(2014/08) August 2014

re breast pump, I bought a parallel import set from US. it's brand new & much cheaper (almost half price) than in SG. only downside is no local warranty. but there r some BP sellers selling with their own warranty or they let u test first during collection. u might want to consider.
Which website did you buy from? Was it Medela you bought?

I'm not sure if I should buy now, or wait till I have delivered and guage if I do have breast milk? Will it be too late by then?

anyone having planned c-sect? which date u planning?

I'm having planned c-sect this time. #1 is emergency c-sect, so tot it's safer to juz go for planned c-sect. planning for ~38W (last wk of jul/ first wk of aug), but can't decide on actual date.

btw, the hospital probably gonna be packed & service standard might drop on popular dates like 8aug & 9aug.
Me will be planned c section too at around 38weeks. My edd is 25/8, 2weeks earlier maybe 11/8 or 12/8 or later if baby weight is light. Have to see my gynae's schedule also.

May I know why c sect?

For second time mummies, would you recommend c sect or natural, emergency c sect requirements aside.

Appreciate advice! :)

Which website did you buy from? Was it Medela you bought?

I'm not sure if I should buy now, or wait till I have delivered and guage if I do have breast milk? Will it be too late by then?

I bought the medela freestyle from a BP seller previously. S$450, parallel import set, no local warranty, but she let me test first during collection. don't think she's doing BP anymore now thou.

previously I couldn't decide whether to buy before delivery too. but I read online most mummies recommended to buy before delivery. can use it to help simulate milk flow immediately after delivery, etc. I'm glad I bought it coz my #1 refused to latch (flow too slow & also don't really know how to latch properly coz of the csect wound I guess). I had to pump exclusively for 1mth+, then stop totally coz too overwhelming for me to pump, wash the pump & look after baby at the same time. also my supply is low, regardless of whatever medication/ supplement/ help, so switch to fm to save me from falling into depression.

May I know why c sect?

For second time mummies, would you recommend c sect or natural, emergency c sect requirements aside.

see what ur gynae suggest. he/she will be the best person to advice. coz need to consider mummy's age & medical condition, baby's weight & position, level of amniotic fluid, etc etc etc.

I'm thinking of getting a manual pump first, less investment involved. If i do have milk for breast feeding after trying out, will get an electric pump. I heard Philips Avent BPA free manual pump is pretty good.

Until now I still dare not buy the pump... Cause I also don't know got milk to feed or not leh... I heard some by default don't have milk one... Thus still holding onto buying the pump...

May I know why c sect?

Mine because no 1 c-section due to baby too big at week 38 and I have no any signs of labour. It is safer to opt for c-section for 2nd labour bcoz only 2 years apart. The c-section scar may be ruptured if go by natural birth

My fren did VBAC (vaginal birth after C-sect) for her second birth as she wanted to experience the natural birth method. Her gynae watched her closely I think esp the baby size. Thankfully her 2nd babe is smaller in size so can do VBAC.

My gyna encourages me to go for natural birth unless there are some medical conditions... i have a friend A whose doc asked her to go for c sect cos her baby is big n weight 3.5kg. I feel it is not a very convincing reason cos i have another friend B, her figure is so much smaller than A whose baby is 4kg n she is able to have natural birth.

My friend A end up have to pay natural birth n c sect charges.. which are quite alot of money... i personally feel tat unless it is unavoidable medical reason den go straight for c sect. I believe a good n reliable gyna is realli important cos it helps to save cost n give alot assurance to the husband n wife.

I think my plan will be to ask for my gynae recommendation and her charges in case I choose Natural but end up E Csect. My friend last oct ended up in this situation but her gynae only charged for Csect and waive off natural. Some gynae charged both. If i kenna both I think I will faint ah.. imagine the bill size..

Btw, as at Jan 2014.. Mount A and TMC hospital room charges are exactly the same.. I always tot Mount A is slightly cheaper but apprantly not.

I think my plan will be to ask for my gynae recommendation and her charges in case I choose Natural but end up E Csect. My friend last oct ended up in this situation but her gynae only charged for Csect and waive off natural. Some gynae charged both. If i kenna both I think I will faint ah.. imagine the bill size..

Btw, as at Jan 2014.. Mount A and TMC hospital room charges are exactly the same.. I always tot Mount A is slightly cheaper but apprantly not.
Hihi it is good to check w gyna for e detail charges... i personally feel tat tmc is better cos i went to mount A on weekend to visit my friend it seem like they r lack of nurses whereas tmc has alot of nurses on weekend when i was admitted there..

My friend A end up have to pay natural birth n c sect charges.. which are quite alot of money... i personally feel tat unless it is unavoidable medical reason den go straight for c sect. I believe a good n reliable gyna is realli important cos it helps to save cost n give alot assurance to the husband n wife.

Mt A only charges for the c sect, no need to pay for the natural birth, if u do try for natural & end up with a c sect.

I like tmc for their post delivery services and their lactation consulting session where the lactation specialist comes to visit u in ur room without even needing u to request for it

different ppl have different tots/ belief abt how they wanna give birth. to me, it doesn't really matter, as long as baby is delivered safely. I had emergency c-sect for #1 due to cord entanglement / fetal distress. I really freaked out when the nurse told me she had to contact my gynae & prepare me for c-sect immediately. I never felt so frightened & worried in my life. the last thing I want is to lose my baby at this very last stage. I was shivering & crying inconsolably until knocked out by GA. luckily my boy was alright & delivered safely. so for #2 I don't wan go thro the trauma again. so have decided to go for planned c-sect once baby is ready at ~38W.

The same happened to my colleague who just delivered her #2 on 26 March via c-sect. Her first was also emergency c-sect coz baby was too big and risked complications by natural after trying. So with this phobia, she opted for c-sect with her #2 at 38w. Her due date was 2 April, but chose to c-sect on 26 March. Mummy and baby doing great, with baby weighing 3.2kg.

So thankful for the smooth delivery for her. Praise God!

Hihi it is good to check w gyna for e detail charges... i personally feel tat tmc is better cos i went to mount A on weekend to visit my friend it seem like they r lack of nurses whereas tmc has alot of nurses on weekend when i was admitted there..
Thanks joyfulmummy

I will check with my gynae then.. I am soooo torn between these two. Haiz.. I guess both hospital has their pros and cons..

Hehe.. thanks! !

Babykangaroo
Nothing to record wo.. cos the scan is to see the internal organs development. . Oscar scan is more interesting I would say..

I happen to see this thread... I advise not to get manual pump because it is physical and mentally tired. My sis though to save $ by getting one manual pump. After delivery, the first 3 days was terrible for her and baby.... Her baby doesn't know how to latch and so my sis had to express. She only managed to express 50ml for 1 whole hour and she was having engoment. Her baby was crying hard for milk too...

She almost in depression when i visited her . Immediately, i borrowed my friend electric dual pump to lend her. True enough, she managed to express 90ml in half an hour!
This is my sharing... If really don't want to spend too much on electric pump, at least go for sec hand electric pump..... It will go a long way!;)

What are the parts to get for replacement if were to use second hand electric pump?

depends on which pump u getting & how particular u are. if u r fussy, then everything except the motor/pump. mainly the funnels, membranes, tubing, bottles, etc. cheaper to get the parts from amazon.

I juz bought the replacement set for medela freestyle from amazon, coz rubber keep too long no good liao.

For those mommies who hasn't go for their detailed scan. Just wanna highlight what the sonographer will scan the heart for a longer time by front, top, left and right of tummy. At first I was so puzzled when she took such a long time to scan and with the intense look on her face.. she keep keying OA/PA onto the black lines and holes (I just found out they are the artery she is looking at) I almost wanna freak out. . Till she says.. everything is good. Then I started breathing again.. son when its ur turn.. don't need to panick ya.

And for the record, the do measure the nasal bone again and refer to oscar scan report before they start. They won't do NT measurement on this session.

Enjoy your "meet your baby session".
;)

@kopibeanie is this the one?

My friend is lending me her medele freestyle pump. So will this be the replacement pack or there shd be more?

• image.jpg
    56.8 KB · Views: 1,577
I heard from my friend who gave birth last oct that the shield is determined by the doctor who come by to see if ur nipple needs any help during ur stay there.. they will also get u the correct size.. so don't get any first.

Think better for u to buy the spare parts kits with the shield.
There are 2 kinds of shields. soft shield and hard shield. personally I prefer the hard ones as they are more lasting. Bottles are optional. U can buy some to stand by if you dun have any.
U can easily choose the size of the shield. It's consider a fit as long as it can cover your whole nipple and aerola area completely.

Or this? And how do I gauge which size shield?

yeah, I got new spare part kit, shields, tubing & bottles. coz the old ones abit yellowish & rubber disintegrating after keeping for more than 2yrs.

I haven't try the hard shields before coz the freestyle came with soft shields previously. dunno which size to get, so juz got the standard size 24mm one first.

I heard from my friend who gave birth last oct that the shield is determined by the doctor who come by to see if ur nipple needs any help during ur stay there.. they will also get u the correct size.. so don't get any first.

that's nice.. mine didn't leh.. never advise anything on breast pump..

I happen to see this thread... I advise not to get manual pump because it is physical and mentally tired. My sis though to save $ by getting one manual pump. After delivery, the first 3 days was terrible for her and baby.... Her baby doesn't know how to latch and so my sis had to express. She only managed to express 50ml for 1 whole hour and she was having engoment. Her baby was crying hard for milk too...

She almost in depression when i visited her . Immediately, i borrowed my friend electric dual pump to lend her. True enough, she managed to express 90ml in half an hour!
This is my sharing... If really don't want to spend too much on electric pump, at least go for sec hand electric pump..... It will go a long way!;)
Ohh yar i heard manual pump need to know certain way n skill to pump out the milk.. if dont know it can be quite tired..

What are the parts to get for replacement if were to use second hand electric pump?
depends on which pump u getting & how particular u are. if u r fussy, then everything except the motor/pump. mainly the funnels, membranes, tubing, bottles, etc. cheaper to get the parts from amazon.

I juz bought the replacement set for medela freestyle from amazon, coz rubber keep too long no good liao.
Or this? And how do I gauge which size shield?

I am using Medela PISA.
I guess all the set comes with default M size shield which is 24mm...
Best to try first and get the right size before give birth. Like me, i didnt try before birth. End up need to send by hubby go buy from kiddy palace for the right size..

For those mommies who hasn't go for their detailed scan. Just wanna highlight what the sonographer will scan the heart for a longer time by front, top, left and right of tummy. At first I was so puzzled when she took such a long time to scan and with the intense look on her face.. she keep keying OA/PA onto the black lines and holes (I just found out they are the artery she is looking at) I almost wanna freak out. . Till she says.. everything is good. Then I started breathing again.. son when its ur turn.. don't need to panick ya.

And for the record, the do measure the nasal bone again and refer to oscar scan report before they start. They won't do NT measurement on this session.

Enjoy your "meet your baby session".
;)
Thank you for the informatio it realli helps alot... i m doing my detail scan this coming fri hope e day come quickly....

I'm 19 weeks, and barely put on close to 2kg since day one. Is this ok? Do you think baby is gaining weight still? Anyone on the same slow ascend as me?

I asked my gynae how heavy little sweetie weigh and he says will only take weight in third trimester? Anyone had their baby weighed so far?

I'm 19 weeks, and barely put on close to 2kg since day one. Is this ok? Do you think baby is gaining weight still? Anyone on the same slow ascend as me?

I asked my gynae how heavy little sweetie weigh and he says will only take weight in third trimester? Anyone had their baby weighed so far?

Hi waiwish,
I'm at 18wks. Put on max 500g. Lol.
I sure hope my little one is growing well.
But I'm starting to be able to see the bump. So I guess baby should be growing.
Can't wait for my detailed scan in 2 wks!

baby will be weighted during detailed scan & during the routine scans after 24-28W. mummy weight will usually shoot up during third tri. no worries.

I envy those mummies who can put on so little during pregnancy. my weight always balloon like nothing. sigh.

baby will be weighted during detailed scan & during the routine scans after 24-28W. mummy weight will usually shoot up during third tri. no worries.

I envy those mummies who can put on so little during pregnancy. my weight always balloon like nothing. sigh.
Haha.. I am on your camp kopibeanie.. The other day a friend msg me out of the blue to congratulate me cos she chanced upon a photo of me shoulder up on Facebook. She said with such certainty cos my face is so round now. I was liked what if I am just fat?? Hee..

I'm still very bloated despite being in 2nd trimester, anyone having the same issue? Also having constipation as well. Not sure if it's due to the duphaston I'm still taking till end of 20th week.

I also having swollen feet, especially if I'm on my feet too long or drank too much water :p.

I'm still very bloated despite being in 2nd trimester, anyone having the same issue? Also having constipation as well. Not sure if it's due to the duphaston I'm still taking till end of 20th week.

I also having swollen feet, especially if I'm on my feet too long or drank too much water :p.
Some times my tummy also bloated after lunch till night. you may try to put chia seed (which rich in fiber, omega 3, calsium & magnesium) in your diet for constipation. Before that I also have constipation problem. After eat the chia seed my problem solved and i have smooth bowel movement everyday! :D
Heard water retention is due to lack of water not because drank too much water.