(2013/09) September 2013

Karena, yes...i find that the white napkins too thin. But will still get a few pcs maybe to swaddle bb at hm or use as blanket. Will also buy disposable diapers to standby loh. Coz' like what u said bb tend to poo & pee often, esp if they are on BM, will poo even often and everytime bit by bit.

Hmm...so far i did attend bb shower. I personally find that it ok, so juz go loh.

Ann Chua, I will also be going one of these days. Weather too hot nwadays so need to cut my hair short!
You can call Nancy at 97943509 to make arrangement.

As for the wrap diapers, i will go find out the price from my supplier & let u gals know. Thinking of getting the printed ones coz' look quite nice.

Clarise,

AOI (all-in-one) type of diapers are expensive, and takes a very long time to dry. But, if you are in a hurry, you don't need to pre-stuff your diapers.

The ones with inserts are more flexible. You have the option whether you want to use bamboo inserts or microfibre or prefolds etc, or if you really run out cos not dry yet, you can stuff a traditional muslin napkin in too. But you do need to stuff them yah.

I would really recommend you use liners cos no matter what they tell you, cos poo stains are really hard to get out. Also, please you need to watch your detergent; most of the baby detergent are not compatible and also no bleach and softeners cos you can reduce the absorbability of the insert. Traditional muslin does not have this problem but of course does not have that stay dry function either.

thanks msblur! i read online that the inserts from BumWear are about $7 each. do you happen to know if somewhere sells those microfiber inserts too? cheers!

S Huang, from what i know some diaper wraps which are selling outside do not include the inserts. So we have to buy separately. For mine, it comes with 2 inserts, and if you wana buy extra inserts, u can too. Just have to pay for the extra inserts you are taking.

Are you looking at Bumwear AIO? If so yes, very ex. AIO in general very very ex.

I'm actually refering to her bamboo inserts and her prefolds. I find them quite useful and they fit into any diaper cover, even the $5 type you get at HDB shops.

Actually, for AIO, there are many other local brands around. I've seen them being sold at the baby expo sales. waaay cheaper than Bumwear.

for my no # 1,

I place the napkin liners on the white nappy cloth. Then wrap it up with those diapers wraps (velcro type) together 3 layers.

Napkin liner is a must, cos their poo is so staining.. but usually I will only use this during the confinement stage.

Cos got CL around to help to wash, and baby poo alot in the initial stage after child birth. especially those breast feed babies.

I only use disposable diapers at night during the first 28 days.

So after CL left, I switch back to disposable diapers.

I was super on abt the cloth diapers w #1 as I wasn't really working. When #2 came I only used a few times cos was really lazy Liao haha. But useful when they have bad diaper rash and you want them to stay out of disposable diapers. I have new inserts which I can let go cheap if mummies are keen cos I stocked too many but I need to go find.

Hi mummies, regards to detergent for washing bb's clothes, which would you prefer? The powder form or liquid type? Previously i used the powder form for my gals' clothes, but nw am thinking of switching to liquid type.

Letting go Avent new range of single breast pump for $150.

Used 3 times as spare pump as I had another brand of pump which I sent it for servicing earlier on.

Will throw in FOC for the following items:

1 set of Avent breast shells(BNIB)- (Kiddy Palace selling ard $33) - This is use for collecting excess milk should there be engorement etc.

Plus the Avent pillow and bloaster

Email me: [email protected]

I'm back from Bangkok! Tanks for all the info on cloth diapers.. I'm really keen on it since its more Eco-friendly and also beneficial to baby. Just need to wash more.. Need to check with my MIL hope she likes the idea too.

By the way, bangkok has so many baby clothes! I bought a total of 18 sets I think.. Mostly newborn to 6 months but some under a year. For girls, there's a lot of choices!! Also bought some milk storage bags which are cheap. And I didn't have a day of ms at Bangkok. Totally no nausea at all and my appetite was amazing. Just needed to return to hotel in the late afternoon to nap. Hope that this can continue ... I think Babymoon helps!

Clarise, wow...welcome back! Yes...i think we really needed some recharge of our batt. Haha...
I also will feel better if i met up with friends for dinner after work. Rather than everyday right after work its head home. Then after dinner at hm, i will juz be resting on my bed and nua. Tend to become lazier and more body aches i think.

Wa...nw that u were saying there are so many baby clothes in bangkok, i was hoping hubby will buy some back when he go next wk. By then we should be able to know bb's gender liao, that makes it easier to buy.

Msblur, thanks!
Yea so many pretty clothes to buy! I bought some for my nephews too.

I am still confused with cloth diapering. So I need prefold, diaper cover, inserts and liners. These are all used at the same time? And I went to bumwear website.. Omg so many things and even more confused. So many kinds of diapers.

sorry gals, can u explain more abt diaper wraps? i'm a first time mummy and this is the first time i have heard for this. i only know abt the common disposable diapers sold in supermarkets. when you gals talk abt the white napkin type, i think i know what it is. it's those white cloth that our mums used on us when we were babies.

but what is diaper wrap? and what is this insert that you gals are talkin about?

Clarise, if you use the wrap diaper with inserts, you dun hav to prefold anything, coz' its just to lay on the wrap only and wrap up. No need use any safety pin to secure too, coz' there are adjustable buttons on the front.

Ms blur, are the inserts reusable/washable also like Prefolds?
Liners are for catching the poo right?

Are u going to use cloth diapers too? There's sizes so normally how many should we buy for each stage newborn/infant?
And then got the petite diaper ....

clarise, yes the inserts are reusable & washable too. Liners u can just lay it on the inserts to catch the poo.

Im going to get a few of the diapers & extra inserts to try out first, but will also standby a few packs of disposible diapers instead i cannot tahan then can switch.
Nowadays those new wrap diapers mostly come in free size one. At least for the ones i wana buy, they are free size loh. Adjustable by the buttons.

pink_sapphire, mine is the same brand as the link u gave above. Thanks for providing the link, it will really give the new mummies an idea of what the wrap diaper and inserts look like.

8280145.jpg

Hi Ladies, my friend is selling Babyplus Prenatal Education System.
Bought end Oct 2012 and used only for 5 months.
Condition of set: 9.5/10 & never been dropped before
Condition of pouch: 8/10 ( well maintained and will look like new with a wash in machine)

RSP: SGD 338 and my friend is willing to let go at good price. COD only.
As my friend is currently doing her confinement, you can PM / email me @ [email protected] for more details.

Bumwear seems very expensive.. Anyone using?

Msblur the brand u are using is it good? The liners must buy from the same seller I can buy from Ntuc? I saw pigeon also has liners...
Finally starting to understand... Super confusing initially.

clarise, i did not use these wrap diapers before, coz' previously dun hav these kind. But so far there's no complaints from my customers, only good compliments. And most of them came back & buy more.

As for the liners, there are a few brands outside actually. U can check them out at ntuc or other shopping malls.

I used bumwear before ... good quality but didnt last me too long not as in its spoilt or so but my gal has really chubby things haha

I was given Babykicks and loved it. Good quality. I've never tried what the Ozzie moms call as China cheapies brands.

Bought more from www.zerzula.com.

Have some extra brand new unused ones available for cheap sale if anyone's interested. can email me at [email protected] for more info

Blocked duct with whitish blister. Fastest way to clear is using warm towel 1 hand rub the blister the other hand squeeze breast hard in the lump/ hardened part. That way took about 15-30 mins to clear. It took me almost whole say thr furst time I encountered and my baby unfirtunately cannit suck the blocked duct out once u have rhe blister it will be painful to latch too.
Then 2nd time in the emd I discovered that way is the best. Third fourth time took me only 15-30 mins to clear using that way.

Lesson learned: if your baby is not a big eater and tends too sleep when u go out, please pump your breastmilk first before going out.

During my #1 I rarely enciunter that becoz I didn't latch outside and always pump before going out. My #2 latches very well so I lazy to pump that is why the problem of blocked duct/milk blister come

For wedding, baby shower I will still go. But if want to carry other people baby must ask first whether pantang or not and I will try not to carry if people still dunno i am pregnant. Some people very pantang they said baby becomes fussy after pregnant woman carry.

As for funeral if relatives still go, but if others won't go. And I won't go to the cemetary or burial ground or columbarium. My mom is very pantang saying baby (even in tummy) or small kids can easily gets something there..

I haven't event gone to my late MIL burial ground in Medan becoz always preggy again and again. She passed away last year when I am 7 mth preggy with my #2. And this year when We travel there for the 1 year death anniv I preggy with #3 already

ladies, i have no idea what the beautician is using but she does use some machine thingy for my facial session. is that allowed when we are preg?

msblur, rgds to detergent for washing bb's clothes, all along i've been using pigeon. i've tried tollyjoy before but in terms of stain removal, pigeon fares better despite that it's more ex than tollyjoy. thinking to try kodomo though. mummies, any reviews on that? i din try powder before but my sister is using the pureen detergent powder. heard it's not bad.

groovy2009, thx for sharing! I had blocked duct with blister once or twice when i bf my #1.frankly speaking, i can't even remember what i have done back then. but all i noe is good latching technique is very impt. otherwise, we will suffer eventually.

S Huang, did you let ur beautician know that you are preggy in the first place? I believe if you tell them beforehand, they will be more cautious and tactful on what they are using on you.

Mummies, hope not out of topics, but wanna check the following qns:

1. Any mummies have tried clubmed bintan before?
2. Any reviews on maternity shoots (e.g. studio loft, studioplay etc)

Karena, yes this time im thinking of trying out kodomo brand. Previously the one i used was Pureen i think. The name is ABD? Something like that.

I just signed up my maternity shots with Next Studio. That time they hav this March Promo at $200 nett, so i took up. They can reserve the slot for me till July 13 & i just have to pay deposit of $50 first. Dun wish to spend too much money on this.
My fren just took hers, her package is $400, then she booked a make up artist at $300.

Told my boss already about my pregnancy 2-3 weeks ago and his response is only "Again??"

He must be very shocked.

But then I said I am still okay with the current arrangement and didn't ask for reducing my workload so he is okay lor..

But I really believed I must say bye bye to the promotion again this year. Last year also say bye bye and I believe becoz there is no one else then my colleague gets promoted even though she did quite badly the previous before.

I am always consistent but unfortunately always took maternity leave huhuhu..

Now what I am worried is how to clear my annual leave!! My company only allows 16 weeks straight maternity unless with arrangement with boss.

I think I still have 22+ days of leave + childcare and imagine we only have less than 6 mths until dec. and currently I am taking a project lead role so a but difficult to take leave. Sooner must ask boss already whether can personal arrangement carry over more than 10 days of leave for next year.

Groovy2009, i just told my boss abt my pregnancy last 2 weeks too. And also inform him i dun wish to take full 16 weeks one shot. Will like to take abt 3 mths plus, then the rest will keep for bb's jab etc. I told him im nt sure whats the company policy here but i saw my 3 collicks clear one shot 16 weeks. Luckily my boss said no worries, juz have to arrange with him can alrdy.

Last time I even cannot take childcare leave when #1 is born becoz she is september baby so 16 weeks will be until next year lor. Then I never asked my boss about that too! Sigh I suppose to complain that time so I can extend personal arrangement my maternity leave huhu.

When #1 is born just nice my project just completed
Last year also not so busy period before my maternity so just nice. Only this year I am quite busy with work and I dunno how will my boss get resources to replace me during maternity this year

Groovy2009, oh then both ur #1 and #3 also Sept bb loh.
Ah yo...so bad dun even allow u to take childcare leave! Then what if got emergency?

mums, does that mean we are allowed to take childcare leave of 6 days once our babies are born in Sep? if thats the case, then i want to take the 6 days in Sep and then clear my maternity after. is that possible?

Groovy2009, i was quite worried when i told my boss about my pregnancy two weeks back because i have no idea how the company culture is like. think im the first preg lady in this office so i was very worried that they will find ways to dismiss me. people told me that the company cant and wont but im still worried. afterall, this is just a small company. anyway, both my bosses were surprisingly cool about it but honestly, im quite worried that they will find a replacement in my absence and find some way to kick me out. sigh. or maybe im just too paranoid.

maternity leave must be taken once baby is born. no other leave types allowed. this is company policy.

what you can do is to take a break in ur mat leave to take childcare leave.

Hi, I would like to ask if anyone had bad headaches and backaches in their second trimester? Coz I have been having mine ever since I stepped into my second trimester and thought I will enjoy since MS is gone but all this aches that lasts whole entire day is killing me.
Can someone tell me why and how shall I handle this?

FaithDiva: i had bad headaches and backaches in my 1st trim til my recent visit to the chiropractor ... feeling better now .. but of cuz headaches can be caused by other factors like the weather ... not drinking enuff water ... too hungry ... etc ...

but my backaches im quite sure if the misaligned of my backbone cuz after adjustment .... im feeling so much relieved now ...

Hi Mirai, thanks for your advise. In fact, my gynae told me to do some upper body stretching exercise, take some normal panadol (which it didn't help) but all didn't help.

I have been drinking loads of water and eating a lot too but somehow just dunno what really causes the pain. BP also normal so that really frustrate me.
Btw, where did you go and see the doc for your back?

I just bought pigeon detergent and softener to wash baby clothes. Haha so kiasu, but I am do excited to wash my girl's new clothes bought from Bangkok.

I've decided to do cloth diapering for baby after confinement period, my nephew had diaper rashes so I want to avoid that. Now just don't know what brand to get... Any recommendations?

By the way, any pregnant mummies doing Brazilian waxing? I stopped since I found out my pregnancy. Now I'm fours months and thinking of doing it. Not sure if it is safe?

Msblur becoz first child lor then 16 weeks maternity taken must be all the way so until january. Huhu... Cannot take childcare leave in between.

Actually childcare leave only entitled 36 days until your kid is 7 years old so as long as u only want to have 1 kid then it should be okay if u cannot take once baby is born. But mine becoz I keep having another baby so I rugi the first 6 days..

September babies a bit more troublesome becoz need to clear your annual leaves too if your company policy need u to take straight 16 weeks. And doesn't allow u to carry over some.

Some more I always have december company shut down since 2 years ago! Dunno how will my annual leave be auto deduct or not if I am still on maternity leave. If yes then so disadvantage for me

But right now government allows to take only 12 weeks and another 4 weeks for daddy. Maybe nearer due date I calculate first lor and ask HR whether the new rules apply or not