(2014/08) August 2014

Thanks ladies, I think if I'm really tired i will skip the fair. I also like slow and steady shopping :).

@queeensg - can share what's in your fruit bowl? I try to eat one serving of fruit at breakfast too, but maybe not enough. Kiwi is a great fruit but I don't know why it sets me coughing, maybe cos of my asthma. So I can't take kiwis/grapes/oranges. My usual fruits are apples, papaya, banana (occasional cos of high sugar content) and blueberries.

@Seaturtle - an apple, kiwifruit and either (if available) papaya or dragon fruit. Else its just apple and kiwifruit. I have oats in the morning. Then when I get to work I eat my fruit bowl. By afternoon can go toilet already. Haha. Must get into the habit of eating everyday. When I get lazy on weekends and don't eat my fruit bowl, I don't poop as much.

Ah I see.. I have sinusitis. On nasal spray and stuff. And avoided strawberries and kiwifruit. But haven't had this nose problem since pregnant!

Oh ok, I can also try dragon fruit cos it's not so sweet. Your breakfast very similar to mine, I have oats in the morning with black sesame powder (for black hair for bb!) + cup of Frisomum milk, and then top up with fruits later.

I need variety though so I don't follow this very strictly. Today I had roti prata with milo ha ha. Tomorrow got to go back to oats to balance my diet.

@Seaturtle - wah! Your breakfast more balanced than mine. I always struggle to make it a point to have milk. Heh. I have been having prata supper!!! And cheese naan and butter chicken for lunch. Yummmmmmmmmmmieeeeee

My aunt told me not to take too much papaya... Baby will turn yellow. I used to love dragon fruit but now it's too sweet for my taste bud. :(

Hi ladies...maybe you can try taking probiotics & yogurt daily? I been taking probiotics & vitagen every morning. I also eat multigrain bread for bf & add almond powder into my milk. I will eat fruits daily too. Besides the above i am taking 2-3 teaspoon of chia seeds with soyamilk every evening. I try to drink more water too. So even though i am taking calcium & iron supplements so far i dont have constipation problem. Usually poo twice a day. Sometimes even 3 times.

i got take kiwi, yogurt drink & chia seeds leh. but not everyday, usually 1 kiwi or 1 cup of yoghurt every 2-3 days, coz worried abt the high sugar content in fruits & yoghurt. is like wanna go but can't come out. so miserable. sobs.

what oats do u all use ah? instant oats or must cook kind? what brand?

I usually have either 2 slices of banana walnut bread with a cup of tea or post cranberries almond cereal with milk for breakfast.

headache. dunno what to eat for GD & constipation...

@kopibeanie - mine is quaker instant oats (red color packaging). Actually the nutrients better if cook (the blue colour packaging) but I'm super lazy, so I juse eat instant oats. Add boiling water and then it's cooked in 2-3 mins. I don't add sugar to my oats - usually will just eat it with black sesame powder (which has a bit of sugar) or add banana/strawberry/blueberries to it to sweeten it slightly. Sometimes also add a smattering of walnuts/almonds/pumpkin seeds too.

I suggest don't eat too much Post cereal - this kind quite heaty type, will dry up the waste matter.

@happimummi - your nick very well named given can go toilet 3 times a day even! I prefer yakult but it's got very high sugar content and doesn't work for me so I only use it to sweeten my strawberry smoothie when in the mood to blend it. I don't know why probiotics and yakult don't work for me. I remembered you intro chia seeds but I read up and saw that there are conflicting views on this for pregnancy so decided not to take it (ditto for flax seeds oso).

I eat oats also to bring down my chloresterol levels....I indulged myself again today for lunch - went to eat lor mee + fries + apple pie today...together with my roti prata I really spoil myself too much. Need to eat light food tom :p

@Seaturtle - Yes! I have also been eating oats since a few years ago to bring down cholesterol!

I managed to get calcium gummies from my gynae today!! No more forgetting to drink milk! :)

If it makes you feel better.. I just ate a personal pan Hawaiian pizza for tea break!

ha ha @queeensg we must remind each other to cut down on such food leh! I also like Hawaiian pizza and also naan...yummy :p

I find oats quite effective in lowering cholesterol. When I was working in China my cholesterol went up to danger levels, and I went on a 3 month oats breakfast diet and the cholesterol went back to normal levels. Diet really quite important :).

Thanks for all the previous replies about diabetic diet, mommies!

At least i dont feel so ALONE:(

Anyway, im going to the dietician tmr morning and update you gals on what he says ok!

from my past experience, the red dragonfruit seem to work pretty well on my hubby's constipation though.
But constipation means cannot shit everyday or "shit stuck"? i also dont shit daily... only when i have the feel. Maybe once every 2-3 days...isit constipation too?

By the way i read that if we eat papaya make sure it's really ripe! :)

On the side track... like to ask, do you know how VCO is to be drank? And any recommendation on which VCO to buy cos im planning to buy stuff from iHerb.

@Seaturtle - OK what our diet.. Hahaha.. As long as we dont gain too much weight i think its ok! But I did my test in Nov 2013 last year and my cholesterol still not any better leh haha.

@stickyrene - if you'd watched the mind and soul or something series on channel 5 a month back or so, they said we don't need to poop everyday!

@kopibeanie - mine is quaker instant oats (red color packaging). Actually the nutrients better if cook (the blue colour packaging) but I'm super lazy, so I juse eat instant oats. Add boiling water and then it's cooked in 2-3 mins. I don't add sugar to my oats - usually will just eat it with black sesame powder (which has a bit of sugar) or add banana/strawberry/blueberries to it to sweeten it slightly. Sometimes also add a smattering of walnuts/almonds/pumpkin seeds too.

I suggest don't eat too much Post cereal - this kind quite heaty type, will dry up the waste matter.

@happimummi - your nick very well named given can go toilet 3 times a day even! I prefer yakult but it's got very high sugar content and doesn't work for me so I only use it to sweeten my strawberry smoothie when in the mood to blend it. I don't know why probiotics and yakult don't work for me. I remembered you intro chia seeds but I read up and saw that there are conflicting views on this for pregnancy so decided not to take it (ditto for flax seeds oso).

I eat oats also to bring down my chloresterol levels....I indulged myself again today for lunch - went to eat lor mee + fries + apple pie today...together with my roti prata I really spoil myself too much. Need to eat light food tom :p

thanks for the detailed info! I also think the post cereal & banana nut bread not very healthy. that's y thinking of trying oats. but sounds too "healthy" or bleh for me leh.

btw, what conflicting views u saw on chia seeds ah? I read it helps constipation & safe for pregnancy. so started taking 1 teaspoon every alternate day.

Anyway, im going to the dietician tmr morning and update you gals on what he says ok!

from my past experience, the red dragonfruit seem to work pretty well on my hubby's constipation though.
But constipation means cannot shit everyday or "shit stuck"? i also dont shit daily... only when i have the feel. Maybe once every 2-3 days...isit constipation too?

On the side track... like to ask, do you know how VCO is to be drank? And any recommendation on which VCO to buy cos im planning to buy stuff from iHerb.

mine also not daily. more like "shit stuck". wanna poo, but can't come out/ too hard to push out. I taking a lot of water leh, ~2L at least?, but still don't seem to help. mabbe muz take even more water or eat less heaty/dehydrating stuff. :(

Hehehe.

Ladies who are looking for maternity swimwear (I posted a while back), can try TYR two piece! I managed to buy a two piece today from the warehouse sale! And they have bottoms with slightly loose flaps in front and more coverage! So happy with my buy!! I've been looking for swimwear to fit a growing me for the longest time!!

thanks for the detailed info! I also think the post cereal & banana nut bread not very healthy. that's y thinking of trying oats. but sounds too "healthy" or bleh for me leh.

btw, what conflicting views u saw on chia seeds ah? I read it helps constipation & safe for pregnancy. so started taking 1 teaspoon every alternate day.

hey I think there are 2 views, one is chia seeds are great for health so can consume during pregnancy. The other view is that not much testing done so eat with caution (http://www.seedguides.info/chia-seeds/).

Cos I didn't eat chia seeds before pregnancy, hence not so keen to try something new though I think will try eating organic ones next time for health reasons. I think if in moderation should be ok. I searched forums and it seems chia seeds do help some mummies with constipation.

Walnuts also quite heaty dear, maybe you can change to oats on some days and see if it helps :).

Hehehe.

Ladies who are looking for maternity swimwear (I posted a while back), can try TYR two piece! I managed to buy a two piece today from the warehouse sale! And they have bottoms with slightly loose flaps in front and more coverage! So happy with my buy!! I've been looking for swimwear to fit a growing me for the longest time!!

Wat is TYR?

Hi Mommies!

Went for my 27+week gynae check today and my baby weighs 1.4KG!!! omg and he did a glucose test and concluded ive mild diabetics. OMG. so he suggested to visit a dietitian which i am this Sat.

Before going this Sat, any mommies face same issue? Doc for now asked me dont eat bread. (im thking what to have for breakfast since avoid milo too) so thking what food i shld avoid or can still eat before i visit the dietitian?
U can eat bread but whole meal bread. Avoid white bread will do. My boy is 1.18kg at 26wk which gynae said my boy is big.
I have type 1 diabetes but seriously its very hard to follow what the dietitian gonna tell you cause its super strict diet...

Hehehe.

How much did you buy it for and where?

U can eat bread but whole meal bread. Avoid white bread will do. My boy is 1.18kg at 26wk which gynae said my boy is big.
I have type 1 diabetes but seriously its very hard to follow what the dietitian gonna tell you cause its super strict diet...

Just sharing my experience...:)

I just went to the "dietitian" this morning and realized he is an endocrinologist instead.

He told me since my glucose level is borderline case so not serious so asked me to take the sugar test myself and monitor a week before seeing him again next Sat. o_O
The sugar test kit (bought at Mustafa) cost me about $100!

Infact he said i can generally eat everything, but not those pop drinks or an entire durian. And added that our meal should have 40% carbo so shouldnt totally phased carbo out else it's not good for us as well. (no wonder i always get hungry when i dont eat rice for dinner). Of course he said to exercise everyday, example walk for 20mins...

@Jo Lin : although i "only" gained 5Kg (27++weeks) but i still got GDM! so weight shouldn't be too much of a concern! Don't worry! I think baby is growing well is more impt! ;)

@stickyrene - what!!!! My button expanded like dunno what. I bought size XL some more!! After giving birth can still wear the swim top la.. Haha.

Nope. But now I've been hitting the pool! Kick board and just kick away to exercise the bottom half. Heh

I love to swim too but cos of spotting issues and scared people will kick me so haven't gone swimming since preggy. TYR is a good brand, I have their goggles with degree n really like their stuff.

Happy swimming @queeensg!

@Seaturtle - thank you! I went swimming again today haha.

Anyway. Wanted to ask if you ladies have been for any maternity ward tour?

I've been to gleneagles and would like to compare with others.

Gleneagles has nine labour rooms. Only two allows the mummy to be monitored while moving about. So it's heng suay whether or not you can get those rooms.
What about the other hospitals? I'm quite concerned of the thought of being strapped to a bed when in labour.

Also, the single bedded rooms were fully booked when we visited. Are there that many babies this year?? Am concerned of a downgrade (upgrade of course I'll take it la) in the event there are not enough single bedded rooms.

Can any of you share your experience? Thanks!

@Seaturtle - thank you! I went swimming again today haha.

Anyway. Wanted to ask if you ladies have been for any maternity ward tour?

I've been to gleneagles and would like to compare with others.

Gleneagles has nine labour rooms. Only two allows the mummy to be monitored while moving about. So it's heng suay whether or not you can get those rooms.
What about the other hospitals? I'm quite concerned of the thought of being strapped to a bed when in labour.

Also, the single bedded rooms were fully booked when we visited. Are there that many babies this year?? Am concerned of a downgrade (upgrade of course I'll take it la) in the event there are not enough single bedded rooms.

Can any of you share your experience? Thanks!
I went to Mount A and Mount E Novena.

Mount A feels a little run down perhaps it has been so many years plus its furnishings are brown in color... However I heard all babies will be blessed despite your religion. The guide did inform us sometimes the single bedded can be full utilised and we have to downgrade to 2-bedded. Second night if there is space, there can transfer you back to a single room. She did added this can be pretty common.

Mount E novena perhaps has so much hype that I had high expectation so it turned out average to me. However if you're concerned about the downgrade of rooms, all maternity rooms are single.

@queeensg - I planning to go hosp tour at my next gynae appt. Thanks for sharing abt gleneagles. I have no choice but hv to choose glen as my gynae only delivers there. So it's a matter of what room I choose to stay :p

Hehehe.

I'm looking for one too!!! How much was it?

Hihi, you can drink virgin coconut oil by the tablespoon, one time a day to start with. Or drizzle over your dessert, on bread or any dish. It's important to ensure the oil is white when solid and transparent clear when liquid, no yellow tinge at all. Not many brands are truly virgin actually.

@Seaturtle - I see! Enjoy the tour!! The VIP suites are mind blowing and just.. Unbelievable people would spend so much! $$$$. Let me know what you think after that!

@J.Lau - Yep! Happy shopping!! I'm also up around 10kg aleeady. At 24 weeks.

Any of you experiencing pelvic pain/sore?

Yes I'm experiencing very bad pelvis pain on my left side. V bad.. can't even walk properly and need my helper to help me.. like I'm some old lady :(

Hihi, you can drink virgin coconut oil by the tablespoon, one time a day to start with. Or drizzle over your dessert, on bread or any dish. It's important to ensure the oil is white when solid and transparent clear when liquid, no yellow tinge at all. Not many brands are truly virgin actually.

@waiwish that's a good idea, I forgot about it. My GP said can drink one table spoon of olive oil also to lubricate. I prefer drizzling it over those European bread (usually multigrain) so can have 2 fav things at one go.