2016/08 August babies

I will be doing my oscar scan on 19th jan and on top of that, i need to do a blood test too...
Very stress cause I am very afraid of injections. The doctor even stress that its necessary as its my first pregnancy and I am 35 years old....

Me too! Gonna be brave for the sake of our baby!

i had a fren who went thru OSCAR, Amniocentesis before taking the Harmony test. Ended up, all results were no good and she aborted the baby. Because the Harmony test needs abt 2 wks for the results to come back, when she aborted the baby she was already 20+wks. She went thru the entire birth process.. was very heartbreaking.

So mummies, decide carefully.. :)

it is very strange for your friend to do a harmony test AFTER the Amnio test? Beco i understand Amni is suppose to be 100% accurate. Where else Harmony suppose to be only 99% accurate.

so far I still haven cut both my nails & toenails once I knew iam preg. still looking how long my nails can tahan ..those pantang stuffs.. haha
Think that's old wife's tale.... but to be on the safe side do not do any cutting of stuffs , sitting on your bed /bedroom.
Do cutting of nails outside your bedroom , in your hall should be ok ... if not , go pamper yourselves ..go nail spa lor. :p
best wishes

current week 8: my cultural test report is out but doc went holiday liao, just wondering if its smth I should be worried of if I got infection (hence the spotting earlier)? after spotting stopped when on duphaston for a week, it has returned again this 2 days, same light brown/tan colored discharge o_O

Any pain, itch, spotting or bleeding better go back to the clinic asap. Even if your gynae is away, there should be another gynae to take over? Call your clinic nurse and ask them about your situation, see what they suggest for you to do?

One thing I learnt is, the nurses will always tell u.. Must latch the baby asap... For my 1st one I didn't rest and after that when the GA effect wore off slowly, I started puking and felt giddy... So from then on, I always rest and sleep until e effect is over then after that i can concentrate on latching baby. Of cos I will make sure I see baby first (while like drifting in and out of sleep) before I fully rest. Normally when u r back in the ward, abt half an hr to an hr later they will push baby to u Liao... Depends on e hospital and also if baby's body temperature is warm enuff.. If not have to stay under warmer.. :)
At TMC , all Newborns will be placed under a warmer for at least 3 hrs before we clean & bath the baby,
after which bbs will be brought to the new parents. during this time it also allows Moms to rest/sleep a little after a job well done. .
I know because I've bathed numerous newborns while on duty at the nursery while i was under training to be a confinement nanny then .

I'm new here, this is my 2nd pregnancy (1st time was a loss) so I'm excited but yet worried at the same time! Had a scare at 5 weeks when I bled fresh red blood. Could see a sac after scan then but gynae said to return for another scan 2 weeks later. So I went back for a scan a few days ago, saw and heard my baby's heartbeat and am so relieved! My edd is 29 Aug ☺️

Pls add me to the FB page, my email is [email protected]

Any pain, itch, spotting or bleeding better go back to the clinic asap. Even if your gynae is away, there should be another gynae to take over? Call your clinic nurse and ask them about your situation, see what they suggest for you to do?

they didn't offer to get covering doc to read my report, just asked me to wait till he returns next week. At my previous visit when first spotting was noticed, my doc told me no need to come back or call if spotting reappear that is not fresh blood - which in this case not sure if they will entertain me?

Doctor says before means he expected you could spot again? If you're worried, why not just call and check with the nurse? Call don't need money, better be safe than sorry.

Then you don't overthink after checking out with the nurse or doctor then can have a good rest too. If not later you can't sleep well..

I just called my clinic this morning to check with them regarding the discharge I have two days back. At least the nurse checked for me and called me back so I can be sure it's normal and not guessing it myself :)

Doctor says before means he expected you could spot again? If you're worried, why not just call and check with the nurse? Call don't need money, better be safe than sorry.

Then you don't overthink after checking out with the nurse or doctor then can have a good rest too. If not later you can't sleep well..

I just called my clinic this morning to check with them regarding the discharge I have two days back. At least the nurse checked for me and called me back so I can be sure it's normal and not guessing it myself :)

yes he said if it happened again, nvm so long no red bleeding. I just rang them up again told them got spotting and I request if they can get a covering doc to help interpret if I got infection or not, indeed it worked. covering doc said got yeast infection so have to take medication~

I'm glad you called and managed to find out. Now can be on medication since necessary. So next time any abnormal case, must ring up the clinic to ask haha

it is very strange for your friend to do a harmony test AFTER the Amnio test? Beco i understand Amni is suppose to be 100% accurate. Where else Harmony suppose to be only 99% accurate.

Her gynea advised her to do so... That's why a good gynea is very important.

Wheee!! That must be cute! By week 11 can see already!? Now I'm excited to see mine too hehehe

I'm abt 10w5d today.. really cute! Until i forget to ask to heart heart beat lol but since already moving must be have right zzz silly me. We were all surprised that the baby is that big including my gynae lol.

i am not 100% sure but i think the main objective of the 20week detail scan is to check on the development of the baby. To terminate after 20 weeks carry greater risk for the mummy. That i think is why some of these expensive test can be done as early as 9 weeks.

Also the longer the baby in our tummy, the more affection you will have develop with the unborn, it might make hard decision hard to take.
I think the 20 week scan is important because it will detect any abnormality to the baby. Not just because it can give the option for elected abortion but I think also to give yourself preparation in the event that you are keeping the baby. For eg if they tested a heart defect, there could be a chance that baby may need to go nicu after delivery and you might want to consider switching to a government hospital etc

At TMC , all Newborns will be placed under a warmer for at least 3 hrs before we clean & bath the baby,
after which bbs will be brought to the new parents. during this time it also allows Moms to rest/sleep a little after a job well done. .
I know because I've bathed numerous newborns while on duty at the nursery while i was under training to be a confinement nanny then .
When I delivered at KKH, I latched baby immediately after birth. We were in the delivery suite for maybe 30min to an hour. Then the nurse brought my baby to the nursery to clean etc. Baby came back in maybe 2 or 3 hours.
I heard that you can request the hospital not to bathe baby. But probably subject to how flexible the hospital is.

I'm abt 10w5d today.. really cute! Until i forget to ask to heart heart beat lol but since already moving must be have right zzz silly me. We were all surprised that the baby is that big including my gynae lol.

I think our baby is around the same week! I'm also at 10 weeks 4-5 days. Yeah baby is moving of course have heartbeat! Just a matter of the speed only :D

When I delivered at KKH, I latched baby immediately after birth. We were in the delivery suite for maybe 30min to an hour. Then the nurse brought my baby to the nursery to clean etc. Baby came back in maybe 2 or 3 hours.
I heard that you can request the hospital not to bathe baby. But probably subject to how flexible the hospital is.

Oh! But why would anybody request not to bathe the baby? Won't the baby be sticky and all? Sorry if I sounded silly, I'm just curious :p

Saw this being posted on Facebook for baby fair. Didn't know stroller can be so ridiculously cute!! Totally money sucking for mommies who like melody haha
ImageUploadedByForum1452861948.116212.jpg

For baby girls only? :D

Oh! But why would anybody request not to bathe the baby? Won't the baby be sticky and all? Sorry if I sounded silly, I'm just curious :p
I think it's because the wax coating on newborn skin is a natural moisturizer and protect baby from infection. Also, cos they cant self regulate temperature yet, so bathing is not helpful. I think they just wipe away all the blood and amniotic fluid.
Also most importantly, because the bathing will delay the skin to skin which can help in bf.
I think i will request not to bathe baby for the first day for my #2. I dont really like the feeling of baby being taken away shortly after delivery with my #1.

I think it's because the wax coating on newborn skin is a natural moisturizer and protect baby from infection. Also, cos they cant self regulate temperature yet, so bathing is not helpful. I think they just wipe away all the blood and amniotic fluid.
Also most importantly, because the bathing will delay the skin to skin which can help in bf.
I think i will request not to bathe baby for the first day for my #2. I dont really like the feeling of baby being taken away shortly after delivery with my #1.

I think after they clean up the baby, they will put them under a heater to help them regulate the body temp. Btw, if you are very firm on not to bath baby for the 1st day, i really suggest you speak to your chosen hospital ASAP, if their policy is die die cannot dun bath for one day, you might seriously need to consider choosing another hospital le. If not last min they say cannot then you surely very upset de.

Was given 7 Aug but now latest one is 10 Aug. Hopefully not 9 Aug if not everything gonna cost more?

Yes ph my gynae charge extra not sure abt yours.. mine earlier 5 Aug :)

Heng mine not possible near 9 Aug I don't wan another ph baby lol but my gynae say can drag for me I wanna faint

Yes ph my gynae charge extra not sure abt yours.. mine earlier 5 Aug :)

Heng mine not possible near 9 Aug I don't wan another ph baby lol but my gynae say can drag for me I wanna faint

I think I have to ask my gynae in case I pop early then omg PH baby.

Hello mommies, any of you go or intending to go baby fair to start shopping? Can share some good buy/deals :)

Great feeling isn't it , that your bb manage to latch on immediately after birth. Did that with my 2nd son .. Still can remember that wonderful feeling 22yrs ago . I really enjoyed nursing my kids then .., hope all new mom's will give it a go . It's not easy for some but real rewarding when routine is established . No need to fuss about hot; cold water , washing and sterliziation of bottles etc . It's always there and ready for feeds whenever / wherever . Keep it up . Good job ;p

I'm new here, this is my 2nd pregnancy (1st time was a loss) so I'm excited but yet worried at the same time! Had a scare at 5 weeks when I bled fresh red blood. Could see a sac after scan then but gynae said to return for another scan 2 weeks later. So I went back for a scan a few days ago, saw and heard my baby's heartbeat and am so relieved! My edd is 29 Aug ☺️

Pls add me to the FB page, my email is [email protected]

Stay positive . Your beanie will be alright . Try not to stand and walk too much for now .. .. lie down to rest when possible . Wish you a beautiful healthy baby before the year is over . Hugs and kisses ;p

Hello all Mommies

Newly joined and is a first time mum. My Edd is 6 Aug. Very glad to have found this website to see so many sharings and encouragement. When I went through the posting, I am very much relieve that some of the sharings are what I encounter.

Jiayou everyone!

Could you please add me to the fb group? My email address is [email protected]. Thanks!

Reactions: FFT
Hello all Mommies

Newly joined and is a first time mum. My Edd is 6 Aug. Very glad to have found this website to see so many sharings and encouragement. When I went through the posting, I am very much relieve that some of the sharings are what I encounter.

Jiayou everyone!

Could you please add me to the fb group? My email address is [email protected]. Thanks!
Congrats .. Wish u a wonderful enjoyable journey ahead .

I think nt scan is good in a way that parents can start researching on the best way to look after the baby, I don't see it as an option of just terminating a baby with ds. DS babies will require more care and help along the way and it will help if parents are aware earlier to educate themselves. Having a newborn is not easy. Detailed scan is good in a way as well. My friend's son was detected to have heart problems which had to be corrected the moment he was born. She thanked God she went for it. She opted for elective csec and a group of top notch specialists were on standby to help the baby with surgery. Think positive mommies! :)

hi mummies, just came back from scan yesterday. really, really happy to see baby & heartbeat :) my edd is 21 aug.

i am considering what tests to do now & in a dilemma. hope to hear from mummies & maybe a survey on what test you opt for.

appreciate much!