Ahh... seems like I have got much to prepare, I haven't gotten any baby toiletries yet :p

There's 2 more baby fairs in December, one's starting tomorrow and one is 19-21 Dec, I'll look out for these items and see what else I need to buy.

Btw, when baby goes home from hospital in car, is it a must to have infant car seat or can I use the baby carrier with infant insert?

Ahh... seems like I have got much to prepare, I haven't gotten any baby toiletries yet :p

There's 2 more baby fairs in December, one's starting tomorrow and one is 19-21 Dec, I'll look out for these items and see what else I need to buy.

Btw, when baby goes home from hospital in car, is it a must to have infant car seat or can I use the baby carrier with infant insert?
for safety sake ... infant car seat is ideal

Hohoho, I dared not buy too much as I was warned by colleagues not to overbuy, especially when buying for baby girl haha...

I guess it's time for me to start shopping!

Yeah! I din know ytd was my last visit with my blood specialist. I will see her the next time after I give birth. wohoo~

You guys are starting jabs, I am looking forward to ending mine. hahaha
Will stop my Clexane (blood thinners) at 38wks and aspirin at 35wks! Hurray!!!
Looking forward.

I am still seeing my gynae every 3 wks, think will shorten to every 2 wk or weekly coz next wk already 34 wk le!
Yeah!!! counting down....

You will find heavily discounted infant car seats at baby fairs. That's how I got mine. Or you can buy infant car seats that can fit onto stroller frame, then can kill two birds with one stone. As for whether it's compulsory to have an infant car seat to bring baby home from hospital, I'm hearing differing views so I just play safe by getting an infant car seat.

What baby carrier do you have?? I don't think it is very good to carry baby using a carrier at such a young age even if using infant insert cuz baby still cannot support his own neck yet...

You will find heavily discounted infant car seats at baby fairs. That's how I got mine. Or you can buy an infant car seats that can fit onto stroller frame, then can kill two birds with one stone. As for whether it's compulsory to have an infant car seat to bring baby home from hospital, I'm hearing differing views so I just play safe by getting an infant car seat.
having an infant seat is for the safety of your child.. it got nothing to do with what the law said :p

Yeah, Manduca is one of them, and Ergo uses infant inserts, but I don't think there is not that much support, especially in a soft structured carrier.

Can join this group for more info.... https://www.facebook.com/groups/245166299015337/

Combi-carrier.jpg
my hand me down carrier can carry infant like this ..but dun remember the brand..just know it is some japanese brand lolz

The 14 best log cakes for Christmas

1. CHRISTMAS BANANA
$64 (1.1kg), from Patisserie Glace, www.cakeglace.com. Available from Nov 1 to Dec 20.
We thought this swirl of fresh cream and dark chocolate meringue with a whole banana tucked in the middle would be cloying, but it was surprisingly light. We especially loved the contrast of the
delightfully fluffy cream against the crisp meringue.

2. ROLLED APPLE CARAMEL TATIN LOG CAKE GREAT FIND
$26.75 (500g); $48.15 (1kg), from Raffles Hotel, tel: 6412-1100. Available from Dec 1-25.
If “pretty” had a taste, this log would be just that. Its lush mousse is laced with the delicate flavour of Earl Grey tea, while crunchy bits of caramelised apple embedded throughout it add texture and sweetness.

3. CARAMEL CHESTNUT LOG CAKE
$72.76 (1kg), from Grand Hyatt Singapore, tel: 6734-6731. Available from Nov 17 to Jan 3.
The fantastical mushroom meringues sprouting all over the log had us cooing – a good start. Taste-wise, the cake was an interesting combination of bitter coffee, sweet chestnut, earthy pistachio and sour cherries that played off against each other well.

4. STRAWBERRY MINT YOGHURT YULE LOG
$77.04 (1kg), from Sheraton Towers Singapore Hotel, tel: 6839-5636. Available from Dec 2-25.
Smooth as a New York bake, yet airy like Japanese sponge, this soft, cheesecake-like log is in a class of its own. The snowy frosting isn’t too sweet, but the jelly-like cubes could do with more fruity acidity.

5. BRONTE PISTACHIO AND CRUNCHY PRALINE LOG CAKE GREAT FIND
$79 (1kg), from Regent Singapore, tel: 6720-8000. Available from Dec 1 to Jan 1.
The “most memorable log cake” award goes to this fluorescent green beauty – the unexpected combination of nutty vanilla almond sponge, tart mango curd, and sweet-salty white chocolate and pistachio mousse miraculously works.

6. 7TH HEAVEN YULE LOG
$69 (1kg), from The Fullerton Hotel Singapore, tel: 6877-8178. Available from Nov 27 to Dec 25.
This stands out with its delectable mix of textures, from the pillowy chocolate fudge sponge and silky mousse to the layers of crunchy hazelnut nougatine and chewy melted marshmallow. Altogether sinful, decadent, and surely something you’ll want to warn your guests to save tummy space for.

7. GRANDMA 66% LOG CAKE
$58 (1kg), from Shangri-La Hotel, tel: 6213-4448. Available from Nov 28 to Dec 25.
This is the chocolate cake for dessert lovers of all ages – the buttery milk chocolate is not too bitter for kids, and not too light for the grown-ups.

8. CHERRY YULE LOG CAKE
$72 (800g), from Four Seasons Hotel Singapore, tel: 6831-7253. Available from Nov 1 to Dec 24.
Instead of weighing down the palate, this dark chocolate cake is unexpectedly refreshing with moist, loosely packed crumbs, juicy cherries macerated in alcohol, and just a touch of spice.

9. TRIPLE CHOCOLATE DECADENCE LOG CAKE
$55.64 (750g), from The St. Regis Singapore, tel: 6506-6860. Available from Dec 1-25.
Composed of vanilla cream, chocolate ganache and a copious amount of brandy, this roll is strictly for adults only. Once you recover from the potent hit of liqueur, your taste buds will find the chocolatey cake itself moist and satisfyingly rich.

10. MONT BLANC LOG
$62.95 (800g); $83.25 (1.2kg), from Flor Patisserie, #01-01, 2 Duxton Hill, tel: 6243-0813. Available from Dec 1-31.
The very soft, moist sponge roll tastes a little plain, but that simply allows the star component on top – the velvety squiggles of chestnut cream – to shine. Light and pleasant, it’s not at all cloying.

11. GOODWOOD D24 DURIAN CHRISTMAS LOG CAKE EDITOR'S RAVE
$74.88 (1kg), from Goodwood Park Hotel, tel: 6730-1867. Available from Dec 1-26.
Snuggled between layers of moist vanilla sponge, the luscious durian puree delivers a welcome dose of pungency before unleashing its unmistakable flavour. It showcases the king of fruits at its best.

12. CHOCOLATE FUDGE LOG CAKE BEST VALUE
$32 (500g); $60 (1kg), from Singapore Marriott Hotel, tel: 6831-4708. Available from Nov 26 to Dec 25.
Ultra-rich, dense and brimming with gooey chocolatey goodness, this is one solid chocolate cake that is without any distracting elements.

13. 70% CHOCOLATE MOUSSE AND CARAMEL BANANA CAKE
$37.45 (500g); $69.55 (1kg), from Fairmont Singapore, tel: 6338-8785. Available from Nov 7 to Dec 25.
Dusted with cocoa powder, this log uses chocolate made from a blend of cocoa beans from countries like Tanzania and Ghana. Its intense bitterness is moderated perfectly by the sweetness of ripe banana chunks and lashings of caramel.

14. CHOCOLATE ROULADE
$48 (500g); $96 (1kg), from Laurent Bernard Chocolatier, #01-11 The Pier at Robertson Quay, tel: 6235-9007. Available from Nov 15 to Jan 1.
Shards of chocolate adorn this dense roulade of sponge and mousse. The cake celebrates the richness of bittersweet dark chocolate, and would have been a little heavy, if not for the tangy raspberry filling that sliced right through it.

It is recommended that you order these log cakes at least five working days in advance.

I am also starting to look at car seats now, but i am a bit lost on what to get. someone told me what i buy depends on my stroller ? but what if i do not intend to go thru the hassle of a. unclipping the car seat fr stroller, then b. fixing the car seat onto the car , and then c. taking the whole car seat out again.

is there any one who just...heck care, and buy a car seat that is safe, and fits the car and dont bother if it fits the stroller

Just managed to peel myself outta bed to make an egg sandwich for brekkie. The weather is really super. Today gonna take it easy cos my pelvic area is super achey..hate the feeling!! :(

Baby toiletries I prepared baby diaper cream/bottom balm, hair and body wash, moisturiser and no rinse cleansing fluid (for sensitive areas like face and diaper areas). Using mostly Mustela and Burt's Bees Baby Bee products.

For yourself you may want to prepare nipple cream if you are going to breast feed, and also bottom spray as you might be a bit sore below after natural birth.
for Burt's bees items is it reccomended to buy from iherb or other online sites have better pricing?

I am also starting to look at car seats now, but i am a bit lost on what to get. someone told me what i buy depends on my stroller ? but what if i do not intend to go thru the hassle of a. unclipping the car seat fr stroller, then b. fixing the car seat onto the car , and then c. taking the whole car seat out again.

is there any one who just...heck care, and buy a car seat that is safe, and fits the car and dont bother if it fits the stroller

you refering to me whahahahahaha

mine are 2 diff items ... i bought whichever that is convenient ..i dun like to the hassle of unclipping from one to the other :p

I bought the peg perego travel system, it comes with a stroller, car seat n the car seat base, so u install the base one time in the car, n each time u want to attach or detach the car seat onto/from the base its just one click of a button. The car seat has to fit on the stroller, if not it's not v practical to lug that heavy thing around.

For mummies popping end of Jan or Feb, Baby World (Suntec 23-25 Jan) is releasing their pre order deals, Medela Freestyle is going for $599 plus free $30 voucher. Very worth it! Too bad it's too late for me, thinking of getting it at Taka sale tonight.

Me. I bought a heavily discounted French made infant car seat. For stroller we were more picky so we took a longer time to get it. The infant car seat will not be removed from my ILs' car, unless they want it.

am i the only one lolz

do anyone of you feel that the way beanie move in our tummy is like watching Anaconda / jaws with sound effect ...

slowly move from left to right then suddenly one strong kick lolz

Hi 5, my fetal movements now are literally like Jaws, like got one hard bone (dunno head or elbow or knee) moving across my tummy, less of the random kicks of before. I read that it's cos their movements r now more controlled by the brain, less of the random reflex kicking in the earlier weeks when the nerves n coordination is not so developed yet. N at 33 wks, the amniotic fluid level is around the max it will be for the rest of the pregnancy, so as the bb grows, u can feel more parts of his body more n more.

1. CHRISTMAS BANANA
$64 (1.1kg), from Patisserie Glace, www.cakeglace.com. Available from Nov 1 to Dec 20.
We thought this swirl of fresh cream and dark chocolate meringue with a whole banana tucked in the middle would be cloying, but it was surprisingly light. We especially loved the contrast of the

$26.75 (500g); $48.15 (1kg), from Raffles Hotel, tel: 6412-1100. Available from Dec 1-25.
If “pretty” had a taste, this log would be just that. Its lush mousse is laced with the delicate flavour of Earl Grey tea, while crunchy bits of caramelised apple embedded throughout it add texture and sweetness.

$72.76 (1kg), from Grand Hyatt Singapore, tel: 6734-6731. Available from Nov 17 to Jan 3.
The fantastical mushroom meringues sprouting all over the log had us cooing – a good start. Taste-wise, the cake was an interesting combination of bitter coffee, sweet chestnut, earthy pistachio and sour cherries that played off against each other well.

$77.04 (1kg), from Sheraton Towers Singapore Hotel, tel: 6839-5636. Available from Dec 2-25.
Smooth as a New York bake, yet airy like Japanese sponge, this soft, cheesecake-like log is in a class of its own. The snowy frosting isn’t too sweet, but the jelly-like cubes could do with more fruity acidity.

$79 (1kg), from Regent Singapore, tel: 6720-8000. Available from Dec 1 to Jan 1.
The “most memorable log cake” award goes to this fluorescent green beauty – the unexpected combination of nutty vanilla almond sponge, tart mango curd, and sweet-salty white chocolate and pistachio mousse miraculously works.

6. 7TH HEAVEN YULE LOG
$69 (1kg), from The Fullerton Hotel Singapore, tel: 6877-8178. Available from Nov 27 to Dec 25.
This stands out with its delectable mix of textures, from the pillowy chocolate fudge sponge and silky mousse to the layers of crunchy hazelnut nougatine and chewy melted marshmallow. Altogether sinful, decadent, and surely something you’ll want to warn your guests to save tummy space for.

7. GRANDMA 66% LOG CAKE
$58 (1kg), from Shangri-La Hotel, tel: 6213-4448. Available from Nov 28 to Dec 25.
This is the chocolate cake for dessert lovers of all ages – the buttery milk chocolate is not too bitter for kids, and not too light for the grown-ups.

8. CHERRY YULE LOG CAKE
$72 (800g), from Four Seasons Hotel Singapore, tel: 6831-7253. Available from Nov 1 to Dec 24.
Instead of weighing down the palate, this dark chocolate cake is unexpectedly refreshing with moist, loosely packed crumbs, juicy cherries macerated in alcohol, and just a touch of spice.

$55.64 (750g), from The St. Regis Singapore, tel: 6506-6860. Available from Dec 1-25.
Composed of vanilla cream, chocolate ganache and a copious amount of brandy, this roll is strictly for adults only. Once you recover from the potent hit of liqueur, your taste buds will find the chocolatey cake itself moist and satisfyingly rich.

10. MONT BLANC LOG
$62.95 (800g); $83.25 (1.2kg), from Flor Patisserie, #01-01, 2 Duxton Hill, tel: 6243-0813. Available from Dec 1-31.
The very soft, moist sponge roll tastes a little plain, but that simply allows the star component on top – the velvety squiggles of chestnut cream – to shine. Light and pleasant, it’s not at all cloying.

$74.88 (1kg), from Goodwood Park Hotel, tel: 6730-1867. Available from Dec 1-26.
Snuggled between layers of moist vanilla sponge, the luscious durian puree delivers a welcome dose of pungency before unleashing its unmistakable flavour. It showcases the king of fruits at its best.

$32 (500g); $60 (1kg), from Singapore Marriott Hotel, tel: 6831-4708. Available from Nov 26 to Dec 25.
Ultra-rich, dense and brimming with gooey chocolatey goodness, this is one solid chocolate cake that is without any distracting elements.

$37.45 (500g); $69.55 (1kg), from Fairmont Singapore, tel: 6338-8785. Available from Nov 7 to Dec 25.
Dusted with cocoa powder, this log uses chocolate made from a blend of cocoa beans from countries like Tanzania and Ghana. Its intense bitterness is moderated perfectly by the sweetness of ripe banana chunks and lashings of caramel.

14. CHOCOLATE ROULADE
$48 (500g); $96 (1kg), from Laurent Bernard Chocolatier, #01-11 The Pier at Robertson Quay, tel: 6235-9007. Available from Nov 15 to Jan 1.
Shards of chocolate adorn this dense roulade of sponge and mousse. The cake celebrates the richness of bittersweet dark chocolate, and would have been a little heavy, if not for the tangy raspberry filling that sliced right through it.

It is recommended that you order these log cakes at least five working days in advance.
makes me drool ... LOL

1. CHRISTMAS BANANA

6. 7TH HEAVEN YULE LOG

7. GRANDMA 66% LOG CAKE

8. CHERRY YULE LOG CAKE

10. MONT BLANC LOG

14. CHOCOLATE ROULADE

Omg the cakes all sound so good, feel like buying them all to try! :p

currently looking at the britax, maxi cosi and stokke seats...need to physically see them cos now I am seeing everything online only

and me too! my car seat is permanently in the....car!

My pre-loved britax is good... lasting, good material...

I would unbuckle my baby out of car seat and placed in my capella stroller even when she was sleeping... some parents dont wanna wake bb up during the "transfer".

Nevertheless I also bought a preloved maxi cosi infant car seat this round... i reckon can only use till 4 mos

My car seat not related to stroller too... cuz my car seat is a hand me down. I prefer 2 separate items for both. Good thing with an adaptable car seat is that if bb is sleeping in car seat can easily transfer him to stroller and vice versa. Good to have, but not necessary, imo.

I would unbuckle my baby out of car seat and placed in my capella stroller even when she was sleeping... some parents dont wanna wake bb up during the "transfer".

Nevertheless I also bought a preloved maxi cosi infant car seat this round... i reckon can only use till 4 mos
which maxi cosi did u get ? pebble?

My car seat not related to stroller too... cuz my car seat is a hand me down. I prefer 2 separate items for both. Good thing with an adaptable car seat is that if bb is sleeping in car seat can easily transfer him to stroller and vice versa. Good to have, but not necessary, imo.
thanks!! now i am more reassured that they can be independent. i.e. doesnt mean i must buy a stokke stroller if i get a stokke car seat for example.

I won't hesitate to interrupt baby sleep lolz so I will transfer and If it wake her up so be it lolz

Infant seat never last longer than 9 months depend on height lolz

I also got a preloved maxi cosi with isofix from my sis lolz no need buy hehe

I won't hesitate to interrupt baby sleep lolz so I will transfer and If it wake her up so be it lolz

i tot therre are convertibles that can last u till they r toddlers?

with isofix? the isofix itself already quite costly... i only have the infant seat w/o the isofix...have not tried fixing if it can fit into the new family car ... oops

some models of car seats are convertibles... but infant car seats are definitely not convertibles! and they usually can use up to 9-10 mos nia
ok i tink i get what u mean. i know there are some which can last from say, infancy till toddler stage. am looking at such seats...

with isofix? the isofix itself already quite costly... i only have the infant seat w/o the isofix...have not tried fixing if it can fit into the new family car ... oops
Yah I know .. My sis bought the isofix base too .. My previous also come with isofix cos we hate the idea of remove and puting on the seat belt but too bad sold away lolz

U better to try .. Very leh jieh go one cos have to remove seat belt to take bb out and vice versa

i tot therre are convertibles that can last u till they r toddlers?
No .. Unless u buy those that is convertible . For me it is stage 0 strictly infant stage only .. I have the remaining stages at home so no need to get those convertible

some models of car seats are convertibles... but infant car seats are definitely not convertibles! and they usually can use up to 9-10 mos nia
They have infant convertible until certain age . But I dun like it so lolz buy diff stages lor

@gammahedging, this weekend Baby Hyperstore at Kaki Bukit having warehouse sale. Might be good to go take a look since you are looking at the angmoh brands like Maxi Cosi, Peg Perego etc. Baby Hyperstore carries quite a few of the angmoh brands. Britax is carried by Baby Kingdom a few shops down, Stokke only at MC or at Mum and Babes at United Square I think....

ok i tink i get what u mean. i know there are some which can last from say, infancy till toddler stage. am looking at such seats...

Britax (safe and sound) can sit from birth to 4yo...first 12 mos, rear facing then after that front facing!

@gammahedging, this weekend Baby Hyperstore at Kaki Bukit having warehouse sale. Might be good to go take a look since you are looking at the angmoh brands like Maxi Cosi, Peg Perego etc. Baby Hyperstore carries quite a few of the angmoh brands. Britax is carried by Baby Kingdom a few shops down, Stokke only at MC or at Mum and Babes at United Square I think....
i am planning to have a look this sinday when i go to my parents' place... not too far away :)

Yah I know .. My sis bought the isofix base too .. My previous also come with isofix cos we hate the idea of remove and puting on the seat belt but too bad sold away lolz

U better to try .. Very leh jieh go one cos have to remove seat belt to take bb out and vice versa

I am also in dilemma, my PIL have two cars. One old (Corolla) and one newly bought (WISH). The WISH now comes with a new convertible car seat (0-25kg) at the rear passenger seat permanently for my princess no 1. When princess no 2 arrives, we thought we could use the maxi cos infant seat then the older one still using the convertible car seat until she is tall enough for booster seats!

The Corolla is essentially for my MIL to fetch my dotter to and fro school with the Britax (at front passenger seat, still rear facing). When princess no 2 is out, we are not sure how the logistic should be... cuz Corolla back passenger seat has no seat belts! So we told MIL to let her helper to jagar princess no 2 at home while she fetch no 1 to school...

I am also in dilemma, my PIL have two cars. One old (Corolla) and one newly bought (WISH). The WISH now comes with a new convertible car seat (0-25kg) at the rear passenger seat permanently for my princess no 1. When princess no 2 arrives, we thought we could use the maxi cos infant seat then the older one still using the convertible car seat until she is tall enough for booster seats!

The Corolla is essentially for my MIL to fetch my dotter to and fro school with the Britax (at front passenger seat, still rear facing). When princess no 2 is out, we are not sure how the logistic should be... cuz Corolla back passenger seat has no seat belts! So we told MIL to let her helper to jagar princess no 2 at home while she fetch no 1 to school...
Wish is 6 seaters u can permanently put both car seats what

Then corella come leisure car and how come Corolla no back seat belt .. Thought all cars come with it .. At least cars imported past 10 years

Our #1 same sge .. I tot they can use booster seat already