She wants to recomend her friend to take over.

I want to hire her friend. She's currently working in Singapore. So, how do I go about changing this maid's work permit to be under my name. Also, anything I need to take note of? Do I need to go through an agency?

Hey Eric,
I found it so difficult too. But I still believe it all boils down to luck. However, I went to Raymond Maids and found them reasonable and sincere.

Hey Cloudz,
Yes, usually it is true with maid whom you want to extend the contract. But since the contract will be between you and the maid(the agency will no longer be involved), you can negotiate with her but that will be what is stated in the clause.

Hey 2kidsmommy,
You would first need to check out about the maid working in singapore, as another maid? or what? Find out first before proceeding. I feel better to pay the agency (any one) a token sum so they can settle for you cos there are some paper work involved.

I am Sporean living in USA. Is there a way to hire a maid and get her to come to USA? How does that work? Any thoughts?

You may try Best Home at Bukit Timah, Ms Pauline. This agency will send the maid home if they are really very bad, no recycling. Besides Pauline is fantastic, although she is very busy, she keeps counselling my maid if i encounter problem with her. Can mention Mrs Tee recommendation and I am sure she will provide you with good service.

Hi, i am also first time engaging a maid.. Problem with maid as well as agency (it my SIL 's frd)Even when the agency is someone you know that doesnt mean everything will go well.I trusted them so much and also being a first timer hiring maid there are a lot of rules which i an unsure. Refused to give me a 1-1 exchange. Got no choice but to explore other agency and thanks god found one, fees cheap &amp; offer home to home svs. I dont even have to go down to sign the document, everythings was send to my hse. And most importantly she tried to solve my problem by calling MOM and they advised her how to go about getting an additional head count for me. Thanks god. CUrrently my case is being review and I am waiitng for them to revert back. I would highly recommand this agency.. PM me if you want their contact.

I intend to renew my filipino maid contract after this one expires in May 2010. She would like to go back for 2 weeks home leave before she return to work. Can anyone advise what i need to do to arrange for the home leave and renewal?

I heard it's a must to go thru agency due to the new restrictions. If so, what's the market rate for this processing?

Most appreciate any advice.

Hi there, I initially allowed my maid to go back for home leave as well, but after doing some research, I realised that it is rather expensive. You need to go through and agency who will charge about $400 plus (if I remember correctly). On top of that, you still need to pay for the airplane ticket. Plus I am working, so I still need to take leave. I don't know what is the industry standard.. if employer has to pay for both the ticket and the agent fee, but it turned out to be too expensive and inconvenient an affair so we managed to persuade my maid out of it.

BTW, Indonesian maids don't have this problem at all.

Hi I am new to this thread and have been reading up and doing my homework as I would like to get a maid (pref Myanmar maid, as I have heard many good reviews from friends about Myanmarese and have a part-time cleaner from Myanmar who can help me train her).I have a 11 month old and am expecting my 2nd one who is due in Aug. Kids likely go to infantcare and childcare. I just need assistance at home when I am home, esp cooking and housework. Anyone has any experience with Sinar Mas maid agency or Success Manpower Agency?

Anyone with advice about Myanmar maids to share?

hihi, cos my family's moving to another country to stay for 2 years soon, I'm looking for another employer for my helper. Anyone looking for a smart fili helper? she cares for my baby in the day at my mum's place and can cook simple chinese food, like soups and stir frys.

Do drop me a note at [email protected] if u r keen, or call at 91548677 for more info. We can only let her go in August tho cos I still need help till we go off..

Anyone can advise if I should pay for my maid's home leave airticket as she has just renewed her contract with me, about 4 months till now. She didn't take her home leave in her last contract and i've paid her the amount equivalent to the airticket.

Question now is, she intends to take home leave in Dec, wic make her not even a yr into the new contract, am I liable to pay for her airticket?

Any one can advise?

Sammi,

U're not liable, u've paid her the air tix amt aldy. U can treat it as a bonus for her. I guess she is a good helper to u if not u wont renew with her liao right.

Hi Shu,

May I knw the biodata of your maid to be transferred?? please email me at [email protected], thanks..

need a good n reliable n OBEDIENT maid to care for my 2yr old n 6 yr old while i go to work...hubby always outstation, i think i wan collapse from stress liao.. haha... =)