(2013/09) September 2013

Clarise,

I feel the same. And it's the same for both my pregnancies LOL. I think our bodies are just taking a lot of nutrients from us. Take a good multivit and fish oil supplement. I used to take the one from the gynae for my first, but when I switched to a more complete multivit during breastfeeding, I see a different energy level. Same with the fish oil.

Another thing I try to do is to get a little activity during lunch time, like a short walk. Cos that gets the blood moving during the day, so more blood to the brain. Our circulation not so good during pregnancy, so keep the circulation up

If I truly desperate, I go to the toilet for 10min shuteye in the toilet. :p

Weiwei/Clarise, i alrdy told hubby where to get the Boots breastmilk storage bags. Hopefully he is able to find it.

Well...im still quite ok in the monring, but after lunch will feel sleepy at times. So usually i will go for teabreak with my collick ard 3pm, then sit & chit chat for ard 1 hour. After that will feel better alrdy coz' its very near pang gang time!

By the way...usually you all will take the chicken essence in the morning or afternoon?

im thinking shld i invest in one cause my colleague told me hers was really good. i cant seem to sleep well throughout the night. this morning was woken up by the thunder storm and felt very giddy since.

thanks mummies, i think i'd try to be more active more often and also check with my gynae next week about better supplements. sometimes i just want to cry cos it seems so hard and i am just halfway thru my pregnancy.

i also realised that sleeping is getting abit uncomfortable because of the growing tummy. have to sleep on the side and it makes my waist and nect ache sometimes...

weiwei, im also getting my kids' supplement from iherb. Its so much cheaper than getting from GNC. They are taking the Omega vits.

Yah, I love iherb. I started by buying organic baby food, then I realised how wide their selection was. Now I'm even buying some groceries and toiletries there, like extra virgin olive oil and maple syrup. I love the wholegrain pancake mixes :p Half the price you get in cold storage.

Weiwei, so you nO longer take the multi vits from gynae?
My energy is really bad, I hope I have more energy to enjoy my pregnancy, esp my second Tri now..

I never tried iherb before, it's really safe hor?

Charmayne, the shipping is very very very cheap for a US site. They do a lot of global business, so they get special rates frm the postal services. Sometimes during easter or xmas, they have special discounts or free international shipping by airmail to singapore. I usually wait for those n bulk buy. Very reliable. U can chk out the rates at their site. There are sprees on the spree forums if u only want one or two.items. if u want to order urself, u can use my member code to get USD5-10 off ur first purchase. that's equivalent to free shipping already.

Clarise, I'm not taking any supplements frm the gynae at all. Stopped when I was breastfeeding my first. The price they charge is v high. For instance, my first gynae charged me $60 for a very fishy smelling DHA. I ended up asking a friend to buy for me at clinic price direct at $42. Then I switched to Nordic at iherb for less than 2/3 if that price. I found nordic way fresher and its on KKH list and is official AAP approved. Basically for multivit, I would show the gynae what I want to buy to make sure its safe. I buy the prenatal formulas that use betacarotene for vit A, esp.

Yes, u should
the DHA builds the baby's brain. Also continue when you start breastfeeding cos the DHA will increase the amount in your breastmilk too.

Ms blur,

I'm taking the following daily:
1) Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA (2caps)
2) Solgar prenatal multivits (I'm taking 3/4 of the recommended dose)
3) NowFoods Gr8 probiotics
4) 1 cap of fresh salmon oil, brand is Salfresh (my husband brings in direct from Norway).

I find that since I started on the Solgar multivits after 1st trimester, I have zero leg cramps. Not even sore legs. It's likely to be the calcium plus magnesium combination. I'm not taking full dose is because the multivits is high in almost everything and I'm kinda small size compared to Angmohs! So I generally underdose the recommended amt for multivits, even for my daughter.

I'm taking salmon oil in 1st and 2nd trimester cos I find that it helps with my blood circulation. But because it is natural, it has a higher EPA-DHA ratio, so dun wan to eat too much. I will stop this in third trimester cos of potential blood thinning/bleeding during labour. Otherwise I find this salmon oil better than the Nordic DHA for myself. So during breastfeeding, I will be only sticking to salmon oil.

just realised the prenatal vitamins is 240 tablets for only $19.60? that's really cheap, tempted to try this, but such a big bottle.

weiwei, would like to ask u more about the DHA. which nordic are u taking? are u also taking fish oil? or they're actually the same thing?

May i know do you gals go for prenatal massage or where did u gals go for your prenatal massage? Coz' recently im having very bad backache and my right leg hurting too.

yes, ms blur, that's the one I'm taking.

Clarise, prenatal DHA's are not the same thing as fish oil and fish oil are not all equal

Natural fish oil (as in out from the fish and into capsule) have higher levels of EPA than what you see in DHA, for ALL types of fish containing it. DHA is present in almost all fish as well, but the colder the water, the better it is. Salmon is one of the best, and water from the northen hemisphere is colder than south. ie I would prefer the norwegian/Canadian salmon to tasmanian/south american. Even when you eat the fish can taste the difference. Also, freshness makes a difference. The one I'm taking goes from live fish in the sea to bottled capsule in 75minutes because it is made by a salmon farm, under cold pressed conditions. I can chew the capsule and the oil tastes like salmon sashimi
that's how fresh. So far haven't met another fish oil like that. Most fish oil in the pharmacies are either a mix of oil from different fish or purely not salmon.

Prenatal DHA is distilled fish oil to get a higher level of DHA. our bodies are supposed to convert EPA naturally to DHA, but EPA can cause blood thinning (which is why heart patients, cholesterol high blood pressure benefit from natural fish oil). But during pregnancy, our blood volume increases and during labour we lose blood. there is caution about taking too much EPA in case of non stop bleeding during labour. Hence, prenatal DHA. That said, how the oil is distilled makes a difference. High heat and pressure can damage the oil. Nordic Naturals does their distilling under reasonably low temperatures so there is less damage and their freshness factor very high (checkout their site
). BUT they use anchovies as their source.

Msblur,

I'm going for prenatal massage at my usual masseuse cos she knows how to do it. But if after the massage your backache and right leg pain still persist, suggest to see a chiropractor to eliminate root problem. I'm going for my chiro appt now!! :p

Ms blur, the other time I went cord blood seminar got this prenatal massage demo not bad.. Quite Shiok when they demo to my hubby how to massage for me..

U can go their website see - www.bodyworkclinic.com.sg

They have package session. 5 session $550. 1 session $138. 60 mins prenatal massage.

thanks weiwei for the detailed info. i'm keen on taking DHA for the development of baby's brains, been hearing so much about DHA.

i couldn't sleep well last night again, slept only 3-4 hours... now i'm like a zombie. it's really a bad feeling to lose sleep during pregnancy =(

Hi mummies to be

I have the following Philips Avent items to sell. Please pm me or contact me at [email protected] if you are interested.

Philips Avent (Brand New)
1 X 6 piece Breast Shell Set

1 X Moisturising Nipple Cream

10 X Breast Milk Containers 180ml/6oz

The following I am letting go for free. You just need to pay for postage.

Pigeon (Brand New)
2 X Peristaltic Nipple for Wide-neck Bottle Size S

Msblur,

Argh, saw your post only when I returned to office. I happen to go to the same clinic as Mirai, only different doctors. See the link :<<http://www.discoverchiro.com.sg/discoverchiro/welcome.html>>

Mirai is seeing Dr Low, I'm seeing Dr Nelson Lim. I'm paying $70 for recurrent consultation and $10 per region of ultrasound therapy. 1st time consultation I think is about $100 or so, and should be same for both doctors.

Feel so much better after the appt. I was having sharp pains down my left leg after walking short distances. Turned out the sciatic nerve was compressed. Then wasn't sleeping very deeply at night, turned out my neck bone is out of joint again. Yayy... good sleep tonight liao!!!

Clarise, if you have very stiff neck and shoulders in addition to insomnia, you may want to check out your neck too. I was having insomnia for months and no amt of massage helped. Til I saw the chiro and turned out I had 2 neck vertebrae out of place. The night he adjusted my neck, I had the best sleep in months. The total knocked-out kind. After that everytime my shoulders feel stiff and I sleep lightly/keep waking up, I make an appt to check :p

Clarise,

You just came back from Bangkok right? Can I check with you if Platinum mall is still there? I'm going Bangkok beginning May and want to buy clothes in bulk to get wholesale price but dun want to walk all the way there for nothing!

weiwei, can alrdy! Wa...both the docs are young looking. Hee..

By the way, the Platinum Fashion Mall is still at BKK. Nwadays their stuff there are not that cheap anymore. Unless you are talking abt the non airconditioned wholesale market. I juz went last Nov. Realised their stuff not as cheap as last time alrdy.

msblur, my left side of the shoulder is aching too and feeling strained at my left leg. It's like as if something has pressed on one of the nerves at my left leg. Woes of desktop bound job

weiwei, thx for sharing on the discoverchiro! Can I ask how long as in how many sessions of treatment you have gone through before u see improvements? I tried acupuncture before, recommended to go back weekly. But as we are preggy now, so i dun think i can seek relief from acupuncture. Want to ask as i'm afraid the total cost treatment can be quite shiong.

I see immediate improvement after adjustment. After the adjustment, the muscles need some time to heal but the recovery is much quicker. The doctor will also teach how to stretch properly, correct posture if it is the problem and teach some exercises if necessary.

My initial neck problem was accumulative over the years, so it took about 4 sessions, about 2 weeks apart. He couldn't adjust everything in one time cos my neck muscles hardened so much that they were resisting the adjustments. But after the 1st session I could sleep well again already. And since then, when I accidentally injure myself again, I have only needed to go back once each time. The doctor will schedule followup session but if I feel fine, I will just call and cancel it. The ultrasound treatment is to remove the scar tissues formed in the muscles when it gets overstressed BTW.

Acupuncture did not work for me at all. And seeing the chiro is like have bone adjustments and a physio rolled into one. I saw a physiotherapist recommended by my gynae last pregnancy; took more sessions, cost just as much and the root cause wasn't fixed. I can actually claim the cost to acupuncture and physio but not the chiro, but I didn't want to waste my leave to keep going for medical appts. It's also very tiring.

Ya. I also have neck problem over the years. I will give it a try too and thank you so much for sharing this. =). How long it will take for a session?

I was at BKK in early Jan too. If you wanna stay near Platinum Mall, my friend tries Pratunam Glow and reviewed not bad. =)

So far... about 1 hr per session or so, including the ultrasound.

I'm staying near MBK instead. :p this time round want to pamper myself and feel a bit more luxurious. LOL. Hubby likes the Siam square area too and some of my favourite places to eat are there...

Hi Mommies!~

Im a Jan mommy and I am lettng go of my pram as my son seldom use it nowadays.

It is in excellent condition

It's a Combi Miracle Turn Premier (Green Leaf color)
Bought it at S$729, selling it at $580 (Negotiable for serious buyers)

For more information, please sms me at 90660284.

The most advanced stroller ever made.

The Miracle Turn is the most advanced stroller ever made and the top of the Combi stroller range. It’s a brilliant automatic wheel switching system that locks the back wheels and unlocks the front wheels whenever you reverse the handle. Suitable from Newborn to 20 kgs.

Lightweight (6.3 kgs)
Easy open/fold
Double fold makes it super compact
Multiple seat recline
Reversible handle
Constant front steering
Orthopaedic seat cushion
Four-wheel suspension
Huge sunshade
Seat ventilation system
Size (Folded):100H x 47W x 32D

8314681.jpg

Weiwei become chiro expert liao haha ... but like weiwei I've been suffering in pain for quite a while after my 1st pregnancy n also cuz I used to play alot of volleyball ...

I thot my knee caps are gone cuz it was so painful n stiff with every steps I took ... imagine the feeling of gonna fall flat on the face when going down the stairs or when u try to jog ...

I actually thot I need knee replacement even thou im less than 30yo dat time ... I spend almost 1k on the so called specialist ... took med ... went for countless acupuncture sessions ... nth helped ...

The 1st time I went chiro ... I never felt so good for years~ n im nt kidding~ I can finally walk without much strain but of cuz the doc wun recommend me to walk too much la haha

My spine was slanted to the right side n im oways feeling pain at the lower back ... for my knee caps ... its becuz the bones at the pelvic area are off alignment ... making 1 side of the legs shorter ... n when this happens ... we start to exert strain on the wrong muscles ... took me abt 3 session before I decided to book an appt when I need it ... n my most recent appt is 1 yr after my last appt ... n during the last check ... my knees r fine n prob after #2 is out I can start to slow jog n play vball again~

Welcome ms blur... Wei Wei chiro seems better option than massage.. At least it treat the root cause. I'm gg to go call up later to make appt. my stiff neck is getting from bad to worst.. I need help.. :x

No expert mirai, just someone easily injured if not careful
I discovered in my 30s only that my spine is slightly twisted and that I have wider range of movements than normal. Plus all the sports injuries and abuse during the brainless teenage years :p

I'm just so very glad a good friend recommended the chiropractor 2 years ago. Sick of unending physio appts, sinseh appts and NSAIDs. Furthermore during pregnancy a lot of those muscle pain relief creme cannot use also.

Thanks weiwei and mirai for sharing! i'm gonna get hubby to go with me as well as he also been exercising regularly owing to work nature. Recently, he even hurt his knee.

Weiwei, enjoy ur bkk trip and live like a queen! =)

Hui, is this your first pregnancy? So far, i feel fluttering as if there are butterflies in my stomach. I also in my 16 weeks.

I remembered for my #1, in my 7th week, i had slight spotting and somewer ard 16 weeks, i had those mild cramp that i need to see my gynae before scheduled monthly visit. Back then, my gynae assured me its ok, could be uterus expanding. But too be safe maybe you can call up your gynae to check?

Thanks Karena!!

Hui, I also feel mild cramps, usually at the base of the tummy. So long as there's no bleeding and it's occasional, plus I still feel the baby move, I kind ignore it and take it as a cue to either lie down or sit. I think it's the entire tummy stretching plus carrying all the weight there that's causing it.

thanks karena and wei wei !!

this is not my first pregnancy but this is my first baby.... ya i am in 16 weeks too... glad to know that this is normal... i actually have not really felt my baby movements , gynae say will feel it only next mth... but this morning, i did feel 3 strong pokes at left side of the tummy below belly buttons... some said maybe it is baby's kicks... but i also have mild cramps at the same time... so can't help worrying...

wow.. just wondering does Chiropractor is good for older people (+- 60 years old)?

My mom always complaining knee pain and I have an ex colleague also.

It started with knee injury, I think they fell down during older times but until now it can't be like before..

But then it might be quite scary too as they are old. Dunno what will happen after the readjustment..