Advice Needed: Any Mummy who put baby in infant care centre ?

lol..i assume my bb will be like this for the first few days at new IFC.at the current IFC, everytime i drop him,he cant be bothered to say bye bye or look at me cos he busy playing liao.keke..im one of the early birds in IFC cos i work at 8am.ya, some teahcers come late n go home late or else they will be like working 12 hrs..then when one bb starts to cry, others will follow.

Lina,
my bb on similac.no wor, he dun have watery stool.in fact, sometime his stool is quite hard cos he doesnt like to drink water.

Sophia,
Not much supplement to give for infants.more for bb above 1 year old..the vit c tat i bought is suitable for 6 mths & above.

sophia,
like wat janiemin say, earliest is 6 mths old then start wif vit c. other supps frm 1 yo.
hv u arranged rota virus & pneumo vaccinations for ur twins? these 2 were the must-dos for me when bb was born.

the other time i was at gnc, think the saleslady was saying there r other supps > 6 months old bbs can take. sophia might 1 2 check w gnc, then talk to pd 2 make sure, cos my bb's doc said colustrum (take a little bit) is ok.

sophia
good 4 u. if the twins can adapt well, then u also more fang xin when u go back to work. dun worry too much k.

janiemin
also dunno is it the similac. now my boy is on half isomil and half similac, no more diarrhoea. plus fibre from solids actually helps in giving him abit harder stools so no more watery stools.

btw ladies, bbs hv 2 eat cereals 4 how long then can give porridge huh? the elders (aunties, ILs, my parents etc) pressurising us 2 feed porrige, sian ...

lina,
i'm still giving my 9mth old cereals. will only intro porridge after 1yo.
meanwhile, i dun bring bb over during mealtime, then i bluff dat porridge given during lunch.

last nite, i tried giving bb abit of porridge to try. she dun like. haha

just an update. today i went around 830. All seem to be settled down. Maybe like what the teachers say its monday blue. bb tend to be more cranky.

i alway mix up the IFC @JP with Safra.
Mine is @ JP.

Hi Lina,

So far she is alright, tend to look around when she first went in. She did cry but the teachers seems to be able to handle her.

Wa, seems the thread is moving fast fast hor..

Aiyo, I'm actually on MC for 2 weeks. This week still resting at home. Will be back to off next week. Haha, ganna Chicken pox from my boi. Aft he recovered, my turn..thought I will not be so unlucky since it's alry 2 weeks. Heng not alot of pox, cos' immediately I suspect, I went to see doc and doc give the antiviral.

Oh my boi went to PG on 1st March alry. Actually we did not stay inside the centre with him as we know if we are around, he would want to cling to us. I also cannot go in lah cos' although I've recovered but so not so good to contact with the kids lah. Yah, he cried when we left but after awhile ok liao..but when we fetched him home, he cry and cry non stop and I guess he was angry with us cos' he don't wan us to carry him and lie on the floor and cry..aiyo, heartpain. But after he cry out it's ok. The 2nd day, he is ok liao. The teachers told me they were surprised he can adapt so fast and no problem for him. Oni thing is he is still young, will need more attention and care. I glad and felt relieve after hearing that. Probably he was in the IFC previously, so it helps bah.

The teachers bringing the PG for a excursion to Botanic gardens tomorrow. Hope my boi will enjoy the trip.

New mummies on this thread, hope ur little ones adapting well in ifc.

Janiemin,
Yah, I 've used up all my cc leave alry. This week still on MC, so heng lol no need to take extra leave.. So I will fetch my boi back early.

As for the Vit C. I usually put inside the fridge for longer storage. U know the school also give 1 teaspoon cod liver oil every morning..I guess is to build up their immunity bah.

I also bought but since the sch give, I give on weekends only.

Sophia,
can give supplement like vit C if ur bb is >6mths, cod liver oil >1 year.

bluzcorner,
For the rice cereals, if you've just started for ur bb, may it very diluted as initially bb on weaning stage, so they just learning to be fed from the spoon. Can start with 1 to 2 spoons 1st, then slowly increase.

Lina,
My boi was on Friso initially then I switched to similac but I switched back to Friso cos' he also got watery stools after taking similac, maybe the fibre contents in similac too high.. but I think maybe he's not suitable to take good brand milk powder..haha

For solids, actually my boi starting with porridge when he was 7mths..he' started well with cereal, so I asked the IFC to start with porridge also, by around 8 to 9mths, he taking 2 solid meals a day.

When he turned 1 year he's taking 3 solid meals a day.

good morning mummies

snowyee
i thot fibre will harden stools leh, no?
three days half isomil & half similac, yday, my boy seems 2 hv mild diarrhoea again =( no problem when he was fully on isomil last week. aiyo, i dunno what to do already. will monitor 4 two more days, if diarrhoea persists, might really 1 2 change milk powder *sigh*

my boy slow wor. he had mild diarrhoea for 2+ weeks after he turned 6mo, so solids were intro only when he was 6mo 3 weeks. so far, he has taken to solids well (he's now 7mo 1wk old).

i wanted 2 start porridge when he's like 8.5mo cos guess his body needs sometime 2 adjust. but relatives keep harping, heng my boy is in IFC & not taken care of by any of them. If not, i dread 2 think what they'll b feeding him. worse is they keep comparing him 2 his cousin gal, tis bb gal 1mo younger than my boy. taken care by grandparents, she started solids at 4+ mo (i dunno y so early), now drinking juice and eating porridge. relatives (including my own parents) say i ill-treat my boy, not feeding him enuf, that's y development so slow (he cannot sit up unsupported yet) and not chubby like the bb gal. wah, stressed ...

btw snowyee, u didn't hv chicken pox b4 when u were younger? so r u one of the unlucky few who kena 2x

juju
tough lah dun bring him over during mealtime. if i'm late in bringing him over, my relatives will come my house to pick him up de. actually, they sayang my boy alot, but u know lah, older generation so really really tough explaining things to them. abt this feeding issue, is something that we cannot agree on.

Lina,
my bb was introduced to porridge at 6 mths+ in IFC.I din give porridge at nite, I gave cereal as i lasy to cook lah.yes, older generation will give porridge but its lumpy so u have to grind the rice to smaller grains.unlike cereal, add water will do.

sherine,
glad to hear bb settle down.

snowyee11,
u mean u suspect n asap go jab antiviral.will tat work? i had chicken pox before but very mild one, oni a few and nt itchy one.tat time, no chickenpox vaccine n Dr told me i may have it again..i lasy to go jab for prevention..

my IFC got HFMD in kindergarden, mummies be careful, lately HFMD rising..

aiya,older generation are like tat..very fan hor.
my mum always ask me to feed more, i said i feed but its depend on the bb if he wants to eat mah.my bb is a titbit & cereal lover..when can they start to eat solidse.g rice like us ah, waiting for tat day.

snowyee11,
u still prepare porridge at nite for bb.why dun eat rice?then save effort to cook porridge..keke, im a lasy mum.

juju
yes, very proactive.
if we dun visit them, they'll visit us. i always jokingly tell my cols - weekends always open house at my place ever since bb is born.
my dad is so attached to my boy, he visits during weekday evenings as well sometimes!
my mum brings us dinner about 3x a week on weekdays.

ILs will come over to my place, every weekend without fail. My aunties as well.

So, good & bad lor. Good that so many pple sayang my son. bad when they try and impose their ideas on us, and 1 us to do things THEIR way.

hey, now thinking about it, they might visit less when my son gets older.

lina,
ya, good in a way. additional help & free food! hee...
ur son is the only bb now? ur family look close knitted. very heartwarming to see

lina,
ur bb must be the first grandchild tat why all so excited..i will visit my parents once a week during weekend, and my PIL once a week as well.so weekend is visiting time..best lah, ur mum bright food for u..

helo juju & janiemin
u r correcto! my son the 1st grandchild my side (hubby side he's the 2nd, but my nephew in Melbourne), his little bb cousin gal (my side) born one month lata then him. however, my aunts took care of me since young (i stayed tog with them), so def much closer 2 me.

i also think v sweet of my mum 2 bring food 4 us =) we r blessed in tt sense, cos when MIL comes over during weekends, she does alot of household chores. so, really no complaints there.

janiemin
4 us, when we do visiting, it's usually fortnightly.

anyway 2 encourage bbs 2 sit up on their own huh? my boy does the popping up of the butt, then he will do the one-side sitting (half butt touching the crawling mat), then sian liao goes back 2 crawling. how ah? anyway?
when hv support (stool or sofa), he tries 2 stand! aiyo ...

I'm new on this thread. I'm a first time mum and not sure abt IFC. My 3+ months gal is going to IFC on 15 Mar. Can any of you advise what to look out for?

Hi hi.. By chance saw this thread..hope u dun mind me joining,, Saw your postings and find many similarity- mil, house visits, IFC etc.. My boy came in 2008 and we placed him in IFC when he was 8 mth olds as there were simply too much conflicts on how to take care fr mil.. Like one of the mummies mentioned, it's better to go IFC. There r professional caretakers to take care but downsides can be the baby tend to fall sick easily no matter what precautions taken. And came unwelcomed remArks fr mil that her grandson is falling sick..sigh!! But I never regret going for IFC..

One mummy posted that there might be less visits when the child get older. Wrong leh for my case.. I got more house visit I stead simply the old folks find the kids even more cute to play with as he starts to gabble and do gunny things. Goodness!

Hi ztaciep,

welcome! hmmm..... wat to look out for ar? hmm....when i first sent my gal to ifc, d moment she comes home, i will bathe her n check her from top to toes...haha.... cos i duno if d ifc teachers got bathe her properly or not.

then i will observe if there is any change in her mood or behaviour cos baby can't talk won't tell u wat they been thru so i guess their behaviour will tell more or less.

actually so far for my gal, luckily everything is ok lah, nv fall sick then seems quite happy at ifc, so i think is ok.

janiemin, lina, snowyee,

thks for the suggestion. i hear gd reviews on healthy times, i think i will give it a try. How abt fruits? how old then can start feeding fruit puree?

Bluzcorner, thanks for ur advise! Ok, I shall do the same. How long have you put your gal at IFC? Do you give breastmilk to them for feeding? I'll still be feeding my gal bm when she's there, very scare they mishandle my precious milk leh. :p

Hi bluzcorner
I gave fruit purée when my boy was eight months old. He started solids when abt six mths plus. I started with rice cereals, then fruit purée, then veg/root purée.. Then rojak purée - cereal mixed with veg purée or root purée. It depends when u start your baby on solids. If your baby can swallow well then u cAn give a little of fruit purée for a start. Can do apple, pear.. These are less allergent..rem to give more water or breastmilk when giving these purée bec of the fibre. U dun wan your baby to end up constipation.. U can steam the fruits and then mash it up.

Hi bluzcorner
I gave fruit purée when my boy was eight months old. He started solids when abt six mths plus. I started with rice cereals, then fruit purée, then veg/root purée.. Then rojak purée - cereal mixed with veg purée or root purée. It depends when u start your baby on solids. If your baby can swallow well then u cAn give a little of fruit purée for a start. Can do apple, pear.. These are less allergent..rem to give more water or breastmilk when giving these purée bec of the fibre. U dun wan your baby to end up constipation.. U can steam the fruits and then mash it up.

ztaciep, I also recently put my twins at IFC. They are 14 weeks this week. Just like LC, too many conflicts with MIL thus the solution for IFC. I also bath my kids like bluzcorner when they come back. I also want to check if there are any 'unusual' marks on their bodies. Can never be too sure. I'm also BF my kids though very little now as I'm weaning them off. In the morning, my hubbi brings them to IFC with my bags of BM packed with ice. The teacher will then pack them into the fridge. Label your bags and give clear instructions how you want them to use the milk. For my case, I tell them to mix half and half with formula and to finish the BM asap. If the teachers are not sure, there is a notebook given to us for communication. So they write their questions, comments inside the notebook. Otherwise, when I pick up my twins later in the evening, the teachers will also keep me updated.
So far, my kids have been there for a week. I can see that the teachers take good care of the kids there. (I went over on the first few days to spy on them). When my twins come home, they are not fussy and don't cry. In the morning, they are also smiling and seems happy to be in the car to go to IFC.

Just came back to work today. After "lua" at home for 2 weeks, now feeling lazy to come back..hee

Lina,
Ya hor, fibre will harden stools hor..hmm maybe my boi not suitable bah. Nw he had constipation problem. His stools are hard..started to potty train him but he don't want..dun know wat to do..Hopefully it's just temporary maybe because of new school environment. He also kanna cough and flu last Friday..haiz heartpain to see him fall sick again.

Ya, my boi enjoyed the excursion at the botanic gardens. Proably he tired out himself after the trip and fall sick..

Wa, ur family ties reali very close..and ur mil very nice, still helped u to do household chores..not like my mil, only got problem then look for us..

I think the bumbo helps to support their seating posture. Dun worry, my boi can sit unsupported only around 8mths.

janiemin,
I never had chicken pox before. Thought I will not get it..haha still kanna from my boi. Oh I did not took the jab , I took the medication instead. I think once you had chicken pox before, may not have it again as you already had the immunity against the virus. That's what doc told me.

I thought cooking rice more troublesome for me cos' I still have to cook the soup. Wait till my boi doesn't want the porridge, then no choice, have to cook rice..

Hi Sophia, thanks for sharing! My gal was at 14 weeks last Saturday, meaning she is about the same age as your twins! Wow! Not easy to handle twins right? I have one and I'm already so exhausted. Did you freeze your BM? I have already started to freeze my BM for my gal, then I was told to portion my BM in bottles before bringing them to the IFC, so the teacher will just warm the bottle for my gal. Well, good to hear that your twins are adapting well to IFC. I hope mine will too when she starts next Monday. Kinda nervous for her. Btw, did you label your twins' clothes as well? Do you provide long sleeves shirt and pants for them since IFC is fully air-conditioned? How many sets of clothings do you bring to IFC daily?

hi snowyee
thanks 4 re-assuring me. tis mummy here abit gancheong liao, hehe

hi ztaciep
juz to share:
- nope, i didn't label my boy's clothes, juz milk bottles, bath towel & handkerchief;
- long/short sleeve shirts & pants, i understand tt the centre will regulate the aircon temp de, thus don't think it'll get too cold; if really concerned, l/s sleepsuits also can;
- on a daily basis, i provide 4 sets of clothes, 6 handkerchiefs, 2 bibs, socks

the IFC should hv given u a list of things 2 bring on the 1st day actually, perhaps u 1 2 request from them? oh, if ur gal has a comfort item, then bring it as well.

hope ur gal can adjust well in the IFC. dun worry too much ok.

hi lina
thanks for the info.the IFC didn't give me anything leh. during the orientation, they just verbally told me roughly what to bring. being a first time mum, i'm rather confused. :p Maybe i will get the list from them tomorrow.

for the 1st few days, i will be staying there with my gal since i havent return to work yet. just want to make sure she can adapt well.

hi ztaciep
u're most welcome. so now we know u're called pei pei =)

hmmm, if no list then u can use mine as a rough guide bah, i believe sophia's prolly bringing similar items on a daily basis, but hers will b x2 so heavier bag (yes, & i forgot 2 mention paci if ur gal is using). dun worry abt BM, d IFCs r usually v careful when handling BM (not tt I'm still b-fing lah, but i've seen how my boy's IFC handle other mummies' BM)

for labelling hor, can use waterproof non-toxic marker/sew/or u can check WTS/BP threads for labels. i think a mummy has mentioned the WTS/BP thread here b4 but i can't remember who.

cot cover also hv 2 bring wor, if can't find d right size outside, u can check w d IFC if they sell.

if u 1 d IFC 2 take note of anything, hv 2 put down on communication booklet, they handle many bbs so might 4get if u juz tell them verbally. nice tt u'll staying w ur gal 4 d 1st few days, i didn't do tt when i put my boy in, juz pick him up earlier in d evenings 4 d 1st week. seriously, since we put our bbs in when they're so young, more often d mummies r d 1s w separation anxiety, not d bbs =p

oops, such a long post. hope not 2 long-winded. take care mummy, don't worry.

ztaciep,
on daily basis, my gal has 3 sets of clothes, 2 hankies, 1 bath hanky, 2 bibs, 1 bath towel & 6 diapers in her sch bag. cos ntuc my first skool dun keep diapers in the centre.
on long term basis, we hv wet wipes, diaper cream & lotion over there.

her ex-ifc's arrangement was to store the diapers, diaper cream & lotion there. then daily, we bring 2 sets of clothes, 2 hankies, 2 bibs & 1 bath towel.

so far, for ebm, i will pack according to my gal's feeds. say, she drink 100ml per feed & she prob drink 4 times during ifc hours, i will pack 4 x 100ml ebm on daily basis

oh ya, weekly will bring over freshly washed mattress cover, pillow & pillow case, bean bag & bean bag case & a small blanket.

some ifc may request u buy mattress & cover frm them. i think easier lor. dun nid to worry whether size fit or not.

oh ya, as for labelling bottles, i use masking tape & write wif pen. jus tear off before washing. after packing in the ebm, paste a new pc wif name, date & time of ebm.

usu items to label are : pacifier, bottles, bibs, hankies, towels, mattress cover, pillow/bean bag casings & blankets

juju
good leh only 2 sets of clothes daily. my boy's IFC requires more, cos each time they change diaper, they change the clothes as well ...

lina,
2 sets was the previous one. this one requires 3 sets, but they usu use 2 la. 1 set as spare.
how come ur ifc change clothes each time they change diaper? a lot of laundry leh

well pei pei you have lots of mommies sharing with you liao....
More or less the same with me. Except that my kids IFC get us to pack on Monday 5 sets of clothings each. Each day I will check how many is used. I then estimate by Friday will have enough or not. I also tell them not to give the evening bath as I will do so, so they don't need to change so many times a day. But get ready lots of handkerchiefs. I sew my kids initial on the handkies and towels. On their clothings, I use iron on labels. There's a spree on Overseas spree which you can buy name labels. The iron on ones are really useful. As for their bottles, I use the labels as well. As the centre knows my case is twins, I just need to prepare one set of toiletries (shampoo, cream etc) and they will share.
At my kids centre, I dont have to portion out the BM. The teachers will do so themselves as you can imagine how many plastic milk bags I will need to prepare for the two of them. I just express and put into the milkbags each time and the teachers will use accordingly since I tell them to mix BM with formulae.
Iagree with Lina, it's usually the mommy who has separation anixety rather than our kids. :p

hi lina, juju78 and sophia for sharing with me! I have just gone to the IFC to obtain a list from them. so far, there are only 3 babies at the IFC and the teacher-child ratio is almost 1:1! something that is quite good for a start. Hee...

i will take a look at the name label spree later as i still don't know how to label the things. for the IFC, shampoo, bath, cot mattress, pillows, bolsters and blankets are provided, so i don't need to provide these. however, other items i will need to prepare.

juju78, my first skool does not keep diapers? i tot they allow us to keep some in the cubicles provided, since they have specific cubicles for us to keep the bb's stuff.

lina, your kid's IFC so particular on hygiene? change diapers must change clothes also??

sophia, you mean they will mix BM with FM for your kids during each feed?

ztaciep,
dat's a good start. is it a new ifc?
the cubicle provided can only put a few pcs. they will take out all the 6 pcs i give when they run low & top up frm my daily stock whenever they need

*nod head* yup yup, ztaciep & juju - alot of laundry =)
wah ztaciep, ur gal's IFC good leh provide so many things. i still remember my boy's 1st day, we brought so many barang there!

Almost 1:1 ratio is v v good. ur gal will get alot of attention from the teachers, so no worries there.

juju, tis topping up of diapers troublesome leh. u hv 2 feedback 2 d IFC 2 find some space 2 put cubicles 2 put bbs' things ...

sophia is v on abt labelling, i always 4get 2 label =p

lina,
i guess is ok for us too. cos like this i dun hv to buy too many pks of diapers at one go. & every day, i noe how much diapers i hv left... good & bad la.
ifc opp my flat only, so dun nid to carry bulky bag for long distance also

Hi juju,

my gal is also in my first skool.
I put 20pcs diapers abt 1week supply there, together with bibs and 3 sets of clothing.
Then, I will top up every monday.

As for the mattress cover, its provided by IFC. Maybe cos mine is still inside the cot.

I only bring blanket and pillow every monday then friday i will bring back for washing.

yup, this is a new IFC, started only on 1 mar. that explains why the 1:1 ratio now. anyway, i have been bringing my gal to the IFC (just below my flay) abt 15 - 30 mins now & then to get her comfortable with the teachers & environment. i do hope my gal can adapt well. so far she still cannot recognize people, except me & my hubby, it will be better for her.

hi juju,

i only roughly calculate based on the communication bk. Each day, my gal change abt 4 diapers. So 5x4=20 loh.

I think the teachers will write in the comm bk if its run low within the week.
Anyway, I only have a small basket to place my diapers. So, I can only place 20.

hey juju,

may i know what yr bb name?
By the way, my first skool is close on 22-23 mar. I think due to teachers trg.

Got to take leave n look after my gal le

my boy is down with bad flu.. The centre called us to pick him up on tue afternoon after taking his temp of 37.7 sigh! Now he is having yo yo fever and bad running nose and phelgm.. There are five toddlers in the centre, two are absent due to mc while the other three brought medicine.. Goodness!