(2014/08) August 2014

Thanks thanks ladies, yes it's my first pregnancy after many years of trying :p.

@believeinjesus: My initial feeling was one of slight fright maybe cos I've been very cautiously optimistic about my pregnancy as I've had spotting even past first trim. The thump made it very real that a baby is living inside me! It's a very surreal feeling that I'm responsible for his or her life. I hope I can be better prepared for motherhood with His help.

@joeles09: There is a FB group but as I don't log into FB often prefer to go online to read forums. It's very active here as well :).

Welcome ! U r not alone.. which is why we kept the thread active as well as FB.. haha.. Sharing is fun. I am in week 19 tomorrow and still not much feeling for movement except a tiny bump out from the tummy and gone like almost immediately last night . Just happen I have my palm on my tummy. . Hehe..

I also try for years and there are ups and downs. . My "First" pregnancy too. . But its fine.. we r in this milestone already and look forward to the future with our little one. Jia You everyone! I am having a girl. Although not 100% but most likely. Woohoo!

Mil say pantang leh.. jus like dun go see reno

Reno I can understand the theory... cos they say got knocking and hacking so baby come out will have this and that.
But why dentist???

I went for my dentist check when I was in my 2nd month as I got toothache.
Realised that my last wisdom tooth is going to 'explode' anytime soon.
But because I am pregnant, she cannot do the minor surgery for me.
Therefore she gave it a good clean and I have to clean that area myself too and tahan till my baby come out then can operate.

Beside, dentist suspect I got gum disease however she said it could be due my pregnancy too so she request I go back 3 months later instead of half yearly.

So I think u better go to check if you have toothache or anything.
Don't wait cos our hormones all haywire now.

Joeles, the fb group is set as "secret group" so you may not be able to find it. You may wish to provide your email here and after we add you, a notification will be sent to your email.

I'm taking my own calcium supplement which has magnesium n active vit D, thus even not under the sun it can easily be absorbed by our body. It helps with constipation issue too. I have been taking even before pregnancy. :)

Yup, most people do not know about the vit d and magnesium. Actually one of the most important factors with vitamins is the source as well as the absorption :)
I am one of those people who dont retain nutrients well. Haha...when I was breastfeeding, it was super obvious as all the nutrients that I was taking was going to the baby through my BM....

hi there, is anyone intending to get insurance for your pregnancy? I am intending to, but I don't know much about it. So far I think only AXA, Prudential and AIA are offering. If you happen to know more, kindly share with me. thanks :)

I never get for pregnancy but I got for #1 after birth. I think there is a fin advisor somewhere on this forum. Someone pm-ed me before. If you are keen, pm me and I try to dig for her PM.

I'm have headache more frequently. Anyone experience the same?

I'm now 17th week, intend to start taking my fish oil which will ease my headache but my gyne advise to start after 20 weeks. My sister who is a nurse, say it's ok to start after 12 weeks. ... what should I do now?

SQ-BabyU, i also hv headache recently. I am in my 16weeks now. My gynea gave me fish oil after i crossed 1st trimester.

Thanks bbjourney!

I have been taking fish oil since preggy - I researched a lot that it's still better to eat fish at least twice a week, as studies have shown babies benefit from mums who consume fish twice a week as compared to mums who just take fish oil supplements.

I take salmon and sardine - avoid big fish like tuna which has high mercury levels.

Seaturtle, i like your email addy leh. tau sa piah.. feel like eating now.
My sis cannot take fish during her pregnancy. Lucky I am still ok unless the fish is fishy. :p

I'm now 17th week, intend to start taking my fish oil which will ease my headache but my gyne advise to start after 20 weeks. My sister who is a nurse, say it's ok to start after 12 weeks. ... what should I do now?
My gynae asked me to eat fish oil n multi vitamins since I crossed first trim too.I'm still taking folic also

Haha bbjourney I love tau sa piah, especially the traditional type which I used to get in malaysia. Somehow the taste different nowadays, I still like the original taste. Managed to find one in Malacca but so far to eat it regularly!

Does fish oil ease headache? I've been taking fish oil since I crossed 1st tri too. But ur Gynae advise to take only after 20 weeks?

Hi sq_babyu

I get headaches too but mine is mainly caused by the haze.

My gynae cleared me to take fish oil after 12 weeks. Just try to take a mecury and dioxins free brand.

Thanks bbjourney!

I have been taking fish oil since preggy - I researched a lot that it's still better to eat fish at least twice a week, as studies have shown babies benefit from mums who consume fish twice a week as compared to mums who just take fish oil supplements.

I take salmon and sardine - avoid big fish like tuna which has high mercury levels.

Salmon is considered a big fish too. Check the american pregnancy society website. There's a list of fish to avoid there.

Tried looking at those maternity shops but they are not exactly cheap.. for me I just get a few sets for work to last me all the way until end of the term... At home I wear hubby's clothes lol

Leanne, u can try Tpy central. Blk183 area. There is 1/2shophouse that sell ladies fashion. They sell maternity clothes. U can get a pair of maternity pants as cheap as $9...or maybe up to $30 per piece.. Quite reasonable price.

My gynae asked me to eat fish oil n multi vitamins since I crossed first trim too.I'm still taking folic also

I stop taking folic after taking multi vit from Gynae. My Gynae said the multi vit already have folic. Don't need extra le..so I was ask to stop folic
Did you Gynae say ok to take extra folic with multi vit?

y can only start fish oil so late? I started at 10-12weeks. I'm prescribed fish oil, iron & calcium tabs for 2nd tri.

I stop taking folic after taking multi vit from Gynae. My Gynae said the multi vit already have folic. Don't need extra le..so I was ask to stop folic
Did you Gynae say ok to take extra folic with multi vit?

Me too. My gyane said folic not so important after tri 1. Think I read somewhere that its possible to overdose on folic. Better double check to make sure the total folic u take is within daily recommended dosage. Don't forget that u can get folic from your daily diet too.

Hihi to all mummies here,
Im a slient reader since i found out that im pregnant.. am already 16 weeks now. Glad to see so many Aug mummies sharing information on their pregnancy. Btw, any mummies here feeling the cramp after 2nd trimester?
Can add me into the fb group too.. [email protected]

I have been taking Prenavit mulit vit and fish oil for 2nd trimester... gynae said not neccessary for taking any folic acid as it will cause to hv constipation. Anyone still taking folic acid?

I'm still on folic. I'm 15wks. My gynae asks me to continue n she stopped my multi vits. She gave me calcium pills now.

Hihi to all mummies here,
Im a slient reader since i found out that im pregnant.. am already 16 weeks now. Glad to see so many Aug mummies sharing information on their pregnancy. Btw, any mummies here feeling the cramp after 2nd trimester?
Can add me into the fb group too.. [email protected]

Hi Oh_Precious, Im experiencing cramp too now in 2nd trimester. I guess its still pretty normal as long as no spotting / bleeding. Just tell myself that baby need space to grow. :)

I'm still taking folic acid, in fact twice a day since the day I got pregger. Gynae says given my history, no harm taking twice a day. Besides, folic acid being the B group vitamins is water soluble. That means any excess will be passed out in your urine, so you do not have to worry about overdose.

I started calcium and iron at around 9 weeks. Gynae gave the option of starting at 9 weeks or after first trimester. He says usually after first trimester but I started earlier anyhow.

Once passed first trimester, I am now on iron, calcium and fish oil, along with my twice a day folic acid. And i have been taking B complex all these while prior pregger so I carried on with that.

Plus, I was also prescibed aspirin once pregger coz gynae says could help prevent miscarriage.

On a side note, I was told some fish oil from health stores are rich in both DHA and EPA when we really need only DHA, and very minimal of EPA. So it is best to go with gynae's prescription than self bought supplements.

Yes, I had cramps too. NOt too severe, it was intermittent for one morning. Was told it's uterus expanding/stretching after gynae did a scan to rule out signs of bleeding and cervix incompetency.

I m not taking folic acid liao. Taking prenatal vits, fush oil and high blood pressure tablets to control my bp.. gyane didn't prescribe calcium or iron for me.. byt am drinking milk.

I'm taking multi vits, calcium and fish oil.. Gynae didn't prescribe me any iron pill till now.. Wonder why.. At first also encourage me to take milk for calcium.. But last visit I told her I might not take sufficient milk on daily basis so she gave me calcium tablets..

My gynae said he didn't see a need to start fish oil so early.

I know that Fish Oil has bleed thinning effect, thus not advisable to take during first and last tri.

I guess I should start now since I have my own fish oil supply anyway.

Mummies, please check with your gynea on the fish oil you hv on hand. We need to take the fish oil for pregnancy. Dont anyhow self medicate okie.

I'm taking multi vits, calcium and fish oil.. Gynae didn't prescribe me any iron pill till now.. Wonder why.. At first also encourage me to take milk for calcium.. But last visit I told her I might not take sufficient milk on daily basis so she gave me calcium tablets..

If you are on prenatal mutli vits, I think likely we don't need extra folic or iron pills. As the multi vit already have everything. My Gynae give multi vit and calcium pills only.
Fish oil is optional as need to purchase. Is not in the package.
I eat fish everyday, so I don't take fish oil pills.

If you are on prenatal mutli vits, I think likely we don't need extra folic or iron pills. As the multi vit already have everything. My Gynae give multi vit and calcium pills only.
Fish oil is optional as need to purchase. Is not in the package.
I eat fish everyday, so I don't take fish oil pills.

Good that you can take fish everyday.. I cant take fish, the taste of it make me vomit. Gynae gave me the fish oil for my daily supplement.

Mummies, please check with your gynea on the fish oil you hv on hand. We need to take the fish oil for pregnancy. Dont anyhow self medicate okie.

Agreed with you.. There are too many fish oil on the shelf from pharmacy.. Better not to self medicate.. follow what the gynae has prescribe for us. Hv u all know your bb gender??
Pls add me on the fb group [email protected]

Joeles, did you check your spam/other folder?

Oh_Precious, added, Please check your email.

Frowndora, you hv been added earlier. Please check your email.