Just realize I'm not alone and still a number of us waiting for the arrival of our bundle of joy. I would be 38 weeks this Thur and feel that time seems to be passing really slowly. No signs of dilation just losta of BH n tightening. A part of me is hoping to hold my Bb soon n yet a part of me is very worried I would not be able to handle him and the challenges of breastfeeding. Really don't know what to expect when labour really happens. Though I know it is better to wait then to induce, I am just afraid I wouldn't be in time for epidural coz everyone's symptoms differ and not all will have water bag burst or feel contractions. Don't even know my baby's weight now n last scan was at w34. Gynae said not necessary to scan now coz won't be accurate anyway. Guess I still have to slowly count down to the big day.

My baby I latch for 10mins then she will fall asleep, so I have to pump out the milk of the other side. I don't know why she likes sleeping so much, most of the time sleeping, only wake up for milk every 3 hours then sleep through out another 3 hours. Maybe due to jaundice ba.
Newborns are like that .sleeps ALOT!! . Very normal . They sleep a lot the first few months .its good that she wakes on her own for milk every 3 hrs . Congrats !!

Just realize I'm not alone and still a number of us waiting for the arrival of our bundle of joy. I would be 38 weeks this Thur and feel that time seems to be passing really slowly. No signs of dilation just losta of BH n tightening. A part of me is hoping to hold my Bb soon n yet a part of me is very worried I would not be able to handle him and the challenges of breastfeeding. Really don't know what to expect when labour really happens. Though I know it is better to wait then to induce, I am just afraid I wouldn't be in time for epidural coz everyone's symptoms differ and not all will have water bag burst or feel contractions. Don't even know my baby's weight now n last scan was at w34. Gynae said not necessary to scan now coz won't be accurate anyway. Guess I still have to slowly count down to the big day.
Don't worry .. Just try to relax and go for a movie And have some couple time b4 bb's here . A lot of the things you worry about is BEYOND. ur control .. Sooo . Just go with the flow .. Just have ur hospital bags ready.. When the time comes you would know .. Good luck . Best wishes !!

@LovesNewBorns thanks for ur encouragement. All set n ready with his arrival. Just killing time each day reading forums n surfing information. Wah don't dare to go for movies, scared too loud n Bb gets too excited haha.

@ furbee, think my baby might also take my boobs as pacifiers. On the other side, I always feels that he did not have enough milk.

Yeah I agree breastfeeding is very challenging and tiring. I am so tired and want to give up. Every time baby still look for breast even I have latch him for 2 hours plus, I have been so tired, I just give him formula milk to make him sleep. Otherwise, baby would not let me sleep at all.
Don't give up on TTBF... It'll get easier in time ... And not to mention save u a bundle on expensive milk powder .
Have u tried feeding bb , laying on ur side in bed .? This way you can close ur eyes while bb nurse . You don't have to 'stare' at ur little darlings while they nurse .
Lay on ur side ( 3 prong position ), put a pillow under the upper leg to keep ur spine straight . Bring bb close to u and offer a breast ... Some moms are scared they might 'squash' onto bb should they fall asleep ..... TO help PREVENT rolling onto bb ..You CAN Put another pillow behind ur upper back and lean a little angle back onto that pillow . Ur elbow above bb head will also prevent that .. You can put a small pillow / boster behind bb Also to angle him / her up to face u . It can be done . Also allow u to catch 40 winks .
Hope u can understand what I'm trying to say .. / explain .
Good luck. U'd get better with practice . :)
IMPORTANT: Never have ur baby at the bed edge .. Always Move more to the centre of the bed ..ok !!?!

@LovesNewBorns thanks for ur encouragement. All set n ready with his arrival. Just killing time each day reading forums n surfing information. Wah don't dare to go for movies, scared too loud n Bb gets too excited haha.
Noise do not bother bb ... They must adapt to our noisy world . When ur bb is here .. Pls don't go around tip toeing and shishing everyone to be quiet because of bb ..
That way ur bb will Be TOO sensitive and becomes a very light sleeper .
I used to laugh out loud even with my sleeping bb in my arm s . No pblm there . Now they can sleep thru a thunder storm . Hee2 .
Whereas some 'sensitive' bb will awake even if you close the door quietly or on the TV . Let baby adapt to US , not the other way round ... Because they won't know any better .

Hi gleaflim, my baby got jaundice too.. highest reading at 222 when she was 8 days old. Today at 12 days old, the reading is 126. The doc said they expect jaundice to clear up after 10 days when baby's liver start maturing. I still have to go back next week for follow up check too.. hope it will be below 100 so that poor baby no need to go thru more blood tests.. my poor girl has already been pricked 5x since birth for those blood tests..

Last week reading was ard 190+ at 12 days old. Doc asked me to monitor at home. My boy has been pricked 4× since birth. Hope the jaundice will go away soon.

Yeah great tat ur milk came in already.. Ya loh cannot stress if not will affect the amount of output aso... Lol. But how can not b stress with the bb cries n hot hot hot weather! Lol

Yeahh we can only say not to stress but actually we stress lol! The weather is really too hot i can't tahan and open aircon.

Visited gynae last weekend. W38 baby weighing 3.2kg. Gynae says +/- 15% off the weight which gives me 2.75kg or perhaps heavier. I am just worried about not being able to give birth naturally.
No signs of labour yet...gynae discourage induce and suggest to monitor and see progress of baby weight and labour first. He feels inducing have a higher chance of emer c sect because baby is ready to come out but the cervix is not ready at all. :(

Hi happycsk,

If no any issue better you wait until baby want to come out! You still have time to wait don't worry. I induce and try for natural end up emergency c sect.

Hi mummie:)
My hubby n myself have been blessed in abundance with the arrival our baby girl on 9th May.
Gave birth via csect, n our Queen entered e world weighing 4.35kg n 57cm tall.
Thank u to all mummies here for all ur care, concern, support, sharing n encouragemnt throughout tis beautiful journey of ours.
Happy Mother's Day!:))

Congrats sheran!

Yeahh we can only say not to stress but actually we stress lol! The weather is really too hot i can't tahan and open aircon.
Having air con on is ok .. Just set temp 26+/-.. Cool , fine .. Not too cold and not directly on you .
Treat ur baby's crys , like they're singing to you .. Don't stress ..just enjoy , good to help their lungs to be stronger . Hugs

Hi gleaflim, my baby got jaundice too.. highest reading at 222 when she was 8 days old. Today at 12 days old, the reading is 126. The doc said they expect jaundice to clear up after 10 days when baby's liver start maturing. I still have to go back next week for follow up check too.. hope it will be below 100 so that poor baby no need to go thru more blood tests.. my poor girl has already been pricked 5x since birth for those blood tests..
My bb's reading was 248 when she was 9 days old.
This morning 9am I brought her downstairs and did 10mins sunbathing at children playground.
Her eyes r still yellowish leh..... Should I increase the timing of sunbathing?

Don't give up on TTBF... It'll get easier in time ... And not to mention save u a bundle on expensive milk powder .
Have u tried feeding bb , laying on ur side in bed .? This way you can close ur eyes while bb nurse . You don't have to 'stare' at ur little darlings while they nurse .
Lay on ur side ( 3 prong position ), put a pillow under the upper leg to keep ur spine straight . Bring bb close to u and offer a breast ... Some moms are scared they might 'squash' onto bb should they fall asleep ..... TO help PREVENT rolling onto bb ..You CAN Put another pillow behind ur upper back and lean a little angle back onto that pillow . Ur elbow above bb head will also prevent that .. You can put a small pillow / boster behind bb Also to angle him / her up to face u . It can be done . Also allow u to catch 40 winks .
IMPORTANT: Never have ur baby at the bed edge .. Always Move more to the centre of the bed ..ok !!?!

Yea been lying down to feed this 2days, but still he cant slp well..tink he's jus a night owl! Toot toot~~ 4am zzz.
Honestly, i cant position well on a queen size bed with bb & hubby at night.. :( space is really a constraint...
Been storing up my bm since i start pumping so yes will save lotsa money! Giving my #2 didi's bm aso :x

This morning 9am I brought her downstairs and did 10mins sunbathing at children playground.

I feel 10mins front 10mins back is long enuff, or if bb is 'warm' .. Try not to sun bath too long aso. One day twice...

Hi mummies, regarding the episiotomy, how many days will the cut heal completely ? Mine 11days already, still painful and the stitches looks half tear out. Is it because of I walk and sit most of the time? Must I bed rest whole day? :(

Hi MTB-2015,
I usually sun her at abt 8am for 15mins. . And if possible, at 6pm for 15mins as well.. but so far I only managed to sun her abt 3x due to the recent cloudy weather. Other than sunbathing, I also bathe her with a Chinese herb/medicine (called "ng kee") for abt 3 days.. not sure the reduced reading is due to the sun or the bath water. Whatever that can help and doesn't hurt the baby, I will try.. hope your little one will get better soon!
As for the V tear, I'm day 12 now and still feel a little stinging pain down there too.. will just wait till next Mon for my gynae checkup to see how it goes..

Yea been lying down to feed this 2days, but still he cant slp well..tink he's jus a night owl! Toot toot~~ 4am zzz.
Honestly, i cant position well on a queen size bed with bb & hubby at night.. :( space is really a constraint...
Been storing up my bm since i start pumping so yes will save lotsa money! Giving my #2 didi's bm aso :x

Yes , don't waste ur precious BM ..One of my new mommies , not only give it to the older child , she even put it into her hubby's coffee . Hee2 !!
As for the bed ,maybe u can try sleeping horizontally instead of head to toe . It'll surely give u more space in between .. But u and hubby's legs might be a bit dangling out the other side .
WE Mummies have to be very innovative !!! Try and try we must until it works for US . Gambette~ \(^.^)/

Episiotomy wound should heal within 3 wks according to my dr. I'm on the 5th day and only feel slight pain. With my #1, the wound stopped hurting completely ard 3 wks. Important not to squat, or open the legs too wide.

@yveyve18 , yea same same my dr aso advise against squatting n opening legs wide. Day 14, i think my stitches all drop/dissolved, but still got blister as wound still raw during my last gynae visit at day 9. He aso say best wait till 1 mth for total heal.
@LovesNewBorns , lol ya been slping horizontally for past 1 yr, but cant swap left n right to breastfeed at night.. Lol.
Mummies, Do u all co sleep with bb or put in cot or ??

Hi mummies, regarding the episiotomy, how many days will the cut heal completely ? Mine 11days already, still painful and the stitches looks half tear out. Is it because of I walk and sit most of the time? Must I bed rest whole day? :(

Rest to walk in small steps, dun cross legs, squat, kneel or bend down for the time being.. N poo frequently, dont wait till constipated cos can aso affect the wound if its near anus. N aso wipe thoroughly dry the stitch/wound area, try wearing cotton undies too.. Will heal soon!! Dont tink bout it......:rolleyes:

@yveyve18 , yea same same my dr aso advise against squatting n opening legs wide. Day 14, i think my stitches all drop/dissolved, but still got blister as wound still raw during my last gynae visit at day 9. He aso say best wait till 1 mth for total heal.
@LovesNewBorns , lol ya been slping horizontally for past 1 yr, but cant swap left n right to breastfeed at night.. Lol.
Mummies, Do u all co sleep with bb or put in cot or ??
While feeding , you close eyes '& nap'/sleep awhile . BUT when bb finishes .. Put bb back into bb cot to sleep . This also allows u to have a better sleep.

Day 4 & still no milk. Baby latch well if she's keen but most of the time she doesn't wanna suckle at all. I tried using pump to stimulate but rather painful. Don't know how hard to pump is consider good.

My episiotomy cut still pain & I sit on float when I need to sit up. I've excessive loss of blood so will be dizzy & turn white when standing up. Need bed rest but it's so difficult to just change positions while lying down.

@Purplehunny , wat pump u using? Dun stimulate & express at med-high yet since at most u be having colostrum @ this moment.. Use the lower-medium range for 10mins den u rest 2-3hrs b4 pumping again. If u able to latch, ur milk will cone in faster too..
U better bed rest moren dun sit too much... Rest more so ur wound heals faster den u can aso take care of bb..

@Purplehunny , wat pump u using? Dun stimulate & express at med-high yet since at most u be having colostrum @ this moment.. Use the lower-medium range for 10mins den u rest 2-3hrs b4 pumping again. If u able to latch, ur milk will cone in faster too..
U better bed rest moren dun sit too much... Rest more so ur wound heals faster den u can aso take care of bb..
when u said pump lower-medium range 10mins, we just continue pumping regularly though nothing come out issit?

I'm using avent manual. I've avent dual pump too but haven use. So u suggest using electric to pump & nothing comes out? Baby 4days old & she drinks 30-40ml/2hr is it a lot?

Me too, still playing the waiting game at 38+4 days. Just finished my gynae visit n bb is est 3kg. No signs of bb coming out soon tho aiya. Im waddling ard like a penguin, quite unglam haha!

me too! I am 38 weeks now but no feeling other than tightening past few days.. my bb seems comfortable inside and keep kicking me even more. I thought when bb going to come out we will feel less movements? But mine seems even more active.. movements very near rib cage area too (Seems bb position is still high?)

I will be in week 38 Tom. Gynae said he will induced me instead of waiting for full term cos I've GDM so it's safer for both bb and me. He monitors me twice a week now. Wonder how long is the process from induced to actual labour. My bb has been moving a lot too. A lot of tightening too and occasional mild cramps. Last night I felt pain on my ribs (both sides just below the breasts). So painful when I sleep on the side so didn't get to sleep well. Do you experience that too?

@isenggirl , @Purplehunny yup jus pump normal.. Cos sometimes wen u all latch baby takes the colostrum only. Den ur foremilk n hindmilk not out, so wen u pump is like telling ur body ur baby needs more milk, so will 'produce' more. This method can aso be to gain excess supply of bm once ur flow is stabilised. Dun give up.. Some ppl after day5 den start producing v v lil milk, but is ok as long u continue latch n pump to build up. Aso take fenugreek (may help)..

When my boy was 5days he drank 80ml, PD says supposed to be 30-40ml so ur girl is taking the right amount. 80ml supposed to be 2weeks old (gauge)

@happy08 , wats ur bb est weight now since dr advise to induce?
I've GDM but bb turned out to be of low sugar which was v unexpected n v v small. At 10days old ppl can still ask me if he premie thou he's a big eater.
Remember to ask the nurse to check ur bb sugar level after u deliver, cos one of my friend aso GDM but her admission letter did not state den they nv check her bb sugar lvl.

My boy is still yellow as of now :( I heard that the sunbathing should be ard 15 mins. My confinement lady will bring my boy for sunbathing b4 8 am so that the sun is not so strong yet. Already 2 weeks plus the yellowish seem not going away yet.

@gleaflim , wats ur boy jaundice lvl? My dr advice is 8-9am & 5-6pm sunbath.. Thou the sun light Feels glaring n hot, but actually wen under the sun only warm.. Baby wont chao tar unless more den 30mins... My #2 took one mth for her lvl to go under 100. :(
My boy aso now 2weeks still yellow, the sun not cooperative at my side leh. :mad:
Bb needs to drink well, n wet n poo diaper as much as possible aso.. Dun worry, jiayou too!!

@happy08 , wats ur bb est weight now since dr advise to induce?
I've GDM but bb turned out to be of low sugar which was v unexpected n v v small. At 10days old ppl can still ask me if he premie thou he's a big eater.
Remember to ask the nurse to check ur bb sugar level after u deliver, cos one of my friend aso GDM but her admission letter did not state den they nv check her bb sugar lvl.

@furbee, bb est 3kg on Sat. Gg for check Tom again. Just checked my letter... Stated impaired OGTT.

@gleaflim , wats ur boy jaundice lvl? My dr advice is 8-9am & 5-6pm sunbath.. Thou the sun light Feels glaring n hot, but actually wen under the sun only warm.. Baby wont chao tar unless more den 30mins... My #2 took one mth for her lvl to go under 100. :(
My boy aso now 2weeks still yellow, the sun not cooperative at my side leh. :mad:
Bb needs to drink well, n wet n poo diaper as much as possible aso.. Dun worry, jiayou too!!

My boy jaundice level is 198 on 2 & 5 may. He is ard 1 week plus that time. Doc said the reading is stabilize and asked me to monitor at home. Thank you furbee.. hope our boys yellowish will go away soon.

when u said pump lower-medium range 10mins, we just continue pumping regularly though nothing come out issit?
Yes carry on ... It help stimulate the milk glands . Don't be afraid to rub ur nibs . ..that'll toughen it and Sometime u'd even get something like 'white head thingy .. Those u see r cloted milk . That's one ways of clearing milk ducts. Ur nibs are like a bunch of straws .. Not just one tube . Massage ard ur breast too . Circular motions like breast examination , it loosen ur milk glads .. Don't doubt urself .. Keep on at bfeeding .. If bb is giving u 6-8 wet nappies .. Bbs fine . Fyi bf bbs don't poop as much compared to F-milk bbs & poops not as smelly . Good on YOU !! :)

same same here...i can still feel baby kicks on my ribs as usual. belly looks high to me. Very frequent BH and sometimes BH gets quite intense that stops me in my tracks though it's not painful. just really intense. i dont think baby is coming out soon to be honest haha...but it's ok lah...let her bake as long as she wants...can't help it also. I will take this time to search for more stuff to buy online and wait for my items to arrive. I bought 4 pieces of the airism bra tops yesterday. Hopefully they are useful.

Im experiencing the exact same thing as you two ladies @ 37 weeks now.

@Lina Hamid , i think this is a wrong thread for u. Most of mummies have yet to delivered, or baby is jus less den 2 mths old.
For me, my kid is in edufarm PG cost is far far cheaper den montessori. On tight budget therefore didnt do any research on montessori :)
Hope u can find a more suitable thread to get some answer :) good luck

Haiz. . I m having the same problem too. He can latch on for an hour or more but sleep only for a while. I got no choice but top up with formula milk. He gets hiccup quite often too, my PD asked me to bottle feed him. Now I try to pump out my milk, but very little. Does your baby get choke easily when you breastfeed or bottle feed him? It really scare me when I see him choke..

My gal latch for an hour each time. She also gets hiccups very frequently. My hubby say probably drink too fast.
I think baby have to latch on in order to get more breastmilk.
My 1st kid whom doesn't wants to latch on, as time goes I pump out lesser n lesser milk. Current kid drink directly, when she miss a feed I pump out gets more milk compare to previously.

Hi @sweetness my gal also have jaundice. Her highest reading 221 in e hospital. She stay in hospital for the first few days to do photo therapy. Currently today is 166. she is 12 days old. so pain ful being pricked to go for blood test. So heartpain.

@LovesNewBorns, ya.... I just trying lying on side feeding, but becoz i have c-sect a bit not comfortable for me to do this position. The first position that I am comfortable with at the moment still the cradle position. That means I need to wake up though sometimes my eyes closed.

Mummies, just to share based on my experience. If u are pump and realise that milk doesn't flow as well but you know u have ample supply. Do check out the size of the flange. ill fitting flange will cause milk flow problem also. As for my boy latching problem. I am going to see another LC this week, hopefully she can help solved the problem.

Any mummy got recommendation on baby hip seater carrier for newborn baby? I only bought the stroller and I find it is a bit troublesome if I m going out with my baby only. Thinking to get a carrier so that I can bring baby around more easily.