I used my ergobaby with a rolled towel as her seat inside the carrier when she was too little. Not sure if Tula works like that too.

Qn on first solid meal: I'm going to feed her avocado later. I should mix it with some fm right? I bought the pigeon mesh bowl. And should I be giving her before or after her bottle feed?

I used my ergobaby with a rolled towel as her seat inside the carrier when she was too little. Not sure if Tula works like that too.

Qn on first solid meal: I'm going to feed her avocado later. I should mix it with some fm right? I bought the pigeon mesh bowl. And should I be giving her before or after her bottle feed?

Fixing in some fm will be good as it's the first time for her to try solids. Will be softer and more "watery" in a sense. I think you can give her before the feed as well. If not she might be too full from the bottle and don't want to eat your avocado.

Anyway I wanted to try giving Ian avocado yesterday too. But I realize the avocado that I bought is quite hard. Had a hard time meshing with a fork. In the end I add into my tuna mayo for my breakfast this morning.

I'm going to get a blender soon. :cool:

Ya loh, but becos baby Erin still small so if her Tula must get the infant insert. Another sum of money. Whereas manduca is cheaper and can start to use when she is still small.

I also have bouncer to let her sleep. But so different from night time when she can move and move while sleeping.

I'm using manduca before I bought my Tula. Yes manduca got built in infant insert but when my baby 2month plus he cannot fit into the infant insert anymore. @3months.. He is too big for the insert and yet too small without insert haha need to buy the manduca size it.

@evafastancy u can try on kokadi at mums n babe outlet at United square. Very nice design too.

Fixing in some fm will be good as it's the first time for her to try solids. Will be softer and more "watery" in a sense. I think you can give her before the feed as well. If not she might be too full from the bottle and don't want to eat your avocado.

Anyway I wanted to try giving Ian avocado yesterday too. But I realize the avocado that I bought is quite hard. Had a hard time meshing with a fork. In the end I add into my tuna mayo for my breakfast this morning.

I'm going to get a blender soon. :cool:

Avocado not ripe enough wld be hard... I did not get a food processor for no1. Just borrowed a blender from my MIL and make batches and freeze into cubes... not looking forward to that process again! But ok I am more experienced now so hopefully it's a breeze... compared to last time trial and error...

How to choose avocado ?

How to Tell If an Avocado Is Ripe
To make sure you're taking home an avocado that's perfectly green and creamy on the inside, and free from ugly brown spots, the key is checking under the stem. This part of the avocado holds a sneak peak for what's going on under the skin.

Peel back the small stem or cap at the top of the avocado. If it comes away easily and you find green underneath, you've got a good avocado that's ripe and ready to eat.

Reactions: emk
Thanks Sarah... Just now my mum told me she let my baby taste a bit of porridge which she prepared for my nephew. She said my baby first two feed he puke it out. After that he got eat a little bit... Can so early start porridge with cod fish ?

Didn't manage to feed my gal avo despite sterilizing all items and I even bought the high chair today. Hubby came home late and she already fell asleep. He wanna witness the moment too.

But I guess tomorrow might be better anyway. The avo should be softer tomorrow :)

Emk im also wondering. First solid already eat fish so power. Hahaa.

I intend to try her avo first then pumpkin or sweet potato. After that then will try porridge. Mil bought a food processor. Looks good to grind rice.

Emk how old is your nephew? Is the porridge "liquidy" enough? I saw an IG account this mom cooks porridge as usual then use a sifter to mesh the porridge with a spoon pressing it. What comes through is quite liquid and the baby loves it.

I wonder is this a good/normal way in prepping porridge for solid beginner ?

@redvel my nephew 3yrs old .. My mum cook the porridge until very sticky type....

Not recommended to let small baby try on porridge as I'm sure your mum would have added salt or soya sauce to the porridge. Think no salt till 1 yo. A little soya sauce is ok when LO is abt 7-8 mths ba. But if can, try not adding.
Once the baby tasted something salty, they might find the healthy food too blend for them.

Emk how old is your nephew? Is the porridge "liquidy" enough? I saw an IG account this mom cooks porridge as usual then use a sifter to mesh the porridge with a spoon pressing it. What comes through is quite liquid and the baby loves it.

I wonder is this a good/normal way in prepping porridge for solid beginner ?

For porridge think dun need to mesh using a sifter la. Juz cook for a bit longer. But porridge still some time later. Try on fruit or veg purée first. Think their little tummy can't take much now and it's quite tedious to cook a small small portion of porridge

Have been letting my girl on cereal for the past few days and I thgink she is taking them fine. I'm trying on avocado next week!! Haha coz no time to go n buy from cold storage. Heard cold storage avocado is of a better grade than ntuc and giant.

Thanks Sarah... Just now my mum told me she let my baby taste a bit of porridge which she prepared for my nephew. She said my baby first two feed he puke it out. After that he got eat a little bit... Can so early start porridge with cod fish ?
@emk - babies' first food should be runny. And definitely no salt at this age, our babies' kidneys are not ready. Maybe you discuss with your mum on how and when you want to start baby on semi - solids?

@tuna@verluv thanks, my mum don't add any salt and soya sauce in the porridge. She told me the sweetness from dry scallop, veggies and fish. Haha will ask her to stop for the moment.

Mwahaha. Bubbles has been napping a little better these days, although 2.5hrs total, she did need a snack every half hr or so...but that gave me enough time to make these for CNY!!!

0e9fe2fb9f29a015b207b8552d0d6f7a.jpg

http://www.fleetingthing.com/?projects=the-mila-baby-shoe-pattern-and-tutorial

You can make a pair too!!!

Mwahaha. Bubbles has been napping a little better these days, although 2.5hrs total, she did need a snack every half hr or so...but that gave me enough time to make these for CNY!!!

0e9fe2fb9f29a015b207b8552d0d6f7a.jpg

http://www.fleetingthing.com/?projects=the-mila-baby-shoe-pattern-and-tutorial

You can make a pair too!!!

So cute! I am lazy to make. Been trying to bring her out but every time only 1 or 2 hrs because later she will be hungry and need to nurse her. Cannot go far places and go long shopping.

Those footsies are so adorable!

First solid experience wasn't exciting. She doesn't like the avo. Or maybe she was really tired and cranky because of teething (?). She has been tugging her right ear until red. Checked her ear inside looks fine.

Eva, i guess nursing outside should be quite ok if direct latch? I find bottle feed fm outside is quite ma fan. So many things to lug then my gal pattern is like to drink halfway then the other half will drink again within 30mins. At home I can still warm up the remain. When outside, I have to agar agar judge how much she can drink for that feed.

@redvel the only time I try to nurse her is her checkup at KKH and only latch one side then my hubby say go back hm then continue. Also outside must find malls got nursing room. Still not use to finding this. Thought giving milk bottle outside will be easier cos just find a place to sit and feed her. But slowly will learn how to nurse her outside when shopping.

I saw NTUC fairprice selling avocado at 4 for $3 plus? but all hard hard one.

@redvel the only time I try to nurse her is her checkup at KKH and only latch one side then my hubby say go back hm then continue. Also outside must find malls got nursing room. Still not use to finding this. Thought giving milk bottle outside will be easier cos just find a place to sit and feed her. But slowly will learn how to nurse her outside when shopping.

I saw NTUC fairprice selling avocado at 4 for $3 plus? but all hard hard one.
356b4d481003f69b6ffb590dc602dd88.jpg

Some mummies were saying cold storage avocados are nicer than NTUC de...

Wow... great picture so know how to choose avocado the next time. My MIL bought from NTUC. The next day become soft but when cut open, inside is got patches of black. She bring the receipt and avocado back to NTUC to change. Then say next time don't buy from NTUC anymore.

From what I know, cold storage fruits and vegetables are more fresh than NTUC. But you will need to pay abit more.

I m also learning to nurse outside. Previously i will pump and bring out the fresh milk in bottle. After a while I find it a hassle because I usually have to rush here and there before we go out. Where got luxury to pump every time?

nowadays I will plan in advance. I check where are the nursing rooms in the shopping mall so I won't be Kan cheong when I have urgent need for it. If u plan to latch, consider bringing a nursing cover when u are out shopping. So far I have been able to get a "room" to latch her. I was thinking in worst case scenario, I shall just nurse with a nursing cover at the diaper changing area.

At times, when there are no such amenities, I will just nurse her in the car. And that is when nursing cover comes useful.

The only thing is that my little one is very distracted in a new environment. She will look here and there 5 mins before she buffet. Sometimes because over stimulated and tired, she will fuss and cry while drinking. Or stop when people outside is loud.

I am trying to learn how to nurse using a carrier. Can the experts teach me? Somehow I feel that my little one is in a very awkward position. Usually when I carry her, her head is just below mine. So I need to loosen the belts to lower her head to where boobs are for feeding. After doing so, she is somewhat hunched while drinking. I see this problem coming more Jialat as she grows taller. How to overcome?

I m also learning to nurse outside. Previously i will pump and bring out the fresh milk in bottle. After a while I find it a hassle because I usually have to rush here and there before we go out. Where got luxury to pump every time?

nowadays I will plan in advance. I check where are the nursing rooms in the shopping mall so I won't be Kan cheong when I have urgent need for it. If u plan to latch, consider bringing a nursing cover when u are out shopping. So far I have been able to get a "room" to latch her. I was thinking in worst case scenario, I shall just nurse with a nursing cover at the diaper changing area.

At times, when there are no such amenities, I will just nurse her in the car. And that is when nursing cover comes useful.

The only thing is that my little one is very distracted in a new environment. She will look here and there 5 mins before she buffet. Sometimes because over stimulated and tired, she will fuss and cry while drinking. Or stop when people outside is loud.

I am trying to learn how to nurse using a carrier. Can the experts teach me? Somehow I feel that my little one is in a very awkward position. Usually when I carry her, her head is just below mine. So I need to loosen the belts to lower her head to where boobs are for feeding. After doing so, she is somewhat hunched while drinking. I see this problem coming more Jialat as she grows taller. How to overcome?
No expert here, but having nursed bubbles in both wrap and carrier, here's what I do.

I'm assuming u are using a structured carrier. I loosen waistband to hips, loosen shoulder straps, jostle bubbles down till mouth is at nipple level. Prepare scarf or hanky to shield cleavage if need be. Latch. When done, raise her by holding her butt, tighten waistband to waist level, tighten shoulder straps.

Bubbles also gets super distracted lately, so I don't bother offering her until she fusses for milk. Used to be can jalan2 with her latched, these days still have to wind up in nursing room zzzzzz

Today purée day was a success. Gave her pumpkin instead and she loves it. Will reintroduce avocado next week.

Reactions: KWL
Mixed with fm. If don't run it down a little I scared she doesn't know how to swallow? But I guess after a few feed can skip the milk liao.

I see, ok will try it on this weekend haha yesterday told my mum to stop feeding porridge but she still wanna try it. Now she gave up because she said my baby don't know how to swallow it, always puke it out. Haha

Hehe I think maybe her porridge is not runny enough for your boy. Just guessing.

Yesterday when I gave her avo, it's just as runny as the pumpkin today but her face is like I fed her bitter gourd. But today, she was mouth opening every time the spoon was near her mouth. However she only ate like 10-12 tiny scoops. But that's a good start. I wasn't sure if she was full so I made fm for her anyway right after. She only drank less than half. I guess next round I'll skip the milk feed till next timing.

Wanna ask : so solid feed is to replace a milk feed? Now is once a day. When do we increase to 2x/day, 3x/day, so forth?

@emk share if your boy likes pumpkin too :)

I feed my girl twice a day on cereal. After the cereal, she will drink her full feed of milk within one hr. Pumpkin taste sweet and I guess that is why redvel junior likes it better.

Any mommies want this for free? Baby Erin still cannot eat cause not 6 mths yet. My friend got too much supply of this cereal and her baby cannot finish all.

I can mail to you all.

ImageUploadedByForum1482371731.874363.jpg
ImageUploadedByForum1482371740.699025.jpg

Brand: Nestle cerelac

2 batches
1) Type: Rice - 33 packets
Expiry date: 23 Feb 2017

2) Type: brown rice and milk - 7 packets
Expiry date: 13 Apr 2017

The other batch with expiry date 12 July 2017 will keep for baby Erin.

Can ask all mummies which brand of bottle teats are very close to our breast nipples? Was looking at pigeon or nuk but not sure which is a better one.

I plan to bottle feed baby Erin at night cos she doesn't want to dreamfeed my boods. Super lazy. Rather sleep the drink so I have to make her wake up.

I've tried nuk and avent and finally pigeon. My Baby seems to like pigeon best. But sometimes need to trial and error and try few brands till you found one that suits yours.

Any mommies want this for free? Baby Erin still cannot eat cause not 6 mths yet. My friend got too much supply of this cereal and her baby cannot finish all.

I can mail to you all.

View attachment 670400View attachment 670401

Brand: Nestle cerelac

2 batches
1) Type: Rice - 33 packets
Expiry date: 23 Feb 2017

2) Type: brown rice and milk - 7 packets
Expiry date: 13 Apr 2017

The other batch with expiry date 12 July 2017 will keep for baby Erin.
Mummy evafantasy, can I have brown rice & milk.2pkt to try.

Can ask all mummies which brand of bottle teats are very close to our breast nipples? Was looking at pigeon or nuk but not sure which is a better one.

I plan to bottle feed baby Erin at night cos she doesn't want to dreamfeed my boods. Super lazy. Rather sleep the drink so I have to make her wake up.

Hmmm if she can sleep through the night then let her sleep la haha why wake her up for milk :p

Oh... I will need to dreamfeed at about 11 plus cos her stomach will be empty by then. Then later about 2plus am she will be very uncomfortable cos too much air and will keep on lifting her legs and bang on her bed to fart.

I also have to dreamfeed at 11-12am. Like that she can sleep thru till 5ish-6am. Else she fusses for milk at 2-3am and will wake whole family up.

I dreamfeed her the same timing but still she will wait up at 4 plus am to drink the later coming to 7am she wants to drink again.

Oh I see Haha i was using avent then encountered bottle rejection and change to MAM. Really need to trial n error to find out what is suit your baby. :)

@emk I am also using avent bottle and took quite a while for her to drink. She kept on rejecting but think becos is milk so she LL drink but on off keep pushing out. So I think must change.

My gal's experience with avent wasn't good. She could only drink half the bottle and was pretty much crying half the time when I put the teat into her. It gave her so much air that she felt full halfway thru. The moment she sat up after the feed, she burped loud. It was because she sucked in too much air during the feed in avent. Once i switched to pigeon, i realized she could actually drink much more.

@Evafantasy

Can I have some of the cereal? 5x rice and 2 x brown rice?

Regarding teats, I was told Nuk resembles the boobs the most. I used Nuk silicon for both my kids.

For no2, I latch him if he wakes MOTN, no nipple confusion...

I guess I am lucky dun have to trial and error for both my kids. Gotta upgrade teats to 6-18mo alr!

Side note: I just fed No2 in the evening w brown rice cereal, he excitedly moved forward to gobble it but unable to keep it in. I paused for awhile to clean his drips, then he refused to take any more! Mixed the concoction into night feed but the cereal cannot go thru the teats, need to get teats w L size holes.

Mine used to hate bottles. Now no choice. Is either drink or nothing when mummy is at work.

On a side note, I am still using 2mth avent teats at 5 Month. Thinking of upgrading soon. But I honestly not experienced enough to tell when baby is ready for upgrade. Can share?

Maybe that is why my little one drinks so little.

My gal's experience with avent wasn't good. She could only drink half the bottle and was pretty much crying half the time when I put the teat into her. It gave her so much air that she felt full halfway thru. The moment she sat up after the feed, she burped loud. It was because she sucked in too much air during the feed in avent. Once i switched to pigeon, i realized she could actually drink much more.

My baby also burped very loud when using avent bottle and seems like she is sucking a lot of air. But last night I used pigeon teat and she accept it fast and her burp is so soft I almost miss it.

But I have a problem. I feed her at 10.30pm and I plan to let her wake up herself then I feed her. Till 4.30am, she never open her eyes but from about 1.30am plus she keep on fidgeting (hands and legs moving on and off) then stop and it goes on until I decided to feed her. Then after drinking, she went back to sleep for like 1 hr before fidgeting again. I asked my MIL and she say she is "Han Min" (hokkien).

At night, when babies are sleeping, are they supposed to sleep very soundly (not moving)? Cos mine doesn't move from 8pm to 12plus. After that in the middle of the night keep on moving even when I swaddle her.

Should I ignore if her eyes are closed but hands and legs keep moving on and off?

I am confused if her moving is a sign of hungry. Very different during day time. Day time when she is hungry, she will wake up from her nap and suck her mittens but not at night.

@candymoshi PM me yr address bah.

Mine used to hate bottles. Now no choice. Is either drink or nothing when mummy is at work.

On a side note, I am still using 2mth avent teats at 5 Month. Thinking of upgrading soon. But I honestly not experienced enough to tell when baby is ready for upgrade. Can share?

Maybe that is why my little one drinks so little.

I think u can just upgrade first. If not suitable, u can keep the new teat for later use and try again mah?

I thot Avent has 3mo+ teats? Hopefully bb's feed will improve! :)