Dry one will drop out by itself... The suction bulb is more for wet mucus that is obstructing ur LO's breathing.

I tried to use it a few times, baby sounded very blocked but suck 不出 anything... So I just wait for it to flow out and wipe..
I also cannot get the wet ones out with the pigeon thingy. I rolled tissue paper to dig out instead.

Didn't do first month assessment visit. Oops. Is that a must? The next pd appt on 6-in-1 is when bb is 8weeks plus. My pd didn't mention about visiting earlier.

For polyclinic the jab is done by nurse. Doc assesment is done at 1mth, 3mth n 18mth. PD is fo the jab. So maybe already soon bian done the check.

I always take earliest slot possible (book online or via app) and since is bb, Hougang polyclinic has a mother & child section segregated from the coughing/sneezing patients. So far always see doc on 3rd level, dunno if things will change now that she's more than a mth old, but I know vaccinations and baby growth charting also done on lvl 3.

Everything usually done within an hour if I manage to snag an 8am appt.

For snot, the pigeon bulb suction thing can go quite deep, the slender attachment can also be removed. I try to get a seal around the nostril for better vacuum effect...they also sell one with long tube for use with mouth suction, and the nostril part is wider so easier to form a seal. Maybe when bb nose gets too big I will buy that one.

how to use the suction thing? My baby one is pi sai. Dry one Lo. I can see like in out in out when he breath.
Dry one and visible I just wet slender cotton bud and clean...I only use suction for those wet and deeper than the outermost "cavern" (dunno the names!!!) of the nose....

Today my CL left. Baby been fussing whole day and don't want to sleep. Omg. Milk also not satisfied. Everything also unhappy. Want to torment me! Help!

Think he wants some comfort and overly tired if he hasn't slept so far...

Get him to rest for one nap and he should be more capable...

Check whether is it diaper, hunger, burp, comfort, hot/cold by elimination...

Jiayou! It will only get better!!

Baby used to CL routine. Like timing to bath, play time & milk time. My boy now more less use to the same timing. 10+am is shower time. Then is his play time n talking time. After that will be his nap time. On off wake up for milk until evening time where papa come home to talk tak awhile with him. Then off to bed ard 8pm

Reactions: KWL
I am curious as to how you all handle play and talk time. I tried putting my bb (32 days now) on the bed for tummy time, and she really hates it, won't stop crying. Do u think it has to do with her colic? When she tummy on my tummy she also hates it, unless I am leaning back a chair.then she sort of tolerates it for a while....

As to play....she likes looking at her mobile and a colourful cloth book but that's about it. I stare at her and talk about silly random daily stuff, and then I get bored and turn on 92.4 for her to listen. What should I be doing to stimulate her? Or is it too early still?

Don't worry it will get better....mine first day after cl left also fuss nonstop

But subsequently ok...

Not sure is it I have too much chocolate chip lactation cookies..l the princess is not sleeping now and just exercising her arms and legs while staring at this small teddy bear from her sis.

Think he wants some comfort and overly tired if he hasn't slept so far...

Get him to rest for one nap and he should be more capable...

Check whether is it diaper, hunger, burp, comfort, hot/cold by elimination...

Jiayou! It will only get better!!

Crying and wailing until 7+. My baby sought comfort when I held close to my chest. Had to repeat this twice before baby totally concussed at 8pm. Still sleeping very soundly. And I hope it will be so for the night. Should be overtired from all the crying and grunting and never sleep whole day.

Attempting to bring baby to office Tmr to distribute full Mth cake. I wonder if I can control the situation

I am curious as to how you all handle play and talk time. I tried putting my bb (32 days now) on the bed for tummy time, and she really hates it, won't stop crying. Do u think it has to do with her colic? When she tummy on my tummy she also hates it, unless I am leaning back a chair.then she sort of tolerates it for a while....

As to play....she likes looking at her mobile and a colourful cloth book but that's about it. I stare at her and talk about silly random daily stuff, and then I get bored and turn on 92.4 for her to listen. What should I be doing to stimulate her? Or is it too early still?
Doc suggest to do tummy time ard 2mths only. Start with put them at our chest. They will hate tummy time cos put on bed. Cannot see anything. Actually put on tummy will help them on colic. Get rid of the wind. They learning n looking at how we talk. Sometime I sing nursery songs. You tube have a lot. U sing along. They recognized mummy voice.

Crying and wailing until 7+. My baby sought comfort when I held close to my chest. Had to repeat this twice before baby totally concussed at 8pm. Still sleeping very soundly. And I hope it will be so for the night. Should be overtired from all the crying and grunting and never sleep whole day.

Attempting to bring baby to office Tmr to distribute full Mth cake. I wonder if I can control the situation
Baby love it. Cause of the carry n the moving. Like rocking them to bed. But when u come home prepare them will fuss awhile. As not more carry n rocking. Heehee

KWL, you can do it! Actually I can't remember much what happened on day1 CL left. I just know it was the same day as the manyue. Time passes so fast you'll be get the hang of everything without the extra pair of hands soon. And baby will also somehow adjust to your preferred routine in time to come.

Great thanks for the support. I have taken The chance to nap while baby is sleeping. I wake up Liao but Baby still sound asleep. Actually fussing in morning is not too bad an idea in exchange for a longer sounder sleep at night.

Mummies I got a question on bringing expressed breast milk (not frozen) out.

Say I just pumped. And I store in normal fridge (not freezer). I intend to let baby drink when we are out later. How should I pack and heat up the milk? What is your recommendation?

I got a fridge to go + ice packs.

Say I just pumped. And I store in normal fridge (not freezer). I intend to let baby drink when we are out later. How should I pack and heat up the milk? What is your recommendation?

Yes like to know too...

What I did recently was to put it in the pigeon bottle cooler bag which does not have ice packs n use that 3 hrs later. Heat it in a cup of hot water

If I just pump before going out, I won't put in fridge but just bring the milk out n feed sice freshly pump milk can stay in room temperature for 4 hours

Yes like to know too...

What I did recently was to put it in the pigeon bottle cooler bag which does not have ice packs n use that 3 hrs later. Heat it in a cup of hot water

If I just pump before going out, I won't put in fridge but just bring the milk out n feed sice freshly pump milk can stay in room temperature for 4 hours

I will also just feed with the freshly pumped milk. But my mum will ask me to warm it up even though freshly made. o_O I tried to warm up the milk outside before. But very troublesome need to have a cup with hot water...like need to bring a lot of things out...

Talking about warm milk, my lo will only drink warm version. It's always warmed up when freshly made, fm or ebm. But sometimes when she takes a bit too long to drink, the little remaining has to be warmed up again else she won't drink.

Mine seems warm or chill is ok...sometimes when she is screaming for milk , I won't have time to warm the milk up ...as long it is not cold I will feed her

Haakaa pump attached to my boobie now for the first time. 10mins 20ml so far but I don't yield a lot thru conventional pump anyway. Keeping it going.

Wanna ask is it need to squeeze the pump once every like 10mins or so when I see no "power "? Or like detach and reattach again?

make sure u get a sim
Snowfern I am still monitoring my blood pressure on my own... Lately measurement went down to 130 something and 70 something. I dread taking the medicine...coz need to continue once I start again...but if pressure reading is no good, will see gynae and ask for medication.

By the way i read someway, new born don't need pillow. So not necessary to use till they are bigger. I observe my gal will turn her head on her own, but if she doesn't you have to help her shift the position now and then. My elder used to sleep only on her left....that is she doesn't turn her head...and when she was like. 2 months plus for follow up, the doc at Kkh asked us to turn her head if she is in same position for too long

Ok princess is screaming for attention

make sure u monitor at the same time daily, with no physical activities 30 minutes before measuring.
understanding blood pressure

can read this article on how to correctly read the blood pressure for more accurate.
though i think a bit difficult, when u are calm and ready to take your blood pressure then suddenly your princess screams for mummy... haha

Haakaa pump attached to my boobie now for the first time. 10mins 20ml so far but I don't yield a lot thru conventional pump anyway. Keeping it going.

Wanna ask is it need to squeeze the pump once every like 10mins or so when I see no "power "? Or like detach and reattach again?
There's not much need to keep reattaching it unless u feel it is falling off....cos the suction isn't very strong to begin with and isn't meant to be a pump. I only use it for my off-breast while nursing to pumping to collect any leaks, and often yields are best due to letdown, not its suction.

If I know I am going to use it within the next 3 hrs I won't put it in the fridge to go. It will turn into room temp and I will give it to my LO if really unable to heat it up. If I'm at a coffeeshop or shopping center i will look for nursing room or Mac to get hot water.

Is it common to have our menses back after we delivered 57 days ago? This morning when I wipe, I tot my menses is back. However for the whole day, my pad was clean. I can't only see it when I wipe. But I'm still expressing my bm and by right it should come so fast right? If really menses, it means my supply will drop. Well it did drop over the past 2 days but I tot is because I'm lazy as i only pump 5 hrly..

I had menses-like discharge ard w6 after stopping for a week or two. So I went to read up.

Apparently is possible for menses to return at 6 weeks. It is also possible for it to be lochia as lochia can take 6-8weeks to clear.

I guess there is no way to find out except to wait and observe if there is more discharge or if the bloody discharge comes back after a month.

For me, the bloody discharge ceases so I think it is lochia. I also think there is no time for the lining to thicken and discharge in such a short time, after lochia clears.

Cool... I also hope it's not menses.. I still wish to enjoy pad free for a few more months!! Thanks candy moshi!

Yup I remembered but she is up for hours...n will cat nap when carried but once on bed or cot, up again, and started crying after short while to be carried again...so this cycle can continue for hours....

Hello, sorry for super late reply. Nowsday just too busy with the new baby and the 3 year old one also using her method to get attention that why not much chance to come in here le.

I can understand your frustration, all I can say is endure and eventually your baby will outgrow that stage de. Jia you.

Oh ya, there are ppl who advice me that when baby cry, dun immediately rush over to cry him/her, if not, they will keep doing that beco they wanna to be carry, then you will become extra bo eng. For me, usually will let him cry for about 1 min before responding. Some time even before I walk over, he automatic stop liao.

jia you.

Question: any mummies here feel tingling feeling on parts of their body?

My left hip is weak, so during pregnancy, it will hurt if I walk abit longer. I expect it to go away as it did with my first pregnancy.

Recently I have been feeling tingling feeling at my left lower back and hip area. Sometimes on my lips and at the back of my head (on the left side).

Suddenly I'm feeling paranoid, like something wrong w my spine or something... Not sure if this is a normal post pregnancy problem?

Question: any mummies here feel tingling feeling on parts of their body?

My left hip is weak, so during pregnancy, it will hurt if I walk abit longer. I expect it to go away as it did with my first pregnancy.

Recently I have been feeling tingling feeling at my left lower back and hip area. Sometimes on my lips and at the back of my head (on the left side).

Suddenly I'm feeling paranoid, like something wrong w my spine or something... Not sure if this is a normal post pregnancy problem?

I don't have. Could it be because u carried heavy stuff? Incorrect posture? Or do a lot of housework and never rest?

now that I have just crossed the 1 mth mark, I noticed that my baby has grown very attached to me. After direct latching, baby will grab my clothes n lean on my breast to sleep for fear that I will place back to the cot. If baby is sleeping on me, or beside me on the bed, baby can go into deep and longer sleep. If baby is placed back at the cot, the sleep tends to last no longer than 30mins.

Also to soothe the fussing baby, I do a 3-in-1 approach. While latching, I will use one hand to pay backside. If it doesn't work, I will start walking under the rotating fan (white noise).

Bad habit in formation?

now that I have just crossed the 1 mth mark, I noticed that my baby has grown very attached to me. After direct latching, baby will grab my clothes n lean on my breast to sleep for fear that I will place back to the cot. If baby is sleeping on me, or beside me on the bed, baby can go into deep and longer sleep. If baby is placed back at the cot, the sleep tends to last no longer than 30mins.

Also to soothe the fussing baby, I do a 3-in-1 approach. While latching, I will use one hand to pay backside. If it doesn't work, I will start walking under the rotating fan (white noise).

Bad habit in formation?
I am worried my baby is having a habit to latch to sleep.....

She will cry and head turns towArds my chest witht mouth open...when latch, she will doze off but once put on bed, wakes up

Like now, she is yawning and yawning but refuses to sleep coz I put her in the cot. Going back to work next month, not sure how to change this habit

I am worried my baby is having a habit to latch to sleep.....

She will cry and head turns towArds my chest witht mouth open...when latch, she will doze off but once put on bed, wakes up

Like now, she is yawning and yawning but refuses to sleep coz I put her in the cot. Going back to work next month, not sure how to change this habit

Similar problem since 7+ this morning. Who is taking care of your baby when u go back to work? Maybe pass the person your clothes or disposable breast pad so that baby can still detect some of your smell?

Anyway, for me, when I see baby is almost fast asleep and no longer suckling, I will pull the nipple out. And flap back my bra/ nursing top. Meaning to say, I allow the baby to sleep on my chest but I don't allow baby to suck for comfort.

If baby wails and went milk again, I will unflap and let baby drink. If baby doze off again while feeding, I will clip back such that baby lies on my clothes while sleeping, not on the breast. The cycle repeats itself, I think it will also prevent all the milk rash etc.

Bad habit in formation?

I think u can try to train bb to sleep in the cot but u have to be able to withstand the cries lah...

My bb has 2 cranky timings, morning 8-11am and nite 6-10pm need to be carried and fed... Other times can go to sleep...

I used to pat and swing w my elder son. No2 I also do it, including walking... But this week I stop patting if bb managed to burp. And stop rocking and swinging. Just hold close. Once bb has the eyes heavy look... I will put him in the cot. And yes he will cry but he will doze off...

U also have to identify bb's cries. Some cries are loud screams, usually it's bcos got discomfort. For me after such a cry I will pick up and he might burp or puke some milk curds on me. Then I know bb discomfort and not bad habit... After comforting put him back and he will sleep on his own. Some eh eh eh but dun pick up...

Now I'm trying to schedule this...
Morning wake and feed. If go back to sleep then good. If not, let him be awake.

Late morning feed, will bathe... He wld be very tired if he did not nap just now... after bath carry abit and put him down. Very tired he usually sleep v fast. 11-2pm is lunch and me time, chores etc...

2-5pm he will usually sleep back

5-8pm feed and try to put him back, sometimes he sleeps, sometimes he doesn't

8-11pm if he doesn't sleep previously, this round he should feed and sleep by 9pm (usually longer, cranky until I Pek Cek)

If he slept in the previous cycle, this round is feed hrly until 10pm also.

10-12am mummy's nap time and wait for next feed...

I just made my gal sleep...by turning her to her tummy and pat her bum....managed to make her sleep...she was up since 10am for milk...had her bath and short play with me.

Finally I can resume my cow duties and wash the bottles. My gal will cry very loud at the top of her voice till she turns hoarse....scary coz I am alone at home...so sometimes when she cries I can't attend immediately she will cry till she turns red

@KWL my mum will take care of her till she is 6 months, then send her to infant care.

My girl has been awake since her 6am feed.. So am I. So tired yet can't sleep Coz juz put my 2nd one to sleep n now pumping. After this got to take lunch and at 4pm need to go n pick up my no. 1! Oh dear, today is going to be a super tired day. Sometimes I feel taking lunch is a chore, I rather sleep than take lunch. But got to take so that it won't affect much on my milk supply.

Tbh I feel like quitting job to take care of bb. I feel I bond with her more than she bonds with me haa.

Some days she is very cooperative like today. After each feed she prefers to sleep. Other days she just keeps me awake until I can't even take shower till hubby is home in evening.

I have pet peeve. I don't rock nor swing my bb. And I will stop whomever carries my bb who does that. Hehe I can imagine bb very shiok with the movement.

Her fav carry position is her hands dangling over my shoulder. She can sleep that way without patting nor rocking but carrier must walk around. My main challenge is putting her onto cot/bed.

My boy also same. Now wake up at 6am. Cat nap until 10am. Shower n feed again. Then refuse to sleep. Until now 2.00+pm. Finally do a quick pump. My hse is in a messy.

My girl has been awake since her 6am feed.. So am I. So tired yet can't sleep Coz juz put my 2nd one to sleep n now pumping. After this got to take lunch and at 4pm need to go n pick up my no. 1! Oh dear, today is going to be a super tired day. Sometimes I feel taking lunch is a chore, I rather sleep than take lunch. But got to take so that it won't affect much on my milk supply.

U amaze me how to take care of 3 kids.

I deal w 2 at nite and I need to SOS my mil to help me put no1 to bed.

Today I was so tired I took a nap instead of lunch... After a short 30mins nap, I still no appetite to eat lunch. Forced myself to eat only finished half the rice and most of the dishes.

My boy also same. Now wake up at 6am. Cat nap until 10am. Shower n feed again. Then refuse to sleep. Until now 2.00+pm. Finally do a quick pump. My hse is in a messy.

Wow, today is a stay awake in the day kinda day for our kids! Hopefully they would guai guai sleep longer n better tonite!

I just made my gal sleep...by turning her to her tummy and pat her bum....managed to make her sleep...she was up since 10am for milk...had her bath and short play with me.

Finally I can resume my cow duties and wash the bottles. My gal will cry very loud at the top of her voice till she turns hoarse....scary coz I am alone at home...so sometimes when she cries I can't attend immediately she will cry till she turns red

@KWL my mum will take care of her till she is 6 months, then send her to infant care.

Yesterday I also tried the let the baby cry it out policy. End up baby really cry until like u described. Hoarse and all red. And worst still - choked on own saliva and mouth was full of saliva. I think baby got a shock too. I quickly pick up and tried to burp to prevent any further choking.

So mummies be careful k

Btw just to share...

I'm following Gary Ezzo Babywise... He teaches the feed-wake-sleep cycle and parent directed feeding.

So for me, after confinement lady left, 1st week I tried to get bb to latch exclusively, 2nd week tried to get back to feed-wake-sleep. Teach bb the cycle so I can carry coax rock bb to sleep. However seems like he is going thru growth spurt so I did this for 2 weeks...

This week is end of 4th week so I let bb cry it out... But before leaving him in the cot need to wind him down. Bring into room, carry no patting. Wait till he yawn a few times then put him down. He will cry a few times and slowly before more feeble and fall asleep... Suddenly improve this week.

Agreed with verluv, I find eating lunch a chore or sometimes I'm too tired and have no appetite to eat. Ever since after CL left, I seldom have the chance to take afternoon nap. Mainly becos my bb likes to be carried and rocked to sleep. Tho she appeared to be in deep sleep but once I put her in the cot, usually she will be up in 30 mins to 1 hr :(.
Night time still have to entertain no 1.

I'm looking to place little one in infant care but right now I'm on waiting list. So I may need to look for nanny to care for bb when I returned to work. Can mummies pls share what to look out for when engaging nanny and the price range?

Yes am feeding ebm....not sure why greenish

My bb just had greenish poop after I fed him a bottle of ebm... I suspect if I pump after latching, the unlatch breast will have a lot of foremilk... Now I think I need to pump until empty the unlatch breast...

But I'm still lucky as my no.1 is in childcare now.. So dun need to entertain her from morning till late afternoon.
Redvel: seriously I dun think I can keep myself sane if I dun work. Furthermore if u quit your job you will lose your income. Anyway you are trying for the second one. So maybe u can work till the second one is out before considering quitting. But it's true, if u work u will miss seeing some of the milestone that the LO goes through and there is no rewind button to that...