Mummies, just to share based on my experience. If u are pump and realise that milk doesn't flow as well but you know u have ample supply. Do check out the size of the flange. ill fitting flange will cause milk flow problem also. As for my boy latching problem. I am going to see another LC this week, hopefully she can help solved the problem.

Ya flange size is important, if wrong will hurt the areola wen pump for long period. Not always both nipple same size too..
Momocrv u mean u went once to c lc but still not successful to latch?

Yea been lying down to feed this 2days, but still he cant slp well..tink he's jus a night owl! Toot toot~~ 4am zzz.
Honestly, i cant position well on a queen size bed with bb & hubby at night.. :( space is really a constraint...
Been storing up my bm since i start pumping so yes will save lotsa money! Giving my #2 didi's bm aso :x
@furbee.. how u store them? I thot the initial flow all very small amt? I also thinking to store but when I look at the pathetic amt of 10ml, 20ml, etc. I just add them into the formula top up.

Ya flange size is important, if wrong will hurt the areola wen pump for long period. Not always both nipple same size too..
Momocrv u mean u went once to c lc but still not successful to latch?
Yes I went to see two LC recently; one managed to help me unclogged my ducts but not successful in helping with the latch. The other also the same. Just asked me to practise more often. Am seeing another one this week and see if she can help.

How's everyone's milk flow righ now? I heard normally for 1st month the flow is little but it will increase? My son is a big eater I can't keep up with his demand. Have to supplement with formula.

Any mummy is drinking rice wine/Dom during confinement? I am breastfeeding 2.5-3 hourly day and night, so when should I drink Dom? The alcohol will make bb drunk? How much should I drink Dom daily?

@momocrv, which LC you are looking ? Is she good? Did u asked LC to visit to your home ?

I actually not sure if my milk flow sufficient or not. Heard as long as bb poo 5-6 times a day should be ok. I have pump my bm several times and only got around 10 ml so far. Not much I guess. But dunno whether bb sucks better than breast pump?

Any mummy is drinking rice wine/Dom during confinement? I am breastfeeding 2.5-3 hourly day and night, so when should I drink Dom? The alcohol will make bb drunk? How much should I drink Dom daily?

I was told by TCM physician that wr cannot drink Dom or alcohol if bf. otherwise bb will get drunk. But you can cook the alcohol first before u drink.

My baby I latch for 10mins then she will fall asleep, so I have to pump out the milk of the other side. I don't know why she likes sleeping so much, most of the time sleeping, only wake up for milk every 3 hours then sleep through out another 3 hours. Maybe due to jaundice ba.

Mine also having jaundice. She also always so sleepy. wake up cry once latch on she fall asleep. When she drink milk i got to wake her up so many times.

@momocrv, which LC you are looking ? Is she good? Did u asked LC to visit to your home ?

I actually not sure if my milk flow sufficient or not. Heard as long as bb poo 5-6 times a day should be ok. I have pump my bm several times and only got around 10 ml so far. Not much I guess. But dunno whether bb sucks better than breast pump?
The earlier two not fantastic. I will let u know the coming one is good if you're keen to find out.

One visited my home but she's super rough. I manage to pump about close to 100ml now alternate between each breast of 5mins each but have to rest between two sessions of 20mins.

Mine also having jaundice. She also always so sleepy. wake up cry once latch on she fall asleep. When she drink milk i got to wake her up so many times.
Same same. My bb is so difficult to wake her up, I have to use wet towel to wipe her face many times. Normal movement like rub her hands feet and ears can not wake her up.

Just to share some information, for mom that low in milk supply you can try to eat katok / katuk leaf. It's really help to produce milk. Last night dinner just have a bowl of it and this morning able to pump out 60ml of milk! My best harvest so far..
It's quite difficult to find in Spore, you can try find in market maybe some stall that sell vegie have this leaf.
No harm to try and hopr it's help!

Just to share some information, for mom that low in milk supply you can try to eat katok / katuk leaf. It's really help to produce milk. Last night dinner just have a bowl of it and this morning able to pump out 60ml of milk! My best harvest so far..
It's quite difficult to find in Spore, you can try find in market maybe some stall that sell vegie have this leaf.
No harm to try and hopr it's help!
Vinka, at which market u found katuk leaf?

The earlier two not fantastic. I will let u know the coming one is good if you're keen to find out.

One visited my home but she's super rough. I manage to pump about close to 100ml now alternate between each breast of 5mins each but have to rest between two sessions of 20mins.

Thanks momocrv. Wow so can pump so much milk now. That 100 ml is for one breast or two breast?

I am a bit worried if I do not have enough milk and cannot keep pace with my bb needs. He is 11 days old today. I try to pumping milk after feed my baby, and I only get very very little around 10-20 ml only. Not sure if it is because have been suck by my bb. Bb poo around 4-5 times a day, but every poo very little, not so much. Last time, when I give bb formula milk, he poo a lot.

Same same. My bb is so difficult to wake her up, I have to use wet towel to wipe her face many times. Normal movement like rub her hands feet and ears can not wake her up.
me too..... i wake him up by burping, try to talk with him, then open his swaddle, or even sometime i just open his clothes n diaper. Sometimes works immediately, sometimes took few minutes to make him awake. lols....

Thanks momocrv. Wow so can pump so much milk now. That 100 ml is for one breast or two breast?

I am a bit worried if I do not have enough milk and cannot keep pace with my bb needs. He is 11 days old today. I try to pumping milk after feed my baby, and I only get very very little around 10-20 ml only. Not sure if it is because have been suck by my bb. Bb poo around 4-5 times a day, but every poo very little, not so much. Last time, when I give bb formula milk, he poo a lot.

Mylilsheep - two breast. Alternate each at 5mins. Friends told me to read up about power pumping. But my son is big eater I can't keep up with his demand so have to top up with formula too. Mine is 13 days old today. He drinks about 80-100ml per feed every 2 to 3 hours. Is it too much?

@momocrv my boy 16days drinks also ard 100ml, twice he drank 200ml which i tink is really overfeeding.
Ya power pump for 5-7mins den rest max 30mins do a few cycle till milk duct clear or can see increase in overall amount..

@jjmom, i all d while produce alot milk de since my #1. At day 6 i can pump 300ml both breast every 3hourly if i nv latch. 1st few days no milk den whatever i pump i combine (within 24hrs) as one bottle. Den slowly stock in fridge. Sometimes will jus latch den pump if really got the time to up the supply.

My bb also same like urs, hard to wake up. Only when i put him down he cries, den again carry latch he slps.will try @mylilsheep method later...

@Skivewalker , @whimsicalfix85 , @friomum , @isenggirl ... Now already mid may, enjoy ur big bellies!! Really miss the times when bb inside! Now being zombified by bb not fun... Hehe. Real soon bb will be in ur arms :)

Yup last lap Liao. I think in the next one or two weeks we would be busy scrolling back ur discussions on ur breastfeeding. Now just waiting game for us ☺

Mine 21 May. Getting quite bored waiting at home, but at e same time tired and dun feel like doing anything. Aircon bill soaring at home lolol…

Mylilsheep,

I found at market near my house. But also limited only 1 pack. If you want i can ask my maid to check market and maybe can ask the seller to provide everyday. Pm me your number if you want if any i will inform you.

Hi Vinka,

Where are you staying?
I am still looking for katuk leave as well. Has been searching it near my place @ punggol. But could not find any yet :(

Mine 21 May. Getting quite bored waiting at home, but at e same time tired and dun feel like doing anything. Aircon bill soaring at home lolol…

haha i am so tired everyday i take afternoon naps! although nothing much to do at home but it felt good to sleep as and when i like.
actually i'm on mc for the past few days as i caught a throat infection from hubby and gynae is very kind to issue mc let me rest at home.

Hey mummies who are currently pumping milk,how long do you pump for each breast for 1 session? For those with low supply,you may want to pump till you get a letdown.

Today is the 2nd time I almost wanted to give up after pumping my left breast for 20min but only get 45ml. I know it can't be possible coz my left side still felt full. So I pumped the right one and then 5min later,back to pump left one again. In the end,I experienced a letdown on my left and got total 70ml at the end of 10min! I was elated to see an initial 45ml become 70ml. Last week the same thing happened. From 80ml to 120ml after a letdown. So yeah...wait for a letdown!

Let us all jia you,mummies!

@yew_yew , i use dual pump max 15mins. My letdown only comes when bb start screaming, if not den i just massage while pumping. Luckily u nv give up pumping!! Yea lets all not give up !

same here aircon on almost 24/7. now just killing time looking for ideas for BB shower but if end up c-section probably just keep it simple.

Yes I went to see two LC recently; one managed to help me unclogged my ducts but not successful in helping with the latch. The other also the same. Just asked me to practise more often. Am seeing another one this week and see if she can help.

How's everyone's milk flow righ now? I heard normally for 1st month the flow is little but it will increase? My son is a big eater I can't keep up with his demand. Have to supplement with formula.
Yah.. me topping up with formula too. Cannot keep up with bb demand. after suckle for 1 hour plus, he's still hungry.. gotta top up 70-90ml of formula.

Mylilsheep,

I found at market near my house. But also limited only 1 pack. If you want i can ask my maid to check market and maybe can ask the seller to provide everyday. Pm me your number if you want if any i will inform you.
Vinka, how do u cook the leaves?

I find this article in the web regarding breastfeeding. Hope mummies will find it useful.

From KellyMom:

"No pump can remove milk from the breast as well as an effectively nursing baby, so pumping does not maintain milk supply as well as a nursing baby. Because of this, the greater the percentage of baby’s nourishment provided by pumping (rather than direct breastfeeding), the greater the possibility that mom may have to work harder to maintain supply."

And this:

"It is quite normal to need to pump 2-3 times to get enough milk for one feeding for baby (remember that the pump cannot get as much milk as a baby who nurses effectively)...Don’t get discouraged if you are trying to build up a freezer stash when nursing full time and don’t get much milk per pumping session — this is perfectly normal and expected."

How to do the power pump:

"Power pumping involves using regular pumping techniques and setup, but in a unique way. The idea is to mimic a baby who is nursing frequently to increase a mother’s supply, as is common in the nursing relationship during a growth spurt." - Hilary Jacobsen, founder of MOBI
  • Prepare for a normal pumping session, pump for 10-20 minutes.
  • Rest for 10 minutes
  • Pump 10 minutes
  • Rest 10 minutes
  • Pump for 10 minutes
  • Continue this cycle for 60 minutes once a day, for up to a few days.
The amount of milk you pump by the end of the session doesn't matter - it may be only drops - but the goal is to stimulate your breasts and the "supply and demand" principle to encourage your body to make more milk.

Some extra tips:
  • Try not to watch the amount of milk coming out of the pump - think of this saying: A watched pot never boils. Same for pumping.
  • Remember when we talked about using relaxation and visualization? It works for pumping, too!One study has shown that the moms of hospitalized babies who listened to guided relaxation or soothing music while pumping had an increased pumping output - up to 2-3 times their normal output!

Having some kind of diarrhea today. Hey its a sign of impending labour! Or it could be the fish last nite. Lol dun mind me, getting desperate to offload my bump :D

Wk 39 tmr!

Hey mummies,baby and I are back from polyclinic. Went for jaundice check again (6th time since born). Hopefully today is the last - baby's jaundice level is 93 today.

Anyway, just to share. My fully breastfed girl didn't poop for 4.5 days last week but I wasn't that concerned since breastfed babies can't be constipated. Did a Google check and found out that if breastfed babies don't poop for a few days,it means they have fully absorbed the breastmilk. Was skeptical when I read this but just now the doctor also said the same thing. So it might be true. And my girl gained 700grams within one week. Gosh. Don't know if there's anything wrong with the weighing scale there....lol.

Having some kind of diarrhea today. Hey its a sign of impending labour! Or it could be the fish last nite. Lol dun mind me, getting desperate to offload my bump :D

Wk 39 tmr!
how many times did u go to toilet? Though it could be a sign. I had diarrhea during W36 too and thought was labour but the next day I was ok. Drink more water to hydrate yourself and monitor. I had so many false alarms and went in labour ward twice in 2 weeks thinking I could be in labour, all the mid wives know me liao. Now I don't dare to anyhow call labour ward, I just hope I have clearer signs like show, water bag burst or what.

Hey mummies,baby and I are back from polyclinic. Went for jaundice check again (6th time since born). Hopefully today is the last - baby's jaundice level is 93 today.

Anyway, just to share. My fully breastfed girl didn't poop for 4.5 days last week but I wasn't that concerned since breastfed babies can't be constipated. Did a Google check and found out that if breastfed babies don't poop for a few days,it means they have fully absorbed the breastmilk. Was skeptical when I read this but just now the doctor also said the same thing. So it might be true. And my girl gained 700grams within one week. Gosh. Don't know if there's anything wrong with the weighing scale there....lol.
Yew_yew did u have to wait long at polyclinic for the jaundice test?

Think our edd quite close. Mine is 28 May. Anyone around that date?

Me! 27 May. Gynae wants to induce me early cos of GDM. Week 38 today but cervix not opened yet so continue to wait. Gg back again on Sat. Hopefully bb will want to come out on her own so I don't have to be induced.

Weather is so hot...I'm also on air con most of the time in my room. Think confinement time will be 24/7 my room and living room.

same here aircon on almost 24/7. now just killing time looking for ideas for BB shower but if end up c-section probably just keep it simple.

I will keep it simple and order from Neo Garden. Can also add on red eggs and ang ku Kueh. Does the full month celebration follows the lunar or normal calendar?

how many times did u go to toilet? Though it could be a sign. I had diarrhea during W36 too and thought was labour but the next day I was ok. Drink more water to hydrate yourself and monitor. I had so many false alarms and went in labour ward twice in 2 weeks thinking I could be in labour, all the mid wives know me liao. Now I don't dare to anyhow call labour ward, I just hope I have clearer signs like show, water bag burst or what.

Twice today. Haha I think im just too sian of waiting. Wah what happened dat made you tink you were in labour? My first one i was scared of false labour, so tahan contractions the whole nite before calling my gynae in e morning. Even then took me like 9hrs to deliver.

Hmm this time round hopefully faster!

Mylilsheep - two breast. Alternate each at 5mins. Friends told me to read up about power pumping. But my son is big eater I can't keep up with his demand so have to top up with formula too. Mine is 13 days old today. He drinks about 80-100ml per feed every 2 to 3 hours. Is it too much?
momocrv, my PD last time told me that I can give my baby formula milk 75-85 ml per feed every 3 hours then add on 15 ml every 3 days. But if give him breastfeed then it would be hard to measure, just look at baby's pee and poo. I try to fully breastfeed bb these 2 days. I did not top up with formula, but I need to wake him up every 2-3 hour even only he could only just suck a while then sleep, then wake him again then he sleep again, etc. Looks like power pumping method. This morning I try to pump and now I can get abt 40 ml. I am quite happy coz my milk production has increased a bit.

I will keep it simple and order from Neo Garden. Can also add on red eggs and ang ku Kueh. Does the full month celebration follows the lunar or normal calendar?

Not sure, I just counted within 30 days of birth. Old folks say better hv e celebration before or on the full month date, not later. Nway most of e time hv to hold on a wkend, more convenient for pple to come so usually wont be on actual day.

@momocrv my boy 16days drinks also ard 100ml, twice he drank 200ml which i tink is really overfeeding.
Ya power pump for 5-7mins den rest max 30mins do a few cycle till milk duct clear or can see increase in overall amount..

@jjmom, i all d while produce alot milk de since my #1. At day 6 i can pump 300ml both breast every 3hourly if i nv latch. 1st few days no milk den whatever i pump i combine (within 24hrs) as one bottle. Den slowly stock in fridge. Sometimes will jus latch den pump if really got the time to up the supply.

My bb also same like urs, hard to wake up. Only when i put him down he cries, den again carry latch he slps.will try @mylilsheep method later...

@Skivewalker , @whimsicalfix85 , @friomum , @isenggirl ... Now already mid may, enjoy ur big bellies!! Really miss the times when bb inside! Now being zombified by bb not fun... Hehe. Real soon bb will be in ur arms :)

@furbee, wow envy with you have so much milk liao. My sis also have a lot of milk. I think is because she has prolactin hormone higher then mine. She said she need to bring baby everywhere she go, otherwise breast engorge liao. Do u feed 3 hourly ur bb at night too?

hahaha yeahh I'm not sure to say if I missed the time bb inside. Coz I am overdue and really tired too bring big tummy everywhere. But now after bb come out oso not convenient to go everywhere and really exhausted with bb. Think the happiest moment is before getting pregnant bah. Can go whereever u want n eat whatever u want, enjoy the world of two. :D

Not sure, I just counted within 30 days of birth. Old folks say better hv e celebration before or on the full month date, not later. Nway most of e time hv to hold on a wkend, more convenient for pple to come so usually wont be on actual day.

Ok..... First grandchild for my parents so they want to have celebration. Estimated 40 relatives so I can only invite 10 friends. If not, the grp will b too big. But friends started asking about full month party. Dunno how.

Mylilsheep,

Thanks Vinka. Bedok market too far fr my place. I just have my post natal gynae visit today and he prescribed me medicine to increase milk supply. Hope it works.

@momocrv, today's wait was longer (30min longer) coz my baby is more than a month old and they said babies more than 1 month need to have more blood taken. The method of testing is different.

Ok..... First grandchild for my parents so they want to have celebration. Estimated 40 relatives so I can only invite 10 friends. If not, the grp will b too big. But friends started asking about full month party. Dunno how.

For frens who ask, can consider just giving them bengawan solo cake vouchers. They hv those specially for full month. For colleagues, maybe just bring some cakes or light snacks etc to office?

Opposite of you, we didnt invite relatives for my first one cos not close, just gave away cake vouchers. Celebrated with mostly close friends, colleagues and parents.

that's what I thot so, can be early but not later. My Hubby and MIL say otherwise. They say only on or after exact full mth den can celebrate. So... follow lor.

Haha all different sayings… but if mil say like this then yeah better follow her hor… for my case, my mother is e more pantang one so listen to her, less nagging

For frens who ask, can consider just giving them bengawan solo cake vouchers. They hv those specially for full month. For colleagues, maybe just bring some cakes or light snacks etc to office?

Opposite of you, we didnt invite relatives for my first one cos not close, just gave away cake vouchers. Celebrated with mostly close friends, colleagues and parents.

I'm not close to Half the relatives my mum gg to invite but no choice. I guess I will need to give vouchers to those friends and ex colleagues who visits me and give bb presents.