Please don't feed baby with water. I've seen my PD and CL also said don't give infants water till after 6mths old. Cos water has no nutrients & all they need is milk to grow.

Water will take up space in their stomach and they take lesser milk. There's a case in America that parents mix water with BM and baby died of water intoxication.

But up to individual. Just sharing my knowledge.

Omg,i better stop feeding. But i noticed after drinking BM, LO's tongue is white...and he sound like he has phlegm in his throat..

I also nv feed bb with water untill 6 mths old. Mil nag n nag say bb hiccup must give water i die die nv give.
@Cherylhx whether fm or bm also tongue will b white. Have to wipe with cloth everyday lor.
@Twirlycandy my boobs also have red spots, very normal. Sometimes is itch. Normally i jus wipe or wash with water den will gone.
@yew_yew ur boobs so easy get let down after massage?? So gd.. Mine cant empty, now when i pump i even get lesser den previous week. Maybe cos i skipped pumping n jus latch but nv fully empty

Just wondering if you guys have any comparison between the insurance? Intending to get insurance for the baby girl!

1. Hospitalisation
2. Savings

Anyone can share the reviews on which to select?

Pause a while to massage your breasts. That's what I did and after that there was a letdown. Breasts were truly empty thereafter.
How you all managed to pump smoothly? Everytime I wanna pump, bb cry so I latch him. And ended up not pumping. He's taking Long time to suckle. And my pumped BM getting lesser and lesser. Arrgh.. and he's always hungry even after latch for long time. And he can finished up 90ml FM after half hour latch on. Is it he latched wrongly that's why he cannot be full? He will fall alseep being latch and when I put him down, he cry again and I latch him back. this repeats a few times...What shd I do? Wanna give up.

Jjmom, similar experience.. Mine also latch long, slp halfway. When i out him down jus to pump, he cry again so i latch again. Pump out also getting less. But i sure he drinking well cos my boobs will be lighter after he latches. I just started to intro pacifier to him jus to make him slp den i remove... :( no choice cant be latching him for comfort too.. Bb intake might be increasing wo us knowing cos we latch, so maybe when u top up fm he jus drink as much as he can fill n slp...but do check if bb tummy is hard, or lotsa air..need burp him time to time..

I have been a silent reader for this thread ever since I was pregnant.. Guess I'm also going through the baby blue like everyone now.. Wondering how long this feeling will last.. I think the feeling is overwhelming with a huge change in life.. My husband is busy with our new house so doesn't have lot of time with me even on weekend..

my boy don't like to latch ever since back from hospital so I'm have been pumping and feed him including at night when he wake up for milk..

Hi Evelyn, you are not alone... Some of us experience that and I have a good cry on my first day back after hospital cause it seems so lost what does the baby wants!
She doesn't want to latch so I keep pumping to the requirement that she wants and using FM... Don't give up! You are not alone... :)

You can turn to here for moral support... You are not alone Mummy!

My hubby keep motivating me those he is busy with work... I keep myself sane by coming to this forum too... :)

I thought baby blue should go off a week but my boy is 3weeks old now.. Somehow I keep worrying that I can't handle him myself as now I'm staying at my mum place for confinement...

How you all managed to pump smoothly? Everytime I wanna pump, bb cry so I latch him. And ended up not pumping. He's taking Long time to suckle. And my pumped BM getting lesser and lesser. Arrgh.. and he's always hungry even after latch for long time. And he can finished up 90ml FM after half hour latch on. Is it he latched wrongly that's why he cannot be full? He will fall alseep being latch and when I put him down, he cry again and I latch him back. this repeats a few times...What shd I do? Wanna give up.

Maybe your baby is having growth spurt now?

Mummies,don't be stressed. If you have tried everything to boost your milk supply but in vain, it's ok. Just give fm. It's not the end of the world. My #1 was on fm. Only #2 & this #3 are on bm. True, #1 is more skinny & less healthy than #2 but overall, still growing well.

Nevertheless, jia you mummies! Keep yourselves hydrated.

I thought baby blue should go off a week but my boy is 3weeks old now.. Somehow I keep worrying that I can't handle him myself as now I'm staying at my mum place for confinement...
Evelyn, hang on! I juz had a major breakdown ytd after beating up my son. Super upset.. He is already 7yo and feel super insecure with the little sister arrival. He shouted at me, threw things at me, kick me. Break my heart tho the beating is on him. And things happened when hb is not at home. I had a emotional talk with son tho not sure if he understand. But think he is shock to see mummy crying in front of him. So Shd be more sensible going forward? *cross my fingers*
So I think my mood swing is not going off so soon. My new house is coming soon too. So after my confinement, my turn to jaga bf and renovation. :confused:

I have been a silent reader for this thread ever since I was pregnant.. Guess I'm also going through the baby blue like everyone now.. Wondering how long this feeling will last.. I think the feeling is overwhelming with a huge change in life.. My husband is busy with our new house so doesn't have lot of time with me even on weekend..

my boy don't like to latch ever since back from hospital so I'm have been pumping and feed him including at night when he wake up for milk..

We are all in same situation so don't despair. I have help now with confinement nanny but once she's gone I will be alone too to manage bb, pumping cos he's not latching as well as managing my dog and home. I try not to think too much, cross the bridge when it comes. If worse scenario then I will just give fm to my LO. Meanwhile I try to latch him as much as I can, it takes practice and effort from both mummy and bb.

@evelyntan83 , glad that u decided to participate here to share ur 'woes & joys'... Hehe.
Im happy to know so many mummies, and learn from everyones experience, sharing.. It really is tough handling kids, family, money, etc... Add on the post natal BLUES, stress from everything even tho is not major, but can jus get into my nerves unknowingly.

My baby blue accumulated in first 2 weeks and finally I cried my heart out on 3rd week. My confinement lady going back on next Monday. I am also not sure if I can handle him alone . But I choose to believe that I can and try my best. We have overcome all the ups n downs during pregnancy. I believe we can do so too when baby is out. Jia you to all mummies!

We are all in same situation so don't despair. I have help now with confinement nanny but once she's gone I will be alone too to manage bb, pumping cos he's not latching as well as managing my dog and home. I try not to think too much, cross the bridge when it comes. If worse scenario then I will just give fm to my LO. Meanwhile I try to latch him as much as I can, it takes practice and effort from both mummy and bb.

My husband in a way feel that I'm worrying too much... Will be moving to our new place soon after confinement.. Hope that baby can get use to our new place and guai guai.. Hope everything will be ok and I'm really worrying too much..

I also nv feed bb with water untill 6 mths old. Mil nag n nag say bb hiccup must give water i die die nv give.
@Cherylhx whether fm or bm also tongue will b white. Have to wipe with cloth everyday lor.
@Twirlycandy my boobs also have red spots, very normal. Sometimes is itch. Normally i jus wipe or wash with water den will gone.
@yew_yew ur boobs so easy get let down after massage?? So gd.. Mine cant empty, now when i pump i even get lesser den previous week. Maybe cos i skipped pumping n jus latch but nv fully empty

Okie noted with thanks

Hi. Sorry can check why cannot drink water? Tot h2o is the basic of life. No water? Will bb feel thirsty?

@jjmom, Mine also same like you. Do not get discourage and keep trying! I went to see lactation consultant today and she told me that my baby did not drink much when latch, bb only take my breast as pacifier. She told me latching each breast 15 min is enough. Then do pumping for 3 cycle of 5 mins by massaging ur breast every 5 min. Then give bb ur expressed milk. If bb still cues for milk then add fm. Mummies also need to rest so can increase milk supply. No point latching bb every hour. U will feel exhausted and these will effect ur milk supply.

I am still trying to do this method, hopefully it will works. Ganbatte to all mummies!!

@jjmom, Mine also same like you. Do not get discourage and keep trying! I went to see lactation consultant today and she told me that my baby did not drink much when latch, bb only take my breast as pacifier. She told me latching each breast 15 min is enough. Then do pumping for 3 cycle of 5 mins by massaging ur breast every 5 min. Then give bb ur expressed milk. If bb still cues for milk then add fm. Mummies also need to rest so can increase milk supply. No point latching bb every hour. U will feel exhausted and these will effect ur milk supply.

I am still trying to do this method, hopefully it will works. Ganbatte to all mummies!!
Thanks.. will try out your suggested. am at wits end.. and hubby keep hoping bb can be on full BM. But the way I see my BM and the way he latch and still hungry... sigh

Mummies for your reference.

Below pic is how much your BB will consume on BM only without any supplement.

max-stomach-capacity.jpg

This is my bf journey that I would like to share with some of the mummies who have challenge in just giving BM only.

I was not successful in tbf my #1. But I successfully exclusively breastfeed #2 to #4. Now I am doing it for my #5. I only cup A size. I don't produce a lot of BM like some mummies in this forum but enough for BB.

Now BB is 14 days old. Other than 2 FM feeds that were fed to him using cup in hospital, I did not supplement with FM other than giving him EBM using cup one time per day which is in the morning. I will empty both breasts when giving BB EBM. BB only drinks around 60-70ml.

There are 2 timings that he will cluster feeding which is around 1-3pm and 9-11pm. Both timings I will not give EBM cos this is a good time for BB to stimulate my breast to make more milk. After a few rounds of alternating between the 2 breasts, BB is satisfied and sleep for 3-4 hours.

If really want on BM only. First latching must be correctly done. If babies fall asleep at the breast, do breast compression to assist the milk flow and they will start sucking once there is a flow and also towards the end of a nursing session. And by doing this will actually empty your breast more.

First week, I was having blocked ducts and breast was not fully empty. Now all clear and I can feel my BB empty my breast fully cos it will become softer. But still recovering from sore nipples.

Babies solely on BM will typically gain 1-1.5kg for the first month and then will have a slower weight gain thereafter.

Really must have someone to support you if you want tbf to be successful.

A typical feeding schedule for me

9am - Eat breakfast, Give EBM by CL, Pump out.
11am - BF
12pm - Lunch
1-3pm - Cluster Feeding
3-5pm - Nap
5.30pm - BF
6pm - Dinner
7.30pm - BF
9-11pm - Cluster Feeding
3am - BF
4pm - Punp out
8am - BF

It's been a long long time since I last wrote here and heard from you mummies to be.

Im currently at the final dash, standing at 38 weeks and 5 days. Tml is my gynae visit and honestly, my hubby can't wait for the baby to come out. He's excited yet nervous.

As for me, I'm telling the baby to take his time. I have been feeling clumsy, of course with the baby.

Im also diagnosed with gestational diabetes few weeks back, have monitored but did not stop sweet stuff completely. I cant help it. Anyway, I'm looking forward to the arrival of my baby and I hope and wish the same for all you mummies to be too.

@BubsandBloms , yeah final lap for u! Remember to come update us on ur progress :) looking forward to ur new arrival of joy!
Dun worry bout the gestational diabetes, jus moderate ur sugar intake, drink more water, and rest while u can! Jiayou

This is my bf journey that I would like to share with some of the mummies who have challenge in just giving BM only.

I was not successful in tbf my #1. But I successfully exclusively breastfeed #2 to #4. Now I am doing it for my #5. I only cup A size. I don't produce a lot of BM like some mummies in this forum but enough for BB.

Now BB is 14 days old. Other than 2 FM feeds that were fed to him using cup in hospital, I did not supplement with FM other than giving him EBM using cup one time per day which is in the morning. I will empty both breasts when giving BB EBM. BB only drinks around 60-70ml.

There are 2 timings that he will cluster feeding which is around 1-3pm and 9-11pm. Both timings I will not give EBM cos this is a good time for BB to stimulate my breast to make more milk. After a few rounds of alternating between the 2 breasts, BB is satisfied and sleep for 3-4 hours.

If really want on BM only. First latching must be correctly done. If babies fall asleep at the breast, do breast compression to assist the milk flow and they will start sucking once there is a flow and also towards the end of a nursing session. And by doing this will actually empty your breast more.

First week, I was having blocked ducts and breast was not fully empty. Now all clear and I can feel my BB empty my breast fully cos it will become softer. But still recovering from sore nipples.

Babies solely on BM will typically gain 1-1.5kg for the first month and then will have a slower weight gain thereafter.

Really must have someone to support you if you want tbf to be successful.
@4gals... sorry but what is TBF? I'm very cuckoo when it comes to shortforms..sometimes I read and read and trying to figure what the shortforms means, but some will take me days and I still cannot guess what is it. I know BF.. but what is TBF?

TBF is total breast feeding

Cool_y2, I also encountered the same situation and stayed an extra nite with baby. Am bringing my 19 days old girl to poly later for follow up check.. hope she will pass the blood test today.. don't be upset okie. . Just try to rest more.. I think I worried too much over the jaundice as well as a chickenpox hubby who still can't come home since baby was born.. so I actually am feeling very down.. and guess all these led to me falling sick with sore throat, flu, fever.. and not to mention engorged boobs etc etc.. thankfully I can turn to this forum to let go of my emotions.. sorry ladies for the negativity!
I hope everything will be well for every mummy here!!

Hello mummies, I'm approaching 39 weeks end this week..gynae says bb head seems to be bigger and suggest inducing. his weight is 3kg now. I'm abit afraid of inducing as may lead to emer csect. Another option is to wait until nature takes its course but bb may be too big for natural later on. His cord is behind his neck so I'm also worried about this.

What do u think I should do - induce or wait?

Actually not all inducing will lead to emergency c-sec. 2 of my girls i induced at 38wks. But mus b prepared to push very very hard if its ur 1st child, n if u choose to take epidural. I was in labour 9hrs for #1, and 6hrs for #2. Cannot stop pushing once fully dilated, cos scare head stuck in btw the birth canal or lead to low oxygen/heart rate.
My #1 head at birth was 35cm, which doc consider big.
Lastly depends if u trust ur doc judgement, n how confortable r u with the choices given. :) dont tink so much, i believe whether u wait or induce, ur in gd hands of ur gynae...

@sweetness , it mus b tiring for u to take care of bb, n ur hubby nt with u physically. Hope ur bb jaundice is cleared today! My bb cleared at day 17, reading was 102. So i think after day 10 will drop.

How long more mus ur hub be quarantined? Stay strong mummy, now nt the time to get sick wor! Take carez!

Hello mummies, I'm approaching 39 weeks end this week..gynae says bb head seems to be bigger and suggest inducing. his weight is 3kg now. I'm abit afraid of inducing as may lead to emer csect. Another option is to wait until nature takes its course but bb may be too big for natural later on. His cord is behind his neck so I'm also worried about this.

What do u think I should do - induce or wait?

I also induced with epidural. I was in labour for about 8 hours..Managed to push without any assist. My gynae nearly want to vacuum the Bb out as the heart beat drop. Bb estimated weight was 3.1-3.2kg but actual is 2.97kg. Don't worry too much..

I think my bb is already making me to get accustomed to his late night schedules. Turing 39 weeks this thur n it is getting increasingly harder to sleep at night with horrible heartburn, constant peeing, ribcage n pelvic sores from his stretches n stunts. Luckily I have this forum to keep me occupied. It's been really useful to read and understand what all fellow mums have been gg through and to manage my own expectations. Soon I will be joining ur league in the real deal.

Thanks @furbee & @evelyntan83! How was your inducing done? With epidural, won't feel the pain right?

My induce was done by drip and my gynae broke my waterbag.. Basically I don't really feel the contraction anymore after the epidural but as the bb move downward more can feel the pressure and the nurse help to increase the dosage a little bit. Just to share, after the epidural, I start to shivering..

Cool_y2, I also encountered the same situation and stayed an extra nite with baby. Am bringing my 19 days old girl to poly later for follow up check.. hope she will pass the blood test today.. don't be upset okie. . Just try to rest more.. I think I worried too much over the jaundice as well as a chickenpox hubby who still can't come home since baby was born.. so I actually am feeling very down.. and guess all these led to me falling sick with sore throat, flu, fever.. and not to mention engorged boobs etc etc.. thankfully I can turn to this forum to let go of my emotions.. sorry ladies for the negativity!
I hope everything will be well for every mummy here!!
My bb is also 19days old. U and me gave birth the same day?!

Be strong and many mummies r support u here.

My bb will go back to Polyclinic tomorrow to do blood test for jaundice too.

My bb is also 19days old. U and me gave birth the same day?!

Be strong and many mummies r support u here.

My bb will go back to Polyclinic tomorrow to do blood test for jaundice too.

I never bring bb to re-check his jaundice again. Saw his skin color back to normal tot it's fine. Is it necessary to have him check again?

Hi furbee, thanks for the encouragement! Hubby shld be able to come home this weekend le! Like finally. . I've been feeling so alone eversince I went into labour till now..

Hi MTB - 2015, your bb also born on 30 Apr!?! Mine was 4 days earlier than edd. . Thot she would be overdue like the elder sister.
My elder girl was induced at 40w+2d via insertion of pill at cervix at abt 2pm. Contractions started abt 8+pm and I went hospital at 10pm.. took epidural cos nurses scare me saying that when gynae comes to break waterbag, it will be super painful. . So I took lor.. thereafter no pain at all.. but I got side effects of shivering and vomiting. .
Hi blythylively, so with epi there's no pain.. but your mind has to be strong to know that u need to push when the gynae says so.. cos u won't feel anything..
My baby 3.24kg was out at 2am, so labour was pretty short for 1st baby..
Subsequently, the nurses said actually my pain tolerance is quite high.. cos they didn't turn on the drip a lot.. and they said I can try without epi for the next baby... and which I did... hahaha.. not too bad an experience actually. . So no scared ok. . Just go with the flow. . We can't worry abt the unknown anyway! Jiayou!

Regular Braxton hicks, intense but painless contractions 10mins apart since last night till now. Any experience, anyone?

Feeling quite tired coz didn't sleep well. I know it's not real labor pains coz there is no back/tummy pain.
Week 39....hope baby comes soon.

I only had very pain feeling once ytd night.. my hubby helps me with breathing technique.. tightening on and off but not as frequent as 10mins.. hope baby is coming soon too.. prefer not to be induced..

I think my bb is already making me to get accustomed to his late night schedules. Turing 39 weeks this thur n it is getting increasingly harder to sleep at night with horrible heartburn, constant peeing, ribcage n pelvic sores from his stretches n stunts. Luckily I have this forum to keep me occupied. It's been really useful to read and understand what all fellow mums have been gg through and to manage my own expectations. Soon I will be joining ur league in the real deal.

Hey skivewalker same like you. Im in wk 39+5. Just finished my gynae appt, and he told me dun need to scan today n jus listen to bb's heartbeat lol. I feel like im just paying him every wk now to wait at his clinic, see him n say hello, talk abit and say goodbye. He nvr mentioned anything abt inducing or wat, just say bb shld come out anytime now. My gynae very laid back hor.

Sighs. Endure.

Wk 39+5. Just finished my gynae appt, and he told me dun need to scan n jus listen to bb's heartbeat lol. I feel like im just paying him every wk now to wait at his clinic, see him n say hello, talk abit and say goodbye. He nvr mentioned anything abt inducing or wat, just say bb shld come out anytime now. But when???

Sighs.
I have the same feeling too when I can wait more than two hrs n see him for only 5mins! I got a scan ytd only because he scared bb stopped growing. But I guess u n bb doing fine so it's a gd thing he didn't mention induction.